130x130_sq_1273776713429-logo

Paradise Catering

Carmel Valley , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

6 Del Fino Place Suite B
Carmel Valley, CA US 93924 (map)

PHONE

831-659-3417

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Jon and Nancy have been working together for over 22 years. By supporting local and growing their own vegetables, they have created menus for their clients based on inspiration from... Read more
Jon and Nancy have been working together for over 22 years. By supporting local and growing their own vegetables, they have created menus for their clients based on inspiration from their travels and have grown Paradise Catering into the best catering company on the Monterey peninsula.


MEET JON KASKY:
Jon was influenced by his experience with Wolfgang Puck, Jeremiah Tower, Alice Waters, and Ken Hom while at the California Culinary Academy. Upon graduating with honors, he became the private chef at a major California winery, where he remained until founding Bird of Paradise Catering in 1985.


MEET NANCY ROHAN:
Growing up on the East Coast fresh food was not readily available, so my small garden where I grew radishes, carrots and lettuce was crucial. While at home I was learning the importance of growing my own ingredients, at my Grandma Edna’s house I learned the importance of good taste–she was my inspiration, teaching me how to cook Hungarian food and baking from scratch. I worked with her in the kitchen from a very young age! Years passed, I went to college in Boston, studying the arts, before moving to California. Once here my two worlds, the old-world and new world of foods collided. Having taken classes at Cordon Bleu and learning from top chefs, I developed my skills and love of great cuisine. Before Paradise Catering, I worked alongside a great teacher, Sharon Campbell, starting our own catering company, Ontrays; together we worked hard to embrace our community utilizing all local foods. And then I met Jon... I joined his company Bird of Paradise as a chef and we put our two souls together to create a strong catering company that supported our values. Bird of Paradise grew and grew and is now considered today’s top catering company on the Monterey Peninsula. We love what we do–and it shows in our food.


THE FARM
In their 1-acre farm in Carmel Valley Village, Jon and Nancy embrace the seasons and grow: - Mainly unusual and heirloom vegetables including:
Tomatoes, Squash & Beans (seeds purchased in Italy)
- Various Lettuces
- Herbs
- Greenery and Garnishes to decorate their presentations
- 100 Zinfandel Vines to make their own wine in their cellar!
- 14 citrus trees: 10 varieties! Have you ever seen a “Buddha-hand”?
(They also utilize composts to enhance the soils.)

Their farm also houses a few fanciful touches:
- Unusual succulents, “Monsters & Crests”
- Giant Staghorn Ferns
- The notorious “Pink Apples” recovered from Earthbound Farms
- Greenhouse
- Tree-house (for the adults... fun!)


FAVORITES TO GROW:
Jon and Nancy love to buy seeds of unusuals wherever they travel and grow them in their greenhouse to bring rare specialties to your event. For example, Jon found “Orchidea” (orchid-colored) Cicoria (Radicchio) on their trip to Umbria, Italy in 2009. Also, heirloom tomatoes are an ongoing passion–Jon and Nancy participate in the Carmel Tomatofest and seek out the unusual tomatoes you can’t buy.


DOING THEIR PART:
The kitchen at Paradise Catering generates a lot of compost; always has. If you think about it, that’s a huge plus: it means they peel and process tons of vegetables and fruits. This says loads about their focus on serving fresh, not-processed foods; as well as their commitment to minimize their “foot print”. Imagine 25 years of enhancing their farm soil rather than adding to a landfill!


JON AND NANCY LOVE GOING PLACES
Our great passions are cooking, gardening and travel.

Of these, travel may seem the odd one, but we’ve found that our travels have informed and inspired our cooking and even our gardening!

In Meursault, in the heart of Burgundy, our wine-making friends taught us a dish we named for it’s creator: “Salmon E Zucchini salad, Claire Bouzereau”. Claire, also cooked us the “All-Crepe Dinner” (appetizers, entrees, and desserts) a marvel of inventiveness.

In Tuscany, we make Orichiette (little “ears”) pasta for a dish with Stewed Rabbit. (We also bought seeds of unusual vegetable varieties, unavailable state-side.)

In Florence, we tried the “Bistecca Fiorentina” wherever we went (the best was at a winery, Antinori). So now, we can offer “Tuscany Steak” at our events.

In the Zocalo of Oaxaca, we learned “Tlyudas”, and ate “Chappolinas” (dried Grasshoppers with Chili). Then we attended a village wedding in Sata Inez, Oaxaca, where we paraded the live Turkeys, Chiles, and Chocolate that became the “Turkey Mole” wedding banquet.

In India, we learned an appreciation for the importance of toasting whole spices; grinding, and then making our own blends.

In Paris, we fell in love with Bistro and Brasserie Cuisine... we now have a deep respect for braised meats and Steak Frites. Also, we’ve returned over and over to Dehilleria, the world’s greatest cookware store. Where we load up on exotic tools and serving pieces(photo). In Paris, we found ‘La Maison de Truffe’ a virtual shrine of all things Truffle.

New Orleans taught us Voodoo–Cajun Quisive, now we can re-create Mr. B’s Barbecued Prawns (better wear a bib!).

In Pennsylvania we learned ‘Pittsburgh Pot Roast’ which we evolved into ‘Pittsburgh Nachos’.

At the original Hotel California, in Todos Santos, Mexico, (it really is down a dark desert highway!) we figured out our tequila Barbecue Sauce.

In San Francisco’s Chinatown, I learned real Peking Duck... (in the old days I used a bicycle pump, but not I use an air compressor to inflate the ducks).

In Seattle, we savored the variety of wild-harvested mushrooms and delighted in 10 varieties of Salmon. (Visit Pike Place Market! – there’s nothing else like it!)


