130x130 sq 1363022713160 musicnowweb

Music Now DJs

Capitola , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2121 41st Avenue, Suite 102
Capitola, CA 95010 US (map)

PHONE

831-423-4423

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

One of the most requested professional DJ services in Santa Cruz, San Jose and the Monterey Bay Areas. Music Now DJ's are referred by virtually all wedding sites and planners. Serving... Read more
One of the most requested professional DJ services in Santa Cruz, San Jose and the Monterey Bay Areas. Music Now DJ's are referred by virtually all wedding sites and planners. Serving Santa Cruz, Capitola, Aptos, Watsonville, Felton, Ben Lomond, Boulder Creek, Corralitos, Freedom, Monterey, Carmel, Carmel Valley, Big Sur, Los Gatos, Saratoga, San Jose, Palo Alto, Stanford, Seascape, La Selva Beach, Aromas ... and beyond, Since 1987.

We Love To Entertain & It Shows!



831-423-4423

877-423-4423 Toll Free

E-Mail Music Now

info@musicnowdj.com
Professional DJ/MC with Wireless Microphone Huge CD Library with music for every age group & musical taste State-of- the-Art Sound Systems Interactive Entertainment or Elegant Sophistication Ceremony Sound Systems, battery operated-go anywhere. Includes wireless lapel microphone for officiant
Members of the American Disc Jockey Association - Licensed & Insured
The Preferred DJ Service Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1343690977898 dj
130x130 sq 1343690981568 dj3
130x130 sq 1343690978948 dj2
130x130 sq 1343690981941 dj4

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.3/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
devin
Wedding:
8/9/2014
3.8/5.0
Jack from music now had excellent communication. Although the D.J he assigned to me was not as prompt in returning my calls. They were great at working with me, giving me ideas and they just wanted to make me happy. I think the volume on the microphone could have been a bit louder in order to get more peoples attention when making announcements such as first dance/cake cutting etc. Overall they had all the songs I requested and were on time setting up. I would recommend them and use them again in the future.
Jack from music now had excellent communication. Although the D.J he assigned to me was not as prompt in returning my Read more...
Jack from music now had excellent communication. Although the D.J he assigned to me was not as prompt in returning my calls. They were great at working with me, giving me ideas and they just wanted to make me happy. I think the volume on the microphone could have been a bit louder in order to get more peoples attention when making announcements such as first dance/cake cutting etc. Overall they had all the songs I requested and were on time setting up. I would recommend them and use them again in the future. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Angel
Wedding:
5/24/2014
4.9/5.0
Music Now was fantastic! John our DJ was an excellent MC and took care of the ceremony mics, and musicians needs. He added fun and the perfect amount of structure.
Music Now was fantastic! John our DJ was an excellent MC and took care of the ceremony mics, and musicians needs. He added Read more...
Music Now was fantastic! John our DJ was an excellent MC and took care of the ceremony mics, and musicians needs. He added fun and the perfect amount of structure. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Bg22
Danielle
Wedding:
10/20/2012
4.8/5.0
Music Now was a great fit for our big day! They were friendly, on time, perfesional, and interacted with the crowd making our reception an event that our guests are still raving about!
Music Now was a great fit for our big day! They were friendly, on time, perfesional, and interacted with the crowd making Read more...
Music Now was a great fit for our big day! They were friendly, on time, perfesional, and interacted with the crowd making our reception an event that our guests are still raving about! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Tami
Wedding:
10/7/2012
2.5/5.0
Our first warning sign should have been the positively antique modes of communication. There is an e-mail address but for most communications and the actual song request sheet Music Now sent us a paper list through US mail. They insisted that the list of song requests be faxed back; e-mail not an option. That is sort of weird but the real problem came in when they completely refused to send a new list when we requested it;They actively refused a simple request for a few cents postage. Red flag number one.

I had numerous conversations with the owner of Music Now about what we wanted to have played. Some of this was not available on their standard lists and there seemed to be some problems with the staff locating Youtube videos and/or making MP3 files for the purpose of expanding their song repertoire. My brother was able to do this in a minute or less and was fortunately interfacing with the DJ on the day of the event. Unfortunately my brother had to not only supply the music we wanted but to convince the DJ (John) that plugging an iPod into his mixing set-up would not "hurt" (actual words) his equipment. I understand that not everyone is technically savvy but a man who plays music at weddings should be able utilize modern music equipment.
The worst was the music he played. We wanted hava nagila, he played fiddler on the roof first! Then a terrible chabad version of hava nagila that was awful, we had to keep dancing way longer than necessary. He played the wrong song for the countdown dance and then St Elmo's fire for the cake cutting. We are not in our 50s nor at a bar mitzvah. I was very sepcific about modern music, john played a horrendous MJ medley for nearly 12 minutes when we only had 60 minutes to dance. He was terrible.
When I complained, his boss essentially blamed me for not having the "packet" all ready, after I had asked for a new one! and reviewed specifically with him and the DJ my requests. not recommended
Our first warning sign should have been the positively antique modes of communication. There is an e-mail address but for Read more...
Our first warning sign should have been the positively antique modes of communication. There is an e-mail address but for most communications and the actual song request sheet Music Now sent us a paper list through US mail. They insisted that the list of song requests be faxed back; e-mail not an option. That is sort of weird but the real problem came in when they completely refused to send a new list when we requested it;They actively refused a simple request for a few cents postage. Red flag number one.

I had numerous conversations with the owner of Music Now about what we wanted to have played. Some of this was not available on their standard lists and there seemed to be some problems with the staff locating Youtube videos and/or making MP3 files for the purpose of expanding their song repertoire. My brother was able to do this in a minute or less and was fortunately interfacing with the DJ on the day of the event. Unfortunately my brother had to not only supply the music we wanted but to convince the DJ (John) that plugging an iPod into his mixing set-up would not "hurt" (actual words) his equipment. I understand that not everyone is technically savvy but a man who plays music at weddings should be able utilize modern music equipment.
The worst was the music he played. We wanted hava nagila, he played fiddler on the roof first! Then a terrible chabad version of hava nagila that was awful, we had to keep dancing way longer than necessary. He played the wrong song for the countdown dance and then St Elmo's fire for the cake cutting. We are not in our 50s nor at a bar mitzvah. I was very sepcific about modern music, john played a horrendous MJ medley for nearly 12 minutes when we only had 60 minutes to dance. He was terrible.
When I complained, his boss essentially blamed me for not having the "packet" all ready, after I had asked for a new one! and reviewed specifically with him and the DJ my requests. not recommended Read less
Services Used: DJ
Music Now DJs responded with the following comments:

It's obvious both the bride and groom were unhappy with our services. It's hard to make a complete and accurate response when the wedding was last year. Many of the statements made by the bride and groom our misleading and unfair. 1. Music Now or any professional DJ service have to abide by copyright laws when downloading music. We try our best to explain this. With all the music available to listen to on youtube, etc. some clients think we have the availability to play it on our sound system, when in fact, unless the client can provide us a song, in most cases, we don't have the ability to play those specific songs. 2. This client was mailed their wedding packet a full year before the date of their event. Apprx. 1 month prior to their event, I, the owner, received an email asking if we could email them another wedding packet as she said the one we mailed to her was all messed up with their scribbling notes, etc. Music Now is happy to scan our packets and email them when needed. I kindly asked the bride to mail what she had and we would go from there. We NEVER refused to email, let alone mail her another packet. 3. We did receive the packet in the mail one week before the event. Be advised, we were communicating with the coordinator they hired at this point which was actually 2 weeks prior to the wedding. The coordinator was in possession of the packet and promised to mail it back to us right away. It was actually very readable and not scribbled and unreadable as the client said. As we have done for thousands of brides, we made many notes with last minute changes on the packet. We jumped through hurdles and spent many hours of overtime making last minute changes on their packet. Some of the changes for music and formatting were done by phone on the Thursday and Friday before their event which was on Saturday. According to their wedding coordinator, the couple was out of the country on vacation prior to this event and wasn't available to talk to us. The last conversation I had with the bride, she said to me, it wasn't either of our faults. A lot of the blame was put on the coordinator. The event coordinator at this venue also commented about the lack of the coordinators functionality and service. Personally, I only had one conversation with the coordinator 2 weeks before the wedding. At that time, she told me the bride was out of the country for a month and wouldn't be back until one week before. This was after several attempts my office Manager to reach the bride. Music Now did the best we could with the information we had. The day of the event, our DJ John did get rattled due to the grooms outburst at him. The groom used some very unacceptable language to John. In our contract agreement, the contract terms specifically state, Interference by any unauthorized person(s), including verbal harassment, is grounds for immediate termination of our performance. John decided to let it roil off his shoulders, but was shaken up a bit by the Grooms outburst. There were a lot of discrepancies with the statements by both the bride and groom on their reviews. The groom posted a separate review several months ago. Music Now strides to make every event the best possible performance. FYI, I did talk to their DJ John after this event. According to John, the first time the bride was able to talk to him wasn't an ideal time and he wasn't prepared, nor had the time to talk specifics with her. We highly suggest clients talk to to the DJ several months before their event. Our policy is if they're not clicking with that specific DJ, we can schedule a different one. I did schedule John a couple of months prior to the wedding date as he was very familiar with the wedding venue. John did try and contact the client on a couple of occasions. Apparently, there were a few back and forth messages. All the DJs here at Music Now leave specific instructions of a good time to reach the DJ for phone consultations when the client is not available to meet in person. I received an email from the bride, she thought John was stressed and was worried about his ability to handle her event. That call was made when John was not available to talk specifics. The bride told me that John would be fine after they eventually were able to talk in detail. I really don't know what else we could have done to make this event run smoother than it did. Music Now has been in business since 1987. We have policies and instructions for our clients to keep things organized. I think it's unfair for these clients to put the total blame on Music Now when there were many factors overlooked.
130x130 sq 1318962981396 232323232fp539nu3439566256wsnrcg33726646347nu0mrj
Marissa
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Jack is a great DJ to work with. He listens, gives you helpful advise and knows how to keep a party going. He really knows his stuff and made everything run very smoothly. He really is the "Master of Ceremonies". Thank you Jack. : )
Jack is a great DJ to work with. He listens, gives you helpful advise and knows how to keep a party going. He really knows Read more...
Jack is a great DJ to work with. He listens, gives you helpful advise and knows how to keep a party going. He really knows his stuff and made everything run very smoothly. He really is the "Master of Ceremonies". Thank you Jack. : ) Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Laura
Wedding:
8/25/2012
1.6/5.0
VERY UNHAPPY WITH THIS COMPANY-I WOULD NOT USE THEM AGAIN FOR ANY EVENT.
------------
DJ arrived 20 minutes before the ceremony and did not sound check the wirelass lapel mike or the volume on the wired mike before the wedding ceremony. When the lapel mike was on, the sound was distorted, squealy, and with a loud buzz during the first part of the ceremony. Honestly, it would have been better to turn the sound system off.
Then it seemed like the DJ had found a loose connection on his equipment and and long as he held the plug in place, the sound was okay ... until the battery ran out mid-way through the ceremony.
---------
People at the back of a very small ceremony (100 people) could not hear the vows. The poor sound quality almost ruined the ceremony. During the sales call to close the deal, Jack had stated that either he or his protege Scott would work this event. We didn't get that in writing (didn't realize we needed to) and so at the pre event meeting another DJ was substituted. The asisgned DJ mostly did a good job at the reception, but the equipment he used at the ceremony was not working properly. I feel like if one of the people promised had been there, they would not have had such poor equipment. I would not use this company, but if you do, be sure to get everything single detail in writing ... who will work the event, what time they will arrive, will they check the sound prior to the event, etc.
VERY UNHAPPY WITH THIS COMPANY-I WOULD NOT USE THEM AGAIN FOR ANY EVENT.
------------
DJ arrived 20 minutes before Read more...
VERY UNHAPPY WITH THIS COMPANY-I WOULD NOT USE THEM AGAIN FOR ANY EVENT.
------------
DJ arrived 20 minutes before the ceremony and did not sound check the wirelass lapel mike or the volume on the wired mike before the wedding ceremony. When the lapel mike was on, the sound was distorted, squealy, and with a loud buzz during the first part of the ceremony. Honestly, it would have been better to turn the sound system off.
Then it seemed like the DJ had found a loose connection on his equipment and and long as he held the plug in place, the sound was okay ... until the battery ran out mid-way through the ceremony.
---------
People at the back of a very small ceremony (100 people) could not hear the vows. The poor sound quality almost ruined the ceremony. During the sales call to close the deal, Jack had stated that either he or his protege Scott would work this event. We didn't get that in writing (didn't realize we needed to) and so at the pre event meeting another DJ was substituted. The asisgned DJ mostly did a good job at the reception, but the equipment he used at the ceremony was not working properly. I feel like if one of the people promised had been there, they would not have had such poor equipment. I would not use this company, but if you do, be sure to get everything single detail in writing ... who will work the event, what time they will arrive, will they check the sound prior to the event, etc. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Music Now DJs responded with the following comments:

In response to this post. The DJ assigned to this event, Andre was introduced to the client and was able to do a sit down consultation with the bride and her Mother. At no point was there anything said by the client, that she was unhappy that myself, the owner, Jack Crawford, or Scott Trugman was not assigned to them. Clients have the option to request anyone of Music Now DJs for and additional request fee. This client opted not to pay the request fee for myself or Scott. The statement that I promised myself or Scott is false. I explain to all clients during the initial sales call that if they are not happy with the DJ I assign them, to let us know. However, this has never been an issue as all of our DJs are professional and non cheesy. Regarding the equipment at the ceremony. There is a wireless lapel microphone that is attached to the officiate. The pick up of the mic is suppose to face out towards the bride and groom so they can be heard as they repeat vows. 1. The officiant for this event would not let Andre explain this to him and said he knew everything there is to know about the mic and walked off. Unfortunately, the officiant put the mic on where the pick up of the mic was facing in. 2. The arrival of the DJ. We arrive at the reception site 1 1/2 hours before the start time for set up, so we have enough time to travel to the ceremony site when it's in a different location as Andre did for this event. It only takes a couple of minutes to set-up the ceremony sound system. Andre was there and ready with plenty of time to set up and do a sound check. He was there 30 minutes before the start of the ceremony. Not 20 minutes as the client said. Not sure how the bride knew if Andre was there 20 minutes before the event as she didn't arrive herself until 15 minutes after the start time of 3:00. Andre had more than enough time to do what he needed. The client made a statement about the battery running out 1/2 way through the ceremony. This NEVER happened! FYI, we normally charge extra for early set up to accommodate 2 event locations. This client was not charged this. Regarding the sound issues for the ceremony, we always explain when doing events at Lovers Point, or any location that is outside, there might be sound issues. This was also told to the client. The equipment problem stated by the client is also false. Or should I say, she has the wrong answer to what the problem was. The officiant has a wireless lapel mic. The singer had a wireless hand held mic. Both wireless mics are on the same frequency. This was explained to the officiant and the singer. Both mics can't be on at the same time or they will cancel each other out, or make a distorted sound. Both mics were sound checked and tested before the ceremony. Unfortunately, the officiate could not be told to turn his mic off so we could accommodate the keyboardist and singer during the worship songs. Fortunately, the Father of the bride was able to tell the officiant to turn his mic off which fixed the issue by then. Regarding Andre holding a wire or cable to make it work better. That is wrong. Andre had is hand on the volume knob so he could adjust the volume. We turn the volume level up as the bride and groom repeat vows. There was NO holding a wire etc, as the client stated to make the wireless work. I have to add.........we jumped through many hurdles for this client as she made many many last minute changes on how her ceremony would be formatted. The changes were all made the week of the event. They were upset we couldn't supply a sound system that would accommodate other singers and a keyboard player. As far as the whole event is concerned, the DJ Andre was asked to perform for another 1 1/2 hours as the reception party was in full swing and they wanted to continue with the party. Also, the DJ was given a generous tip after. The statements posted on this site I am guessing was from the bride. Her statements are very miss leading and unfair in my opinion as I had a long meeting with Andre to discuss all of the specific complaints. Music Now strides in making every wedding or event the ultimate life time experience.
Default vendor profile pic
Adreanna
Wedding:
8/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Music Now DJs make sure the music you want played gets played. They also act almost as wedding coordinatotrs, helping you to keep everything in order and flowing smoothly, so you will not have to think about it on uour day!
Music Now DJs make sure the music you want played gets played. They also act almost as wedding coordinatotrs, helping you Read more...
Music Now DJs make sure the music you want played gets played. They also act almost as wedding coordinatotrs, helping you to keep everything in order and flowing smoothly, so you will not have to think about it on uour day! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Our DJ, John, stepped in at the last minute when our original DJ had to back out due to a family emergency. Considering that he had never met us before, and that he had found out about our wedding only two days before, he was able to execute our program extremely well. He was very flexible; we had a few changes to make in the program only moments before our grand entrance to the reception, and he was able to take in these changes and execute them perfectly. We also had multiple musical performances in the reception, some involving audio accompaniment; although we had to switch the order of these around as well, John really came through and all of it went very smoothly. He was very kind and fun, and he did exactly what the best DJs are supposed to do: he understood the character of the wedding and kept an eye on the mood and energy of everyone; he selected great tracks to keep the whole crowd dancing all evening. I had a great time thanks to him!
Our DJ, John, stepped in at the last minute when our original DJ had to back out due to a family emergency. Considering Read more...
Our DJ, John, stepped in at the last minute when our original DJ had to back out due to a family emergency. Considering that he had never met us before, and that he had found out about our wedding only two days before, he was able to execute our program extremely well. He was very flexible; we had a few changes to make in the program only moments before our grand entrance to the reception, and he was able to take in these changes and execute them perfectly. We also had multiple musical performances in the reception, some involving audio accompaniment; although we had to switch the order of these around as well, John really came through and all of it went very smoothly. He was very kind and fun, and he did exactly what the best DJs are supposed to do: he understood the character of the wedding and kept an eye on the mood and energy of everyone; he selected great tracks to keep the whole crowd dancing all evening. I had a great time thanks to him! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anne
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Jack was very professsional and we were very pleased with his service. We will definitely recommend MusicNow to our friends.
Jack was very professsional and we were very pleased with his service. We will definitely recommend MusicNow to our Read more...
Jack was very professsional and we were very pleased with his service. We will definitely recommend MusicNow to our friends. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Melanie
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Our DJ Scott was fabulous! My husband and I could not have been happier with the way the music turned out. He made sure that everything went exactly the way we wanted it with announcements, music cues, the first dances and most importantly the sound for the ceremony! He was very professional, not cheesy at all, and played the best music for all of our guests to boogie to! We received so many compliments from guests of all ages saying what a wonderful job our DJ had done. I would highly recommend Music Now!
Our DJ Scott was fabulous! My husband and I could not have been happier with the way the music turned out. He made sure Read more...
Our DJ Scott was fabulous! My husband and I could not have been happier with the way the music turned out. He made sure that everything went exactly the way we wanted it with announcements, music cues, the first dances and most importantly the sound for the ceremony! He was very professional, not cheesy at all, and played the best music for all of our guests to boogie to! We received so many compliments from guests of all ages saying what a wonderful job our DJ had done. I would highly recommend Music Now! Read less
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
2121 41st Avenue, Suite 102, Capitola, CA 95010 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Music Now DJs
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1363022713160 musicnowweb