130x130_sq_1285475415779-newyorkfilmworks
(6)

NewYorkFilmworks

New York , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

New York
New York, NY US 11101 (map)

PHONE

718-406-6778

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

After the flowers have wilted, limos have driven away and the band stops playing, your wedding film is what you will have to hold on to years from now. It is how you will relive one of... Read more
After the flowers have wilted, limos have driven away and the band stops playing, your wedding film is what you will have to hold on to years from now. It is how you will relive one of the most important days of your life with your children and grand children.

At NewYorkFilmworks we love producing modern, fresh wedding films that are aesthetically beautiful and truly represent each couple. Most importantly, we capture the pure emotion of your wedding. We set ourselves apart from other studios with our commitment to producing films that are often compared to full movie productions and/or music videos. Our low-key approach and usage of HDSLRs (same cameras photographers use) allows us to blend in at any event while maintaining our high quality.

We are an award-winning cinematography studio and one of the only studios in all of New York that shoots 100% with DSLR cameras. Our films are captured at full 1920x1080p.

Below is a direct link to our latest film.
http://vimeo.com/14996005

Here is a link to our destination wedding highlights film shot in Riviera Maya, Mexico this past May
http://vimeo.com/12157374

We welcome you to visit our site at www.nyfilmworks.com or feel free to call us directly at 718 406.6778 to schedule an appointment.

Jon Armendariz
Creative Director, Owner
NewYorkFilmworks
www.nyfilmworks.com Read less
Videography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1285475512013-newyorkfilmworks

INFO FOR VIDEOGRAPHY

What primary style do you identify with?
Cinematic, Documentary, Short Form, Storytelling, Traditional
What do your packages include?
8mm Movie Film, Ceremony, DVD of Raw Footage, Edited Video, Invitation DVD, Montage - Childhood / Dating, Montage - Music Dubbed Over, Montage - Wedding Highlights, Multiple Cameras, Multiple Videographers, Online Highlight Films, Pre-Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner, Same Day Edit Video
What formats can the final video be in?
Blu-Ray, DVD
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.3
out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.3/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole and Sean
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
When I was planning and budgeting for my wedding, videography was the one area I decided wasn't worth splurging on...in fact, I decided not to get a videographer at all. I mean, who ever really watches their wedding video at all, right?? Man, was I WRONG!!! On the advice of friend (who was married about a month before me) I decided to look into videographers and after searching through what seemed like an endless amount of cheesy video samples I came across a hidden gem! NY Filmworks was amazing from start to finish, they took the time to explain their style and vision and to learn OUR vision as well. I could tell from the start that I would not get a "cookie-cutter" video but something that truly captured the spirit of the day. Looking back, choosing to work with NY Filmworks was one of the wisest decisions I made: the wedding day is a blur of excitement and emotion and we are now waiting on pins and needles to really sit back and really "see" it all again.

As for the technical stuff: The communication process was smooth, they showed up on time and actually stayed late just to make sure there was enough footage to give us the kind of video that they knew we wanted. Jon was incredibly professional and both guests and the bridal party commented on his attention to detail. We couldn't have asked for a better experience! My word of advice to future brides: Spend the money, if you're going to get a wedding video at all you might as well make sure it's something that you LOVE...the day goes so quickly and it will be one of the only things you will have that truly captures the experience!

Thank you so much NY Filmworks! Nicole and Sean
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs. Galan
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
We are just married 12 days (as of July 16th, 2011) and could not wait to let everyone know about our experience with NY Filimworks and Jon Armarendiz. We found his company as a stroke of luck. I'm actually a Director of Catering for one of the hotels here in NY and have planned events since 1998. I was working with one of the brides who had booked at my hotel for the day after my wedding. We kept exchanging stories on where we were in the planning stages. She'd asked me if I had anyone for video yet and I explained to her that after meeting with and seeing the work of many different videographers as well as hearing the negative feedback from other brides who opted for video that we decided to nix this from our must have list. She said she found someone awesome that I should check out. When I got home that night my fiance and I hastily looked at the website and were in absolute awe at the amazing work we saw! We immediately scheduled a meeting with Jon and he was so awesome from the first meeting. Of course we had lots of questions and he was extremely patient with us and knowledgable of his craft and what would work for us. In addition to our capturing our wedding day we chose to also use Jon to record our love story which we showed at our wedding. The goal was to use this to set the tone for our event and this exceeded our expectations by a long shot! All of our guests were in awe and said that this was so beautiful. My bridesmaids came up during dinner in tears telling us how touched they were by the video. We just came back from our honeymoon and have been speaking with our guests and still we are receiving rave reviews about how this made the wedding. We are anxious to see our final wedding video and know that it will be out of this world. In case you read the blogs, thank you Jon for all your good work!!!!
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ginger
Wedding:
7/8/2011
5.0/5.0
NewYorkFilmworks was exactly what I was looking for when I came across their website. Something elegant, fun, modern...not just a typical wedding video. I was even more pleased when I first sat down with Jonathan of NYFilmworks. He shared even more beautiful videos and immediately got a sense for what I wanted. He is so creative and the cinematography are amazing. I feel like I am watching a movie when I watch his videos, exactly what I wanted...to feel like a movie star for a day. Working with him prior to the wedding, during and after has been a great pleasure. They also offer so many packages that you can get exactly what you want. I highly recommend him to other brides. Just go to www.nyfilmworks.com and you can see for yourself. It's by far the best wedding videography that I have seen.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dori
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Let me start by saying that Jonathan is an absolute genius! He really took the time to get to know my husband and me, and it really showed when we got our highlights film. Myself, my husband, my family and friends just cannot get over how SPECTACULAR it is! I am honestly shocked if anyone gave a rating lower than 5, because Jon has been professional, honest, and FUN. Not to mention he creates the most beautiful and unique wedding films I've ever seen. To say we are pleased with what he has done so far, and in a timely manner, would be a complete understatement. We love everything about it, and it's one of the best decisions I made during my wedding planning to choose NY Filmworks. I'm just happy I got him while I did, because by the looks of things he will be impossible to book! Thanks Jonathan for making me and my hubs feel like movie stars : )
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sidneysnr
Wedding:
8/21/2010
4.8/5.0
Two years ago, a quick internet search helped us find Newyorkfilmworks. At the time, we had met with 3 other videographers. They were unprofessional, rude, arrogant, and overpriced. When we met with Jon, he made us feel comfortable and was very personable. He showed us videos that he has done and demonstrated/explained the differences between certain equipment. We felt very comfortable going with them and we were very happy with our results. He and another cinematographer came into our hotel room to do interviews on how we met, etc. Then they filmed the "first look" in a garden and finally the wedding/reception. Everyone was dancing like crazy, and we all had a great time. After the wedding, my husband and I were wondering if all those moments were captured on the video. Around 5 months later, we received our DVDs containing everything except the raw footage (which he told me he'll give me as soon as I give him a 500GB hard drive to put it in). The music selection was good, but the editing was AMAZING! It was evident that he spent a good amount of time and effort making this video, and it was better than most other videos we saw on VIMEO, plus it was cheaper. He did in fact capture all the key moments and partying we had during the reception. Overall, we were very happy with our videos.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
setcdl2009
Wedding:
10/3/2009
0.9/5.0
Buyer Beware....this vendor promises professionalism and excellent service but does not deliver. Its been over a year and we are still waiting for the final product. While the price point might seem reasonable, it doesn't matter if you are not able to see the product and enjoy what you paid for...

Our wedding was at the W Union Square in NYC in October 2009. We really wanted to have our wedding on video so made sure we allocated for it in our budget, so disappointing to have our videographer be so unresponsive and dismissive of our pleas to have our video. Jonathan Armendariz is not to be trusted, even if he provides references!!!
Services Used: Videography
NewYorkFilmworks responded with the following comments:

Dear reviewer ,

Based on your wedding location & month I can deduce which client posted this review and therefore will go in detail in addressing it. It is very misleading and unfair to state that you still have not received your wedding film. It was completed months ago and delivered to you (USPS tracking #03101230000013521530). I received your feedback about how you two enjoyed the wedding video I created.

I do sincerely regret the delay in delivering your wedding film. Unfortunately your wedding edit took us more time than we originally had anticipated. After being provided your music list we provided you a wedding trailer film immediately (which was not part of your contract) in the interest of going above and beyond. In our communications, I did explain to you that delivery of a completed video was approximate. I guarantee to deliver an outstanding product and if that meant I needed to redo certain portions of a film that I was not completely satisfied with, I would. When a delay in delivery was anticipated, I have always made a point to meet up with the client to look over the progress being made on their video. This was simply not possible in this particular situation due to the fact that you live in Chicago. I did ask for your patience and I apologize sincerely for not keeping you more updated as to the challenges and progress of your film.

Along the way, I had apologized for the delay and offered to give you all the raw footage of your wedding as a token of my appreciation to you for your patience. As I had communicated to you by email at the time your wedding film was mailed, the raw footage was stored on a hard drive that was in possession of my editor working on another unrelated project. Until now, I have not received my drive back. I emailed you two letting you know that as soon as I was returned my drive I would make copies of your raw files for you. I still stand behind the offer to provide the raw footage. This remains a priority. I anticipate receiving the hard drive with your raw footage within the month.

With the start of a new business came unforeseen challenges. There were obstacles we had initially faced as a growing business, one of them was being able to deliver our films in a timely manner all while not cutting corners for the sake of reaching approximate deadlines. In order to rectify the problem and ensure that it does not happen ever again, we have transitioned into a boutique studio. We now only commit ourselves to a small number of weddings each year to ensure that we can focus on delivering each project in a timely manner without ever sacrificing quality.

I will be contacting you by email as well so we can be on the same page.

Jonathan Armendariz

MAP

 
New York, New York, NY 11101 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for NewYorkFilmworks
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1285475415779-newyorkfilmworks