Nophoto-130

Ms Couture

Chicago , IL

LOCATION

Chicago, IL US

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Dress & Attire

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1303328389306-personal102009405
Jody
Wedding:
3/17/2012
4.4/5.0
Ms. Couture did a great job in altering my intricate wedding gown. It was a pleasure to work with the staff there and was very pleased with the difficult alterations that they were able to make to my dress. Even though the alterations were a bit on the expensive side, it was well worth the cost when I saw how beautiful my dress was on my wedding day. I would not have trusted it to just anyone and felt comfortable leaving it with the professional staff at Ms. Couture.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
Went here based on reviews and was not dissapointed. I lost a TON of weight before my wedding and the entire dress (which had like eight layers of organza and lace) had to be resized from an 8 down to a 2. They were amazing, you could never tell it had been bigger, fit like a glove! Everything was done on time as promised! Totally reccomend!! (easy street parking too!)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
10/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Toula did an absolutely amazing job on altering my very complicated gown. I was so worried about having my dress altered due to the amount of beading and lace but once Toula got to work there was nothing to be nervous about. On the day of my wedding my dress fit like it was custom made for me. Although Toula could be considered pricier than other places I found that the difference was not that much more than what my dress shop would have charged and her work was absolutely worth the cost. In fact, I made the trip from the suburbs (Naperville) to Chicago for all my fittings and I still think it was well worth the time and money. I highly recommend Ms. Couture.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Toula was awesome, and the final product was exactly what I wanted. I ended up using Toula because my bridal shop was too far away, and I read her great reviews. I had a few minor changes I wanted to make to the dress to make it better, and when I went in Toula agreed the changes were necessary to make the dress better. I was happy to hear that because my mother kept telling me to leave it the alone. Each time I went into the shop the appointment was short and on time. Everyone there is very friendly. I had no doubt Toula knew exactly what she was doing, and trusted her from the first minute of meeting The dress was ready at the time I needed it, despite being a busy wedding weekend.

I thought the prices were very fair and were right on par with what the bridal shop would have charged me. I gladly paid the extra little money to not have to drive 45 minutes to the suburbs.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
stacyshort
Wedding:
10/15/2011
4.6/5.0
Toula, the owner and seamstress of this adorable place, was such a comfort to me with a dress that I had some major regrets about immediately following the purchase of my dress. My dress when I got it from the store was so ill-fitting that I didn't even know where to start. I brought my dress into Toula about 3 months prior to my wedding and once she pinned me in she had me feeling better. It took about 5 fittings but in the end I was so pleased. Toula was very warm and welcoming and remembered me from amongst her hundreds of other clients. My only complaint would be that it was hard to get a fitting at a time that worked within my work schedule but it was well worth it to try to go in during the week at a slow time to get more of her attention. I made the mistake of going on a friday evening for a fitting and there were people coming in like crazy picking up their wedding gowns/bridesmaid dresses and it was a very stressful event. Toula recommended that night that I only make my appointments during the week and I did from there on for the next 3 appointments. With my mom living on the East Coast, Toula made me feel like whatever she said, my mom would agree, and it was very true when my mom came to my last two fittings. I highly recommend Ms. Couture but CALL AHEAD and make your appointments to fit your already busy schedule to create less stress around sucn an important item.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitlin
Wedding:
8/28/2011
4.9/5.0
I found my wedding gown at Brides Against Breast Cancer. It was made in Italy and was definitely a sample so there was a lot of work that needed to be done on the dress. I was really nervous about where to bring it. After reading reviews and making phone calls to several high end tailors in Chicago, I decided to go to Ms. Couture based on what they told me for pricing. Toula and her team are absolutely amazing. I had 3 fittings and I have to admit that during fittings #1-2 I was still very apprenhensive on things that needed to be fixed and how the dress was fitting. Toula is definitely no-nonsense and tells you how it is. I think the most important thing to remember is, when she says to trust her you really should trust her. She knows what she's doing. At my last fitting I really did feel like my dress was too tight and I was scared that I might rip it if I sat down or during dancing. Toula kept reassuring me that the fabric would not rip and that it fit perfectly. She was absolutely right! I tried it on again at home just in case I needed to bring it back but I realized everything that needed to be fixed was done and it fit my body perfectly. During my ceremony and reception I continued to feel more and more comfortable in the dress. My mom and sisters all had their dresses altered with Toula as well and everything was done to perfection. Again, at first Toula might be a little intimidating and it's always hard to trust someone with your dress, but I am glad that I went to Toula. I think at my last fitting I could really tell that she just loves what she does and is so proud of her work. I woudl definitely recommend Ms. Couture to any future brides. Also, if you need your dress to be cleaned and pressed she will put you in contact with Alan from Alan's Custom Dry Cleaner's. He's pricey but it's worth it. He will pick up your dress from Toula directly and then drop it off to you when it's done. No running around with your dress! He does it all! This is his website: http://foreverabride.net/aboutus.htm
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meredith112084
Wedding:
7/10/2011
5.0/5.0
The rave reviews continue to rave. Intensely.

Tula (aka Ms. Couture) is simply the best wedding dress (or other fancy gown) seamstress that you can find. Her attention to detail is so refined and she does not settle for anything less than complete perfection.

I bought my dress off the rack at Ultimate Bride and it was literally 10 sizes too big (a girl goes a long way for a bargain - errrr). Tula meticulously took in every seam, made a flawless hem and created a perfect bustle with a whopping 19 (!) individually numbered ties. The dress fits perfectly now and looks like it was made especially for me. Truth is, it was pretty much made for me.

Hat's off to Tula. Highly recommended.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tammie
Wedding:
6/24/2011
4.9/5.0
Tula saved my wedding dress! I bought my wedding gown in Rhode Island where I grew up. I decided to have the alterations done at the salon where I bought my dress and then fly the dress to Chicago once it was done. Well at my final fitting the top of the dress was not fitting right and looked all crushed in. I was told it just needed to be steamed and would be fine once they steamed it. Well I picked up the dress to bring home and it wasn’t fine. I brought the dress to Chicago and needed to find a place to steam it. My co-worker told me about Ms. Couture. I brought the dress in and showed her the problem and asked her to steam it. She asked me to try the dress on and immediately noticed problems with the way the dress was sewn back together. Steaming wasn’t the answer. The quote she gave me to fix it (which would require taking the dress apart) almost made me faint so I told myself I would just deal with it. When I told her I would think about it she immediately came up with another much more affordable solution. I came in 2 weeks later and it still wasn’t quite right so she said she would make a few more changes (which she didn’t charge me extra for) and told me I could pick it up a couple days before the wedding. I was nervous because I wouldn’t be trying it on again until the wedding day. Well the wedding day came and the dress fit perfectly!!!! I cannot believe she was able to make it look so nice…I would definitely recommend Tula to anyone needing wedding gown alterations…she is a bit pricey but she is a perfectionist and will make your dress fit you like a glove.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyssa
Wedding:
4/2/2011
4.8/5.0
wonderful work! my dress was beautiful and completed on time.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Toula was sweet, my dress was PERFECT - highly recommend! I have seen some negative reviews about Toula on yelp - brides saying she was bitchy, but I didn't experience even a hint of that. I did, however, witness a bride be way-out-of-line rude towards her and it makes me wonder who exactly is writing those reviews. Thank you Toula for making my dress so beautiful!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Debrah
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
I arrived in Chicago two days before my daughter's wedding with her dress that was purchased and altered in Colorado while she was visiting the previous Thanksgiving. I had had numerous problems with the seamstress in CO and was worried about how the dress would fit and it didn't. I couldn't even zip it closed and my daughter is about a size 6. We were referred to Toula at Ms. Couture by a bridal store. We called Ms. Couture and explained our predicament and they agreed to see us that afternoon. Toula had to let the dress out, move the straps and redo the bodice to make the dress fit and look properly. She did all of this in 24 hours!!! Her alterations made the dress fit but also it looked so much better. Toula averted a complete meltdown by my daughter and me. I cannot say enough about Ms. Couture. I would recommend them to every bride in the Chicago area.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ETwedding
Wedding:
12/12/2009
5.0/5.0
Toula altered my wedding dress and did such a fabulous job. I had ordered my wedding dress from ebay (I know, you might think I'm crazy - but it was good quality and affordable). I just needed to fit it to me.

Toula probably had to take 1-2 inches off all over (bust, waist, hips), added boning to the bodice, and did a two-tier french bustle. All of these alterations cost around $225. She was always on time and friendly. There was no drama with my dress not being ready - as other posters on yelp complained about. I went for my first fitting at the end of October, had my final fitting Dec 3 and then picked up the dress (and veil) steamed on Dec 9. I was a little nervous that I didn't have a multiple-step fitting, but that just wasn't necessary. And it was nice that my final fitting was just 1 week before the wedding. I had accidentally lost some weight, so she was able to take the hips in a little more. Then it fit perfectly. Everyone said how my dress "fit like a glove." I looooved my dress and a huge reason that I was so enamored was b/c it fit perfectly.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jcasper432
Wedding:
10/25/2009
4.7/5.0
Ms. Couture did a great job on my alterations and bustle for my wedding dress - at a much more reasonable cost then other alterations places in Chicago. I definitely use them again for any type of alterations!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
herclover
Wedding:
8/10/2008
5.0/5.0
Although they didn't alter my wedding dress, they did alter a bridesmaid dress I wore 3 mos after giving birth.

Here's my review from Yelp:
I found Ms. Couture on Yelp while hunting for a tailor/seamstress to alter a bridesmaids dress for me. I'd recently had a baby and had ordered my dress while I was still pregnant. (I should also note that the shop I ordered it from is in Mpls and I had to give them my measurements over the phone and trust I would get the right size) I was very disheartened when I received the dress and it was about a size too small.

Based on the two previous reviews, I decided to go to Ms. Couture because they specialize in bridal wear and I didn't want the dress screwed up by someone who didn't have much experience with this stuff. I ended up being late, but they weren't busy (I was the only client there) and were nice enough to lock up shop so I didn't have to worry about leaving the baby asleep in her stroller in the front of the small store while I put on the dress in the one of the changing rooms. Once in the dress, she assessed my problem and said she could use the shawl that came with it to add extra panels to the dress.

At the second fitting, the dress fit beautifully and you couldn't even tell that anything had been added to the dress! She still found a couple small adjustments to make the dress fit even better and raised the hemline. Up to that point I was extremely happy with the service, but was concerned with the price since other shops (ie, David's Bridal) charge an arm and a leg for this kind of work. When she told me how much it would be, I was floored bc it was so cheap! I threw in an extra $10 bc I knew I was getting such a good deal for the quality and amt of work she was doing.

All in all, it's a little family owned business that is extremely friendly and understanding and does awesome work. She even taught me the proper way to lace up the back!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Ms Couture
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220