130x130 sq 1346799586257 sm21

MK Mobile Sound

San Jose , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

San Jose, CA 95126 US (map)

PHONE

408-439-0350

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Real mixing, real music, real fun.

Though I am new to Wedding Wire I am not new to the Wedding DJ business. I have 8 years of DJ experience playing venues around the Bay Area.... Read more
Real mixing, real music, real fun.

Though I am new to Wedding Wire I am not new to the Wedding DJ business. I have 8 years of DJ experience playing venues around the Bay Area. I possess a passion for music and great personality as well. I decided early on in my DJ career that every party deserves a perfect playlist, all your favorite songs and none of the "filler" that you've heard way too many times before.

Let's make your next party an amazing one!

From a previous client:

"He was recommended by a friend and did an awesome job. We gave him a list of artists that sort of set the tone for the type of music we wanted and he filled in the blanks perfectly. A bunch of people came up to us after the wedding and said how awesome our DJ was."

If you're serious about fun, specifically the fun you'll have with me as your wedding DJ, please give me a call today!



408 - 439 - 0350

mkmobilesound gmail.com Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1405447710808 me at a wedding june 2014
130x130 sq 1354566052872 griffinwongkateharrisonphotographykateharrisonkaterik227low
130x130 sq 1354566127335 griffinwongkateharrisonphotographykateharrisonkaterik273low
130x130 sq 1354566070697 griffinwongkateharrisonphotographykateharrisonkaterik229low
130x130 sq 1354566104645 griffinwongkateharrisonphotographykateharrisonkaterik269low
130x130 sq 1354566095596 griffinwongkateharrisonphotographykateharrisonkaterik267low
130x130 sq 1354566112673 griffinwongkateharrisonphotographykateharrisonkaterik270low
130x130 sq 1354566120390 griffinwongkateharrisonphotographykateharrisonkaterik272low
130x130 sq 1354566088084 griffinwongkateharrisonphotographykateharrisonkaterik266low
130x130 sq 1349818547232 zonafoto1291
130x130 sq 1349818543406 zonafoto1276
130x130 sq 1349818525067 zonafoto1128
130x130 sq 1349818519296 zonafoto1103
130x130 sq 1349818522739 zonafoto1106
130x130 sq 1349818528194 zonafoto1142
130x130 sq 1349818531171 zonafoto1163
130x130 sq 1349818534370 zonafoto1174
130x130 sq 1349818537203 zonafoto1190
130x130 sq 1349818540545 zonafoto1222
130x130 sq 1349818550914 zonafoto1297
130x130 sq 1349818553459 zonafoto1323
130x130 sq 1349818556091 zonafoto1324
130x130 sq 1349818559175 zonafoto1325
130x130 sq 1354565825509 cornwellvorlopcarliestatskyphotography0787
130x130 sq 1354565848393 cornwellvorlopcarliestatskyphotography0902
130x130 sq 1354565816901 cornwellvorlopcarliestatskyphotography0678
130x130 sq 1354565837685 cornwellvorlopcarliestatskyphotography0861
130x130 sq 1354565833054 cornwellvorlopcarliestatskyphotography0832
130x130 sq 1354565843103 cornwellvorlopcarliestatskyphotography0882
130x130 sq 1354565852392 cornwellvorlopcarliestatskyphotography0909
130x130 sq 1354565855881 cornwellvorlopcarliestatskyphotography0910
130x130 sq 1346801546070 patjacquie254of289001
130x130 sq 1346801552043 patjacquie256of289001
130x130 sq 1346801541699 firstdance
130x130 sq 1346802820662 dpug3
130x130 sq 1346801540740 byrequestiswear
130x130 sq 1346801542540 itspartytime
130x130 sq 1346801553812 putthemintheair

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
80s, Acoustic, Classic Rock, Dance, Folk, Funk, Hip Hop, Motown, Oldies, Pop, Rock, Soul
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
Real mixing, real music equals real fun for you and your guests. I mix "in tune and time," a fancy way of saying smooth transitions between different genres and styles. That means you spend more time dancing and enjoying yourself.
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
Definitely can take and play requests if we set it up ahead of time. If I get an unusual request I'll always check with you before playing it.
What is your usual attire?
Suit and tie.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
I will make every attempt to find pre-requested music. If I can't locate it I'll let you know in advance so we can arrange something.
How many other DJs do you work with?
I am the sole owner and operator of MK Mobile Sound. I will never farm out your event to another DJ.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
Four hours.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Absolutely. An in person meeting is a great way to get a sense of who I am and, more importantly, what you want in a wedding DJ.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Absolutely.
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes, I own all my equipment and replace it every 2 years.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
90 minutes before the start of the event typically. Occasionally more if additional equipment is required.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
Never!
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
I do not back announce tracks or make cheesy jokes. That's not who I am and that's probably not who you want DJing at your wedding.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
Honestly it depends on the event! There are a number of things we can try but it probably starts with getting the bride and groom onto the dance floor. The party usually follows their lead!
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
For a gig over six hours I will take a brief meal break, typically less than 15 minutes. Yes, I require the client provide the meal.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
Yes and I remain in listening distance to ensure it's working.
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
In case of emergency I have a network of DJs who can fill if I am unable to perform.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
No I do not.
What is your overtime rate?
I typically do not charge for time overages.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
I typically do not charge for travel expenses if the venue is in the Bay Area.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
20% of the performance fee.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Robin
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
I couldn't recommend a better DJ. He isn't that cheesy guy who talks too much and says lame jokes at your wedding. He is so on top of it with responding asap during the planning process, so extremely helpful with suggestions for music and when I asked him to play a secret song for my fiancé but needed it slowed down he sent me a few options of the song in different tempos that he remixed just for us. The spread sheet he sends you is so helpful, it really helps with the planning process of what you want played and when. His mixes kept the party going. Everyone loved the music he played at our wedding. Best money spent. I wouldn't even consider another dj.
I couldn't recommend a better DJ. He isn't that cheesy guy who talks too much and says lame jokes at your wedding. He is Read more...
I couldn't recommend a better DJ. He isn't that cheesy guy who talks too much and says lame jokes at your wedding. He is so on top of it with responding asap during the planning process, so extremely helpful with suggestions for music and when I asked him to play a secret song for my fiancé but needed it slowed down he sent me a few options of the song in different tempos that he remixed just for us. The spread sheet he sends you is so helpful, it really helps with the planning process of what you want played and when. His mixes kept the party going. Everyone loved the music he played at our wedding. Best money spent. I wouldn't even consider another dj. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Sarah
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
We can't speak highly enough of Morgan. He was amazing to work with in planning the event, and phenomenal on the day of. He's incredibly organized, helpful with making big-picture and small detail decisions, listened to our ideas and gave awesome suggestions. We didn't hire a wedding planner so this was greatly appreciated. Morgan has a fun-loving, easy-going personality and was an incredible MC on the day-of. He was able to lead the group from activity to activity, keep the fun and momentum of the day flowing, without being an over-the-top character.

We had an outdoor ceremony and Morgan figured out how to set up all the equipment so that he was inconspicuous, and made sure to have back-up systems in case one went out. Everybody said they could hear the whole ceremony because Morgan was paying close attention, turning up mic volume if someone spoke softly while giving a reading.

My new husband and I don't know a whole lot about music so we needed a lot of help with planning the reception, especially because we wanted to have a fun dance party for everyone (friends who're really into electro, old folks, some sentimental 90's tunes for my girlfriends, motown, etc.) Morgan pulled it all together, read the energy of the crowd and kept the dance party going strong. We didn't have a curfew at our venue, so he stayed until we said we were tired (around 12:30).

Thank you sooo much to Morgan, we had the time of our lives dancing at our wedding, and we're so grateful!
We can't speak highly enough of Morgan. He was amazing to work with in planning the event, and phenomenal on the day of. Read more...
We can't speak highly enough of Morgan. He was amazing to work with in planning the event, and phenomenal on the day of. He's incredibly organized, helpful with making big-picture and small detail decisions, listened to our ideas and gave awesome suggestions. We didn't hire a wedding planner so this was greatly appreciated. Morgan has a fun-loving, easy-going personality and was an incredible MC on the day-of. He was able to lead the group from activity to activity, keep the fun and momentum of the day flowing, without being an over-the-top character.

We had an outdoor ceremony and Morgan figured out how to set up all the equipment so that he was inconspicuous, and made sure to have back-up systems in case one went out. Everybody said they could hear the whole ceremony because Morgan was paying close attention, turning up mic volume if someone spoke softly while giving a reading.

My new husband and I don't know a whole lot about music so we needed a lot of help with planning the reception, especially because we wanted to have a fun dance party for everyone (friends who're really into electro, old folks, some sentimental 90's tunes for my girlfriends, motown, etc.) Morgan pulled it all together, read the energy of the crowd and kept the dance party going strong. We didn't have a curfew at our venue, so he stayed until we said we were tired (around 12:30).

Thank you sooo much to Morgan, we had the time of our lives dancing at our wedding, and we're so grateful! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Colleen
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Morgan at MK Mobile Sound MADE our wedding day! He seamlessly led us through each formality during dinner and the reception while still playing the best music that kept our guests engaged through the entire night. He was incredibly organized and easy to work with leading up to the wedding and we felt like we were really getting our moneys worth. Morgan went above and beyond to make sure our day was perfect and even stayed an extra half hour at the reception free of charge. He earned every star I gave him and I would recommend MK Mobile sound to any bride and groom looking for a wedding DJ.
Morgan at MK Mobile Sound MADE our wedding day! He seamlessly led us through each formality during dinner and the Read more...
Morgan at MK Mobile Sound MADE our wedding day! He seamlessly led us through each formality during dinner and the reception while still playing the best music that kept our guests engaged through the entire night. He was incredibly organized and easy to work with leading up to the wedding and we felt like we were really getting our moneys worth. Morgan went above and beyond to make sure our day was perfect and even stayed an extra half hour at the reception free of charge. He earned every star I gave him and I would recommend MK Mobile sound to any bride and groom looking for a wedding DJ. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Brian
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Morgan was a phenomenal DJ! We are so glad we used his service for our wedding. We had a blast and all of our guests commented how good he was!
Morgan was a phenomenal DJ! We are so glad we used his service for our wedding. We had a blast and all of our guests Read more...
Morgan was a phenomenal DJ! We are so glad we used his service for our wedding. We had a blast and all of our guests commented how good he was! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Caitlin
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Having nightmares of creepy old guys in purple vests DJing your wedding? Well, your prayers have been answered. Morgan is easy like Sunday morning. He is sweet, attentive, easy to get ahold of, flexible, and will fit into any celebration. The best part- is that he really knows music and can read a crowd. Give him some guidelines on what kind of music you like and he'll get even your grandparents up and moving. All my friends have told me that my wedding was the most fun they've ever been to- and I really have Morgan to thank.
Having nightmares of creepy old guys in purple vests DJing your wedding? Well, your prayers have been answered. Morgan is Read more...
Having nightmares of creepy old guys in purple vests DJing your wedding? Well, your prayers have been answered. Morgan is easy like Sunday morning. He is sweet, attentive, easy to get ahold of, flexible, and will fit into any celebration. The best part- is that he really knows music and can read a crowd. Give him some guidelines on what kind of music you like and he'll get even your grandparents up and moving. All my friends have told me that my wedding was the most fun they've ever been to- and I really have Morgan to thank. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Tiffany
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
I wish I could give more than 5 stars for what Morgan did for us. He made our wedding what it was. His prices are SO reasonable and he stayed late for no extra charge because everyone was having so much fun on the dance floor, begging for one more song. Not only that, but he led the entire reception by announcing entrances, dinner, speeches, cake cutting, etc. He went out of his way to meet with me beforehand and check out the venue and every song he played seemed to be a song that we loved. We are still getting comments about how great the music was at our wedding. We just couldn't recommend him more highly!!
I wish I could give more than 5 stars for what Morgan did for us. He made our wedding what it was. His prices are SO Read more...
I wish I could give more than 5 stars for what Morgan did for us. He made our wedding what it was. His prices are SO reasonable and he stayed late for no extra charge because everyone was having so much fun on the dance floor, begging for one more song. Not only that, but he led the entire reception by announcing entrances, dinner, speeches, cake cutting, etc. He went out of his way to meet with me beforehand and check out the venue and every song he played seemed to be a song that we loved. We are still getting comments about how great the music was at our wedding. We just couldn't recommend him more highly!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Ed
Wedding:
8/3/2009
5.0/5.0
After talking to several DJs we decided to go with Morgan for our Wedding. We had a pretty eclectic crowd of guests, and the music range went from electro to salsa. Morgan was very prepared to deal with anything that came at him. He will listen to your needs and if you have certain requirements (No YMCA, Electric Slide etc) Even if guests come up and request songs, the "Do Not Play" list is respected. He never makes you feel scared that there is a stranger with a mic at your wedding. (My biggest fear) I just wish the venue would have let us stay longer. He certainly can get people on the dance floor. Thanks Morgan for a great set of music, and for all of your help. Reasons to use him
1. Respectful
2. Listens
3. Does nothing Cheesy, i.e. realizes the party is not about him
4. Makes people dance
5. Goes with the flow
6. Works with your Coordinator/Planner (he even attended our final meeting with the venue)
7. Best value for your money in this area for a DJ
8. Did the Ceremony music, the dinner music, and the Party Music
9. Prepared and responsive, he will answer his phone and get back to you when he says he will
10. Wide range of music
After talking to several DJs we decided to go with Morgan for our Wedding. We had a pretty eclectic crowd of guests, and Read more...
After talking to several DJs we decided to go with Morgan for our Wedding. We had a pretty eclectic crowd of guests, and the music range went from electro to salsa. Morgan was very prepared to deal with anything that came at him. He will listen to your needs and if you have certain requirements (No YMCA, Electric Slide etc) Even if guests come up and request songs, the "Do Not Play" list is respected. He never makes you feel scared that there is a stranger with a mic at your wedding. (My biggest fear) I just wish the venue would have let us stay longer. He certainly can get people on the dance floor. Thanks Morgan for a great set of music, and for all of your help. Reasons to use him
1. Respectful
2. Listens
3. Does nothing Cheesy, i.e. realizes the party is not about him
4. Makes people dance
5. Goes with the flow
6. Works with your Coordinator/Planner (he even attended our final meeting with the venue)
7. Best value for your money in this area for a DJ
8. Did the Ceremony music, the dinner music, and the Party Music
9. Prepared and responsive, he will answer his phone and get back to you when he says he will
10. Wide range of music Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Morgan is awesome! We had him DJ our wedding in June and it was a blast. He was easily the best vendor we dealt, which is refreshing given the state of wedding vendors. We met with a couple DJ's and Morgan definitely set himself apart right from the start by concerning himself with what we wanted. He dug deeper than simply what kind of music we liked, asking us about how we met, what we listened to, the makeup of our guests (young, old, family, friends etc.). This made us comfortable enough to give him a general direction of music genres to play at each part of the reception and a minimal playlist to go from and allow him the freedom to read the crowd and adjust accordingly. He nailed this, as our dance floor was constantly buzzing! As an emcee, Morgan was also great. He won't steal the show and doesn't constantly need to be on the mike. He comfortably makes all the announcements, adds a bit of humor, and then keeps things moving, allowing the spotlight to be where it is supposed to be and not on him. He also did a great job of checking in with us during down moments to keep us in the loop of each part of the reception. All in all, Morgan rocks!!
Morgan is awesome! We had him DJ our wedding in June and it was a blast. He was easily the best vendor we dealt, which is Read more...
Morgan is awesome! We had him DJ our wedding in June and it was a blast. He was easily the best vendor we dealt, which is refreshing given the state of wedding vendors. We met with a couple DJ's and Morgan definitely set himself apart right from the start by concerning himself with what we wanted. He dug deeper than simply what kind of music we liked, asking us about how we met, what we listened to, the makeup of our guests (young, old, family, friends etc.). This made us comfortable enough to give him a general direction of music genres to play at each part of the reception and a minimal playlist to go from and allow him the freedom to read the crowd and adjust accordingly. He nailed this, as our dance floor was constantly buzzing! As an emcee, Morgan was also great. He won't steal the show and doesn't constantly need to be on the mike. He comfortably makes all the announcements, adds a bit of humor, and then keeps things moving, allowing the spotlight to be where it is supposed to be and not on him. He also did a great job of checking in with us during down moments to keep us in the loop of each part of the reception. All in all, Morgan rocks!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Steveyann
Wedding:
9/27/2008
5.0/5.0
Morgan did an amazing job DJ-ing our wedding. He is very professional and easy to work with. We told him what type of music we wanted him to play for the different parts of our wedding (cocktail hour, dinner, dancing, etc) and he chose great songs that fit perfectly with what we wanted. All of our guests danced super hard at our wedding and told me that was some of the best music at any wedding they had been to. I can't recommend him highly enough!
Morgan did an amazing job DJ-ing our wedding. He is very professional and easy to work with. We told him what type of Read more...
Morgan did an amazing job DJ-ing our wedding. He is very professional and easy to work with. We told him what type of music we wanted him to play for the different parts of our wedding (cocktail hour, dinner, dancing, etc) and he chose great songs that fit perfectly with what we wanted. All of our guests danced super hard at our wedding and told me that was some of the best music at any wedding they had been to. I can't recommend him highly enough! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
brian
Wedding:
9/27/2008
5.0/5.0
we had him come and dj my brother's wedding back in september and it was a great experience. from the perspective of being involved with the wedding, he was great by playing the songs that were requested and not arguing about them. and from the perspective of being amidst the celebration, the music made the night perfect. its funny how easy it is to forget the old 90's dance songs, but MK Mobile Sound remembered them, and he knew when to play them, and he got everyone singing along and dancing. Such a great performance that we are sending his name off to many other friends who are getting married or just having random 10,000th day of life parties.
we had him come and dj my brother's wedding back in september and it was a great experience. from the perspective of being Read more...
we had him come and dj my brother's wedding back in september and it was a great experience. from the perspective of being involved with the wedding, he was great by playing the songs that were requested and not arguing about them. and from the perspective of being amidst the celebration, the music made the night perfect. its funny how easy it is to forget the old 90's dance songs, but MK Mobile Sound remembered them, and he knew when to play them, and he got everyone singing along and dancing. Such a great performance that we are sending his name off to many other friends who are getting married or just having random 10,000th day of life parties. Read less
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
San Jose, CA 95126 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for MK Mobile Sound
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1346799586257 sm21