130x130_sq_1328142280286-occassionslogo

Occasions Catering & Special Events

Olympia , WA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1615 State Ave. NE
Olympia, WA US 98506 (map)

PHONE

360-943-9494

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We are a full service caterer and by that we mean, we can bring the ideas, dreams and desires you have for your event to fruition. We offer event planning services and are able to care... Read more
We are a full service caterer and by that we mean, we can bring the ideas, dreams and desires you have for your event to fruition. We offer event planning services and are able to care for your event from beginning to end by providing a rich selection of linens, china and service ware, furnishings, as well tenting. Our delicious menus offer delectable hors d'oeuvres, buffet, plated and family style service and we crown the meal with sumptuous desserts. We are also able to offer superb bar service along with event set-up and clean up. Read less
Catering

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
African, American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, British, Caribbean, Chinese, Creole, French, German, Indian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Russian, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai, Vietnamese
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
1000

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
8/3/2013
1.0/5.0
I had a terrible experience with this company. I have never dealt with a more disrespectful business. I absolutely would not recommend. They are much more interested in making their money than helping the bride create her special day. The first in person meeting I had with my consultant and the owner I let shaking and in tears. Plain and simple, they are mean people, and once that contract is signed they don't seem to care how they treat those employing their services. Several times the consultant make completely irrelevant and unprofessional comments about my mother.
While the food wasn't terrible, it did not live up to the quality one would expect after paying several thousand dollars for the service.
The coffee service was not stocked, and we ended up having to provide our own creamers and containers, and while the buffet was set up, no plates or utensils were lain. No accent linens were lain, and the cloth themselves were thrown sloppily on the tables. The staff was continuously found snacking on the ordered food, and it was hard to find a single smile amongst the staff. I was embarrassed as my guests continuously complained about the food, the service and the presentation.
Several thousand dollars down the drain later, I sincerely wish I had reconsidered my choice for caterers.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
Great service, great food. Would recommend.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1347037404470-10
Dior
Wedding:
8/11/2012
4.8/5.0
Excellent value, delicious food, very helpful and attentive staff. Everything on my menu was raved about by my guests. They made my wedding very easy.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.1/5.0
They were very hard to get a hold of prior to the wedding to work out the details and then certain terms were not clear until a week before the wedding. When I found out I needed to purchase additional items that I thought were included but were not. The day of the wedding the food and service was great. The bar tenders cut people off way too early, and was a little unprofessional to family members.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1294887459772-img2224
Katie
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Good food and really good service
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
masco24
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
I can't begin to tell you how wonderful Occasions Catering was. They were professional, dressed profressional, were very polite and very hard working. They accustomed to what we wanted and went beyond our expectations. The food is amazing and all of your guests will rave about it.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrverhoef
Wedding:
9/5/2010
5.0/5.0
All I can say is Amazing! Food was great as was the variety. We had everything for true omnivores as well as a heady selection of vegetarian and vegan options. They were also great in pointing out we had way too much food selected and were a great help in paring down the choices to something more appropriate for the number a guest we had expected. Great value, great service, great food. They even picked up the cake and delivered it on a holiday weekend. We had no worries with Occasions on the scene and were able to just enjoy our wedding and our friends and family.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
becandkyle
Wedding:
8/28/2010
4.9/5.0
We had our wedding reception at the Occasions run Heritage Room in Olympia. Everything from the food to the lighting was wonderful. Ashley and the entire staff set everything up, listened to all of my wants/needs, and helped to make the day special. The food was amazing (loved the eggplant parmesan and I heard the grilled salmon was fantastic).
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kennedya1
Wedding:
7/31/2010
4.8/5.0
Ashley at Occasions pulled everything together so wonderfully for us. She worked with our budget and helped us create a great atmosphere and great menu. They helped set up tables and decor as well as clean up and make sure the place looked great. Food was DELICIOUS from what i tasted, and we got nothing but rave reviews from everyone (Chicken enchiladas, rice, beans, green salad, veggie tray and chips and salsa!). I have some of the leftovers frozen waiting for a special night with my hubby to really enjoy the food! Be wary that int he wake of a crisis do NOT speak to Trish, just let Ashley handle it, she is wonderful!
Services Used: Catering
Bg2
Mark & Deborah
Wedding:
9/12/2009
3.9/5.0
Overall, the food was absolutely amazing!! We did have a couple of glitches in the process though. If you choose to go with Occasions catering, know that you'll have great food and a professional staff, but make sure to double check your invoice before signing. we had to go back and forth a couple of times to get it right. I don't think they did any of it on purpose, but my now husband (yay!), is very good with numbers, it's what he does; so when it came time to review the quote we found multiple mistakes in the billing and taxes. Once we got that sqaured away, they were very good about following up with a head count, they showed up on time, were very proffesional, and for the most part they stayed out of the way. My only other suggestion would be to make sure you get ALL of the food you pay for. We had a head count of roughly 90 people, but only had about 66 people show up. That being said, when they boxed up the left overs, they left hardly any food. My thoughts are that they A) didn't bring enough food in the first place, or B) only boxed up trays that were already open. That would mean they took whole trays of food back with them that we paid for. It was delicouse and it would have nive to have the left overs. Other than that, we got endless compliments on the food and I would hire them again, but knowing what to look out for.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
deford10
Wedding:
9/5/2009
4.4/5.0
everything turned out great. I didn't get to eat much of it, but everybody seemed to enjoy it. They really helped with ideas and what would work out. A little on the pricy side but we got it figured out!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
allysmilez86
Wedding:
8/9/2008
4.8/5.0
Wonderful service, very efficient and great food! We had many compliment regarding our menu and display of food.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
6/16/2008
5.0/5.0
Jennie Hannah runs a fantastic catering service and it was delightful to work with her every step of the way. Although a bit out of the way from Seattle (my one and ONLY gripe!), the food was worth all the time put in. She had many options and was very flexible when we wanted to add some sushi to our otherwise traditional wedding menu. She was also very flexible around prices, showing us the many options and helping us to get the most food for the least amount of money. On wedding day, her crew were actually the first people at the venue! They all were very professional and kind to me and my guests. The food was great- chicken, salmon, sald, carrots, potatoes, it was all just right. And the buffet service was very visually appealing as well, like a real feast! As the night went on, her staff begain cleaning up quietly (I didnt even notice until someone mentioned it) and allowed us to get out of our venue in a timely manner. And Jennie even sent with our family a "Honeymoon" package, filled with yummy treats for the plane ride down to Lake Tahoe for our honeymoon- it was SO nice not to have to think about that! I would absolutely recomment Occasions to anyone looking for a professional caterer and scrumptious food.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
7/7/2007
4.8/5.0
This company was very organized and always replied back in a timely manner to any questions or concerns I had concerning my big day. They were very helpful on the wedding day but just helping the day go by smoothly. It was a great day and they have AMAZING food. Everyone still talks about how good the food was!
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
1615 State Ave. NE, Olympia, WA 98506 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Occasions Catering & Special Events
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo