130x130_sq_1392395642359-palmerhousehiltonexterio

Palmer House Hilton Hotel

Chicago , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

17 East Monroe Street
Chicago, IL US 60603 (map)

PHONE

312-621-7343

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The story of the hotel is one of undeniable charm...an introduction by Potter Palmer's former business partner, Marshall Field, sparked the engagement of Potter & Bertha that led to... Read more
The story of the hotel is one of undeniable charm...an introduction by Potter Palmer's former business partner, Marshall Field, sparked the engagement of Potter & Bertha that led to perhaps one of the most extravagant wedding gifts of all time - The Palmer House Hilton.

Celebrating over 140 years and 9,000 weddings, we invite you to share the Palmer House Hilton as your "Something Borrowed."

Venues:Five Ballrooms and unique one of a kind ceremony, reception, rehersal and morning brunch venues including the Grand Ballroom, the famed Empire Room, the Honore Ballroom, the Red Lacquer Room as well as Potter's, Lockwood Restaurant Bar Wine Room and hospitality suites.

Culinary Philosophy: Use fresh, local, seasonal product, and use plenty of it. In our rooftop garden, we grow fresh herbs, vegetables, and lettuces that we harvest and then prepare in our kitchens. Combining this approach with our signature restaurants’ farm-to-table cuisine, we have created banquet menus for all seasons. Our culinary team works to create great-tasting, customized menus while setting new culinary trends for every occasion. Culinary fun fact - the brownie was invented at the Palmer House.

Icing on the Cake: Set the stage for your wedding guests with an unforgettable arrival experience to our crown gem and heart of the house, the Grand Lobby, featuring a ceiling of 21 Greek mythological panels rivaling those of the Sistine Chapel. As America's longest operating hotel, we've recently completed a $215M restoration of the entire hotel offering you a historic yet hip venue.

Extra Indulgences: Balance Spa for treatments and hair prior to and following the celebration, Complimentary Balance Fitness center with in-door pool, Complimentary Connectivity Station, Concierge, Shoe Shine Service, as well as an on site Starbucks, Freshii, and Merz Apothecary.

Wedding Coordination: Our catering team is committed to helping you host an extraordinary wedding - one that's not only remembered, but talked about. As experts in all facets of wedding planning, our Wedding Coordinators are devoted to ensure your wedding surpasses your greatest expectations. And, as one would expect from a hotel renowned for its stunning decor, the Palmer House wedding decorators are also exceptionally skilled in creating elegant, opulent wedding settings. Not to mention that our catering team is one of the finest in Chicago, having catered countless events for the heads of state and foreign dignitaries. We can provide you with recommendations for wedding coordinators for day of or full service.

Exclusive: Palmer House Hilton Wedding Package available Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1397054788870-empire-
130x130_sq_1397054811950-empire-
130x130_sq_1397054891739-empire-1
130x130_sq_1397054889070-empire-1
130x130_sq_1397054793926-empire-
130x130_sq_1397054800781-empire-
130x130_sq_1397054804080-empire-
130x130_sq_1397054838494-empire-
130x130_sq_1397054873949-empire-1
130x130_sq_1397054876212-empire-1
130x130_sq_1397054881293-empire-1
130x130_sq_1397054884212-empire-1
130x130_sq_1397054886549-empire-1
130x130_sq_1397054878927-empire-1
130x130_sq_1397054846901-empire-
130x130_sq_1397053985173-honore-
130x130_sq_1397053870614-honore-
130x130_sq_1397054216104-palmer000
130x130_sq_1397054182889-palmer000
130x130_sq_1397054215013-palmer000
130x130_sq_1397053912576-honore-
130x130_sq_1397054209712-palmer000
130x130_sq_1397053877149-honore-
130x130_sq_1397054009717-honore-1
130x130_sq_1397053921858-honore-
130x130_sq_1397053951869-honore-
130x130_sq_1397054210994-palmer000
130x130_sq_1397054212344-palmer000
130x130_sq_1397054213420-palmer000
130x130_sq_1397054208684-palmer000
130x130_sq_1397054995339-gsbrm-
130x130_sq_1397055111958-gsbrm-1
130x130_sq_1397055119316-gsbrm-1
130x130_sq_1397055114523-gsbrm-1
130x130_sq_1397055094715-gsbrm-
130x130_sq_1397055109359-gsbrm-1
130x130_sq_1397054998926-gsbrm-
130x130_sq_1397055022207-gsbrm-
130x130_sq_1397055045077-gsbrm-
130x130_sq_1397055098112-gsbrm-
130x130_sq_1397055104557-gsbrm-1
130x130_sq_1397055002684-gsbrm-
130x130_sq_1397055100277-gsbrm-1
130x130_sq_1397055010177-gsbrm-
130x130_sq_1397055131546-gsbrm-2
130x130_sq_1397055128700-gsbrm-2
130x130_sq_1397055124099-gsbrm-2
130x130_sq_1397055117026-gsbrm-1
130x130_sq_1397055065172-gsbrm-
130x130_sq_1397055615302-red-
130x130_sq_1397055630671-red-
130x130_sq_1397055643420-red-
130x130_sq_1397055671613-red-
130x130_sq_1397055684669-red-
130x130_sq_1397055708663-red-
130x130_sq_1397055711408-red-
130x130_sq_1397055713666-red-
130x130_sq_1397055716024-red-1
130x130_sq_1397055718748-red-1
130x130_sq_1397055721185-red-1

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1871
When was your venue last renovated?
2013
Describe your venue:
Historic Site, Hotel
Describe the style of your venue
City, Classic / Traditional, Glamorous
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
1000
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
5
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
1641
Number of suites
30
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
500
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
155
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Veronica
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Excellent Excellent from beginning to end. Palmer house and Joy made my event like a fairy tale. From the rooms to the food to the service was A++++!! Thank you I could not ask for anything more!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brenda
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
We could not have been happier with having our wedding at the Palmer House. Everything went perfectly and it was the wedding of our dreams. Jane was a pleasure to work with and made sure every little detail was in place for our big day. Thank you, Palmer House!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ColeenFinnegan
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
There are not words for how amazing my wedding was at the Palmer House. They made it So easy. The venue - GORGEOUS. Food - accomodated everything we wanted - even a cubcake bar! And it was AWESOME. Way better then regular wedding food!
Dennis and Courtney were so accomodating and sweet - my whole family fell in love with them! I have had people day after day since we got married compliment me on the wedding - and it was mainly due to the beautiful venue and Dennis!!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leslie
Wedding:
1/8/2011
5.0/5.0
We had our Ceremony and Reception in the Honore Ballroom and our cocktail hour in the Potter's Lounge... everything exceeded our expectations. It was simply a beautiful day start to finish! Jane Himmel was dependable, meticulous, personal & supportive through the entire process and our day went off seamlessly. Our guests enjoyed being at the gorgoeous, historic hotel, loved the food & drink & had a great time!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kmogor
Wedding:
9/11/2010
5.0/5.0
The Palmer House was a dream place to have a wedding! Everything from the venue, to the food, to the service was outstanding. And we have Jane Himmel, the senior catering manager, to thank for everything. Her attention to detail is extraordinary, and the personal attention she provides makes not only the day incredibly special and perfect, but she made the whole year so much fun to plan.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mira
Wedding:
11/3/2007
5.0/5.0
The Palmer House is a gem. We were so lucky to have our wedding ceremony and reception in the most beautiful hotel in the country. Our guests are still talking about the venue. The food was magnificent, the room didn't need any decor because of the ornate nature of the room. The staff is the most professional banquet staff I have ever experienced. The Catering Manager's knowledge led the way for a perfect event.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyidar
Wedding:
10/2/2010
4.9/5.0
The Palmer House Empire Room was one of the most beautiful rooms we looked at while searching for our reception location. It stood out and wasn't any ordinary banquet hall. We knew immediately that that was the room we wanted to host our celebration. And it was well worth it - the food was amazing, the staff were amazing and the room looked amazing! We are still getting compliments!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
RoRa B
Wedding:
6/5/2010
4.8/5.0
When we got engaged, we planned our wedding almost exactly a year out. Being a perfectionist and very organized, I started searching through bridal magazines and websites to plan our wedding. I saw the Palmer House on the first day of looking at venues and knew that was where we would have our wedding. Looking into the Grand & State Ballrooms just took my breath away. We got married on Saturday, June 5th, 2010 at the Palmer House Hilton Chicago.

We signed our contract with Mark Coy, a sales & catering coordinator at the Palmer House. While he was pleasant in our meetings and would explain what we would need to do, I never really felt confident in his ability to make our day special. I always needed to initiate questions to get answers and every meeting felt rushed because he had to be out the door by 6pm. He always said “no problem” to everything but then there was a huge problem that finally had me in a bridezilla moment. In our initial room block we asked Mark to substitute two regular rooms for two suites. Well, he put five suites on our block. I had numerous phone calls from my guests that our block was full. I didn’t know until after the fact that each suite was taking 2 regular rooms out of our block. In our meetings we always discussed increasing the number of rooms on our block as well. Of course, he said “no problem” based on availability. Well, a good coordinator would have told his client that the weekend of their wedding was also the largest convention in the city of Chicago. So when we needed the additional rooms we heard “sorry we’re booked”. Never once did he put the fear in our mind that we wouldn’t have rooms for our guests. At that moment I definitely knew that I could not work with someone who obviously could care less about our wedding. We also had issues with charging of rooms as well. I think that the rooms manager/department definitely needs some work in this location. Our parents were charged the suite rate of $329, when they were supposed to be charged $289. My mother-in-law was paying for her sister’s room, but then they charged her sister’s credit card. Being an upscale hotel these issues shouldn’t happen. This is the reason I gave quality of service a 4, not because of Jane.

I immediately asked for Jane Himmel to replace our coordinator as I heard she was the best coordinator there. She is AMAZING and was our wedding angel. We had set up a meeting for the next week as this was a Friday. We were actually meeting with our florist on that evening at 6:30pm and she came to this meeting to meet us & go over a few details. I was astonished that she would meet us on a Friday evening and she stayed until the end which concluded at 9:30pm. She had to pretty much start from scratch and had two months to put it together. The next day (Saturday) she emailed us a rough draft of our timeline & had forwarded some spreadsheets to fill out for her which included our parents info & our other vendors. (The only thing Mark ever emailed me was a sample timeline of an early evening wedding and I am assuming I was to put it together) She made us feel like she was going to make our wedding special and not just another cookie cutter wedding that our other coordinator was going to put together. She could tell I was feeling stressed from everything going on and she suggested Claudia Antony, a day of coordinator. Now, I was feeling great and actually enjoying the final months of wedding planning.

Jane got us back on track with our reception and did more in two weeks than our first coordinator did in almost 10 months. We are so appreciative for the amount of time and effort on her part to make all of the details of our wedding reception seamlessly play through the night. She was patient, organized, professional and easily accessible. She stayed through the majority of our wedding and was relentless in her effort to make us happy. We couldn’t think of favors and she provided us an idea for what we should do. She guided us through our meal choices, wine choices (as we were not happy with the others offered to us) and came up with a cake option that was magnificent. She surprised us at our reception with keys to the penthouse for our two day stay, our wedding night & the night after. She “WOWED” us time after time. Her job didn’t end there as the next day we set up a brunch for 60 people. She had everything set up beautifully in the Honore Ballroom for the conclusion of our wedding weekend. Let’s just say Jane went above & beyond in all matters pertaining to our wedding. I am sure there are so many more details that Jane attended to that I couldn’t even begin to think about. I couldn’t imagine a more beautiful start to our new life together!

Thank you Jane!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adrian
Wedding:
7/7/2012
4.7/5.0
The Palmer House is undeniably beautiful and impressive. It was the perfect contrast to our reception, which was in a concert venue/bar in Lincoln Park. We chose it because it was by far the best value we could find for our guests in a room block, and because it would give them the opportunity to really enjoy downtown Chicago in case they wanted to make a mini-vacation out of our wedding weekend. I also love the history and old-school architecture of the place. We were in an updated suite, which was HUGE, and perfect for having groups of friends and family visit us. Also, seemed to be designed with bridal preparations (hair/makeup/nails) for large groups in mind, which we took full advantage of.

Pros
We were able to make a lot of changes and additions to our room block
The renovated rooms are very nice
The hotel is very "fancy" for people coming in from out-of-town...lots of little details that make people feel special :)
It is easily accessible for public transportation and there are always plenty of cabs waiting outside
Location
The spa is really nice, if not a bit expensive!

Cons
Our gift bags were delivered at odd times and rather inconsistently from room-to-room (you have to pay $5 per bag)
A standard KING room is very small
The hotel is very large, and our guests were scattered everywhere
Parking is expensive, unless you find a good deal ahead of time
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
loves6601
Wedding:
10/29/2010
4.7/5.0
We fell for it from the beginning. There is an old European elegance to the whole hotel. We were in the Honore Ballroom for the ceremony, had a cocktail hour in Potters Lounge, then retruned to the Ballroom for the most beautiful reception. The room was stunning, the food was outstanding. The catering manager is impeccably classy and attentive. Every detail was perfect and memorable. We highly recommend it to anyone and everyone.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie Malloy
Wedding:
10/16/2009
4.6/5.0
The Empire Room at the Palmer House was gorgeous. It is especially nice if you like grand old architecture with elaborate candelabra, gold leaf, etc. We had our reception there: cocktail hour on the balcony overlooking the lobby, sit down dinner and dancing in the Empire Room. The food was very good and it was nice to be able to offer our guests a choice of entree (beef or fish) tableside and thereby forgo having to print food choices on our invitation. The staff did a good job helping me to get personal items (pictures, cake cutter, flutes, table numbers, etc.) in place and alleviating any concerns in that regard.

I have to give it 4 stars though for value not because it was expensive (about $165/person) because it was comparable to most other downtown chicago venues, but because we had several snafus with the front desk and room reservations for our guests and the meal selections got a trifle mixed up as well. Really these were very minor issues and overall I would host our reception there again in a heartbeat. It was an amazing space and we received many compliments from our guests telling us it was the best wedding they had attended yet.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anu
Wedding:
4/27/2013
4.2/5.0
We had our Indian wedding in the Red Lacquer Room on 4/27/13 and absolutely loved every minute of it. We couldn't have pulled it off without our amazing vendors, including our wedding planner who coordinated with Joy at the Hilton. Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jacquelyn
Wedding:
10/1/2011
3.0/5.0
I will say that our wedding at Palmer House was incredible. It was the best day of our lives. Dennis Chaffee was unbelievable and we are so grateful we had the opportunity to work with him--he was calming, helpful, professional and knowledgeable. If I had to rate PH solely on Dennis, I would have give them 5 starts across the board. Unfortunately, booking and getting our contract set was difficult to say the least because we weren't getting responses from the department in charge of booking receptions. Additionally, about 6 weeks before our wedding PH called us to let us know they double booked our reception ballroom (which we booked 20 months in advance). After a lot of back and forth, it was all straightened out--again, thanks to Dennis. He saved the day for us and we couldn't have been happier with his service and how perfect he made our day.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Palmer House Hilton Hotel
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1392395642359-palmerhousehiltonexterio