Nophoto-130

Panda Catering

Rosemead , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1683 Walnut Grove Ave
Rosemead, CA US 91770 (map)

PHONE

888-774-7748

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Catering

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
Asian, Pan-Asian
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
2000

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimmy
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
I had Panda cater my recent outdoor wedding. Planning a wedding can be (IS) such an ordeal and with the amount of DIY I had planned in the final weeks- I was a complete mess. The only constant thing I had total confidence in was Nicole (the catering manager) and the Panda team.

From the initial meeting, I knew we were in great hands. Nicole was attentive and the food blew us away. It's not the flowers or your dress or the photo booth people remember - it's the FOOD. Coupled with the most amazing catering team and I don't know why you're not contacting Panda NOW.

Now our venue was outdoors with no access to a kitchen, and I've watched enough Top Chef to know this can't be good. BUT! With Panda, it was EASY BREEZY FANTASTIC. They swooped in, erected a kitchen and the food was top restaurant quality.

Nicole was beyond amazing to work with. She's super responsive, raised questions and voiced concerns that never would have crossed my mind. She requested anything I neglected to send it her way. Many times I even felt she was more on top of my wedding than me! She's really great at working with you on your menu to make it truly unique and within your budget. They really are there for you and aims to please their clients.

I can't rave enough about Panda. I owe them so much for executing our most memorable night. Even our coordinator loved them said she would be recommending them to her clients!

The best advice in wedding planning I got was "Get great vendors". With Panda, you really are getting THE GREATEST.

( I almost wish I could get married again in order to work with Nicole and have Panda cater once more!)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sally
Wedding:
10/6/2013
5.0/5.0
I would say Panda's catering services were above & beyond my expectations. I just had my wedding a month ago & my husband wanted a very traditional chinese banquet experience for our guests. Mila Chan, our catering manager & her team made sure that the highest quality of food was served.

They are super accomodating, responsive & flexible, making the whole planning process easy for me. I was really touched by their kind gesture to pack the whole 10 course meal for me on the side, knowing that I would not have time to eat that night but still get to enjoy the food later:)

The wait staff services was impeccable! They are all so pleasant & professional.Truly service from the heart.Highly recommended!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TiffanyandMinh
Wedding:
9/8/2013
5.0/5.0
We used Panda Catering for all of our food and bar service at our Wedding on September 8, 2013.

We first met with Luther and Nicole who were very easy to work with and familiar with dealing with catering both very traditional Chinese style banquets and more modern Westernized style receptions. We were looking for a caterer who could present traditional Chinese food using modern plating, and was familiar with catering at off-site venues (our venue did not allow cooking in their kitchen, only reheating). Panda was especially qualified because they brought all their equipment and cooked everything on site with their own woks, grills, etc. This made the food fresh and much more appetizing vs. other caterers we met with who told us they cook their food at their own kitchen first, and reheat on site.

Food
Having really good food was very important to us, since a lot of our guests are really big foodies. Having to please the older relatives and the younger crowd, we were given a lot of choices to select from for our dishes. During the tasting, they asked our opinion of each dish we tasted and were open to improving or modifying any dishes to our liking. They even presented us with additional options for our menu, which we ended up picking. We went with eight courses and each dish was delicious! Our guests could not stop raving about the food, specifically about the Chilean Sea Bass and still talk about it every time we see them!

Overall
We would definitely recommend using Nicole and her team to cater your event! They were very professional and responsive during the whole process from beginning to even post Wedding day. The wait staff was beyond professional and Nicole even brought out our signature drinks to us at our table - (had she not, we probably would not even had a chance to taste it!). Many thanks go out to the Panda Catering team for all their hard work - they went above and beyond our expectations!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
I recently got married and was very very pleased with Panda's catering services. They definitely delivered all my expectations and went beyond.
I know I wanted authentic Chinese banquet style dinner at my wedding but did not want it held at a Chinese restaurant. I wanted a nice venue that can cater to my needs. Panda's catering director, Nicole, was extremely professional and so easy to work with. It made my planning so simple and smooth. They are a one stop shop. They provided the food, bartenders, servers, dessert, rentals, set up and clean up.
They can practically make anything you want. All 9 courses plus my appetizers tasted just like my food tasting session. My friends and family raved about the menu and how good it tasted. Everything served was full of flavor and piping hot, even after transporting the food up 32 floors.
They made sure my husband and I ate our dinner so we were served all 9 courses in individual portions. They even helped us pack our left overs so we can eat at our hotel room afterwards. We were treated with exceptional service and was so glad we had food at the end of the night, because you definitely need it after such a long and eventful day.
Overall, we were so happy we chose Panda as our caterer. Catering is one of the most expensive part of a party, so it is wise to choose one that can deliver the food you expect.
Thank you to Nicole and your team for everything.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diana
Wedding:
10/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Panda Catering was amazing and I highly recommend them for weddings and all other catering events.

