Nophoto-130

Nancy Best Cake Design

Lafayette , CO

LOCATION

Lafayette, CO US

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1360022457533-samantha068
Samantha
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved our cake from Nancy. She is a ball of energy, and excited for anything that is thrown at her! She really worked within our budget and made our cake a dream come true! The cake was absolutely delicious, and everyone at our reception LOVED it. I didn't hear one bad thing about it. Nancy was always quick to respond to any phone call we made. We loved working with Nancy.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
3/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Nancy worked with whatever images and colors I showed her. She has some delicious recipes for the cakes. Some of my guests ended up eating 5-6 slices of cake, because they loved it so much! She was also the only vendor I was able to keep under my budget thankfully!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
2/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Nancy Best cake design is Amazing! Not only are her cakes delicious, but also Nancy delivers a piece of art. I had my wedding in February 2013 and the cake Nancy made for us was so beautiful and elegant. It was amazing, carefully detailed and personalized to fit both our wedding theme and personalities. Nancy was wonderful in working with our budget yet creating something as if our budget was unlimited. She was a true pleasure to work with, and yes, we definitely recommend Nancy Best to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
12/28/2012
5.0/5.0
One of our favorite experiences from our daughter’s and son-in-law’s recent wedding was the wedding cakes from Nancy Best. They were absolutely gorgeous and delicious.

We hosted two 2 large receptions with different themes and we needed two very large, but different wedding cakes, along with several groom’s cakes. Nancy worked with the bride and groom to tie the cakes perfectly into their two themes. Each one was a beautiful masterpiece and absolutely delicious. She gave us several choices of cake flavors and icing t select from. Each one was better than the last.

Many of our guests asked for Nancy’s contact information and have had her design and create cakes for their upcoming events. Everyone I know who has worked with Nancy can’t thank her enough!

Nancy is absolutely delightful to work with and made our “wedding cake experience” very special. She is truly a customer service expert. This great experience is already becoming one of our family’s favorite wedding memories.
I have ordered a large cake from her since the wedding to celebrate our son’s Eagle Scout Board of Review and was equally impressed.

We are so delighted Nancy Best was part of our family’s wedding experience.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
10/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Nancy from Nancy Best Cake design was great to work with! Our cake was not only delicious, but it was truly a piece of art! We received so many compliments, and would recommend her to everyone!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.4/5.0
Our cake was amazing. It was beautiful, exactly what we had envisioned, and tasted absolutely fabulous. Nancy has a wide variety of cake types as well as different fillings. She really is gourmet. She did a wonderful job of accommodating all of our wishes, even two groom's cakes! They were all incredibly delicious. Nancy does seem a little overwhelmed at times and not always the best at returning phone calls promptly, but it was worth it for the incredible product that she produces. She is also a very sweet woman and a delight to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bethany
Wedding:
8/24/2012
5.0/5.0
The cake was probably the one item on my list I wasn't sure what I wanted to do. Nancy had a beautiful portfolio with pictures to choose from as well as sample cakes to try. I think the biggest thing for me was the value on her cakes for the quality. She is incredible with her designs and the cakes are delicious, but she is very affordable. At the time of the wedding I can't say I really remember the cake, but many of our guests commented on how good it was and looking back over our pictures it turned out absolutely gorgeous!! I would highly recommend Nancy and her team.

Sincerely,
Bethany
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We originally had a tasting with Nancy just to try her cake, filling and icing options. Her cake was delicious but we wanted to try others as well. After tastings at six other vendors I was obsessed with the idea of caramel filling, but we hadn't found someone who had that option AND we liked their cake. I called Nancy and asked her if that was something she could do. She replied that not only was that something she could do, she asked if we wanted caramel flavored icing or just caramel. I responded and she said that she would make us a sample to include both white wine cake and her black chocolate cake with both salted and unsalted caramel. We loved it and decided to get our fancy cake out of the white wine with caramel and get a sheet cake and a half of the black chocolate. The cake was beautiful (and Nancy was inventive since some where along the way no one ended up dropping off the ribbon that was supposed to go around the tiers of the cake), Nancy did a wonderful job with the flowers that were left over to make the cake beautiful and everyone at the wedding had nothing but praise for how amazing delicious and moist the cakes were. The only down side is that we're going to have to get another cake from Nancy because everyone loved it so much there was no chocolate cake left despite the fact that we had cake for more guests than we had!
Nancy's prices are fantastic, out of everyone we tasted with her prices were the best and she gave us EXACTLY what we wanted and asked for. Her cake was amazing and she was always courteous and professional.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1317957292155-050clarkjill
Jill
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Nancy made 2 beautiful cakes. She was very accommodating and helpful. She provided us with 7 or so flavors to taste test as well as a gluten free cake for me to try. Her presentation was gorgeous!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ashleu
Wedding:
6/9/2012
4.3/5.0
She did such a beautiful job on our cake. It was so pretty in the pictures. Thank you Nancy!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
nancy was one of my best vendors. She answered all of my questions and really created a cake we loved! She made is mini cakes with different designs for us to see different options of cakes layers and fillings. It was amazing to work with Nancy and the cake was yummy!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LHenderson
Wedding:
2/19/2012
5.0/5.0
We had the most beautiful cake! We did a snowflake motif and Nancy hand made tons of snowflakes to go on our cake including this gorgeous 3-D snowflake topper. Plus the cake inside was delicious and we got so many compliments on it. She brought us so many types of cakes and fillings to try then brought us even more when we were starting to decide what combinations we wanted. Plus she constantly throws in extra things here and there. For instance a whole big extra cake that we used at the post rehearsal dinner get together for out of town guests because my husband is in the military. She can be a little scatter-brained but it is just because she is working so incredibly hard all the time. Everything was perfect and my cake was more amazing then I could have ever imagined. Plus the price was so reasonable. We went with shorter layers and had cake for 150 for just over $400. She just charges per person not by what you want on the outside so we did not get charged extra for all the snowflakes she made for the outside. I wish I could attach a photo because our cake was so amazing. Use Nancy Best!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1296356803905-monicaspictures233
monica
Wedding:
8/7/2011
5.0/5.0
HI Nancy!!

Me and Joe really thought you were an exceptionally nice person. For our first meeting we were drilling you about your services because we wanted to ensure we got the right person. You were so professional and kind. When we did the sampling I could not believe what you did for us! You provided 3 different types of fondant to try. 3 frosting flavors, and several different cakes to try. We were floored at how much cake you gave us. We had a hard time deciding on a flavor because they were all good. We wanted a cake that was affordable, yummy and very beautiful. Your carrot cake and lemon cake was super moist and very good. Thanks for doing all the different combinations for our wedding cake. Our guests stated, "wow, that cake was good." I loved the look of our cake, and the quality. You truly are a remarkable person and I will miss talking with you. You have a heart for this business and I can see that you love what you do. Thanks again for providing us with a great cake. In the future, you will be hearing from me so you can make me another yummy cake!!
I wished they had a way to upload pictures so people can see what you did for my wedding. it was such an elegant cake.
Love Monica & Joseph
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BBC
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Nancy was amazing! She is very friendly and her cakes are awesome! We had centerpiece cakes at each table which consisted of three different types of cake and we also had a two tier cake for the head table and the cake cutting ceremony. All of the cakes were amazing! All of our guests enjoyed the cakes and commented on how great they were. The designs were simple but beautiful and the prices were very reasonable. She was wonderful to work with and I highly recommend her!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MCromwell
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
I worked in a bakery for many years, making me kind of a pastry snob. I wanted a great tasting cake. Future-wife put me in charge of finding the baker. I found Nancy. Nancy was absolutely awesome! Our cake was delicious, looked great, and complimented my face rather well if I might say so myself. (Thanks wifey.) Anyway, as I guy I loved the food tastings - especially all the cake shops. Hands down Nancy blew her competition out of the water, her cake is moist and flavorful. This pastry snob wants his cakes made by Nancy Best. Thanks Nancy!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pamela
Wedding:
8/14/2010
4.5/5.0
Nancy Best, is absolutly hands down the best cake I've ever head. She has so many cake flavers, fillings and frosting options. It's almost overwhelming, but very delicous and fun process. She's super open and willing to do whatever your heart desires. She drove down to Loveland to meet with us (we live in Fort Collins). Each time was a wonderful expereince. She brought her cake samples book along for the initial meeting. She also has lots of pics on her website. I basically drew up the design idea I had at home and met with her another time to confirm the details. She provided us with many samples to taste two different times. The first tasting she has a bunch of cake flavors and filling that we were allowed to take home and try when we were ready. We loved them ALL which made it though to narrow down our fav's. The 2nd tasting she made a mini cake that reflected the design of the big cake. So very cool to see your different options and get a little preview! One of the best things about her cakes is that with each cake tier you can have up to 3 different cake flavors and two different fillings. So when they cut the cake, you get to try all of those great flavors! I just have to share with you our incredible combo's we ended up with. Guests LOVE to have this kind of variety. My husband and I didnt even make it two weeks with our anniversary cake being frozen. We already eat it because it's too good to waste. We're ordering another cake for our anniversary :)

Combo 1 (Bottom):
1. Black Chocolate Cake
2. Chocolate Truffle Filling
3. Kahlua Cake
4. Maple Butter Cream Filling
5. Hazelnut Cake

Combo 2 (Middle):
1. White Angel Food Cake
2. White Chocolate Raspberry Filling
3. Poppy Seed Cake
4. Ginger Lemon Cream Cheese filling
5. Lemon Cake

Combo 3 (Top):
1. Black Chocolate Cake
2. Chocolate Butter Cream
3. Orange Gran Marnier
4. Bavarian Cream Filling
5. White Angel Food Cake


Nancy Best cake cost is extremely reasonable for what you get!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gigi
Wedding:
8/1/2010
5.0/5.0
Beautiful and YUMMY cake. The best wedding cake I have ever tasted. Lots of choices too. Nancy is one of the nicest and sweetest person I have ever met. Totally happy... and a very great value.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1256248947171-121
Kevin and Kristen
Wedding:
6/27/2010
4.1/5.0
First of all i have to say Nancy is one of the nicest ladies i have ever met. She was very pleasant to work with. She was very hard to get a hold of thought, I would suggest calling her because she never responded to any of my emails. I met with her once a few months before the wedding and then called her about 2 months before to touch base and she didnt even remember metting with me the first time. I had to meet with her again to tell her what I wanted again because she didnt remember. I got a topsy turvy cake and she did a very nice job, the only thing i didnt like was the middle tier because the vertical stripes were a little wobbley and croocked looking, but i was probably the only person that noticed. The cake tasted wonderful and she has so many different options.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bness
Wedding:
6/24/2010
5.0/5.0
We loved Nancy and our wedding cake! It was not only beautiful, it was the most delicious cake I have eaten! In fact we have gotten cakes from her after the wedding and I plan on getting my baby shower cake from her in a few months! Love it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ChristinaU
Wedding:
6/24/2010
1.6/5.0
Like most of her clients, things with Nancy started out wonderfully. She is indeed a very kind and sweet soul. The problem stemmed when I was clueless about the process of ordering a cake and knowing exactly what we wanted, and she was less than helpful. She let several months go by with no contact and then I called her about a month away from the wedding to touch base and she basically told me that she wasn't prepared to do my cake anymore, she didn't have enough info and that it was entirely my fault. I don't have time to go into details, but she was very frustrated with me, and maybe she had reason to be, but I was trying to be very nice and as helpful as I could throughout the entire process. That first phone call made me so upset that I didn't want anything to do with her. My husband said he would take care of it and called her. He said she was crying and felt so awful and that she said she "had a long talk with her cats" about the situation and really wanted to call me and apologize (which she never did do) and that she just wanted us to have a great cake. So we went ahead and met with her again, I gave her a check for a deposit. She was very short with us and all of her previous sweetness was out the window. We were just confused and never did figure out what went wrong to send her into bi-polar-land. The day of the wedding when she was delivering the cakes, she came to my mom and demanded another check to replace the previous one because she had lost it (she finally found it weeks later and randomly deposited it), and my mom said she was not very nice and quite short with her as well. In her defense, I found out later that she did come to the rescue with some back-up cakes (we had mini-cakes for everyone) when a few were dropped at a table during set-up. She lives very close and had some more in her fridge, which was very helpful. Also, you can't beat her prices. There's no way we would have gotten such a nice product (not perfection but quite nice decorating, especially since she had to do so many little cakes, about 80 of them) for the price we did anywhere else. Overall, Nancy was very moody with us, I wouldn't recommend her except for the fact that we seemed to have a uniquely poor experience. It seems that most others have a good experience with Nancy, and that's great. Maybe we were just the problem! Either way I feel like a good vendor never tries to go out of their way to make you feel bad or mad about anything.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KStreeter
Wedding:
12/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Nancy is WONDERFUL!! She is someone that you can tell Genuinely LOVES what she does, and she loves to work outside of the box. She even encouraged us to design out own cake -- which we did and it was intricate and she nailed it! Not only does her cake taste great -- she makes them look great too! She is very, very talented!! :)
If you want a cake that looks and tastes great -- this is the place to go to!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SoonAMrsB
Wedding:
9/12/2009
4.2/5.0
Nancy was very accomadating to us. She brought lots of samples to our home for us to try, and all were delicious!

She was late the day of, I asked her to be there by 4pm, and she showed up at 5pm (and told her should could get there as early as 11am). that made me very nervous! the cake was delicious and all of our guests liked it. She responds better to calls rather than email. For what you get her cost is very low.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
7/23/2009
4.8/5.0
I really cannot speak enough about Nancy. My only issue was that I wouldn't receive response to my emails and calls, BUT, when I did get ahold of Nancy, she had heard my calls/read my emails and was all caught up, just hadn't gotten back to me. I used Nancy through a wedding package and we were given a $400 credit, and she basically said "I'll do anything you guys want, don't worry about pricing". My husband and i decided we wanted to really push the envelope and wanted a Mr. and Ms. Pacman wedding cake. Nancy had never seen or played pac man, so I sent her countless images and ideas and tried to get the idea of the game across so she could turn it into cake. I left it up to her for the most part, and we couldn't have been any happier. The cake was whimsical, cute, and still classy and wedding-appropriate. We got so many compliments- I can't recommend her highly enough!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1237186160629-dsc00613
Dustin
Wedding:
7/9/2009
4.7/5.0
Communication was our only little problem. It takes a little while for Nancy to return phone calls but I promise it's worth it. Our cake was so perfect people thought it was fake and the real one was in the back. She did EXACTLY what we asked for and ours was complicated. Not only that but the cake tasted to wonderful. Everything went so well with Nancy, she's willing to do pretty much any thing you need or want on your cake. She is VERY friendly and so sweet.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ERIN
Wedding:
10/18/2008
5.0/5.0
NANCY DID THE MOST AMAZING JOB. SHE WAS EVEN KIND ENOUGH TO LET ME HELP WITH MY OWN DECORATIONS...CAKES ARE A HOBBY OF MINE... I COULD NOT HAVE BEEN HAPPIER. THE CAKE WAS EASILY THE BEST I'VE EVER HAD. I CAN'T WAIT TILL SHE MAKES US A NEW TOPPER NEXT YEAR...
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bride
Wedding:
10/4/2008
0.7/5.0
Nancy was extremely pleasant to work with and had outstanding cake. If I would have reviewed her prior to the day of our wedding I would have given her 5 stars. However, the day of my wedding, or should I say right before our reception was to start, there was no cake! She had FORGOT to make our cake! We had NO wedding cake for our wedding. We had met with her several times prior to the event and had no problems. How things changed. Not only did we not have wedding cake, she didn't have the decency to come inside and speak with us in person. Plus, the sheet cake that was brought in to help the situation was awful, it was old and not something we could serve to our guests. Nancy was extremely apologetic and even gave us some pleasant "gifts" during our honeymoon. However, no matter how many apology's given, we will never be able to get that day back. I would have really liked to have seen my cake and had my guest enjoy it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1206550435500-248449900_aj-017
Adrianne
Wedding:
9/26/2008
5.0/5.0
Nancy did a wonderful job on our wedding cake. She was a pleasure to work with and a breath of fresh air compared to other wedding vendors. I would definitely recommend her to any of my friends who get married.

I also really especially appreciate the groom's cake she did. She went to a lot of trouble to get details right at the last minute. The cake was a huge hit at the wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
trhender
Wedding:
8/8/2008
4.9/5.0
Nancy of Nancy Best Cake Design - A+. We took here a picture of a cake we say at a Food Network cake competition. Even though it had some design elements she had never done before, she made our dream cake to the T. And the flavors were great! Our guests are still commenting on it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
5/31/2008
5.0/5.0
Nancy Best is amazing at what she does. She was so nice and responsive to all my needs and questions. She really worked with me to make sure I would get the cake of my dreams. She met with me in person several times and called to check in when she needed. Her cakes look and taste wonderful! Thank you Nancy.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
apage
Wedding:
10/19/2007
5.0/5.0
Nancy was incredible! She was very receptive to our desires on design and our flavor ideas. Nancy was flexible on meeting with us to discuss any changes, and was an absolute delight to work with.

Nancy was able to use pictures we submitted to her to create our ultimate dream cake. The intricate designs and handmade flowers were incredible, not to mention the fact that when we couldn't agree on a flavor; she just made us 5 DIFFERENT cakes with the flavors we wanted....and boy were they DELICIOUS! I would highly recommend her services to anyone that is looking for an amazing wedding cake!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
7/20/2007
5.0/5.0
Nancy Best is probably the nicest woman on the planet. She is SOOOO friendly, and helpful, and thoughtful, etc etc etc. I was blown away by the service we received from her. Our wedding cake was GORGEOUS, and tasted amazing! This is another item that I received a ton of compliments on at the wedding. Everyone loved the cake! Nancy even made us a groom's cake as a surprise, and as a gift from her. She went above and beyond my expectations, and I highly recommend her services!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Molly
Wedding:
5/25/2007
5.0/5.0
Nancy makes the best, most beautiful cakes! I love her!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Nancy Best Cake Design
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo