130x130_sq_1258644328367-quartetplaying

Paradies Ensemble

Hudson Valley , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Rhinebeck
Hudson Valley, NY US (map)

PHONE

845-706-2259

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The most experienced wedding ensemble in the mid-Hudson Valley, The Paradies Ensemble (formerly Julie Berman's Violin Ensemble) has been providing quality ceremony music for 18 years. We... Read more
The most experienced wedding ensemble in the mid-Hudson Valley, The Paradies Ensemble (formerly Julie Berman's Violin Ensemble) has been providing quality ceremony music for 18 years. We will play your choice of what to walk down the aisle to: the traditional Bridal Chorus, aka "Here Comes the Bride", or the beautiful Pachelbel Canon, or the Trumpet Voluntary played joyfully and professionally by trumpeter Jim Paradies, accompanied by strings. Or anything else.

After you are pronounced husband and wife, start the party by exiting to Viva La Vida by Coldplay!

You choose the ensemble:

Solo violin

Solo trumpet with the organ at your church

Duo of violin & trumpet, or violin & cello

Trio of violin, trumpet & cello

Quartet of violin, trumpet, viola & cello or quartet of first violin, second violin, viola & cello

We can also play at your cocktail hour--your choice: classical music, or contemporary selections such as Yellow, At Last, All You Need is Love, or a mix of classical and contemporary.

We are all professional musicians with degrees from Oberlin College, SUNY Fredonia, SUNY Purchase. We all live, work, and teach lessons in the Hudson Valley.

Trust in our musicianship and experience to help make your wedding a memory of a lifetime. Read less
Ceremony Music

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1258649277117-quartet
130x130_sq_1373069341676-jimjuliebrittniwedding1
130x130_sq_1373069512317-juliesviolin
130x130_sq_1373069434967-jimstrumpet
130x130_sq_1361380375129-20120630jimandjulieplaying
130x130_sq_1258652188742-jimjuliegarden
130x130_sq_1258653154258-julie
130x130_sq_1258653958570-quartetplaying
130x130_sq_1361380400409-juliejimwithbridalcouplesteffanjen20120609

INFO FOR CEREMONY MUSIC

What ceremony music arrangements can you provide?
Brass - Trio, Instrumental - Duo, Instrumental - Solo, Instrumental - Trio, String - Quartet, String - Trio
What instruments does your group play?
Cello, Trumpet, Viola, Violin

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
9/21/2013
4.9/5.0
The Paradies Ensemble was absolutely wonderful. We could not have asked for a more professional or better musical ensemble for our wedding. Although, I would rarely give anyone a full five-star rating, this group deserves six (6) stars for all of your categories listed. While I would not like to admit it, in large part, their participation "made" the wedding. I recommend them highly.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Paradies Ensemble responded with the following comments:

The ensemble at this event was the string trio of violin, viola and cello. It was our pleasure to play at your wedding, Michael.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Donna
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Julie was an integral part of the wedding! The music at the ceremony set the tone for the entire event. She was sweet, understanding and responsive to all of our questions and needs. The music was outstanding! I highly recommend her!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
The Paradies Quartet played at our wedding ceremony on August 3, 2013. Julie was extremely accommodating of our requests, and that reflected a great deal of care for and attention to the ambiance we were seeking to create. Julie was very easy to work with and she provided us with ideas that never even occurred to us. The Paradies Quartet definitely made our wedding ceremony an event to remember. Our guests were raving about the trumpet being used and were amazed at just how much that made a difference to any wedding they have ever been to. We were so pleased with Julie’s professionalism and her overall demeanor throughout the planning process. Julie made this part of the wedding planning so stress free and we were grateful for that! I highly recommend The Paradies Quartet for an event to remember!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
This ensemble was great! The music was classic and professional. I got many compliments on the "classy" music.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
11/16/2012
0.0/5.0
I hired Julie as part of the quartet to perform at my ceremony, and it was the only regret of my wedding. A few months after I signed the interact I contacted her to move the time of the wedding from 3:00 to 2:00 because the photographer needed the time to take pictures before the sun set, which she agreed to. The day of our wedding, As I'm about to leave for the church, my fiancé calls me to inform me that they had the time wrong, and only one violinist was there. So myself and the bridal party waited over a half and hour outside of the church for them to arrive to get the wedding started and before I could walk down the aile. The best man did pay them the full fee, but julie did return her portion after. I had chosen to have a quartet for the guest seating be ause I thought it would be elegant and my fine and I took great care picking from their selections to play before the ceremony (as they are supposed to start playing the 15 minutes before the wedding begins) instead of having a private car. In the end I wound up having a panic attack before my ceremony with all the added stress, I had to skip my receiving line after the ceremony because there was no time, had to skip all of my portraits outside of the church, and rushed through the few portraits we could squeeze in (basically cutting our portrait list to 1/4 of what we wanted) before the sun set. I just got some of those photos back, and it makes me sad. There are no do-overs of your wedding day, I'll never have the receiving line I wanted or the pictures of my family, my parents, in front of the church I waited 33 years of my life to get married in. One little mistake can really mess up your once in a lifetime moment.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
11/10/2012
5.0/5.0
The trio of Julie, Jay and Jim were terrific! They played at both our wedding ceremony and the cocktail hour and it was lovely. They were not only musically wonderful but they were very flexible when our timing of the program went a little awry. They adapted without skipping a beat! We are so pleased to recommend them - you won't be disappointed!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
The Paradies ensemble was excellent! Exactly what we were looking for. Absolutely beautiful music! Highly recommended!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
We enlisted the services of the Paradies Ensemble for our ceremony and a portion of the cocktail hour for our July 2012 wedding at Lippincott Manor. Julie was so helpful with our musical selections and simply a pleasure to deal with throughout the entire process. Our interaction with her could not have been any easier. We chose the three person ensemble, which consisted of Julie (violin), Jim (trumpet), and Jay (cello). We cannot thank them enough for truly adding such a wonderfully majestic feel to our special day. They were set up and ready to go on time, playing music for my guests as they arrived. They sounded absolutely impeccable and beyond professional, even braving the hot summer day we had. My guests are still raving about the Paradies Ensemble and how much they enjoyed listening to them during my cocktail hour and watching them perform. I had guests from 15 years old to 85 years old and they all loved the music selections. I would highly recommend the Paradies ensemble for you special day. You will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Julie and her crew were excellent!! My guest still rave about the amazing job they did. The music was beautiful and their prices were reasonable. Would recommend them to anyone
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
4/28/2012
4.8/5.0
I was extremely pleased with Paradies Ensemble's services. I thought the music played during our cocktail hour (that was not a selection). I felt once I had hired them, I trusted them to perform the music selections we discussed, which was mainly classical music, and they definitely performed to my satisfaction and added a very nice touch to our cocktail hour. I am very happy that we selected them to perform at our wedding.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
I could not be happier with my decision to hire Julie to play the violin during our wedding ceremony and cocktail hour. It provided a touch of elegance that could never have been achieved by a DJ, and really added something special and memorable to our day. Especially considering the fact that a DJ would have charged a comparable amount to work during the cocktail hour, the live music was so much more elegant and was absolutely the right choice! Thank you, Julie!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Troliday
Wedding:
9/17/2011
4.8/5.0
My mother-in-law is a musician and said Julie Berman and her colleagues are the best. They arrived early as scheduled and played everything beautifully as planned. The ceremony was beautiful and I know that having the violin trio and trumpet made it that much more special. [I am still waiting for the video to really be able to review it all though]. It would not have been the same wedding without this beautiful music. The only negative thing I would say is that I made a change to one of the song selections a few weeks before the wedding and sent an e-mail requesting confirmation and didn't hear back from her for about a week and so I had to call her and when I noted the e-mail she questioned my choice in song change. Julie did give me the freedom to pick all the songs I wanted and she also made some suggestions and added things as needed. Overall, they make beautiful music and perform elegantly for an event.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
Musicians were wonderfull. They did great job, they played what I selected. I was very happy that they payed at the church for us.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Smorse61011
Wedding:
6/10/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were married at The Grandview on June 10, 2011. Julie Berman played the violin during our outside ceremony and was accompanied by two others, making for a perfect trio of three instruments. She worked very closely with us in making sure the perfect songs were played at the right time. She played a beautiful song on her violin during our ceremony when butterflies were released. The song was beautiful and dedicated to those who have passed, but who are close and dear to our hearts. The trio also played during our cocktail hour. They sounded beautifully and really gave a nice touch to the atmosphere. Thanks again!!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Summa
Wedding:
9/19/2010
5.0/5.0
In the final stages of our wedding planning we decided to add live music to our ceremony. Our caterer recommended Julie Berman. We booked her and Jim Paradies as a violin/trumpet duo. It was ONE OF THE best decisions we made.

We had a garden ceremony and the music made the garden feel enchanting. From the onset Julie was helpful and made selecting the music easy and hassle free. When I contacted her I only had 2 things in mind - the song I'd walk down the aisle to and the song to be played during the receiving line. She helped me fill in the remaining blanks.

Our wedding was over a month ago and we are still receiving compliments about how beautiful the ceremony was and the warmth and elegance the duo offered. It was absolutely beautiful!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Julie Berman & Jim Paradies performed at my wedding on September 18, 2010 (violin and trumpet). Everything was so wonderful and it really added a nice, elegant touch to our ceremony. Julie was extremely helpful in her music suggestions and I would highly recommend her!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LBJP
Wedding:
9/4/2010
4.9/5.0
Our wedding was on September 4th, 2010. We hired a trio with Julie (violin, cello and trumpet). They were fantastic. They did such a wonderful job and were very helpful with selecting appropriate music for specific parts of the ceremony. The music was played so smoothly and beautifully.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
neek1017
Wedding:
4/24/2010
4.9/5.0
Julie Berman was very professional and absolutely wonderful. We decided on the violin and trumpet duo with Jim Paradies and were so glad that we did!! She was available for any question I had and was very willing to work with us around our schedule. The day of the wedding, the timing was perfect even without attending the rehersal and people are still raving. I would recommend Julie to anyone needing ceremony music.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robin
Wedding:
11/21/2009
5.0/5.0
Julie Berman & Jim Paradies were chosen for musical selections for the Catholic Ceremony at our family chapel for my daughter's November '09 wedding. We had chosen the violin and trumpet duo. Things were handled professionally, from beginning to end! We were given help with possible music selections,a demo cd,assitance with program set up, and help with special selections for highlighting the most meaningful parts of the ceremony. Guests were also greeted and departed with elegant selections. The 2 muscians worked so well together, never once overwhelming the other. Their services have made our memories on the wedding video even more special!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
8/15/2009
4.4/5.0
Everyone was very happy with the music. The only complaints came from the mothers of the bride. The processional music did not start on time for the mothers entrance. There was no music for the mothers to walk down to and the bridal party processional was split between two songs which was not on the processional itinerary.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Paradies Ensemble responded with the following comments:

It's too bad that the mothers started walking before their music began. The musicians were playing Prelude music at the time, and no one gave them a signal that the mothers were ready to walk; they just started walking. The musicians DID play the mothers' music, and followed that immediately with the bridal party music. Sometimes in the "heat of the moment" things like this occur. Everyone should go with the flow.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lafarmp0
Wedding:
8/1/2009
5.0/5.0
The music was fantastic and the members of the group were very professional. The range of classical music at their disposal is quite vast. Highly recommended.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holly
Wedding:
7/17/2009
5.0/5.0
Julie Berman along with the other members of her musical trio truly made my wedding a day to remember. The music was absolutely beautiful. It made the ceremony so special for my husband and I and our family and guests as well. We chose to have "The Prayer" played as an interlude after our second reading. This brought many to tears, as we still tear up when we watch the video. I would HIGHLY reccomend Julie for any special event, as her talent and personal touch will leave you with memories to last for a lifetime!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
panorza
Wedding:
5/24/2009
5.0/5.0
We were very pleased with Julie Berman's suggestions for musical selections for our daughter's wedding. Her talent added a special touch during the ceremony.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nybride08302008
Wedding:
8/30/2008
5.0/5.0
I wanted live music for my outdoor ceremony so I hired Julie Berman. I feel the violin adds elegance to a wedding ceremony and/or cocktail hour. I couldn't afford a band- had DJ) so it was well worth it. She plays wonderfully and spent time helping me choose the right music. She also partners with other musicians and can be hired as a violin & trumpet duo; trios or quartets. I hired her solo for $160 for ceremony only. You can hear her live before you hire her as she plays at many venues.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allyson
Wedding:
7/27/2007
5.0/5.0
Julie and her daughter performed during my cocktail hour and it was lovely. Everyone said how amazing they were, and how they were the perfect fit for our wedding style. They were very professional from day one and didn't hesitate to learn a new song for us, as well as stroll rather than stay stationary, which was important to my grandmother. Again, I can't thank them enough. If I were to do this all over again, I would hire them in a heartbeat!
Services Used: Ceremony Music

MAP

 
Rhinebeck, Hudson Valley, NY See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Paradies Ensemble
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1258644328367-quartetplaying