130x130_sq_1329464057357-rjthumb3

Music4Life DJ's

Austin , TX
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

12329 Emery Oaks Rd
Austin, TX US 78758 (map)

PHONE

512-973-8686

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Music4Life is a full service DJ company where fun is the focus. Our team will coordinate all the details of your wedding reception and play all the music you want to hear. We can also... Read more
Music4Life is a full service DJ company where fun is the focus. Our team will coordinate all the details of your wedding reception and play all the music you want to hear. We can also provide ceremony music. You will work directly with your DJ in planning sessions at a location that is convenient for you. Music4Life owner, R.J. Johnson has been on Austin radio since 1985 and also is the host of Austin Bridal Secrets, a radio show for brides that features many of Austin's best wedding professionals.

Check our availability for your date here: CHECK AVAILABILITY or call/text us on 512-297-3575 to schedule a meet-n-greet with us in Austin or on FaceTime or Skype.

If you're a veteran or active duty, please ask about our military discount. It's one way we can say thank you to those who serve. Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1389040470702-img2075log
130x130_sq_1389040519215-img2084-high-re
130x130_sq_1389040567105-lopez-dancin
130x130_sq_1389040570188-lopez-im-still-in-thi

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Big Band, Classic Rock, Country, Dance, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Pop, R&B, Rock, Soul, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
Low-key and invisible. You are the stars of the show.
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
40 songs is standard via our online planner with additional requests being taken during the event from your guests.
What is your usual attire?
Suit and tie
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
No, we will provide it at no extra charge provided we can find it online to purchase.
How many other DJs do you work with?
There are 2 on our team
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
Whatever you need.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Yes, we prefer it that way.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
Yes! Latin, African, Caribbean and more.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Yes
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes and backup equipment too.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
We provide affordable dancefloor and uplighting with your choice of colors.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
We arrive two hours before the party starts, three hours if we are doing the ceremony with an additional system. Yes, we need a skirted table.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
No, just a good parking space. :-)
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
Never
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
Yes, as much or as little as you want.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
Talk to your guests and see what they want.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
We do not take breaks or eat at your event.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
We do not take breaks.
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
We have a team of DJs ready to take over in the event that something happens.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
No
What is your overtime rate?
$150 per hour for weddings.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
Yes and it depends on the distance.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
50% down with the balance due 14 days before your event.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
1/24/2014
5.0/5.0
We booked DJ R.J. for our wedding this past January early on in the planning process. We first sat down with R.J. in May to discuss his services and from the get go he was extremely professional,organized and helpful. We quickly decided to book R.J. as his passion for what he does is evident and he was willing to work with us to give us the party we wanted! His follow up and follow through were incredible. He even reached out to our parents for song requests and was very courteous with guest requests at the wedding. R.J. goes above and beyond! The software he uses to capture your song timeline is straightforward and user friendly. Since I planned my wedding without a planner and on a budget R.J.'s timeline was incredibly helpful to me/us in executing our plans. R.J. works very hard and is detail oriented. He truly goes above and beyond for his customers. If you have any DJ needs I highly recommend R.J. He is not only thorough and professional he is also fun!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nadia
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
DJ RJ was amazing....he was very professional..very helpful and was able to figure out what I wanted even when I was not even sure what I was trying to say! He made our night amazing and I got do do what I wanted which was dance the night away! I can't even put in words how I feel about how he made our night wonderful! Thank you so much RJ !
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jomel
Wedding:
9/20/2013
5.0/5.0
RJ was a pleasure to work with - he made everything so easy for us! I was impressed by his website to organize all of our ceremony/reception songs and timeline of how the night would flow! We had an incredible night with our family and friends, and he had everyone on the dance floor the ENTIRE time! We appreciated the live recordings he sent of our ceremony (it included all of our songs with our vows!) and also of my performances that I did that night (one of the songs was a song that I sang and wrote for my husband)! Thank you again, RJ, for all your help with our music to make our wedding so amazing for not just us, but for all of our guests too!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandi
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
We had RJ for our DJ at our June wedding in Austin Texas. RJ is very personable and wonderful to work with. He did our music for our ceremony as well as the reception. RJ is fun but very professional. We would highly recommend him for your event. Thanks RJ! Brandi and Mando
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sarah
Wedding:
5/11/2013
4.9/5.0
My husband and I met DJ RJ and his wife, Maria, at a wedding expo in North Austin, and we knew immediately that they were the way to go. They are incredibly warm, friendly people who spent a lot of time asking questions about Hunter and my relationship, so that they could get a feel of who we are as a couple and translate that into our music. The website I used to work on the song list (both with RJ and on my own at home) was user friendly, and I felt like I had as much or as little control over the music as I deemed fit. When it came time to choose special songs, I met with RJ and with his guidance, we created a song list that literally kept the entire party on their feet during the reception. He also contacted my mom and Hunter's moms to get a list of songs they would like to hear. This, to me, is "above and beyond" work ethic. All of the moms were so excited to have a hand in the playlist, and it made the night even more sentimental for them, which was very important to us. He also set up a separate music station so that my brother and his fiance could play the processional music they wrote for the wedding, which was not something required of him. He's just a nice guy and did it! I could not have made a better choice in a DJ, as several guests were quick to point out to me. He's friendly, keeps the crowd moving and shaking, and very flexible. Thank you RJ for filling such a big role on the best day of my life! :D
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
I was beyond impressed with DJ RJ Johnson with Music4Life! I had high expectations because I had read amazing reviews about him on yelp. Sure enough, he was just as wonderful as I had hoped. His online event planner was amazing and fun and definitely helped me stay organized with my entire reception planning. I was even able to use it with my wedding coordinator and other vendors to keep everyone on the same page. RJ went above and beyond with his phone calls to parents, check-in calls and texts to me, and additional meetings to ensure my wedding reception was perfect. He even helped with some creative planning to make my wedding reception unique and special. The flow of my reception was perfect and it went exactly how I wanted it to, only because of RJ's attention to detail, professionalism, and commitment to giving the bride and groom what they want. I highly recommend RJ Johnson with Music4Life to anyone and everyone looking for an exceptional DJ!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adell
Wedding:
4/26/2013
5.0/5.0
RJ Johnson was an amazing DJ! His experience and music selection was fantastic. If he doesn't have the requested music, he will do research and get the music for you. RJ is laid back in his personality, which definitely helped during the wedding planning. I didn't have to worry about anything music wise on the day of my wedding. In fact, planning the music was a fun experience, not something I felt added to my chore list of responsibilities. His website and consultations has a very structured format that makes the planning process so easy. RJ is very proactive and will get to know you as a person. He was available by phone when I needed help navigating his website to add music. He had great ideas and was able to expand upon on the ideas that my husband and I offerred. RJ is able to work with wedding coordinators, photographers, and the multiple requests he received from family members. I gave him 5 stars on value, because even though he might seem pricey on a tight budget, it was well worth the money we spent! The family reviews and memories he helped to create are invaluable. As my friends and family put it, "He is a GOOD DJ." No worries or complaints, especially since he adhered to a schedule. Service was very professional and the delivery of his service was priceless.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Great to work with, extremely organized and professional. Highly recommend.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Music4Life DJ's exceeded our expectations, very flexible, took request from guest, allowed us to choose our own music for every bit of the rehersal which made our special day even more perfect! Over all we really enjoyed the service provided, we couldn't have asked for anything better!
Thanks Music4Life!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Working with RJ was AMAZING! He was so kind and professional. He walked us through everything step by step to make sure we had every detail covered. He gave us great recommendations and advice. We honestly could not have done it without him. We were treated like friends through the entire experience, which made what could have been hectic and stressful, fun! Before our wedding he went so far as to call our family to make sure they were happy and the day of he talked with all our friends and played everything they wanted. Well not everything, he knew our tastes and made sure to get approval for anything he thought we would not like. Such attention to detail! I cannot recommend RJ enough!
Services Used: DJ
Bg15
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
RJ was great to work with! He was very flexible and definitely knew what he was doing. My guests all commented how cool it was that he went to their tables to see if anyone had requests for songs and then actually played them! His friendly spirit made him a joy to work with!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alana
Wedding:
12/15/2012
5.0/5.0
RJ was great. He was very flexible about meeting and very responsive to our emails and questions. His attention to detail for our wedding day made everything go very smoothly. He also knows how to get guests dancing and I think everyone had a great time. I would definitely recommend RJ as a DJ to my friends.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
11/24/2012
5.0/5.0
DJ RJ was very professional and attentive to our needs.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chelsea
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
RJ and his wife were awesome! They were very personable and were very helpful with every question we had. The system he uses is so easy and makes the process smooth! My wedding and reception would not have been as amazing as they were without RJ and his wife.
Thank you guys!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
RJ was spectacular and my guests are still talking about the music from our wedding. He is very professional and keeps the ceremomy and reception running smoothly. My guests loved how he asked for music requests. I'm not sure how we could have done it without him. He truly loves what he does and he works for you!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
RJ Johnson from Music4Life was my wedding reception DJ/MC and he did a fantastic job! I am so pleased with the music. Everybody was dancing as soon as they finished their dinner, and some people even when it wasn't quite dancing time! The music was so good. The sound was perfect. RJ is very experienced and professional. He is great at communicating with you before the wedding to help you in any way. He helped me figure out some logistics, which was a big relief. Also they have a pretty neat online program where you can get song recommendations and preview songs, then save them so he knows what you want to hear (or don't want to hear!). I can't say enough good things about RJ and Music4Life. I just felt comfortable once I hired him because I knew he would do a good job, and he did! You won't be disappointed, that is for sure!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.7/5.0
thank you for you services, we had a blast!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jrm0229
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
RJ and Maria were great! I would absolutely recommend their DJ services for anyone planning a wedding. The software they use to plan the timeline of the wedding is a HUGE help and everything just went so smoothly! If I had to do the wedding all over again, I would pick Music4Life every time.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
4/1/2011
5.0/5.0
RJ was awesome! He was super professional and easy to work with. He had great suggestions and advice for our ceremony and reception. The package we selected came with a CD of our ceremony that RJ gave us the same day. The music was great, and he did an awesome job with the crowd. LOVE LOVE LOVE him!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LizzieAndRobert
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
RJ was AMAZING! We had a very diverse wedding with Mexican and Polish cultures, young and old guests from Texas, New York, and even Poland. Despite the challenge to please everyone, our dancefloor was NEVER empty (or even half empty for that matter).

RJ could sense the vibes of what people wanted and kept the party going from 7pm-1am! I didn't have a wedding planner, so RJ helped me come up with a timeline that all my other vendors found extremely valuable. He also worked really well with my other vendors.

Great job, RJ! We had so many compliments on the music! Thanks for everything!

Lizzie and Robert
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
my good side
Wedding:
5/23/2010
4.8/5.0
Rj did an amazing job with doing our ceremony music and our reception. My husband and I are a little outside of the box and Rj did a great job of accomodating all of our request while still keeping our wedding classy. We found Rj to be a little more pricy than several Dj's but his proffesionalism and reliability made him worth the investment. After our reception he even gave us a cd that has all of our music and ceremony on it!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Reddie36
Wedding:
4/24/2010
4.6/5.0
My husband was in charge of finding a DJ for our wedding since music very important to him, and he decided on Music 4 Life. Jabari was assigned to us and he was very nice from the beginning, and open to answering all of our questions. They provided the sound equipment needed for our patio ceremony and the foyer music playing during cocktail reception as well as DJ tunes during dinner and the dancing portion of the evening. Jabari was great and everyone seemed to enjoy him. I think the process for setting up music you want played and don't want played was a little time consuming. At first I thought they seemed a bit pricey for what was provided when compared to other DJ's in town, but Jabari has extensive radio and DJ experience which is what we were counting on for the night. All the sound equipment was set up correctly, on time and sounded great. Jabari kept the party moving all night and sounded great on the mic. He followed the timeline given and was flexible when we needed to change something. My other vendors said he was easy to work with as well. A true professional.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1270741803708-305
Suelai1971
Wedding:
3/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Music4Life's Went Up and Beyond Our Expectations.. Rj Was The Dj We Had But I'm Sure With this Company All the Guys would be A Gift to Have. It Was Nice to Have Rj contacting Us And Staying In Touch.
On Our Special Day This Put Us 100% At Ease, No Actually From Day One Of Contacting Music4Life !!!
It Was A Real Pleasure Having RJ There On Our Special Day. And for him to Contact People Ahead atime and even when the receiption was under way to make sure EVERYBODY Was Accommandated was just Wonderful !! Every Body Truly Enjoyed The Effort and Work And FUN and Professionalism That He Put Into Our Specail day.
Thank You Music4Life For Letting Us Have You With Us On Our Specail Day !
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AbbyBoBabby
Wedding:
2/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Can't recommend Music4Life more highly. Phone calls and emails were returned in an extremely timely manner. RJ was always courteous and professional. I loved his online event planner! He was always on time for meetings. We met several times to carefully create a timeline for the event so that we both knew what was coming next, and what entrances and exits were expected.

He was accessible during the event if my husband and I had any requests or concerns. He and his wife were dressed very professionally and it added to the party atmosphere. The volume was perfect for the strange space. It really felt like every inch a party. We would highly recommend RJ and all of the Music4Life staff! They really care about the moments you share with your husband and your guests, and they will work hard to make sure that the party atmosphere holds all night. We had a great time, and I credit him with a lot of the fun!
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
12329 Emery Oaks Rd, Austin, TX 78758 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Music4Life DJ's
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1329464057357-rjthumb3