130x130_sq_1230908506468-photo1

Mobile Music 1

Darien , GA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

PO Box 1586
Darien, GA US 31305 (map)

PHONE

877-260-7234

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

From the planning to the performance, you’ll understand why Mobile Music 1 was the first choice for so many Coastal Georgia weddings. We direct, perform and run sound for ceremonies in... Read more
From the planning to the performance, you’ll understand why Mobile Music 1 was the first choice for so many Coastal Georgia weddings. We direct, perform and run sound for ceremonies in traditional settings as well as the popular garden and beach weddings. You can have live dinner music as well as party down with one of the area’s premiere DJ companies. Sheila has over 28 years of piano and vocal experience. Dan has been a disc jockey since 1984. Checks, Visa/MC accepted. Read less

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1230918674671-photo2
130x130_sq_1230918686406-photo3
130x130_sq_1230918698718-photo4
130x130_sq_1230918717562-photo5
130x130_sq_1230918735281-photo6
130x130_sq_1230918749437-photo7

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
What is your usual attire?
Island themed clothes, business casual (shirt & pants), business formal (new suit 1/09) and formal (tuxedo and gown).
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
All songs are provided by Mobile Music 1 on CD.
How many other DJs do you work with?
We network with professional DJs and other entertainers across the US.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Yes, if the bride's schedule permits. One of us is usually available most weekday and Sunday mornings and middays, most weekday evenings.
Do you bring your own equipment?
Mobile Music 1 has everything needed for wedding ceremonies and the reception party afterwards. We also offer split locations and transmitting to remote speakers so that cocktail and dinner music can be enjoyed by all, even if it's not in the same locale!
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
Not only do we have an 'intelligent' mobile DJ light show, we have a modern version of the disco ball called the Starball. The black sphere rotates slowly and the light emits from the small holes, creating the classic effect of the disco ball while keeping with a very clean, polished presentation. For garden/lawn weddings or for live dinner music, Sheila can perfom with her digital piano. Although some may call it a 'keyboard', the quality is better than that. It sounds just like a piano and had a hefty price tag when we purchased it.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
Most of the time requirement depends on the load in, what we're bringing in and other logistic concerns. We'll take care of that ourselves. The venue can provide the table and skirting or we can use our own.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
The 6-foot table should be approximately 4 feet from the wall and adjacent to the dance floor.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
Typically, Dan will announce the formalities and will interact sparingly to bring the party to the next level.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
Occasionally, our clients will provide a meal and we take turns to make sure everything goes smoothly. Typically, we pack a few sandwiches and find time before the event to go over notes, practice the grand entrance and eat.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
If Sheila is playing live dinner music, recorded music will be playing during her breaks.
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Because we're a 2 person team, if either becomes unavailable we will continue and will simply bring an assistant along.
What is your overtime rate?
Mobile Music 1 charges a flat rate per event. It makes budgeting for your entertainment so much easier!
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
So far, we haven't charged for travel. If we do, I'm sure that it would be enough to cover costs only, such as plane tickets, hotel rooms and meals. So please, Please, PLEASE let us know if you are looking having us at your destination wedding in Maui. Aloha, y'all!

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tbarefo1
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Dan and Sheila were amazing. They were early the day of and offered to help with anything that they could. They were so nice and awesome to work with. People were able to request songs but they also played great selections on their own. I wanted a dj that would play clean music but fun music at the same time. They matched all of my standards. They were also very affordable. I found them through a friend that used them and they were exactly what we needed and so much more!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
erkmknwl
Wedding:
12/29/2010
5.0/5.0
Sheila and Dan were great to work with. Wonderful people who will help you with anything you need. Became part of the wedding and family quick. Wonderful music and fun times!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna Marie
Wedding:
11/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Dan and Sheila did such a great job!! We are so happy we chose Mobile Music 1 for our reception! They made every transition ease so gracefully and I honestly don't think our reception would have gone half as well without them there. They directed everything perfectly! All of the speeches, special dances, and every single reception 'event' went perfectly.

They were always very professional and the music they chose fit our event perfectly. We got to choose our special-dance songs, but left the other music choices up to them (and they did a great job). I have several family members who are very conservative and they definitely accomodated for that. Everything they played was classy and light while still being really fun. I'm pretty sure every single guest was out on the dance floor for at least part of the time, and the dance floor stayed packed most of the evening. Everyone had such a great time!

The lights they used also looked really cool (and came out looking great in the pictures). Everything about having them there turned out amazing! Again, I don't think our reception would have been the same had we used somebody else.

The one thing I would have changed is to have the night go longer -I had several family members/guests comment later about how it felt the night got cut short (but everything ended according to contract). So for future brides and grooms -even if you don't think you'll need the extra time I would definitely talk to them about extending the time of your reception depending on how things go that day/night. You might find you want it to go longer and since it's a once a lifetime event it would definitely be worth the extra money.

But we are still glad we chose Mobile Music 1! They did a fantastic job with everything! So, thanks Dan and Sheila! Y'all made our reception great! :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
10/16/2010
4.0/5.0
It seemed like the guests enjoyed the music. They were very nice and know about weddings.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crystal
Wedding:
5/15/2010
2.5/5.0
We were very dissatisfied with our service provided by Mobile Music 1. Dan is very nice. However they were difficult to communicate with at times, late the day of the wedding and Sheila was less than nice at our event. They did not play half of our ceremony music to include Bridal March and recessional as well as music for our wedding party. The music was very important to us and no apology was offered by them. Their ONE speaker was small and not very loud outside at the ceremony. Not many people were dancing at first at the reception and they did not try to get everyone on the dance floor until a few friends had to go to them to request songs to get people dancing. Overall the DJ is the only thing I would change about our wedding.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Mobile Music 1 responded with the following comments:

Crystal gave us the music to be played at the ceremony, the song for her to walk down the aisle was extremely soft. The minister cut 4 min off the ceremony and pushed them down the aisle right after Crystal's friend sang a song. We couldn't pull her disc out of player fast enough to put ours back in. BTW, the music, singing and vows were heard by everyone so the wedding PA system is more than adequate. It has taken care of brides for 3 years on various lawns, beach decks and beaches. If it can handle a beach, it's works well. You don't need a rock concert!

Sheila may have come across a little stern with a guest that popped up right before the ceremony and started bossing everyone around. We didn't see this lady at the rehearsal and we were directing the wedding so Sheila told her, "Thanks, but I've got it." She apologized to the groom and he said that it was fine and perfectly acceptable considering how rude it was for this guest to try to take charge. We still don't know who it was!

The dinner took most of the reception, all of the guests stayed in line at the 2 shrimp stir fry stations. The staff told me for the amount of guests, there should have been 3-4 stations but that would have added to the cost. This left very little time for dancing. We played the songs from the list that Crystal supplied as well a few of our own selections that got a better reaction than what she picked out. I believe we did have a couple of requests but there was only about 45 minutes for dancing. That was interrupted by her Uncle, the videographer with a ball and chain family tradition. The uncle, a groomsman and a couple of other guys ended up arguing with the Groom on the dance floor. How are these things our fault?

Sheila isn't available on Wednesdays because of church and I was working evenings at the time. That meant we were available every morning, every evening except on Wednesdays. From early morning until late evening, we were unavailable for 4 hours on those 4 days. I was also available all day on most Fridays until any scheduled rehearsals. We had given Crystal a handful of business cards that included our cell phones. She tried to call us on Wednesday nights, during the weekend when we performing elsewhere and she even called the house when the rehearsal was supposed to start. We were at the Sea Palms gazebo waiting on them. Yes, we were where we were supposed to be when she called our house but they weren't. They were up at the clubhouse. Of course we're going to be unavailable at times but all phones calls and emails were responded to quickly.

We've documented the wedding and will be willing to share with anyone including video footage. I have offered Wedding Wire video footage, phone logs for both the land line and cells phone to show far off this rogue review actually is. For more reviews, please visit our website.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
paigejudderinbenmom
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
The most wonderful and professional djs ever! Sheila and Dan provided exceptional service. They even stepped in and helped us organize our chaotic wedding rehearsal! They are simply the best!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsNewmire
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Dan and Sheila were simply wonderful to deal with. Everything was simply amazing! Both Dan and Sheila really paid attention to details and the things I really wanted included in my special day and kept in contact constantly right up until the day. I give them 2 thumbs up!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
virginiacorinna
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
They were very helpful and so easy to work with. One less thing to stress about, which was great.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
130x130_sq_1245074771143-372
jessglo
Wedding:
9/6/2009
4.6/5.0
Mobile Music did a great job with all of the music for my beach wedding and reception. Dan was very professional and easy to work with!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
PerkyJenna
Wedding:
7/11/2009
5.0/5.0
Dan and Sheila were excellent! It was a pleasure working with both of them for my wedding. Sheila has an excellent voice and stellar piano skills! Dan is fabulous on the mike and can play any music you ask him too. He is also wonderful with not playing music that you don't want to hear and can ward off any guests that try to pursuade him otherwise! I highly recommend this dynamic duo!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
4/25/2009
5.0/5.0
I really enjoyed there services. Mrs sheila and Mr. Dan are really nice and helpful. They went above and beyond to help make sure our special day went good. They were always easy to get in touch with and very helpful in assisting with music selections. They have a large selection of music and if they dont have it they will get it for you. If I ever am in need of music for an event, I would hire them again.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Mobile Music 1 responded with the following comments:

Happy anniversary Kristen!! I can't believe it's been 2 years already.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
michie23
Wedding:
11/15/2008
5.0/5.0
Dan and Sheila are two of the nicest people I have ever met. They were very professional and they helped us make our wedding a perfect day.
Sheila sang our favorite song during the ceremony and she did a wonderful job.
Also our wedding planner almost messed up our reception because she didn't have our food and punch ready when we got there and even though she didn't have to do it Sheila went into the kitchen and started helping get out the food and got our punch ready. I will never be able to thank her enough for that. She saved the reception.
In my opinion I believe that there isnt a better wedding vendor out there.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margaret
Wedding:
6/3/2008
5.0/5.0
Dan and Sheila created such a wonderful wedding experience for Sarah and Patrick's wedding.

They gave us much more than we had ever imagined or expected. We were so blessed to have them help us through the process of a destination wedding.

Sheila's music, Dan's DJing, plus a CD of photographs that they took were amazing. We were sorry that they couldn't come for our other daughter's wedding in Florida this past year.

Mobile Music 1 ROCKS!!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ago
Wedding:
4/26/2008
4.5/5.0
Dan and Sheila handled both our ceremony music for our wedding at the Faith Chapel on Jekyll Island and DJed for the reception at a nearby facility. I can't express how much their extensive knowledge of events at the JIA facilities made things much easier and smoother. Sheila was very open to discussing musical selections for the wedding and was excited to try out our non-traditional choice for the recessional. Dan was a terrific DJ and really kept the reception moving and looked out for our families and guests. I can honestly say that even if their package of ceremony and reception music seems a little pricey, they are well worth it.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ

MAP

 
PO Box 1586, Darien, GA 31305 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Mobile Music 1
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1230908506468-photo1