130x130_sq_1262630694804-9milegoldlarge

Nine Mile Smile

Grand Rapids , MI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Burton St SE
Grand Rapids, MI US 49546 (map)

PHONE

616-648-7544

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Nine Mile Smile is West Michigan's premiere wedding band. We also specialize in Destination Weddings! We've played weddings all over Michigan and the midwest. Need a "Wedding Band"... Read more
Nine Mile Smile is West Michigan's premiere wedding band. We also specialize in Destination Weddings! We've played weddings all over Michigan and the midwest. Need a "Wedding Band" reference from a previous bride? Email us, and we'll provide anything you need to make this very important decision! Read less
Band

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1317914659015-0636large
130x130_sq_1317914672961-img3476blog
130x130_sq_1317914684958-img3362blog
130x130_sq_1317914746999-bestman1
130x130_sq_1317914755423-bestman2
130x130_sq_1317914764346-bestman3
130x130_sq_1317914773582-bestman4
130x130_sq_1317914781272-bestman5
130x130_sq_1317914792426-jordan
130x130_sq_1317914799587-kodybandshot
130x130_sq_1317914807340-walkmemphis

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Band
What is the size of your band?
Large (6+ musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
80s, 90s, Acoustic, Country, Dance, Funk, Jazz, Motown, Pop, R&B, Rock
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
What is your band's usual attire?
If the groomsmen are in tuxes, we also wear our tuxedos. Jordan will be in a dress.
Do you offer live sample performances or CDs?
Yes. (DVD)
Are you willing to learn songs that you do not currently know?
Yes - We offer each bride a "5 Song Special" Please ask us for more info!
How much time do you usually need for setup?
3-4 hours
How much space do you usually require?
It varies. We like a stage to be around 18x12 - but we can work with you on most sizes.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
No that's super tacky.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
Yes. We offer a full light show.
Do you usually emcee the event, or talk between songs?
Yes, we emcee and take care of the entire reception or event.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you need a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
We do require to be fed at receptions. Breaks can be discussed to the couples preference.
Do you play recorded music during your break?
Yes, we do
If one or more of the band members is unable to attend, what is your backup plan?
First, you should know we will be there. However, each of us has a backup if something un-thinkable happens.
What is your overtime rate?
negotiable
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
No. It is all inclusive.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
$500 non refundable deposit.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jean
Wedding:
3/14/2014
5.0/5.0
Everything was flawless. From the sound system they provided for our ceremony to the absolutely amazing live performance for the reception, we can't thank them enough for making our daughter's wedding an amazing evening!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annie
Wedding:
3/14/2014
5.0/5.0
Prior to our wedding, any questions that I had for the band were answered immediately and very thoroughly. I felt very confident in their services, and didn't have to worry about anything. I loved how they introduced our wedding party, and our reception was an absolute riot thanks to Nine Mile Smile. I wouldn't have changed a thing, and feel very fortunate that they were able to play for us... I didn't want the night to end!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Nine Mile Smile was such a huge part in making our wedding the celebration that it was! They are incredible - our dance floor was packed all night, even during their breaks when they DJ'ed music.
They are also extremely professional and responsive. My emails and questions were always answered promptly, they gave me multiple references I was able to speak with before hiring them, and they were more than willing to help with additional sound/music needs for our ceremony. They really understand how stressful planning a wedding can be and were so willing to go above and beyond for my groom and I to handle any extra items they could.
I would highly recommend them for any event (wedding or otherwise) - we couldn't have been happier they were part of our day!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
9MS stepped in to play at our wedding with only about 4 weeks notice after our previously arranged wedding band split up, and the arrangements for the event went amazing smooth. The band had everyone dancing from start to finish, and happily played an extra long encore when no one wanted to stop dancing. Their selection of songs throughout the evening were perfect. Nine Mile Smile is awesome!!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becky
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
We strongly recommend Nine Mile Smile for anyone looking for a band to play at their wedding. We were looking to throw a great party and NMS made it happen. NMS was a pleasure to work with during the planning stage and the day of our wedding. They are very easy to get along with, professional and very responsive.

We had heard a lot of horror stories from bands who played the "wrong" music for the crowd so at first we insisted on picking out our play list. We received reassurance from NMS that they are great at playing to the crowd and work better with more flexibility....they were right. Not once during the wedding did we question the song selections!

We strongly believe that NMS is the best value that you will get for your money. Not only do they learn songs just for your wedding but they also DJ during band breaks....honestly, we could never tell when there was a break because the dance floor was packed all night.

We have received countless messages and notes from our friends and family asking who the band was, telling us how great they were and overall that our wedding was one of the best they have been to. We have NMS to thank in large part for that!

We strongly recommend NMS....they exceeded all our expectations of a band for our wedding.

-Becky & Eric
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kyle
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
There's no reason these guys don't get 5 of 5 stars. Absolutely awesome music at our wedding. Wouldn't want any other band there but 9 mile smile.....they rocked out. Other thing I loved is that you pick four songs for them to learn and they play them for you. Super quick responses via email, super friendly, and it just looked like even the band was having a great time. Their outfits were great and quality of music exceeds the standard. Would recommend this band even if you don't live in Grand Rapids.... We had ours in traverse city and they came up here. AMAZING BAND w amazing skills.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
To say that Nine Mile Smile totally made our wedding would be a vast understatement. Not only are they (Kurtis, their manager is amazing) extremely responsive, robustly talented, and in a total league of their own, we and our guests felt like we were at a concert that just also happened to hold a wedding too. I kid you not, no one left the dance floor for 5 hours straight and EVERYONE wanted to know how I got this band, where they were from, and when we could do it again!! They know countless songs in every genre, will even learn new songs for your big day, and will inevitably pull them off flawlessly. My very first wedding planning decision was to book Nine Mile Smile the exact instant I saw one of their videos online. From start to finish, this band really knows how to keep a bride and groom at ease, and play their hearts out at your special event. All of the single guys loved their lead singer, which doesn't hurt either ;) Absolute best night of our lives by far, and the best decision ever was to book Nine Mile Smile-- you will be SO HAPPY YOU DID!!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melinda
Wedding:
5/24/2013
5.0/5.0
Kurtis and Nine Mile Smile were fantastic!!! They turned our wedding reception into such an incredible event.... there was always a HUGE crowd on the dance floor! Easy to work with, flexible and fun! - what more would you want?!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
First of all.
OH MY GOD. These guys (and Gal) are INCREDIBLE. Musically, they're on point. They play everything perfectly. Their voices (and not just Jordan (the local celeb and singer)) are great.

They take 4 song requests which they'll learn for you - we picked R. Kelly, and they learned it! we picked a lot of hip hop and rock, because my conversation with Kurtis (who is hilarious and awesome) was basically "go buck wild. Keep people dancing, and you can play literally whatever you want"
Then he asked if we wanted him to throw in a verse from D*ck in a Box, which was similar to the R. Kelly song, I (of course) said yes, and when they started playing it, everyone under 50 went WILD.

I literally can't say enough about them. We had a thousand pieces of cake and half our food leftover because nobody would sit down.
Also, I'm a Jew, and they played the horah for us, but told him to make it awesome, and they played it, dare I say...Metallica style?
They were on top of everything. They got in touch with the venue(Gilmore Car Museum), set everything up.
Perfect band, perfect set up. They're geniuses.
PURE, UNADULTERATED GENIUSES.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
9MS played at our wedding reception and they were a PERFECT match for our museum event. They played recorded light jazz during the cocktail and dinner hours, which guests enjoyed so they could talk at their tables. They started their live play with the first dances and continued into the night, when many guests (both young and old) hit up the dance floor. They played a great mix of slow and fast tunes and we and our 175 guests really loved the vibe they added to our night. Kurtis was responsive and flexible throughout the whole planning process and the band's "5 song special," in which they learn 5 songs of your choosing, made them stand out from other bands. Each of the 5 songs we chose sounded amazing!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Nine Mile Smile was amazing to work with and totally MADE our reception! Kurtis is the contact person and he is a professional, so his response time is quick, professional, and he is very easy to work with. Many other wedding vendors fail in this area, but not NMS. The band learned five songs just for us. Their performance was great, the energy was amazing, and our guests couldn't stop telling us how great they were. Definitely worth the extra money compared to a DJ!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessie
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
9 Mile Smile did an absolutely fabulous job at our wedding this summer. We were very impressed with their responsivness to emails and willingness to work with us on our song choices. Once 9 Mile Smile started playing the dance floor was packed and it stayed that way till their last set. You could tell that the band had such a great time, which in turn made everyone else have an even more amazing time too!! One of my friends who was at our wedding has already booked 9 Mile Smile for their wedding next summer and I can't wait to see them again. They were a great band and I would highly recommend them for any event!!
Services Used: Band
130x130_sq_1312325404221-dscf1251
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We had many many compliemtns on the band! The kept the dance floor full and made for a perfect night!!!

Jordan and Mike even particpated in the dollar dance!!! They were very flexible when we wanted to change things up!!

The only minor hiccup we had with them was they didn't have 2 of the names for our wedding party entrance.... but they made it work and it was a great time!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ellen
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Nine Mile Smile was fantastic! Kurtis is so friendly and easy to work with. I would absolutely recommend them to anyone!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
I am so lucky to be able to say that Nine Mile Smile (9MS) provided the musical entertainment for my wedding reception and I am proud to highly recommend them on Wedding Wire!

The first thing every bride should know about working with Nine Mile Smile and Kurtis Kaechele (their manager, scheduler, email responder, coordinator, drummer, and all-around great guy) is that they are incredibly responsive and professional in all of their interactions. From my first email to Kurtis inquiring about their availability, Kurtis' replies were always EXTREMELY prompt, courteous, helpful, and fun. Additionally, as we traveled to hear the band, and eventually contracted with them to perform at our wedding, Kurtis was always very helpful in getting things done easily and efficiently (a quality EVERY bride can appreciate!). Up through the wedding, he was responsive, made helpful suggestions, and helped me make our entertainment memorable.

In addition to their professionalism and amazing responsiveness, 9MS offered a lot of other perks that we did not find in other potential wedding bands. For example, they will learn five brand new songs for you that they do not already know! They do this for EACH wedding couple! This means, if you want that special father/daughter dance song performed live, and if it is not already on their list, they will learn it for you by the time of our wedding! We had some amazing “must-play” songs, and they learned and performed them excellently! Importantly, there was no additional charge for this – they do it out of their desire to make your wedding personal and perfect for you! Additionally, they provided free emcee and DJing between their music sets. Kurtis does an excellent job with this! Also, 9MS worked with me so well to determine a “fluid set list,” where there definitely were songs that I wanted played, but he was also to fit them into the list appropriately and play to the crowd. Kurtis encouraged me to trust his judgment with this one, and I’m glad I did, because when the crowd wanted slow songs, that is what they played, and when they wanted a dance party, that’s what they did. They read the crowd well and definitely kept our dance floor packed!

One thing that you have to worry about any musical performance on the day of your wedding is – how will the band sound?! We traveled up to Mt. Pleasant to hear 9MS perform prior to booking them, but Kurtis said it would sound a lot different in a much smaller room on the day of our wedding. What I was not prepared for is how AMAZING they would be. I already knew they sounded great, but the day of the wedding, they sounded fantastic! And I wasn’t alone in my thinking. I honestly did not expect for almost every single one of our guests to come up to me and ask me where we found this band and how did we get them, but that is exactly what happened. Our guests were SO IMPRESSED with the quality of music 9MS provided, they had a GREAT time jamming out to them all night, our dance floor was CONSTANTLY packed (every bride’s reception dream, right?!), and the variety of music was amazing! Their look, vibe, sound, and groove were a perfect recipe for our wedding!

Most importantly, the folks making up 9MS will go the extra mile (get it?!) for you! I don't think that I received any special treatment, but let me tell you, it sure FELT like I did! One example of this is that I asked Kurt if they would be willing to play or play their recorded version of our first dance song for us between our cocktail hour and reception so we could practice when no one else was in the room. (We did some sweet choreography, and were recommended to do the dance at least once before we did it for real – great recommendation!) Kurt responded to me and said that he’d try to get Michael Shapiro (who is a fantastic Adam Levine-sounding vocalist and amazing guitarist, and my husband and I love his style) to play it for us. Sure enough, on the day of, Michael was there and played it for us live just as he would later in the night. It was a perfect way for us to practice and was something that not every band member of just any band would do. It was outside of their contracted play time, but they made it happen for us. Another example of their above-and-beyond service is that I probably changed my mind about how I was incorporating my mom into my father/daughter dance five times. And emailed Kurtis about it (book-long emails) every time. He stuck with me, helped me problem-solve, made great suggestions, and in the end (probably the day or two before the wedding) helped me to make it happen perfectly!

