130x130_sq_1299522931314-celebmbmgwed

Murphy Birdsall, Celebrant

Montclair , NJ
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

60 Forest Street
Montclair, NJ US 07042 (map)

PHONE

973-655-0310

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Do you want a wedding ceremony that is unlike those you've seen? Are you hoping your guests will come away feeling that they know you a little bit better, and they've witnessed your... Read more
Do you want a wedding ceremony that is unlike those you've seen? Are you hoping your guests will come away feeling that they know you a little bit better, and they've witnessed your love? From the "downright angelic!" to the "unique and beautiful", my work will clearly be your ceremony. As a Wedding Celebrant certified by the Celebrant USA Foundation, I find great delight in helping you create the wedding that is yours and yours alone. Throughout the months leading up to your wedding, I get to know the two of you and together we fashion the ceremony of your wishes. On your wedding day, I officiate with warmth and humor, lending a calm, and calming, hand.

Your wedding begins with your ceremony. All that follows reflects the light cast by the two of you standing before family and friends, speaking of your promises.

Feel free to contact me by email: murphy@ceremonialdays.com, by phone: 973 665-0310, or to visit my website: CeremonialDays.com Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1236549773516-776-murphy
130x130_sq_1315404212006-flwrgrllooksatdog
130x130_sq_1315404212661-bgpic
130x130_sq_1236549777610-es008
130x130_sq_1315404214533-dicrst.pat
130x130_sq_1315404211070-brdmdwalkwdog
130x130_sq_1299522778704-emmaandpaul
130x130_sq_1315404216576-sarahmoncef2002
130x130_sq_1236549773703-jl001
130x130_sq_1315404208886-richmarynotepics2
130x130_sq_1236549777969-ajbridegroom
130x130_sq_1238255001128-nicolesaysvowscu
130x130_sq_1299522730511-circa1799barn
130x130_sq_1299522996025-mgbridegroom
130x130_sq_1315404210227-bgwithdog

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What officiant services do you provide?
Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious Ceremony, Single Religion Ceremony
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Agnostic, Buddhist, Christian (no denomination), Christian - Baptist, Christian - Catholic, Christian - Episcopalian, Christian - Lutheran, Christian - Methodist, Christian - Presbyterian, Christian - Quaker, Hindu, Islam, Jewish, Muslim, Taoist
Can you accommodate the hearing impaired?
No
Are you willing to perform a ceremony at a non-religious site?
Yes.
Are you flexible in the wording used throughout the ceremony, including the vows?
Each ceremony is written for the specific couple. It may be my wording, or words the couple has written, or writing we have found and connected to.
Do you allow the couple to write their own vows, if desired?
Yes. I gladly offer help if desired, and can provide many examples of traditional and personally written vows. If the couple wishes, I will happily write the vows.
Do you have a list of readings pre-selected, from which the couple must choose?
With an extensive library of wide-ranging readings, I offer suggestions; and I am always delighted when someone brings me something new.
How long are your ceremonies?
It depends on what the couple wishes, but the ceremonies tend to be around 25 minutes.
Do you require that premarital counseling be done?
No.
Are you willing to perform pre-ceremony rehearsals?
I love to. I consider rehearsals to be part of my job; I enjoy meeting the people who will be involved in the ceremony, and find that things run more smoothly on the wedding day when we have had time together before then.
Do you supply a sound system?
I have a portable PA system that I can bring to a ceremony.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
2/21/2014
5.0/5.0
I cannot recommend Murphy enough! My husband and I ended up changing our wedding plans last minute and we found Murphy on Wedding Wire. We are now so glad that we did! Although we had only a month until our wedding day, you would never know it. Murphy created such a beautiful ceremony for us that truly reflected our love.

Murphy took the time to get to know the two of us and you could definitely tell that in the ceremony. The ceremony was heart warming, touching, and had just the right amount of laughter. Murphy made our wedding day perfect and we highly recommend her!!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eric
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Hiring Murphy was one of the best things we did for our wedding day….

My wife and I found Murphy through WeddingWire after our original wedding officiant went MIA two and a half months before our wedding. We were panicked that we wouldn’t find someone in time, but luckily Murphy was still available and quickly responded to our inquiry. After our first meeting with Murphy, it was evident that we had significantly upgraded our ceremony.

Everything that has been written in previous reviews is true. Murphy is a true professional when it comes to planning a ceremony. Probably the best part of working with her is how committed she is to giving you the best ceremony she can. Murphy spent a lot of time getting to know us, our relationship, and our expectations of our wedding day in order to create a one-of-a –kind ceremony.

As you find out when planning a wedding, it can be frustratingly difficult to get in contact with certain people, regardless of how soon the wedding is. Murphy, by comparison, was always easy to get in touch with. She was always prompt to meetings and quick to reply to emails. She gave us a schedule of when things would be done and was always on time.

In the end, our ceremony turned out AMAZING. Murphy created a very personal ceremony that reflected our relationship perfectly. We are still getting compliments about our ceremony, months after the wedding.

We are forever grateful Murphy! Thank you again!

-Eric & Lisa
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joshg
Wedding:
2/12/2011
5.0/5.0
My wife and I really appreciated the thought that Murphy put into crafting a ceremony that was right for us. She has a kind, soothing voice which, in the high-stress environment of planning a wedding, comes in handy and made both of us feel relaxed when it came to exchange our vows. Additionally, Murphy's knowledge and experience ably addressed any questions we had, especially when she led both our families through the wedding rehearsal, a process that could've been difficult but that under her direction went smoothly.

Not only that, but as we were on a low budget, she was willing to work with us to make affordable choices. Based on all these points, we highly recommend Murphy as she did an outstanding job.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CarrieC
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough great things about Murphy! Murphy married my brother and sister-in-law back in 2006 and I remember thinking to myself at that time, "What a beautiful ceremony!" As soon as I got engaged, I could think of no other person I would want to marry me and my now husband. Our ceremony was exactly what we wanted it to be, funny and light-hearted, just like us. It was personal, yet entertaining for our guests. We had so many of our family and friends come up to us after the wedding to tell us how much they enjoyed the ceremony and what a great job Murphy did. Murphy even sent us a beautiful copy of the written-up ceremony after the wedding with a touching note. If you want an original ceremony encompassing your true selves, Murphy is the celebrant to choose. I guarantee you won't regret it.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rosemary
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
Murphy is not only a celebrant, she's a visionary. When I got married, it was precisely the experience I had dancing in my imagination for years -- only better. Murphy can tap into your emotional and stylistic impulses and not only honor them but improve upon them. Don't feel like you have to come to the table having mapped out your wedding down to the last detail. (Although you can, and that would also be fine!) We played around and tinkered and learned a lot in the process, and ended up with a ceremony that made us and our guests feel a lot of love. So many people came up to me afterwards to say it was the nicest wedding they had ever attended. (It was a relatively low-budget, low-frill affair, so they were responding to mood and inclusiveness, not production value.) I admit to having a certain advantage, because Murphy is my aunt and I've been close to her all my life. But I know how she is with everyone, and that is: curious, warm, enthusiastic, and deeply attuned to the joyous things in life. She can really make your wedding a true celebration.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
zarby
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
Words alone cannot begin to describe how happy we were with Murphy. I discovered Murphy when she officiated at a friends wedding in 2007 and knew she exactly what we were looking for. My husband and I are not religious and really wanted a ceremony that was about us. We wanted it to be personal, but also involve our friends and family who mean the world to us. What Murphy put together was absolutely perfect. I can't tell you how many people came up to us after the ceremony and said "that was the best ceremony I've ever been to" or "what a touching ceremony!" We laughed, we cried - everything was perfect! The ceremony was our favorite part of the entire day and it was all because of Murphy. We'd get married all over again just to work with her again.

Mary
Married Sept. 2010 in Columbia County, NY
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emma
Wedding:
9/16/2010
5.0/5.0
Murphy did a wonderful job with our wedding. At times my husband and I had different thoughts about what we wanted, and Murphy was able to incorporate all of our various ideas into the ceremony seamlessly. We didn't want an elaborate wedding, and so she created a ceremony that was short and simple but very meaningful. Murphy has a great sense of humor and the ceremony had the appropriate blend of lightheartedness and solemnity.
Overall we had an excellent experience- she is professional, warm and patient. Highly recommended.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
richandmary2010
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
We highly recommend Murphy. She helped us put together a unique and beautiful ceremony. She's great at what she does, and it's clear she enjoys doing it. She's responsive, reliable, thorough, full of ideas, and a great writer. We're glad we chose her to play such a key role on our special day.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melazam
Wedding:
8/8/2009
5.0/5.0
We couldn't have asked for a more special, personal, humorous, unique ceremony. It was exactly what we had hoped for! We are still getting compliments from family and friends on how they all felt like part of the ceremony and what a wonderful job our celebrant (Murphy) had done! Murphy's beautiful ceremony speech set the tone for our entire marriage - one that is happy and filled with love.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lee
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
Murphy married us this spring in New York City, and we were 100 percent happy with the experience. She did an excellent job writing and editing our ceremony according to our vision. She really listened to who we are and what we wanted for our ceremony, and followed through with a wonderfully personal and intimate program. In our meetings, Murphy was attentive and easy to talk to, and it was clear from the beginning that she loves what she does and takes the task of marrying people seriously. On the day of the wedding, Murphy was a calm and supportive presence, unfazed by the complex logistics of our ceremony (a standing ceremony and champagne toast in a public Manhattan park). She read the ceremony exactly as we had agreed and followed through with the ceremony plan perfectly. Later, at the reception, guests were coming up to us and complimenting Murphy's style and the intimate ceremony she helped us create. I've never heard of wedding guests complimenting an officiant! Murphy was really a winner. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs.AnthonyFarkas
Wedding:
5/17/2009
5.0/5.0
Murphy was wonderful. My ceremony was so beautiful! She personalized it so well that my guests were asking me if my husband and i wrote it ourselves.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jackie
Wedding:
10/11/2008
5.0/5.0
We knew Murphy was a perfect fit for us from our very first visit with her. We had a pretty good idea of the type of ceremony we wanted, and Murphy was able to provide advice and suggestions to further enhance the ultimate outcome. We're still receiving compliments on the personalized and unique ceremony we created along with Murphy. It will truly be a day that we will always hold close in our hearts!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
birdygirl
Wedding:
2/9/2008
5.0/5.0
Murphy was wonderful to work with; she was sensitive, professional and so open hearted. She surpassed all of our needs and met all our requests with humor, kindness, respect and lots of love. She provided a perfect wedding ceremony for us!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kim
Wedding:
8/4/2007
5.0/5.0
We want to thank you again for everything you did to make our day unique and beautiful. This is a compliment we also extend on behalf of our families and friends who were truly impressed by the comfort and emotion you brought to the day.

We wanted a simple, elegant, and tasteful ceremony- one that would be an entire reflection of ourselves. Murphy achieved all that while also incorporating family members and friends into a bilingual (french/english) ceremony. She took time to take us through all of the steps and planning to make our wedding day unforgettable. The ceremony was everything we could have asked for and more. We are so thankful to have had Murphy make our day so memorable!

We very highly recommend Murphy! Thank you for your kindness, friendship, and support.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
4/7/2007
5.0/5.0
We were thinking of having our civil union in a courthouse when my sister told us about Murphy. After meeting with Murphy, we knew we had to do something more. She suggested so many ways to make our ceremony meaningful, understood our intent, and was so warm and thoughtful. She beautifully structured everything--and did it in record time! Anybody would be lucky to work with Murphy.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
April
Wedding:
10/8/2006
5.0/5.0
Murphy was wonderful to work with, and she provided us with the exact ceremony we were looking for. I received so many compliments from friends and family about how unique and personal our ceremony was. We were extremely happy with Murphy and would definitely recommend her to anyone looking for a Celebrant!
Services Used: Officiant

MAP

 
60 Forest Street, Montclair, NJ 07042 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Murphy Birdsall, Celebrant
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1299522931314-celebmbmgwed