130x130_sq_1336587311367-shannondycephotography5

Museum of Visual Materials

Sioux Falls , SD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

500 N. Main Ave.
Sioux Falls, SD US 57104 (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Museum of Visual Materials has been voted as one of the Sioux Falls Local Best for its banquet facility. The unique quartzite walls and rustic feel make it a rarity in the city of... Read more
The Museum of Visual Materials has been voted as one of the Sioux Falls Local Best for its banquet facility. The unique quartzite walls and rustic feel make it a rarity in the city of Sioux Falls. The museum is a true hot spot and fills up it weekends very fast. If you want a unique wedding or private event in Sioux Falls, contact the Museum of Visual Materials. Read less
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1389296814402-payton--nicole-marie-photography-369bw8ef
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.3/5.0
Our wedding reception turned out beautiful! But, planning here was awful. They're super eco-friendly, which makes the cost go way up, especially if you go with a caterer who does not provide their own (non-paper) plates and (non-plastic) silverware. We had to come up with all of that + cups, plates for cake & desserts, etc. You can't use tape or glue or staples in decorating, no open flame (has to be covered 2 in. above flame), bartender has to be there anytime a bar service is being used and the bar license fee is $100 and the bartender fee is $25 and hour for a minimum of 3 hours. That's just some of it. It is a beautiful place, but I highly recommend you thoroughly check into all of the can-not-dos prior to renting and be sure you are okay with all of the venue's restrictions. I can't really say I would have not had it here or totally do not recommend it because it all depends on you and what you're okay with. The outcome is a gorgeous place, but the venue's restrictions and rules can make planning very stressful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.2/5.0
Beautiful Venue. Great location. Hard to get a hold of Manager there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.5/5.0
Jeremy at the MOVM was very helpful and easy to work with. It was great to be able to pick whatever vendors we wanted. The venue itself is very unique and beautiful, which is nice becaue you don't have to decorate a lot. Our guests enjoyed the being able to mingle in the outdoor area also, and it was a great location within walking distance to downtown bars and hotels. I would definitely recommend the MOVM for any event!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
A beautiful location! One of the very few in town where you can choose your own vendors. Jeremy was very easy to work with and the night went smoother than I could have ever imagined. The whole staff was friendly and provided excellent service to our guests.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1320985130152-cute
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
This is such a beautiful facility! The staff was accommodating and friendly. There were a few miscommunications, but they were mostly my fault and quickly resolved. We heard so many wonderful comments from the guests on the facility. Everyone was pleased.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
azilverberg
Wedding:
5/5/2012
4.0/5.0
The uniquness of the Museum is great! The hours are pretty strict though. Our wedding reception was beautiful and classy and went off without a hitch.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
emilyformey
Wedding:
7/22/2011
5.0/5.0
The Museum of Visual Materials was a BEAUTIFUL reception venue. I would highly recommend this venue to any bride. Jeremy was friendly and easy to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1329705218280-fbavatar2242049
Amber
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I chose to have our reception here but we got married at my church. We thought this would be a good place to have our reception and they helped us out with decorating. It looked awesome with the LED and Icicle lights on in the museum along with our up-lighting color from our DJ. There was enough room to dance on the dance floor which was a PLUS!! Our guests loved the museum! We are so happy that we had our reception at the museum! I would recommend them to others. The prices are reasonable.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1231379277031-erichandiatteske'swedding
wwilsey
Wedding:
11/7/2009
4.9/5.0
The venue is beautiful. They are very accomodating and easy to work with. I made changes the week before the wedding and they made those changes easy to make. There were a few lapses in communication during the planning process but I attribue those to turnover in the position of the person handling the event. They were easily taken care of.

During the event, the staff was helpful and willing to wait on us and please us in any way possible. It made my evening stress free and allowed me to relax and have fun at my own wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mel15brk
Wedding:
6/19/2009
4.8/5.0
Megan and all the staff members at MOVM were so wonderful to work with. They went out of their way to make things just they way we wanted them. When some of the table linens didn't show up the day before the wedding Megan went to a restaurant and borrowed some of there's. I would recommand the MOVM to anyone who wants their wedding reception in a unique/historical venue, it's in a great location and they allow you to pick all your vendors so you can have whatever cake, food, DJ you want.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
angiek
Wedding:
6/6/2009
4.3/5.0
The venue was wonderful. It was so beautiful. The only problem I had was with the manager on duty when our wedding was held. She had a bad attitude and a lot of our guest commented on comments they heard from her when she did not think anyone was listening. I think she was very unprofessional. Everyone else we dealt with at the facility were wonderful and very helpful answering questions. I would recommend this facility to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elicia Kortus
Wedding:
5/29/2009
4.8/5.0
This was a fantastic venue. We used it for both the ceremony and reception. Megan was very helpful explaining all the services they could offer, and made a personalized map of what the setups would look like for our day. The building has exposed quartzite walls and lofted ceilings with skylights and exposed beams, which made decorating much simpler and cheaper. We didn't need to do much with such a beautiful place.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jilly576
Wedding:
8/9/2008
5.0/5.0
Carmen at the Museum of Visual Materials was excellent to work with. She was very helpful and responded to any questions that I had very quickly. The rest of the staff was also a pleasure to work with. The vendor made sure that I had everything I needed and were just great. The place was set up great and looked wonderful. I would definately recommend this vendor to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
500 N. Main Ave., Sioux Falls, SD 57104 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Museum of Visual Materials
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1336587311367-shannondycephotography5