130x130_sq_1379707190396-f9767629

Old Red Museum

Dallas , TX
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

100 South Houston Street
Dallas, TX US 75202 (map)

PHONE

214-757-1945

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Affectionately known as "Old Red", this 1892 Romanesque courthouse is the perfect setting for your wedding or reception.

The grand architecture of the Old Red Courthouse is... Read more
Affectionately known as "Old Red", this 1892 Romanesque courthouse is the perfect setting for your wedding or reception.

The grand architecture of the Old Red Courthouse is sure to make a great impression. From the moment your guests arrive they will take pleasure in this unique and historic building. Greand entryways made of marble and stone along with the soaring four-story staircase welcomes your friends and family.

The Great Hall features refined architectural amenities, including 20 foot ceilings, graceful arches, chandeliers and traditional Victorian color schemes making it the ideal setting for your one of a kind event. This spacious area can accommodate up to three hundred seated or five hundred standing with ample space for buffets and dance floor. Just down the hall, there are two additonal rooms for ceremonies. The Hatton W. Sumners Courtroom if fully restored to its orginal 1892 elegance and is perfect for a unique wedding. For a more traditional wedding, we offer the ceremonial room with the nuptials taking place in one of Old Red’s turrets.

To see a ceremony and reception at Old Red please go to http://www.engagedstudio.com/slideshows/oldred/index.html

For more information contact Laurence Davis at eventstaff@oldred.org or call 214-757-1945. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1309461473839-paulernestphotos046
130x130_sq_1200609670103-f976_7629
130x130_sq_1309461311193-paulernestphotos042
130x130_sq_1309460891662-photocourtesyofhelmutwalker14
130x130_sq_1309461028942-paulernestphotos009
130x130_sq_1309463387635-ceremonialroom
130x130_sq_1309464895393-harryphoto00023
130x130_sq_1309464398829-img3512
130x130_sq_1309463582682-img2863
130x130_sq_1309464081462-img4186
130x130_sq_1309461118549-paulernestphotos029
130x130_sq_1309462096889-img029
130x130_sq_1309466472057-img3593
130x130_sq_1309463286126-img3859
130x130_sq_1309462218444-picture067
130x130_sq_1380228839884-bgoutsideorm
130x130_sq_1380228865382-bgsiloutteturrent
130x130_sq_1380228895402-bgwpegasus

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1892
Describe your venue:
Government Building, Historic Site, Museum
Describe the style of your venue
City, Garden / Romantic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
350
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
2700
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We didn't have a wedding, but we hosted a large dinner for our company at Old Red and it was absolutely wonderful. The staff is flexible and helpful and you can't beat the location and price. Fantastic views of downtown and the historic interior is beautiful as well. We had a cocktail reception in the hallway outside the ballroom and it was perfect for mixing and mingling - and our guests were even able to enjoy the museum on the 2nd floor (fun little activitity for folks to enjoy during downtime). Highly reccommend the venue and Casey Eubanks - our coordinator.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Josh
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Wonderful venue. Everything I could have asked for and more. A great value!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
This venue was the perfect place to have my daughter's quinceañera at. The venue matched the theme perfectly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Yolanda
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
I absolutely love this venue!!! I believe I made the best decision when I chose this place to get married. It was so spacious and the architecture was beautiful. I am still getting so compliments on this location. I will definitely recommend this location to anyone I know that's getting married.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Old Red was our first and only choice! The history of the building, the helpful staff and the overall feel to the fourth floor were what made Old Red a perfect venue. Everyone at Old Red was so helpful in answering all of my questions. Casey Eubanks was outstanding and great to work with! She went above and beyond in making the Old Red absolutely perfect. She was very quick to respond to emails and without her, our wedding would not have been so beautiful.
The reception space was wonderful and a large majority of our guests asked my husband and me how we found Old Red because it was such a unique venue that has history to it. Even some of our Dallas friends that had never heard of Old Red were impressed by our venue choice. Gorgeous space, excellent staff and memories of our wedding day that we can tell and show our kids!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Best venue ever!!!! It was so nice to have the ceremony and the reception all in the same building. Our ceremony was on one side of the building and the reception was just down the hall. It was separate but close at hand. Working with them was great. Allowed me to make payments. My guest told me that the temperature in the rooms was perfect. Not too cold and not too hot. It was all perfect!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
9/9/2012
5.0/5.0
I loved this venue and everything about it. I had a hard time finding a venue that allowed outside catering, provided enough room for a ceremony and reception, and fit my budget. The Old Red allowed for all this and more.
April the event coordinator was always quick to respond to my questions and meet with me at times that worked for both our schedules.
My guests loved out unique the venue was and my husband loved the history behind it. I highly recommend this location!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding reception here in August this year and it was beautiful. I would highly recommend this venue! Not only is it beautiful the people at Old Red were easy and great to work with as well!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Old Red was an amazing venue! April, the director of events, was AMAZING. She is incredibly patient and definitely knows what she is doing. I highly recommend this venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
The ladies at Old Red really helped me with anything and everything I needed.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarabeth
Wedding:
6/24/2011
5.0/5.0
The Old Red Courthouse was a wonderful venue for our daughter's wedding! The space itself is gorgeous and it made a beautiful backdrop for the ceremony and reception! The staff there is very professional, courteous and helpful! I can't imagine a better place to have had the wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
P
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
Old Red was an excellent venue for our daughter's wedding on Sunday, May 29, 2011 and a particularly nice place since we had so many out of town guests. Ashlee Voda in the facilities department was proactive, easy to work with, and answered all questions and returned calls promptly. Carolyn Brown, the on site planner provided for the rehearsal and the wedding day was helpful and professional and made everything go smoothly. The wedding was beautiful. Book early if you want to be married at Old Red.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1309320488523-41
Brandijnell
Wedding:
5/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Our experience with Old Red was fantastic! It was my dream venue and I am still so happy we got married there! We worked with Ashlee V. and she was fabulous. Here are my top reasons that I loved it as my wedding venue: its historic architecture, the beautiful staircase, the gorgeous tiled floors; having access to the venue the entire day of the wedding for set-up, and having our ceremony and reception in the same building made it super easy for guests and the logistics of the entire event! :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jen_in_plano
Wedding:
1/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Old Red was an easy choice for me because of the gorgeous architecture, central location, and catering flexibility. The Restoration Room was the perfect size for my small wedding, and the price was incredible! The fact that they didn't book any other event on the fourth floor that day made us feel so special, and the Old Red had staff holding my hand every step of the way with the caterer, at the rehearsal, at setup and throughout the day of the wedding. I cannot imagine being wed elsewhere!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg8
Ginny
Wedding:
12/26/2010
5.0/5.0
We absolutely LOVED Old Red! The venue is beautiful! Everyone that we worked with was very helpful along the way. We had April the day of the wedding to help coordinate and she was amazing! She made sure to check with me before things were changed and made sure I was happy. She helped moved the ceremony/reception along and when I said I wanted it to start on time she made sure that happened. This is definitely THE place to get married in Dallas.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jjameslunger
Wedding:
12/3/2010
5.0/5.0
This venue was absolutely everything i wanted in a wedding venue. You get the entire fourth floor, which includes your ceremony room and a separate large reception area. The outside is beautiful and looks like a Castle, and the staircase inside is beautiful for photos. They were very friendly and helpful with everything and did everything in thier power to make my wedding perfect! And it was!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
zgoldenthread
Wedding:
9/19/2010
5.0/5.0
I had the most wonderful experience with Old Red. Not only is the venue gorgeous and a piece of Dallas history the staff really went out of thier way to make my wedding special. Linda (who is no longer there) and April spent lots of time with me going over my questions and helped to plan the perfect floor plan for my wedding.

The day of my wedding my step dad had an issue with his tux that caused him and my mom to be delayed. Morgan stepped in and really helped to save the day. She was so sweet, helpful and wonderful to work with. My family, wedding party and I all adore her. I really do not know what I would have done without her that day.

The facility is gorgous and has so much to offer from dancing to quiet areas...I received so many complements from my guests. I am so glad I selected Old Red as my wedding venue...I am an extremely happy bride.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
T.
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
Old Red provided us with the perfect setting for our ceremony and reception. The staff did a fantastic job showing us the hundreds of different possible set-ups for our reception ballroom. Having the ceremony in the same location immediately prior to the reception provided our guests the conveniece of not having to travel from place to place. Also, being located right in the heart of downtown made it easy for our guest to get to from the dozens of hotels located within walking distance.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
3/14/2010
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding here on a Sunday because when we booked it they had an amazing special going on for a Sunday wedding. I worked mostly with April who was incredibly helpful and always quick to respond! Our coordinators the day of were also awesome and very helpful.
We looked at soooo many venues before choosing this one, we wanted a good price, good looks, and most important was a ceremony and reception location in one place and in different rooms. When booked you get the entire 4th floor so you have so much room to play with and the guests never feel cramped. There’s a kitchen, ceremony room, brides room, huge reception room, and a courtroom (which was fun to take pictures in). The building itself is breathtaking and such a landmark in downtown that when you tell people that you are getting married there, the response is always “No way, how cool!!” Old Red really has everything that a bride is looking for, I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
The Perfect Wedding Achieved
Wedding:
10/24/2009
5.0/5.0
If you are so lucky to have your special date available for booking at the Old Red Museum (courthouse) our family would suggest to secure your date with ORM immediately! We have heard horror stories of brides and their parents using venues that came up with last minute surprises or last minute mistakes that put a damper on the evening but that will never be the case with Linda Murrdock and her staff at the Old Red Museum. We had the perfect reception and it was perfect because of the professional and reliable staff there! We really enjoyed our daughter's wedding and we have beautiful memories to last a lifetime!

Thank you is not enough to say to all the good people at Old Red Museum. We have planned lots of events over the years but none as important as our daughter's wedding and none were as excellently executed without problems as it was at Old Red! Helpful,enjoyable,and professional are just a few words to describe our experience with the Old Red Museum and staff. We would never hesitate to recommend Old Red Museum for a venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shana
Wedding:
6/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Such a beautiful building, and your photos will reflect it! Brittany and Linda were so great to work with, answered all my questions, always made me feel comfortable and they give you a lot of flexibility to be creative with your day. I can not imagine anywhere else that we could have had our wedding ceremony and reception, it was perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bekah301
Wedding:
5/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Wonderful! Brittany and Linda were such great help! They always responded very quickly to emails and were very thorough in working out details. They were also willing to work with me on everything. The venue is beautiful and the floor plan works really well for larger weddings (They do have different rooms for smaller ones too) There are SO many great photo opportunities in the building as well as around it. It is also a great value as you can bring in your own alcohol, which makes an open bar affordable. I was very pleased with the venue and HIGHLY recommend it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1247761439971-nvbridals024
newlywed4
Wedding:
4/24/2009
5.0/5.0
We picked this venue for ceremony/reception because it was historical and beautiful. With lots of out of town guests visiting Texas for the first time it was prime location for lots of sight seeing and had a museum right inside. We booked the whole building including the museum, this was a great idea because our guests walked thorough te museum during cocktail hour while we got our pictures taken. A great way to keep them occupied! Brittany was so fabulous, she answered all my questions, took care of everything on time and made the process stress free. When I found this building I was so excited, it was perfect! A castle in dallas :) It has the best decor inside that goes with any colors. Don't book until you at least visit this place, it has so much charm.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
April
Wedding:
10/26/2008
5.0/5.0
The Staff did a great job.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cupcake31
Wedding:
6/21/2008
5.0/5.0
The Old Red Courthouse was extremely flexible with letting us use candles, dance floors, mood lighting, leaving things there the night before...
The ladies were very friendly and always wrote right back when I had a question.
The atmosphere is fun, open, and has great views of downtown Dallas.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
meresauter
Wedding:
5/25/2008
5.0/5.0
I loved having our wedding and reception here! I was wanting to do something other than the church/country club wedding and this was SO PERFECT & unique! Really such a gorgeous location. The wedding coordinators there are wonderful and will really help work with you to come up with ideas! Our guests were truly wowed by the look and feel of Old Red and we are STILL hearing over and over that it was"the most beautiful wedding I have ever been to..." We had our wedding on the Sunday evening of Memorial Day weekend and we got the venue at half price so look into Friday night and Sun. night weddings to save some $$! Really, if you are looking for something unique and gorgeous I couldnt recommend Old Red enough!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ashley
Wedding:
12/31/2007
5.0/5.0
This place allowed soooo much bang for our buck... the only downfall would be the lack of free parking. But it was sooo worth the cost, and the fact they we could have the entire museum was awesome
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ivana
Wedding:
2/16/2014
4.9/5.0
Old Red was the perfect location for my wedding!
I was so frustrated and actually looked at over 10 venues!
Old Red is wonderful for both ceremony and reception. Parking is very convenient for guest and doesn't cost a fortune (which is great, considering it's in Dallas)
They have a beautiful bridal suite that has wonderful lighting and two bathrooms.
The event staff was wonderful to work with and was able to answer all of my questions.
The day of the wedding, their staff watched our bridal suite like a hawk and made sure all of our personal belongings were safe. It was fantastic.

The reception has these awesome corner rooms that can be multi-purpose: Kid's room, Bar, photo booth. It is also a wonderful view of Dallas.

Please note: The restroom is one floor down from the reception and ceremony area. Although, our guest did not mind, because it wasn't difficult to get to.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1310088374883-audreyhepburnpictblname
Nikki
Wedding:
10/29/2011
4.9/5.0
Old Red is amazing! We truly lucked out finding this place. We had a place booked originally that fell through, and luckily, Old Red had a cancellation. Ashlee is extremely professional and really enjoys what she does. The venue is beautiful and was perfect for a one-location wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
5/20/2011
4.9/5.0
This venue was exactly what we were looking for. I loved that we could have our ceremony and reception there. The architecture and great location were a huge plus. I think it was a great value for your money and we couldn't have dreamed of a better venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sdiane0713
Wedding:
11/12/2010
4.9/5.0
I ABSOLUTELY FELL IN LOVE WAS THIS VENUE FROM DAY ONE! It's history and beauty made it so unique. It's like a fairy tale castle! The staff was incredible and I loved the parking situation. Nothing bad to say!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg17
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
Old Red was a great venue for our wedding and reception. The staff were so incredibly helpful and flexible. The only negative is you have to pay for parking for your guests, but other than that it was a beautiful venue!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1254104043103-jd15789
Katie Mc.
Wedding:
6/28/2009
4.9/5.0
It was the most gorgeous place! Pictures were amazing there and the spaces were perfect for our size wedding. Book this place quick or else you'll be waiting a long time to get it! The only downside for us was that they don't allow kegs - only bottled beer. And your (or your caterer) must take all trash with them since there are not any dumpsters. Communication with them is very quick and they always have an event coordinator or 2 on your day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
3/20/2011
4.8/5.0
Loved this venue! The courthouse is a beautiful place to hold your ceremony and/or reception! book quickly though, they fill up fast!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1277096537968-021
Christie
Wedding:
10/29/2010
4.8/5.0
The staff at Old Red were excellent and more than willing to help in whatever capacity needed. I liked having the option to choose my own vendors for catering and bringing in whatever I like. I missed having real candles, but my flameless candles were excellent replacements.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becky/Arlington, TX
Wedding:
3/12/2010
4.8/5.0
An excellent experience! Not only is the Old Red a beautiful venue, the staff was great. Everyone we woked with was professional, gracious and always willing to help.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1264952430307-firstdance2
sweetsweetcyn
Wedding:
1/3/2010
4.8/5.0
Old Red was an absolutely beautiful site for our ceremony and reception. There was a great bridal dressing area, the ceremony room had a huge window behind us where guests could see the lights of the city, and the reception room was extremely large and vintagely breathtaking. We had many comments from people about how they loved not having to drive to a different place for the reception. Our guests raved about the site the whole night and we couldn't have been happier!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1208579240822-jeremyandablaengagementpic2
AH1
Wedding:
1/1/2009
4.8/5.0
We loved having both our ceremony and reception at the Old Red Courthouse. First of all, the building itself is simply stunning, and full of Dallas history. The room where we held the reception is spacious and has a beautiful view of the Dallas skyline from the turrets. I also liked the convenience of having one venue for both the wedding and reception as well as the addition of using the museum itself for the cocktail hour. Brittany and the ladies at the Old Red were always so helpful! They always answered all my questions promptly, and gave me plenty of suggestions when I needed them. I did not have a wedding coordinator, so they even did some "day of" coordination for me which I really appreciated!

I would highly recommend the Old Red as a wedding venue!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stefani
Wedding:
6/12/2011
4.7/5.0
We fell in love with Old Red when we looked at venues in November 2009. We booked and we didn’t have any issues with the staff. We had one problem, where there was a change in policy since we booked and Old Red implemented a 3 hr. minimum for security, which was not in our contract. I asked why we had to pay extra that we weren’t expecting and the new coordinator, April, agreed to let us only pay for the 2 hrs. we needed security. The staff on site during the wedding were amazing and so nice and friendly and always asking if we needed anything. Plus the underground parking was very helpful for our guests.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
travis_campbell06
Wedding:
2/18/2012
4.6/5.0
We really enjoyed having our wedding here. The venue is perfect if you're kind of a history nut too. It's right in the heart of downtown Dallas right across from Dealey Plaza. It's setup so nice to be able to walk from the ceremony room to the reception hall on the same floor. All of the peaking is conviently located under the building and they will give you vouchers for $2 the day of the wedding rather than paying full price. We had an unforgettable wedding at the Old Red.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1249362639809-ferrerwedding802
Gina
Wedding:
4/25/2009
4.6/5.0
Overall I had a great experience with the Old Red staff, very friendly and responsive. There were a lot of restrictions on what could and could not be done because the building is historic and it is a museum, so that limits your flexibility. I was disappointed that there was an additional charge for the dancefloor, and in hindsight this venue is on the pricey side and should offer more, perhaps Chivari chairs, a standard linen, the dancefloor, something more than just tables and chairs.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Happy Bride
Wedding:
11/15/2008
4.6/5.0
The Old Red was a great venue. Our guest loved the beautiful building!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LC-MOB/WP - Dallas, TX
Wedding:
7/22/2011
4.4/5.0
The venue speaks for itself! The location is great, centrally located; both ceremony and reception can be held there. It is in downtown Dallas, so traffic can be a bit of an issue, but really works well, especially for out of town guests. West End is fun. Loading and unloading can also be a little challenging. The staff is good, they work great with vendors. I suggest you carefully review everything as you go along.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heidi
Wedding:
5/31/2014
4.2/5.0
The Old Red Museum is a beautiful venue, perfect for what I was looking for! I wanted to have the ceremony and reception in the same place, and it's ideally suited to that. Plus, it's a "BYO" catering and bar, so we were able to select what we wanted, and get a deal by purchasing the alcohol ourselves. I liked that flexibility. Their coordinator was really helpful, and our wedding went really well. The only issue was some confusion with the parking vouchers, and where our guests should exit to use them. I'd recommend clarifying that, but that's really not a big deal. Overall, it was a wonderful space for a wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tori
Wedding:
3/10/2007
3.6/5.0
We absolutely adored having the Old Red Courthouse as our venue. They were the very first vendor we booked with and the space couldn't have been better! We did have an occasional tiff with our contact there, but no major issues.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
100 South Houston Street, Dallas, TX 75202 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Old Red Museum
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1379707190396-f9767629