I know that I’ve just written a crazy-long review for this band, but they deserve every word of the praise. I do not have any negatives to report about 9MS; we truly had 5-star service, professionalism, and music quality. They are an excellent choice if you’re looking for a competitively priced, but above-average quality wedding band. Please feel free to contact me personally if I can provide any more helpful information to you about Nine Mile Smile! As I said to them, and have said to many others, 9MS was one of the easiest and BEST decisions we made for our wedding!
Services Used: Band,
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
12/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Nine Mile Smile is AMAZING! I cannot say enough good things about them. My first experience with Nine Mile Smile was at my sister's wedding in June 2011. They were a hit. When I got engaged, Nine Mile Smile was one of the first vendors I contacted as I knew I just had to have them play at my reception too. They were extremely professional and always responded to my questions in a very timely manner. And, they sound simply wonderful. If you're getting married and are in search of the perfect band, Nine Mile Smile is for you. Call them!!!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
I worked with Kurtis from Nine Mile Smile and he was incredible flexible and fun to work with. My fiance and I really wanted to add some horns and he was able to set that up. Our wedding guests are still talking about how amazing the band was. Live music is such a great break from the norm and there are some extremely talented individuals in the band.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Phil
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
I was the groom of a wedding in August of this past summer (2011) and was given the duty of finding a band. As soon as I contacted Kurtis with information regarding the band, I received nothing but professionalism from him or the rest of 9-Mile Smile.
As the year wore on, I became very busy and had a difficult time responding in a timely manner to Kurtis' emails, yet I never received any negative vibes from him regarding my tardiness.
We asked for a few specifics regarding songs or things we would like them to do for us at the reception, and they had no trouble with any of our requests.
On the day of the wedding, they were nothing short of awesome. There were always more people on the dance floor than there were sitting down and were just a lot of fun.
Dozens of people came up afterward telling me what a great job they did.
If I knew anyone having a wedding in Michigan, there is no way I couldn't recommend 9-Mile Smile.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kody
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
Not only were they reliable and professional, they were a heck of a good time. We wanted a band at our wedding because it always provides for a great atmosphere- if the band is good. Nine Mile Smile still has people sending my wife and me texts, emails, and Facebook posts expressing how much fun they had and how great the band was.

They learned and played my favorite song, and even let me get on stage and sing it with them!

It really is crazy how much our guests commented on the awesomeness of Nine Mile Smile! We are so happy we picked them!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
juliekay
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Awesome awesome awesome!!!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sparty404
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
We had Nine Mile Smile at our wedding reception on 6/4/11 in East Lansing, MI. From the moment I first contacted NMS for information, to the last song they played at our reception, they were FIRST CLASS. Everything was handled in an incredibly flexible yet professional manner. They were responsive to all of our questions and requests, they were on-time to the wedding, dressed appropriately for the occasion, and the most important part - the music was AWESOME! Everyone who attended our wedding was raving about the band (and continues to). We've been asked by a couple of our friends who were at the wedding for the bands info because they are getting married soon and loved NMS so much.
They also were really cool in that they learned five songs of our choosing just for our event - in addition to their long song list. This really made a difference to us and was so appreciated.
I could go on and on, but in a nutshell, if you go with NMS, you can't wrong. What an experience and they made our reception a night many won't soon forget.

Thanks again Nine Mile Smile!!

J.P. and Teresa Zurek
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Virginia
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
NMS was a more than a great addition to our May 29 wedding. This band is a class act. Knowing Kurtis as a friend is a blessing, but hearing the band play at our wedding – priceless! The band gets you moving and off your feet, and really enjoying the music. They knew how to read the audience and entertain everyone of all ages. For those of you planning a wedding or other event, don’t miss this opportunity of really entertaining your guests and creating some great memories.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
8/8/2009
5.0/5.0
September 16th, 2009

To Whom It May Concern:

After hearing Nine Mile Smile in Mackinac Island, we decided to book them for our August 2009 wedding in Northern Michigan.

Through the entire planning process Kurtis was an amazing help & direction as to how we should plan the reception- giving suggestions from setup to logistics- he was a huge help & made the process extremely easy. He was very easy to communicate with as well as being very professional & easy going at the same time.

The day before the wedding the band was at the reception location setting up for the next day, and were nothing but courteous and professional. The day of the wedding the band was at the location hours before, rehearsing and getting everything set up to make sure it was 100% ready for the evening.

During the reception, they were wonderful- everyone at our wedding said that it was the best wedding they had ever been too- in large part because of the band. They were dressed appropriately for the occasion & took lead on many things that I had not thought to take care of. Their professionalism & excellent music was a huge weight lifted off of my shoulders & allowed us and our guests to have an amazing time. The dance floor was packed from the minute they started playing-and we even got them to play a little longer for us!

In short, this is an absolutely wonderful group of musicians who give 110% to make your event a huge success. Anyone can hire a DJ, having a band at your event is something people remember long after the reception. They made our wedding everything we envisioned. A great time will be had by all if you choose Nine Mile Smile.

Sincerely,
Tom & Kate Fincham
Services Used: Band

MAP

 
Burton St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Nine Mile Smile
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo