130x130 sq 1450390222 bc5eee4c8aa3f05d joe and kathleen katelyn s favorites 0161

Music Makes You Happy Entertainment

Suffolk , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2109 Holland Rd Suite C
Suffolk, VA 23434 US (map)

PHONE

757-544-9727

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Let me start by saying CONGRATULATIONS! Planning a wedding can be one of the most rewarding and enjoyable experiences. Choose the right vendors and your experience will be a fun and... Read more
Let me start by saying CONGRATULATIONS! Planning a wedding can be one of the most rewarding and enjoyable experiences. Choose the right vendors and your experience will be a fun and memorable one!

Music Makes You Happy Entertainment has some of the best entertainers in town. All of our DJ’s go through an extensive training program to ensure that they can handle anything thrown at them. These talented DJ’s are fun, experienced, love what they do and provide a calm presence at your event to guarantee that things will go great. While all of our DJ’s are professional entertainers and strive to deliver the style you want, it’s important to note that we work hard to keep the spotlight where it deserves to be, on you, the couple, not on us.

Our company keeps up with the latest music, trends and technology and can bring a real energy to any event!

Does your event require something unique like a cultural or family tradition? No problem, all of our DJ’s have experience with multiple different ethnic and religious customs and if we aren’t familiar with something, we work hard to understand what is needed of us. We have over 20 years of combined experience performing at weddings and special events, are fully insured and we abide by the national DJ Code of Conduct. For each event we carry backup equipment should something happen to the primary system and if your DJ has an emergency, we always have another professional DJ on standby, ready to go!

Call us today, 757-544-9727, to chat about how we can make your event amazing. Or, better yet, setup an appointment to stop by our showroom here in Suffolk where we can show you what your event could look and sound like!

Best Night Ever! Read less

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1450392348419 gillikan607 zf 6007 08873 1 006
130x130 sq 1340222479188 kellytodd0972
130x130 sq 1450394612855 faries0516 zf 10583 74788 1 002
130x130 sq 1335796006311 reception188
130x130 sq 1450391709408 coleman and leslie katelyn s favorites 0112
130x130 sq 1340222548023 kellytodd1017
130x130 sq 1450391765111 coleman and leslie katelyn s favorites 0114
130x130 sq 1450392016382 joe and kathleen reception 2 0018
130x130 sq 1450391790133 coleman and leslie katelyn s favorites 0126
130x130 sq 1450392192971 gillikan539 zf 6007 08873 1 001
130x130 sq 1450391842571 joe and kathleen katelyn s favorites 0139
130x130 sq 1340379521013 alysonsabri412
130x130 sq 1450391916645 joe and kathleen katelyn s favorites 0154
130x130 sq 1335796204200 reception215
130x130 sq 1450391872555 joe and kathleen katelyn s favorites 0150
130x130 sq 1450392272910 gillikan600 zf 6007 08873 1 005
130x130 sq 1450391948069 joe and kathleen reception 2 0008
130x130 sq 1450391983275 joe and kathleen reception 2 0011
130x130 sq 1450392418226 gillikan833 zf 6007 08873 1 017
130x130 sq 1450394673165 faries0664 zf 10583 74788 1 007
130x130 sq 1453224028381 jessicabrycewedding00907
130x130 sq 1453224053127 jessicabrycewedding00970
130x130 sq 1453224083869 jessicabrycewedding00981
130x130 sq 1453224110178 jhas04112015 798
130x130 sq 1453224122098 jhas04112015 837
130x130 sq 1453224130303 jhas04112015 882
130x130 sq 1453224141203 kaseymichaelwedding 0521
130x130 sq 1453224163185 kaseymichaelwedding 0558
130x130 sq 1453224185952 kaseymichaelwedding 0666
130x130 sq 1453224207505 kaseymichaelwedding 0820
130x130 sq 1453224232188 rebeccaheathwedding0527
130x130 sq 1453224260898 rebeccaheathwedding0567
130x130 sq 1424367484984 img2818
130x130 sq 1424367459975 img2800
130x130 sq 1424367513283 img2851
130x130 sq 1424367532636 img2877
130x130 sq 1424367555211 img4128
130x130 sq 1424367578424 img4095
130x130 sq 1424367598406 img4453
130x130 sq 1424367616204 img4446
130x130 sq 1424367635078 img4489
130x130 sq 1424367655616 img4833
130x130 sq 1424367680017 img4864
130x130 sq 1424367701147 img5256
130x130 sq 1424367728416 img5288
130x130 sq 1424367745088 mmyh set up 1
130x130 sq 1424367753272 mmyh 6
130x130 sq 1433956914184 img7343
130x130 sq 1433956936654 img7349
130x130 sq 1433956957106 img7353
130x130 sq 1433956976302 img7361
130x130 sq 1433957018913 img7364
130x130 sq 1433957039284 img7368
130x130 sq 1433957062540 img7438
130x130 sq 1433957088667 img7028
130x130 sq 1433957116964 img7030
130x130 sq 1433957141706 img7033
130x130 sq 1433957162878 img7046
130x130 sq 1433957181126 img7047
130x130 sq 1433957195994 mmyh matt wedding
130x130 sq 1433957211951 img6587
130x130 sq 1433957233119 img6589
130x130 sq 1433957258612 img6590
130x130 sq 1433957286213 img6591
130x130 sq 1433957307740 img6592
130x130 sq 1433957337809 img6647
130x130 sq 1433957356558 img6650
130x130 sq 1433957382539 img6943
130x130 sq 1433957407284 img6945
130x130 sq 1433957433657 img6952
130x130 sq 1433957458858 img6955
130x130 sq 1433957486011 img6958
130x130 sq 1433957509582 img6961
130x130 sq 1433957534876 img6965
130x130 sq 1433957569800 img6968
130x130 sq 1433957596054 img6969

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres do you specialize in?
Country, Electronic, Hip Hop, International, Jazz, Oldies, Pop, R&B/Soul, Rock, Top 40
What services do you offer?
Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, Liability Insurance, MC, One Event/Day
What additional equipment do you offer?
Flat Screen, Microphones, Photobooth, Projector, Sound/PA System, Uplighting

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Father of the Bride, Father of the Groom, Groom, Groomsmen, Ring Bearers
Which of the following services do you provide??
Rentals
Which of the following items do you offer?
Shoes, Tuxedos
What is your return policy?
Exchanges, Final Sale, Full Refund, Partial Refund

INFO FOR RENTALS & PHOTOBOOTHS

Which of the following event rental services do you provide?
Clean Up, Delivery, Setup, Showroom
What event items are available?
Audio Equipment, Lights, Photobooth, Tent Accessories
What photobooth items are available?
Backdrop(s), Enclosed Booth, Props, Social Media Integration

INFO FOR LIGHTING & DECOR

What lighting services do you provide?
Accent, Audiovisuals, Chandeliers, Dance Floor Lighting, Hanging Lit Decor, Lanterns, Monograms, Outdoor, Pinspotting, String, Uplighting, Wall Wash
What decor services do you provide?
Clean Up, Day-Of Coordination, Delivery, Event Design, Event Planning, Setup

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Amy
Wedding:
12/13/2015
5.0/5.0
Chris was absolutely WONDERFUL to work with from the start. I met him years ago at a wedding and loved his “calm energy” and organization. Working with him was a breeze, as his online system perfectly sets up the wedding schedule and the music selection process is very user friendly. I played tons of family favorites that aren’t heard often (Arthur Godfrey’s “Too Fat Polka” – to name one - my Papaw used to sing that to me), and he was able to get all of my selections. Onsite, he helped manage a mini-crisis that was totally not his responsibility – the cake wasn’t there with ten minutes before the ceremony! He calmly took charge (so we didn’t have to), and our guests were none the wiser. I HIGHLY recommend him.
Chris was absolutely WONDERFUL to work with from the start. I met him years ago at a wedding and loved his “calm energy” Read more...
Chris was absolutely WONDERFUL to work with from the start. I met him years ago at a wedding and loved his “calm energy” and organization. Working with him was a breeze, as his online system perfectly sets up the wedding schedule and the music selection process is very user friendly. I played tons of family favorites that aren’t heard often (Arthur Godfrey’s “Too Fat Polka” – to name one - my Papaw used to sing that to me), and he was able to get all of my selections. Onsite, he helped manage a mini-crisis that was totally not his responsibility – the cake wasn’t there with ten minutes before the ceremony! He calmly took charge (so we didn’t have to), and our guests were none the wiser. I HIGHLY recommend him. Read less
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Melissa
Wedding:
11/14/2015
5.0/5.0
Absolutely loved working with everyone on this team. From meeting face to face with Chris, to having a phone conference with Matt, and getting to enjoy DJ Brad on my wedding day we loved them all! And the photobooth was probably the best thing I could have had at my wedding! Totally worth it!
Absolutely loved working with everyone on this team. From meeting face to face with Chris, to having a phone conference Read more...
Absolutely loved working with everyone on this team. From meeting face to face with Chris, to having a phone conference with Matt, and getting to enjoy DJ Brad on my wedding day we loved them all! And the photobooth was probably the best thing I could have had at my wedding! Totally worth it! Read less
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default vendor profile pic
Laura Beth
Wedding:
11/14/2015
5.0/5.0
Chris and Matt were absolutely fantastic! We first met Chris in February with our wedding planner, Crystal. My mom wanted to hire him on the spot!

Our DJ was Matt, and from the moment I met him in April, I knew our reception was going to be a blast! He was so personable and emphasized that he would do absolutely everything to make sure we were thrilled and having an awesome time during our party.

At our reception, he absolutely delivered. He kept coming to Al and I, asking if everything was going well. He even came to us and discussed moving some of the timeline around to make sure most of our guests would see the cake cutting and bouquet/garter tosses. He was amazing!

We loved that we were able to pick our priority and preferred music with MMYH's database ahead of time. Al and I had so much fun doing that! It seems like they have every song known to man!

Both during and after the wedding, many people asked us if Matt was a personal friend of ours, because he was so personable with us. We consider him to be a wonderful friend now!

MMYH is one of the best entertainment services around. They have the most up-to-date equipment available. They have a subtle, yet professional, set-up. The sound is kicking! Most of all, MMYH allows hours of extra time before the event to account for traffic, equipment failures, and so on, to make sure that their crew is there, tested, and ready to go, hours before your event is scheduled to start!

Check them out - You won't be disappointed!
Chris and Matt were absolutely fantastic! We first met Chris in February with our wedding planner, Crystal. My mom wanted Read more...
Chris and Matt were absolutely fantastic! We first met Chris in February with our wedding planner, Crystal. My mom wanted to hire him on the spot!

Our DJ was Matt, and from the moment I met him in April, I knew our reception was going to be a blast! He was so personable and emphasized that he would do absolutely everything to make sure we were thrilled and having an awesome time during our party.

At our reception, he absolutely delivered. He kept coming to Al and I, asking if everything was going well. He even came to us and discussed moving some of the timeline around to make sure most of our guests would see the cake cutting and bouquet/garter tosses. He was amazing!

We loved that we were able to pick our priority and preferred music with MMYH's database ahead of time. Al and I had so much fun doing that! It seems like they have every song known to man!

Both during and after the wedding, many people asked us if Matt was a personal friend of ours, because he was so personable with us. We consider him to be a wonderful friend now!

MMYH is one of the best entertainment services around. They have the most up-to-date equipment available. They have a subtle, yet professional, set-up. The sound is kicking! Most of all, MMYH allows hours of extra time before the event to account for traffic, equipment failures, and so on, to make sure that their crew is there, tested, and ready to go, hours before your event is scheduled to start!

Check them out - You won't be disappointed! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Lauren
Wedding:
10/12/2015
5.0/5.0
Chris from Music Makes You Happy Entertainment was the DJ at my wedding, and he did a fantastic job!! I had a small wedding, but he kept people dancing all night! He was easy to work with and communicate with, and I was very lucky to find him!
Chris from Music Makes You Happy Entertainment was the DJ at my wedding, and he did a fantastic job!! I had a small Read more...
Chris from Music Makes You Happy Entertainment was the DJ at my wedding, and he did a fantastic job!! I had a small wedding, but he kept people dancing all night! He was easy to work with and communicate with, and I was very lucky to find him! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Music Makes You Happy was the biggest pleasure to work with. Matt DJ'd our wedding and he went above and beyond what we could ever ask from him. He helped us plan the perfect playlist for both our ceremony and reception. He was available to meet and discuss our wedding whenever we were able, and he even suggested extra meetings on his on to ensure everything was to our liking. He was an extreme help with maintaining the flow of our wedding, even when rain delayed the ceremony. He stayed in constant contact with guests to keep them happy. We couldn't be happier with our selection!
Music Makes You Happy was the biggest pleasure to work with. Matt DJ'd our wedding and he went above and beyond what we Read more...
Music Makes You Happy was the biggest pleasure to work with. Matt DJ'd our wedding and he went above and beyond what we could ever ask from him. He helped us plan the perfect playlist for both our ceremony and reception. He was available to meet and discuss our wedding whenever we were able, and he even suggested extra meetings on his on to ensure everything was to our liking. He was an extreme help with maintaining the flow of our wedding, even when rain delayed the ceremony. He stayed in constant contact with guests to keep them happy. We couldn't be happier with our selection! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/21/2015
5.0/5.0
100% worth the money and wouldn't hesitate to use them again. Chris was our DJ and he did an amazing job. He played my required list but broke it up with a great array of music. He was able to get everyone on the dance floor and give my husband and I an amazing experience. Even after the night was over, he did a great job with just a few of us there and just had fun with it. We loved having him and think he was amazing for the price. We are really happy with how our wedding turned out and he is one of the reasons.
100% worth the money and wouldn't hesitate to use them again. Chris was our DJ and he did an amazing job. He played my Read more...
100% worth the money and wouldn't hesitate to use them again. Chris was our DJ and he did an amazing job. He played my required list but broke it up with a great array of music. He was able to get everyone on the dance floor and give my husband and I an amazing experience. Even after the night was over, he did a great job with just a few of us there and just had fun with it. We loved having him and think he was amazing for the price. We are really happy with how our wedding turned out and he is one of the reasons. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Laurie
Wedding:
6/20/2015
5.0/5.0
Chris was amazing! He was exactly what we were looking for in a DJ. I was really nervous because I had been to weddings where the DJ gets too involved with the party, but Chris never did. He made sure everyone was comfortable and played the right music at the right time. The photobooth was AWESOME! I had a lot of guests enjoy that! I did as well... :) The uplighting was perfect. It really set the mood in the room. The tuxedo situation was a little stressful, with items missing the day before, but I still gave Chris 5 stars because he really did come through in the end. If you are looking for a DJ with a smooth voice, then Chris is your guy!
Chris was amazing! He was exactly what we were looking for in a DJ. I was really nervous because I had been to weddings Read more...
Chris was amazing! He was exactly what we were looking for in a DJ. I was really nervous because I had been to weddings where the DJ gets too involved with the party, but Chris never did. He made sure everyone was comfortable and played the right music at the right time. The photobooth was AWESOME! I had a lot of guests enjoy that! I did as well... :) The uplighting was perfect. It really set the mood in the room. The tuxedo situation was a little stressful, with items missing the day before, but I still gave Chris 5 stars because he really did come through in the end. If you are looking for a DJ with a smooth voice, then Chris is your guy! Read less
Services Used: DJ, Dress & Attire, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Chris & Matt at Music Makes You Happy were simply amazing. I will never be able to thank them enough. If you are looking to have a unique, personalized, and really fun wedding, these are your guys!! First of all, their personalized, online event planning website made it super easy to request songs and let them know about special requests, event timeline, etc. Matt was simply amazing as our DJ. I cannot give him enough praise. First of all, he was a great MC, letting everyone know what was going on and helped keep us on track as well without being obtrusive or cheesey. He really appreciated our taste in music and understood perfectly the type wedding reception we wanted. I cannot tell you the number of our guests that requested his playlist for our reception. Everyone, young & old were up on the dance floor all night. If you are having an event in the area & don't hire Matt & Chris, you are really missing out!!
Chris & Matt at Music Makes You Happy were simply amazing. I will never be able to thank them enough. If you are looking Read more...
Chris & Matt at Music Makes You Happy were simply amazing. I will never be able to thank them enough. If you are looking to have a unique, personalized, and really fun wedding, these are your guys!! First of all, their personalized, online event planning website made it super easy to request songs and let them know about special requests, event timeline, etc. Matt was simply amazing as our DJ. I cannot give him enough praise. First of all, he was a great MC, letting everyone know what was going on and helped keep us on track as well without being obtrusive or cheesey. He really appreciated our taste in music and understood perfectly the type wedding reception we wanted. I cannot tell you the number of our guests that requested his playlist for our reception. Everyone, young & old were up on the dance floor all night. If you are having an event in the area & don't hire Matt & Chris, you are really missing out!! Read less
Services Used: DJ, Rentals & Photobooths
Default vendor profile pic
Jasmine
Wedding:
5/31/2015
5.0/5.0
We had Matt DJ at our wedding over the weekend and it was AMAZING!! He was very flexible and open to suggestions to help make our day even better. He did a great job with filling in the gaps on our music playlist & played songs that made people feel good. He didn't just stay behind his booth the whole night, but made it important to come to us and ask our opinions. He was very professional & friendly to ALL our guests! I would totally use his services again in the future & recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ for an event. You can't go wrong with Matt!

- Jasmine Lynch
We had Matt DJ at our wedding over the weekend and it was AMAZING!! He was very flexible and open to suggestions to help Read more...
We had Matt DJ at our wedding over the weekend and it was AMAZING!! He was very flexible and open to suggestions to help make our day even better. He did a great job with filling in the gaps on our music playlist & played songs that made people feel good. He didn't just stay behind his booth the whole night, but made it important to come to us and ask our opinions. He was very professional & friendly to ALL our guests! I would totally use his services again in the future & recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ for an event. You can't go wrong with Matt!

- Jasmine Lynch Read less
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Miranda
Wedding:
5/24/2015
5.0/5.0
Chris was our DJ at our wedding, and we are so glad he was. He was a great resource as we were planning the event - he had some wonderful tips regarding the timeline, and he suggested some activities that we really enjoyed on the day of the wedding. We also really appreciated that he was able to do several different things for us - he did our lighting, set up a photo booth, and supplied Jeremy’s tux. We don't live in the area, so we were also very grateful about his flexibility when scheduling planning sessions. Finally, he did a fantastic job during the wedding. He kept the event flowing nicely, was very attentive to our guests, and incorporated so many of the songs we and our families requested. Everyone told us they had a great time, which was the most important thing to us. We really appreciate everything Chris added to the event!

-Miranda & Jeremy, May '15
Chris was our DJ at our wedding, and we are so glad he was. He was a great resource as we were planning the event - he had Read more...
Chris was our DJ at our wedding, and we are so glad he was. He was a great resource as we were planning the event - he had some wonderful tips regarding the timeline, and he suggested some activities that we really enjoyed on the day of the wedding. We also really appreciated that he was able to do several different things for us - he did our lighting, set up a photo booth, and supplied Jeremy’s tux. We don't live in the area, so we were also very grateful about his flexibility when scheduling planning sessions. Finally, he did a fantastic job during the wedding. He kept the event flowing nicely, was very attentive to our guests, and incorporated so many of the songs we and our families requested. Everyone told us they had a great time, which was the most important thing to us. We really appreciate everything Chris added to the event!

-Miranda & Jeremy, May '15 Read less
Services Used: DJ, Dress & Attire, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths

MAP

 
2109 Holland Rd Suite C, Suffolk, VA 23434 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Music Makes You Happy Entertainment
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1450390222 bc5eee4c8aa3f05d joe and kathleen katelyn s favorites 0161