130x130_sq_1364226417171-oceancliff

OceanCliff Hotel

Newport , RI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

65 Ridge Rd
Newport, RI US 02840 (map)

PHONE

401-841-8868

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Located on 10 acres of rolling lawns with spectacular ocean views, OceanCliff offers a truly unique blend of breathtaking beauty, world-class cuisine and a professionally trained staff... Read more
Located on 10 acres of rolling lawns with spectacular ocean views, OceanCliff offers a truly unique blend of breathtaking beauty, world-class cuisine and a professionally trained staff to ensure that every detail of your special day is meticulously attended to.





Twenty-five distinctly stylized guest rooms whisk you back to the 19th century with modern conveniences and stunning oceanfront views.

OceanCliff Resort occupies the site of the former Bronson Villa, owned by Arthur Bronson of New York. The villa was built in 1864 and was used as a summer residence by the Bronson’s for several seasons. The estate was then sold to Mr. Gaun M. Hutton a wealthy industrialist and his wife, when in 1892 the family began construction on the new estate. The estate remained a private summer home until 1954 when it was sold by the Hutton family and was later converted into an oceanfront retreat to be used to host lavish parties & society affairs.

For centuries, the waterfront estate has been an historic destination for weddings and social gatherings. Today, OceanCliff’s newly renovated grand ballroom accommodates from 70 to 225 guests for dinner and dancing, while a variety of smaller rooms allow for more intimate gatherings.



Set amidst the breathtaking splendor of the Narragansett Bay, OceanCliff has inspired generations of brides with some of the most enchanting landscapes in Newport, Rhode Island. Whether you prefer a romantic summer sunset celebration or a unique crystal winter white wedding, OceanCliff offers a variety of wedding and reception options.

The pristine manicured rolling lawns are complemented by a picturesque ceremony site perfect for the exchange of your vows. An adjoining outdoor patio for cocktails and hors d’oeuvres sets the mood while our magnificent Grand Ballroom captivates the panoramic views of the sparkling Atlantic waters accommodating up to 225 guests.

An OceanCliff wedding sets a new standard in romantic elegance. Offering the most unique and comprehensive wedding services our social catering managers combine the finest elements to ensure a perfect experience. Your personalized exclusive event will be a day you will always treasure, with memories to last a lifetime.

Our team of elite wedding coordinators will assist you in the process of planning and executing every aspect of your affair. Our Safari Restaurant or Upper Deck is the perfect setting for a casually elegant Rehearsal Dinner or Post Wedding Brunch. We offer a wide variety of culinary selections from elegant plated presentations to Lobster Boil Buffets.


Whether you join us for business or pleasure, enjoy a world of exceptional luxury in our twenty five elegantly appointed guestrooms and suites. All guestrooms and suites are traditionally furnished in shades of taupe and pale beige. Panoramic oceanfront views coupled with six hundred thread count imported Italian linens create a warm, relaxed, yet refined ambience. A variety of services and amenities are designed with ultimate guest comfort in mind.



OceanCliff is located on the historic Ocean Drive with easy access to downtown Newport and is only a 90-minute drive from Boston and Hartford. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1364226903624-long0565
130x130_sq_1364226765054-8y1c3289
130x130_sq_1364226888815-j165jayeneeti0744
130x130_sq_1364226951337-long0390
130x130_sq_1226015753522-kristenspencero170
130x130_sq_1226014603381-156(2)
130x130_sq_1226015727756-kristenspencero138
130x130_sq_1226064974694-14
130x130_sq_1364226666648-0331
130x130_sq_1364226755529-8y1c3156
130x130_sq_1364226777246-8y1c3605
130x130_sq_1364226788036-8y1c3765
130x130_sq_1364226798306-8y1c3797
130x130_sq_1364226811542-8y1c3847
130x130_sq_1364226819840-8y1c3857
130x130_sq_1364226827806-8y1c3889
130x130_sq_1364226840154-oj7r4199
130x130_sq_1364226850754-0029
130x130_sq_1364226863574-0139
130x130_sq_1364226875522-00549
130x130_sq_1364226886557-guestsoldanoarmormartel0228low
130x130_sq_1364226923314-tablesettingoc
130x130_sq_1364226937620-i1113

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1864
Describe your venue:
Historic Site, Hotel, Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Glamorous, Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
230
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
7
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
24
Number of suites
6
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
2500
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
100
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Every thing I needed the staff had already done! So efficient and helpful. Great value. Being a venue that caters mainly to weddings there wasn't anything left out of my planning thanks the the great staff at OceanCliff. They helped me every step of the way! Many many thanks for all their hard work!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding at OceanCliff in November and couldn't have chosen a better venue. The entire staff was overly accommodating and made me feel calm, comfortable and special throughout the wedding weekend and all the preparations leading up to it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
We seriously can't say enough good things about oceancliff and their staff. From day one they were absolutely amazing to work with and the wedding was absolutely perfect. Every member of their team from the front desk to the event coordinator went above and beyond and our guests haven't stopped talking about what an amazing experience it was. Everyone was so sweet and accommodating to us and all of our guests (for the whole weekend too as we rented out all of the estate rooms). The food was amazing, the venue is gorgeous, the staff is incredible, the views are beautiful. Seriously book this venue, it's worth every single penny. We are so happy we had our wedding here, thank you to everyone at Oceancliff for a spectacular day, we can't thank you all enough!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Incredible value. I felt like a queen for a day. They think of everything. We and our families would recommend them in a heartbeat.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough about Ocean Cliff. They were absolutely amazing through the entire process. Galen and all of the catering and even staff that worked my wedding were unbelievably helpful and truly gave us the perfect day. We never felt rushed and the whole time felt completely taken care of and relaxed. I can't thank them enough for giving us such an amazing memory!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cynthia and John
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
We had such an amazing experience at the Oceancliff! The venue is spectacular but so is the food and staff. Our guests raved about how delicious the food was and how exceptional and attentive the staff were. The day and evening went so smooth that our guests say it is the best wedding they ever attended. Being married at St. Mary's Church and having our reception at the Oceancliff will be an affair to remember for all. We highly recommend the Oceancliff for a wedding venue. After looking at several other venues in Newport, we don't think any venue could compare to the personalized service that the Oceancliff provides. Bravo!! Always, Cynthia and John Crouch
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1338929818668-img5946
Victoria
Wedding:
7/5/2013
5.0/5.0
I could not have asked for a more beautiful and amazing venue! From the staff, the food, to the scenery itself, Oceancliff was absolutely perfect! You can see everyone who works there is doing their best to make your day exactly the way you had envisioned it. The staff was more than helpful, accommodating, friendly, overall amazing! The FOOD was phenomenal. All of our guests were raving about how great the food was and that the portions were perfect and not your typical little wedding bites. I would not have changed a thing about our wedding and am so thankful to everyone at Oceancliff who helped make it so wonderful! Oceancliff is amazing...HIGHLY recommend!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
7/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Our July 4th wedding was a dream! From the moment we first visited OceanCliff we knew this was THE place. The views are breathtaking and the mansion, with its vintage appeal, left our guests impressed and gave us too many beautiful photos to choose from! The food options, quality and overall value were hard to match at comparable venues. From negotiation to planning to execution, everything went smoothly. They worked with our budget and were extremely responsive to our questions and requests. The staff is highly experienced and although they host many weddings there, you never feel as though you are a number. The staff executed our wedding day flawlessly. It is obvious the employees are passionate about their jobs and that translated into the perfect day for us.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marta
Wedding:
6/30/2013
5.0/5.0
I want to thank Ocean Cliff for making my wedding day very special! We worked with a great team, who made sure we were taken care of at all times. We had such an amazing time and our guests did as well. After the reception we sailed in the Schooner Aurora, and wow what a fun time with the crew. If I would do it all over again, I would pick Ocean Cliff hands down.
Thanks for making my wedding day so memorable!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
victoria
Wedding:
6/9/2013
5.0/5.0
I don't even think words can justify the beauty of OceanCliff. The views are breathtaking, the interior is stunning and the food is delicious. My now husband and I went to college in RI and although we live out of state now, we knew we wanted to get married in Newport. OceanCliff was the perfect venue, I had my heart set on it even before getting engaged. We got married last weekend and everything was perfect!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Oceancliff was my dream venue from the very first moment I laid eyes on it. I work as an event planner, with high profile clients in NYC, and I was looking to create a beautiful and unique event that truly celebrated my husband and I. I work in 5 star hotels all over the country, on a daily basis, and I have particular taste, and the Oceancliff staff worked with me to create a spectacular wedding. All the while, I planned the wedding in 4 months. They were very attentive, and helped me with every detail (and I love details)! I cannot say enough great things about the professional staff, amazing food, and picturesque location. I've been told by many of our guests that our wedding was the best wedding they had ever been to, even months later. If you have any event here, you will not be disapointed. We would absolutely recommend Oceancliff!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Zoe
Wedding:
4/2/2013
5.0/5.0
We recently held our wedding, both ceremony and reception, at Ocean Cliff in Newport, RI. It was truly a special day, and made even more special by the assistance of the excellent staff at the OC. From beginning to end they were fun, polite, caring, and on-point. They made everything absolutely seamless. I have gotten so many phone calls and emails telling me how gorgeous the venue was, and how great the service was. I look forward to heading back there for our 1 year anniverasy for a quick getaway. I would recommend the OC in a second! Oh, and btw-the food was amazing. This hotel/venue is a definate winner!!! A+
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
3/9/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about OceanCliff. I just had my wedding, March 9th 2013, my husband and I are overwhelmed with the seamless and professional outcome of our wedding day. The entire process and planning was smooth and communications were always prompt. Early on, we knew we didn't want the normal wedding setup that OceanCliff is accustomed to, and thought we would get a lot of push back. But, incredibly, they were excited about our ideas and eager to try a new floor plan since it was off season and we were the only wedding that day. We transformed the ballroom into three unique separate spaces throughout the night with our ceremony, reception and dance lounge. The transitions were seamless and we couldn't have been happier.

The day of our wedding we were assigned a "captain", Alyssa, who was absolutely priceless. She was responsible for Jamie, my husband, and I all day. Her sole job was to ensure we had everything we needed or wanted. During photos, before the ceremony, my dress tore a little, she mended it! Having Alyssa removed any unnecessary stress or worry we may have had throughout the day.

The food was incredible and everyone that had steak raved about it. We were able to move into the Safari Room for an after party with food and drinks after our reception. Having our ceremony, reception and after party all in one place really made the day move effortlessly from one event to the next. Our guests did not have to worry about driving anywhere, especially important to us, because it was an open bar for the whole event. And, because it is a hotel, almost all stayed on site and only had to stumble up the grand staircase to bed.

The team of professional that made our day so special included; Galen, Jim, Dana, Christina and Alyssa. They are a great team and highly recommend having your wedding at OceanCliff. If blocking rooms at the hotel, be sure your guests know how to book their room in your wedding block.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Such a beautiful setting for our wedding!! Thank you so much, everything was absolutely elegant. We couldn't have asked for anything more you made our dream wedding come true!! You will be getting referrals from us!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
12/2/2012
5.0/5.0
We decided on oceancliff because we wanted our families to have a newport experience. And they delivered! They were so helpful all year and so professional. The service from the minute we arrived until the moment we left was impecible. We were greeted with champagne as we took photos our banquet captain followed us and anticipated our needs all night. Since the wedding all our friends and family talk about is our wedding being the best they ever went to. Food was excellent as well. Was a flawless day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1341786955173-annette17flawless
Annette
Wedding:
11/18/2012
5.0/5.0
We had an Amazing wedding ceremony & reception at the ocean cliff, newport! We loved wedding wire for all our wedding needs and updates. weddingwire.com/kyleandannette
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
11/16/2012
5.0/5.0
I am copying a note that I sent to the staff at OceanCliff after our wedding, I think it conveys everything we feel about them, their location and our wedding:

I just wanted to send you a quick note and thank you so much for everything. Our wedding night (11/16) and really our entire weekend was just PERFECT! We could not have asked for more from anyone that we interacted with from the start all the way through to the finish. Please pass this on to everyone who was involved, I know I am missing some of the girls email addresses who worked with us the day of and who were there from early morning on setting everything up (Sam and Kim) as well as our captain for the night.  The groomsmen in particular fell in love with Bob and Lorraine the bartenders… being as I did not need to go to the bar once bc everything was brought to me, I never got to meet them, but I am still hearing from the guys how awesome they were! There were so many great people I am sure I am missing some in this note.

We have received nothing but compliments from all of our guests as to how nice the place looked, how good the food was and how smoothly everything went. If you were to personally interview each and every one of them they would tell you one by one how great their experiences were that weekend and that is all we could have wished for and more. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend anyone to you and we hope to come back in a year or so and spend our anniversary at your hotel….you all had a part in making our dreams come true.

-Holly and Kenny
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hope
Wedding:
10/28/2012
5.0/5.0
We are so happy that our reception was held at Ocean Cliff! It was such a perfect setting that made for a fabulous wedding. The staff was absolutely amazing and catered to our every need. They were so detail oriented and ensured everything went smoothly!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lori
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
From the minute we saw the website we were very impressed with Ocean Cliff. Ocean Cliff was one of the first venues we toured. After seeing it everywhere else became second best. We decided to have our wedding during the day to allow for enjoyment of the spectacular view and followed the reception with the Schooner Aurora sunset cruise. Everyone we worked with at Ocean Cliff were professional and accommodating. The food was great- better then the typical wedding food. They had many different packages available for us to choose from. Our wedding day went so smoothly. Every detail was taken care of. We are still receiving compliments from our guests in regards to our choice of venue. A number of people stated our wedding was a "10". We thank Ocean Cliff so much for making our day perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1308880463606-175
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We chose OceanCliff because it was the perfect balance of what we both wanted in a venue: the picturesque Newport location, an elegant, formal atmosphere, highly recommended, a place for an after party, and rooms for guests. It was expensive, but we wouldn't change a thing if we were to do it all over again. It was totally worth it. The staff is incredible, and the whole experience was just perfect. It was beautiful and the food was excellent, too.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michaela
Wedding:
8/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Oceancliff was the best venue I saw - It wasn't actually on my "list" of places to see, but I was there for a Newport wedding expo and realized how beautiful the ballroom was and the panoramic views. My wedding was Aug 2012 and it was incredible, the staff was top notch, everyone I spoke with was so nice and sweet and the day/night flowed perfectly due to all of their help. They were very accommodating and really had everything covered.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
From the day that we booked OceanCliff to the day of the wedding they whole staff was fantastic and great to work with. On the day off I did not have to worry about a thing, they were coordinated and well organized and the food was fantastic. My Husband and I had the best day and OceanCliff made it all possible.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Grace
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Bridal shower hosted at Ocean Cliff, Newport RI
Last weekend was my incredible wedding shower hosted by my bridesmaids and Mom at Ocean Cliff Hotel in Newport RI. I have been to A LOT of showers and I was dreading mine, but it far exceeded any expectations I ever imagined! It was a surprise that even my wedding coordinator from Regatta Place was in on, asking me to meet her there to review something for the wedding. (Regatta Place is a sister reception facility owned by Ocean Cliff- who also have been amazing). Once I got to Ocean Cliff I realized the joke was on me and it was my dreaded shower. On the contrary, it was one of the most incredible days I have had leading up to the wedding. The Safari Room was the perfect space for the occasion, the dining room was gorgeous, bright, spacious, and set the tone for a fun filled afternoon. The bridesmaids had worked with Rebecca and Kate (event coordinator and manager) to come up with a wine tasting theme complete with a tasting menu of sample size entrees to be paired with each wine course! From the Scallops with ginger-bacon compote, to mini rack of lamb, this feast was one to remember. The service was over the top accommodating and professional. I rarely write reviews however I am a local here in Newport who has seen the majority of local venues and this sets the bar high for any showers I will attend in the future. The entire process working with Regatta Place and Ocean Cliff has really made this whole wedding process a pleasure. If you are a bride looking for venue ideas I can't say enough about Melanie, Elsa, Kate, and Rebecca. They are extremely organized, prompt to answer any of my questions, and accommodating. To a venue as large as theirs they make you feel as though your wedding is the only one of the season and you are the most important customer. I am looking forward to the big day....
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
3/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Most definitely THE BEST venue in Rhode Island to have a wedding! I was amazed at the non-stop service, care and love shown to all...not just the Bride & Groom! Nowhere else even compares...
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1311649352566-img0060
Chantal
Wedding:
9/23/2011
5.0/5.0
The OceanCliff staff is AMAZING! Like most weddings, mine had some hiccups (rain, late bus, wine spill down the front of my dress, etc...) but the staff kept everything running smooth and was always there when you needed them. I couldn't thank them enough for all their efforts. All of our guests were also very pleased and impressed with the service. The food was also wonderful, and of course the venue. I can't express how happy I was with OceanCliff, from start to finish. And since it rained on my day, I think it was the best indoor option I could have chose in Newport. I had a wonderful experience with them, and would chose OceanCliff in a heartbeat if I could do it all over again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
McGee
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
amazing
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg8
Fran
Wedding:
9/5/2011
5.0/5.0
OceanCliff’s setting on Narragansett Bay is magnificent and romantic and its beautiful ballroom’s panoramic windows provide breathtaking water views no matter what turn the weather takes. That being said, OceanCliff’s greatest asset is its wonderful team of catering and wedding professionals – all of whom are highly competent and amazingly caring, responsive and accommodating. Jim, the Director of Catering, and his assistant, Alison, graciously and promptly responded to my countless requests and questions over the many months of planning as if our wedding was the only one scheduled. Jim is simply the best of the best and it is impossible to adequately express how large a role he played in ensuring that every aspect of our wedding fulfilled or exceeded our high expectations. He expertly guided us in planning a sophisticated and scrumptious menu and accommodated, with the Chef’s cooperation, many special requests. He was a wonderful source of information and referrals and suggested many elegant details that helped us in achieving the wedding of our dreams. Our banquet manager, Joe, was absolutely terrific and ensured that every detail of the ceremony and reception was perfectly executed in accordance with the banquet order and timeline. Our personal server and the entire wait staff were warm, attentive and accommodating. The team also goes above and beyond the call of duty to resolve issues that are not within its purview. About 10 p.m. on the night before our morning wedding, two of the groomsmen discovered that their shirts were soiled and the wrong size but we were unable to reach the tux vendor. I called Joe on his cell phone and he and Jim got a hold of the tux vendor and ensured that he arrived at our hotel by 8 am with replacement shirts. My husband and I highly recommend OceanCliff as an outstanding wedding ceremony and reception venue in every respect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caryn
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
There are not enough great things to say about the OceanCliff. The setting is breathtaking, the staff is unbelieveably accomadating. They cover every detail and can fufill every request. It was better than I could've imagined!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
RC10019
Wedding:
9/2/2011
5.0/5.0
I just got married this past Friday at OceanCliff. I really cannot say enough about this venue.

Yes, the site is absolute perfection--beautiful ceremony space, beautiful cocktail hour space and beautiful reception area. But, on top of all that, the team they have in place is beyond amazing. They act like you are the only wedding they have...even though they do 3-4 weddings every weekend. Kym set up my dessert bar and let me tell you - people were blown away. Jim/Alison are both on top of every detail and Elsa, who works in sales, even helps with the planning process.

Elsa, Jim, Alison, Kym...they are a dream team. From start to finish, I have no complaints!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1274896641961-kayleighandmike
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
This venue was amaaaaaazing!!!! Everyone involved in the whole process was absolutely accommodating and so kind. They were so flexible and helpful I had to give them five stars on everything. I would definitely recommend this venue to anyone!
Services Used: Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
7/31/2011
5.0/5.0
Everything was amazing & what we could have hoped for!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KGL
Wedding:
7/29/2011
5.0/5.0
I could not say enough great things about OceanCliff. Amy, Kim and Rachel were aboslutely fabulous to work with. From the beginning planning to the perfect execution at the reception, they really know how to run a flawless wedding! The ballroom is absolutely beautiful with wonderful views no matter the weather (my wedding day was extremely overcast). The service was great and my guests are still raving about the food. Kim decorated the reception space with all of the items I brought and really achieved my wedding vision. I was so pleased with OceanCliff and would recommend them to any bride!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1312928743234-weddingjuly251
lavendarlady
Wedding:
7/25/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were married in a small outdoor ceremony at the The Ocean Cliff Hotel. They were absolutely fabulous with our ceremony, treating us with the same importance as a larger wedding. Rebecca was absolutely the best to work with. We live out of state and working with her was a breeze. She helped us through out the entire process, helping us to get other vendors. Each one that she recommended was the best possible choice for us. Even through a tough patch, with an unforeseen health issue, she was patient, kind, and as informative as she could be. We could never have pulled off as perfect a wedding, if it had not been for her. She was always accessible, honest and gave 100 percent of herself to us. Our dinner that was held in the Safari room was not only well received, but the waitstaff was remarkable. They were fun, professional and extremely patient. We can not thank them enough. We highly recommend the Ocean Cliff and Safari Room for a wedding that will not only be pleasurable, but memorable and of high quality.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Stephanie
Wedding:
1/8/2011
5.0/5.0
We just had our wedding here on 1.8.11., and we\'re still receiving compliments on how amazing the event was. The staff - beyond fantastic. Between my stressed questions and DH\'s insane budget control, they always were quick and polite answering our questions and reassuring us that everything would be fine. And it was. \r\n\r\nI have been told by several guests that the dinner service was above and beyond what they ever would have expected at a wedding. They were treated as if they were out at dinner, checked on several times through out the night. \r\n\r\nWe had requested to have sparkling cider for our non-alcohol drinking guests, and not one glass was out of place. Our personal server was wonderful, and even held my train when I step outside during the night :)\r\n\r\nThe view, building, food, and most importantly people, made my wedding unforgetable.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
12/21/2010
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for a venue that is amazing - this is it! Also, if you are looking for an amazing limousine service- www.mysticlimousine.com. The luxury car service was great: complementary drinks, immaculate limo and a driver that even fixed my dress! it was a great combo and if you go with them both everything gets covered.

Kate R.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jami
Wedding:
7/18/2010
5.0/5.0
When we first walked in to Ocean Cliff we knew that this is where we wanted to get married. The ballroom is gorgeous with its wall of windows, and the ceremony site is spectacular. You can not beat the views anywhere. The food was excellent, and our personal server Carlos was very attentive. Ocean Cliff exceeded all of our expectations. They were very responsive with every question that I had. From sales all the way through to the catering department everyone was very professional and caring. Even though they do a lot of weddings, they make you feel like your wedding is the most important thing. Everything went off without any problems. Zack was very caring and attentive the whole night. He kept us updated on everything that was going on, and he stuck to the schedule! I feel very lucky to have such great weather. It made the wedding that much better!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lpolin
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I knew right away when we walked into Ocean Cliff that this is where we wanted to get married. The view from the ballroom is just spectaular. From sales all the way through to the catering department everyone was very professional and caring. Even though they do a lot of weddings, they make you feel like your wedding is the most important thing.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
6/18/2010
5.0/5.0
I had my reception at Oceancliff in June of 2010. I would say that I was a relatively high maintenance bride and often contacted the staff with sometimes outrageous questions/requests. Every email was responded to promptly and thoroughly. The entire staff from the sales end to the banquet end of things was fabulous. We did not have a single complaint. The entire event (and the breakfast the next day) were great.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Newport bride
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
Oceanclifd is truly an amazing venue. We were married at the end of May and on the day of our wedding the skies were gorgeous and it looked like we were going to have a sunset perfect wedding. However, 20 min before our ceremony was supposed to start, it started to pour and the winds also picked up. Oceancliff took everything in stride and worked with my florist to create the perfect indoor ceremony site. Needless to say (as you can see by the number of stars I gave this place) they did a phenomenal job with very little worrying on my part. Oceancliff is the perfect Newport venue and what you pay for this place, although expensive, is worth every penny. And it shows. During our final detail meeting with the staff, they went through every nuance from the time I checked into my room to get my hair and makeup done, all the way to arranging the pickup of the floral vases with my florist at the end ofthe reception. They even brought up details that I had overlooked! Such as I wanted to be announced with my now husband into the reception area and go straight into our first dance but had completely forgot about what I was going to do with my bouquet after our announcement. Oceanclifd of course came to the rescue! They had a person on their staff who stood by the door and took my bouquet from me after we were announced and discreetly placed it on our sweetheart table. If you're willing to pay the price, Oceancliff is worth every cent.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sshine
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
We had the wedding of our dreams at The OceanCliff. Everything was perfect which is hard to come by in a wedding venue. The room and grounds were absolutely beautiful. The staff was also amazing, I never had to worry about a thing and I usually worry! The food was EXCELLENT and we are what you might call "foodies" We had the platinum package and everyone was thrilled with the lobster since it is a whole baked stuffed lobster. Many of our guests have told us that it was the nicest wedding they'd ever been to.

I would definitely recommend booking the OceanCliff for your wedding:)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KristiW1
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
I am an event planner, so I am by nature, super picky and highly sensitized to the performance of an event venue. OceanCliff did not drop the ball once, from sales to housing to food & beverage, they had everything down to a "t" and I literally did not have a single thing to worry about on my wedding day. I couldn't have asked for a better venue or staff, they were amazing.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kate
Wedding:
12/5/2009
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding at Ocean Cliff last Saturday and everything was perfect! From our first meeting with Jim to the last "slider" at the after-party in the Safari Room, we had a worry-free celebration. Jim, Carlos, and Kim made sure that we had the time of our lives. They may even have arranged the snow flakes that began to fall just as our reception started!!! Everything was AMAZING!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AGold2009
Wedding:
10/10/2009
5.0/5.0
Love this place....attended a beautiful wedding last spring. Great food too.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
10/10/2009
5.0/5.0
AMAZING!!!!!!
The food, the view, the people, the process and the overall experience was better then I could have imagined. I always knew having a wedding in Newport was my dream, I just could not have imagined what an amazing experience it would be!
I wouldn't trade that day for anything in the world and over and over again I would choose Oceancliff as the place to celebrate!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kgilfillen
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
Worth every penny. Every detail, request, concern was handled quickly and professionally.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Newlyweds
Wedding:
3/21/2009
5.0/5.0
We can not say enough great things about OceanCliff!! We loved that place from the moment we walked in! Everyone that we dealt with was so great, from sales, to the catering, to the front desk .... everyone was so friendly and helpful. OceanCliff has your wedding day so perfectly timed (thanks to Tom and Amy) and they think of everything! We had champagne when we arrived, our own private cocktail hour, the best waiter that attended to us all night (thanks Zach). The food was incredible, as was the service! Everyone from the wedding commented on how much they loved OceanCliff. We had a lot of our guests stay the night of the wedding, which was so much fun! Having our reception at OceanCliff was the best decision that we made - we really, truly loved it!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JKelley
Wedding:
4/26/2008
5.0/5.0
This is the first and only place we looked at and I immedietly fell in love. They have a wonderful staff that made the planning easy. We were living in NYC so most of the planning was through email. The food was fantastic and Amy and Holly are so helpful. I didn't have to worry about a thing that day. I would recommend them to anyone. The scenery is just breathtaking and the pictures taken at sunset were the most beautiful in our thousands of photos.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jcazallis
Wedding:
1/5/2008
5.0/5.0
Oceancliff was the site of my dream wedding! I had my wedding there in January of 2008, and it was a goregous winter wedding. THe staff was amazing, the food was spectacular, the venue was beuatiful...the fires were lit, my guests were thrilled, and I couldn't have been happier with my choice!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
12/2/2007
5.0/5.0
Fabulous place to have a wedding. It looked very tidy and wonderful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jacklin.j
Wedding:
12/10/2005
5.0/5.0
I had always dreamed of having my wedding at Ocean Cliff, and it was everything I imagined and more!!! They way they cater to the bride and groom on there wedding day, truely makes you feel special.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lexi
Wedding:
8/19/2011
4.9/5.0
The staff at OceanCliffs is wonderful to work, very accommodating and will over see all details so that you don't have to. I met with Galan and Amy before the wedding, and the day if Rachel took care of the ceremony and Joe the reception, everything went perfectly, even with the threat of rain. All of our guests also raved about the food. If you are looking for an elegant Newport venue you can't go wrong with Oceancliffs
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HappyBride
Wedding:
8/28/2010
4.9/5.0
Equisite! Everyone was organized and personable, and made our guests feel at home.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer Tavares
Wedding:
7/19/2008
4.9/5.0
I would highly recommend the Ocean Cliff to any bride. They day could not have been more perfect. The staff was so friendly and really catered to my husband and I, and also my parents. They did not miss one detail of what I wanted on that day. They are a very well oiled machine and know how to handle any situation with out having to come to to you. If you are looking to have a wedding and not want to worry about one thing on that day then the Ocean Cliff would be perfect for you. The view and the staff are unforgettable!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amy1874
Wedding:
6/24/2006
4.9/5.0
They were absolutely amazing - worth every single penny. Our wedding day was flawless because of them.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meaghan
Wedding:
5/18/2014
4.8/5.0
Amazing staff, wonderful food, beautiful venue!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
I had my wedding here in October and everyone raved how beautiful it was. The food was outstanding, it should be for the price! They also assign you a sort of assistant for the evening that follows you around in case you need something like " can you get my bouquet?" Would recommend highly!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
8/2/2013
4.8/5.0
I recently got married at Ocean Cliff and can not praise the staff enough for their hard work. They answered every question and calmed all my nerves leading up to the wedding. Prior to our rehearsal they went through all of the details and ensured we were on the same page. The day of the wedding everything went flawlessly, they coordinated the vendors, made sure my husband and I took the time to eat and even reminded us to stay on schedule. I did not have to worry about a thing the entire day; they were adjusting my veil during photos, carrying my flowers when they weren’t needed, and even coaching me on the proper way to cut the cake. My guests were wowed but the quality of the food (especially the salmon) and could not get enough of the view. I am thrilled that we selected Ocean Cliff and thank the staff for all of their hard work.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1323576960936-1554311829069848361593069417307151184896215n
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Everything was perfect. The grounds and the building are beautiful. The views are breathtaking. The staff is courteous and professional. They did a wonderful job. Only complaint was that the staff person assigned to me and my bridal party was often MIA. Several times I needed her and she was no where to be found. Other than that I am extremely pleased with every aspect of my wedding day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katelyn
Wedding:
10/8/2011
4.8/5.0
Oceancliff was amazing to work with! They took all my concerns and handled everything. The day of the wedding I would have never known if anything went wrong because they had everything covered and taken care of. The professionalism level was amazing! My only negative is that the bar prices were expensive per drink and we were hoping for open bar all night and only got 3 hours of it. The food was fantastic everyone loved their meal! Everyone had a great time and were all treated amazingly! I can not thank them enough for all their hard work and help in making our day so special!!!

Thank You
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ddjk09
Wedding:
4/4/2009
4.8/5.0
They are fabulous at Ocean Cliff!! I HIGHLY recommend them. We were planning from a little bit of a distance (Boston) and so I wanted a package deal. Everything about the place is perfect; it is absolutely beautiful both inside and outside. The views are gorgeous, in fact the day we first went there was rainy and dreary, but from inside that big room it all looked misty and magical. As soon as I saw the place, I fell in love with it.

But the best thing about Ocean Cliff is the staff there, they are so professional. Weddings are what they do, and they do them really, really well. They were so helpful and responsive throughout the entire wedding process. Our contact there helped me not only with wedding details for our day at Ocean Cliff, but she recommended a make-up artist, a videographer, and helped me narrow down our florist, etc. And the staff the day of the wedding was unbelievable. They do not have college and high school kids working there to make a few bucks, they have very well trained, attentive, thoughtful waitstaff and bartenders. And Tom, our banquet coordinator, was so smooth, he was like something out of a movie! He kept things running so well all night long, he took care of all of the tiny mishaps and silly details, I had no idea they were going on. And he's funny and nice on top of all that.

It is kind of expensive, but you get what you pay for. We got married in the "off season" (first weekend April) and we didnt have the ceremony there, both of which cut down on the costs. We also got the "Silver package", but the food was great, and we added on a raw bar and a few special apps (I only ate the appetizers anyway). We also didnt stay there, and neither did any of our friends/ family, because #1) we had planned an after party in town and wanted to be able to hang out with our friends there, and #2) they make you reserve an entire block and you have to pay for them up front which I didnt want to do.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
9/16/2007
4.8/5.0
The Oceancliff Hotel truly made our wedding ceremony and reception absolutely spectacular. The staff could not have been more gracious, kind, helpful, organized, and professional.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
1/13/2013
4.7/5.0
When I booked Ocean Cliff as my wedding venue, I was thrilled. There were some bumps transitioning from the woman who actually "sold" me the location and the various staff members who would help me with the details, but otherwise things went smoothly. Steven, who assisted me with my various rooming issues for my guests and sorting out my not so simple billing details, was fabulous! Always a joy to speak to and quick with a response. Samantha, our coordinator, was great. She kept us on schedule and made sure we had everything we needed. She even went so far as to dry off my bridal bouquet (and my bridesmaids) on her jacket! The room was gorgeous, it was flipped quickly while my guests enjoyed their cocktails and hors d'oeuvres and the food was delicious. Everyone was raving about their meals during and after our reception (and I've gotten a few more calls since then!). Our banquet captain, Alyssa, who I declared be called Buttercup was fabulous! She kept me hydrated, kept my dress as dry as possible in the damp, foggy January weather and made sure I had whatever I needed. I really can't say enough about the quality of the staff and services Ocean Cliff has to offer.

I would warn you not to be turned off if the "sales" person isn't all you hope for in a wedding vendor. The good news is you don't have to work with them for long. That part of the experience is the only reason Ocean Cliff missed the mark on 5 stars across the board.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Victoria
Wedding:
12/2/2012
4.7/5.0
Last year, when we booked our reception at OceanCliff, we had high hopes for our wedding day because it was just such a beautiful venue. The staff at OceanCliff did not disappoint! We had the most phenomenal day because of their impeccable attention to detail and their incredible service! From booking with Elsa, to planning with Amy and then Jeff and Alyssa who did everything under the sun to make us happy on our special day - everything was fantastic!
The only drawback to the space was that if we had wanted to hold our ceremony there, due to the time of year, we would have had to use the same ballroom that was already set for the reception, and they wanted to charge us a separate cost for the room we were already paying to use for the reception. Frankly, that seemed a little unfair (doubledipping?), so we just found a different place to have our short and sweet ceremony and kept OceanCliff strictly for our reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg2
Clytie
Wedding:
12/12/2010
4.7/5.0
Such a stunning venue - there's no way to convey that without getting hyperbolic. I'm not hard to please, and I was glad to let the professionals do what they do so well. That being said, a few of the details that we discussed prior to the wedding were missed that day, but nothing that interfered with our wonderful experience. My hotel room was pricey, but I was willing to pay for the convenience (and there doesn't seem to be any dedicated space for personal belongings in the function area). We benefited from a discounted rate for our off-season Sunday day time wedding. They were extremely accommodating of my (apparently unusual!) brunch buffet menu and the food was sensational in both presentation and quality. I was so proud to welcome our guests to our picture-perfect wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
8/3/2013
4.6/5.0
What a beautiful venue. The water views, delicious meals and appetizers, and the service provided by the staff all came together for a perfect afternoon. My one recommendation would be if you happen to have a choice between an evening wedding and an afternoon wedding - chose the evening opening. Our wedding ceremony was at 11:00am at OceanCliff and the reception followed until about 4:30. At times throughout the day it did feel as though we were pushed to the next dance or the bouquet toss to ensure that we would all be leaving on time so they could prep for the wedding to follow. We really enjoyed OceanCliff and if you can, I would recommend chartering the Aurora in the bay - that is something not to be missed.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Britney
Wedding:
2/22/2013
4.6/5.0
Everyone was kind and willing to help out on my big day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diane
Wedding:
9/30/2011
4.6/5.0
My daughter Arynn had her wedding on 9/30/11 there. My husband and I can not say enough about the wonderful staff. Jim Mellisa and Allison and anyone any one else we forgot to mention Thank you for creating a beatiful memory for Arynn and Lincoln
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
John
Wedding:
8/22/2009
4.6/5.0
Oceancliff is an amazing venue for a wedding reception. The view, the service and the food were all top notch. I cant say enough about the food, they really wowed all our guests from the appatizers, to the seafood ice display, to the sit down dinner where they ask you how you would like your filet cooked. It really surprised our guests. all around, great job!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
n1kknakk
Wedding:
10/22/2006
4.6/5.0
The venue itself is simply amazing. The views in that ballroom are absolutely beautiful. The food was delicious. All of our guests are still telling others that our wedding was the best wedding they have ever been to. I could not have asked for anything better from having the ceremony outside by the water to having a reception room and sunset overlooking the ocean.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patricia
Wedding:
6/4/2011
4.4/5.0
All of our guests had a great time. The service was great and of course the view was marvelous. If we had to do it all over again we would choose Ocean Cliff again.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bkent
Wedding:
8/30/2008
4.4/5.0
We enjoyed the service we received at OceanCliff Resort. As the bride, I felt that all of my needs were listened to, accommodated, and taken seriously. The best part of the experience was the staff - everyone was extremely helpful, professional and cheerful. It was nice to feel like the wait staff and event coordinators wanted to be there, rather than they were just there to earn a paycheck.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Gina
Wedding:
6/2/2013
4.2/5.0
We had a fabulous OC wedding. From start to finish, the day went off without one single snag. The venue was gorgeous, the staff was professional. There is no doubt these people know what they are doing. We had a few glitches when it came to timely communications and sometimes important information not being appropriately relayed (nothing that couldn\'t be resolved though). Of course, it\'s not an inexpensive location. You are most certainly paying for the view and the experience/professionalism of the staff. But again, they know what they are doing and not one single guest had any complaints (which is impressive given our nit-picky Italian families!!). If I had to do it over again, I\'d still be an OC bride!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.2/5.0
We had an amazing wedding at Oceancliff! The view and venue is stunning and I had so many guests complement us on it. The food and service were good as well and the room was set up exactly as we had wanted it. They were not overly responsive during the planning process so I did mark them down for that. But the event went off without a hitch, so in the end everything worked out. Its pricey, but definitely a lot of wow factor and that is what you are paying for. This was over our initial budget, but it was the foundation for our whole wedding concept so to me it was worth paying a little extra. I wish they would have lower room rental fees though and just raise the minimums so at least you feel like you get something more out of it. I would do it all over again for sure!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
abelle
Wedding:
8/25/2007
4.0/5.0
We searched & searched for the perfect venue. Newport was the last location we checked because we assumed the cost would be enormous. I'm glad we went to the O.C. last, because we knew for sure that we were getting the best location at a reasonable price.
The catering staff were wonderful. Very attentive & friendly.
The cost to stay in one of their rooms overnight is pricey, but comparable with the rest of Newport. If you do stay there, be sure to close & lock your door. They don't close on their own. We were missing a significant amount of money when we got back to the room after the reception. The manager was responsive, but not friendly or sympathetic. We received nothing from the OC for our loss. It was a total turn off that I'm trying to block out. Everything else was perfect, more than I imagined.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
6/16/2007
4.0/5.0
Oceancliff is a wedding factory (they do probably 3/weekend on average) but as a result they are experts. They know what they are doing and do a good job.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Keeley
Wedding:
9/23/2007
3.9/5.0
Oceancliff did a wonderful job communicating with us. We would highly recommend this place to anyone. Although it is a little spendy, it is well worth it....the views and the location and absolutely perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bubu
Wedding:
11/12/2011
3.6/5.0
My husband and I, who are from NYC, just had our wedding at the OceanCliff and it was AMAZING!!! We rented out all of the rooms for our guests on the estate for both Friday and Saturday night. We held our reception on Saturday night in the ballroom. Everything was perfect. We then opened the safari room for our guests to continue the celebration post wedding. We had also booked Sunday brunch in the Safari Room. Needless to say, we spent alot of our time and money with the OceanCliff. We were lucky to work with great people such as Jim, Rachel, Rebecca and Jodi. They really made sure that our weekend was everything we could have asked for. I want to give all of them a big THANK YOU.

Now for the not so great news. When you first go to see the venue you are set up to work with a sales person, ours was Galen Cobb. I suggest not working with her if you choose to plan a wedding at the OceanCliff. She is very responsive and nice until your 50% deposit is received. Then she is no where to be found. Emails and phone calls went until this day unanswered. There were at times when we were frustrated due to not hearing back from Galen and her response to us was: "well you seemed upset, so I didnt want to call you"??? Her job is to sell you your dream wedding, and let me just say she is not good at doing that. We also never received a thank you note or email from her regarding our decision to have our wedding there. For the amount of money you are spending with the OceanCliff, you would expect the salesperson to be more attentive to your needs.

If it was not for the truly disappointing experience we had with Galen Cobb, I would have given the OceanCliff a 5 out of 5. They do an amazing job and the people you are lucky enough to work with the day of your wedding really are wonderful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
8/30/2003
3.6/5.0
Very professional operation. Staff is very skilled in orchestrating an elegant weddig. Weddin coordinator forget 2 planning details that were promised.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
0.5/5.0
Unfortunately, the beauty and elegance of the Oceancliff was spoiled by their representative's lack of grace in her interactions with me and my fiancé. After visiting on more than one occasion, this venue was at the top of our short list and we were overjoyed to find out that our desired date was available. This is where our excitement ended. We received a sample contract, which was short compared to the other two venues on the top of our list. After attempting to negotiate, we quickly realized that the contract was brief with very little room for creating the "wedding of our dreams," as promised. We thanked the representative for her time, respectfully declined, and took this venue off of our list. We were then contacted and told that other couples would have chosen differently, she apologized for what she assumed was a miscommunication within my family, and the phrase "wasting everyone's time" was used in reference to the time we spent together. For us, this was completely unprofessional and passive-aggressive. To think that any time spent representing Oceancliff was considered time wasted does not speak well of her nor the company. As a result, in addition to not getting our business, the event management does not get our recommendation either. Go elsewhere. I am happy to report that we found another Newport location closer to the water and with an event manager that has plenty of professionalism and enthusiasm to go around. Being personable goes a very long way in sales!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Groom1
Wedding:
2/1/2010
0.0/5.0
We attempted to hold our wedding at Oceancliff, and proceeded with our plans. Unfortunately the staff that runs this site will only "wow" you with booking. Once you sign the paperwork they are no where to be found, and do not return your phone calls. The only form of communication was via email days after the attempts would begin. Oceancliff has ruined everything about a couple starting off their life together. The overall experience was like none I have every had to deal with in my life.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
65 Ridge Rd, Newport, RI 02840 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for OceanCliff Hotel
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo