130x130 sq 1433451563623 0067stroshinerecce7975

Monterey Museum of Art

Monterey , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

559 Pacific Street - Mailing Address, 720 Via Mirada
Monterey, CA 93940 US (map)

PHONE

831-372-3689

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

History
Nestled on a scenic bluff overlooking Monterey Bay, the Monterey Museum of Art-La Mirada is a unique location for your event.

What began as a modest adobe... Read more
History
Nestled on a scenic bluff overlooking Monterey Bay, the Monterey Museum of Art-La Mirada is a unique location for your event.

What began as a modest adobe dwelling during the Mexican era grew to a lavish estate during the early twentieth century. Here, La Mirada’s owner, Hollywood screenwriter Gouverneur Morris entertained the luminaries of the silent screen, including Charlie Chaplin and Rudolf Valentino.

From the 1930s until the 1980s La Mirada was owned by the Work family who developed the property into one of the areas most beautiful private estates. In 1983, La Mirada was donated to the Monterey Museum of Art and modern galleries—the Dart Wing—were added in 1993.
Setting
Today, guests enter the Monterey Museum of Art-La Mirada through a small courtyard embellished with historic European tiles and tropical foliage. A colorful fountain beckons guests to the Rose Garden, a beautiful and memorable location for a wedding. A well-designed brick path leads the bride from the bridal suite to the ceremony site, meandering through an array of more than 125 species of modern and heirloom roses. The incredible view of Lake El Estero and a glimpse of Monterey Bay complete this unforgettable setting. Protected by towering Cypress Tess, the Rose Garden is perfect for your ceremony and dancing the night away.


Hold your reception in the Drawing Room and adjacent Patio which together accommodate 150 for a seated dinner or 200 for a standing reception. The Drawing Room features work from the Museum's permanent collection along with elegant hardwood floors, a grand piano, and opulent chandeliers.

The Gouverneur Morris Guest House serves as a spectacular bridal suite for the wedding and bridal party. Comprised of three intimate rooms, the Guest House features several original frescoes depicting Hollywood and the Jazz Age. This charming space is an ideal setting for pictures as the wedding party gets ready of the big day at the Monterey Museum of Art.

Whether you are looking for a modern or a historically romantic setting, the Monterey Museum of Art-La Mirada offers everything you might desire for your celebration of a lifetime. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1406586368864 0001delacruz8818
130x130 sq 1313015742121 1001311
130x130 sq 1406585471186 0265klarfeld8655
130x130 sq 1406585838287 0227coley8541
130x130 sq 1406585222153 03768332espinozadelacruzt
130x130 sq 1406585252419 0365coley8541t
130x130 sq 1406585320859 0411klarfeld8655t
130x130 sq 1406585754403 0067stroshinerecce7975
130x130 sq 1406585127358 0026coley8541
130x130 sq 1406586289650 0037stroshinerecce7975
130x130 sq 1406585873348 0040maganaperlin8440
130x130 sq 1406585609477 0636camargoperez8871
130x130 sq 1406586004350 0577elrodcardenas8516
130x130 sq 1406585704963 0689klarfeld8655
130x130 sq 1406585938747 0510coley8541
130x130 sq 1406586327332 0143klarfeld8655
130x130 sq 1406585426255 0542delacruz8818
130x130 sq 1406585523836 0545delacruz8818
130x130 sq 1313018216511 2223

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
1
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
3
Describe your venue:
Museum
Describe the style of your venue
Vintage, Classic, Garden
What kind of settings are available?
Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
Which of the following wedding events does your venue service?
Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
150
What event services do you offer?
Bridal Suite, Clean Up, Event Planning, Outside Vendors OK, Set Up
What transportation and access is available?
Shuttle, Valet, Wheelchair Access

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Mandi
Wedding:
8/30/2014
5.0/5.0
Working with Charity and the staff at La Mirada with my clients was wonderful. As a planner, it is always helpful when the onsite coordinator works with you to ensure the flow of the event. Charity is very professional and knowledgeable about her venue and I see her joy for weddings in every aspect. It was a beautiful venue and sparkling event, thank you for everything and I look forward to the next client that chooses to host their wedding there.
Working with Charity and the staff at La Mirada with my clients was wonderful. As a planner, it is always helpful when the Read more...
Working with Charity and the staff at La Mirada with my clients was wonderful. As a planner, it is always helpful when the onsite coordinator works with you to ensure the flow of the event. Charity is very professional and knowledgeable about her venue and I see her joy for weddings in every aspect. It was a beautiful venue and sparkling event, thank you for everything and I look forward to the next client that chooses to host their wedding there. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
They were absolutely fantastic! They provided us with a coordinator that was included and she made it go off without a hitch. Unique venue with beautiful locations for every aspect of the wedding and reception. It pushed our budget a little bit, but was worth every penny.
They were absolutely fantastic! They provided us with a coordinator that was included and she made it go off without a Read more...
They were absolutely fantastic! They provided us with a coordinator that was included and she made it go off without a hitch. Unique venue with beautiful locations for every aspect of the wedding and reception. It pushed our budget a little bit, but was worth every penny. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Liz
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Absolutely perfect location!!! Mel was fantastic, exactly what you need in someone helping your wedding day go smoothly. She knew us and how we wanted our day to go. I would recommend this location to anyone looking for a gorgeous location to get married in Monterey.
Absolutely perfect location!!! Mel was fantastic, exactly what you need in someone helping your wedding day go smoothly. Read more...
Absolutely perfect location!!! Mel was fantastic, exactly what you need in someone helping your wedding day go smoothly. She knew us and how we wanted our day to go. I would recommend this location to anyone looking for a gorgeous location to get married in Monterey. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Roslyn
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
The Monterey Museum is a lovely historical building with lots of charm, character and incredible art in the mission California style. The gardens and outdoor spaces were perfect for group mingling for our small intimate wedding. The ceremony was in the rose garden, dinner in the drawing room and dancing on the patio. Mel, the wedding coordinator, was very warm and friendly and flexible and easy to work with.

I also highly recommend Sandra Ivany Photography and her assistant as photographers and Paradise Catering for local sustainable produce which they grow on their property- basically home cooking.

It really was a lovely and relaxing afternoon / evening - in which we could really be present and enjoy our guests and close family.
The Monterey Museum is a lovely historical building with lots of charm, character and incredible art in the mission Read more...
The Monterey Museum is a lovely historical building with lots of charm, character and incredible art in the mission California style. The gardens and outdoor spaces were perfect for group mingling for our small intimate wedding. The ceremony was in the rose garden, dinner in the drawing room and dancing on the patio. Mel, the wedding coordinator, was very warm and friendly and flexible and easy to work with.

I also highly recommend Sandra Ivany Photography and her assistant as photographers and Paradise Catering for local sustainable produce which they grow on their property- basically home cooking.

It really was a lovely and relaxing afternoon / evening - in which we could really be present and enjoy our guests and close family. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Elon
Wedding:
10/16/2011
4.6/5.0
Monterey Museum of Art - La Mirada is a beautiful venue and an ideal location for smaller weddings. The Rose Garden makes a gorgeous ceremony spot, and variety of other rooms make for a unique reception venue. The staff was also a pleasure to work with.
Monterey Museum of Art - La Mirada is a beautiful venue and an ideal location for smaller weddings. The Rose Garden makes Read more...
Monterey Museum of Art - La Mirada is a beautiful venue and an ideal location for smaller weddings. The Rose Garden makes a gorgeous ceremony spot, and variety of other rooms make for a unique reception venue. The staff was also a pleasure to work with. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had to plan our wedding from cross country without even having family who live in Monterey to help out. Barbara Codd was so helpful though that it didn't seem to make any difference. She was patient and laid back, qualities you would think any event planner would have, although few seem to. The evening went perfectly, and the museum was absolutely beautiful. Since then, we've had multiple friends getting married in other museums as our wedding at the Monterey Museum of Art was such a success.
My husband and I had to plan our wedding from cross country without even having family who live in Monterey to help out. Read more...
My husband and I had to plan our wedding from cross country without even having family who live in Monterey to help out. Barbara Codd was so helpful though that it didn't seem to make any difference. She was patient and laid back, qualities you would think any event planner would have, although few seem to. The evening went perfectly, and the museum was absolutely beautiful. Since then, we've had multiple friends getting married in other museums as our wedding at the Monterey Museum of Art was such a success. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
jhenig77
Wedding:
7/22/2011
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding at the La Mirada in July 2011. It was a beautiful venue and wedding, and the staff at the La Mirada were so helpful--especially Mel. The site is great. No Saturdays were available, so we got married on a Friday night--which was unique and really cool. Mel oversaw our rehrearsal, and we got a ton of compliments about the venue, Mel and the wedding overall. I can't speak highly enough about this site--it is elegant, classic and unique. LOVED IT!!!
We had our wedding at the La Mirada in July 2011. It was a beautiful venue and wedding, and the staff at the La Mirada Read more...
We had our wedding at the La Mirada in July 2011. It was a beautiful venue and wedding, and the staff at the La Mirada were so helpful--especially Mel. The site is great. No Saturdays were available, so we got married on a Friday night--which was unique and really cool. Mel oversaw our rehrearsal, and we got a ton of compliments about the venue, Mel and the wedding overall. I can't speak highly enough about this site--it is elegant, classic and unique. LOVED IT!!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.6/5.0
Just got married at La Mirada, and don't get me wrong the place is beautiful but the event coordinator is absolutely the worst! Thank goodness for our caterers who seemed to know the place better than the coordinator and were way more helpful, even with things they didn't need to be doing. The coordinator is completely unorganized, says she is going to do something and then never does. I ended up doing 99% of the emailing and coordinating. I am so disappointed with the coordinator because she kept telling me everything would be fine and then she didn't do anything! She has an attitude and isn't very accommodating. as we were being kicked out at 9:55, told by a security officer that the gate closes automatically at 10, she sat on her ass while, I, in my wedding dress, lugged cases of wine and other wedding stuff to the car. All of our things got mixed up because they were rushing us out of there so quickly. Also, throughout the night I had to request that she turn the music up (we had an ipod) because it could'nt be heard at all, and then when a friend of mine was giving a speech, they turned it way up and drowned her out! How incredibly rude!! I know they aren't going to get repeat customers, because whose going to get married again, but they really need to have way better customer service becuse word-of-mouth and the internet will not be friendly to them if they continue operating like they do. Overall, I am incredibly dissapointed in the event coordinator, who by the way is a true salesman in the begining, before you've given your deposit, then she turns into the nastiest, most inefficient, disorganized and unaccountable "event coordinator" ever. If i have to give anyone looking to get married here some advice, I'd say, if you really can't pass up this beautiful place, hire your own coordinator or move on!
Just got married at La Mirada, and don't get me wrong the place is beautiful but the event coordinator is absolutely the Read more...
Just got married at La Mirada, and don't get me wrong the place is beautiful but the event coordinator is absolutely the worst! Thank goodness for our caterers who seemed to know the place better than the coordinator and were way more helpful, even with things they didn't need to be doing. The coordinator is completely unorganized, says she is going to do something and then never does. I ended up doing 99% of the emailing and coordinating. I am so disappointed with the coordinator because she kept telling me everything would be fine and then she didn't do anything! She has an attitude and isn't very accommodating. as we were being kicked out at 9:55, told by a security officer that the gate closes automatically at 10, she sat on her ass while, I, in my wedding dress, lugged cases of wine and other wedding stuff to the car. All of our things got mixed up because they were rushing us out of there so quickly. Also, throughout the night I had to request that she turn the music up (we had an ipod) because it could'nt be heard at all, and then when a friend of mine was giving a speech, they turned it way up and drowned her out! How incredibly rude!! I know they aren't going to get repeat customers, because whose going to get married again, but they really need to have way better customer service becuse word-of-mouth and the internet will not be friendly to them if they continue operating like they do. Overall, I am incredibly dissapointed in the event coordinator, who by the way is a true salesman in the begining, before you've given your deposit, then she turns into the nastiest, most inefficient, disorganized and unaccountable "event coordinator" ever. If i have to give anyone looking to get married here some advice, I'd say, if you really can't pass up this beautiful place, hire your own coordinator or move on! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg3
Claudia
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
I fell in love with the Rose Garden at La Mirada the second I saw it! We held our wedding ceremony there before they changed their policy. Apparently, now they only book weddings if both the ceremony and reception will take place there.
I was very grateful that they honored our contract.
Both Barabara and Mel did a fantastic job of organizing everything and of putting me at ease. I really didn't worry about a thing because I knew they had it handled.
I loved our ceremony and it was just beautiful!
I fell in love with the Rose Garden at La Mirada the second I saw it! We held our wedding ceremony there before they Read more...
I fell in love with the Rose Garden at La Mirada the second I saw it! We held our wedding ceremony there before they changed their policy. Apparently, now they only book weddings if both the ceremony and reception will take place there.
I was very grateful that they honored our contract.
Both Barabara and Mel did a fantastic job of organizing everything and of putting me at ease. I really didn't worry about a thing because I knew they had it handled.
I loved our ceremony and it was just beautiful! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Monterey Museum of Art responded with the following comments:

We do allow only receptions at La Mirada if a client wants to get married off site and have their reception at La Mirada. However, many couples choose to do both their ceremony and reception at our site because of the beautiful Rose Garden and the unique wedding venue.
Default vendor profile pic
Liz
Wedding:
10/9/2010
4.2/5.0
They were great to work with although not always good about responding to emails. But in the month before the wedding, everthing came together and they made sure the day ran smoothly.
They were great to work with although not always good about responding to emails. But in the month before the wedding, Read more...
They were great to work with although not always good about responding to emails. But in the month before the wedding, everthing came together and they made sure the day ran smoothly. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
559 Pacific Street - Mailing Address, 720 Via Mirada, Monterey, CA 93940 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Monterey Museum of Art
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1433451563623 0067stroshinerecce7975