130x130 sq 1323842161362 owenvideologoforweddingwircopy

Owen Video

Okemos , MI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Okemos, MI 48864 US (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

I'm just a guy who films weddings on the weekends and stays at home with his kids during the week. I like cartoons, the Muppets, and all sorts of other big kid goofiness.

The... Read more
I'm just a guy who films weddings on the weekends and stays at home with his kids during the week. I like cartoons, the Muppets, and all sorts of other big kid goofiness.

The reason I like filming weddings as opposed to commercial or corporate shoots is because I'm a people person. Yes, this is my business, and I am a business-owner, however, first and foremost this is the most important day in your life, not a controlled video shoot. I think it's important to know who you are as a couple, so that the film I create for you is a representation of you, not me. And I think it's important for you to know me a little better, so that I'm not just some stranger with a camera aimed at you all day long.

Please feel free to visit my website at www.owenvideo.com, or check out the Facebook fan page for more information on current weddings I'm working on.

Let's get together, have a cup of coffee, and talk about your big day!

(And congratulations on the upcoming wedding!) Read less
Videography

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1346168999701 andybio

INFO FOR VIDEOGRAPHY

What primary style do you identify with?
Cinematic, Documentary, Short Form
What do your packages include?
Ceremony, Edited Video, Multiple Cameras, Multiple Videographers, Online Highlight Films, Pre-Ceremony, Reception, Same Day Edit Video
What formats can the final video be in?
Blu-Ray, DVD
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Are you a commercial studio or a home-based business?
Home-based business. I am a stay-at-home Dad as well. It's a pretty great situation to be in and I'm grateful.
Do you offer demo DVDs for potential clients to look at?
I have a number of full features posted on vimeo.com/owenvideo and on my Facebook page, however I don't post documentary edits of ceremonies or toasts as you can imagine the only people interested in watching them are close family and friends. The feature is the main end product that is meant for sharing both on disc and online.
What types, such as unedited footage or special effects, of videography do you offer?
This is an outdated question. If your videographer offers anything that involves "special effects" for your wedding, I recommend looking elsewhere. Look for films that move you emotionally, not wow you with black and white or effects that are usually just covering their mistakes.
 (And I never give out raw footage. We shoot to edit, meaning we typically only get footage we use, and while there is always footage that didn't make the final cut, that's usually for a good reason).
Describe any special editing services you offer:
I love working with couples on unique ideas such as a Save The Date video for your wedding website, or facebook pages. Contact me so that we can get together over a coffee and talk about some of your different ideas, and how we can make them happen!
Do you have lighting equipment to accommodate a more dimly-lit event?
We try to use natural light wherever possible. At many receptions it is dimly lit or just plain dark, and in those situations we will find whatever available light there is, and use our larger aperture lenses (such as the 50mm f/1.2 or f/1.4) to make up for the lack of illumination.
How many videographers do you work with?
I always have a second shooter, chosen at my discretion from people whom I have worked with and trust. If you order a Same Day Edit, there will also be a third person, our editor.
Does the client get to meet the videographers before the event?
I want to meet you before the wedding. It's that much more comfortable on your big day when you see a familiar face rather than some stranger aiming a camera at you. I like to get together over coffee (or your preferred beverage) before signing any contracts. You need to be comfortable with who you're hiring for your wedding day.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
99.9%, but if something happens to me such as serious illness or a family emergency I will do my best to reserve a back-up videographer to fill-in at the last minute. If that happens then I will still edit the project, however in such a scenario you are also welcome to find a back-up on your own, though my goal is to meet your videography needs, no matter what that takes.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
Never on the same day, and only very rarely in the same weekend as another wedding.
Do you have a replacement videographer in case you become unavailable on the event day?
As a member of the Michigan Independent Video Association I have a large pool of talented friends who I can always call for help (when they're also not busy themselves, and odds are, there is always at least ONE person available to fill in).
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
We shoot exclusively with Canon HD DSLR's. Other equipment includes a lapel microphone for the groom and officiant, a shotgun microphone on each camera, tripods, monopods, a Glidecam, a DP Slider, lots of memory cards, and extra batteries. And if we're really feeling adventurous, a jib crane.
Do you bring backup equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Yes. I shoot with two cameras, but I bring more just in case something happens. I have back-up SD cards, and batteries as well. I require the anyone who second shoots with me to always carry back-up cards & batteries too.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
It is a requirement in our contract that food be provided for both shooters. The client is responsible to includes us in the final numbers they give their caterer. 
 
 Just remember this regarding any vendor who is working all day long for you (photographer, planner, etc), if you fill their bellies, you'll revive their energy and they can continue providing excellent service! No one likes to work hungry! :)
Do you charge overtime?
We don't charge for hours, but we do not offer unlimited hours either. We start and end at reasonable times that work for everyone involved.
Do you give access to your raw footage?
No. Theft of creative property is a very real problem in our industry, so rather than making a judgment call every individual time, the answer is always no.
Do you reserve the right to use the video in the future for deals, contents, etc.?
Yes, both the video and still images pulled from the video.
Is the client involved in the editing process? If so, how much input does the client have in editing?
No. Special requests may be made in advance and I always do my best to attempt to adhere to them if they are reasonable, but I reserve final edit rights.
How long does it take for the client to get the final video?
Typically within six months. However teasers are often posted within the first month.
Do you require a minimum number of hours to book?
Yes. We don't do "just ceremonies" or "just receptions" as we see your day as an unfolding story, from the anticipation of your prep time, all the way through until you're dancing together as man and wife, celebrating the day with your friends and family. We require a minimum of 6 hours typically.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Kate
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
Wonderful to work with - came to a special event prior to our kids' wedding (Match Day) along with rehearsal and wedding. Haven't seen the final product yet, but expect it to be fabulous!
Wonderful to work with - came to a special event prior to our kids' wedding (Match Day) along with rehearsal and wedding. Read more...
Wonderful to work with - came to a special event prior to our kids' wedding (Match Day) along with rehearsal and wedding. Haven't seen the final product yet, but expect it to be fabulous! Read less
Services Used: Videography
Default vendor profile pic
Katie
Wedding:
9/21/2013
4.6/5.0
Andy was a dream to work with. He has excellent communication skills and really wants to get to know the couple so he can provide the video footage they were envisioning. He was very approachable and kind. His work speaks for itself! We will have one of the best wedding souvenirs for life.
Andy was a dream to work with. He has excellent communication skills and really wants to get to know the couple so he can Read more...
Andy was a dream to work with. He has excellent communication skills and really wants to get to know the couple so he can provide the video footage they were envisioning. He was very approachable and kind. His work speaks for itself! We will have one of the best wedding souvenirs for life. Read less
Services Used: Videography
130x130 sq 1357329477982 055
Robyn
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Andy was absolutely wonderful to work with. He was responsive, easy to work with, friendly and professional. Our wedding day was perfectly captured, and the quality of the film is stunning. I am so happy we chose to hire Andy as our videographer and I highly recommend his services to any bride and groom!
Andy was absolutely wonderful to work with. He was responsive, easy to work with, friendly and professional. Our wedding Read more...
Andy was absolutely wonderful to work with. He was responsive, easy to work with, friendly and professional. Our wedding day was perfectly captured, and the quality of the film is stunning. I am so happy we chose to hire Andy as our videographer and I highly recommend his services to any bride and groom! Read less
Services Used: Videography
Default vendor profile pic
Kim
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Andy was so much fun to work with. He took the time to get to know the two of us prior to the wedding to make sure we were comfortable with him filming is the day of. The day of he was very professional and we hardly even noticed him there, which I know was his goal :) His work is absolutely beautiful.
Andy was so much fun to work with. He took the time to get to know the two of us prior to the wedding to make sure we were Read more...
Andy was so much fun to work with. He took the time to get to know the two of us prior to the wedding to make sure we were comfortable with him filming is the day of. The day of he was very professional and we hardly even noticed him there, which I know was his goal :) His work is absolutely beautiful. Read less
Services Used: Videography
130x130 sq 1352692508227 fbavatar2699488
Laura
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
I can not say enough about Andy. He was amazing to work with! He came so highly recommended, and now I know why! We were not able to meet Andy in person before our wedding (we live in Chicago), which seems crazy but between Skype and email, I felt like we were close friends by time the wedding day arrived. He really was like a fly on the wall at the wedding. I never saw the obnoxious light that a lot of videographers have, not interviewing people or getting in guest's face. (which was exactly what I wanted)
Our wedding party did a flashmob dance for us, which Andy captured perfectly, and had the video uploaded to facebook 2 days later, SO amazing to have that memory and to have that so quickly. We don't have our video yet, but based on his other videos and what I have seen from him so far, it's going to be great!
I didn't think I wanted a videoographer, but I am SO glad we did do it. I can barely wait for the video! Worth every penny!!!
I can not say enough about Andy. He was amazing to work with! He came so highly recommended, and now I know why! We were Read more...
I can not say enough about Andy. He was amazing to work with! He came so highly recommended, and now I know why! We were not able to meet Andy in person before our wedding (we live in Chicago), which seems crazy but between Skype and email, I felt like we were close friends by time the wedding day arrived. He really was like a fly on the wall at the wedding. I never saw the obnoxious light that a lot of videographers have, not interviewing people or getting in guest's face. (which was exactly what I wanted)
Our wedding party did a flashmob dance for us, which Andy captured perfectly, and had the video uploaded to facebook 2 days later, SO amazing to have that memory and to have that so quickly. We don't have our video yet, but based on his other videos and what I have seen from him so far, it's going to be great!
I didn't think I wanted a videoographer, but I am SO glad we did do it. I can barely wait for the video! Worth every penny!!! Read less
Services Used: Videography
130x130 sq 1347720974541 img1974
Tracy
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
I was not sure we could afford a video but a friend told me of everything she did for her wedding, she knows the one thing she would have regretted was not having a videographer. Our wedding was one blur of amazing, we did a DIY backyard wedding and everything was perfect but in all that perfection your mind clouds and you will remember a few huge moments but not everything, which is why a video is worth the splurge! When I first started getting prices from videographers in Michigan, Andy emailed me back apologizing he would not be available on our weekend because it was his wife and daughter’s birthdays. He included 5 or 6 other videographers he would recommend, who does that! AMAZING! I spoke with some other videographers he suggested but I found myself procrastinating hiring anyone. Andy and I continued to email, I am not even sure about what. Thankfully one day I received an email from Andy that he would be willing to be our videographer!!!! We had hired our photographer a few months before and I had told him I was thinking about a wedding video and he was a bit concerned. If your photographer is concerned, tell them don’t be. Andy and his second shooter were nonintrusive, not to the photographer, our wedding party or our guests. Ok more on Andy as a person! This is the last vendor review I have left because I did not know where to start. We had a long engagement and about a year and a half to the wedding after I hired Andy. The amount of emails where I laughed out loud was many. Andy has a great sense of humor and is just a great guy! Weddings are very emotional and you will find yourself mourning parts of the planning being over (other parts not so much) but when I began writing my vendor reviews I realized how much I would miss communicating with the wonderful team that made our wedding day perfect! I would be lying if I did not admit, I will miss communicating with Andy the most, he feels more like a friend than a hired vendor!
I was not sure we could afford a video but a friend told me of everything she did for her wedding, she knows the one thing Read more...
I was not sure we could afford a video but a friend told me of everything she did for her wedding, she knows the one thing she would have regretted was not having a videographer. Our wedding was one blur of amazing, we did a DIY backyard wedding and everything was perfect but in all that perfection your mind clouds and you will remember a few huge moments but not everything, which is why a video is worth the splurge! When I first started getting prices from videographers in Michigan, Andy emailed me back apologizing he would not be available on our weekend because it was his wife and daughter’s birthdays. He included 5 or 6 other videographers he would recommend, who does that! AMAZING! I spoke with some other videographers he suggested but I found myself procrastinating hiring anyone. Andy and I continued to email, I am not even sure about what. Thankfully one day I received an email from Andy that he would be willing to be our videographer!!!! We had hired our photographer a few months before and I had told him I was thinking about a wedding video and he was a bit concerned. If your photographer is concerned, tell them don’t be. Andy and his second shooter were nonintrusive, not to the photographer, our wedding party or our guests. Ok more on Andy as a person! This is the last vendor review I have left because I did not know where to start. We had a long engagement and about a year and a half to the wedding after I hired Andy. The amount of emails where I laughed out loud was many. Andy has a great sense of humor and is just a great guy! Weddings are very emotional and you will find yourself mourning parts of the planning being over (other parts not so much) but when I began writing my vendor reviews I realized how much I would miss communicating with the wonderful team that made our wedding day perfect! I would be lying if I did not admit, I will miss communicating with Andy the most, he feels more like a friend than a hired vendor! Read less
Services Used: Videography
Default vendor profile pic
A & J
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
About 2 months prior to our wedding, my fiance and I decided we might regret not having the day filmed. Our wedding planner recommended Andy Owen/Owen Video and we were able to set up a Skype conference to "meet" him. Needless to say, we booked him! We met Andy for the first time on our wedding day and he was so incredibly nice and professional. He spent much of the morning with me for hair/makeup/getting dressed with my mom and bridesmaids and his assistant filmed my now-husband and the groomsmen. Even having just met Andy, I felt so comfortable around him and he was a very calming presence on that day. I could go on and on about how great Andy is (because he is, in fact, great!), but the important thing is that he created the MOST spectacular highlight video for us. The video entirely exceeded our expectations and it is now one of our favorite keepsakes from the wedding! Andy finished editing our video about 6-8 weeks after the wedding and I have watched it every. single. week. since we received it. I actually cannot stop watching it. It makes me cry, it makes me grin, and it makes me feel like I get to re-live that incredible day over and over. The strange thing about weddings (at least, from my perspective as a bride) is that months and months go into the planning stages, minute details are obsessed over, and then the wedding day arrives and it is over in a flash. I remember having a perfect day, I remember how I felt, but all of the details were a blur. But Andy made that issue non-existent by perfectly capturing both the details and the feeling of the day. Plus, he did the impossible and created a wonderfully non-cheesy, but warm and fuzzy and cool, wedding video. I am so happy that we found Andy Owen and that we hired him for our wedding because I absolutely cannot imagine NOT having our video. Hiring Owen Video was one of the very best wedding decisions we made and I would highly, highly recommend him to any couple wishing to document a special occasion.
About 2 months prior to our wedding, my fiance and I decided we might regret not having the day filmed. Our wedding Read more...
About 2 months prior to our wedding, my fiance and I decided we might regret not having the day filmed. Our wedding planner recommended Andy Owen/Owen Video and we were able to set up a Skype conference to "meet" him. Needless to say, we booked him! We met Andy for the first time on our wedding day and he was so incredibly nice and professional. He spent much of the morning with me for hair/makeup/getting dressed with my mom and bridesmaids and his assistant filmed my now-husband and the groomsmen. Even having just met Andy, I felt so comfortable around him and he was a very calming presence on that day. I could go on and on about how great Andy is (because he is, in fact, great!), but the important thing is that he created the MOST spectacular highlight video for us. The video entirely exceeded our expectations and it is now one of our favorite keepsakes from the wedding! Andy finished editing our video about 6-8 weeks after the wedding and I have watched it every. single. week. since we received it. I actually cannot stop watching it. It makes me cry, it makes me grin, and it makes me feel like I get to re-live that incredible day over and over. The strange thing about weddings (at least, from my perspective as a bride) is that months and months go into the planning stages, minute details are obsessed over, and then the wedding day arrives and it is over in a flash. I remember having a perfect day, I remember how I felt, but all of the details were a blur. But Andy made that issue non-existent by perfectly capturing both the details and the feeling of the day. Plus, he did the impossible and created a wonderfully non-cheesy, but warm and fuzzy and cool, wedding video. I am so happy that we found Andy Owen and that we hired him for our wedding because I absolutely cannot imagine NOT having our video. Hiring Owen Video was one of the very best wedding decisions we made and I would highly, highly recommend him to any couple wishing to document a special occasion. Read less
Services Used: Videography
Default vendor profile pic
tracyB
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Andy Owen?

