130x130_sq_1344009667521-tmtlawnandview

Mountain Terrace

Woodside , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

17285 Skyline Boulevard
Woodside, CA US 94062 (map)

PHONE

650-851-1606

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Mountain Terrace is a stunning outdoor/indoor venue located on the San Francisco Peninsula in Woodside, Ca. to host your wedding or commitment ceremony. Experience your ceremony in... Read more
The Mountain Terrace is a stunning outdoor/indoor venue located on the San Francisco Peninsula in Woodside, Ca. to host your wedding or commitment ceremony. Experience your ceremony in our grassy meadow that boasts bay views peeking through a redwood grove. Dining outdoors on the expansive redwood deck allows your reception guests to take in the breathtaking views at The Mountain Terrace. As an alternative, the rustic beauty of our country-style lodge provides the backdrop for a cozy and intimate reception.

The Mountain Terrace is happy to be one of the few venues on the San Francisco Peninsula that can offer the option of just a morning wedding ceremony. Perfect for brides and grooms who will be hosting a banquet at another facility. We can accommodate up to 400 seated guests on the lawn.

We are located in Woodside at the intersection of Woodside Road (Highway 84) and Skyline Boulevard (Highway 35), about 10 minutes from Highway 280.

We offer site tours by appointment only. Please contact us for additional information or to arrange a tour of the property.

17285 Skyline Boulevard
Woodside, CA 94062
Phone: 650-851-1606



Email: info@themountainterrace.com Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1379618618240-mt01
130x130_sq_1350666607767-tmtmeadowbayviewretouched
130x130_sq_1350666605959-tmtlawnandview
130x130_sq_1350666608929-ceremony2
130x130_sq_1350666604694-ceremony
130x130_sq_1350666606303-deckwithlanterns
130x130_sq_1379618664227-mt06
130x130_sq_1379618693144-mt05
130x130_sq_1350666610238-tmthagopnightpatio2
130x130_sq_1350666601828-tmtwineroomimagedeckwithview
130x130_sq_1379618758015-img9954
130x130_sq_1350666612284-entrancegate1
130x130_sq_1379618704451-img9957
130x130_sq_1379618720674-img9951

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1950
When was your venue last renovated?
2014
Describe your venue:
Farm / Barn
Describe the style of your venue
Country, Garden / Romantic, Rustic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
300
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
1000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
50
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Offered in-house
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No

REVIEWS

4.3
out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.0/5.0
4.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nathalie
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
The Mountain Terrace is a beautiful venue with a gorgeous view and a wonderful team of amazing folks who want to make your wedding a dream come true. I got married there in October 2013 and it was a blast! I can't tell you how many times I thanked my lucky stars that we managed to secure a date and find the perfect location, and for so reasonable a pricetag.

We opted to have Mountain Terrace handle our catering as well, and the food was fantastic. Everyone commented on how tasty everything was, and they worked with us to create a menu that matched our tastes and worked with a few complicated dietary issues with our guests. They also handled lots of other requests with grace and professionalism, like lawn games, s'mores, signature drinks...everything you could want to make your wedding stand out.

I want to give a special shout out to Caren, who is one of the nicest vendors I worked with and an all around stand-out gal. She was so patient and so quick to respond to my many questions, and she even made sure a waiter came by and fed us so we didn't pass out during our photos. Thank you, Caren!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
I found Mountain Terrace to be a beautiful venue and was so lucky they had my date available! I first worked with Charisse who helped me sign the contract and get the ball rolling. Then we had our tasting date in March and met with Caren who helped answer ALL of my various questions. I worked with my wedding planner who helped pull my vision together. Mountain Terrace was a great all in one place! They handled the ceremony, reception, meal & bar! I couldn't believe what a great find this place was! Not to mention that I had the most beautiful weather that I was convinced I would not have! Thank you to the whole staff for making this place feel warm and welcoming to all my guests!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
8/5/2011
5.0/5.0
The staff at The Mountain Terrace is what makes this a spectacular choice for any couple. Pair that with charming location and beautiful views and we felt it was the perfect place for us. From the minute we walked in for our initial viewing, we pretty much knew it was where we wanted to get married. The energy was so positive, it just had an amazing vibe with some good music playing, it was cozy and magical. We didn't look any further. The staff is really warm and attentive here, they were so on top of everything. And the food was absolutely phenomenal. The other piece that makes this place such a gem is how affordable it is for what you get. Well, affordable in the wedding world. Great experience, highly recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hdijulio
Wedding:
5/29/2010
4.7/5.0
The staff at TMT was AMAZING! We had very good communication leading up to the big day, and they were incredibly flexible with all my requests. Day of, the staff waited on my hand and foot! I said something, and it was done! And even with falling behind on our schedule, they were so professional about everything. I never felt stressed or pressured by the staff. And of course, the view is SPECTACULAR! All our guests were amazed at the venue and couldn't believe how perfectly everything went. Thank you TMT!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
casey
Wedding:
9/4/2010
4.7/5.0
Our overall experience with the Mountain Terrace was absolutely fabulous. The place is very beautiful. We had about 130 guests and it was really perfect for that number. The ceremony was on the lawn. Then the cocktail hour on the lawn and under the trees. We were able to eat outside on the deck, which was nice.
I was a bit worried since up front they are very assertive about their various "rules" and additional charges. But the day of, they were very cool and accommodating. Also, I was worried about noise for the outdoor ceremony. but that too was not a problem. I was really impressed by the service. Didn't really seem to be the kind of place that would have such good service, but they did, really it was top notch.
My biggest complaint is the indoor dining room. The floor of that room is far from level. It slopes dramatically. This tends to give me a little vertigo. It's really weird.
we had MT cater too. and that worked out great. the food was excellent. Having them do the catering was a really good idea. I think lots of things were made easier by letting MT do everything.
Also, the alcohol was reasonably priced. Paying on a per person basis is the only way to go. Lots of other places charge per drink. I couldn't deal with the stress of people spilling drinks and also i had no good way of estimating how much the guests would drink. Their house wine that went with the basic package was just terrible, particularly the red wine. They should seriously rethink that. I am by no means a wine connoisseur, but this wine was clearly of poor quality. Also, it wasn't from California. I felt that my guests coming from all over the country to northern CA would be expecting something better and/or local. But they were very accommodating in allowing us to bring our own wine and even credited us for their wine that we didn't drink.
lastly, the value for the cost was good. Our friends in the area were surprised about what we spent given the quality. In general, weddings are too expensive. But you would be hard pressed to find a better deal in Woodside.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.5/5.0
We wanted an outdoor wedding and after viewing a few other venues, we selected Mountain Terrace because of its beauty and the rental price was very reasonable compared with some other places we considered. The staff was very easy to work with & very patient when we were super indecisive about our beverage options. There were a few challenges we didn't really consider to carefully when booking which we wish we'd thought about more prior. Mountain Terrace requires you go through them for beverages. Luckily our wedding was on a Sunday so we weren't required to buy a beverage package and could opt to pay based on consumption. They require also that you use their in-house catering or select from about 3 other options. If you want something different they charge an additional $1000. Also, the venue is located up a curvy narrow road so getting shuttles ($1500 for 2 shuttles to accommodate 60 guests at a time) was almost a necessity to avoid worrying about people driving down a steep hill drunk. These are relatively minor things, but they ended up stressing us out a bit during the planning process. That said, we had a beautiful wedding and I wouldn't have wanted us to get married anywhere else. Our guests loved the location & even had a great time on the shuttles.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1304797407855-p3201971
Melissa
Wedding:
8/11/2011
4.5/5.0
We loved having our ceremony and reception at Mountain Terrace. The setting is beautiful, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the food was very good. There were lots of little additional charges for various little things, but they were up front about them. Everyone commented about what a beautiful venue it was and we loved having our wedding there. We worried about music volume for our band beforehand but it did not turn out to be a problem. Just remember it is chilly there at night - even in August!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Claire
Wedding:
9/4/2011
4.4/5.0
We hosted our wedding at The Mountain Terrace last September, and would highly recommend this venue to others! With an expansive view of the Bay Area, tall redwood trees, and a rustic wood reception building, this is a wonderful place to host a combined wedding ceremony/reception.

PROS:
-The venue is truly stunning, with a large, well-maintained lawn, tall redwood trees, and a view out to the Bay on clear days. The drive up to the venue is similarly beautiful.
-The reception building is large enough to fit over 120 people at tables inside, providing an excellent rainy-day back-up plan without renting a tent.
-With the exception of heat lamps (see entry below), all of the necessary ceremony/reception elements are included with the rental (ceremony arch, chairs, tables, etc.) There aren’t a lot of “hidden costs.”
-The wooden outer deck is already decorated with twinkle lights, and the natural beauty of the surrounding forest means that very little additional venue decoration is required.
-There is a full bar with good beers on tap and a wide selection of wines/liquors to choose from. TMT will work with you to customize a bar menu or reasonably priced open bar package. We had some a special request for pre-ceremony drinks and they worked with us to make it happen.
-The huge wooden bar and large space for dancing makes for a great reception. A fireplace and wooden walls make everything feel warm and intimate.
-Both of the event planners at TMT, Charisse and Caren, are friendly, responsive, and professional (see detailed review below regarding day-of coordination).

CONS:
-The drive to reach this venue is LONG and WINDY! If you will be serving alcohol at your reception (or even if you aren’t), it is essential that you hire buses to shuttle your guests to and from the venue (we worked with Lone Star Limousine, which was excellent). Be sure to factor this into your total expected costs.
-The venue is right next to Alice’s Restaurant, which attracts a number of motorcyclists, particularly around midday. This means that occasionally you’ll hear the roar of motorcycle engines, or see a number of motorcycles in the parking lot. Be prepared for the possibility of brief motorcycle noise during your ceremony.
-The dressing room here is basically just a large coat closet. Ladies, if you would like some nice “getting ready” photos, you will have to take them elsewhere. I recommend doing a mock “getting ready” photo session at another location (perhaps the wedding hotel), and then quickly getting dressed at TMT without worrying about getting any photos.
-If you have your heart set on a particular caterer already, and they are not one of TMT’s four “preferred caterers”, you will need to pay an extra fee to use them.
-If you’d like to rent heat lamps (and if you’re having your guests eat dinner out on the deck, you probably will), they will cost $100/each. You’ll need ~10 lamps to heat the whole deck, adding a substantial cost to the rental. This is the only “hidden cost” we felt was associated with this venue, but in fairness to TMT they were upfront about the cost in the contract and the likelihood of needing to rent the lamps so it wasn’t a surprise additional cost.

DAY-OF COORDINATION:
If you do book The Mountain Terrace, we highly recommend hiring Caren Pearlman for day-of coordination services. She was wonderful! She has the perfect combination of “getting things done” and “keeping people calm”. Many times during our big day we turned to her with a request, only to find out she’d already taken care of it. She was a wonderful, calming presence, and absolutely someone you want helping you out on your wedding day.

Overall, we loved hosting our wedding at The Mountain Terrace, and would highly recommend it to those looking for a beautiful, rustic venue amongst the California Redwoods!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brian
Wedding:
7/15/2012
4.2/5.0
This was the only wedding venue that my wife said that she liked, and we saw a lot of different venues. It is very majestic, and a great place for a mountain wedding without going to Tahoe. There is some nickel-and-diming, but if you ask lots of questions upfront about costs before you sign, there shouldn't be any surprises.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Morgan
Wedding:
6/12/2010
4.0/5.0
We very much enjoyed having our June 2010 wedding at The Mountain Terrace. For the price, and what we were looking for, it was one of the best values in the area.

The staff that we worked with the year leading up to our wedding, Caren and Charisse were extremely nice. Very responsive to my many questions, emails, and walk-through requests, and all in all a pleasure to work with. We loved that you can have your ceremony on site, across the meadow from the lodge, and we chose to have ours in front of the bay view through the trees. You can also have your ceremony in front of beautiful redwood trees. The two level deck was a perfect size for our just under 100 person wedding, and the buffet set up around the side of the deck works well with traffic flow. The food was very good and we were happy with our menu selections. The bar area was just inside, off the deck, and the inside area would have been large enough if we had needed to move inside due to weather. Our wedding ceremony and reception were beautiful, and the beautiful outdoor space was exactly what we had wanted.

The cons that other reviewers listed are all true, but most were not a big deal. On our video of the ceremony, you can hear some motorcycles going by, but on our wedding day I didn’t notice them once. Yes, the road up there is curvy, but we rented a bus for our guests, so it wasn’t a problem. The bridal suite was quite small, adding a fan might help in hot months. We all got dressed at the hotel though, so didn’t need to use the room much. The two big cons that made me give only 4 stars to my review was the music issue and the bartender issue. We were well aware that no amplified music is allowed outside, but had been specifically told that it was perfectly fine to have the speaker system set up inside the bar area, and turned up loud enough to gently trickle outside to the decks. Well, the on site manager that day (who I had never met or been in contact with until our rehearsal, maybe she was new?), kept insisting that our DJ turn the sound down. We could not hear anything on the deck during dinner, so I wasted hours putting together cocktail hour and dinner music playlists. Secondly, during our first dance as husband and wife, we were dancing in the doorway of the bar, and could barely hear the music, which was very disappointing, as our guests sitting on the decks couldn’t hear anything. This was a constant issue all evening, with our coordinator and DJ trying to turn the music up to an appropriate inside level that could not possibly disturb the neighbors, and the on site manager insisting it be turned down. This resulted in very little dancing by our guests at our wedding. The second con that was noticed was we only had one bartender. I had thought that for almost 100 people we would have 2 bartenders, so guests did have to wait in line for drinks at times.

However, other than these downsides, overall we were happy and as I mentioned above, the venue was very lovely, and a very good price compared to similar venues in the area. Also, the serving staff brought around champagne to the tables during dinner for the toasts, which was a nice added bonus. The champagne toast was supposed to be an added $2pp charge, so we had decided against it, but received it anyway, so bonus points for that. All in all, we are very happy we held our wedding at The Mountain Terrace, and would recommend it to others, especially for events where music is not a priority.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
1.2/5.0
Although Mountain Terrace is a very beautiful venue for my wedding, they were not worth the hassle. Several women do the booking and logistics and Caren was the worst coordinator I have ever worked with. We were told different prices for the same thing every time we spoke, they were very inflexible and I felt she was trying to rip me off every time we spoke or emailed. We didnt get our deposit back for a joke reason, litterally moving a small rock for a picture and a balloon stuck in the tree. So, although the place was beautiful and it turned out ok I would never recommend this place as they made our wedding as difficult as possible, even with a wedding planner.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
17285 Skyline Boulevard, Woodside, CA 94062 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Mountain Terrace
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1344009667521-tmtlawnandview