130x130_sq_1266351064361-paulrichstudio

Paul Rich Studio

Portland , OR
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Portland, OR US 97206 (map)

PHONE

503-475-3306

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Paul Rich has a natural gift for capturing real moments. Known for his ability to put his subjects at ease, he uses an artist’s sense of composition with a technician’s knowledge of... Read more
Paul Rich has a natural gift for capturing real moments. Known for his ability to put his subjects at ease, he uses an artist’s sense of composition with a technician’s knowledge of light. Paul has a talent for quietly capturing the lovely tender vignettes that will evoke the feeling of your event for years to come.

Paul pursued wedding photography at the early age of 13. He began working as a photographer's assistant and photographed his first wedding by the time he turned 18. While earning his degree in photography at Bard College in New York, Paul had the opportunity to study with such notable photographers as Stephen Shore and Larry Fink.

Paul is an award-winning member of The Artistic Guild of the Wedding Photojournalist Association (an organization comprised of photojournalists and documentary-style wedding photographers from around the world). He is a regular contributor to such wedding sites as Style Me Pretty and his wedding images have been published in Portland Monthly’s Bride & Groom magazine. Recent destination wedding assignments include such locations as Kauai, St Lucia, and Martha's Vineyard. Read less
Photography

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Digital Files, High Resolution Images, Prints
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
Thank you so much for shooting our wedding and accommodating us on our impromptu requests. The photos are BEAUTIFUL! I had so many wonderful compliments on you and the way you worked. Organized, professional, good with people, intuitive....the list goes on and on. :) You made my special day worry free and that is priceless.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Richard
Wedding:
3/28/2014
5.0/5.0
My wife and I live in Chicago and were planning our wedding in Oregon. Our wedding planner suggested Paul as the photographer and we were a little nervous because we wouldn't have a chance to actually sit down and meet him. He was great though!!! We had a few conference calls were he asked us for our vision of the wedding and did an amazing job of putting us at ease. He walked us through the whole process and helped us provide him with all the information we needed. He did an amazing job at the wedding too. He was extremely well organized and prepared. He really knew what shots he was looking for and how to get them. The pictures turned out incredible. Highly recommend!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danny
Wedding:
12/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Paul photographed our wedding in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico last December. We chose Paul because of his reputation, recommendations, and his portfolio. When it was all said and done, it was all the little things he did to keep our wedding organized and efficient. There are thousands of people that can take great photos, but very few who can 'run the show.' When you hire him, you get a person who doesn't just take amazing photos, but someone who gives you peace of mind and is so detail oriented that people know exactly what to do and when to do it. There was NEVER any chaos. These type of things made our wedding day stress free and that's why I recommend Paul. I can't say enough good things.
-Danny
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Zack
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Our experience with Paul was fantastic! We flew him out from Portland to Rhode Island for our wedding. Since we weren't local, we were able to talk with Paul over the phone for planning. He made everything very easy for us. He explained different scenarios of how the day could go and worked with us on the photos we wanted and the timeline of the day. Paul's professionalism, planning and photography skills are second to none and we are so happy we chose Paul for our big day. When the big day came, everything went off without a hitch just as we had planned. Afterwards, he kept us posted on the progress of our pictures and put together a wedding album design for us and worked with us until it was the album we wanted. We couldn't be happier with how the pictures and album turned out! We absolutely recommend Paul. You will not be disappointed.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1370199534371-img0649
Brant
Wedding:
8/30/2013
5.0/5.0
AMAZING!!!!! Best photographer tons of energy lovely to work with
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeff
Wedding:
8/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Did a great job and all the pictures turned out great. He also was very quick getting the pictures to us. Would highly recommend
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Paul was amazing - truly. He was there for us through all of the planning, and on the day of the wedding, had some incredible ideas about how to respond to a short sprinkle that threatened to undo all of our planning! He was fun to work with, took great pictures of our families, and the dancing, and also captured some of the details of the set-up that we loved, but never would have thought to ask for. Paul really is a wonderful photographer to work with, and I would wholeheartedly recommend him!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nickole
Wedding:
5/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Paul was amazing from start to finish. We would recommend him to everyone. Not only does he take great photos, but he went above and beyond in every way possible.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
1/12/2013
5.0/5.0
I chose Paul because he was professional, but fun and ready to go with whatever we had in mind. He was organized and prompt and you could see him sizing up the space and situation to get the best angle/shot possible. He made me feel comfortable, and I do not enjoy having my picture taken. I just wish I had been more on the ball (I think I booked him a little over a month before the wedding) so I could have thought about more fun shots that I wanted. I had a lot of ideas, but didn't make enough time to go over them with him before the wedding.The finished product is fabulous, and I am someone who thinks I look horrible in them no matter what, but Paul did a fantastic job. He quickly got the photos online for us to view and share with family and the high resolution discs followed swiftly in the mail. If you choose to go with Paul, you will not be disappointed.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
keoliphant
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Paul is a great guy to work with. We really appreciated his thoroughness, creativity, and attention to detail. The photos turned out great. We would recommend Paul to all. Very happy!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Max
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
My wife and I researched and interviewed several photographers before finding Paul, and after meeting with him we both knew he was the right photographer for our wedding. He is very easy to work with, while being determined and focused on details to make sure that everything goes smoothly. His photography skills and aesthetic are excellent, and he was also very helpful in many other aspects of planning and executing our wedding. I found him to be very "on top of it" and responsive, and his experience and knowledge put us at ease. Our wedding photos turned out wonderfully. I have never had a second thought about our choice to hire Paul, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to anyone looking for a photographer for their wedding or event.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
Paul is such a talented and amazing photographer. He shot our wedding this last August and did such a wonderful job. He captured so much in his photos: joy, excitement, laughter, and love. He worked SO hard the entire time and even came early. His presence was calming and he made the photo portion of the event fun.

Since the wedding we've spoken with many of our guests and somehow his name comes up most every time. Everyone noticed how he worked the room and took so many pictures! He was not in the way at all, or a distraction from the ceremony and reception.

Not only was Paul great on the actual day, but he was so helpful in the planning process. He met with us twice and was so patient as we worked through the plans, he even had great recommendations, all of which we used! Days after the wedding he had sent us a few amazing pictures, just to give us a taste! The within a month we received all of the photos!

I would recommend Paul for any event you need a photographer for. We love our pictures so much and can't imagine ever getting tired of looking through them all. He is such a gifted photographer and you'll be so happy that he was there to capture you and your family!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kbleopardgirl
Wedding:
8/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Paul was very professional, and has a good sense of humor. The photos were beautiful.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vicki
Wedding:
7/23/2011
4.8/5.0
Paul went above and beyond what we expected from a photographer. He was incredibly organized and was able to get all the family pictures we had on our list in a timely manner. Prior to the wedding, Paul was quick to respond to any questions we had and when asked for recommendations of music or decor, he provided some great recommendations. Throughout the wedding, Paul was everywhere but never getting in anyone's way as he captured the events of our special day. All the pictures we received were more than what we expected and we were so excited to show them off to family and friends. We would definitely recommend Paul to anyone who is looking for a photographer that really listens to their needs.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robin
Wedding:
7/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Paul Rich was amazing right from the very first meeting. As soon as I finished with the initial meeting with him I knew that he was the one I wanted for my photographer. He offers great package options that included meeting with him out at the venue to go over photo lists and options for different places to shoot photos. The day of my wedding it was pouring down rain, in July, and he got there early to scout out new options for the photos if the rain didn't stop. He came in with a big smile on his face helping make a stressful morning a little bit better The photos turned out absolutely amazing and we got to see some of them soon after the wedding. Since we have received our photos I have shown so many people and they comment how amazing they are and how he was able to capture all the laughter and happiness of the day. Choosing him as my photographer for the day was one of the best choices that I made for my wedding!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1308355523463-stacilui
staci
Wedding:
7/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Wonderful. Love the pics. Paul Rich didnt have much time because I was running a little behind but he managed to get all the photographs taken beautifully : ) Im amazed by the pics I've seen so far.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
danavoelker
Wedding:
4/23/2010
5.0/5.0
I have worked with a log of photographers in the Portland area and there is no other photographer that even compares with the quality of Paul Rich Studio. From start to finish, Paul and his team have a way of making everything make sense and everyone feel at ease. He goes above and beyond to get to know the couple and to even memorize the names and relationships of the entire wedding party. He knows his business well and makes great suggestions and tips to make sure that the photos are done well and don't take away from the day. We have decided that Paul Rich Studio is the only photographer for us and we highly recommend him to not only future brides and grooms, but to families that want photos or other special occassions.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MVBride
Wedding:
12/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Paul was amazing - he put everyone at ease, was willing to work around a giant snow storm and produced stunning photographs. His turn around time was amazingly fast. He was friendly and professional and blended right in during the wedding day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sbors
Wedding:
7/4/2009
5.0/5.0
If you're trying to save your budget in photography, Paul is not your guy. If you want awesome photos for a lifetime and an enjoyable experience with a photographer on the day of your wedding - to the point you forget he/she's even there - Paul Rich Sudios is your photographer!

I was looking to stay in budget when we started hunting for a photographer. There are a zillion of them out there and interview many! We started to realize we really wanted a great experience with great results over what we would pay. These photos are ours for life! No redu's!

When we first met Paul he was laid back, this is who I am, here's a representation of my work, oh and if you go to my website there is a video of me working so you can see how I act while working. Not a ton of options for packages - but the right amount with a little flexibility. No major sales pitch. It was so nice - we decided immediately Paul was for us.

My husband and I don't pose well, trying to get the 'natural look'. Paul made us feel like Super Models! He had us laughing and playing during both our engagement shoot and on wedding day. Amazing!

After both shooting sessions he's been quick on getting us our photos back. He started our engagement book for us, let us see all the photos (on line) and swap out as we wanted. Now it's been less than 30 days since the wedding - and we already are selecting our wedding photos for our album - and it's mid-high wedding season (and he's booked solid!).

Paul Rich has amazing talent, and in my opinion - he's priceless!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandi
Wedding:
8/9/2008
5.0/5.0
This review is long over due! It's lengthy as I don't typically do short and sweet. So I will start with this in case you don't want to read the whole thing. You can't get better than Paul Rich Studio for your wedding or family portraits!

I wanted someone to capture what my husband and I had.... Love. I wanted him to capture our admiration for each other, our friendship, our playfulness. We were over the moon excited and even more confident in our decision once after heading to Canon Beach for our engagement session! Not only did we get great romantic shots on the beach holding each other and with a great view in the background, Paul also captured us rolling around in the sand, getting waist deep in the ocean an being flirtatious, playful and having fun! I fell in love all over again with Toby that day. And when I saw the photos I loved that I could see that love unfolding!

Fast forward to our wedding day, he rocked it! When we received our album you could relive our day through the photos. From start to finish you can see the day, the feelings and emotions of the day unfold. It was truly incredible to see it from that perspective. Because of the collection of photos he took, I feel like I remember that day like it was yesterday. Most brides go through that day so fast that even after receiving their albums they don't remember much, but Paul captured everything I would have wanted to remember and more. I am truly grateful for that.

Since then we have had family sessions, maternity , newborn and kiddos sessions with him at least a couple times a year, we referred him to friends and family all who continue to see him for their family portraits as well. His work is always amazing, his professionalism; top notch, and his attitude; totally awesome! Best money spent on our day was on photography! Hands down!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Paul's was absolutely perfect as our photographer! Our photos look like they are straight out of a magazine. He was creative and quick. He got through our formals with amazing speed, and yet the quality was amazing. He made everyone feel comfortable and made it all a fun experience. He is truly an artist and we are so happy to have his photographs as our reminders. His turn around time was quick (and he posted a few photos to his blog within days, which was awesome!), and the DVD and prints we received were so tastefully packaged. His services are not cheap, but he is the real deal. You totally get what you pay for.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Paul was so nice and was great on the day of the wedding. We are thrilled with the quality of the photos!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We flew Paul Rich out to Tucson, AZ from Portland OR for our wedding because we knew that we had to have the best for our special day. If you are looking for a photographer for your wedding then this is the guy for you! He will stop at nothing to make sure that you are happy, comfortable and at ease on your wedding day. Immediately upon his arrival, he was scouting out our wedding and reception sites to check for formal locations and lighting. He did all of this the day before our wedding took place, so that he knew every detail without hesitation.

Our original plans of taking group photos after the wedding were changed the day before our wedding due to some weather issues. Paul took it upon himself to create a new photo schedule for us that met our needs and still allowed us to feel at ease with our change in plans. He kept us on schedule, as it was pretty easy for us to lose track of time.

Paul Rich was far more han just a photographer. He blended into the crowd and captured the evening just as we would want it to be remembered (and more!). Search no further because this is the photographer for whatever occasion you are looking. You don't want to miss a moment of your special day and Paul's the person to make sure that doesn't happen.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Portland, OR 97206 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Paul Rich Studio
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo