130x130_sq_1337562520666-oracleindexphoto

Oracle Band

Gaithersburg , MD

LOCATION

19359 Keymar Way
Gaithersburg, MD US 20886 (map)

PHONE

800-470-0711

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

What is it that makes one band different from another?
What is it that influences YOUR decision making process?
Is it "The Sound"? Oracle Band is an affordable six piece band... Read more
What is it that makes one band different from another?
What is it that influences YOUR decision making process?
Is it "The Sound"? Oracle Band is an affordable six piece band with a 15 piece sound. Through the use of cutting edge technology Oracle will provide the kind of sound you hear on the original recordings. We play the parts, not just the chords. Intricate vocal harmonies (everyone in the band sings), violin / fiddle virtuosity, rock solid bass & drums, dynamic trumpet work, exciting guitar riffs...it’s all there. Some people have said they couldn’t believe a sound that full could come from a group this small. Best of all, despite the big, fat, full sound, the volume is NEVER too loud. YOU have the final word on volume, and we are well aware that a wedding is an event where family and friends want to socialize OFF the dance floor as well as on it. We’ll ensure that everyone can hold a normal conversation without having to shout. Is it the repertoire? With over 500 songs for you to choose from, there are certain to be plenty of your favorites from the following styles: Motown Top 40 Classic Rock Swing Country Oldies Big Band / Standards Disco If there’s a special song you’d like for your first dance or parent dance that we don’t already do, we’ll learn it for you, no problem. As if that weren’t enough, since we bring a live DJ to each wedding, we can spin ANY of your favorite songs in between the band’s sets. You get the excitement and energy of a live band, coupled with the expansive repertoire of a DJ, all in one reasonably priced package. Want to check out our repertoire? Head on over to the Oracle Band Songlist Page and see for yourself the kind of variety we offer Is it the PRICE? Ah...we struck a "chord" (sorry) there! It’s usually the first question anyone asks, and it tends to be the last one anyone wants to answer. We’re not afraid to put it right out front. We charge the same amount no matter what. Hiring a band shouldn’t be like buying a used car, where you have to "negotiate". Oracle charges $2400 for a four hour reception within the Maryland / Northern Virginia / Washington DC metropolitan area, and $400 for each additional hour. We feel this is one of the most competitive rates you’ll find anywhere. Is it the attitude? Are you ready for some FUN? We are! We wouldn’t be doing this if we didn’t LOVE what we do. When WE have fun, EVERYONE has fun! A wedding is never "just another gig" to Oracle. We enjoy each and every performance, we treat them ALL as the most important, and yet we respect the fact that this is YOUR wedding, not a band showcase. YOU are the stars of the show, not the band. Your wedding day should be a reflection of YOUR passions, YOUR tastes, and YOUR personalities. Oracle will help to ensure that your wedding day bears the mark of YOUR personality.

Our commitment to you doesn’t end when the ink on the contract is dry. We are always available for consultation as you move forward with your plans. If you need ideas, if you want to bounce ideas off of us, or if you’re uncertain about any aspect of the planning process, you’re always welcome to give us a call, or drop us an e-mail Since we are an independent band you are always dealing directly with the band members and not through a third party agent that may or may not pass your wishes on to the band.
We’d love to have you come out to hear the band perform live. We maintain an extensive public performing schedule so you can come out to hear the band live without having to crash someone else’s wedding! Many bands today consider themselves above performing in nightclubs or restaurants, but hey...Oracle is different...remember? We LOVE to play, no matter where it may be.

You can find out where we’ll be performing by visiting the Oracle Band Calendar Page. We have all of our public performances listed, as well as directions to all of the locations. This is how you should be evaluating bands, by hearing and seeing them perform live, wthout having to crash someone else’s wedding! Unfortunately far too many bands these days consider themselves beneath performing in clubs or restaurants.

Our website also has literally thousands of photos from various public performances. Check out the Oracle Band Photo Galleries and you can see for yourself just how much fun everyone has at one of the band’s performances. We have created a special photo gallery right here on the WeddingWire website of photos we’ve taken at many of the various weddings we have performed at over the years.

From indoors to outdoors, from afternoons to evenings, we get people to DANCE! Check out the faces of the folks on the dance floor. They are having FUN! You can also see how we interact with the crowd, from bringing the kids up on stage with us to play a tambourine to bringing the wedding party up with us to sing a song.

Are you out of town and perhaps can’t make it out to one of our live performances? That’s OK. You can listen to over 100 song excerpts right from our website. All of the clips you hear were recorded directly off the mixing board in live performance. What you hear is what you get. There were no studio tricks, overdubs, retakes, or anything like that. Go to our Audition the Band page to give us a listen. Read less
Band

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1205937692188-weddingwire-01
130x130_sq_1205937719907-weddingwire-02
130x130_sq_1205937753157-weddingwire-03
130x130_sq_1205937764969-weddingwire-04
130x130_sq_1205937776485-weddingwire-05
130x130_sq_1205937786563-weddingwire-06
130x130_sq_1205937814626-weddingwire-07
130x130_sq_1205937825438-weddingwire-08
130x130_sq_1205937836360-weddingwire-09
130x130_sq_1205937848157-weddingwire-10
130x130_sq_1205937862626-weddingwire-11
130x130_sq_1205937874626-weddingwire-12
130x130_sq_1205937888048-weddingwire-13
130x130_sq_1205937901626-weddingwire-14
130x130_sq_1205937913641-weddingwire-15
130x130_sq_1205937926079-weddingwire-16
130x130_sq_1205937946157-weddingwire-17
130x130_sq_1205937963188-weddingwire-18
130x130_sq_1205937978923-weddingwire-19
130x130_sq_1205937996719-weddingwire-20
130x130_sq_1205938016782-weddingwire-21
130x130_sq_1205938047454-weddingwire-22
130x130_sq_1205938080454-weddingwire-23
130x130_sq_1205938102485-weddingwire-24
130x130_sq_1205938124735-weddingwire-25
130x130_sq_1205938147063-weddingwire-26
130x130_sq_1205938170641-weddingwire-27
130x130_sq_1205938193032-weddingwire-28
130x130_sq_1205938217313-weddingwire-29
130x130_sq_1205938241204-weddingwire-30
130x130_sq_1205938268719-weddingwire-31
130x130_sq_1205938296657-weddingwire-32
130x130_sq_1205938329813-weddingwire-33
130x130_sq_1205938358110-weddingwire-34
130x130_sq_1205938388094-weddingwire-35
130x130_sq_1205938419641-weddingwire-37
130x130_sq_1205938472798-weddingwire-38
130x130_sq_1205938522969-weddingwire-39
130x130_sq_1205938566079-weddingwire-40

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Band
What is the size of your band?
Medium (4-6 musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Country, Dance, Funk, Motown, Oldies, Pop, R&B, Rock, Strings, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
What is your band's usual attire?
We perform in formal attire unless otherwise requested
Do you offer live sample performances or CDs?
We maintain an extensive public performing schedule. See our website or FaceBook page for details. Our website hosts over 100 sound clips of songs, all recorded directly off the mixing board in a live performance. These are NOT studio efforts, but EXACTLY what came out of our speakers live in performance. What you hear is what you get!
Are you willing to learn songs that you do not currently know?
Absolutely!
How much time do you usually need for setup?
1 hour minimum, 2 hours preferred. Much depends on the complexity of the load-in. Some downtown hotels are very difficult to get into and out of unobtrusively.
How much space do you usually require?
24' w x 8' d - But we're adaptable. A stage is NOT required.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
Public performances only.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
We bring our own lights to illuminate the band, and we offer a full compliment of special lighting as well on request. There is no additional charge for this.
Do you usually emcee the event, or talk between songs?
We can act as MC, or we're perfectly happy to yield that job to someone else. There is very little chatter between songs, we let the music do the talking. We feel strongly that the focus of the evening should be on the bride and groom, not the band.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
Reading a crowd is an art form unto itself. So much depends on the circumstances. Oracle Band understands that the band is NOT the center of the universe at a wedding, and many family members may be getting together for the first time in years. Sometimes a switch to some slower songs so people can talk and dance at the same time will do the trick. Sometimes it's as simple as turning the lights down over the dance floor, (many people feel self conscious about dancing when everyone can see them...a dark dance floor can lend a sense of anonymity & a feeling of security. Other times it's a matter of picking up the tempo, changing musical periods, more oldies, more current material, more rock...depends on the crowd. What we WON'T do is start talking to the crowd, turn the reception into a band showcase, or break out some inflatable guitars, unless of course the client ASKS us to!
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you need a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
Our breaks work with your itinerary. We typically play for about an hour during cocktails, take a longer break over dinner, come back as everyone is finishing to start the dancing off, and perhaps take one other break to cut the cake, toss a bouquet, things like that. While we always appreciate a meal, it is not required.
Do you play recorded music during your break?
We have a live DJ that takes over between sets at no additional charge. You actually get a band AND a DJ for the same price. You can plan your break music out in advance, or we can simply play music that everyone is obviously enjoying and dancing to. Of course we take requests as well, unless the request happens to be on your "do-not-play-this-song-under-any-circumstances" list
What is your overtime rate?
$500 / hour, prorated on half hour basis. You do not have to decide whether you want us to play over until the last possible minute. You can wait to see if everyone is still going strong before making the call. We only book one wedding a day, so we don't have anywhere else to go...we'll be happy to stay if you want us to.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
There is no charge for travel in the Washington DC, Central Maryland, or Northern Virginia area. Extended travel fees quoted on a case by case basis, depending on how much gas happens to cost at the time!!!
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
$600 holds the date. Balance is due on or before the day of the reception.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathryn
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
Oracle did such an AMAZING JOB on our wedding day!! We got married on March 29, 2014 and my family and friends are still talking about how amazing the band was! Everyone agreed it made the best reception they’d ever been too! They sound amazing (sound clips on the website don’t do them justice!) and they were amazing to work with! So friendly and professional! Veronica was so sweet and when I finally met her I couldn’t wait to hug her! Our wedding day was for sure the best day of our lives and Oracle Band will always stand out as one of the best parts! Highly recommend them if you want everyone dancing the whole night! Our guests were still dancing as we skipped out the door!
Oracle did such an AMAZING JOB on our wedding day!! We got married on March 29, 2014 and my family and friends are still Read more...
Oracle did such an AMAZING JOB on our wedding day!! We got married on March 29, 2014 and my family and friends are still talking about how amazing the band was! Everyone agreed it made the best reception they’d ever been too! They sound amazing (sound clips on the website don’t do them justice!) and they were amazing to work with! So friendly and professional! Veronica was so sweet and when I finally met her I couldn’t wait to hug her! Our wedding day was for sure the best day of our lives and Oracle Band will always stand out as one of the best parts! Highly recommend them if you want everyone dancing the whole night! Our guests were still dancing as we skipped out the door! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Fantastic!!! There's nothing more I can say. They gauge the audience well and there was never a dull moment. The dance floor was filled the entire time and everyone was raving about them. LOVE THEM!!
Fantastic!!! There's nothing more I can say. They gauge the audience well and there was never a dull moment. The dance Read more...
Fantastic!!! There's nothing more I can say. They gauge the audience well and there was never a dull moment. The dance floor was filled the entire time and everyone was raving about them. LOVE THEM!! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Amazing! What a wonderful group of performers. They really know how to get a party started and keep it going till the very end! My friends and family LOVED the band.
Amazing! What a wonderful group of performers. They really know how to get a party started and keep it going till the very Read more...
Amazing! What a wonderful group of performers. They really know how to get a party started and keep it going till the very end! My friends and family LOVED the band. Read less
Services Used: Band
130x130_sq_1343149893065-cover
Sarah
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Oracle was FANTASTIC at our wedding! This was no surprise to us, as we go listen to them play regularly around town. When the time came to plan for music at the wedding, there was no question as to who my husband and I wanted to play. All we had to do was make sure they weren't already booked! I am still getting comments about how great the band was, and people asking who they were and where they are playing next. They were absolutely a hit! They can play any genre of music and always sound great doing so! In fact, my father wrote his own song for the father daughter dance, and Mike learned it and sang it beautifully. He went above and beyond, and I am so thankful that they helped make our day so special.

I also have to give a special thanks to Nikki. She is the violinist, and played as I walked down the aisle. She played beautifully and made my day that much more memorable.

I can't recommend Oracle enough!
Oracle was FANTASTIC at our wedding! This was no surprise to us, as we go listen to them play regularly around town. When Read more...
Oracle was FANTASTIC at our wedding! This was no surprise to us, as we go listen to them play regularly around town. When the time came to plan for music at the wedding, there was no question as to who my husband and I wanted to play. All we had to do was make sure they weren't already booked! I am still getting comments about how great the band was, and people asking who they were and where they are playing next. They were absolutely a hit! They can play any genre of music and always sound great doing so! In fact, my father wrote his own song for the father daughter dance, and Mike learned it and sang it beautifully. He went above and beyond, and I am so thankful that they helped make our day so special.

I also have to give a special thanks to Nikki. She is the violinist, and played as I walked down the aisle. She played beautifully and made my day that much more memorable.

I can't recommend Oracle enough! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AmyTarbell
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Working with Steve and Oracle band was a pleasure! Not only were they a great value, but they are amazing musicians! The variety of music they can play is perfect for everyone at a wedding. We got so many compliments about the band and people just could not believe how great they sounded! I wouldn't hesitate again to hire Oracle Band if we are looking for a band in the future! Thanks again Oracle!!!
Working with Steve and Oracle band was a pleasure! Not only were they a great value, but they are amazing musicians! The Read more...
Working with Steve and Oracle band was a pleasure! Not only were they a great value, but they are amazing musicians! The variety of music they can play is perfect for everyone at a wedding. We got so many compliments about the band and people just could not believe how great they sounded! I wouldn't hesitate again to hire Oracle Band if we are looking for a band in the future! Thanks again Oracle!!! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lesa
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Oracle performed during our ceremony and the music was positively beautiful. We actually knew of the band because they perform at our church and when we discovered they did this professionally, we knew we had to have them for our ceremony. We did have a full Catholic mass for our ceremony so there was a lot of music to cover. Not only that, but my husband is part Chilean so it was important to us to have some Spanish songs since we had some Spanish speaking guests. They were accommodating to our needs and all the songs were sung and performed beautifully. I have received many many compliments about the ceremony music from family and friends. Highly recommend!
Oracle performed during our ceremony and the music was positively beautiful. We actually knew of the band because they Read more...
Oracle performed during our ceremony and the music was positively beautiful. We actually knew of the band because they perform at our church and when we discovered they did this professionally, we knew we had to have them for our ceremony. We did have a full Catholic mass for our ceremony so there was a lot of music to cover. Not only that, but my husband is part Chilean so it was important to us to have some Spanish songs since we had some Spanish speaking guests. They were accommodating to our needs and all the songs were sung and performed beautifully. I have received many many compliments about the ceremony music from family and friends. Highly recommend! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
joklassen
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Having Oracle Band perform at our daughter's wedding was a great decision. They are a group of talented musicians and singers who can keep a reception energized and the guests entertained. So, so many of our guests took the time to tell us how much they 'loved' the band and their music. The wedding turned out 'perfect' and I give Oracle Band a large share of the credit for making the day one that we will long remember with happiness and joy.
Having Oracle Band perform at our daughter's wedding was a great decision. They are a group of talented musicians and Read more...
Having Oracle Band perform at our daughter's wedding was a great decision. They are a group of talented musicians and singers who can keep a reception energized and the guests entertained. So, so many of our guests took the time to tell us how much they 'loved' the band and their music. The wedding turned out 'perfect' and I give Oracle Band a large share of the credit for making the day one that we will long remember with happiness and joy. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
6/25/2011
4.8/5.0
This is a fantastic band for a wedding. They play great music and take only small well deserved breaks. We have heard them in both outdoor and indoor situations and they sounded great in each environment. Highly recommended if you want to get your guests dancing
This is a fantastic band for a wedding. They play great music and take only small well deserved breaks. We have heard them Read more...
This is a fantastic band for a wedding. They play great music and take only small well deserved breaks. We have heard them in both outdoor and indoor situations and they sounded great in each environment. Highly recommended if you want to get your guests dancing Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
3/27/2010
5.0/5.0
This band played for our recent wedding and I cannot tell you how happy I was to have them at my wedding. It would not have been as fun of a wedding had they not been there. They are extremely reasonably priced and during their breaks, they have one of the members "dj" to keep the group going. They are very flexible and play so many good wedding songs. The band leader, Steve is very responsive via email and suggests good ideas on timing of everything in order to keep the crowd excited and dancing. Two cousins have booked them for their weddings after attending our wedding!! You will not be disappointed by booking Oracle Band for your wedding or event.
This band played for our recent wedding and I cannot tell you how happy I was to have them at my wedding. It would not Read more...
This band played for our recent wedding and I cannot tell you how happy I was to have them at my wedding. It would not have been as fun of a wedding had they not been there. They are extremely reasonably priced and during their breaks, they have one of the members "dj" to keep the group going. They are very flexible and play so many good wedding songs. The band leader, Steve is very responsive via email and suggests good ideas on timing of everything in order to keep the crowd excited and dancing. Two cousins have booked them for their weddings after attending our wedding!! You will not be disappointed by booking Oracle Band for your wedding or event. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
echopes
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
We cannot say enough about how great this band is! The pricing is similar to a DJ - and what a difference!! Everyone is talking about the band!!
We cannot say enough about how great this band is! The pricing is similar to a DJ - and what a difference!! Everyone is Read more...
We cannot say enough about how great this band is! The pricing is similar to a DJ - and what a difference!! Everyone is talking about the band!! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JSHBradshaw
Wedding:
8/16/2008
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was over a month ago and we still have people telling us how great our band was! The band really took the time to listen to the music we wanted to be played at our reception. At the same time the band was able to feel out the crowd and play music that they would enjoy dancing to. Our dance floor was packed from the moment dinner was finished being served until the very end of the night!
Our wedding was over a month ago and we still have people telling us how great our band was! The band really took the time Read more...
Our wedding was over a month ago and we still have people telling us how great our band was! The band really took the time to listen to the music we wanted to be played at our reception. At the same time the band was able to feel out the crowd and play music that they would enjoy dancing to. Our dance floor was packed from the moment dinner was finished being served until the very end of the night! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
twoluckypennies
Wedding:
7/8/2006
5.0/5.0
If you are having a wedding in the Annapolis area you have to consider the Oracle Band! They were so much fun and got everyone up dancing and kept them there! I have never had so much fun at a party before, and so many of my guests have told me the same time and time again! They were really attentive and listened to my requests (e.g. no chicken dance) and make substitutions that were a lot of fun (e.g. conga line) -- and they played really great songs that appealed to everyone in the audience. If you are having a wedding in the area make sure you check them out -- they have concerts and samples on their website you can review which is great for long-distance brides.
If you are having a wedding in the Annapolis area you have to consider the Oracle Band! They were so much fun and got Read more...
If you are having a wedding in the Annapolis area you have to consider the Oracle Band! They were so much fun and got everyone up dancing and kept them there! I have never had so much fun at a party before, and so many of my guests have told me the same time and time again! They were really attentive and listened to my requests (e.g. no chicken dance) and make substitutions that were a lot of fun (e.g. conga line) -- and they played really great songs that appealed to everyone in the audience. If you are having a wedding in the area make sure you check them out -- they have concerts and samples on their website you can review which is great for long-distance brides. Read less
Services Used: Band

DEALS

10% active duty military, police, & firefighter discounts
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
You folks put your lives on the line for us. The least we can do is offer a blanket 10% discount to the men and women serving in our armed forces, responding to fires & other disasters, and maintaining law and order. God bless you all!!!
Deal #WW091948e3f5ab1d58
220x220_1337562520666-oracleindexphoto

MAP

 
19359 Keymar Way, Gaithersburg, MD 20886 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Oracle Band
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1337562520666-oracleindexphoto