Nicole was our catering manager and she was so easy to work with. Starting from the beginning, she listened to our needs and put together a great tasting that everyone loved. She and her team were always so accommodating and knew what we needed before we even asked for it.

Throughout the planning process, Nicole was responsive, flexible and offered lots of great suggestions which we used. She made what can be a stressful process super easy.

On the day of the event, they arrived early and the food was so delicious. They even brought food to the bridal party. Our guest kept complimenting how great the food was.

Wow, we were blown away. Highly recommended!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
seth
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
I recently got married on October 13th, 2012 at an outdoor venue in Palm Springs. I was really happy with our vendors but Panda Catering was by far the SINGLE BEST decision my husband and I made for our wedding. From the first contact, Nicole and Luther were unbelievably professional and service-oriented. More importantly, Nicole and her team also CARED about delivering exactly what we wanted. They created new dishes for us, tailored existing dishes for us, and agreed to add another vegetable dish the week of the wedding!
When we requested a dim sum only cocktail hour, they brainstormed and came up with a delicious tasting menu of items. In the end, we served egg rolls, BBQ pork buns, fried dumplings, tea smoked duck in buns, and soup dumplings. Panda even got us dim sum carts to serve the food in!
For dinner, we made a special request to serve a dish similar to the stir-fried specialty lobster at Newport Seafood in San Gabriel, one of our favorite restaurants. They hit it out of the park! In addition, we served the steamed chilean sea bass, beef short ribs, noodles, greens and a chicken soup which they served in little crock pots. The food was presented well, served hot, plentiful and tasted great. We got soo many comments about how this was the best wedding food any of our guests had ever had, we were so pumped!!!
The Panda Express connection was scary for us initially, but do not fear, this is GREAT FOOD and they are AWESOME. They handled multiple dietary requests (e.g., kosher, vegan, allergies) with ease and they served food to our vendors for free. Panda also threw in fortune cookies dipped in white chocolate. And, they made individual menus for each guest FOR FREE!!
The best part is that Panda’s price is about half the cost of the other caterers we talked to! Definitely the best bang for our buck. Thank you, Panda!!! You made our wedding the most incredible experience! I would HIGHLY recommend Panda to anyone.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sylvia
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Panda was amazing and Nicole was awesome to work with! Their food is impeccable and so is their customer service.

Panda was initially not on my radar because I wasn't sure that we could afford their services, but after the food tasting, and meeting Nicole, it was an easy decision to choose Panda. They are very flexible, willing to work with your budget, and can give you ideas on suitable food choices for your event.

They go beyond what you would expect a caterer would do. As an example, my husband is caucasion, and our concern was that his family would be apprehensive about the various chinese dishes for our wedding. Nicole offered to have Panda print out individual menus for our guests, and the graphics were in line with our wedding colors and theme!

Nicole was our point of contact and she was with us every step of the way. She was responsive throughout the whole wedding planning process, including asking about food allergies of our guests. I had one guest with a gluten allergy, so Nicole had a separate plate made for this guest, and personally introduced herself to my guest, making my guest feel really special.

ALL our guests have told us our wedding food is the best they've had. Need I say more?
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joanna
Wedding:
8/17/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I entertain a lot and we wanted our wedding to basically be a much bigger version of one of our parties. We always have tons of alcohol and great food at our parties so our wedding NEEDED great food. My biggest worry was that we would have to compromise on the quality of food because of budget. Most Koreans have buffets at their weddings and even though the food is decent, it's not very attractive and there is no nice setup. So a typical Korean buffet was out of the question and I thought I would have to settle for generic chicken, until our wedding planner, Shirley from Fresh Events recommended Panda. Not only was their price great, but they were very accommodating to us at the tasting and had a variety of Korean dishes for us to taste. I loved that they were open to suggestions we had on different dishes and they also gave us great recommendations, which we ended up including in our wedding (i.e. sushi bar). In the end we didn't go with the Korean dishes that we had originally wanted, but instead chose: honey walnut shrimp, miso black cod, sauteed pea shoots w/ mushrooms, yang chow fried rice, sushi bar, carving station with roast beef, mashed potatoes, asparagus, a variety of appetizers, and fruits. Not only did the food taste great, but the setup for each food station was done tastefully and everything looked wonderful. Nicole and everyone at Panda were also very easy to communicate with and was 100% involved in making sure everything turned out great. I highly recommend Panda if you want affordable, delicious food.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
I am so happy that my husband and I chose Panda Catering for our wedding. The entire time is incredibly professional. There was constant communication from them, which helped ease a lot of wedding prep stress. My husband and I are already thinking about when we can use them again.

My wedding decorator was less than professional, and on the wedding day, the Panda team really pulled it together. They filled in the gaps that the decorator left wide open. Mila and Jack are amazing. They are always friendly, and they are constantly overseeing everything during the wedding to make sure that everyone is pleased. On the day of our wedding, my husband and I could not stop thanking them enough.

They cook on-site, so the food was incredibly fresh. The orange chicken was the best orange chicken that I have ever eaten. Everyone was telling us that they loved the food that we had at the wedding.

Mila even color coordinated the fortune cookies for our wedding! The color was dark purple, and all of the fortune cookies were wrapped in dark purple wrapping. That added a really nice touch to the detail.

Thank you Panda Catering! We cannot wait to go back to Panda Inn for more delicious food!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kenneth
Wedding:
6/8/2012
5.0/5.0
We recently had our wedding catered by Panda Catering in Camarillo, California. My wife and I live in Arizona, but chose to have a destination wedding in Cali. We didn’t want to have the typical Asian Reception at a Chinese Restaurant. We wanted to be strictly outdoors with a flavor of Chinese tradition. We wanted to serve authentic 10 course Chinese meal. Oh boy, were we totally blown away with our expectations with Panda Catering. Nicole’s professionalism was exceptional, which we can’t expect any less. She went far and beyond to accommodate us, which made planning so much easier since we live out of state.

Before we made our decision to work with Panda. We looked at other Asian caters around Southern California, but from the point we met with Nicole and had our food tasting. We knew instantly knew Panda was our first choice. Our number one priority for us is the quality and flavor in the food because our friends and family are very opinionated with Asian food. If you are Asian and ever gone to an Asian wedding you know that’s one of the first thing people complain about at a wedding. It doesn’t matter how nicely the food is presented or decorated. If it’s not good, then everyone is going to be a food critic. Panda allowed us to choose different Chinese dishes that were not on there set menu. We also had multiple tasting with the Head Chef for our wedding until he perfected the taste to our liking. What caters do you know does that?


On the day of wedding, the staffs were on time and prepared to handle 130 of our guests. The décor of the table was setup beautifully to how we’ve requested. Every single staff members were smiling, very friendly and professional with our guests throughout the whole event. We were unsure if the food would taste the same as preparing for two people versus for 130 people at once. To be honest, we didn’t get a chance to eat too much because we were occupied with the whole event. But when I asked my parents (who desperately wanted us to have it at a Chinese restaurant) during the wedding about the food, they were shockingly impressed with the flavor and freshness of the food. The food came out modernly decorated. Panda Catering are definitely professionals in the business. As we made our rounds to meet our guests, we receive lots of compliment about the food and staffs. By all means I am not trying to over exaggerate how excellent of a job Panda did for before and during the wedding. It is all well deserve and more!

The next day after our wedding, our family and friends could not stop raving about how great the food and how friendly the staffs were. They kept on asking how and where did we find our caterer. Thank you very much Panda for a very happy and successful wedding!

Can’t Thank You Enough,
A&K

Below are items/ dishes Panda prepared for us at our event:

Hors d’oeurves: Tea Smoked Duck Roll and Vietnamese Spring Rolls

10 Course Meal: Cold Appetizer Assortment Platter, Crab Meat w/ Fish Maw Chowder, Honey Walnut Shrimp, House Special Lobster, French Style Filet Mignon, Crispy Chicken, Steamed Sea Bass or Steam Whole Fish, Braised Mushrooms w/ Mustard Greens, Crispy Noodles w/ Vegetables, and Fresh Fruit Platter.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bride 11202011
Wedding:
11/20/2011
5.0/5.0
Mila @ Panda Catering is great to work with. She understand asian's needs and will accomodate as much as she can. Highly recommend asian wedding couples to consider Panda Catering + Hotel for their dinner reception.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1301210117854-website1
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I have nothing but positive comments for Panda Catering. I planned for a 200 person Chinese-style-ish banquet in a non-traditional location, which was difficult because the venue didn't have a kitchen and required a mobile set up kitchen. I knew wanted a company with strong credentials in catering, and after reading these reviews on WeddingWire, felt that Panda Catering (part of Panda Group) could be my potential caterer.

Wow -- going with Panda was the best wedding decision I made. Nicole and her team were fabulous to work with, very accommodating to our needs, and able to meet our budget expectations. They offered several menu options and the food was very good (this coming from someone who grew up in the San Gabriel Valley). My father who lives in Taiwan was hesitant about the food but at the end of the wedding, remarked that the dishes were some of the best he had ever had. Even the vegetarians said the food was delicious, and not some skimpy salad or pasta dish that they are used to at wedding banquets. To be able to set up a mobile kitchen, prep and serve 3 appetizers, 7 courses, vegetarian meals, kids meals, vendor meals, and serve it on time and hot to the table is truly an impressive feat.

The service was impeccable and their deep experience in planning came in very useful as a thought partner to throw ideas around with. They had never catered at my venue before so we did many visits to make sure my set up and service would be successful. Their experience was also useful in helping me plan layout, table size, centerpieces, beverage estimates, etc, and they were helpful in offering various service and vendor options without being pushy.

Besides our food, Panda also provided cucumber-mint water for our ceremony, table rentals, and bartending services, and all were excellent. We polled our friends after the wedding and they said the servers took care of them all night. Me and my husband didn't get to eat much during the wedding but Panda took care of us too - at the end of the night they gave us two boxes of food, each with small portions of our wedding meal!

Overall, Panda was amazing and hands down our favorite vendor from our wedding!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lena
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I are so grateful for Panda's food and service they provided us. From the beginning of planning our menu all the way to the big day;they were AMAZING! We worked closely with Luther and Nicole and they provided us with the utmost quality service. They were prompt with responding to e-mails and phone calls. We truly felt they wanted our day and menu to be special and it was. Luther and Nicole were there for 2 of our food tastings. They worked meticulously to get our menu to our liking. They also offered to provide us food menus for our guests. One less thing we had to do! =). The day of the wedding, the servers we organized, food was delicious, and we had no problems with the food. Cocktail hour, we had hors doeuvres and kept our guests happy. For what we paid, we definitely got more for our money! Asian weddings are known for serving 8 course meals and it is particularly difficult to please the older Asian guests, but with Panda, we were able to please ALL of our guests. We were fortunate to have Panda cater our wedding and would highly recommend them for ANY event. A million thanks to Luther, Nicole and the Panda catering team! WE <3 PANDA!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Thao
Wedding:
9/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Panda Team did a great job on our wedding. They were our caterer for food and alcohol and also the clean up after the wedding. My husband and I are Vietnamese so we know our guests wanted the usual 8-courses meal that comes with an Asian wedding. However that was difficult since we got married at an American venue. I had to look for a caterer that was willing to travel and go to the venue as well as clean up afterward. Luther, Mila and his team gave us the wedding of our dream. Here is the break down of the items that brides usually look for in a caterer.

Food: My guests raved about the food, the hors d'oeuvres during the cocktal hours were delicious and plenty so the guests did not have to wait to get a second piece. All of the food came out hot and delicious. We had an 8 courses meal (I highly recommend the sea-bass filet, braised beef, and lotus fried rice), each of them came out the way we wanted it. My guests kept asking me where the restaurants were at the end of the night.

Cost: They are very reasonable and willing to work with you so we felt out of all the vendors we interviewed, they were the most cost efficient and the BEST bang for your buck.

Service: All the waiters were very polite and give a lot of care and attention to the guests. Their attire was very professional and clean. The guests were served the food and drinks at the table.

Details: Although I printed my own menu, Panda was willing to do that for me. They visited the venue with me, met with the rental company and addressed all my concerns. They also created a couple of delicious vegetarian meals at a moment notice!

We also got the gelato bar service with them and it was a big hit at the wedding. Ice-cream and cake are always the best things to end a fabulous wedding night.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nina
Wedding:
8/7/2010
5.0/5.0
Panda Catering catered my wedding two weeks ago...and they were beyond awesome!!!

The keys to a successful wedding is good music & good food! Since our initial contact- Mila, Luther, Adam & staff were great! They were very prompt with email & phone call messages. They were able to design a special menu for my budget & were very flexible with my requests. Panda has some awesome chefs who can make ANY type of food!

On the day of the wedding, they arrived early and set up way before schedule. Their entire staff was professional and sooo nice! I received two constant compliments the entire night: 1) That I looked beautiful & 2) That the food & service was PHENOMINAL!!!
My reception was entirely outdoors and Panda Catering was able to adapt to that environment with no problem at all. They truly went above & beyond to ensure that my wedding went perfectly. Every detail was covered by the staff and I even received compliments from the venue manager stating that they had never worked with such an efficient and professional catering company!

I truly recommend Panda Catering for ANY of your catering needs! You’ll be surprised to know that they do not just provide delicious food & service- but they truly care.

Thank you Panda Catering for making my wedding a dream come true :)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kmcginty
Wedding:
6/27/2010
5.0/5.0
I can't begin to describe what an incredible job Panda Catering did for my wedding. They MADE the wedding. I come from a pretty traditional vietnamese/chinese family and my parents really wanted the chinese banquet. Although chinese banquets at chinese restaurants are great, my now husband and I also wanted to do an outdoor wedding. I also really dislike the negatives that can sometimes come with chinese restaurants (poor service, food is a hit or miss, chaos, drab decor...). Luckily, we found Panda Catering and they go above and beyond. They literally brought an entire kitchen and staff to our outdoor venue. Luther, Mila, Steve and their staff go above and beyond. They did everything possible to accomodate our budget, my super picky requests, our schedules, etc. and they are the worlds nicest people and the most professional hands down. When anything seemed difficult or impossible, somehow, Panda just made it happen.

Now, the FOOD. Even though Panda Company owns panda express, the event catering is nothing like panda express (even though panda express is yummy and I love it). The food is the best authentic chinese food you will ever have. My 8-course banquet included scallops, short ribs, whole fried fish, shrimp, etc. I cannot begin to tell you the numerous compliments I received from our guests. My family is probably the worlds most critical when it comes to chinese banquet food (they don't hold back in telling you if they didn't like it). However, EVERY single family member and friend said it was the best chinese banquet food they have ever had and beautifully presented. Most guests say it was the best food they have ever had at any wedding, period! They also provided mac n' cheese, chicken nuggets and tater tots for the kids. It was so good that many adults requested helpings for themselves as well. The hors d'oeuvres during my cocktail hour were absolutely delicious and looked really fancy! They were tray-passed and everyone couldn't get enough! They also provided my wedding favors (chocolate dipped fortune cookies which people appreciated and devoured). The whole experience with Panda was just downright impressive and my family was so happy.

If any bride out there is looking for a chinese banquet or any type of catering (they do sushi, other asian foods, etc.) please, please do not overlook Panda Catering. I did my research as well, and I know of the other chinese banquet caterers out there in SoCal and although they seem affordable, please read the reviews as the food and service is sub-par. Panda is not only affordable, but what you get out of it is SO worth it! The food, service and presentation makes you feel like you paid a million bucks. They stick with tradition (or whatever you want!) but the execution and result is unlike any other banquet or wedding you have ever been to. Panda is the best. We love them. Period. :)
Services Used: Catering, Favors & Gifts

MAP

 
1683 Walnut Grove Ave, Rosemead, CA 91770 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Panda Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo