130x130_sq_1216513295752-logowhite2400px

MKD Photography

Ayer , MA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Ayer, MA US 01720 (map)

PHONE

978-238-8252

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We’re married, we love photography, and we love happy people so we decided that weddings were the place for us! You can read more about us and check out some recent work if you visit our... Read more
We’re married, we love photography, and we love happy people so we decided that weddings were the place for us! You can read more about us and check out some recent work if you visit our blog www.mkdphotography.com/blog

-Mike & Kate Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1237127720112-test-dump
130x130_sq_1213015191852-0emilie&aaron--1042copycopy
130x130_sq_1237128374675-ck05
130x130_sq_1213015200774-anitaveil
130x130_sq_1213015209852-kate&spencer-1056
130x130_sq_1237128071909-erinstevemkd--1013
130x130_sq_1237128578097-1006
130x130_sq_1237128649112-kerri1001copy

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, High Resolution Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Mike and Kate are wonderful photgraphers. I've had the pleasure seeing them in action at friends weddings and now my own. They really know how to capture moments in your wedding. My husband and I choose them b/c we saw how our friends pictures were coming out. Also each friends pictures weren't the same. It had its own unique feel for there special day. They make you feel comfortable around the camera, even telling us jokes at our engagment shoot. I love corny jokes :) Also you never really notice them taking your pictures during the ceremony/reception. It's like your playing hide and go seek. They know all the good places to hide.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristina
Wedding:
8/30/2013
5.0/5.0
We would definitely recommend Mike & Kate (MKD Photography) for any event! We worked with them for our wedding and they were absolutely fantastic. We initially met with them to discuss our vision for the wedding, which is important when you're working with people that are trying to capture such personal moments. They were super flexible and very accommodating when we wanted do our save the date pictures before we actually took our engagement pictures. Their wedding pictures captured our entire day from the abstract/small details to the formal family pictures to the fun party shots. They were both so easy to work with, so professional, and so quick to respond to our zillion questions along the way. If you're looking for great photographers who do amazing work, are great people, and easy to work with, MKD is your solution!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
From the first step to the last, Mike and Kate were fabulous! They welcomed us into their home to get to know us, and clearly listened to everything we had to say about what we wanted. They had already done their homework about the venue and where the sun would be at the time of our ceremony which completely impressed my husband. We instantly felt they were part of our family.

During the engagement shoot, Mike put us both at ease (neither my husband or I enjoy having our pictures taken), and we were thrilled with the results. On the day of the wedding, Mike and Kate were incredibly professional, capturing the essence of our day perfectly, and yet, were completely unobtrusive. Many of our guests reported, they had no idea they were there for most of the day. The photos were fabulous, they caught moments that many others missed and we will cherish the pictures forever.

I have passed MKD's name to many of my friends/colleagues, and highly recommend them as your wedding photographers. You will not be disappointed!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meaghan
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I wholeheartedly recommend MKD Photography to anyone who is looking for the greatest wedding photographers there are!

From the moment we met Mike and Kate Duval, we knew we were in good hands. They are true professionals, yet they will treat you as if you are longtime friends and make you feel instantly comfortable working with them and their cameras. They will respond to any and all questions with promptness and professionalism, are incredibly flexible, and very accommodating to requests.

MKD Photography will without a doubt showcase the most gorgeous moments of your engagement session and wedding day in their photographs—but the best part is, they are so unobtrusive in capturing these images that you will hardly even notice they are there!

We were so sad to bid Mike and Kate goodbye at the end of our wedding reception because we felt as if we were parting ways with members of our family. If you are looking for a kindhearted, down-to-earth couple with eyes for the most beautiful moments of your wedding (and a fantastic sense of humor to boot), MKD Photography are the ones for you! We can’t wait to get in touch with them when we have our fist baby someday – we don’t trust anyone else to photograph the most precious milestones of our lives! Choosing Mike and Kate Duval was the best decision we made—besides saying “I do”!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marianne
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Wow, I really can't say enough nice things about Mike & Kate. They really were wonderful to have around all day! They take amazing photos, and were able to capture all the little details without being in your face. I never even noticed them at the ceremony, yet we got amazing photos! They are easy to work with, flexible, fun, and always responsive to the 1,000 questions I had before the big day. They had a slideshow of images set up at the reception and all my guests raved at how amazing the photos are - and they truly are!

I will definitely hire Mike & Kate again .... They are AMAZING!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mandy
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
MKD was the perfect choice for us for photographers. They are fun, easy going and have an amazing talent of taking pictures that truly capture the moment.

My husband and I wanted to go with less traditional portraits of the wedding party and not have hours and hours of picture taking...and MKD not only listened but they made it happen. It was so wonderful working with them and I could not imagine having had anyone other than them with us on our wedding day.
We will 100% use MKD again for future photo shoots!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kellyalicia23
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough amazing things about MKD. MKD shot my wedding this past Saturday in Boston and on Sunday we already had a sneak peek slideshow set to our first dance song. I'm not sure if I cried more on my wedding day or being able to re-live the day. They caught the most incredible details from vantage points I would have never seen. They went above and beyond taking "good pictures" - As my sister said, they were able to capture our true personalities in the shots. MKD was fantastic to work with from our first meeting. My husband and I were immediately comfortable with Mike and Kate - such sweet, genuine, flexible personalities.

Perhaps the best compliment I could give MKD is from my brother. My brother is an award-winning professional photographer in NYC/LA who is well known in the fashion/still life area who's work can be seen in the top magazines and ad campaigns in the states and UK. I showed him several photographers I was considering and several he expressed concern with their skills/techniques. When it came to MKD he immediately said they were a fantastic find and wholly endorsed their work and encouraged me to make the investment. He has since seen the sneak peek slideshow and is even more thrilled with their professionalism and quality of work. He's tough to impress so his approval of MKD is priceless.

MKD will not let you down and is worth every penny!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
austindg11
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
We spent a long time deciding on photographers for our wedding, and I don't think there is any way we could have picked any better.

Mike and Kate took beautiful photographs at our wedding in Connecticut, as well as an engagement shoot they did with us in New York City. They were able to capture the entire wedding day through lots of wonderful candid shots. They put together a slide show before the wedding was even over and all of our guests ooohd and ahhhd at the photos.

As a side note, Kate was actually 7 1/2 months pregnant at the time of our wedding, they brought along an assistant at no extra charge just to make sure everything they promised came to fruition, and Kate was still jumping on beds to hang wedding dresses, and moving all over the place to get the wonderful photographs she and Mike took.

We were able to see all of our photos online in less than a month and really could not have asked for anything more from our wedding photographers.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1264781780990-postengagement
Leah
Wedding:
10/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Mike and Kate are down-to-earth people who truly love what they do, and it shows. We found them through a friend of a friend and fell in love when we first met them! They're so composed and relaxed and manage to disappear into the crowd while capturing the best moments. Having the slideshow at the reception was a great feature-- nearly everyone crowded around the monitor to see what they'd gotten earlier in the day, and everyone who saw the photos were blown away, myself included! They were really great with dealing with our tense family situation and were gracious with all parties involved. We are so glad we went with MKD for our photos and have recommended them to EVERYONE! Highly, highly recommended.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitlin
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
MKD Photography was amazing! Kate & Mike shot our wedding this past June 12th and every last one of the sample of pictures we've seen so far was absolutely amazing! Kate put together a beautiful slideshow of all the getting ready photos etc at the reception and our guests loved it! It was like they got to be there with us while we were preparing for the big day! What a wonderful touch. My mom cries every time she watches the final slide show Kate sent us just before we left for our honeymoon. I can't wait to see the rest!

I will reitterate what others have said where you hardly know they are there. They captured some pictures I didn't even think they were present for. Oh and the detail shots, they captured everything! Kate and Mike have both been wonderful to work with throughout everything (Kate even gave me some vendor advice when I was having a hard time deciding on some things). Our engagement photos were wonderful as well. Again, can't wait to see the final product. MKD comes with my highest recommendation to any bride out there looking for some seriously awesome photographers! One of the best decisions I made when planning my wedding was booking Kate & Mike.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JBT
Wedding:
5/30/2010
5.0/5.0
Mike and Kate are truly the BEST! They capture all the beautiful moments of the day. This is one area of your wedding that you can keep for the rest of your life, and you will not regret a single penny spent on MKD. They are very discrete. I hardly knew they were around. They are also very respectful of what ever you want. They really make it all about you. Not only did they take amazing pictures, but they helped out by keeping everyone calm, happy, organized, and even provided Tylenol when needed! I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DML2010
Wedding:
5/15/2010
5.0/5.0
WOW. I'm not a patient person and thanks to MKD, I didn't have to be! They put up a slideshow of our ceremony and reception pictures up halfway through the reception so all of our guests could see them! Everyone was SO impressed! They also emailed me the url so I could send it to my friends and coworkers! My father in law was so happy with the slideshow - he said that because Mike and Kate look so young, he was thinking that they were just starting out and was curious to see how the pictures would come out. When he saw the slideshow he was absolutely BLOWN AWAY! My mom and I have watched the slideshow about 150 times so far and cannot get enough of it. Every single picture is magazine quality perfect and the colors look better than they did in real life. If the handful of pictures in the slideshow are so amazing, I cannot wait to see the rest! I am recommending them to all of my friends!!! THANK YOU MIKE AND KATE!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KBH
Wedding:
8/15/2009
5.0/5.0
MKD was, hands down, my favorite vendor for our wedding. Kate and Mike were so easy to work with, and were quick to respond to all of my nagging emails. We had to reschedule our engagement session a few times because of bad weather, but they were extremely flexible and understanding. On the wedding day itself, they arrived exactly on time - smiling and ready to get down to business. I felt like I had two extra friends sharing in the day, instead of just vendors. They were ready to shoot any point of the day, and some of the images they captured were simply breathtaking. They would (quite literally) bend over backwards to get the best shots. At one point in the morning my hairdresser spun me around and there was Mike, squished in between a tiny space between a dresser and the wall - just to get a cool shot of my hair! It was also quite warm on my wedding day, and Kate stopped me a couple of times before taking some pictures to fix my hair that had wilted a bit in the heat. I am so grateful for their incredible attention to detail.

I can not say enough good things about MKD Photography. My mother was so pleased with their service and images that day that she asked them to stay for an extra hour at the reception! The slideshow they put together was amazing. I've sent it to friends and colleagues, and so many of them said they cried just watching it and said, "I feel like I was there with you". I have no idea how I will be able to pick out my favorite pictures, there are just so many of them. We also ordered our thank you notes through MKD, and their high level of professionalism and customer service continued even beyond our wedding day. I am so happy I chose MKD Photography, and am planning on hiring them again in the next few years to shoot some family shots! Mike and Kate are worth every penny, and I 100% recommend MKD as wedding photographers.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1215464361654-marthasvineyard2008091
NLM
Wedding:
8/14/2009
5.0/5.0
Mike and Kate are awesome photographers who know how to think outside the box when it comes to taking wedding photos. I just got married on August 14, 09. They captured moments during my wedding that I had no idea occurred! They sent me a sneak peek slide show via email during my honeymoon and it was beautiful! I sent it to all my friends and family and the feedback I received just about the slide show was nothing but awesome! A lot of people said they cried when they saw it. I think that most people are not used to wedding photos that are so romantic and different and many people were taken by surprise. Mike and Kate are also professional and reliable.
If you want wedding photos that you and everyone else are going to love and that are both candid and professional go with MKD photography. By the way, they also include an engagement photo session in their package. The only things you have after a year of planning your wedding are the photos and a dirty dress. :) Make sure you invest in professional photos. I am so glad I did!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
heatheradams
Wedding:
7/11/2009
5.0/5.0
Without a doubt, MKD Photography was the BEST choice we could have made. We are so grateful that we saw their website and booked them in time! Mike and Kate have easy going personalities, are willing to listen to whatever ideas you have, and, most importantly, deliver such an indescribably amazing finished product. The photographs they took so truly captured the "feeling" of the day. We have heard from relatives and friends who were not present that they could really feel what the day must have been like just from MKD's photographs. I don't have enough good things to say about them. I recommend them to all the brides I know! :) Excellent in every way - from engagement photos to wedding day to getting our disk and photos to us in a timely manner. Amazing.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cathy
Wedding:
7/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Hiring Kate and Mike Duval of MKD Photography was the overall best wedding decision that we made!!! From the first soft click of the camera, to the many genuine smiles looking at us from behind the lense, to the PHENOMENAL photography and slideshow, they far surpassed even our greatest expectations. Hiring a 'team' of photographers is so important to getting shots from several great perspectives. Your wedding is one of the most important days of your life and the investment of the 'BEST' photographers is a decision you will never regret. Check out their unbelievable website. We are so blessed to have crossed their paths. Thank you MKD from the bottom of our hearts!!! Cathy and Charlie Marshall, Bristol, RI
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jstacy7
Wedding:
6/27/2009
5.0/5.0
This review will not give the proper credit to Mike and Kate. Our save-the-dates, wedding invitation and wedding album were better than we ever imagined. The variety of shots, the fact that they captured everything we wanted and things we didn't think of, their relaxed and professional nature, all of that and more were perfect. We've looked through our wedding album countless times and are still in awe of their work. We've recommended Mike and Kate to EVERYONE that is searching for a photographer (for any event) and we will definitely continue to do so!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pmpkn219
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
What can I say about Mike and Kate? It was a pleasure working with them from the first night we met up. We knew as soon as we left their home, this was the right photography team for our wedding. And with the pictorial evidence, our instincts were confirmed.

These are the type of people you want around you on your wedding day! They're constantly professional, funny, such a relaxing influence and jump right to work as soon as they get there. I love that as a husband/wife team, they each have things they're used to doing, and they have a great rhythm throughout the day, which was a huge help to us, not knowing what to do/where to go.

Any time we had a question before the big day, Kate was readily accessible by email (I hate phones, so I don't know about that route). We did engagement pics a few weeks before the wedding, which was great practice for us getting used to being photographed, but not necessary to get used to being around Mike and Kate- their personalities set you at ease right away.

A couple quick blurbs from other people about our wedding photos "I felt like I was there" (from a parent's coworker) and "it's so us, they made me cry" (an aunt). I thought for sure I would bawl at our pictures, everything prior to the wedding made me cry like a baby. Much to my surprise, I didn't. I've looked at them a million times, and all I can do is smile. It was such a happy day and I relive it every time I look at what Mike and Kate captured for us. We could not have asked for anything more, from their presence on the day-of to the work they produced... 100% satisfied. I recommend them to anyone who mentions photography, and I know we'll be seeing them again for us too. Do yourself a favor, go meet and book them now- you won't regret it.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bethany
Wedding:
11/22/2008
5.0/5.0
Mike and Kate are exceptional! There are no other words to describe them and their work. From the time we met them, to the time we had our engagement session, to our wedding day, we were certain that we had chosen the absolute best there is for photographers. You can be sure you will receive the upmost professionalism, courtesy, creativeness, and comfort with Mike and Kate!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sbc08
Wedding:
11/8/2008
5.0/5.0
Kate and Mike were absolutely amazing! We loved having them be a part of our wedding day-it was so much fun taking pictures together! They did a great job and definitely captured all of the best moments of our day. I can't thank them enough! I highly recommend MKD photography to anyone looking for wedding photographers.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brown_bride08
Wedding:
10/4/2008
5.0/5.0
Mike and Kate were very flexible and were able to work with my non-standard needs and budget. The photos I've seen thus far are amazing- everyone I've shown them to has been very impressed!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
erinkfol
Wedding:
9/13/2008
4.8/5.0
Kate and Mike were absolutely amazing! The pictures were gorgeous, and they were easy to work with. The only reason I don't give them a 5 on responsiveness is that our pictures took a little longer than I expected to get back (we got all of the images about 2 months after the wedding), but I don't know if I just had unreasonably high expectations after how great they were to work with all along. I would definitely recommend them, and I loved that they gave us a disk with digital copies of all the images.
Services Used: Photography
MKD Photography responded with the following comments:

Thanks so much for the feedback, Erin! Our first requirement is that you love the pictures and don't mind hanging out with us for the day! As for getting your images we try to get images up on Pictage about 4-6 weeks after the wedding (yours were up on Oct. 27 which was the 6 week mark). September is a hard month, though, because we also have senior portraits that all need to be in at a certain time in order to make it into the yearbook so sometimes disks get back logged--sadly yours was lost in the mail with the new address that we didn't have...we do the best that we can!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Molly
Wedding:
8/22/2008
5.0/5.0
I could not agree more with my fellow reviewers - Kate and Mike were beyond incredible. They captured the most amazing moments - not only between me and my husband - but also of our families and friends. Kate and Mike are thoughtful and professional - and on top of that, they take the most beautiful photos. I can not recommend them highly enough :-) Molly & JD
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
C.
Wedding:
6/21/2008
5.0/5.0
We can not say enough about the quality and professionalism of MKD photography. From the surprise slideshow during the reception that wowed our guests who got to see "getting ready photos" they had missed, to the ease and seamlessness of their work. So many of our guests commented on how they didn't even feel aware of photos being taken, and certainly when we look at the results we're in awe of all the moments that were captured elegantly and beautifully. Photography and capturing the moments were one of the most important aspects of our celebration, and we are thrilled with their work. With less emphasis on posed formal photos, we hoped to blend those shots with the movement of the day. Mike and Kate make you feel at ease instantly, and have knack for finding the best places for shots. Their promptness for providing sneak peeks, and the results, is amazing considering their schedules. Highly recommend! It would not be surprising to hear that they begin booking even farther in advance. The day of a wedding can fly by, and small details may not be noticed; but photographs that capture all the emotion - and bring it to the surface again when you look at them - are priceless.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tanya
Wedding:
6/20/2008
5.0/5.0
Kate and Mike are great! There isn't a better team to have surrounding you on your wedding day. They immediately put you at ease...they are calm (and funny!) and they quickly go with the flow as the day unfolds. I knew that Kate and Mike were creative and talented before we booked them for our event, but still nothing could prepare me for the amazing photographs they created at our celebration. I was extremely pleased and proud when our guests kept commenting on how beautiful the images were as they watched them on the surprise slide show that Kate and Mike arranged. Their quality of work was consistent right on through to the arrival of our images. The time and detail put into finalizing our images was impressive (they arrived in a personalized CD case covered with our photos!) They did not miss a thing...I love to look back through the photographs and relive our special day. Everything about Kate and Mike exceeded my expectations and I am forever grateful that we chose to work with MKD Photography for one of the most memorable days of our lives.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
2/23/2008
5.0/5.0
I don't even know where to begin! Mike & Kate are WONDERFUL! We began our time with then quite some time before our wedding with engagement pictures just after a snow storm in the park and then our wedding the day after a snow storm! Their kindness, professionalism and service are top knotch and they are just great people to work with and wonderful to have around you on your special day. I recommend them 10 times over & have friends/family who have used their services and loved them as well. If you use Mike & Kate to capture your special day, you certainly will not be disappointed.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liza
Wedding:
10/28/2007
5.0/5.0
Kate was easy to work with, flexible, quick to respond to emails and questions, and sent us a sneak peek of our (gorgeous) photos while we were still on our honeymoon. She and her husband, Mike (the "M" of MKD), were so sweet and unobtrusive during the ceremony and reception, yet managed to gracefully wrangle our enormous families (including four small children) during the pre-wedding pictures. They are absolutely fabulous!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerri
Wedding:
8/18/2007
5.0/5.0
Mike and Kate are wonderful - and so are my wedding photographs! I highly recommend them; you won't be disappointed.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Ayer, MA 01720 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for MKD Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1216513295752-logowhite2400px