130x130_sq_1236999071033-gazebo1

Oak-K Farm

Lakeland , FL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1349, Cherry Lane
Lakeland, FL US 33811 (map)

PHONE

863-646-8247

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

A great place to have a relaxed and wonderful wedding experience. We have it all here at the Oak-K Farm, Honeymoon Suite, Gazebo, Reception Hall, Horse & Carriage, a bar area, friendly... Read more
A great place to have a relaxed and wonderful wedding experience. We have it all here at the Oak-K Farm, Honeymoon Suite, Gazebo, Reception Hall, Horse & Carriage, a bar area, friendly folks to help you. Most of all our prices are low enough as not to break the bank, so check us out.. Read less
Wedding Venue

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1989
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall
Describe the style of your venue
Rustic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
130
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
1
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
500
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
30
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David
Wedding:
3/14/2014
5.0/5.0
Jim and Joyce run a professional and honest business. Their straight forward approach is refreshing. They give honest advice when appropriate but make it very clear that the choices were always ours. Their experience and input was always refreshing. Their vendor suggestions were spot on. We shopped around for many alternatives for DJ, Photographer and baker but found ourselves going with Joyce and Jim's recommendations.

Everyone at the Farm and associated with the Farm had a down home feel. They all knew their place in the event and executed with precision. Anytime there was a question to be asked or last minute need they could easily be found. Our day went without any problems and the focus remained on the wedding party. There were times we didn't notice the staff was even there. It was almost like there were elves that were always one step ahead of our needs.

Jim and Joyce seem to know why couples end up selecting their venue and make no promises they cannot keep. We did a lot of shopping around before selecting the Farm. We saw lots of up selling and vendors that wanted to squeeze every last cent out of us. This was not the case at the Farm. I think Jim and Joyce have a good idea about the needs of a couple trying to get a good start on life and they respect the idea of getting a good start for the new couple.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brittany
Wedding:
9/15/2013
5.0/5.0
We recently had our wedding here & this venue is absolutely gorgeous!
I loved everything about the property & the service was also wonderful. It did rain but the staff was equipped w/ umbrellas & handed them to the guest. The carriage ride was excellent. The food was awesome, we had the bbq ribs & chicken!
My husband mentioned that when we renew our vows we should do it again here :)
Thank you Jim & Joyce for making our day.that much more special.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
John
Wedding:
9/15/2013
4.6/5.0
I am a professional photographer and I photographed the Way Wedding at OAK Farms on 9-15. I was really impressed with both the venue and the staff. The property is gorgeous, eight acres with paddocks, barns, and beautifull live oak trees. The wedding gazebo is pretty. The owner and staff are very photographer friendly. The food was super, down home barbecue ribs and chicken. The venue also features a horse and carriage for the bride and groom that is straight out of Cinderella. Unfortunately we had a rain event but their staff was their almost instantaneously passing out umbrellas. I have photographed many an outdoor wedding and this was the best rustic venue I have ever been to in the Bay area. I can't comment on the cost because I was hired by the bride and groom as their wedding photographer.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
r
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
I was very pleased with Jim and Joyce and their professionalism. The grounds were beautiful everything was a dream come true.I cannot express how happy I am with everything and I highly recommend the oak k farm to any bride.thank you so much Jim and Joyce for making my wedding one of the easiest and most unforgettable day if my life.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jaimi
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Yesterday as I was getting ready to photograph a wedding at this venue, I came across this page and the reviews...I was a little apprehensive after another review that I read, but was so incredibly pleased when I got there. First, the venue is amazing, perfect for a rustic/country wedding! Second, I was greeted by Jim & Joyce (the owners) who offered me a quick tour. They were very kind. I have worked alot of venues, and this one is clean, organized, and their only mission is to make sure the bride gets whatever she needs/wants on her wedding day. The day ran smooth, and on time. I would have to say...in my experience, this venue is first class and I would be honored to photograph another wedding at this venue and will absolutely recommend it to my future brides!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
5/22/2013
5.0/5.0
This is the best place to get married. The service is great and I was very pleased with everything
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
2.8/5.0
Beautiful backdrop setting. Made it where you really did not need an over abundance of decor. Wish there could have been more flexibility with the times to decorate and take down.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.8/5.0
Wow - as a professional photographer going on 4 years I have never written a bad review, and I'm sorry that this is my first. I have never been treated so poorly by a fellow vendor, and have never watched my clients and their bridal party and family be treated poorly either. The owners of Oak K Farms are very traditional and have expectations of how things are done. There is no "thinking outside the box" and if you try and stray from their traditional ideas, they lose patience quickly.

They made several recommendations as to which lenses I should use for which shots, they posed my bride and bridesmaids in horrible, cheesy poses, and poor lighting. I was yelled infront of the bride, bridal party and other onlookers for not responding to a question quickly enough, and when I politely asked the owner to move from the shot so I could get the bride, he rudely told me to wait and that he was assisting her with her shoes (anyone else's job but the owners?!). In my opinion, the owner of a venue should not be heard, and rarely seen, working behind the scenes to ensure a successful event - not in the shot, directing poses!

I'm sad to say I will not book a bride at this location again.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
1/25/2013
4.9/5.0
Jan 25, 2013 6:26pm
Just wanted to share a quick video of our beautiful wedding venue/day at the Oak-K Farm! Jim and Joyce made our event flow so smoothly from the first day we met until we hugged goodbye at the end of our wedding day. I can't recommend them highly enough. They were competent, compassionate, and man can they COOK! Our...See More
— in Pinellas Park, FL.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bill
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
My daughter was married at Oak-K Farm this past Saturday, October 6, 2012. She was first drawn to the venue for it's Southern Charm; the grounds are covered with Oak trees and Spanish Moss, and the gazebo in the ceremony grounds sealed the deal. The grand entrance into her wedding ceremony in a horse-drawn carriage (with a very cordial and caring coachman) escalated her experience from perfect, to a dream come true.
Jim and Joyce were very helpul in every aspect from planning the rehearsal dinner, to selecting chair covers for the reception. But, their true gift is their ability to keep a nervous family at ease while assuring everyone that the wedding will go off without a hitch. They have one rule: it's the Bride's day, and whatever she wants, goes!
The food at both the rehearsal dinner (BBQ ribs and chicken), and the reception (ham, turkey and vegitarian lasgna) was delicious. If you want a beautiful wedding, that is in the hands of experienced, and caring people, than Oak-K Farm is you place.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Oak-K Farm responded with the following comments:

Thanks for the kind words, nut it realloy was our pleasure, you were great people to work for.. Love you guys, Jim & Joyce
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cherie
Wedding:
10/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Oak K Farms is a peaceful little diamond in the rough. We had a beautiful ceremony there followed by an even more beautiful reception! The food was amazing, people still tell me that and it's been six months! The owners did everything in their power to make me happy and they went above and beyond. The venue is perfect for a small intimate wedding. We had about 90 guests and everyone commented on how beautiful the ceremony and reception turned out. The owners were behind the scenes making sure everything flowed smoothly. Yes, the male owner was a little overbearing, but what southern man isn't? He reminded me of the grandfather I had just lost a few months prior to the wedding and it made me feel right at home! I had a wonderful experience and I would recommend Oak K Farms to any bride looking for a place that will make her wedding amazing!!!
Services Used: Catering, Officiant, Wedding Venue
Oak-K Farm responded with the following comments:

Thank you guys, you were great to work for and I just wanted your special day to be perfect, plz come see us again one day. Good luck in the future.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aharlan022184
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Me and my husband had a small old fashion wedding. It was elegant and very romantic. We could not have been happier having both our wedding and reception here. We were never stressed about anything and both Joyce and Jim were very professional and helped us with everything we could have needed. The food was better than I could have cooked myself and the set up of the reception was perfect. If anyone would like to see proof of how elegant they made it for us you can email me at agrl4u2lv20@aol.com and I will send some wedding photos of the place after it was set up. We thank them so much for making our day even more perfect than it already was.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Oak-K Farm responded with the following comments:

We love you guy as well, great people to work for and a pleasure to be around. Many Thanks Jim& Joyce Good Luck in all you do together.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barbara
Wedding:
6/4/2011
4.6/5.0
My husband and I were married at Oak-K Farm on June 4, 2011. Their property is gorgeous, and you really can't beat the price. You can tell they are very dedicated to what they do, and it's a special place to them, especially because it's where they were married as well.

I'd say the best way to communicate with them is by phone. Communicating through e-mail became quite confusing for me as I believe some things were lost in translation. We spoke with Joyce throughout most of the process, so I would also recommend meeting with Jim to get a feel for him. We only became aware of how he liked to run things when everything was already paid off. In my opinion, he was a bit overbearing. I believe he only meant well, though. Like I said, their place means a lot to them.

The food is SO good! We had the lasagna. All I can say is YUM! Our only disappointment here is that they forgot to put our champagne on ice. =/

Overall, it is a beautiful place to have a wedding and we were very pleased with the outcome. I'd say it's worth taking a look at. :)
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Oak-K Farm responded with the following comments:

Putting the Champange on ice was thier job we did not even see the champange till it was time to uncork it.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dave and Dawn
Wedding:
10/27/2003
5.0/5.0
Actually married in 2002 at the Oak K Farm. Jim and Joyce were fantastic. They made it the wedding of our dreams. Many of our guest were very impressed with them, the farm and the food.
They also said it was the nicest wedding they had ever been to. We also had our sons graduation party there in 1997, and a retirement party April 2013. We recomend this place and Jim and Joyce for any special, memorable event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
1349, Cherry Lane, Lakeland, FL 33811 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Oak-K Farm
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1236999071033-gazebo1