Nophoto-130

NancyKay's Confections

Beverly Hills , CA

LOCATION

9107 Wilshire Blvd, Suite 450
Beverly Hills, CA US 90210 (map)

PHONE

310-728-0129

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janet
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
I booked NancyKay through our hotel venue and we decided to go with her because we loved her personality. She's really easy to work with and she responds extremely FAST even during random times of the day. The cake was delicious but more importantly, it was BEAUTIFUL. Our wedding cake was classy and she really is an artist. We arrived at our hotel on the day of our wedding and the cake was delivered and I didn't have to worry about it at all. She's really great!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Delicious cake, beautiful design, lovely lady! NancyKay is so sweet and is a master of her craft. Can't wait to cut into our anniversary cake at our one year!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg3
Roxanne
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
OMG, haha. Most beautiful cake ever, and if at all possible taste better than it looks. It was cheaper than a lot of the cakes we were going to go with. which were also high end cakes. We chose the red velvet, carrot cake, vanilla with toffee, and chocolote with espresso. All were so good. Our guests kept taking pictures and than raving how beautiful and delicious they were. Nancy was a little slow to response but i did change my cake design last minute and she was able to accomodate and not only that make it more beautiful than i even could imagine and that's all that matters. My only complaint is we only had about one sheet left which i brought to our opening gifts and everyone ate it all. So we have no more cake. Which is so rare. My mouth is still drooling and my eyes are still in awe. Awesome.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
janet
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Nancy's great! i like her personality and quality of work. she listened to my cake dilemma and came up with a perfect solution for me. she did 2 cakes for me. 1's wedding cake with pink cherry blossom and 1's grooms cake with my hubby's favorite: carrot cake. i love her cakes and would recommend Nancy to anyone else!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nikkih
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
Nancy Kay's is the best! I am very picky when it comes to the taste of wedding cakes and ours was unbelievable! We got the red velvet and the fudge chocolate. The cake was so moist and tasty. It was by far the best wedding cake I have ever had. All our guest were raving about the cake too! Our cake was very simple but it was so beautiful and elegant. I would use Nancy Kay if you want the tastiest cake around! YUM!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Salina
Wedding:
8/14/2010
4.4/5.0
Nancy Kay's cakes are pricey, but DELICIOUS and DELECTABLE. We went with NK Confections because her cakes simply taste the BEST, and Nancy was willing to customize our 3 flavored (red velvet, mint chocolate chip, and strawberry cream) 4 tiered cake. NK Confections doesnt' usually make a mint chocolate chip cake, but I told her that was my fiance's favorate and she was happy to accomodate. Our wedding cake was on time and tasted great! Also, Nancy was so thoughtful and in addition to sending us home with our top tier (for our anniversary), she sent us home with up some extra red velvet (asside from the wedding cake itself) for our enjoying days after.

The only reason why I gave 4.5 stars instead of 5 is because though our cake tasted great, it didn't look quite like I had imagined (especially considering the premium price). We had discussed a large grey ribbon boardering the tiers and we had a thin grey ribbon instead. I had sent her an image of the stamped flower we used on our invitations for her to pipe onto our cake and she ended up going with a different free hand flower (that looked, to be honest, a little rushed and messy) instead. Though the cake didn't look quite like I had imagined, it fit fine in our "more fun than fancy" Malibu wedding and we ate it up (yum)!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathryn
Wedding:
8/7/2010
4.7/5.0
We used Nancy Kay Confections for our wedding cake in August 2010. When we met Nancy she was very professional and really helped us nail down the design. She had photos of cakes she has done before and this helped us express to her what we liked, what we didn't like, and why. This helped her envision what we were looking for and she was able to partner with us through the process. The cakes tasted amazing. We have even talked about finding out how much it would cost to get these cakes for birthday's or special events. The cake was beautiful on the day of our wedding and we will cherish the photos and always remember how amazing the cake tasted. We had the red velvet, dulce de leche, and summer berries. Each flavor just melts in your mouth and leaves you wanting more. I recommend these cakes to anyone who wants something "more than just a cake". These are amazing and will become a fond memory for you.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1284070001673-1193ss72510
pengwedding
Wedding:
7/25/2010
5.0/5.0
Our cake was included in our wedding package. We had a few choices and Vanilla BakeShop and NancyKay were on the top of our list. NancyKay won hands down, because her cakes TASTE great. Vanilla Bakeshop cake kinda tastes like wet dense cake with sugar. A big plus, unlike other cake places, with NancyKay you can taste all her cakes (I think there's 8 kinds), not just 3 or 4.

The day of our wedding, we had a 4 tier, white cake with designs on each layer, and buttercream roses cascading down the side. Her design was superb, and exactly what I wanted. The cake was summer berry and moist and delicious. My sister ate 3 pieces at the reception!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs J
Wedding:
7/24/2010
2.0/5.0
I echo all of the other brides who did not give NancyKay 5 stars. I will give her credit for baking some of the most delicious cakes in LA - and she did not disappoint with the summer berry and red velvet flavors in our wedding cake.

NancyKay's responsiveness (or lack thereof) is the extreme opposite of the quality of her cakes. My fiance and I liked her friendliness and enthusiasm at our cake tasting and my wedding planner had recommended NancyKay because they had worked together many times before. Additionally, I contracted NancyKay through my venue because she was one of the "preferred" cake vendors there. So you might have thought that I might have been considered at least on par with her other clients.

I also contracted NancyKay more than 6 months before my wedding date and she agreed to create a design on the cake that would be similar to the embroidery on my dress. I provided multiple photos to her 6 months before the wedding and while my planner and I tried on multiple occasions between then and the wedding date to contact her, she never responded until two business days before the wedding.

This lack of responsiveness showed through in the cake design and was especially surprising given Nancy's existing relationship with my planner. The cake design looked like someone had rushed to put it on the cake based on a cursory glance at the photos.

If you are a bride who does not care much about the design of your cake but only the flavor, I would have no hesitation about recommending NancyKay. However, if you are particular about the cake design, I would recommend you stay on top of her to be sure she is working on it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mmcintosh
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
NancyKay was exceptionally willing to help my fiance and I design the cake we had envisioned for our wedding. We brought photos with some ideas, and she was willing to offer suggestions and options until it was just right. I even had a chance to see her place the final touches on the cake when it arrived at the hotel, and it is evident that she takes pride in the quality and detail of her work....a true artist!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Nancy Kay above all makes DELICIOUS cake! So many vendors can make a cake look good, but few can make it taste as good as it looks. Nancy Kay delivers both. We loved working with her- she is highly professional and besides that she is a very nice person. We are very grateful for her service!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg10
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
All I have to say is that Nancy Kay is simply the BEST! She is extremely nice and willing to listen to what her customers want. The cake is very moist and tasty, even some of our guests who are not cake lovers were raving about how delicious the cake was. We highly recommend Nancy Kay, you won't be disappointed.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mocha
Wedding:
6/26/2010
3.8/5.0
The Pros and Cons of a fair review:

Pros: NancyKay Confections was the first wedding "cakery" I thought of, after tasting her delicious samples at a Bloomingdale's wedding event months ago. So we added her to our list of three wedding cake vendors to taste. Hers was HANDS-DOWN THE BEST. We'd never tasted a more flavorful, moist, and creamy wedding cake EVER! Seriously, we were blown away. Every single flavor we sampled was amazing, making it very hard to choose one. It was so good we asked for another sampler package to take home. :) We tasted two more vendors' cakes as well, but we'd decided on her White Vanilla Bean Cake with Vanilla Bean Fromage and Homemade Toffee Filling upon leaving her office. It would take an UNREAL cake to top hers...and no such cake existed.

The cons of NancyKay Confections are that (1) The cakes are definitely on the expensive side. You've got to be willing to shell out some dough. We ended up spending $1200 AFTER a %15 discount for a cake for 150 pp. Whoa. But if you have the money to spend, you won't be disappointed. (2) She is hard to get in contact with. I had to follow up numerous times on all emails I sent her, and "I'll send you a sketch this weekend" became weeks later. Which, if you're a nervous bride trying to tie up your details, is frustrating. And when you finally reach her, she can be a bit curt. (3) The details can easily get overlooked, ie: we asked for pearlized and it wasn't. Make sure you or your planner is VERY clear every time you contact her on what you want.

Overall, we were very pleased with our cake. We ate the top-tier THE NEXT DAY because it was so delicious we couldn't wait a year. People were scraping their plates at the wedding, and are STILL asking about that cake a month later! :) If having a DELICIOUS cake is your priority, you will NOT be disappointed.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Therese
Wedding:
5/15/2010
5.0/5.0
NancyKay's makes the best wedding cake ever, and I'm not just writing that because she made ours :) I've attended dozens of weddings and scheduled a few cake tastings before hiring Nancy. My husband and I loved that she was very friendly and really listened to what we were looking for in a cake design. She provided us with about 10 different samples of her wedding cake flavors and even packaged the leftovers in a take home container. It stayed moist and delicious for days thereafter! Nancy and I emailed back and forth regarding the design. She sent very detailed sketches of the cake, as well as her honest feedback as to what would and wouldn't "work." The end result was exactly what I wanted. I definitely want to have Nancy create another cake for us in the future!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
davidlee314
Wedding:
4/17/2010
3.4/5.0
The cake didn't look like the photo we agreed on. The flowers were missing.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LAbride
Wedding:
2/14/2010
3.0/5.0
When we first met with Nancy everything was great. She's extremely friendly and helpful in discussing cake options. We were very pleased because she seemed to understand exactly what we wanted and appeared very professional. However, once we actually booked with her we had a very hard time getting any respones via email or phone. We couldn't even get a confirmation on the delivery time of our cake. Our coordinator said she spoke to Nancy and on our wedding day everything was on time. The cake was beautiful and tasted great, but the decoration of the cake wasn't exactly what we had discussed. I sent an email to let her know and never got a response. All in all, the cake look and tasted extraordinary, but I was displeased with the lack of responsiveness and different look of the cake. If you are not extremely particular then she is good, but if you know exactly what you want and like to hear back from your vendors this might not be for you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
NancyKay's Confections responded with the following comments:

Hi - It's NancyKay responding to this:
Not sure what happened in this instance as responding to my clients is of the utmost importance to me. I sincerely apologize that I missed this email and that the design was not exactly as you were imagining it would be. I do my very best to interpret your request and create the best design for your beautiful cake.

Here's a tip for new brides to help your vendors serve you the best they can: If you are a bride that has an event planner - we do need to know who is the one point contact - you or them - so it doesn't appear that we are dropping the ball. The week of the event, deliveries are coordinated by us directly with the location and event planner. I truly believe that you have hired these professionals to manage the planning and coordination or your event; especially the week of your wedding when you should be focusing on relaxing, enjoying time with your family and becoming your very best for your wedding day.
130x130_sq_1255991507034-264210104693570181683510161159003704507n
Yana
Wedding:
2/13/2010
5.0/5.0
“The Best Tasting cake in the whole wide world” my guests kept saying all night!!!! My cake was absolutely stunning had so much class and beauty!!!! I loved it and was very happy with it!!!!
Anyone who wants to see the highlight from our unbelievable wedding can go to http://www.stavrovideo.com/
Yana Chernov
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtmack
Wedding:
9/12/2009
5.0/5.0
Nancy Kay's cake was, quite literally, the hit of our wedding. When our coordinator at The Culver Hotel, where we had the wedding, displayed the cake, almost everyone attending our reception whipped out their cameras to take pictures. Not only was it the most beautiful cake most people had ever seen, but the red velvet was entirely out of this world. There were several engaged couples at our wedding and all of them demanded to know who made our cake. My husband and I hadn't given much thought of what kind of cake we wanted, but Nancy guided us through the process like a pro and ended up giving us a cake designed to coordinate beautifully with our wedding invitations. I can not say enough good things about Nancy Kay, but I will say you should use her for your wedding if you want to work with a cake designer who delivers a delicious and show-stopping cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gabriel
Wedding:
8/29/2009
5.0/5.0
Just go to the tasting and you'll get it. Nancy is spectacular. The cake was elegant and simply the best wedding cake I've ever had. My wife and I thought about saving the top for our one year anniversary but ended up eating the entire thing in our honeymoon suite right after the wedding. It was just too good to resist. Cake tasting is one of the most fun parts of planning the wedding...save Nancy for last. It will be all down hill if you do it any other way.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
carrie
Wedding:
5/24/2009
5.0/5.0
I never really liked cake that much... Until I met Nancy Kay. My family and I had a tasting with Nancy, and from the first bite we knew we had to hire her! Nancy Kay is so passionate about her cakes. You can see that in her demeanor, her attention to detail, her professionalism and you can taste it in her cakes. Everyone who was at our wedding has raved to us about how they never had such delicious wedding cake before. We had 4 tiers with 2 different flavors: carrot cake and lemon poppy with summer berry. Nancy Kay is extremely generous too. My fiance was not able to come to the cake-tasting (he was on the east coast) so she gave me an extra tasting set to bring back to him. Also, we only got to eat one bite of the cake at the wedding because we were so busy. When Nancy Kay found out, she made us another cake to enjoy. She really goes the extra mile for her clients.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ravenms
Wedding:
3/9/2009
5.0/5.0
I dont have the right words to say this but I have been to a lot of weddings and never in my life have I seen a cake so incredible and tasty at the same time.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
M.G.
Wedding:
12/13/2008
4.9/5.0
My cake was absolutely gorgeous and delicious. Very unique.
I recommend them highly.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Dress & Attire, Jewelry, Photography, Rentals & Photobooths
Bg21
amy
Wedding:
9/7/2008
5.0/5.0
I only have one word to describe NancyKay's cakes: AMAZING!!! I found her at a bridal show and could not be swayed away from hiring her. I have received so many compliments in regards to how good her cake was. It was beautiful. Exactly what I wanted. I bake as a hobby, so I am very picky about my baked goods. I can honestly say that she is in a class above all others. I tried some of the best/most famous bakeries in LA - they're dog food compared to NancyKay's cakes. I honestly can't understand why anyone would use any other baker in the greater LA area.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1205605059316-flying
GlamourGeek
Wedding:
8/30/2008
4.6/5.0
NancyKay makes the ebst tasting cakes I've tried, and was able to customize the design right up to the week before the wedding. The only drawback is that the design we described at the tasting was not what she thought we wanted when the weddign drew closer, so we had to rely on trying to describe our design over email. But it was gorgeous and tasted terrific! My only regret is that I only got one bite of the cake during the wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg5
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.7/5.0
Design was a bit messy. Cake was moist and tasted good, along with the icing. My husband felt weird cake tasting inside an office space where the cake was presented in a carry out container.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
NancyKay's Confections responded with the following comments:

We're always thinking of our clients! We offer you lots of cake samples to taste in a perfect little catering box that you can take home and finish at your leisure... but most folks gobble them all up at the consultation! Your cake appointment is a planning meeting and you will need to come with ideas and be ready to make decisions.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maribel
Wedding:
7/6/2008
5.0/5.0
We found NancyKay through our wedding planner and let me just tell you that my taste buds had never experienced such a tingling and wonderful sensation til the day of the cake tasting. My husband and I are both chocolate lovers so we went with the chocolate blacout and red velvet cake, the fillings were vanilla bena fromage, chocolate ganache and raspberries... I coudn't ask for more, Nancy was great and the cake was .... well shall I say my wedding dream cake, it really was. My family and all the guests loved the cake and made sure to let us know the day of the wedding and continue to talk about 'how delicious' our cake was. For a memorable wedding you just have to go with NancyKay's Confections, it's just that simple = )
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DM621
Wedding:
6/21/2008
4.8/5.0
NancyKay was extremely nice, responsive and flexible for scheduling the cake tasting. Everyone at the reception was raving about the red velvet cake and tiramisu cake. The cake looked beautiful! I am not sure exactly what the cost of the cake would have been because she was one of the approved vendors that our reception site included in our package. I do know that her cakes start at $800. She did not try to nickel and dime us at all. Only one cake flavor was included in our reception package, however, she let us choose two at no extra cost. She was featured on Snoop Dogs Fatherhood during their vow renewel episode.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lilian
Wedding:
4/25/2008
4.6/5.0
I've had a wonderful experience setting up the cake tasting. The flavours were wonderful and the textures offered exquisite...but the price was a bit high though fair. We've yet to see the final product but I have high expectations!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
NancyKay's Confections responded with the following comments:

We have found that the best days to meet with our clients is on Saturdays and Sundays. They are days when people don't feel rushed and can relax and enjoy the consultation appointment with NancyKay and plan out their perfect cake design.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
4/7/2007
5.0/5.0
Tasting was lots of fun, cake was beautiful and tasty, cake tasted good even after we saved it and froze it for our one year anniversary
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
9107 Wilshire Blvd, Suite 450, Beverly Hills, CA 90210 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for NancyKay's Confections
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220