WHERE THEY'VE BEEN
Everywhere we go we learn something!
- All over the US!
- Oaxaca
- Inoia
- Provence
- Hong Kong
- Singapore
- Paris
- Italy
- Burgundy
- Maui
- Next: Portugal Spain
- Hong Kong: Singapore Sling
- Germany (Jon only) Austria, Switzerland, Netherlands
- Poland
- Great Britain, London Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1353953039008-600x6001289609510641016
130x130_sq_1353953030850-600x6001290027489828ianmartingoodmanrhead0222
130x130_sq_1353953032967-600x6001290027499234ianmartingoodmanrhead0228
130x130_sq_1353953034598-600x6001290027452046ianmartingoodmanrhead0139
130x130_sq_1353953036166-96x96sq1290027441359ianmartingoodmanrhead0138
130x130_sq_1353953037486-600x6001289609518625017
130x130_sq_1353953040707-600x6001289609413125003
130x130_sq_1353953042380-600x6001264017507343a9a3362
130x130_sq_1353953044138-600x6001264017478296a9a3361
130x130_sq_1353953045988-600x6001264017161233a9a3224
130x130_sq_1353953047778-600x6001264017155890a9a3221
130x130_sq_1353953049488-600x6001264017010093a9a3220
130x130_sq_1353953051014-600x6001264016850421a9a3186
130x130_sq_1353953052735-600x6001264016808546a9a3181
130x130_sq_1353953054511-600x6001264016662561a9a3180
130x130_sq_1353953056247-600x6001264016508093scannedimage8
130x130_sq_1353953058395-600x6001264016458296scannedimage14
130x130_sq_1353953060273-600x6001264016443405scan0026
130x130_sq_1353953062581-600x6001264016431671scan0022
130x130_sq_1353953064666-600x6001264016419296scan0021
130x130_sq_1353953066735-600x6001264016400343nelsoncohenwed182
130x130_sq_1353953068557-600x6001264016086015dscn0061
130x130_sq_1353953070738-600x6001264016081483dscn0056
130x130_sq_1353953072718-600x6001264016007968dscn0044
130x130_sq_1353953075575-600x6001264015917655dscn0030
130x130_sq_1353953077637-600x6001264015644061dscn0074
130x130_sq_1353953079813-600x6001264015557655dscn0062
130x130_sq_1353953082573-600x6001264015567155dscn0064
130x130_sq_1353953084875-600x6001264015389030dscn00431
130x130_sq_1353953087388-600x6001264015478952dscn0047
130x130_sq_1353953090039-600x6001264015389030dscn0043
130x130_sq_1353953092182-600x6001243052653891pcsalad01
130x130_sq_1353953093901-600x6001243052602062pccheese01
130x130_sq_1353953114192-img5307
130x130_sq_1353953143992-img5164
130x130_sq_1353954539973-600x6001290027462718ianmartingoodmanrhead0140
130x130_sq_1353954541835-600x6001289609591172028
130x130_sq_1353954543747-600x6001289609536187019
130x130_sq_1353954545993-600x6001289609527266018
130x130_sq_1353954548684-600x6001289609506781015
130x130_sq_1353954550549-600x6001289609498906014
130x130_sq_1353954552179-600x6001289609475687011
130x130_sq_1353954554282-600x6001289609490437013
130x130_sq_1353954556316-600x6001289609453219008
130x130_sq_1353954558172-600x6001289609440156006
130x130_sq_1353954560541-600x6001282150222982p1010570
130x130_sq_1353954562722-600x6001282150199748p1010565
130x130_sq_1353954564517-600x6001264017478296a9a3361
130x130_sq_1353954567481-600x6001264016469171scannedimage23
130x130_sq_1353954569792-600x6001264015904311dscn0090
130x130_sq_1353954571709-600x6001264015830796dscn0089
130x130_sq_1353954573507-600x6001243052653891pcsalad01
130x130_sq_1353954575207-600x6001264015557655dscn0062
130x130_sq_1353953774772-600x6001264017696608a9a3414
130x130_sq_1353953776678-600x6001264017007780a9a3213
130x130_sq_1353953778738-600x6001264016493655scannedimage36
130x130_sq_1353953781088-600x6001264016155186img3942
130x130_sq_1353953783516-600x6001264015904311dscn0090
130x130_sq_1353953785926-600x6001264015728515dscn0086
130x130_sq_1353953788632-600x6001264015655186dscn0082
130x130_sq_1353953790628-600x6001264015830796dscn0089
130x130_sq_1353953792215-600x6001243052646627pclivegrill01
130x130_sq_1353954756788-600x6001264015728515dscn0086
130x130_sq_1353954859191-600x6001289609573172025
130x130_sq_1353953567995-600x6001243052650142stephdarren
130x130_sq_1353953569256-600x6001243052571617danaerik
130x130_sq_1353953570312-600x6001243052571555jenniferrick
130x130_sq_1353954183733-600x6001289609605484030
130x130_sq_1353954187482-600x6001289609601062029
130x130_sq_1353954189352-600x6001289609586312027
130x130_sq_1353954191227-600x6001289609580672026
130x130_sq_1353954193405-600x60012896095597500231
130x130_sq_1353954195603-600x6001289609559750023
130x130_sq_1353954197714-600x6001289609551812022
130x130_sq_1353954199502-600x6001289609547391021
130x130_sq_1353954202172-600x6001289609539500020
130x130_sq_1353954204867-600x6001289609480734012
130x130_sq_1353954207602-600x6001289609468219010
130x130_sq_1353954209936-600x6001289609460172009
130x130_sq_1353954212019-600x6001289609444609007
130x130_sq_1353954213761-600x6001289609431141005
130x130_sq_1353954215682-600x6001289609422328004
130x130_sq_1353954218132-600x6001282150199357p1010569
130x130_sq_1353954220624-600x6001264017478296a9a3361
130x130_sq_1353954223540-600x6001264016700358a9a2819
130x130_sq_1353954225579-600x6001264016516968scannedimage9
130x130_sq_1353954228584-600x6001264016507046scannedimage59
130x130_sq_1353954232508-600x6001264016485280scannedimage29
130x130_sq_1353954234882-600x6001264016481358scannedimage27
130x130_sq_1353954237267-600x6001264016473390scannedimage25
130x130_sq_1353954239370-600x6001264016469171scannedimage23
130x130_sq_1353954241990-600x6001264016454983scannedimage11
130x130_sq_1353954245107-600x6001264016438640nelsoncohenwed062
130x130_sq_1353954249537-600x6001264015992343dscn0036
130x130_sq_1353954252040-600x6001264015917655dscn0030
130x130_sq_1353954257329-600x6001264015478952dscn0047
130x130_sq_1353954263670-600x6001264015385561dscn0045
130x130_sq_1353954266484-600x6001264015477124dscn0048
130x130_sq_1353954897909-600x6001290027434234ianmartingoodmanrhead0133

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
African, American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, British, Cajun, Caribbean, Chinese, Creole, Ethiopian, French, German, Indian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Pan-Asian, Polynesian, Russian, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai, Vietnamese
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
Yes
Are you also able to provide the wedding cake?
No
If a bride decides to bring her own wedding cake, do you have a cake cutting fee? If yes, how much is the fee?
No Cake Fee. Included in services
Do you allow outside alcohol? If yes, what is the corkage fee?
Yes with no corkage!
Do you provide rentals for items such as linens and flatware?
We provide linen, flatware, china and glassware to all of our clients.
Are you able to provide your own wait staff?
yes
What is your maximum catering capacity?
3000

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bridget
Wedding:
7/5/2014
5.0/5.0
I am so thankful that we chose Paradise Catering for our wedding weekend and could not have asked for a better experience! Everyone raved about the food and it was so fresh, delicious and beautifully done. Nancy and Jon are an incredible team and I would HIGHLY recommend Paradise Catering to anyone who is looking for excellent service and an incredible menu.

