130x130_sq_1264044834683-pblogo1

Pacific Patisserie

Santa Ana , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2727 South Shannon St
Santa Ana, CA US 92704 (map)

PHONE

888-440-4680

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Founded in 2006, Pacific Patisserie specializes in wedding cakes and provides organic, gluten-free and vegan cakes. With a decade of food industry experience and formal training with... Read more
Founded in 2006, Pacific Patisserie specializes in wedding cakes and provides organic, gluten-free and vegan cakes. With a decade of food industry experience and formal training with pastry chefs from the prestigious St Regis Monarch Beach Resort & Spa as well as Ritz Carlton under his belt, the owner, Armando Cruz, has the essential knowledge and expertise to create beautifully decorated and succulent cakes. Pacific Patisserie makes customer satisfaction their top priority and will ensure that you will only experience superior service from the ordering process all the way to delivery....

cake tasting by appointments only, Long Beach, Los Angeles, Santa Ana.. Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1254275439156-sany0095
130x130_sq_1264045546839-sany0843
130x130_sq_1254275632375-sany0421
130x130_sq_1264045321198-sany0713
130x130_sq_1264045487526-sany0842
130x130_sq_1254276720953-sany0624
130x130_sq_1254276795531-sany0627
130x130_sq_1254276875343-sany0628
130x130_sq_1254276956640-sany0629
130x130_sq_1294019096019-sany1540
130x130_sq_1294019219736-sany1485
130x130_sq_1294019410281-sany1516
130x130_sq_1294020469147-sany1347
130x130_sq_1294020592484-sany1345
130x130_sq_1294020751134-sany1096
130x130_sq_1294036729172-img767720obd20studio1
130x130_sq_1294036834173-sany0967
130x130_sq_1294036951377-sany1139
130x130_sq_1294037070768-sany1480
130x130_sq_1294037223644-sany1492
130x130_sq_1294037242535-sany1497
130x130_sq_1294037335520-sany1529
130x130_sq_1294037479349-sany1550
130x130_sq_1294037507880-img002972010102315071
130x130_sq_1294037608053-sany1096
130x130_sq_1294037711835-sany1313
130x130_sq_1294037821210-sany1332
130x130_sq_1294037925680-sany1485
130x130_sq_1294038021212-sany1516
130x130_sq_1294038117134-sany1537

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Setup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Organic, Vegan
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1405452190356-us
Kristin Lynette
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
We used Pacific Patisserie for our wedding and our wedding cake was so beautiful. We also had pastries and everything was so delicious. The tasting was fantastic, and they were a pleasure to work with
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angeline
Wedding:
5/4/2014
5.0/5.0
We were referred to Pacific Patisserie by our wedding coordinator, and we're so glad we booked our cake with them!

After trying a variety of bakeries, we were underwhelmed by the lack of personalized service and boring cake flavors. Krystal at Pacific Patisserie invited us to sample their flavors, and we were blown away by how tasty and moist the cake was! Armando, the owner, followed up with us about the cake design once we signed our contract. On our wedding day, all of our guests raved about the delicious cake and asked us where we got it from. Our secret's out now!

We were very impressed by Armando and his team, specifically their professionalism and personalized service. We would not hesitate to do business with Armando again! We can't wait to order our anniversary cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1378776132763-avatar
Caroline
Wedding:
4/12/2014
2.2/5.0
Our wedding cake was the one "oops" of our wedding day. In meeting with Armando, five months before our wedding, we were definitely pleased with the appointment we had with him- prompt, friendly, and good cake. We happily chose the flavor we wanted, then described the simple design we wanted- all white with a different design on each layer (dots, stripes, scrolls). Months later, I followed up to confirm our order, and sent him examples of the designs I liked. After waiting a few weeks for a response, then a few confusing emails showing pictures I never sent, I thought we had it figured out. The emails became more rude, and finally, when he sent the last with an "I've already started this design," I figured it wasn't too far off. However, the red flag should have been when my coordinator contacted him and his count for slices was way off. On our big day, we entered the reception hall to be faced with a COMPLETELY plain cake. Just simple white frosting on three layers. We were so disappointed.
The only good: it was right inside, if not out. Tasted good! Arrived on time.
Otherwise, rude and clearly swapped our cake with someone else's! :(
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
we LOVED our cake, and the process of picking one out was much easier than we thought it would be. The Cake was part of the reception package from the golf course where we had our event, so I can't speak to the dollar-cost of the cake, but it was Beautiful and delicious. Anna, who hosted us for the cake tasting was both patient and helpful, since my then-fiance and I didn't know what we wanted at all. She took the time to explain how different cake patterns would look with the different type of frostings, and brought out samples of the buttercream and whipped cream frosting for my now Husband to try since he didn't know the difference. All their cakes were delicious, light and fluffy but full and moist with the coordinated frosting layers and they had several recommended combinations that were very unique and would have made for a brag-worthy wedding cake. In the end, we fell most in-love with the apple spice cake with a light caramel frosting --- my husband (who isn't big on sweets) and I both dreamed about and craved this cake after we left so we knew it was for us. Anna was also super helpful in narrowing down what the look of the cake we wanted was, since we hadn't come in with any set idea or photos to show her. She'd show us 3 photos at a time and talk through what we liked and didn't like, and based off the feedback present us with 3 more fitting photos until we found "the" one. SUPER easy to work with (we had a bit of a mis-communication on a question we had at our initial tasting, but that was resolved once we emailed them very quickly).

The cake came out beautiful and exactly what we wanted, and we got SO many rave reviews of how delicious it tasted (which doesn't usually happen at weddings where the cake can be an afterthought for the guests who are usually up and moving and dancing when the slices are brought to the table).

I would recommend this bakery to anybody and everybody.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dominic
Wedding:
11/9/2013
4.6/5.0
We were very pleased with how professional and on top of things this company was. Everything looked and tasted great. Will definitly look to this bakery again.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
John
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
The cake they made for our wedding was delicious and beautiful. I recommend this vendor for any weddings or events.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Groomzilla82
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
We were referred to Pacific Patisserie through our venue. From the tasting to the actual delivery of our cake, they were great and very attentive to our needs. Their location is very hidden, but once you find it, the tastings inside are great and reflective of their final product. Everyone complimented us on our wedding cake and because they offer more than one flavor for your cake, our guests were happily arguing over who got which flavor...classic! Thanks Pacific Patisserie.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pamela
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Armando and the rest of the team at Pacific Patisserie were all very responsive and made the cake tasting and order process easy and enjoyable. Not only did they have a great selection of flavors to choose from, but they all tasted great! We got a lot of great compliments on the cake. It was just unfortunate that my husband and I didn't get a chance to eat much.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Fatemeh
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Armando did an amazing job. The cake and its taste was incredible. It was more than I expected.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
roll
Wedding:
9/21/2013
4.8/5.0
I met with Armando for my wedding cake. he brought a sampler out that was mind blowing. we tried so many that morning and i looooove cake. but it was the best thing ever who doesn't love options. he was very friendly and open to my ideas. i even changed delivery time and look of my cake last minute and that cake was beautiful. hurt me to cut the cake. if i ever need something this if my official bakery.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maija
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Armando made our wedding cake experience so special from the first time we met with him. He presented us with a generous sampling of various flavors - all to die for! After sampling them all we were totally stumped on which flavor to choose. Armando happily indulged us in having us pick three different flavors for each layer of the cake! When we showed him some pictures of our vision for the design he eagerly agreed to create our special cake. It was AMAZING. Exactly what we asked for and very delicious! This is one wedding vendor we were ecstatic to work with on our wedding day!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg13
Sara
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Literally amazing!! Hired them to create gluten free desserts for my wedding since I am GF and so were about 1/4 of my guests. No one could tell! Everyone raved about how good the desserts were, and no one said anything tasted off. Let's just say this, we ended up with very little leftovers, and what was there was quickly demolished by me!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nadia
Wedding:
8/31/2013
4.8/5.0
Our wedding cake looked amazing! We will definitely recommend Pacific Patisserie to our friends and family. After having a terrible experience with another cake vendor, Pacific Patisserie worked with us in creating our dream cake. At the day of our wedding, we were so thrilled to see our cake. It was beautiful and more than what I could of asked for. Pacific Patisserie did an amazing job!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We loved our wedding cake! Our friends and family were in cake heaven with our 3 tier cake of marble, chocolate, and passion fruit.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ami
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Beautiful dessert bar and amazing cake with great flavor! Everyone raved about it for weeks!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sonia
Wedding:
7/4/2013
3.0/5.0
Pacific Patisserie provided cake tasting at my venue which made it so easy. My cake looked wonderful and tasted amazing. Everyone loved it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I used Armando for my wedding. We had our tasting a few months ago and I knew how good vegan cake could be but my mother and wedding planner were very suspicious. I was beyond blown away by how delicious and moist her cupcakes were. My mom and wedding planner both agreed that it was some of the best cake they had ever tasted. My favorite was the guava!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
We LOVED our cake, it was absolutely everything we wanted. This bakery is so easy to work with and was wonderful with understanding exactly what we were looking for. The sampling of cake flavors was so much fun too!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I chose this vendor because of how well the flavors tasted and the vendor had a great selection to choose from - from more unique flavors to traditional ones. I had gone for tastings to some other well known bakeries and surprisingly most of their cakes tasted as if from a grocery store. I wanted to have a cake that won't just look good but actually taste good too. I definitely found that at this bakery.

The prices were reasonable too and I even ended up getting other pastries for the wedding (all their pastries are mouth watering). And just like I expected, I received compliments on the cake and dessert after the wedding :) Highly recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalia
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Your cake was beyond amazing and fulfilled my dreams for a wedding cake. It was like you got into my head and recreated every detail of my dream cake! I gave them vintage pins and my Mom's tiara she wore on her wedding day to put on the cake and their artistic vision was beyond my expectations! The flavor was outstanding-in fact the guests were sneaking two slices it was so good! That is always the brides biggest fear, not having a good cake. There are no outstanding words to describe the quality and craftsmanship of the cake. You were instrumental in making my wedding a perfect day! How can I thank you other than to tell other brides to go directly to you, do not even bother with other bakeries it is a waste of time! God bless Armando in your future business!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dennise
Wedding:
4/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Great attention from beginning to end and the cake was wonderful and delicious! Would recommend a 100%.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
My wedding venue had Cinderella Cakes as its choice vendor for cakes and when we went in for the cake tasting we left feeling let down on every level: customer service, taste, and pricing. I contacted Mona from the Wedding Pantry and she recommended Pacific Patisserie. We met with Armando for a cake tasting and were left amazed. I'm not much of cake person but every flavor he had us try left me wanting more. I showed him the cake I had my heart set on and he made it work within our budget which was so cool of him to do. We were even able to add pastries to be served at the wedding as well (strawberries covered in chocolate depicting the bride and groom, chocolate & vanilla creme brûlée & puff pastries). I've heard nothing but GREAT feedback from our guests about the cake and the yummy pastries. My sisters birthday is this coming weekend and Armando will be making us her cake! We've found our cake maker from here on out! I can't wait to get my 1 year anniversary cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
11/30/2012
2.6/5.0
We chose to go with Pacific Patisserie because their cake was the best in taste and in value among the bakeries we contacted. This was confirmed by the many praises we received from our guests about how delicious our red velvet wedding cake was. Unfortunately, the appearance of our wedding cake fell short of our expectations. We went with an ivory whipped cream icing with piping detail in our color theme. By the time we had to cut the cake, the color from the piping had melted and bled into the ivory part and it gave the impression of a bad watercolor painting. It was very disappointing. So if you're looking for taste, their cake was tasty and not too sweet. But unfortunately, our cake did not turn out so well in pictures. Their customer service is mediocre as well. About three weeks before the wedding, I called to make sure everything was fine with our order and to my surprise and panic, they said they have no record of our order for that day, which points to a lack of organization. They also said they would call me back the same day to try and resolve it but it wasn't until I called them back the next day that I had any resolution to the problem.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Pacific Patisserie responded with the following comments:

She called us to confirm her order, she gave us her name and not the name of the person who was in the contract... So please if you ever call to confirm your order made sure give your vendor the name of the person who appear on the contract...

About the cake she called the next day saying that we didn't give her what she ordered and she wanted her money back.
we told her to bring us a little piece of cake for us to see it and if it wasn't what she ordered we were gonna refund the whole amount and this is what she told us.. I'm not driving to Santa Ana just to bring you a peace of cake!!! let me ask you this question to whoever is reading this review, if you can proof that we didn't give you what you ordered... weren't you drive to Santa Ana from City Industry for $725 dollars??

We weren't the only vendor that she triyed to get money from...
One of our policies to return your money, bring us a sample of procduto for us to see it. and we will get your money back...
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Had my wedding cake made by Armando from Pacific Patisserie
I am really happy that I order trough them.
my venue already provide the cake but my fiance is in the food industry and he wanted something more unique, friend of mine ordered her wedding cake from Pacific Patisserie she told me to call to set up a cake tasting i was really happy that my fiance that my fiance liked the cake..

It was really a big thing for us the cake I glad that I was referred To this bakery.
Armando really took his time to explain to me and my fiance about the flavor and filling, we loved the Tiramisu, strawberry shortcake and chocolate Mousse, the cake tasting was nothing comparable to the other bakery...

Thank you so much for making our special day memorable...
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Amazing service and great prices. Needed a cake last minute and The owner (armando) I believed, accommodated my needs. Believe me, ask him in detail what you exactly want, and he will deliver. I had a custom made Chocolate drip cake for my brother's wedding and everyone was ecstatic. You would be surprised to find out how many people go to Weddings just for a cake!! lol... Great service, great communication... Would highly recommend to anyone....
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1324689092428-savedatephotosmall
Rebecca
Wedding:
11/2/2012
5.0/5.0
The cake was perfect. It arrived on time and was beautiful and delicious. Armando listened and designed our cake just as we described it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Iris
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
We absolutely love desserts and we wanted a caterer specifically for a dessert buffet station for our big wedding celebration. Pacific Patisserie was exactly what we were looking for.

Armando took the time to provide us with several tastings to help us narrow down exactly what desserts we wanted to serve our guests. He customized a menu that included many of our favorites items, including sugar-free and gluten-free versions of our favorite desserts. Armando was so fun to work with, and he went out of his way to make sure that our buffet station looked amazing. To this day, our family and friends cannot stop raving about the beautiful and delicious dessert station.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I used Armando for my wedding. We had our tasting a few months ago and I knew how good vegan cake could be but my mother and wedding planner were very suspicious. I was beyond blown away by how delicious and moist her cupcakes were. My mom and wedding planner both agreed that it was some of the best cake they had ever tasted. My favorite was the guava!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Armando was amazing to work with. Very professional and helpful. My cake looked amazing and I received tons of compliments on how great it tasted. I would definitely recommend Pacific Patisserie to everyone!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Armando and team thank you so much for your creativity and willing to help in the whole process the cake was far beyond our spectations, thanks again to make our day even more special with such a wonderfull cake
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Armando, was excellent with our Wedding Cake. We had such a great experience working with him and I highly recommend Pacific Patisserie. Not only did Armando provide exactly what we wanted but taste AND decorator was amazing. Initially we had such a hard /disappointing time wedding cake shopping because of our dietary needs; Non-Dairy or Vegan Cakes are not as popular as Dairy Cakes. But Pacific Patisserie has reasonable, afforable prices for the average couple. Armando was very flexible, and easy to work with. I highly recommond Pacific Patisserie for any of your Cake needs. I am looking forward to ordering our 1 year anniversary cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sandra
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
It was a pleasure working with Armando. He provided excellent service and made us a beautiful and delicious wedding cake. It was perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
6/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Pacific Bakery was absolutely amazing! They helped make our dream wedding cake and it turned out exactly how we expected it. Armando was great and always got back to us in a timely manner. Armando was also great in helping me design a surprise grooms cake for my groom. Overall experience was fantastic and we will be using Pacific Bakery for all of our future cake needs.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mina
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Armando was so awesome to work with! I LOVEEEEED our cake, got so many compliments on it, he really listened to what we envisioned :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lady in Windsor, CA
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
I ordered the wedding cake for my brother's wedding in Santa Ana, CA on behalf of my sister and her husband who live in France. Through this 4-way long distance communication, Pacific Patisserie was able to deliver the perfect cake in a most orderly and professional manner. The bakery's Web page is very impressive and comprehensive; it made it easy for my sister and her husband to select the cake. The bakery owner, Armando, then invited my brother and his future bride in for a cake tasting visit. Comes the Big Day, the cake was delivered punctually and decorated exactly as described in the Web page. Needless to say, its European fillings and cream were out of this world. I would recommend Armando's bakery for its quality and excellent customer service.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Armando is very friendly and accommodating. You can definitely tell he takes pride in his work. His cakes are so delicious and moist When we went for our tasting, it was so hard to narrow down the flavors for the cake. The lemon with raspberry is to die for and the chocolate raspberry was amazing. We had several compliments and raves about the cake even still to this day, 4 months later. This is my new go to bakery, for birthdays and other special occasions. I'm actually ordering a birthday cake from him this weekend for my husband.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
First of all, Armando, THANK YOU so very much for doing such an amazing job on our wedding cake! It was beautiful and tasted delicious!

For those of you looking for a talented pastry chef for your wedding cake or any other pastries, be sure to schedule an appointment with Armando. Armando’s cakes speak for themselves as I’m sure those of you who have tasted and seen them know. He has some of the most amazingly unique flavors and the best part is that they are not overwhelmingly sweet. His cakes are fluffy and moist and all of our guests were raving about our wedding cake. He also made fabulous macaroons for my sweet display which were a hit! On top of all of this, his warm and friendly personality also add to the list of what makes him stand out above the rest.

From day one, he was very patient and enthusiastic with us in designing and selecting our cake. He was also extremely flexible in adjustments I had along the way. I would definitely recommend Armando and Pacific Patisserie to any bride looking for the perfect wedding cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Armando at Pacific Bakery made our GORGEOUS wedding cake that was THE BEST CAKE we have ever tasted! And absolutely beautiful.

We were one of those bride and grooms who HAD to have carrot cake and HAD HAD to have cream cheese frosting--even though it doesn't hold up well, especially for a long wedding day. Armando was able to give us the Carrot Cake and Cream Cheese frosting, dropped it off perfectly timed for the wedding to make sure it didn't melt, and covered the frosting with a thin layer of buttercream to keep the Cream Cheese frosting hard and cool. OMG WAS IT PERFECT!!

It's been a month since the wedding, and I swear on EVERYTHING that people are STILL TALKING about the cake! My mother-in-law says she dreams about the cake still and craves it DAILY. I am not joking. Next time we are in town (moved to Chicago after the wedding), we are meeting with Armando to have him make us another cake.

ARMANDO IS SUCH an amazing person. So kind and courteous, professional but fun. He loves what he does and is amazing at it.

PRICE: SO reasonable! More reasonable than any other bakery of his caliber in ALL of Orange County or Los Angeles. Works with your budget! He is honest and will tell you how to save money if you need to!

ABOVE AND BEYOND: Armando goes above and beyond. We gave him special serving trays that we wanted to use for the DELICIOUS DESSERTS that he made additionally (cannoli, tiramisu, dulce de leche puffs) and he brought them to the venue and set them up for us! He also let us bring him our family-made brownies the day before and took them to the venue and set them up for us! I MEAN--COME ON?!?! Who now-a-days does extra without charging you more or complaining?!?!?!

BOTTOM LINE: If you don't hire him, you are making a mistake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cinthia
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.8/5.0
Armando was a pleasure to work with. My husband and I met with him twice for tastings and both times we were blown away by how delicious the cake flavors and pastries were. He worked well with the design we wanted for our cake and offered better customer service, price and taste than another very "reputable" place we had visited prior to finding Pacific Patisserie. The day of the wedding the cake looked amazing and tasted even better! The extra pastries we ordered were such a hit, especially the vanilla and chocolate creme brûlée & the chocolate covered strawberries. We're lucky to have found Armando and would recommend him without hesitation!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bergmannmmi
Wedding:
8/27/2011
0.9/5.0
Armando makes very delicious and beautiful cakes but lacks integrity. He is very shady and will find a way to take advantage of you. If you are willing to throw money away and just want the most beautiful and tasty cake possible, Armando is your man. My fiancé, now lovely wife, and I purchased the Platinum Package from Orange Hill Restaurant which included a wedding cake. We met with Armando who provided us with delicious samples and pictures of various options. In the end we decided to go with Armando. My fiancé asked Armando how much the cake would cost and he said that it would be taken care of through Orange Hill. We assumed that this meant the cake we chose fell within the Platinum Package. About a month before the wedding, my fiancé received an email from Armando with the cake specifications. This email contained no mention of cost. Two days before the wedding, I received the bill from Orange Hill, which included an additional cost from Armando for $340. I asked Orange Hill about this and they said that I must have gotten an upgrade beyond that which was included in their package. I said that I didn’t remember any such discussion. The Orange Hill rep called Armando, who claimed he told us that the fondant would cost extra. I told the rep and she told Armando that we were not prepared for any extra costs and would like to have the basic cake. Armando then sent the Orange Hill representative the email he supposedly sent a month ago. That is when I discovered this was not just a misunderstanding but Armando actively trying to pull one over on us. The email he sent Orange Hill was identical to the email he sent us except that it had an extra line that said “Estimated Cost: $250” (supposedly it went up to $340 when we added 20 more guests). I opened up same email directly from my fiancé’s email on her phone and showed the Orange Hill rep that the one he actually sent us did not have a cost estimate and did not mention cost anywhere. The Orange Hill rep called Armando back and when she challenged him on this, he said that the fondant had already been laid and therefore, we were stuck with the charge. This raised another red flag for me since he had not mentioned this when the Orange Hill rep had talked to him 3 minutes earlier and told him that we were not prepared to pay the additional charges. I do not know anything about baking but one of the guests we had was a baker and told us that the additional fondant and design placed on our cake should not have cost more than $100 AT MOST (and that’s taking into consideration the increase in charge for being a wedding cake). In the end we ended up paying for the cake but like I said, Armando left a very bad taste in my mouth (figuratively not literally, the cake tasted great). Also, when we finally received our cake, it did not match the specifications completely. We are still dealing with that. Orange Hill tried to say this was my fault for waiting until 2 days before the wedding to look at the bill. However, I am in the military and was gone on government orders all summer. All Armando had to do was say he was sorry or that there was a misunderstanding and give us some sort of discount. Heck $10 off would have satisfied me. For me, it’s the principle of the matter. Instead, he altered an email and lied to take advantage of us on our special day.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
claudia
Wedding:
8/8/2011
4.9/5.0
Wow talk about best cake ever, Armando did a wonderful job with our cake. The design, the flavors, white chocolate raspberry, and red velvet it was all amazing. He was very willing to work with us and adjust design to meet the pictures and ideas we had brought in. All of our guests loved the cake and design. To top it off we get a free cake at our 1 year anniversary !!!! Thanks again Armando....
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lance2104
Wedding:
8/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Armando's Cakes Are So Excellent We Ordered One For My Sisters 15 And I Have Never Tasted A Cake That Good My Family Was Amazed And I Was To It Does Not Mater About The Price What Does Mater Is The Satisfaction He Gets Good Job Armando
Services Used: Band, Beauty & Health, Catering, Ceremony Music, Dress & Attire, Favors & Gifts, Flowers, Invitations, Jewelry, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Transportation, Wedding Venue, Videography, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maggi
Wedding:
7/16/2011
2.9/5.0
Cake looked a lot like a photo I gave them from another cake vendor. (Not a strong portfoglio of their own.)
Cake too small. Nothing leftover for groom and I to take home. Spent extra for another layer for diabetics and they put sugar frosting on outside. If I had to do over I'd hire a different cake vendor.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shoegal126
Wedding:
7/9/2011
4.7/5.0
Our wedding cake was amazing - the best cake we have ever had, including the vegan cake for me. We had a variety of flavors, and all of our guests loved all of them...so much so that we thought we would have a bunch of leftover cake after the wedding but there wasn't much left!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim23456
Wedding:
6/25/2011
0.0/5.0
I bought a groupon (or a wedding equivalent for groupon) for a cake from Pacific and was dissapointed every step of the way, which is a shame because we did get as far as tasting the cakes, and they were delicious. I feel like the groupon offer has completely swamped Armando and sadly the service has suffered immesurably since.. It was very hard to get an appointment for a tasting, when we did it was in a pretty dodgy part of town and a fairly unwelcoming venue, then since the tasting I have contacted him 3 times and had zero response, in over a month. At this stage my wedding is coming up quickly so Im going to have to go to someone else and lose the upfront money I paid to groupon, I feel as if I have been scammed. If their intention is to make you feel welcome and like part of the family then I am certainly the black sheep....
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
They worked with us to customize our cake according to what we wanted. they are creative and can make any combination of cake and filling you want. His chocolate filling is chocolate ganache, not fudge and he uses all cream cheese in his red velvet cake. he can make his cakes or pastries to accommodate any allergies. They have fillings that no other cake places I went to have. They also use a marshmallow fondant . The service was always courteous and appointments were on time.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs.D
Wedding:
4/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Armando was just as much a delight as his cakes! He was personable from the very first email and became invested in us almost immediately. We felt important to him from day one. He helped us work through our budget and design issues. He helped us come up with a custom fit order we felt good about in every aspect. The cake was amazing! It quickly became one of our favorite elements of our wedding. We had a mishap with the cake right when the reception started and Armando was there before a tear could fall. He didn't miss a beat. He was calm, professional and mindful. He went into action and fixed things for us before anyone even knew something had gone wrong. He was our hero. Thank you Armando!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carly
Wedding:
3/6/2011
4.9/5.0
Very easy to work with and punctual. Created a beautiful and delicious taste that fit our needs!! Since we are lacto-vegetarians, they made a cake specialized just for us, but we did pay extra...well worth it though!! Delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rnr
Wedding:
12/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Outstanding vegan wedding cake with mango flavor for our Indian wedding. The fresh roses were a wonderful touch--rave reviews from everyone who attended! Thank you for a perfect day!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diamond25
Wedding:
11/13/2010
4.6/5.0
First and foremost: THANK YOU for a beautiful Wedding Cake.

From day one at the cake tasting Armando was great. It was a little difficult finding the right building, but it was well worth it once we did. We tried quite a few samples; it wasn't easy deciding, so I went ahead and choose three, one for each tier: Chocolate Mousse, Mixed Berries and Tiramisu (originally Red Velvet). I really wanted to finish all the samples (I didn't have breakfast that morning) but my fiancé kept trying to move the plate away, it was silly really and Armando simply laughed along with us the whole time.

We're an easy going couple, but our standard for customer service is very high, especially for our wedding. Needless to say, we were sold on everything!

I loved the tasting so much that I placed two additional orders before the wedding, one for my Bridal Shower cake and another for my Maid of Honor's Baby Shower cake. His prices were very reasonable. The quality was consistent every time, which only reassured me on how great our wedding cake would be. I received such great feedback at each event.

The day of the wedding (11/13/10) Armando called to make a last minute suggestion, all I said was "I trust your judgment, go for it!" He exceeded my expectation by far! He brought our wedding cake to life with one simple change.

Overall we had a great wedding; we received such great feedback on everything, especially the food and the cake (that is huge for any bride). There were quite a few referrals sent his way, including my wedding planners' (who already has her own cake vendor).

If I had to do it all over again, it would be Pacific Bakery hands down! It's rare to find reasonable prices, quality and great customer service like this.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KateyP
Wedding:
10/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Best Cake I've ever had! Very reasonable price. I used his butter cream for my shower cake and fondant for my wedding cake. I will receive a free 1 year anniversary cake. YAAAY!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Teri
Wedding:
10/15/2010
4.0/5.0
Armando did a great job on our cake and it tasted wonderful! The only comments that I have are that it took often more then one email to get an answer and that they didn't set up the cake at the venue (my wedding planner did). That said, the price was amazing and they were very flexible in finding a way to make our dream cake AND cake stand happen! Thank you Armando and Lupe!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1303519695848-10slwedding221of1
lovefortwo36
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Thank you Armando for such a beautiful wedding cake. Your flavors are very unique. The design of the cake was done perfectly. I recieved alot of great feedback. Thank you for making my day special and for attending to my needs. His price is right and the taste is even better.....
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1296177991690-lauren
MrsJanna
Wedding:
3/6/2010
5.0/5.0
Pacific Bakery took care of my rehearsal dinner, bridal shower, and wedding. Armando made sure to create the most amazing desserts from creme brulee in soup spoons, to towers of assorted desserts, cupcakes, and of course my wedding cake. I love that I had a choice of buttercream or fondant. I chose buttercream=) Thank you for doing all this and still keeping me under budget.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
G
Wedding:
1/2/2010
5.0/5.0
The BEST cake you will EVER eat! Not only great tasting but amazingly BEAUTIFUL! Since our wedding we have ordered a few cakes, each and every one is just as DELICIOUS and BEAUTIFUL. I would recommend Pacific Bakery for ALL your special occasions! The owner, Armando is easy to work with and very accommodating.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
yamomom@verizon.net
Wedding:
11/28/2009
5.0/5.0
Pacific Bakery provided additional desserts for our son's wedding on November 28th, 2009. The variety was excellent!. They were beautiful and delicious. The desserts disappeared very quickly. Everyone said they were wonderful! The owner, Armando Cruz, was a delight to work with and they all were very friendly and helpful. I would use them for any event!.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
1024 Bride
Wedding:
10/24/2009
5.0/5.0
The owner is very friendly and helpfull, he worked with me & my limited budget from start till the end, I'm very pleased with their service."_"
They have the best Tiramisu in town, my sister order some for my engagement party, and everyone loveeee it.
Have it for my wedding too,and it was a big sale!!!
I will totally recommed this bakery to everyone, they are "budget friendly" and their cakes are delicious.....Thanks Pacific Bakery!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robin
Wedding:
8/1/2009
5.0/5.0
Armando took a lot of time with us to understand what we wanted and offered excellent advice and suggestions, plus the actual cakes were just awesome tasting. It was hard to narrow down the flavor to select.

We had many, many guests highly complement the cake and how great it was.

I highly recommend Armando and Pacific Bakery.
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
2727 South Shannon St, Santa Ana, CA 92704 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Pacific Patisserie
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1264044834683-pblogo1