Nophoto-130

Orion Palace

Brooklyn , NY

LOCATION

2555 Mcdonald Ave
Brooklyn, NY US 11223

PHONE

718-375-1188
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

3.7
out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
3.8/5.0
3.5/5.0
3.8/5.0
3.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
had an amzing experience as a guest at a wedding, booked my wedding here for august so excited!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
12/2/2012
5.0/5.0
We fell into Orion Palace as a default because our original venue flooded during Hurricane Sandy...however, it was a blesing in disguise. The venue was not only absolutely breathtaking in appearance, clean and elegant, but the owners, staff, food and overall experience was magnificent. The owners, Eugene and Tsilya were very accomodating and worked with us to make our wedding dreams a reality. We had 3 weeks to plan our wedding at the Orion, and they were calm and responsive throughout. They went above and beyond anything we expected, and gave us an unforgettable day. The guests were amazed with the attention to details, the decor, cleanliness. The food was superb, wait staff was attentive and prompt. I would recommend Orion to any couple looking for a great experience and an unforgettable day. Thank you Orion for making our dreams a reality! Anya & Dima 12/2/12
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Coming from a past employee and current frequent customer, I would like to write a review to explain the poor reviews writen in the past. The simplest way to explain would be YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!!!!! for some reason people have a hard time understanding that. when people try to negotiat an cut corners to save money they end up with bad service and/or poor food, simply because that is the only thing they want to/can pay for. so all I am trying to say is don't pay atention to those bad reviews, writen by people who dont know what they are talking about. when i had my wedding there in november, i payed top dollar and got everything the best. i come to Eugene and Tsila, the managers, for almost all my events and i always come out very happy.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
11/24/2012
5.0/5.0
The most amazing place I ever had a party in.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
11/24/2012
5.0/5.0
I had a wedding at orian palace and it was the most I can ask for
Services Used: Catering
Bg13
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.7/5.0
I was a guess to a wedding yesterday July 7, 2012. This is an updated review from all the good stars it received in 2011-2009. I hated the quality of service in this venue. I suggest if your looking to have a nice talked about wedding you DO NOT book this junk. The food was horrible, it seemed like home cooked and it wasn't grandmas cooking either ( the taste you love to taste) it was more like aunt Becky experimenting in the kitchen. I saw practically everyone leave a plate full of food gone to waste.. everything was disorganized and sloppy. Some waiters looked like they just wanted to get everything over with no smiles no friendly hellos ... Nothing.... We had to ask for missing forks, cups and ice. I'm not sure if it's the lack of staff but I really wasn't pleased to wait about 20 mins for utelcles I needed to eat with. The boss or manager of the place screamed at one of the young female waiters in front of everyone and the waiter seemed to want to cry of embarrassment. ( what she screamed about? I don't know it was in Russian but it sounded harsh) the forks and knifes were soo scratched. In the beginning of the wedding there were a short amount of tables, people were force to wait while the staff slowly brought out an extra beat up wooden table that seemed like my uncle rob would have put together with some nails and a hammer... ( of course they cover it slowly with a cloth) but not a nice sight to see that THATs what's underneath your plate. The DJ wasn't provided by the venue so it was not part of the service. The venue it self was pretty it gave you a nice "wow that's nice" feeling. I thought it was going to be a wonderful establishment.. Thought wrong. The bathroom also had a bad unclean order... I don't know what that was about but I felt disgusted.. And as your guests arrive all they are going to see is like an ok looking venue with trucks and train tracks above with like dirtyness and like I don't know if it was like storage for deserted cars .. I just thought the area was cheap ugly and dirty. And we had to walk the area at night when it looked eire and lonely. Once you get out there's a lounge where people are outside smoking and just killing the atmosphere ..or "feeling" that you just came out of a wedding. Anyways, I never write reviews but I felt so strongly about yesterday because I'm not used to this kind of crazy disorganization an unfriendliness. If there was a "hell no" bottom for the question below " would you recommend this vendor to a friend?" that would be the botton I press.


Ps. I didn't even see a wedding cake.
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leah
Wedding:
8/15/2011
0.0/5.0
My daughter got married here in Aug 2011. My caterer booked the hall as a favor to us, since his own hall was not available on that date. So we didn't meet the owner until the day of the wedding.

The owner was impossible to work with. He would not turn on the air conditioning until closer to the actual wedding. My daughter was sweating like crazy. She got upset because how can you put on make up when you are all sweaty? When he finally did put the A/C on, it was not set low enough to make it comfortable in the hall. My daughter nearly passed out during the ceremony because the hall was just too hot for her in her gown. A chair was brought for her, and yet still, the owner would NOT make it comfortable in the hall.

Dancing was also a nightmare. My son in law had sweat dripping down his back and face, because the owner would not make the temperature tolerable. I spent most of my time in the hallway, where the hot air from outside was cooler than the stale, stuffy air inside.

We had booked the hall until midnight. At 11pm, the owner turned off the lights. When I told him I paid until midnight, and he walked away! My guests all started to leave, since it was obvious that we were kicked out. (It was very humiliating!) Then he was breathing down our backs to get our stuff out of the rooms and leave so he could lock up. We were totally cleared out well before midnight.

I would never, ever, ever recommend this place. Stay far, far away! Look for a hall where the owner is nice and courteous, and cares about customer service.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ima2Dori
Wedding:
8/15/2011
0.0/5.0
I am a guest attending a wedding TODAY. I just got off the phone with a man who answered he phone by saying "Orion" and nothing else. After I said hello, and began speaking he yelled "Hold on, hold on, hold on" and put the phone down for over 3 minutes. When he finally came back on he line, I asked him about parking at his location. His response was "We have valet parking." When I indicated that the bride's mother had not paid for valet parking, he said "Then there is no valet parking." So I asked if I could pay for it myself and he said "No, there is no parking." I told him I have handicapped tags and cannot walk long distances, and asked him what parking is around. He said "We have valet parking." And when I reminded him the wedding hadn't paid for valet, he said "There is no valet parking." HUH?!?!
To add insult to injury, he could not tell me what parking was near-by. Who owns a business and doesn't know what s around them to accommodate their guests?
I also asked about a place to change, since I would prefer not to drive over an hour in a formal gown. He said "You can use the bathroom." I asked if there was a room other than the bathroom, and he said "Look, lady, I am very, very busy. I gave you answers." I was SHOCKED at how he treated me! So I said, "I would think that the comfort of your guests is important to you, but I guess I was wrong!"
I don't think I would EVER book anything at this establishment. Any place that treats a guest tie way isn't worth a penny!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
wedding guest
Wedding:
7/10/2011
4.4/5.0
I was guest at the wedding on 07/10/11.

The decoration everywhere is terrific!
Food is plentiful abd very tasty!!!
One huge drawback-----------------------MC- which is supposed to be the heart of the wedding, basically as if there were no such person at this wedding- it was neglected and disorganized!!!!!

Couple of major samples-
cutting of the cake-
a touchy ceremony wher all the guests should be watching and cheering was messed up-they setup dezert tables and 95% of people were in the line for deserts while the bride was feeding the groom.......
whatever activities(games) were played the guests were not involved
in masses

--People in Chuppa procedure weren't announced


otherwise- it was wonderful as the the weddings are
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jacki
Wedding:
3/19/2011
5.0/5.0
i had my wedding at orion palace on march 19 2011, and the only thing i regret is that the party ended at 4 am and we didnt stay any longer. the food was remarkable, the flowers (all made by the venue on the day of wedding) were astonishing, and the owner of the venue (Eugene) personally attended to our wants. when we first came to him about a year before the wedding, he told us to just book the day and nothing else, because he had no time to plan the party then. he told us to come to him a month prier to the party to plan. when we met 11 months later we came into his office and he had everything laid out for us. the best thing about this place is that they do everything (from fresh flowers to wonderful food). when my husband and i met before the wedding with Eugene, it was the easiest thing i ever did, we came and had every thing planed within about an hour. i can honestly say that we came like a guest to our own wedding.

if you want to have a wonderful wedding that will be remembered for many years to come, the best place to go is Orion Palace.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Roman and Maggie
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding reception at Orion Palace 9/19/2009. We went with their top package. Nothing but excellent things to say. The food and alcohol was very good and plenty of it. Everyone told us they "never seen so much quantity and variety at any other wedding". The decorations were very tasteful. The seafood table was amazing. The sweet table set up was top of the line, breathtaking. The managment was very easy to communicate with and very flexible on payment options. The service was outstanding. Many catoring halls and restaurants provide similar services but Orion Palace does it with incredible attention to detail and keeps their promises. You will not be dissappointed by having your event at Orion Palace. They will meet and exceed your expectations.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sonechka77
Wedding:
9/6/2008
3.4/5.0
This a very nice russian catering hall. Somewhat on the pricey side but very well worth it
Services Used: Band, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
darianka
Wedding:
5/24/2008
5.0/5.0
Orion Palace was the best choice! It saved us so much time, since they provide decorations for the hall, invitations, flowers, food, drinks, music, wedding cake, host for the party... EVERYTHING! It was peaty much "a one stop shopping" and considering that we live in VA while the wedding was in Brooklyn, NY it was worth even more for us. Not only have they made our wedding planning easier, but they made paying for it easier too (no worrying about different deadlines and checks to write out! One deposit on the day of reservation and then one payment at the end of the night of the wedding). Everything was great! The halls looked beautiful, the flowers were fresh, the food was fantastic (although, I am taking a word form guests, I ended up trying cake only, which was VERY VERY GOOD (and I tend to be picky with cakes... and it was gorgeous...)), music played all night long, an so on and so forth...
Services Used: Band, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Flowers, Invitations, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dima
Wedding:
4/12/2008
4.9/5.0
Great package included flowers, band, reception and cocktail hour. Very professional attitude, very flexable. Great choice in wines, flowers, provided huge choice in invitations types. Highly recommended.
Services Used: Band, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Invitations, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dina
Wedding:
4/12/2008
5.0/5.0
Orion Palace made our special day very unique and unforgettable! Everybody were very helpful and very professional! Cilya one of the owners, helped organize everything, and made sure that our party was great! Would definitely recommend Orion for weddings and other special occassions!
Services Used: Band, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Invitations, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marina
Wedding:
6/10/2007
4.7/5.0
They try their hardest to work with you and your budget. This is one of the only catering halls that will allow you to have a gorgeous wedding on a very tight budget. They have the most amazing packages: you can get only food if you like and take care of everything on your own, or you can have a complete package which includes invitations, personalized matches and napkins, unlimited alcohol, bartenders during cocktail hour, complete decoration of all the rooms you will be using, personalized kippas for he Chuppah, band with 6 musicians and the person who will lead the whole wedding.

It is totally worth the money you spend.
Services Used: Band, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Invitations, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.2/5.0
guys,
used to work at this place - very brutal in one word: kitchen/ food, very dirty! service - what kind of service you get, when you are working 16-22 hours at weekends! Management does not care about anything except getting down payment - knowing that the client will go nowhere now...
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Orion Palace
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220