Andy was truly the best vendor I worked with. It was great talking to him before the wedding. He was very up front, informative and friendly at the same time. I felt very comfortable with him and so did my (now) husband. He worked well with all the other vendors on the day and never made us feel crowded, most of the time we didn't even know he was there. (Mad ninja skills.) So, before and during the wedding day, Andy had an A+.

Then we got our highlight film. OH. MY. Words can not express how much we love this video. I would have paid Andy what we did for everything just for our highlight film. You can' t put a price on it. It's truly an amazing thing to see you day so beautifully filmed, carefully edited, and set to music. We've had people over to watch it and not one person could watch it just once. We constantly hear "play it again" and "that's amazing" and "I've never seen anything like this". I watched men that are known for no emotions cry, and they weren't even our family. We beyond love it. There isn't a grade high enough.

Bottom line: don't even question it, hire Andy Owen. You be happy you did for the rest of your life.
Andy Owen?

Andy was truly the best vendor I worked with. It was great talking to him before the wedding. He was Read more...
Andy Owen?

Andy was truly the best vendor I worked with. It was great talking to him before the wedding. He was very up front, informative and friendly at the same time. I felt very comfortable with him and so did my (now) husband. He worked well with all the other vendors on the day and never made us feel crowded, most of the time we didn't even know he was there. (Mad ninja skills.) So, before and during the wedding day, Andy had an A+.

Then we got our highlight film. OH. MY. Words can not express how much we love this video. I would have paid Andy what we did for everything just for our highlight film. You can' t put a price on it. It's truly an amazing thing to see you day so beautifully filmed, carefully edited, and set to music. We've had people over to watch it and not one person could watch it just once. We constantly hear "play it again" and "that's amazing" and "I've never seen anything like this". I watched men that are known for no emotions cry, and they weren't even our family. We beyond love it. There isn't a grade high enough.

Bottom line: don't even question it, hire Andy Owen. You be happy you did for the rest of your life. Read less
Services Used: Videography
Default vendor profile pic
Kari
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
I really can't say enough wonderful things about Owen Video. Andy is fun, creative and an overall pleasure to work with. I chose Andy because the video samples on his website looked more like short movies than the cheesy, clunky wedding videos of yesteryear. They were creatively shot, had great music tracks and you could tell that Andy and his team really captured the true essence of the wedding--the love story. Andy and his team were true professionals on the day of the wedding, and were completely unobtrustive--we hardly knew they were there!

Our wedding trailer far exceeded our expectations, and our friends couldn't believe that a wedding videographer produced that type of work. It was stunning! It was also ready within 2 weeks of our wedding, which was perfect for sharing with our friends and family who were unable to attend the wedding.

We received our final wedding DVDs, and again we were thrilled with the finished product. The videos were crisp and steady, and the color in the video was spot on. Andy incorporated our suggestions for special songs to use in the video, which was much appreciated. The packaging of the final DVDs was great, down to the little photo tag on the cover. We really believe that Owen Video was one of the best decisions we made regarding our wedding, and we couldn't be happier with the service and product that we received.
I really can't say enough wonderful things about Owen Video. Andy is fun, creative and an overall pleasure to work with. I Read more...
I really can't say enough wonderful things about Owen Video. Andy is fun, creative and an overall pleasure to work with. I chose Andy because the video samples on his website looked more like short movies than the cheesy, clunky wedding videos of yesteryear. They were creatively shot, had great music tracks and you could tell that Andy and his team really captured the true essence of the wedding--the love story. Andy and his team were true professionals on the day of the wedding, and were completely unobtrustive--we hardly knew they were there!

Our wedding trailer far exceeded our expectations, and our friends couldn't believe that a wedding videographer produced that type of work. It was stunning! It was also ready within 2 weeks of our wedding, which was perfect for sharing with our friends and family who were unable to attend the wedding.

We received our final wedding DVDs, and again we were thrilled with the finished product. The videos were crisp and steady, and the color in the video was spot on. Andy incorporated our suggestions for special songs to use in the video, which was much appreciated. The packaging of the final DVDs was great, down to the little photo tag on the cover. We really believe that Owen Video was one of the best decisions we made regarding our wedding, and we couldn't be happier with the service and product that we received. Read less
Services Used: Videography
Default vendor profile pic
ShelleyG
Wedding:
9/5/2010
4.7/5.0
Andy and those at Owen Video were extremely easy going, and very easy to talk to. They were mostly transparent during their filming, and thus were able to capture many moments. This also made it seem as though they were not there. The final product was great, and there was a quick turnaround on the trailer.

There were many delays with turning out the final product, which was disappointing at many points. To their credit, Andy did communicate during the delays and offer apologies and additional services of discs once finished. The delay time was our only really complaint and area for improvement.

We could not be more pleased with the end result, and it accurately portrayed what a wonderful day it was for us, without an over abundance on minute details of the day!

Shelley & Nick G.
Andy and those at Owen Video were extremely easy going, and very easy to talk to. They were mostly transparent during Read more...
Andy and those at Owen Video were extremely easy going, and very easy to talk to. They were mostly transparent during their filming, and thus were able to capture many moments. This also made it seem as though they were not there. The final product was great, and there was a quick turnaround on the trailer.

There were many delays with turning out the final product, which was disappointing at many points. To their credit, Andy did communicate during the delays and offer apologies and additional services of discs once finished. The delay time was our only really complaint and area for improvement.

We could not be more pleased with the end result, and it accurately portrayed what a wonderful day it was for us, without an over abundance on minute details of the day!

Shelley & Nick G. Read less
Services Used: Videography
Owen Video responded with the following comments:

Thanks for the great review Shelley! To anyone else reading this: She's right. I definitely took longer than I initially told them it would to get the final product in their hands, and I'm hoping to remedy that so that future clients do not experience the same thing. It still takes time, but I hope I'm better at casting realistic projections of when you will receive your final project.
I'm so glad that you two loved the final project! Now the waiting is over and you can enjoy it for the rest of your life! :)

MAP

 
Okemos, MI 48864 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Owen Video
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1323842161362 owenvideologoforweddingwircopy