130x130_sq_1389367700273-last-dance-pelican-hill-wedding-

Nightshift Sounds

Ocean Springs , MS
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

220 Glen Eagles Drive
Ocean Springs, MS US 39564 (map)

PHONE

228-219-0695

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

My name is Marcel, DJ and Owner of Nightshift Sounds, the Gulf Coast's premiere Wedding DJ and winner of the 2014 Couples' Choice Award.

Simply stated - My goal is to raise... Read more
My name is Marcel, DJ and Owner of Nightshift Sounds, the Gulf Coast's premiere Wedding DJ and winner of the 2014 Couples' Choice Award.

Simply stated - My goal is to raise the bar when it comes to the level of quality and service you might expect from a mobile DJ.

More than "just a DJ", I am your Master of Ceremonies, event planner/coordinator/director, music editor and programmer, sound technician, listener, creator, and, in many cases, stress reliever!

Nightshift Sounds is an owner-operated DJ service, which means I have a vested interest in every event that I do. You are not "just another gig" to me. I meet with each and every client in order to understand your style, taste, and expectations. I strive to make your event fun, memorable, and unique to you.

I am 100% committed to doing everything the right way. That's why Nightshift Sounds is a fully licensed and insured business. I believe in punctuality, responsiveness, attention to every detail, a clean professional look, courtesy to you and your guests, and ethical business practices.

I have been involved in music and entertainment for over twenty years, and my passion, motivation and enthusiasm is as strong today as it has ever been. That's essential when it comes to the success of your event! For me, this is not just a hobby - it's what I know and what I truly love to do.

For more information, including references, visit my website www.NightshiftSounds.net or call (228)219-0695. Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1331905113332-4646067887da64f52699b
130x130_sq_1319589726495-1
130x130_sq_1319589762937-2
130x130_sq_1319589797881-3
130x130_sq_1319589834713-4
130x130_sq_1319589919670-59648236511969c75137b
130x130_sq_1362146670513-8
130x130_sq_1362146676816-20
130x130_sq_1362146678564-4247316191a4211d5e61z
130x130_sq_1362146680502-424809062225c710e08dz
130x130_sq_1362146683753-6071860265db10f6a308b
130x130_sq_1362146686026-lastdancejessicajeffpaulrichstudio
130x130_sq_1369259851276-6541
130x130_sq_1369259857356-85742
130x130_sq_1369259860154-mandy-and-seth
130x130_sq_1369259862894-nss-9-10-08

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
How many other DJs do you work with?
Nightshift Sounds is an owner-operated Dj service and does not subcontract with other DJ's.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Yes, always! This allows you to get a feel for my style and personality as well as ask questions.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Yes, of course!
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes, I provide a state-of-the-art Yamaha sound system that includes subwoofers, as well as dance floor/special effect lighting. I also carry backup equipment.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
Computer-contolled LED dance floor lighting and special effect lighting is included.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
Setup time is approximately 2 hours. I do require that a table be provided.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
Absolutely not!
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
Only when appropriate as Master of Ceremonies
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
I do not take breaks, and I do not require that a meal be provided.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
No, I only book one event on any given day.
What is your overtime rate?
My overtime rate is $75 per hour.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
I require a $200 deposit along with a signed contract to secure a date.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
We are band people, and we were nervous about our decision to go with a DJ until we met Marcel! He made our reception perfect. He offered services that a band could not have, and truly made us feel like we were his only concern.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda&Anthony
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Marcel was amazing from start to finish! He made sure the whole planning process all the way up to the big day start to finish was smooth as possible! He made the the ceremony beautiful and kept the party going at the reception. We never had that awkward moment where nobody was on the dance floor!!! We highly highly highly recommend Marcel and would have him again for sure at another event! If we could give more than 5 stars we definitely would!!! Thanks Marcel!!!!!!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1387068168773-dan-n-casey-
Casey
Wedding:
4/19/2014
5.0/5.0
Dj Marcell was way beyond what we were hoping for! He was so easy to work with, very professional and clearly loves what he does. We received so many complements from our guest about our Dj, how he played exactly what everyone wanted to hear and kept our dance floor packed with people the entire night! We can't recommend him enough and look forward to using him in the future!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachael
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
Marcel is amazing! He was the hit of my wedding & ran the reception like a true master of cermony! A wedding reception is not complete without nightshift sounds! Wonderful person, great company, amazing communication, I just can't say enough good things..... If you are thinking about hiring Marcel, I promise this will be the best decision you make!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachael
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
Weeks after my wedding friends & family kept commenting on how wonderful Marcel was at the reception! I struggled with trying to decide between a DJ or band & Nightshift Sounds is everything wrapped in one! He is an amazing Master of Ceremony! Friendly, professional, great music, great personality, great fun, hit of the night! One of my best decisions, hire him & you will NOT be sorry!
O and Nightshift also provided additional lighting that had mine & my groom name on the wall, it made my reception! Ask about it, you will not be sorry!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
3/22/2014
5.0/5.0
Marcel is AMAZING!!! From our first meeting to the actual wedding and reception, Marcel provided the professional guidance and suggestions we needed in order to make our wedding and reception music truly personal. He made the planning so easy with his online guide, and I didn't worry a single minute about the music for our event. He was the epitome of professionalism and was so accommodating with our particular requests. Thank you, Marcel, for helping to make our wedding and reception music even more memorable than we could have hoped for!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1387643869695-imag
Private User
Wedding:
3/8/2014
5.0/5.0
Every one was telling us how great of a dj we had he kept us laughing and played everything everyone wanted to hear!!! Best dj ever
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hillary
Wedding:
12/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Marcel with Nightshift Sounds made our wedding perfect. We had multiple guests tell us it was the most fun wedding they had ever attended, and it was all because of Marcel. He met with us before the wedding to talk about what types of music we like as a couple, and during the reception he had everyone from my two-year-old cousin to my grandparents up and dancing (which, believe me, is an incredible feat!). Marcel himself was up and dancing with us, making sure our event ran smoothly and was exactly what we wanted. I knew Marcel was good, but he went far above and beyond our expectations. I wish I could leave him a 100-star review. Thank you, Marcel, for making our reception more fun than we ever could have imagined! -Joseph and Hillary Butterfield
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lori
Wedding:
12/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Nightshift Sounds was the DJ for our daughter's wedding, and we could not have been more pleased. Our guests were given the options for selecting from literally thousands of songs online prior to the wedding, and Nightshift listened to our requests. He also took the time to get to know our daughter and her fiancé their friends and family so he could play songs that were meaningful to those who attended. We could not have been more pleased with Nightshift Sounds.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crystal
Wedding:
12/14/2013
5.0/5.0
I was so glad we chose marcel as our DJ for our wedding. The ease of being able to pick out our music and set up our entire event online. He was very professional and was ready to go and set up before the bridal party even made it to the venue. I'd recommend him for any event!!! Thank you so much for making our night special.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robert and Jane
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Marcel was very professional and did a great job as the DJ at our daughters wedding. He was very easy to work with and took the time to meet with us three times before the wedding. He was flexible with the changes which had to take place and made needed adjustments promptly. He was great as the master of ceremony and takes his job very seriously. I would use him again and recommend him to anyone planning to use a DJ for their wedding. Thank you Marcel for your part in helping us making our daughters wedding a dream come true.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jordan
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Marcel was our DJ for our wedding and we couldn't have asked for a better night because of him!! He was wonderful from the beginning! He was very organized and always available when we needed him. When it came to picking my music, he helped me so much and provided plenty information to make my decisions so easy! He knew exactly what to play at the right times during the reception and had everyone dancing and enjoying the night! All of our guests enjoyed him and were telling us how wonderful he was also! A wedding is so stressful but music is the one thing I didn't have to stress over because from the start Marcel had everything completely under control. We loved Marcel and highly recommend him to everyone!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kacey
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Marcel was the absolute best Master of Ceremonies! H was more than a DJ...he helped me plan the perfect reception, he guided me with his expertise and experience, and we even had codes with each other to help communicate throughout the event in cases of changing circumstances. He was the upmost professional, super nice and presentable. I am so happy that I chose Marcel and Nightshift Sounds for my reception!!! It would not have happened so perfectly without him! Thank you so much Marcel!!! Xoxoxo
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Naomi
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Marcel was a great DJ, and we were so glad to have chosen him!
He was very receptive to our song suggestions, playing the majority of them. We asked him to do a bit of MC-ing which he carried off which much confidence. He made the atmosphere of the party feel celebratory & special, yet relaxed and comfortable too.
Thanks again Marcel!
Naomi & Bob
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Marcel DJ'd our daughter's wedding rehearsal party and he was outstanding! Very professional, super easy and flexible with requests. He knows how to keep the party going! He played music/entertained requests that appealed to both the younger and older crowd members. When it was time to wrap it up - we didn't want the party to end! We would highly recommend this vendor for any bride that might need a wonderful DJ for any of her events during her wedding.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ALLY
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
THE BEST DJ AROUND HANDS DOWN!!!! EXTREMELY PROFESSIONAL AND LISTENED TO EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED AT MY PARTY!!!! COULD NOT HAVE ASKED FOR ANYONE MORE PERFECT!!!!!! THANK YOU MARCEL FOR EVERYTHING :) WE HAD THE TIME OF OUR LIVES!!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sam
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Wow, What can I say but, that was totally Awesome. Marcel took control of the dance music as soon as we hired him, he was in constant contact with us and had a very hands on proactive approach to his job. He will be highly recommended to anyone I may come across who could use his services. He not only provided music but he was also a master of ceremonies as well, he provided microphones for the service, and basically performed his duties in a timely and efficient manner. Thank you Nightshift Sounds and Marcel for everything. Sam
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Olivia
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Nightshift Sounds was absolutely fantastic. I loved Marcel's quality, truly a gold standard in my book. Blew me and everyone at the wedding away with his choice of music and ability to get people on the dance floor and bust a move. He always listened to whatever I wanted/needed and gave wonderful suggestions and advice. He knew what he was doing, fun, and easy to work with. I never had trouble with his website and getting in touch with him he was literally only a phone call away. My wedding planner messed the schedule up that Marcel and I had talked about for months and it had nothing to do with him what-so-ever. NO one noticed (aside from my mom and a few other family members) because Marcel did such a phenomenal job. He knew the schedule and followed it as closely as he could to make sure my day was AMAZING and it was everything I could have asked for. If any one needed a great quality DJ for a good price I would, without hesitation, recommend Nightshift Sounds.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brian
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
The easy part about writing this review is that Marcel is an excellent DJ. If you're looking for someone who can not just play music, but also keep the event moving seamlessly from one point to the next AND get everyone involved, Marcel is your guy. All of my guests raved about how great of a job he did.

Not only that, but he also helps coordinate for you on the day of the event. He arrived at the reception location about 2 or so hours before it started, and helped ensure things like the cake went in the correct place.

One thing that really jumped out at me that I didn't expect was his professionalism. I have witnessed other DJs that make it a point to put themselves over the event and make sure everyone knows how great he/she is. Marcel doesn't do that - he just seamlessly provides great entertainment for all of your guests. It's the little things too - he made it clear that he doesn't want to upstage the groom, so he dressed simply in a dress shirt, tie, and vest.

Check him out. You won't be disappointed. I can't recommend him enough. Thanks, Marcel, for making our wedding day so special.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carey
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Brides if you are looking for someone to take the stress and worry about everything going on at your reception away, then Marcel is your prefect match. He was amazing at making sure everything flowed so smoothly I didn't have to worry about a thing and was able to enjoy my wedding reception. He was also great at checking to make sure my husband and I were pleased all the way through the event. He is great at responding to any questions or ideas you have throughout the planning process. I never had to wait long for a response and we felt like we had his full attention every time we met with him. He never seemed distracted, and as a bride you want that kind of attention. He kept people on the dance floor all afternoon, and three weeks later people are still talking about how great he was! I will be referring anyone and everyone to Marcel from now on for any event. He was absolutely wonderful!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The DJ did an exceptionally great job performing for our wedding. He ensured everything ran smoothly and ensured we had great music to dance to all night. He kept the people dancing on the dance floor and ran the whole show allowing us all to have a great and memerable ceremony. The DJ also provided a website to the customers in order to provide an organized layout of how the ceremony/reception will flow. This made for an easy meeting once we actually sat down to discuss with the DJ how we would like our ceremony/Reception to be ran. I would definately recommend him to our friends
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Marcel was highly professional and extremely prompt in all of our communications. The pre-meeting was very helpful, as well as his planning guide. He gave me exactly what I wanted for my wedding, and my guests danced the night away. People have commented that it was one of the best weddings they have been to- I think a big part of that was making sure everyone got out on the dance floor and had a great time.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mercedes
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Had a wonderful time, and it would not have been possible without Marcel! He did a wonderful job and made the night unforgetable!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mandy
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Marcel was GREAT! He kept our college friends as well as our parent's friends and older guest entertained all night! So many people bragged on our music. We're so happy we went with Marcel!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aleena
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Marcel helped me out so much, I couldn't have asked for a better dj!
Services Used: DJ,
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeff
Wedding:
4/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Nightshift Sounds did an outstanding job at our wedding and reception even though we contracted him at the last minute. We both appreciate his professionalism and flexibility since we made some on-the-fly changes during the reception. Thank you Marcel :-)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dallas
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
One of the best vendors we had!! Very organized and knowledgeable!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chad
Wedding:
3/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Marcel was a true professional in every sense of the word and a pleasure to work with. My wife and I were planning a wedding in her hometown of Mobile, AL. We hired Marcel to be our DJ and MC for both the wedding ceremony and the reception afterward, and it turned out to be one of the best planning decisions we made.

From the moment we hired him it was clear that he had the entire thing down to a science. He was able to take what few bits of information and requests we were able to provide him and turn it into a flawless wedding ceremony and a great dinner hour and reception. He also worked directly with our other vendors and our event coordinator to make sure everything went off without a hitch. He was calm, professional and dependable from start to finish--and at incredibly reasonable prices, to boot.

Would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ or MC for any event, wedding or otherwise.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
April
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband, and I are truly satisfied with Mr. Marcel. From the ceremony, to the reception our music was wonderful. Guest didn't have a chance to sit down, because the music kept them on the dance floor. When it came to the special events like cake cutting, garter toss etc. he was on time. He even had a chance to come out on the dance floor, and interact with us. Mr. Marcel was very professional. I wish I could relive this day once more, just to dance the night away. I recommend him to any couple, or person needing Dj services. He truly knows his job, and you can tell he has the passion for making your day special.

Mrs. April Miles
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
11/17/2012
5.0/5.0
Our experience couldn't have been better! Marcel was extremely professional and a wonderful deejay for our event.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Marcel was awesome! Everyone at our wedding had a great time!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelcey
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Marcel, the owner of Nightshift Sounds, was a great DJ and I couldn't have asked for anything more. He made sure everything went smoothly. Kept great communication. Would definitely recommend him!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
Marcel was amazing!!! He played the perfect music for the event and he was a wonderful master of ceremonies!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
yelsel
Wedding:
1/7/2012
4.9/5.0
We didn't know much about Soul Vaxx but boy are we glad we hired them! Marcel, the band's contact, was extremely easy to reach, very responsive, and the band was a perfect mix of Motown, soul, rock, etc. Half of our guests were from Southern California and half were from South Louisiana and they ranged from 11 years old to 86 and the dance floor was packed the entire night. Our venue coordinator said he's never seen a wedding party have so much fun before. I credit lots of that to Soul Vaxx! :)
Services Used: Band

MAP

 
220 Glen Eagles Drive, Ocean Springs, MS 39564 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Nightshift Sounds
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1389367700273-last-dance-pelican-hill-wedding-