Nophoto-220
Paraiso Maravilla
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
 
12 Reviews      6 people has saved this vendor.
Address:
5714 Fairdale Ln.
Houston, TX US 77057 (map)
Phone:
713-977-5773
Categories:
 
 
 
3.8 
(4.1/5.0)
 
Quality of Service 
(3.2/5.0)
 
Responsiveness 
(4.0/5.0)
 
Professionalism 
(3.7/5.0)
 
Value 
(4.0/5.0)
 
Flexibility 
Sort
 
130x130_sq_1326773505611-bling
Rinata
Wedding:
3/24/2012
 
5.0 out of 5.0
This venue is now called Las Velas but Weddingwire hasn't updated their list yet I suppose. My wedding and reception were held here with 280 guests.

First off the quality of the service is superb at Las Velas. Elmira is the venue manager and she is an absolute joy to work with. She responds very quickly to any requests and she worked very well with my day of coordinators. I used an outside caterer and she was also very helpful in assiting him with setup and logistics. She went out of her way to make sure that we had everything we wanted and she made our wedding day even more special just by truly being happy for us. Aside from being a great manager she is just an awesome person and still very much enjoys what she does for a living. It's evident.

I think the value is great. There is no other place in Houston that compares to the beauty of Las Velas, my wedding was GORGEOUS!! I had 280 guests and they were comfortable. I also had a DJ and a band and there was still plenty of romm but it does take some creativity on setup. Las Velas requires very little floral because it is so stunning on its own. Another perk is that you get the entire venue for your night instead of having to share it with another event party.

We had a great wedding and my family and friends have yet to stop talking about Las Velas.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sfaswimmer
Wedding:
10/17/2010
 
3.4 out of 5.0
Paraiso Maravilla is now called Las Velas. While going through the wedding process with PM they were having lots of changes with their personnel so it became a bit confusing at times. They even lost my contract and didn't have my wedding scheduled. Luckily I'm OCD and caught it but there's a huge chance that someone else could have found out the week before their wedding that their venue wasn't booked, even though they had a signed contract! Other then that, everything was great. By the time the wedding day came they had new and wonderful staff in place. They were super helpful and I had a beautiful wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathryn
Wedding:
6/26/2010
 
1.9 out of 5.0
I'll start out by saying that our wedding day was beautiful, and my bridal portraits turned out beautifully in the venue. The actual staff that runs the venue did a great job with the setup, and were very helpful the day of the wedding.
My issue was with the management of the venue. It would sometimes take us weeks of repeated calling and voicemail messages to get the manager on the phone to make appointments, and of course, even if you were able to speak with him sometimes you'd be told to call back because he didn't have his calendar. My main complaint is that about a month before our wedding date, we set up a meeting to meet with Mr. C to go over the final details and plan for our ceremony & reception. Mr. C didn't even bother to show up, stating that he didn't understand why we would possibly need to meet with him to go over the floor plan for our wedding and to ask questions. I understand that PM does this all the time, but this is the largest event I will ever throw, and I would have appreciated some patience and understanding as we try to make our vision work in the venue. Thank goodness we hired an excellent caterer in Bailey Connor Catering, because without them my wedding would have been completely disorganized.
This is a beautiful space, and my guests absolutely raved about how lovely our wedding was. Of course, none of the guests ever know the stress behind the planning. But if you are a bride would like for your venue to do something other than unlock the doors and take your money, you should look elsewhere.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/11/2010
 
3.2 out of 5.0
We thought Paraiso was beautiful and couldn't wait to get married there. However, in hindsight, the price is a little high for what is provided, especially when compared to other venues. The owner "doesn't do email" and is kind of difficult to get a hold of. The contract states that you cannot plan your rehearsal time until three weeks before your event date. We tried to plan ours four weeks in advance and there was already a bridal portrait session scheduled (from 4:30-6:30 on a Thursday), so that forced us to change our rehearsal dinner plans.

Our wedding was completely beautiful, but we did have a few problems on the wedding day. We were assured when we booked that we could easily fit 120 people at tables downstairs for our reception and that it would be no problem for the same number of people to fit in the back room for the ceremony. When we met with our coordinator, she explained to us that some of our guests (which ended up being right around 100) would have to sit upstairs in the balcony. The man who set up the chairs for our ceremony told us there was no way he could fit 100 chairs in the back room, and our coordinator had to tell him to do it because she had done weddings at Paraiso before and made that number fit. It was very frustrating to think that some of our guests weren't going to get the full "experience."

We were also upset that immediately after we left Paraiso, the AC was turned off. Per our contract, we had the venue for another hour for clean-up time, so all of the staff had to work in a humid building. One other thing to be aware of is that the owner is constantly trying to enhance his property. Some of these changes were welcome and beautiful, but others I didn't like as well. We booked a year in advance, so things inside changed pretty drastically and when I didn't like a change, it was disheartening. Overall, I do not regret our decision to have our wedding at Paraiso Maravilla, but I don't suggest it as a venue to other brides unless your budget allows you the luxury of a coordinator and you are the type of person who truly wants to choose every single detail of your wedding yourself, because you will have to. Nothing is done for you other than set-up of the tables and chairs!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1264132680500-9933101001372150917348331731586687415603174n
jessica
Wedding:
4/11/2010
 
1.0 out of 5.0
If you are Indian, Asian or White - you should be okay - as long as the wedding party is small and you don't need alot of space. If you are Mexican American - don't even bother, the owner thinks Mexicans cannot afford "this place" and that they try to sneak in alchohol because they don't want to pay for it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lottie
Wedding:
4/9/2010
 
5.0 out of 5.0
I had my wedding and reception at Paraiso Maravilla a and I truly loved every minute of it. Everyone was extremely kind, helpful and had a genuine care fo me and my husband. If I had to think of one negative thing, I would not be able to.. I highly recommend this location to any bride, it will evceed your expectations and create memories that you will never forget.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Linda
Wedding:
1/30/2010
 
4.7 out of 5.0
I knew this was the place I wanted to get married in. The place is so beautiful on it's own that we didn't really need alot of decorations, but just had enough to make it us. I loved the place and would do get married hear all over again.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angee
Wedding:
1/26/2010
 
4.0 out of 5.0
Beautiful venue, best value for the space and decor. There is no email messaging available which is highly annoying. You have to call, leave a message, and sweat it out until they get back to you. Other than that, I would recommend this place in a heartbeat.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ClarkAguirre2009
Wedding:
11/27/2009
 
3.7 out of 5.0
We feel in love with Paraiso from the minute we saw it and our guest fell in love too -- we have some amazing photographs, and I'm thrilled with the outcome. I wouldn't have had it anywhere else.

That said, I was told by my planner that the owner was not present for the day of our wedding and he had assigned an assisstant, who barely spoke English to be there on his behalf. He had no idea about the special arrangements we had made for the marriachi band to enter through the backgate. He argued several times and was rude. But most of time she actually had to call him to find out if he was on the premises. I would suggest asking who the "go to" person on the day will be.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
heathie204
Wedding:
11/13/2009
 
4.4 out of 5.0
I happened on the Paraiso by mistake, but it was the best mistake I could have made! The venu is beautiful, the cost is reasonible, the location is great (especially if you have out of town guests). They don't offer as much time as most venues do (I think most give you one more hour), but it was plenty of time for us. Stephen was great to work with, sometimes it can be hard getting in touch with somebody, but they did always get back with me.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Paraiso Maravilla
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo