130x130_sq_1359609793709-dynamicduo5copy

Musical Heart Strings

Martinez , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

P.O box 814
Martinez, CA US 94553 (map)

PHONE

925-603-3002

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Musical Heart Strings is a professional ensemble founded by Kerry Borgen and Gretchen Egen. We have been performing together for twelve years and offer an extensive repertoire. Our list... Read more
Musical Heart Strings is a professional ensemble founded by Kerry Borgen and Gretchen Egen. We have been performing together for twelve years and offer an extensive repertoire. Our list includes classical, jazz, pop, rock and roll and even some heavy metal. Influenced by the Vitamin String Quartet, we arrange most of the music ourselves, making them original covers performed only by Musical Heart Strings.The musicians are some of the best in the bay. The arrangements are for duo, trio,or quartet. Our premier ensemble is comprised of violin, viola, cello and keyboard. Clients love this ensemble above all else. We are available for hire for any gathering: weddings, parties, funerals, corporate events, or even for serenading a romantic dinner for two or wedding proposal. We can play acoustically or with amplification. Feel free to listen to the sound samples on our site. Click on repertoire then then on the icons indicated by two notes (duo), three notes (trio) and keyboard (piano quartet). If you wish to hear a piece that is not highlighted, we can record a sound bite on our list especially for you (at no charge).

Please feel free to browse our website at http://www.musicalheartstrings.net

You can also call us at (925) 603-3002 or email us at info@musicalheartstrings.net

With Music in our Hearts,
Kerry and Gretchen Read less
Ceremony Music

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1375305314388-human-heart
130x130_sq_1382991829646-garden-part
130x130_sq_1382991929874-pole-player
130x130_sq_1382992229222-golden-arches-i
130x130_sq_1382992018010-the-threetle
130x130_sq_1360865075515-laughlaugh..
130x130_sq_1362361933908-0027
130x130_sq_1360864951037-dynamicduo6
130x130_sq_1360865413827-heartstringsourcellistandviolinistfortheceremony
130x130_sq_1360863105660-dynamicduo3
130x130_sq_1360864987324-dynamicduo7
130x130_sq_1360865393649-madelinesbirthdaygig
130x130_sq_1360865112240-dynamicduowebsite
130x130_sq_1360865153424-karrywarm
130x130_sq_1360865200646-gretchenbythewater
130x130_sq_1360865242889-poodlehead
130x130_sq_1362362083165-img0314
130x130_sq_1362362029085-img0318
130x130_sq_1360865274050-smokinviolinist
130x130_sq_1360865307406-elevatorgurlz
130x130_sq_1360865338896-stairwaytoheaven
130x130_sq_1360862967112-dynamicduo2

INFO FOR CEREMONY MUSIC

What ceremony music arrangements can you provide?
Instrumental - Duo, Instrumental - Solo, Instrumental - Trio, String - Quartet, String - Trio
What instruments does your group play?
Cello, Viola, Violin
What is your usual attire?
Formal Black unless otherwise requested
How much time do you usually need for setup?
1/2 hour without amplification
 1 hour with amplification
 The set up time is on our own. The client will not be charged.
How much space do you usually require?
It depends on how many instruments are hired. The most amount of space would be for a String Quartet. That will be about 7'x7'
 The least amount of space would be for a duo which is 7'x5'
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
We have a travel fee if we are hired for an event that is farther than 50 miles. Our travel rates start at $20/musician.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dale
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
After finding Musical Heart Strings on Yelp.com, we watched a performance at a local venue (they were accompanied by another violinist and played as a trio).

For our wedding, we had a small vow ceremony with just family, followed by a celebration with 70+ friends. The contract was to play for 3 hours during the celebration, but they called the day before and asked if they could join us and perform during the vow ceremony. Their performance was a surprise for my wife and made the vow ceremony extra special!!

We conducted the celebration outside on the terrace, under the oak trees at Contra Costa Country Club. During the celebration, the mix of music was from old love songs to current pop music. The musicians were set up in a corner of the terrace; the music was unobtrusive and provided a great background. We received numerous positive comments from the guests.

Kerry & Gretchen exceeded our expectations in their selection of music, help us to choose 'our' songs and the actual performance. Kerry & Gretchen are always smiling, easy to work with and just plain wonderful. I highly recommend Musical Heart Strings. You will be very happy.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Daniel
Wedding:
12/7/2013
5.0/5.0
For my wedding I really wanted a string duo or trio, but I was hoping to find a unique group that offered more than just the usual classical music heard at weddings. When I found the Musical Heart Strings website and played their sample pieces from their repertoire page, I was very excited to see how much contemporary and soundtrack music pieces they had available to choose from. I was actually hoping to find a string group that knew some video game music; when I typed "Zelda" into their search page they had "Deku Palace" from The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask. It was only one piece, but I knew Musical Heart Strings was the unique group I was looking for. I started emailing Kerry and Gretchen frequently (they were always a pleasure to talk to and super helpful) and found that for a little extra payment they would personally arrange any pieces you presented to them (which is how they build their repertoire). When I found this out I was very enthusiastic at all the possibilities of music that could be played at our wedding (thankfully my wonderful bride didn't mind as long as she heard her traditional Pachebel's Canon in D when walking down the aisle). I ended up finding 6 video game music pieces that they arranged for me (they offered a variety of pricing depending on the complexity of the piece and if there is sheet music available; a couple of pieces were actually done for free because they were very simple pieces). I ended up hiring their full piano quartet too (definitely recommend the the quartet and amplification) just because the price was very reasonable and the personalized pieces sounded more wonderful with a little extra string and piano in the mix. Kerry (Violinist), Gretchen (Cellist), Megan (Violist), and Matt (Keyboard) were all very pleasant to meet and played such beautiful music at the ceremony, even while it was freezing cold outside (our wedding was during a cold snap in December 2013). Thanks to these four wonderful people for making my
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dhanna
Wedding:
10/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Very quick and responsive to my emails, which helped especially during hecticness of planning a wedding. They were very professional and very easy to work with. Everyone at my wedding thought they did a great job!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Musical Heart Strings provided the most beautiful music for our wedding, we could not have picked a better set of musicians! Gretchen and Kerry are very professional and made choosing our wedding music so easy! Our guests stil rave about how awesome they were... They are talented musicians who provide classic music as well as popular music of today. They also will learn new songs if you wish them to, if it is not already in their repertoire. They are a wonderful set of musicians that will make your wedding memorable!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tina
Wedding:
9/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Kerry and Gretchen were wonderful! We had a garden wedding and their beautiful music enhanced the natural beauty of our surroundings and completed our perfect day. We had considered using an iPod and sound system ....we were SO glad we hired Musical heart strings instead! They were so worth their fees! They played all of the songs we requested and they played them Beautifully!!! Their connection is so seamless. It comes through in their music. They are true professionals, willing to work hard to make your event what you want it to be. We highly recommend them!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colby
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
My wife and I were overwhelmed with the professionalism, positive attitude, and above all, how talented Musical Heart Strings were. Being a musician myself, the music for our ceremony was one of my top priorities and Musical Heart Strings far exceeded my expectations. I would recommend them to anyone in need of a string duet or trio.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Gretchen and Kerry, this musical duo, are the best! Everything from communication from the start through the wedding was flawless. We loved being able to listen to samples on their website. They helped us make decisions when we were indecisive. They are classy and talented and were a beautiful addition to our pre-ceremony, ceremony and cocktail hour. Thank you!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lenore
Wedding:
6/23/2013
5.0/5.0
We were referred to Heartstrings by a friend who is a composer/ conductor and he couldn’t have made a better recommendation. Kerry and Gretchen work both as a duo and within a quartet. We wanted a quartet for my daughter’s wedding. The Heartstrings website was wonderful and gave us an overview of their extensive repertoire and we were excited about their amazing range.
Gretchen and Kerry made communication easy. When my daughter requested a special song to walk down the aisle to, they learned it. My daughter and her fiance went to preview Heartstrings at AubreyJames Winery. They played her special song for her and she cried it was so beautiful.
Heartstrings are creative and talented artists, yet professional to work with – and of course a true pleasure to listen to. They made the entire experience enjoyable. Per our request, they played classical for the ceremony and contemporary pieces for the cocktail hour. Our guests were enchanted! Thank you Heartstrings!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sheena
Wedding:
6/18/2013
5.0/5.0
QUALITY - couldn't have asked for better. RESPONSIVENESS - always timely. PROFESSIONALISM - absolutely. VALUE - worth the rate; their part in our wedding really made our wedding special and unique. FLEXIBILITY - the utmost. We are a very playful couple and had asked for some "oddball" requests (i.e., playing "Call Me, Maybe" when the wedding party walked down the aisle because we knew everyone hated it; playing a somber song when the groom walked down the aisle to symbolize him getting ready to be "ball and chained", and then quickly transitioning to the cooky, yet playful "Baby Elephant Walk" because that describes the groom perfectly; and lastly, by playing "Married Life" (song from Disney's "Up") the moment we sealed our vows with a kiss. Musical Heartstrings brought their "A Game" and hit every song right on que!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
5/10/2013
5.0/5.0
We were so happy with Musical Heart Strings. Gretchen and Kerri are so talented and they are able to play a wide variety of music. They made our wedding ceremony elegant and memorable. Their follow up and attention to detail was comforting at such a hectic time. We would recommend them over and over.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gwen
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
We hired Heart Strings to play for our daughter's wedding at the Sacramento Zoo. I found them to be very helpful in selecting appropriate music for the occasion and setting. I only wish I had another daughter so I could hire them again! The music was perfect and they were available to answer any questions any time I had one. I highly recommend Heart Strings.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brice
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Breath taking

I mainly dealt with Gretchen when I hired heart strings! I must say they are very good at what they do! My reception was truly a hit because I had them play music at my cocktail hour and also while my guests are being seated into the ballroom! Everyone felt like they were in the scence of that movie "titanic" when guests of the ship were enjoying the music played by those famous musician! Heart strings are very professional! Look no further when looking for a violinist and a cellist! Their music pieces are simply amazing! They will also give your reception that fancy, over the top feel! Thanks guys for giving my reception that epic ambiance! Will hire you again when the next event comes!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jason
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
My wife and I were married in the wine cave at Viansa Winery on Bastille day 2012. We knew we wanted music to be at the heart of our big day, and heart strings provided that beautifully. They played the ceremony indoors and the cocktail reception outside immediately following. The sound of acoustic strings added such sweet ambience and beauty to the ceremony. My wife and I were so pleased, and got loads of compliments on the arrangement and simple elegance of having a string trio play. Also, we didn't want a traditional wedding march for the ceremony, so asked if they could learn an Otis Redding tune for the guys entrance and a Carole King song for the bride. For the reception we also wanted a Louis Prima tune "Buona Sera", as New Orleans and Italy are both huge parts of our lives. We were blown away by how beautifully the Heart Strings interpreted and played the music. Just unforgettable.

My wife and highly, highly recommend Gretchen and Kerry/Heart Strings for your wedding or party. 5/5 stars without a doubt. Thanks again!
Services Used: Ceremony Music

MAP

 
P.O box 814, Martinez, CA 94553 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Musical Heart Strings
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1359609793709-dynamicduo5copy