Additionally, Paradise is very eager to please and works with you to create a menu that is special and what YOU want to serve your guests. They have wonderful tasting menus to give you an idea of what food you could potentially serve but really the sky is the limit with them.

LOVE LOVE LOVE Paradise Catering! :)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
6/28/2014
5.0/5.0
Dear Nancy, John and the paradise staff,
You did such an amazing job catering both our Welcome Dinner and Wedding! I could not have asked for better food and service. I was nervous prior to the tasting because my parents and I can be high maintenance when it comes to food....I'm gluten free/dairy free and my dad can just be picky in general...Fortunately, they were as impressed as I was. After the tasting, I could not believe how delicious and beautiful the food was. I wondered if it would be as good for 160+ guests...and it was. I can't tell you how many people commented (and are still commenting) on how delicious the food was...Thank you! Thank you!
Jamie Stern
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suzanne
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
John, Nancy and crew are AMAZING! From start to finish it was a delightful experience. The food was outstanding and the service exceptional. They met every need and went above and beyond to make my sons wedding perfect! The guests began raving as soon as the apps came out, and the kudos just got better as the dinner was served! If you want great food and professional service with a humble attitude, look no further! As an event planner and caterer myself, my bar is set pretty high, and Paradise Catering did not disappoint at all!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
6/1/2014
5.0/5.0
The SPCA for Monterey County has often used Paradise Catering for our donor receptions and we are never disappointed. Jon, Nancy, and their team are a delight to work with and the food and service are always top notch!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sandy
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was located on a private plot in Big Sur (we live in the Bay Area, about 3 hours away) and our wedding planner recommended Paradise. Since we were busy and we trusted our planner, we made a deposit before actually doing a tasting. We made a trip down a few months beforehand to do the tasting and we were a bit nervous!

We had no need to be, Paradise was amazing! Nancy walked us through the menu options while Jon was cooking up tasty morsels in the kitchen. The food was delicious, healthy, and the presentation was beautiful. They were super flexible with what they could serve, and were super nice.

At the wedding, our guests LOVED the food. We opted for the live grill option, and we highly recommend that to future clients. The Paradise staff was super friendly, there was plenty of food, and the quality of the ingredients was fantastic. They're worth every penny! :)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/16/2014
5.0/5.0
Dear Jon, Nancy & Ashley,

First off, we want to thank you for how much you contributed to our absolutely amazing & magical wedding day. Between the delicious food and the extremely friendly and prepared Paradise Catering staff - especially Ashley who is just the best - we were blown away.
When we initially started looking for caterers, yours was one of the first companies we researched. After looking at your delicious menus and finding out that you grow most of your food, we were hooked, but of course thought we would never be able to afford you. Wrong! You were so reasonable and willing to work with us and for that we cannot thank you enough. When we came for our tasting, we were bowled over by the 7-course meal you presented to us. Jon was so warm, kind and ready to listen to our ideas that when we left the tasting, we knew we were in good hands. Especially when Jon told us he would provide a special, personal sized broccoli casserole for Matt when he expressed his love for all things broccoli and cheese.
You guys exceeded our expectations on the day in every way, including helping to clean off and reposition our cake toppers when they fell off the cake. Working with you guys felt like working with family and that vibe added to the incredible quality of our day in so many ways.
Thank you SO MUCH for being the best caterers, so much in fact that our guests are still talking about the food & the service. And thank you for helping to make one of the most important days of our lives so very wonderful.
Matt & Ashley Boeka
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
Nancy, Jon, and the entire Paradise team are just fabulous! They were so much fun to work with-- from our very first tasting, to finalizing the menu, to our final walk through, to the actual wedding-- they were there every step of the way and made sure our wedding was just perfect! The minute the ceremony ended their team was making sure my groom, me, and the bridal party got to enjoy the appetizers along with our chosen beverages. Their dinner service was flawless and they made sure the dinner was served at a perfect pace, not to interrupt with any speeches. Not to mention, the food! The food was absolutely delicious! Our guests are still talking about the amazing dinner and we just loved the family style way of eating. I would absolutely recommend Jon and Nancy to anyone getting married! They are wonderful people and their food is out of this world! Thank you for helping to make our day so memorable!
XO,
Kristin and Jason
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Dear Nancy, John and all Staff at Paradise Catering,

Thank you for the fantastic food you provided for my dinner. I and all my guests were delighted by the purity and freshness of ingredients, delicious taste and presentation. Some of my guests will soon be new clients!

With Much Gratitude,

Ambika
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
2/15/2014
5.0/5.0
It's hard to describe is mere words how wonderful it was to work with the Paradise Catering Team in preparation of our big day. My husband and I did a lot of research into finding the perfect fit for our wedding at Holman Ranch and when we met Jon, Nancy and their team, it was clear that they were the best of the best. From the initial email inquiries to the tasting (where Jon and Nancy were incredibly sweet to package up food for my fiance to feel part of the tasting after he could not make it at the last minute) to the flexibility in assuring that our menu was 100% tailored to our tastes and preferences, to the friendliness of the service staff, bartenders, to the wonderful quality of the food, and every single thing in between...they made for an amazing partner and vendor.

They made it so easy for us to relax, enjoy and know that not only were we going to be taken care of as the bride and groom (including carrying our plates and serving us in the buffet line!) but also that each and every one of our 110 guests would feel that exact same treatment and service. We received multiple compliments from guests on the quality and display of the food and professionalism of the staff. Jon and Nancy are extremely passionate about food, how it's prepared, how it's served and take pride in making sure their clients are happy, which gave us incredible amounts of confidence in partnering with them.

As I mentioned, words cannot describe how thankful we are to the Paradise Catering Team for their wonderful service, incredible quality and delicious food!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
12/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Having both used Paradise Catering in the past and attended many other events they served, I was confident they would do a great job catering our office event. They did not let me down. They were timely in getting back to me with all the planning, offered great suggestions for setting the office up for different food stations, and most important of all served up tasty food with a smile. Everyone in attendance were well fed and happy. I look forward to working with John and Nancy in the future.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
11/23/2013
5.0/5.0
It was an absolute pleasure to work with Paradise Catering towards Hartnell College's annual gala. Our event was a success and we are still hearing from our guests how much they enjoyed the festive foods. Paradise Catering's service was impeccable and provided Hartnell Staff and our event committee with piece of mind and we were able shift our focus on building very important relationships with our guests. We look forward to working with Paradise Catering again soon!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
If you are lucky enough to find Paradise Catering available for your wedding or event, GRAB THEM!! Words cannot adequately express how amazing the food is, but there is so much more. Their attention to detail, the presentation, the quality, the service, the ability to do virtually anything... they will exceed your expectations on every level. They served a unique "standing dinner" for my 50th birthday, and everyone is still talking about the food weeks later. Not only was the concept fun and perfect for our setting, but Jon went out of his way to provide thoughtful touches (a drink recipe that he knew I liked, and additional appetizers for one particular guest) that we didn't even expect. Paradise Catering made our event very special. I am truly grateful.
Susan A.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittney
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Dear Jon and Nancy,

We want to thank you for the amazing food and service you provided for our recent wedding. Everyone won't stop talking about how delicious all of the food was, people are saying it was hands down the best wedding food they have ever had (and best food in general). Not only was the food delicious, the display was wonderful as well. I especially loved how Jon wrote the menu out for us in calligraphy on a chalk board I had provided which was then displayed. I would also like to mention we had an all outdoor wedding in Carmel Valley in September so rain was the last thing on our mind and what do you know it decides to down pour 30 mins before our ceremony is to begin and did I mention it has not rained on that date in over 100 years!? Jon and his staff were excellent in keeping calm in the situation and making sure everything was nice and dry-miraculously the sun came out and it did not rain again and somehow all my stuff was dry thanks to Paradise for helping out in what could have been a real crisis situation (I guess you should always have a plan B). We couldn't be happier that we chose Paradise as our caterers. They were the most important vendors to select and we made the right choice! Thanks again you really helped in making our wedding a dream come true.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough great things about John and Nancy and Paradise Catering. I am still hearing comments from our friends and family about our incredible food. John and Nancy helped us out all weekend at Holman Ranch, catering a "Roast and Toast" for our friends and family on Thursday night, a croquet and picnic event on Friday, and the wedding reception on Saturday. Unexpected rain made Saturday challenging and they pulled it off without a hitch. They are so kind, understanding, and will do whatever they can to make your vision come true. Their food is simply phenomenal. I would use them again in a heartbeat. For absolutely anything! Thanks again John and Nancy and the team!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alessia and giovanni
Wedding:
9/11/2013
5.0/5.0
nancy, jon and "the other nancy" were simply unbelivable, wonderful people, charming and entertaining; the food was unforgettable, it tasted like ambrosia and looked like heaven...too bad we are supposed to get married just once!!!...still we'll try to come up with other good reasons to celebrate with paradise catering :)) we'll come expecially from italy again to experience more of their fabulous cousine. thank you for making our wedding day even more memorable!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ki
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Y-u-m! From the tasting to the wedding reception, John and Nancy served delicious, healthy food and were extremely easy to work with--they're just pros. I don't know how someone produces 160 delicious meals at a remote location but they did it and there was no waiting or cold food. My advice would be to book them early, as they are very popular.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marcie
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Nancy & John -
Thank you for making Denelle's wedding weekend such a memorable occasion. The Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding Open Grill, and next day Brunch were amazing. Our guests were treated with incredible care and wanted for nothing.

Every detail was considered and with such careful pre-planning that our weekend catered events were presented seamlessly allowing us to enjoy our guests without worry. Your creative preparations and presentations were superior in every regard.

It was a joy to work with you.

The Plummer Family
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
The food at our wedding (and rehearsal dinner!) was fantastic thanks to Paradise Catering! We received compliment after compliment on the quality and freshness of the food. There is such a difference between them and all of the other places we tried. The food is just so fresh that you really can taste the difference. I normally do not even eat Salmon, yet ate the entire piece as my wedding meal it was so yummy! Not only that, but Nancy and John are just so nice and accommodating. I loved working with Nancy and she went above and beyond for us!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Fatima
Wedding:
6/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Dear John, Nancy & Paradise Family,

I am so grateful for your personable service, mouth watering fresh food and kind attention to our guests as well as to Tim & I. Our wedding would not have been the same without you! Our guests cannot stop talking about how delicious, fresh and tasty your food was! They cannot for the life of them recall the color of the wedding flowers, how my dress looked or if they had a chance to congratulate Tim, but they do indeed recall that the food was amazing and that your staff was excellent!! If anyone is reading this review and is contemplating on hiring Paradise, search no more! They are hands down the best out there! You will not be disapointed. Besides the fact that they offer fresh farm grown food they also are very eco friendly which is something that we liked very much. If you are having a Holman wedding they are the ones to hire! They know the in's and outs of Holman so it's an added convenience. They will make your special day more memorable than you can ever imagine. If I had to do it all over again I would choose Paradise hands down. They added the perfect touch of eloquence, charm and uniqueness to our wedding.

From the bottom of our hearts we thank you!

Warm Regards,
Tim & Fatima Parker.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
I had a terrific experience with Nancy and all of the Paradise catering staff! Prior to the wedding, they were so patient, nice, and went out of their way to ensure we were happy. Nancy gave us great wedding tips as well along the way. They helped us create the perfect menu, and executed it magnificently. Our guests were raving about the food. They don't make sushi, but my husband really wanted salmon nigiri for the cocktail hour so they made it happen. We got a lovely to-go box put in our fridge for the end of the night, and the food was delicious! Thanks Paradise!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Roslyn
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
We LOVED the food... mostly grown in their own backyard.... a lovely array of unique dishes that was like home made cooking - not wedding food.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carla
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Nancy and Jon were a breeze to work with, even from a remote state such as Washington! Their recommendations for the rehearsal dinner complemented the more formal wedding dinner. Our son's personal choices for an informal but tasty BBQ format for the rehearsal dinner were carried out to perfection.

After we had returned to our raiiny Washington State home, our out of town guests continued to rave about the delicious meal served at the wedding. The food was served family style with several choices for the entre, complete with very generous helpings. No one went hungry!

The wedding weekend was incredible, aided and abetted by the skills and professional standards provided by Nancy and Jon.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1336832834228-tunnel
D. Ezell
Wedding:
5/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Its almost a month after the wedding and all my husband and I keep hearing from our guests is how AMAZING the food was! Nancy and her team at Paradise Catering are true culinary professionals. I was blown away at the quality of the food. So fresh, you could tell if was just picked from the garden! Our wedding day menu was absolute perfection, and we are so happy we chose Paradise to provide the catering. Anyone having a wedding or event on the Monterey Peninsula should definitely consider Paradise Catering. Amazing, fresh local ingredients with a friendly, professional staff. Thank you Nancy! Your team knocked it out of the park!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alana
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Paradise Catering just catered our Holman wedding. I cannot say enough about working with Nancy and Jon. I was, tried and true, *that* bride. The bride who worked in Hospitality her whole life (sommelier training, Michelin 3* Restaurant, 5* international catering experience) ... and then planned a wedding. Detail-oriented doesn't begin to describe it.

Given all of that:

1) Pre-wedding: the tasting was phenomenal, every email/meeting/interaction leading up to was thoughtful and easy, Nancy brought me popcorn while I was getting ready :)

2) During-wedding: the food + timing of service were at the highest level. I walked into this process with the highest of expectations but some reservations. Every plate was hot. Every morsel delicious. Wine service was 'on point.' The staff was congenial, celebratory, professional, attentive...

3) After-wedding: they left us a to-go box stuffed with enough goods to have an after-party feast with our guests who stayed on-site.

Nancy, Jon, Leilani, Heather - and the whole Paradise crew - you nailed it.

To anyone considering them - go for it. Wedding catering does come with a bit of a price tag. But, think about it, it's your one time to treat all the people you love to a meal they'll never forget - because it was delicious, approachable and a true celebration of the Carmel Valley.
Services Used: Catering
Paradise Catering responded with the following comments:

Alana - You were wonderful to work with!
New what you wanted- and you got it!
Look forward to seeing pictures!
Cheers to You!
Paradise
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kaitlin & Chris
Wedding:
3/15/2013
5.0/5.0
We just wanted to send a huge thank you to both of you for all your help with the planning of our wedding menu and all your hard work on our wedding day. The food was absolutely amazing and we received so many compliments from guests about how awesome the food looked and tasted! Thank you again for making our day so special and allowing us to share one of our greatest passions with guests - delicious, fresh food!
We will definitely recommend Paradise Catering to anyone we know getting married in the Carmel/Monterey area. Thanks again!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
These guys are amazing!! From start to finish Paradise was awesome to work with. The food for our wedding was fantastic. We wanted something fun and unique for our guests and Paradise made it happen. Our guests are still talking about the fried chicken and the butternut squash shooters. What a fantastic group to work with. Great people and great food!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
11/17/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot thank Nancy and the Paradise team enough for all they did for us! When we met Nancy for a tasting, we were all overwhelmed by the amazing spread that was prepared for us. Seriously, no other caterer could even hold a candle their delicious food. I was hesitant at first because due to the quality over their food and service, the rates were higher than we could pay. However, we sat down with Nancy and she was able to work with our budget -- and I am so happy they did! First of all, their table presentation was just perfect. We didn't rent any plates or glasses, but how they set everything up was beautiful. The food was also perfect and several people have told me how excellent it was. I am a vegan and Nancy was able to work with me to get a few vegan dishes in the set up which turned out delicious! We did everything buffet style and the guests really enjoyed seeing the food being grilled right in front of them. Overall, Paradise's reputation is well deserved-- one of the best vendors we worked with!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jacquelyn
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Paradise Catering was a dream to work with for my wedding on 9/22/12 at Holman Ranch. My family and I tasted with a few vendors around Carmel Valley and there was no contest, Paradise was the clear winner. Nancy and John are so warm and friendly but also amazingly professional. The food is to die for good, all of our guests couldn't help but agree calling it the best food they've ever had at a wedding! From the appetizers to the family style served dinner they WOW'd everyone!! Nancy was so kind and helpful with everything, we owe her for making our special day so wonderful and easy. Thank you Paradise Catering!!! You are the best!!!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
As you can see from the ratings our entire experience with Paradise Catering was outstanding. This event was a night before the wedding stand up cocktail dinner at our home. Due to limited space, Paradise Catering had to improvise on the kitchen set up, work in less than ideal surroundings, and serve/bus in tight spots... all with the added pressure of us fretting over something spilling on our brand new furniture. PC service was extraordinary. All servers were well trained - careful, pleasant and very responsive. Nancy was totally flexible about working within the space limitations, always accomodating and very reassuring that all would go well... which it did and then some. The food was fabulous. Everyone raved about the quality and the presentation of all 3 appetizers and 5 courses. People were actually debating over which course was the best. My 91 year old mother, who has entertained and been entertained her entire adult life said, "In all my years of eating catered food, I have never had anything better." Need we say more!!!?? Thank you all.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Morgan
Wedding:
8/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Hands down one of the best vendor decisions we made! Paradise Catering not only provided the MOST delicious food I've ever tasted, but some of the nicest and most caring service I have ever seen and had the pleasure to receive! Thank you Nancy and Jon!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We love, love, love Nancy and Jon!!! We had Paradise cater both our rehearsal dinner and our wedding and have no regrets. The food and service were perfect both nights. We had Mexican food for the rehearsal dinner and the fish tacos were some of the best we had ever tasted. Nancy and Jon manned a live grill for our wedding and EVERYTHING was hot and spectacularly yummy. We received a ridiculous number of compliments from our guests regarding the food. I just hope Nancy and Jon heard a fraction of those comments. In addition, Nancy and Jon were easy to work with, professional and friendly. It was actually reassuring to see their faces throughout the wedding. If we had to do it all over, we would definitely use Paradise again and wouldn't have changed a single thing- except maybe start the events earlier so we had more time to eat! Thank you so much to Nancy, Jon and their wonderful crew for making our wedding so perfect and special.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lourie
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
Nancy & Staff of Paradise Catering,

Thank you for the delicious food and the wonderful staff at our rehearsal dinner! Everything was fabulous and our friends and family could not stop raving about the food. I think we ate every bit up! I'm so happy that you were able to accomodate our intimate dinner at a private residence. I'm told that the set up and clean up went very smoothly! Thanks again!

Lourie & Steve Coallier
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tina
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Paradise Catering was hands-down one of the BEST decisions I made for my wedding! Nancy and Jon truly are the nicest people you could ever hope to work with - professional, thoughtful, smart, and they make delicious food! My guests still tell me it was some of the best wedding food they have ever had!

We chose to do their "live action" grills for our wedding, and chose a great menu based off of their suggestions. They were so accommodating and thoughtful about my mom needing to be gluten-free - but honestly, their food is so fresh and amazing we barely needed to worry. Their horseradish sauce is something I still dream about (I think they need to bottle it) and their ginger lemonade is divine! I really feel like they care about each and every wedding and couple they work with and they really love weddings, they have tons of great ideas and know everyone in the Carmel area. I am so thankful that a big decision like food was so easy to make once I met them!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1300906717150-wedding
Samantha
Wedding:
4/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Thank you so much Nancy for helping make our wedding day extra special with your amazing culinary talents!

Everyone at our wedding commented on how much they enjoyed their meal.

Nancy is very easy to work with, she has a passion for her work and it shows. She worked around our budget with us to help us get the very best for our money...and we definitely did!

Complete professional and highly recommended.

Sam and Gareth : )
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
snugbun17
Wedding:
3/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Absolutely delicious! We attended tastings at several caterers before we arrived at Paradise and after Nancy's preparations we immediately asked her to cater our wedding. She has tons of experience at all sorts of events and a unique familiarization with the Holman Ranch in Carmel Valley (a gorgeous venue). The wedding itself went off better than we ever could have hoped for. Nancy and her team circulated with refreshments prior to the ceremony then kept our guests satisfied with delicious cocktails and H'orderves while we took our photos. She then blew them away with an incredible plated meal that dazzled both the taste buds and the eyes. We wrapped thing up with more drinks, cake, and s'mores for the kids.

It was a wonderful event and Nancy made sure that each of our guests felt personally cared for. I would highly recommend her!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lprough
Wedding:
11/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Paradise Catering was easy and fun to work with, and the food was delicous! Our guests are still raving about the food stations!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ilsec
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband (as of 6 days ago:) and I cannot say enough good things about Paradise Catering. I grew up in Carmel Valley and my husband is from the East Coast, so when we decided to have our wedding in the area, we knew we wanted to incorporate and showcase the local flavors. Even just based on this, Paradise is the obvious choice. Our initial meeting was with Nancy, who was a perfect match with us from the beginning; we truly felt that she understood our vision and that we were all on the same page. Throughout our time working with Paradise, we had the great pleasure of interacting with Nancy, John, Nick, and Leilani— all of whom were always professional, as you'd expect, but also kind, understanding, and generous with their time, and seemed to be equally excited about our Big Day. My husband and I were amazed throughout this wedding-planning process, that so many prospective vendors would sit down to meet with us and offer no reference to the fact that we were getting married, let alone asking them to be a part of a very important and special big day. This was very much not the case with Paradise, and we immediately felt that they were celebrating right along with us.

On to the food. WOW. Eli and I are both big foodies and we had agreed early on that it would be a focus in the planning. I don't need to go into how much we both love and enjoy food, yadda yadda yadda... but I will say that we had SO many people come up to us at the wedding just to tell us how much they enjoyed the dinner. Personally, the food is rarely in the top 5 wedding aspects I tend to comment on to the bride and groom, but everyone was just raving about it. We could not have been happier. We served our dinner fresh off the grill and eaten family style, which was another huge hit. Everybody loved the communal feeling of the meal, and there was PLENTY to go around (and around and around.) All the food and beverages- from the bar and cocktail hour apps to the dinner itself, were presented in a beautiful way, and we could not have been happier. THANK YOU so much to everyone at Paradise for being such a huge and successful part of our day!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JBB
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Being foodies from San Francisco, my husband and I have very high standards when it comes to caterers. Paradise Catering managed not to meet, but rather exceed our expectations. At our daughter's wedding, over 240 people dined on their fine cuisine. The menu was expansive, specific, and most importantly, the food was delicious. Kudos to Nancy and John! Paradise Catering is well-run and we would highly recommend them.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kate13003
Wedding:
9/18/2011
5.0/5.0
We were fortunate enough to have Paradise Catering available to cater our wedding in Big Sur this past September and had the most fantastic experience working with the whole PC team - and people are seriously still talking about how amazing the food was!! John & Nancy were highly recommended by our wonderful wedding planner Diane Allen of Big Sur Weddings and we were not disappointed... They patiently sat with us during our tasting session and dazzled our palates with selections from their menu - they took time out of their busy days to answer all of our questions about planning the menu to coordinate with what would be 'in-season' at their farm and worked out a menu that was perfect for our day! Our only regret is that we didn't make a 'to-go' box to eat later that night in our honeymoon suite... ;) It was an absolute pleasure to work with the whole Paradise Catering team - we couldn't recommend them more highly!! Thank you SO much, John & Nancy! :)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Nancy and Jon are AMAZING! Super sweet and lovely to work with, but more importantly the food is spectacular! I know that most brides always complain of not eating enough on their wedding day, but after our first tasting with Jon and Nancy and vowed that I was not going to miss out on that delicious food on my wedding day. We went with the live grill for our wedding and our guest loved it. I think it's classier than a regular buffet, but not as pricey as having dinner served at the table. The presentation was beautiful and the mix of fresh vegetables from their personal garden were super yummy! Oh, and they make delicious sauces! Nancy was also really helpful when it came to planning the flow of our wedding day. When we met to finalize our menu, two weeks before, she offered a lot of good advice and made me feel a lot more comfortable about how the day would play out. I would definitely recommend Paradise Catering to anyone getting married in the Carmel area. They will work hard (but make it seem effortless because they are such pros) to help ensure that you have a beautiful day. I also wanted to mention that their staff is really friendly too! I'm already talking to my husband about hopefully having them cater a dinner for us on our anniversary =) Top rate caterers!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ellie & Marison
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
You hire a caterer for many things, but first and foremost you hire them for good food - Paradise delivers in spades. Every aspect of the meal was impeccable, from the heirloom tomato bar, to the freshly grilled salmon (flawless) and tri-tip, tender steamed romano beans, and accompanying homemade horseradish and chimichuri sauce. Not to mention, the service was top of the line. To this day our guests continue to rave about the wonderful food and service. The entire staff was very professional and a joy to be with. Thank you, Nancy, for making our wedding dreams come true.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dani
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
We absolutely love working with Paradise Catering. We were blown away at how delicious the food was from our initial tasting to our reception dinner. Paradise Catering also provided the food and service for our rehearsal dinner. We loved collaborating with the team to design our menu for each event - they heard our ideas, brought them to fruition beautifully, and gave us great advice. Our guests were so impressed by the food - everything truly was fantastic. I can't recommend Paradise Catering higher.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Nancy and her staff at Paradise made our wedding everything we could have hoped for and more. When we did the tasting we thought the food was exceptional, but you never know how it will turn out for 200 guests.

Not only was the food absolutely amazing at the wedding....the staff was so professional, nice and accommodating. Every guest we spoke to after the wedding remarked it was the best, most unique food and service they had ever had at a wedding. If you want your wedding to be memorable food is always mentioned and Paradise was the absolute best we could have ever hoped for and more.

Shannon and Jon
The Holman Ranch
June, 11, 2011
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Amazing food, Amazing Customer Service!! They went above and beyond. They are awesome and I highly, highly recommend them.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CPZENGEL
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
Paradise Catering did an AMAZING job on our food. Nancy helped us create a unique and delicious menu for our guests and they are still raving about the food. The staff is also extremely professional and helpful. They really make food an experience!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cameron
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
Nancy and Jon were WONDERFUL! They were responsive, catered our wedding perfectly to our liking, and everything was fresh and organic. Perfect for a Carmel Valley wedding! Thank you Nancy and Jon! Cameron and Conor
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margo
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Best wedding food ever. Seriously. Fed 350+, family style. Guests will not stop talking about how good the food was at our wedding. Plus, Nancy made sure to take extra care that I, (the bride) got bombarded with appetizers as soon as we got to the cocktail hour at the reception. Awesome.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nancy
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
I am trying to conjure up the appropriate superlatives to describe the food and its presentation, the service and the overall experience so lovingly created during my daughter and new son-in-law's wedding weekend by Nancy, Jon and their staff, but they all fall short. Everyone's expectations were so far exceeded, i am dumbfounded. From the casual rehearsal dinner on the beach for 60 guests to the beautifully presented family-style dinner reception for 350, every bowl filled and every platter passed cradled something beautiful, delicious and delectable-and, with that many people to feed, we were just hoping for "plenty of" and "the appropriate temperature." When self-annointed "foodies" tell you they are having the best wedding food (or any food) they've ever had, as a hostess, you heave a big sigh of relief. Bottom line, if you're planning a wedding or any special event, take the advice from those who have passed through to "the other side" and save yourself a whole lot of time, effort and angst...run to Paradise Catering in Carmel Valley CA and procure their services. Their name is all it implies-their fare is ambrosia.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Jon and Nancy have a great catering company. They are very personable and helpful. The food was fabulous and everyone who attended our wedding is still raving about how good the food was. There display and staff were great. If you want a memorable meal I would go with Paradise catering.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KNRianda
Wedding:
7/3/2010
5.0/5.0
Absolutely loved everything, especially the Salmon and Spring Rolls. They were very attentive to our menu desires and worked with us to create an original menu! We loved working with Nancy and John!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
montereywedding
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough about Paradise Catering's fabulous contributions to our wedding. The food and the service were simply spectacular. Our guests continue to tell us how great the food was, and how the staff were so kind, helpful, and accommodating, and never in the way. We really appreciate how they embraced our tropical theme -- the coconut shrimp were the best I've ever tasted!! The rice was delicious; and people are still asking me for the asparagus recipe. They also offered a superb bakery recommendation for the cake. We couldn't have found a better baker. The food was, to us, perhaps the most important element of the day, and Paradise far exceeded our highest hopes.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cfundin
Wedding:
5/15/2010
5.0/5.0
Wonderful food and service, much appreciated and very forthcoming to meet our demands.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kmanasco
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Nancy and Jon are the BEST you can find. They bring foods and flavors from the farms to your tables. They know what they are doing. They are so easy to get along with, helpful, talented, and creative. The food is amazing. There is not enough good things I can say about Paradise Catering and the team there!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alisa
Wedding:
11/7/2009
5.0/5.0
The staff was wonderful in every respect, the food was personalized and excellent.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
It was a joy and pleasure to have Paradise Catering cater our special day. From the time of our very first meeting with them until after the event we have seen both Nancy and Jon as very extraordinary talents with the warm personality and professionalism to make them a true success. They grow all their own food so everything is fresh and delicious and they will customize their menus to create your dream menu. Their follow-up is impeccable and they really care about making their staff and guests as happy and fulfilled as possible which is seen by the nature and care exuded by their employees. They have some fun and creative ideas which we liked as we wanted our wedding to be different. Now that it's over we're so sad we can't look forward to their food so that we're trying to find a reason to have another event....hmmm, 1 month wedding anniversary? That's it!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paula
Wedding:
9/7/2008
5.0/5.0
Working with Nancy and Jon was a pleasure from our first planning meeting to our daughter's wedding day. After the wedding, we were given rave review after rave review from friends and family over the fabulous, fresh, wonderful food, which was served in an efficient, professional manner. The food was beautifully presented, perfectly fresh, and scrumptious! Nancy and Jon have years of experience which they are happy to share with you, making menu selections, giving advice on set-up, DJs, table settings, etc. They offered a very fair price for very high quality food, much of which was grown in their very own garden. We couldn't have been happier with our choice of Bird of Paradise Catering, and highly recommend them. Trust them. . .they are professionals.
Services Used: Catering
Paradise Catering responded with the following comments:

Paula, thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure working with you and the kids and your family, and your event will stay in our minds and hearts forever.
Many thanks
Nancy & Jon
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dina
Wedding:
9/29/2013
4.9/5.0
I could not recommend Paradise catering more! They provided the most amazing tasting food with such a beautiful set up that my guests are still raving about it. The food is often locally sourced and you can tell when you bite into the food, but not when you pay the bill. I cannot say enough wonderful things about them and would work with them again in a heartbeat. Their staff was courteous and professional and they came through on all the things that we discussed. A+ on all levels.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
4/27/2013
4.9/5.0
To Nancy & Jon,

Our wedding weekend would not have been the same without Paradise's amazing food! You were an absolute pleasure to work with, and I cannot even begin to thank you enough for all of the hard work that went into our wedding day and Friday night BBQ. I have received so many compliments on the food from the weekend, so I'm passing the compliments on to you! We enjoyed everything from start to finish. Thank you for taking care of us on the wedding day - we always had a drink in hand, and an appetizer nearby! You are the BEST.

To potential Paradise Clients: I would recommend Paradise to anyone! Not only was the food delicious, fresh and beautifully presented (a lot of the food came from Nancy and Jon's garden!), the service was impeccable. One of the servers brought my dad a new plate because they remembered that he likes his steak extra rare (he didn't even ask for it!). The servers were so attentive to myself and my husband the entire night. When we were off taking pictures, they prepared a big plate of appetizers to ensure we were able to enjoy our cocktail hour food. Nancy and Jon are not only amazing chefs, but they are a joy to work with.

Thank you for everything, Paradise!

Best,
Katherine & Alex
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brian & Lucile
Wedding:
7/30/1111
4.9/5.0
A perfect chef, a perfect catering staff. Paradise Catering was professional from beginning to end. Their personal attention to detail was exceptional.
Our wedding was a fairy tale from beginning to end.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
7/12/2014
4.8/5.0
Nancy and Jon catered our rehearsal dinner and our wedding at Holman Ranch and they were fantastic! All of our guest loved the food and we received tons of compliments! Nancy is an amazing person and I am so happy to have found her, she made the wedding easy and the only hard part was actually having to choose between Jon's delicious options!
I hope to work with them again and have their food all of the time!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kersten
Wedding:
5/18/2013
4.8/5.0
I'm originally from Carmel and both of our families live in the Carmel/Carmel Valley area, so it was important to us that the food, like all our wedding details, reflected all the beautiful bounty of the area. We wanted everything to be local, organic, and delicious, and Paradise delivered on all counts! If you're getting married anywhere in Carmel Valley (but especially at Holman Ranch, where the Paradise crew is so very comfortable), Paradise is the only way to go.

The food was extraordinary; everyone was talking about how incredible it was. I've never heard such great reviews about wedding food. We went the live-grill route and people were raving about the salmon, the tri-tip, and the veggies. My personal favorite was the spring salad that started the meal; it was wonderful.

Nancy and the Paradise crew were extremely accommodating as well; we brewed all our own beer for the event, and there was no fuss at all about having to deal with five different kinds of barely labeled (but very different!) beers. We came up with a signature cocktail not a week before the wedding, and they were A-OK with that. And with just a couple of days before the wedding, we were able to change the head count when we heard from two friends who couldn't make it at the last minute.

We even had Paradise do our rehearsal dinner as well, and they were careful not to repeat any food items from one night to the next.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1319420063930-anp00291
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/16/2012
4.8/5.0
When we were searching for caterers, we knew we wanted to find a caterer that served the freshest and the best ingredients. We fell in love with Paradise's concept of farm to table which is many respects is true, given that they grow most of their ingredients in their own backyard! We also knew we wanted a caterer that could allow us to get as creative as we wanted to be, and Paradise did just that. We were able to build a custom menu together based on our needs and the results were outstanding. We were extremely pleased with the quality of service and the taste of the food as well.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
John
Wedding:
9/1/2012
4.8/5.0
Dear Paradise Team,
I wanted to thank you for the best rehearsal dinner we've ever been to - I'm sure everyone says that about their own, but our guests are still raving about the food, service and the beautiful venue / decor during both the cocktail hour and the dinner. The hors d'oeuvres and appetizers were great, the petit filet mignon with shitake gorgonzola bread pudding & grilled balsamic artichoke was out of this world. The painting on a plate dessert was dazzling, everyone enjoyed it. What a terrific success. The best part was that it felt so seemless planning it, during the event, and afterwards.
Can't thank you enough -
John and Sarah W.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janet
Wedding:
8/4/2012
4.8/5.0
We're so glad that we chose Nancy and her team at Paradise to cater for our wedding. All our guests commented on how good the food was and we kept hearing that it was one of the best wedding meals they have ever had. Paradise really worked with us to help us keep within our budget and to create a delicious menu. Whatever I threw at them, they were more than willing to create. For example, I really wanted a colorful beet and arugula salad, and even though beets aren't in season in August, Nancy made it happen and it was DELICIOUS. The presentation of the food was also beautiful and so fun and interactive because it was a live grill. The team was extremely professional and I didn't have to worry about anything the day-of. Thank you thank you for being a part of our special day!

Nate & Janet
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jenik
Wedding:
8/24/2008
4.8/5.0
Anytime I talk to someone that attended our wedding, they always ALWAYS mention how fantastic the food was. And it was! We actually weren't prepared for how fresh and delicious everything was going to be. Nancy and John set up a grill just outside the reception area and cooked for us and our guests the best tasting salmon, steak and grilled vegetables we've ever had. The icing on the cake was the amazing service we got from them and their staff. They treated us like royalty and were on top of everything: assisting my cake maker, my MC, my coordinator. Simply fantastic service and exquisite food!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jonefo
Wedding:
10/10/2009
4.6/5.0
Our wedding was in October 2009 at Holman Ranch. Paradise Catering did a fabulous job. They are very easy and flexible to work with and John and Nancy helped us every step of the way. Highly recommend them to anyone.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Edward
Wedding:
5/4/2009
4.6/5.0
Always a first class presentation and you never need to worry about the quality of food and not having enough. Takes a lot of pressure off when you have such an experienced bunch taking care of things.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
B
Wedding:
9/27/2008
4.6/5.0
Paradise Catering provided excellent service and food at our daughter's wedding. John and Nancy are easy to work with, responsive and caring. Our guests have repeatedly said the food was the best ever at a wedding. Thank you for making this occasion special for our family. Cheryl and Richard
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ed
Wedding:
12/3/2011
4.5/5.0
Paradise did a great job catering my wedding at Holman Ranch this month. We weren't the easiest clients to work with since we had a specific budget in mind that we were determined to stick to, but Paradise helped us do a casual menu that went perfectly with the overall feel of the wedding. My fiancee (now husband) was determined to have a whole roast pig on display and Paradise executed the concept perfectly. The other factor that was important to both of us was that we have hot, flavorful food prepared on-site.

To save on staffing costs, we managed the food and most drinks for our cocktail hour (Holman Ranch did a wine tasting for us so out-of-town guests could sample their wines and enjoy a taste of Northern California without going off-site, and Paradise provided a carafe of hot apple cider that we served with stroopwafels to use as toppers). We also set up the table linens ourselves before Paradise arrived, which helped minimize staffing costs.

Ultimately, we had great reviews from guests who especially loved the grilled vegetables and the pulled pork on the menu. And, everyone had enough to eat until they were stuffed. Nick mentioned during our first meeting that Paradise isn't the cheapest caterer in the area, but we're very happy we went with them. We got exactly what we wanted in terms of the quality of food, and were pleasantly surprised when they provided a small plate of extra appetizers for the cocktail hour!

If you're planning a wedding at Holman, I'd strongly recommend going with Paradise for both quality, and their knowledge of the venue. They knew Holman better than I did and it made things so much smoother because they were able to consider things I wouldn't have thought of. And, they handled clean up without a hitch - I didn't even notice them clearing out, but everything was perfectly neat when they left.

Even if your event is elsewhere, I'd still recommend Paradise if your budget can handle it. You'll get fresh, well-prepared food from people who know and care about what they're doing - there's not much else you can ask for in a caterer!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leslie
Wedding:
7/24/2011
4.4/5.0
Food taste out of this world. Great job
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Guy
Wedding:
7/31/2010
3.9/5.0
Dear Jon, Nancy, & Paradise Staff,

Thank you so much for making our Wedding perfect! The food was excellent and the staff was great! Everyone had a great time and we are both thankful for all your help. The only areas I thought could use improvement was your response time to phone calls or emails and your flexibility on our napkin fold. Other than those trivial items you did awesome. Thanks again.

Guy & Andrea Balestrieri
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths

MAP

 
6 Del Fino Place Suite B, Carmel Valley, CA 93924 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Paradise Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1273776713429-logo