130x130 sq 1450390222 bc5eee4c8aa3f05d joe and kathleen katelyn s favorites 0161

Music Makes You Happy Entertainment

Suffolk , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2109 Holland Rd Suite C
Suffolk, VA 23434 US (map)

PHONE

757-544-9727

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Let me start by saying CONGRATULATIONS! Planning a wedding can be one of the most rewarding and enjoyable experiences. Choose the right vendors and your experience will be a fun and... Read more
Let me start by saying CONGRATULATIONS! Planning a wedding can be one of the most rewarding and enjoyable experiences. Choose the right vendors and your experience will be a fun and memorable one!

Music Makes You Happy Entertainment has some of the best entertainers in town. All of our DJ’s go through an extensive training program to ensure that they can handle anything thrown at them. These talented DJ’s are fun, experienced, love what they do and provide a calm presence at your event to guarantee that things will go great. While all of our DJ’s are professional entertainers and strive to deliver the style you want, it’s important to note that we work hard to keep the spotlight where it deserves to be, on you, the couple, not on us.

Our company keeps up with the latest music, trends and technology and can bring a real energy to any event!

Does your event require something unique like a cultural or family tradition? No problem, all of our DJ’s have experience with multiple different ethnic and religious customs and if we aren’t familiar with something, we work hard to understand what is needed of us. We have over 20 years of combined experience performing at weddings and special events, are fully insured and we abide by the national DJ Code of Conduct. For each event we carry backup equipment should something happen to the primary system and if your DJ has an emergency, we always have another professional DJ on standby, ready to go!

Call us today, 757-544-9727, to chat about how we can make your event amazing. Or, better yet, setup an appointment to stop by our showroom here in Suffolk where we can show you what your event could look and sound like!

Best Night Ever! Read less

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1450392348419 gillikan607 zf 6007 08873 1 006
130x130 sq 1340222479188 kellytodd0972
130x130 sq 1450394612855 faries0516 zf 10583 74788 1 002
130x130 sq 1335796006311 reception188
130x130 sq 1450391709408 coleman and leslie katelyn s favorites 0112
130x130 sq 1340222548023 kellytodd1017
130x130 sq 1450391765111 coleman and leslie katelyn s favorites 0114
130x130 sq 1450392016382 joe and kathleen reception 2 0018
130x130 sq 1450391790133 coleman and leslie katelyn s favorites 0126
130x130 sq 1450392192971 gillikan539 zf 6007 08873 1 001
130x130 sq 1450391842571 joe and kathleen katelyn s favorites 0139
130x130 sq 1340379521013 alysonsabri412
130x130 sq 1450391916645 joe and kathleen katelyn s favorites 0154
130x130 sq 1335796204200 reception215
130x130 sq 1450391872555 joe and kathleen katelyn s favorites 0150
130x130 sq 1450392272910 gillikan600 zf 6007 08873 1 005
130x130 sq 1450391948069 joe and kathleen reception 2 0008
130x130 sq 1450391983275 joe and kathleen reception 2 0011
130x130 sq 1450392418226 gillikan833 zf 6007 08873 1 017
130x130 sq 1450394673165 faries0664 zf 10583 74788 1 007
130x130 sq 1453224028381 jessicabrycewedding00907
130x130 sq 1453224053127 jessicabrycewedding00970
130x130 sq 1453224083869 jessicabrycewedding00981
130x130 sq 1453224110178 jhas04112015 798
130x130 sq 1453224122098 jhas04112015 837
130x130 sq 1453224130303 jhas04112015 882
130x130 sq 1453224141203 kaseymichaelwedding 0521
130x130 sq 1453224163185 kaseymichaelwedding 0558
130x130 sq 1453224185952 kaseymichaelwedding 0666
130x130 sq 1453224207505 kaseymichaelwedding 0820
130x130 sq 1453224232188 rebeccaheathwedding0527
130x130 sq 1453224260898 rebeccaheathwedding0567
130x130 sq 1424367484984 img2818
130x130 sq 1424367459975 img2800
130x130 sq 1424367513283 img2851
130x130 sq 1424367532636 img2877
130x130 sq 1424367555211 img4128
130x130 sq 1424367578424 img4095
130x130 sq 1424367598406 img4453
130x130 sq 1424367616204 img4446
130x130 sq 1424367635078 img4489
130x130 sq 1424367655616 img4833
130x130 sq 1424367680017 img4864
130x130 sq 1424367701147 img5256
130x130 sq 1424367728416 img5288
130x130 sq 1424367745088 mmyh set up 1
130x130 sq 1424367753272 mmyh 6
130x130 sq 1433956914184 img7343
130x130 sq 1433956936654 img7349
130x130 sq 1433956957106 img7353
130x130 sq 1433956976302 img7361
130x130 sq 1433957018913 img7364
130x130 sq 1433957039284 img7368
130x130 sq 1433957062540 img7438
130x130 sq 1433957088667 img7028
130x130 sq 1433957116964 img7030
130x130 sq 1433957141706 img7033
130x130 sq 1433957162878 img7046
130x130 sq 1433957181126 img7047
130x130 sq 1433957195994 mmyh matt wedding
130x130 sq 1433957211951 img6587
130x130 sq 1433957233119 img6589
130x130 sq 1433957258612 img6590
130x130 sq 1433957286213 img6591
130x130 sq 1433957307740 img6592
130x130 sq 1433957337809 img6647
130x130 sq 1433957356558 img6650
130x130 sq 1433957382539 img6943
130x130 sq 1433957407284 img6945
130x130 sq 1433957433657 img6952
130x130 sq 1433957458858 img6955
130x130 sq 1433957486011 img6958
130x130 sq 1433957509582 img6961
130x130 sq 1433957534876 img6965
130x130 sq 1433957569800 img6968
130x130 sq 1433957596054 img6969

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres do you specialize in?
Country, Electronic, Hip Hop, International, Jazz, Oldies, Pop, R&B/Soul, Rock, Top 40
What services do you offer?
Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, Liability Insurance, MC, One Event/Day
What additional equipment do you offer?
Flat Screen, Microphones, Photobooth, Projector, Sound/PA System, Uplighting

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Father of the Bride, Father of the Groom, Groom, Groomsmen, Ring Bearers
Which of the following services do you provide??
Rentals
Which of the following items do you offer?
Shoes, Tuxedos
What is your return policy?
Exchanges, Final Sale, Full Refund, Partial Refund

INFO FOR RENTALS & PHOTOBOOTHS

Which of the following event rental services do you provide?
Clean Up, Delivery, Setup, Showroom
What event items are available?
Audio Equipment, Lights, Photobooth, Tent Accessories
What photobooth items are available?
Backdrop(s), Enclosed Booth, Props, Social Media Integration

INFO FOR LIGHTING & DECOR

What lighting services do you provide?
Accent, Audiovisuals, Chandeliers, Dance Floor Lighting, Hanging Lit Decor, Lanterns, Monograms, Outdoor, Pinspotting, String, Uplighting, Wall Wash
What decor services do you provide?
Clean Up, Day-Of Coordination, Delivery, Event Design, Event Planning, Setup

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Chaz
Wedding:
9/10/2016
5.0/5.0
It’s intimidating picking a DJ for your wedding. You can read reviews but it’s hard to pick without something tangible to compare to other vendors. Everyone is different and dancing was important to us for our wedding ceremony. Music Makes You Happy was one of the best choices we could have made.

Not only are they extremely friendly and helpful to work with but they have an online account for each of their clients so you can guide the direction of the music. You fill out a little questionnaire where you share bits about what types of music you like and what you’re looking for from the wedding reception and then you can get started picking songs! They have a massive selection (including top 100 most popular wedding songs in different genres) and if you want to hear a song that they don’t have, just request it and they can track it down for you! Most importantly they have a “Do Not Play” list so you can avoid any songs that get on your nerves.

We have a dancing crowd and our DJ Brad kept everyone on the floor for over 3 hours! If dancing is important to you and you don’t want a dud DJ killing the wedding buzz then Music Makes You Happy is for you.
It’s intimidating picking a DJ for your wedding. You can read reviews but it’s hard to pick without something tangible to Read more...
It’s intimidating picking a DJ for your wedding. You can read reviews but it’s hard to pick without something tangible to compare to other vendors. Everyone is different and dancing was important to us for our wedding ceremony. Music Makes You Happy was one of the best choices we could have made.

Not only are they extremely friendly and helpful to work with but they have an online account for each of their clients so you can guide the direction of the music. You fill out a little questionnaire where you share bits about what types of music you like and what you’re looking for from the wedding reception and then you can get started picking songs! They have a massive selection (including top 100 most popular wedding songs in different genres) and if you want to hear a song that they don’t have, just request it and they can track it down for you! Most importantly they have a “Do Not Play” list so you can avoid any songs that get on your nerves.

We have a dancing crowd and our DJ Brad kept everyone on the floor for over 3 hours! If dancing is important to you and you don’t want a dud DJ killing the wedding buzz then Music Makes You Happy is for you. Read less
Services Used: DJ, Dress & Attire, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default vendor profile pic
Dana
Wedding:
9/3/2016
5.0/5.0
Chris is AMAZING! I had a very last minute request for a song that would play after my husband and I said our vows and he got it in!! He was very professional and worked the floor very well!!
Chris is AMAZING! I had a very last minute request for a song that would play after my husband and I said our vows and he Read more...
Chris is AMAZING! I had a very last minute request for a song that would play after my husband and I said our vows and he got it in!! He was very professional and worked the floor very well!! Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default vendor profile pic
Samantha
Wedding:
5/28/2016
5.0/5.0
Music Makes You Happy is a wonderful vendor to work with. I talked with Chris pretty extensively before hiring, and my favorite part about this vendor is that they are actually WILLING TO TALK TO YOU ON THE PHONE! That was a big deal to me, because it seemed like I was playing email tag with all my other vendors constantly, especially because we now live in Raleigh. Anyway, Matt Kasherman ended up doing our wedding, and he did an excellent job. He was totally cool to just feel out the flow of the wedding, and decide when to do what based on what was happening. He was not at all worried about sticking to a strict schedule (nor were we), but we could look out to the crowd and say "okay, we need to liven it up a bit, let's do some dancing". If you are completely clueless on managing big events like I was, their MC services are definitely a must-do! 10/10 would hire/recommend again!
Music Makes You Happy is a wonderful vendor to work with. I talked with Chris pretty extensively before hiring, and my Read more...
Music Makes You Happy is a wonderful vendor to work with. I talked with Chris pretty extensively before hiring, and my favorite part about this vendor is that they are actually WILLING TO TALK TO YOU ON THE PHONE! That was a big deal to me, because it seemed like I was playing email tag with all my other vendors constantly, especially because we now live in Raleigh. Anyway, Matt Kasherman ended up doing our wedding, and he did an excellent job. He was totally cool to just feel out the flow of the wedding, and decide when to do what based on what was happening. He was not at all worried about sticking to a strict schedule (nor were we), but we could look out to the crowd and say "okay, we need to liven it up a bit, let's do some dancing". If you are completely clueless on managing big events like I was, their MC services are definitely a must-do! 10/10 would hire/recommend again! Read less
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
130x130 sq 1451513734381 crystalrobert engagement 12.7.15 47
Crystal
Wedding:
5/14/2016
5.0/5.0
Chris was great, everyone danced the entire night! I was indecisive about uplighting and he accommodated my request later than he should've. He was well prepared in setting up and has a ton of experience. Not everyone can DJ a wedding and do a great job, he's well spoken and knows the right amount of mic time! Thank you!
Chris was great, everyone danced the entire night! I was indecisive about uplighting and he accommodated my request later Read more...
Chris was great, everyone danced the entire night! I was indecisive about uplighting and he accommodated my request later than he should've. He was well prepared in setting up and has a ton of experience. Not everyone can DJ a wedding and do a great job, he's well spoken and knows the right amount of mic time! Thank you! Read less
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Amy
Wedding:
12/13/2015
5.0/5.0
Chris was absolutely WONDERFUL to work with from the start. I met him years ago at a wedding and loved his “calm energy” and organization. Working with him was a breeze, as his online system perfectly sets up the wedding schedule and the music selection process is very user friendly. I played tons of family favorites that aren’t heard often (Arthur Godfrey’s “Too Fat Polka” – to name one - my Papaw used to sing that to me), and he was able to get all of my selections. Onsite, he helped manage a mini-crisis that was totally not his responsibility – the cake wasn’t there with ten minutes before the ceremony! He calmly took charge (so we didn’t have to), and our guests were none the wiser. I HIGHLY recommend him.
Chris was absolutely WONDERFUL to work with from the start. I met him years ago at a wedding and loved his “calm energy” Read more...
Chris was absolutely WONDERFUL to work with from the start. I met him years ago at a wedding and loved his “calm energy” and organization. Working with him was a breeze, as his online system perfectly sets up the wedding schedule and the music selection process is very user friendly. I played tons of family favorites that aren’t heard often (Arthur Godfrey’s “Too Fat Polka” – to name one - my Papaw used to sing that to me), and he was able to get all of my selections. Onsite, he helped manage a mini-crisis that was totally not his responsibility – the cake wasn’t there with ten minutes before the ceremony! He calmly took charge (so we didn’t have to), and our guests were none the wiser. I HIGHLY recommend him. Read less
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Melissa
Wedding:
11/14/2015
5.0/5.0
Absolutely loved working with everyone on this team. From meeting face to face with Chris, to having a phone conference with Matt, and getting to enjoy DJ Brad on my wedding day we loved them all! And the photobooth was probably the best thing I could have had at my wedding! Totally worth it!
Absolutely loved working with everyone on this team. From meeting face to face with Chris, to having a phone conference Read more...
Absolutely loved working with everyone on this team. From meeting face to face with Chris, to having a phone conference with Matt, and getting to enjoy DJ Brad on my wedding day we loved them all! And the photobooth was probably the best thing I could have had at my wedding! Totally worth it! Read less
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default vendor profile pic
Laura Beth
Wedding:
11/14/2015
5.0/5.0
Chris and Matt were absolutely fantastic! We first met Chris in February with our wedding planner, Crystal. My mom wanted to hire him on the spot!

Our DJ was Matt, and from the moment I met him in April, I knew our reception was going to be a blast! He was so personable and emphasized that he would do absolutely everything to make sure we were thrilled and having an awesome time during our party.

At our reception, he absolutely delivered. He kept coming to Al and I, asking if everything was going well. He even came to us and discussed moving some of the timeline around to make sure most of our guests would see the cake cutting and bouquet/garter tosses. He was amazing!

We loved that we were able to pick our priority and preferred music with MMYH's database ahead of time. Al and I had so much fun doing that! It seems like they have every song known to man!

Both during and after the wedding, many people asked us if Matt was a personal friend of ours, because he was so personable with us. We consider him to be a wonderful friend now!

MMYH is one of the best entertainment services around. They have the most up-to-date equipment available. They have a subtle, yet professional, set-up. The sound is kicking! Most of all, MMYH allows hours of extra time before the event to account for traffic, equipment failures, and so on, to make sure that their crew is there, tested, and ready to go, hours before your event is scheduled to start!

Check them out - You won't be disappointed!
Chris and Matt were absolutely fantastic! We first met Chris in February with our wedding planner, Crystal. My mom wanted Read more...
Chris and Matt were absolutely fantastic! We first met Chris in February with our wedding planner, Crystal. My mom wanted to hire him on the spot!

Our DJ was Matt, and from the moment I met him in April, I knew our reception was going to be a blast! He was so personable and emphasized that he would do absolutely everything to make sure we were thrilled and having an awesome time during our party.

At our reception, he absolutely delivered. He kept coming to Al and I, asking if everything was going well. He even came to us and discussed moving some of the timeline around to make sure most of our guests would see the cake cutting and bouquet/garter tosses. He was amazing!

We loved that we were able to pick our priority and preferred music with MMYH's database ahead of time. Al and I had so much fun doing that! It seems like they have every song known to man!

Both during and after the wedding, many people asked us if Matt was a personal friend of ours, because he was so personable with us. We consider him to be a wonderful friend now!

MMYH is one of the best entertainment services around. They have the most up-to-date equipment available. They have a subtle, yet professional, set-up. The sound is kicking! Most of all, MMYH allows hours of extra time before the event to account for traffic, equipment failures, and so on, to make sure that their crew is there, tested, and ready to go, hours before your event is scheduled to start!

Check them out - You won't be disappointed! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Lauren
Wedding:
10/12/2015
5.0/5.0
Chris from Music Makes You Happy Entertainment was the DJ at my wedding, and he did a fantastic job!! I had a small wedding, but he kept people dancing all night! He was easy to work with and communicate with, and I was very lucky to find him!
Chris from Music Makes You Happy Entertainment was the DJ at my wedding, and he did a fantastic job!! I had a small Read more...
Chris from Music Makes You Happy Entertainment was the DJ at my wedding, and he did a fantastic job!! I had a small wedding, but he kept people dancing all night! He was easy to work with and communicate with, and I was very lucky to find him! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Music Makes You Happy was the biggest pleasure to work with. Matt DJ'd our wedding and he went above and beyond what we could ever ask from him. He helped us plan the perfect playlist for both our ceremony and reception. He was available to meet and discuss our wedding whenever we were able, and he even suggested extra meetings on his on to ensure everything was to our liking. He was an extreme help with maintaining the flow of our wedding, even when rain delayed the ceremony. He stayed in constant contact with guests to keep them happy. We couldn't be happier with our selection!
Music Makes You Happy was the biggest pleasure to work with. Matt DJ'd our wedding and he went above and beyond what we Read more...
Music Makes You Happy was the biggest pleasure to work with. Matt DJ'd our wedding and he went above and beyond what we could ever ask from him. He helped us plan the perfect playlist for both our ceremony and reception. He was available to meet and discuss our wedding whenever we were able, and he even suggested extra meetings on his on to ensure everything was to our liking. He was an extreme help with maintaining the flow of our wedding, even when rain delayed the ceremony. He stayed in constant contact with guests to keep them happy. We couldn't be happier with our selection! Read less
Services Used: DJ
130x130 sq 1399921538792 10320453101522115654897605105262638412396249
Ashley
Wedding:
6/28/2015
5.0/5.0
Chris went above and beyond our expectations on our wedding day! What starting as a beautiful June morning ended with a tornado warning and torrential downpours during our outdoor reception. Our day of timeline had major last minute changes due to the weather. Chris handled all of the changes with ease. He is very detailed oriented and professional. He played all of our requested songs, didn't play any of our "do not play" songs & helped us brainstorm a last minute exit plan when the weather caused our original plan to fall through.
Without Chris, our reception would not have gone as smoothly as it did. Music Makes You Happy is well worth the money!
Chris went above and beyond our expectations on our wedding day! What starting as a beautiful June morning ended with a Read more...
Chris went above and beyond our expectations on our wedding day! What starting as a beautiful June morning ended with a tornado warning and torrential downpours during our outdoor reception. Our day of timeline had major last minute changes due to the weather. Chris handled all of the changes with ease. He is very detailed oriented and professional. He played all of our requested songs, didn't play any of our "do not play" songs & helped us brainstorm a last minute exit plan when the weather caused our original plan to fall through.
Without Chris, our reception would not have gone as smoothly as it did. Music Makes You Happy is well worth the money! Read less
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
2109 Holland Rd Suite C, Suffolk, VA 23434 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Music Makes You Happy Entertainment
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1450390222 bc5eee4c8aa3f05d joe and kathleen katelyn s favorites 0161