130x130 sq 1258661042225 mmtry

M&M The Special Events Company

Carol Stream , IL

LOCATION

493 Mission Street
Carol Stream, IL 60188 US (map)

PHONE

630-871-9999

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

M&M's unique approach to weddings and floral design enables us to offer our clients great value, and the most cohesive design direction. Our designers can access in-house elements and... Read more
M&M's unique approach to weddings and floral design enables us to offer our clients great value, and the most cohesive design direction. Our designers can access in-house elements and services to package mood transforming decor and lighting, stunning table and personal floral, fabulous table setting rentals, tenting, and virtually any planning and production component. Our capabilities save you time. money, and worry. Creating the perfectly memorable occasion the you will remember for a life time! Read less

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1258660988653 076
130x130 sq 1258661958372 wyndhamweddingcenterpiecedetailc
130x130 sq 1258661216466 garderebouquetphotobyhumzayasin
130x130 sq 1258661617278 altararrangementsphotobypassionsproductionco
130x130 sq 1258661521091 stimsondetail
130x130 sq 1228323126152 20080219 0149copy
130x130 sq 1258661234888 weddingcakebludoorstudioscroplowres
130x130 sq 1258661034153 078
130x130 sq 1258661189763 bridesmaidspersonalbbludoorstudioslowres
130x130 sq 1258661557200 chicagoflowerandgardenshowc
130x130 sq 1258661582841 octoberweddingbouquetcroplbellapictures
130x130 sq 1258662588482 copyofkristenandnathanwed269
130x130 sq 1258661097575 506
130x130 sq 1258661923607 wyndhamweddingcenterpiecedetail
130x130 sq 1258661658747 floralcaketopperphotobypassionsproductionco
130x130 sq 1228323474543 img 0390
130x130 sq 1258661263091 personalsbludoorstudioscroplowres
130x130 sq 1228323399605 img 0345
130x130 sq 1224619401038 westinaisle
130x130 sq 1258662049528 janwedding2
130x130 sq 1258661854544 allertonreceptionprofessionalroomshot
130x130 sq 1258661878935 beachbouquetsdianeblackphotographywebres
130x130 sq 1258661692216 bridesmaidbouquet
130x130 sq 1228323551777 westinstage
130x130 sq 1228323314152 gk6q7393
130x130 sq 1258661644591 bridalbouquetphotobypassionsproductionco
130x130 sq 1228323130605 gk6q0180copy
130x130 sq 1225834977685 tiffanyblue
130x130 sq 1228323314949 gk6q7396
130x130 sq 1225834622669 img 0360
130x130 sq 1228323474309 img 0375
130x130 sq 1228323542496 weddingshower009
130x130 sq 1258661341857 placetablefloralbludoorstudios
130x130 sq 1258661726982 scan0003lowres
130x130 sq 1258662500013 janwedding2

INFO FOR RENTALS & PHOTOBOOTHS

Which of the following event rental services do you provide?
Clean Up, Delivery, Setup
What event items are available?
Aisle Markers, Aisle Runners, Altar / Arch, Centerpieces, Chair Covers, Chairs, Chuppah, Dance Floor, Decor, Drapery, Lights, Lounge Furniture, Signage, Tables, Tent Accessories, Tents, Vases
What food and beverage items are available?
Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware, Linens

INFO FOR FLOWERS

How would you describe the style of your floral designs?
Classic, Eclectic, Glamorous, Modern, Romantic, Rustic, Vintage
Which of the following services do you provide?
Clean Up, Consultations, Delivery, Event Design, Samples, Set Up, Venue Visit
What types of arrangements do you provide?
Aisle Decor, Altar Decor, Bouquets, Boutonnieres, Chuppah Decor, Corsages, Flower Petals, Non-Floral, Single Flowers, Table Arrangements

REVIEWS

3.9
out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
3.7/5.0
3.9/5.0
3.9/5.0
4.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Krista
Wedding:
10/17/2015
1.4/5.0
This was the absolute worst vendor I worked with for our wedding (I didn't actually end up using them). I contacted them because I wanted wooden farm tables for our wedding, but we had a room flip at our venue, and the timing was tight. M&M supposedly had tables that had folding table legs, so it would be feasible to do a room flip with those type of tables.

I had to contact Debbi three times before I actually got a hold of her. It was extremely stressful to not have my questions answered in a timely manner. I needed to know if the tables could be set up quickly, and stored flat when not in use. Spoiler alert - not possible.

I went to see the tables in person at their Fulton showroom in Chicago, but the only one available for me to see was being used as a desk for the staff. It looked horrible, super scratched, etc. and I had to take their word for it that the ones they used at actual venues were "in better shape." The other problem with the tables was that they were narrow, and it would be tight to have table settings on each side. Also, they only would really seat three on each side because of where the legs were. I was assured that they could squeeze in four.

After MUCH back and forth, and emailing with three separate people, I received an email on 10/2/15 saying the tables do "require some assembly; as they are not a simple folding leg." The wedding was 10/17/15. HELLO, this is what I was asking them about from day 1.

I have never been so excited to see simple folding tables and white tablecloths at the wedding (provided by my caterer). The manager at my venue said unfortunately another bride rented the "folding tables" and it was a disaster. M&M also offered lounge furniture that we originally were going to order, but I went with simple highboys and stools from our caterer so that I didn't have to use this horrible company.

AVOID!
This was the absolute worst vendor I worked with for our wedding (I didn't actually end up using them). I contacted them Read more...
This was the absolute worst vendor I worked with for our wedding (I didn't actually end up using them). I contacted them because I wanted wooden farm tables for our wedding, but we had a room flip at our venue, and the timing was tight. M&M supposedly had tables that had folding table legs, so it would be feasible to do a room flip with those type of tables.

I had to contact Debbi three times before I actually got a hold of her. It was extremely stressful to not have my questions answered in a timely manner. I needed to know if the tables could be set up quickly, and stored flat when not in use. Spoiler alert - not possible.

I went to see the tables in person at their Fulton showroom in Chicago, but the only one available for me to see was being used as a desk for the staff. It looked horrible, super scratched, etc. and I had to take their word for it that the ones they used at actual venues were "in better shape." The other problem with the tables was that they were narrow, and it would be tight to have table settings on each side. Also, they only would really seat three on each side because of where the legs were. I was assured that they could squeeze in four.

After MUCH back and forth, and emailing with three separate people, I received an email on 10/2/15 saying the tables do "require some assembly; as they are not a simple folding leg." The wedding was 10/17/15. HELLO, this is what I was asking them about from day 1.

I have never been so excited to see simple folding tables and white tablecloths at the wedding (provided by my caterer). The manager at my venue said unfortunately another bride rented the "folding tables" and it was a disaster. M&M also offered lounge furniture that we originally were going to order, but I went with simple highboys and stools from our caterer so that I didn't have to use this horrible company.

AVOID! Read less
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default vendor profile pic
EmmaCZ
Wedding:
9/5/2015
4.8/5.0
We used M&M for all of our rentals (linens, tableware, tables, chairs, lounge furniture) for our September wedding. They had everything we wanted and worked really well with our caterer to make sure they had everything we needed. It was a great choice! Their set up fees were a bit steep, but we had our caterers do it instead and M&M was fine with that so everything worked out perfectly!
We used M&M for all of our rentals (linens, tableware, tables, chairs, lounge furniture) for our September wedding. They Read more...
We used M&M for all of our rentals (linens, tableware, tables, chairs, lounge furniture) for our September wedding. They had everything we wanted and worked really well with our caterer to make sure they had everything we needed. It was a great choice! Their set up fees were a bit steep, but we had our caterers do it instead and M&M was fine with that so everything worked out perfectly! Read less
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
M&M The Special Events Company responded with the following comments:

We pride ourselves on our relationships with caterers, and always strive to work hand-in-hand with them enhancing the look of every Wedding. We're so pleased we delivered for your Wedding Day!
Default vendor profile pic
Brooke
Wedding:
4/11/2015
4.6/5.0
We used M&M for our wedding ceremony decor and our flowers. The decor from M&M was unique. We were getting discouraged while looking for something to make our ceremony look elegant and all we could find were the same arches everywhere else. M&M had beautiful lighted panels and columns that gave our hotel ceremony the extra pop that it needed. Our flowers were gorgeous and turned out exactly as Brian promised, plus they lasted for about 2 weeks after the wedding! Gianna coordinated everything for us and was wonderful to work with. The staff was on time and everything was set up as planned. They were there to take everything down quickly so the hotel could set up our reception. I would definitely recommend them to other couples. The less we have to worry about when getting married, the better.
We used M&M for our wedding ceremony decor and our flowers. The decor from M&M was unique. We were getting discouraged Read more...
We used M&M for our wedding ceremony decor and our flowers. The decor from M&M was unique. We were getting discouraged while looking for something to make our ceremony look elegant and all we could find were the same arches everywhere else. M&M had beautiful lighted panels and columns that gave our hotel ceremony the extra pop that it needed. Our flowers were gorgeous and turned out exactly as Brian promised, plus they lasted for about 2 weeks after the wedding! Gianna coordinated everything for us and was wonderful to work with. The staff was on time and everything was set up as planned. They were there to take everything down quickly so the hotel could set up our reception. I would definitely recommend them to other couples. The less we have to worry about when getting married, the better. Read less
Services Used: Flowers, Rentals & Photobooths
M&M The Special Events Company responded with the following comments:

We're so pleased that we succeeded in providing beautiful floral/decor and excellent service for your wedding! Thank you for the kind words and congratulations.
Default vendor profile pic
Andi
Wedding:
9/28/2013
4.2/5.0
M&M was our "one stop shop" for chairs, aisle runner, ceremony backdrop, flowers, centerpieces, tablecloths, and chair covers. It was so nice to get all this from one vendor and everything turned out fantastic! I was more than pleased with the flower arrangements by their florist Brian and both him and Amy were both very patient with us and helped us to create the look for our ceremony and reception. I would give them a 5 out of 5 stars, but being as busy as they are, the email communication was slow, and I remember it was odd that they didn't request a deposit sooner. But I would definitely use them again for any party needs!
M&M was our "one stop shop" for chairs, aisle runner, ceremony backdrop, flowers, centerpieces, tablecloths, and chair Read more...
M&M was our "one stop shop" for chairs, aisle runner, ceremony backdrop, flowers, centerpieces, tablecloths, and chair covers. It was so nice to get all this from one vendor and everything turned out fantastic! I was more than pleased with the flower arrangements by their florist Brian and both him and Amy were both very patient with us and helped us to create the look for our ceremony and reception. I would give them a 5 out of 5 stars, but being as busy as they are, the email communication was slow, and I remember it was odd that they didn't request a deposit sooner. But I would definitely use them again for any party needs! Read less
Services Used: Flowers, Rentals & Photobooths
M&M The Special Events Company responded with the following comments:

Thanks so much for the feedback - we are always looking to improve our services. Congrats again on your beautiful wedding!
Default vendor profile pic
Janice
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
They made a beautiful arch full of flowers, all of the wedding party flowers, chair covers with bows for the ceremony. The brides bouquet was splendid as well as all the other flowers. They decorated the reception with all the linens, streetlights. brought the arch downstairs to the reception, pretty white couches with tables and pipe/drape with colored lights & so much more. It was gorgeous, other people from weddings in other rooms stopped in to say it was the prettiest reception they had ever seen. Thank you M&M!
They made a beautiful arch full of flowers, all of the wedding party flowers, chair covers with bows for the ceremony. The Read more...
They made a beautiful arch full of flowers, all of the wedding party flowers, chair covers with bows for the ceremony. The brides bouquet was splendid as well as all the other flowers. They decorated the reception with all the linens, streetlights. brought the arch downstairs to the reception, pretty white couches with tables and pipe/drape with colored lights & so much more. It was gorgeous, other people from weddings in other rooms stopped in to say it was the prettiest reception they had ever seen. Thank you M&M! Read less
Services Used: Flowers, Rentals & Photobooths
M&M The Special Events Company responded with the following comments:

We're so pleased to have been able to deliver the beautiful look that the bride and groom wanted for their special day! Thank you for all the positive feedback.
130x130 sq 1313782401879 weddingdress
Kristin
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
M & M provided my linens and chiavari chairs for my wedding reception of 200. The manager at my wedding venue went ahead and placed all of the orders for me, so I didn't really work with them directly. The country club that we held our wedding typically works with M & M and recommended them. The price at M &M could not be beat (I shopped around for a lot of places for chairs), and they were beautiful at my reception. We went with mahogany chiavari chairs with ivory seats, and ivory linens. With the purchase of linens the prices of my chairs went down significantly. Everything was beautiful and it didn't cost much at all, so I was very pleased.
M & M provided my linens and chiavari chairs for my wedding reception of 200. The manager at my wedding venue went ahead Read more...
M & M provided my linens and chiavari chairs for my wedding reception of 200. The manager at my wedding venue went ahead and placed all of the orders for me, so I didn't really work with them directly. The country club that we held our wedding typically works with M & M and recommended them. The price at M &M could not be beat (I shopped around for a lot of places for chairs), and they were beautiful at my reception. We went with mahogany chiavari chairs with ivory seats, and ivory linens. With the purchase of linens the prices of my chairs went down significantly. Everything was beautiful and it didn't cost much at all, so I was very pleased. Read less
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
130x130 sq 1286809785500 s41290cb11207623
Leanne
Wedding:
6/26/2011
1.5/5.0
This company was awful. They charged my credit card without telling me. This was a card I had used a year ago to put money down. They did not call to confirm whether the card was good or wether I wanted to use another one.

They also did not confirm my order with me a week prior. So, I called them. The order they had in the system was not even correct. On top of that, they charged me a tax for Chicago when my reception did not even take place in Chicago. I do not recommend this company at all. If you choose to go with them, make sure you stay on top of them.
This company was awful. They charged my credit card without telling me. This was a card I had used a year ago to put money Read more...
This company was awful. They charged my credit card without telling me. This was a card I had used a year ago to put money down. They did not call to confirm whether the card was good or wether I wanted to use another one.

They also did not confirm my order with me a week prior. So, I called them. The order they had in the system was not even correct. On top of that, they charged me a tax for Chicago when my reception did not even take place in Chicago. I do not recommend this company at all. If you choose to go with them, make sure you stay on top of them. Read less
Services Used: Flowers, Rentals & Photobooths
M&M The Special Events Company responded with the following comments:

This Bride's experience is accurate, but by no means the norm with M&M. Once made aware of the issue this client was credited the correct amount and offered an additional discount for her troubles. The wedding reception set up went smoothly and the room looked beautiful!
Default vendor profile pic
2011bk
Wedding:
4/2/2011
5.0/5.0
We rented our Chivari Chairs and bars for our wedding and could not be happier with the price and look of the chairs and bars. They definitely made our wedding look amazing!
We rented our Chivari Chairs and bars for our wedding and could not be happier with the price and look of the chairs and Read more...
We rented our Chivari Chairs and bars for our wedding and could not be happier with the price and look of the chairs and bars. They definitely made our wedding look amazing! Read less
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default vendor profile pic
ayottel
Wedding:
2/5/2011
4.9/5.0
I used M&M for my floral for my bridal party and alter arrangements. They were by far the MOST reasonably priced that I found by far in the area. I worked with Tina who was a total doll to work with, very pleasant. She was easy to get ahold of both via email and phone and promptly answered any and all of my questions/concerns regarding my flowers leading up to my big day. She also helped provide insight and guidance where needed in areas I wasn't certain of such as my own bouquet and what flowers would work well with it. Upon delivery, they provided me extra coursages and boutinerres just in case of 'damages' with the ceremony etc. Everything was carefully transported to protect it from the winter weather. Best of all, despite the blizzard that occurred right before my wedding, my flowers still arrived exactly as I ordered nothing had to be altered! Thank you Tina and M&M Events for making my flowers so beautiful and helping to make my day memorable!
I used M&M for my floral for my bridal party and alter arrangements. They were by far the MOST reasonably priced that I Read more...
I used M&M for my floral for my bridal party and alter arrangements. They were by far the MOST reasonably priced that I found by far in the area. I worked with Tina who was a total doll to work with, very pleasant. She was easy to get ahold of both via email and phone and promptly answered any and all of my questions/concerns regarding my flowers leading up to my big day. She also helped provide insight and guidance where needed in areas I wasn't certain of such as my own bouquet and what flowers would work well with it. Upon delivery, they provided me extra coursages and boutinerres just in case of 'damages' with the ceremony etc. Everything was carefully transported to protect it from the winter weather. Best of all, despite the blizzard that occurred right before my wedding, my flowers still arrived exactly as I ordered nothing had to be altered! Thank you Tina and M&M Events for making my flowers so beautiful and helping to make my day memorable! Read less
Services Used: Flowers
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
2.2/5.0
I had a terrible experience with M&M special events for my July wedding, which was held in my parents backyard & had 225 guests, so we had a lot of stuff needed to be rented! I got my first proposal in November & I am sad to say that it was not finalized until the week before the wedding. This drove me crazy & gave me such anxiety which no bride wants! Sandra was our main contact for the event & even when we met in person or talked line by line it sounded like she understood what we wanted but the proposals we got back never reflected that. I never really believed anything she said, as everything was very "salesy". I would either not hear from her for weeks or have 6, 1 sentence emails in my inbox & only 1 would get answered. The week before the wedding I realized that the name of the lights had changed somewhere in these months & they were not the Italian café lights I originally wanted nor would they hang them from trees which I asked from since the beginning. So I had to scramble to find another vendor (thank you Concept Effects who came to the rescue) the week of my wedding to give me the correct lights which was vital to completing my vision of my perfect backyard wedding. Sandra sent us a proposal for a generator but my husband decided to get his own so this was never included in our contact, yet the day before the wedding a HUGE generator was delivered to my parents address and I got an email from Sandra saying we owed them money for this generator, which we refused to pay.The only reason their score is this high is because they were cheaper than the majority of the rental companies I originally contacted Also, the set-up crew was actually awesome and fast and even though Sandra did not understand what I wanted for the dance floor and ordered the wrong dimensions, the crew understood and accommodated what I wanted.

I will never use them again or recommend them to anyone. This was the worst thing I had to deal with in the whole wedding planning process.
I had a terrible experience with M&M special events for my July wedding, which was held in my parents backyard & had 225 Read more...
I had a terrible experience with M&M special events for my July wedding, which was held in my parents backyard & had 225 guests, so we had a lot of stuff needed to be rented! I got my first proposal in November & I am sad to say that it was not finalized until the week before the wedding. This drove me crazy & gave me such anxiety which no bride wants! Sandra was our main contact for the event & even when we met in person or talked line by line it sounded like she understood what we wanted but the proposals we got back never reflected that. I never really believed anything she said, as everything was very "salesy". I would either not hear from her for weeks or have 6, 1 sentence emails in my inbox & only 1 would get answered. The week before the wedding I realized that the name of the lights had changed somewhere in these months & they were not the Italian café lights I originally wanted nor would they hang them from trees which I asked from since the beginning. So I had to scramble to find another vendor (thank you Concept Effects who came to the rescue) the week of my wedding to give me the correct lights which was vital to completing my vision of my perfect backyard wedding. Sandra sent us a proposal for a generator but my husband decided to get his own so this was never included in our contact, yet the day before the wedding a HUGE generator was delivered to my parents address and I got an email from Sandra saying we owed them money for this generator, which we refused to pay.The only reason their score is this high is because they were cheaper than the majority of the rental companies I originally contacted Also, the set-up crew was actually awesome and fast and even though Sandra did not understand what I wanted for the dance floor and ordered the wrong dimensions, the crew understood and accommodated what I wanted.

I will never use them again or recommend them to anyone. This was the worst thing I had to deal with in the whole wedding planning process. Read less
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
M&M The Special Events Company responded with the following comments:

M&M regrets any miscommunications and disappointments and is very thankful for the feedback about this experience. Our production team is top notch and I'm glad that the set up crew was able to think quickly and solve any issues before your wedding.

DEALS

Free Bridal Bouquet
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $250 Value
The Brides bouquet is free when all briday party personals, and reception floral is ordered from M&M $2000 minimum order.
Deal #WW7a4f1475b749a622
220x220 1258661042225 mmtry

MAP

 
493 Mission Street, Carol Stream, IL 60188 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for M&M The Special Events Company
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1258661042225 mmtry