130x130_sq_1317247106496-untitled

Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Alexandria , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

116 S. Alfred Street
Alexandria, VA US 22314

PHONE

703-838-8000

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Morrison House is a boutique, mansion style hotel, with a striking entrance courtyard and luxurious guest rooms and suites located in the Heart of Old Town Alexandria. We host... Read more
The Morrison House is a boutique, mansion style hotel, with a striking entrance courtyard and luxurious guest rooms and suites located in the Heart of Old Town Alexandria. We host elegant receptions and ceremonies in our charming parlor and library, seated events for up to 72 in our adjoining the Louis XVI Room and the Grille Dining Room. Cocktail style receptions for up to 110 guests flow throughout our event space and courtyard.

Chef Brian McPherson and the Grille at Morrison House offer exquisite menus and incomparable service that make all our events truly memorable. The award winning Grille at Morrison House offers the best of local farms and waters, beautifully prepared in the season.

A Washingtonian Best Venue award winner for 6 years running, the Morrison House is the perfect setting for a wedding of style and elegance. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1327358896237-mh10
130x130_sq_1327358965436-mh11
130x130_sq_1327359021705-mh17
130x130_sq_1327359080480-mh18
130x130_sq_1327360620962-mrrladyexterior
130x130_sq_1327362068134-mrrparlorwinehour2

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1382663245274-raheem-kyra-208
Kyra
Wedding:
12/29/2013
5.0/5.0
I am SOOOOOOOO happy, I found The Morrison House. It was just perfect for our wedding needs. We wanted to have a very intimate wedding, and wanted to find a location that was not too big and would not make the wedding feel empty.

We choose the elopement package, our total guest list was less than 30. Choosing The Morrison House made it very easy to plan a wedding. The package was inclusive of most of the things you need for your wedding, anything that was not included they will help you obtain.

We planned a winter holiday wedding and The Morrison House was decorated beautifully.

The food and beverages are great. It was very difficult for us to narrow down the selections after our tasting. All of our guest were pleased with the menu selections.

The accommodations are very comfortable and the staff is very friendly and professional. Even though we had our wedding during a VERY busy wedding season for the Morrison House (the last week of the year) the staff was very accommodating and very personal to our needs. The week of our wedding there was a wedding every day of the week yet every staff member called us by name and made sure we wanted for nothing.

If you are looking for a boutique hotel with a very warm feel this is the place for you.

We choose the elopment package that included (florist, wedding offical, musican, and catering). It made the wedding planning very easy. All of the vendor coordination is done through the Morrison House. All of the vendors were very timely in contacting us and were available for follown up. We had both our ceremony and reception at the Morrison House.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
12/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Wonderful boutique hotel! Gracious staff and accommodating to the nth degree! Can't say enough as to how they want to make your day special! Will make this our anniversary place for sure!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1378666743668-wilgiawords
Mrs Max
Wedding:
10/20/2013
4.2/5.0
For an intimate wedding, Morrison House is the way to go! Because my wedding was less than 20 people we had to go a la carte and that was pretty annoying having to contact every vendor myself instead of having it done through a package. The Event Manager is hard to get ahold of and seems like she's never in the office when you need her. But she was still friendly and everything went VERY smoothly so I thank her for that. The food was very good. The value for ceremony and reception was very affordable. Staff was so kind and went out of their way for you. I'm glad I had it there. We stayed there as well on our wedding night and really enjoyed our stay. Very romantic and elegant!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tarryn
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
We chose to hold our ceremony, reception and dinner at the Morrison House because we loved the value and convenience of their Elope with your Friends package. Sarah, the Catering Manager, was wonderful and very responsive in answering my (many) questions. It was easy to add extra guests and book extra nights of accommodation as well, since all of our guests were flying in. If you are looking for a one stop shop - this is the place! Their vendor (officiant, flowers, musician) selection is top notch and all of the guests raved about the food! The parlor, library and Louis XIV room are so beautiful that we didn't even have to bring extra decorations. You can also take advantage of the courtyard for pictures. Overall we were so happy with our wedding at the Morrison House and would highly recommend them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1376418093848-photo
Stephanie
Wedding:
8/23/2013
5.0/5.0
we had our reception dinner in the louis XVI room. the food was delicious, the wait staff was great, and the coordinator was great! we also stayed here overnight- nice rooms and amazing customer service. Would definitely recommend Morrison House.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The staff at the Morrison House made my wedding a truly memorable event and I can't say enough about the food, all night long my guests commented on how excellent it was- from the appetizers to the main course and decadent desserts. The Morrison House is the perfect venue if you are looking to host a small (we had 60 guests), elegant wedding reception and place a high value on good cuisine.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shantha
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
We had both our ceremony and reception at the Morrison House and it was absolutely perfect. We held the ceremony outside on the staircase, which made for a very beautiful setting. We had a cocktail reception and a sit down dinner - the food was fantastic, and the service was impeccable. We had a small wedding, so it wasn't too hard to organize, but the staff made everything run so smoothly. On the day of, our catering coordinator, Sarah, just had us drop everything off with her (flower, favors, guestbook, etc) and she set everything up, organized with the other vendors, and made sure everything was ready. We just had to show up!

We had a few minor issues with some of the rooms our guests were staying in, but the hotel management worked to make sure everything was corrected and so in the end we have no complaints.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
The Morrison House did an amazing job for our wedding. We took advantage of their "elopement package" that included 10 rooms (1 bridal suite and 9 for guests), three course dinner, hor's d'ouevres, open bar, use of the downstairs for cocktails, and more. They found us our officiant, got us flowers, found us a classical guitarist and all as part of the package. More importantly they were flexible with us on the details - I wanted cupcakes, we needed to add more guests etc. Victoria, Sarah and Annee were all amazing with helping us out. Furthermore, as guests started arriving, the staff at the Morrison House did an amazing job of helping early arrivals. We had a couple come in on a red-eye and weren't supposed to check in until 3 pm - they got a room at 9 am! Everyone loved the venue, the food, the staff - all in all I am so glad and happy that we had our wedding at Morrison House and would recommend it for everyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1327185832466-fbavatar2186606
Melissa
Wedding:
1/11/2012
4.1/5.0
I have mixed feelings about this review! We used them for the reception. We were planning from Arizona, so everything was over email, some over the phone. I opted for email to keep everything in line. My catering contact was not as proficient as I had hoped. With that being said. The facility is beautiful. The food was great. And the GM, Tobias Arff, was splendid. Was overall very pleased with the experience!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
8/20/2011
4.5/5.0
I chose the Morrison House for it's charm, location in Old Town Alexandria and the high quality service. The staff are eager to please and everything from the wedding ceremony, to the reception, to our suite was impeccable. It is a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. The food was phenomenal, and my guests are still raving about how wonderful everything was. The wedding / catering coordinators are extremely helpful and willing to share creative ideas to make your wedding special. If I had to do it all over again, I would choose the Morrison House.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melio
Wedding:
5/21/2011
4.8/5.0
We love Kimpton Hotels generally speaking and we were originally thinking the Monaco for our wedding because of it's beautiful courtyard, but we were also thinking a small wedding and this was just too big so they suggested their sister hotel, The Morrison House in Old Town Alexandria.

As soon as we walked in, we fell in love. It's beautifully decorated, the staff are so friendly and helpful. It's cozy and you feel like a VIP the entire time.
The food was amazing; everyone told us so. They made our special day a day we'll never forget. All of our guests enjoyed the venue and their stays at the hotel as well. They were so impressed by the gorgeous, luxe rooms and superb, attentive staff. We hope to go back for our anniversary!

Their event manager was so helpful throughout and gave us suggestions and really walked us through the whole process and helped everything go off without a hitch. I am so happy for the choice we made!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
gail
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
We had the rehearsal dinner at Morrison House and it was wonderful. The place is beautiful. You feel like you are walking into a lovely old mansion. From the minute you walk in they make you feel at home. There is a lovely living room where you can sit and visit before dinner and also a neat library. We had a private dining room and it was perfect. The service was superb, the atmosphere beautiful, the food fantastic, and all in all we could not have asked for more. Morrison House went to great lengths to make this a magical night and it was one for all guests.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
B6
rcd
Wedding:
7/15/2000
4.6/5.0
We stayed in the hotel during our wedding night. The room was not only beautiful but also very comfortable. Very expensive, but the bridal party paid for the the night as a wedding gift. Loved it.
Services Used: Unique Services
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1317247106496-untitled