130x130 sq 1263938699326 webicon

Peter Coombs

Kihei , HI

LOCATION

Kihei, HI 96753 US (map)

PHONE

708-717-6040

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We’ve photographed Ralph Feinnes, Dame Judi Dench, Prince Charles and more than 500 weddings!... Now we’d like to work for YOU!


We’ve been a professional photography... Read more
We’ve photographed Ralph Feinnes, Dame Judi Dench, Prince Charles and more than 500 weddings!... Now we’d like to work for YOU!


We’ve been a professional photography team for around 8 years now and have enjoyed working all over the world while living in the UK, Vancouver, Chicago and now Maui!.
Peter started out doing production photography aboard passenger cruise ships and then went on to do TV set & theater work on land before moving back to the UK where we worked for 5 years at the Royal Shakespeare Theatre Company in Stratford-upon-Avon.




While we were there Peter photographed many wonderful productions starring some of the finest actors from Britain & the US. He also worked as a principal photographer on the ’Royal Rota’ assigned to Prince Charles.
After moving to Chicago he continued to do theatrical production work as well as working for the Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs.



This theatrical work was invaluable training for wedding photography. Now working as a partnership we learned the importance of anticipating ‘the moment’ and recognizing the best opportunities for capturing images that would represent the emotional core of the relationship. We also learned the value of understanding the impact good lighting has in a picture, how it can contribute to, or destroy the ‘Drama’ as it is recorded.

Most importantly theater and wedding photography gives us the opportunity to capture people looking wonderful, while giving unforgettable performances.

We are now based in Maui and bringing our vision, experience and expertise to a whole new world of photographic possibilities Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1263941744138 0502a
130x130 sq 1202502919087 wedding4
130x130 sq 1202502967962 wedding10
130x130 sq 1202502983727 wedding7
130x130 sq 1202503038602 wedding13
130x130 sq 1202503055977 wedding14
130x130 sq 1202503071759 wedding15
130x130 sq 1202503105446 wedding17
130x130 sq 1202503162602 wedding20
130x130 sq 1202503203337 wedding21
130x130 sq 1202503222149 wedding22
130x130 sq 1202503249227 wedding23
130x130 sq 1202503002868 wedding11
130x130 sq 1202503267618 wedding24
130x130 sq 1202503284071 wedding25
130x130 sq 1263941697935 thelastpoolgamemytributetodavincislastsupper
130x130 sq 1263941698154 treatments0030
130x130 sq 1263941699544 0088a
130x130 sq 1202503118993 wedding18
130x130 sq 1263941719248 0082a
130x130 sq 1263941724560 0170
130x130 sq 1263941725763 0223b
130x130 sq 1263941739748 0118b
130x130 sq 1263941741607 0335a
130x130 sq 1263941744138 0393
130x130 sq 1263941745310 0513
130x130 sq 1263941746888 0538
130x130 sq 1263941748888 0561a
130x130 sq 1263941750544 0785a
130x130 sq 1263941751623 aaronannie0026
130x130 sq 1263941752732 aaronannie0608a
130x130 sq 1263941754482 amybob0047a
130x130 sq 1263941756138 amybob0054b
130x130 sq 1263941757404 anthonybrianne0405b
130x130 sq 1263941759013 arveedouglas0795a
130x130 sq 1263941759763 cindyiltae0091a
130x130 sq 1263941761169 cindyiltae0362b
130x130 sq 1263941762451 cindyiltae0959b
130x130 sq 1263941764873 elizabethandy0068b
130x130 sq 1263941766388 elizabethandy0426a
130x130 sq 1263941767279 elizabethbrad0553a
130x130 sq 1263941768904 elizabethbrad0709a
130x130 sq 1263941769576 elizabethbrad1395
130x130 sq 1263941771248 jackabby0226a
130x130 sq 1263941772279 jennjeff0578c
130x130 sq 1263941773216 katherinekevin0066a
130x130 sq 1263941771029 0502b
130x130 sq 1263941774232 katherinekevin0096c
130x130 sq 1263941774591 katherinekevin0484a
130x130 sq 1263941775873 katherinekevin0582a
130x130 sq 1263941775810 katherinekevin0844a
130x130 sq 1263941776919 kimphil0243a
130x130 sq 1263941777216 katherinekevin1518b
130x130 sq 1263941778216 lisafadi0715a
130x130 sq 1263941778044 lisafadi0407b
130x130 sq 1263941779154 lisaryan0022b
130x130 sq 1263941779623 lizbrad20090069
130x130 sq 1263941780669 lynettemike0194a
130x130 sq 1263941780873 lynettemike0571a
130x130 sq 1263941781623 martintangela0035
130x130 sq 1263941782107 martintangela0065a
130x130 sq 1263941782654 martintangela0070a
130x130 sq 1263941783076 martintangela0092
130x130 sq 1263941783654 martintangela0113
130x130 sq 1263941784279 meggreg0117a
130x130 sq 1263941784951 meggreg0480b
130x130 sq 1263941785529 meggreg0540a
130x130 sq 1263941785998 meggreg1008a
130x130 sq 1263941786919 meggreg1064c
130x130 sq 1263941787201 melindamarty0107a
130x130 sq 1263941788451 mikedara0597b
130x130 sq 1263941788388 mikedara0984a
130x130 sq 1263941789326 ruthcraig0626b
130x130 sq 1263941789607 ruthcraig1a
130x130 sq 1263941790263 silaura0910a
130x130 sq 1263941790779 stirlingleyla0077a
130x130 sq 1263941791513 stirlingleyla0383a

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture, Traditional / Posed
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Prints, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
Can perform a variety of post processing tasks including photo retouching, album creation, video creation etc. Also now introducing the 'brides mirror' images.
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Great deal of experience with all types of lighting and environments
Is your media preference film or digital?
Digital
How many photographers do you work with?
I work with a photo/camera assistant
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
One Wedding Per Day Only.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
2 Cameras
 Good selection of lenses
 Extensive Flash Equipment (3 or 4 Flash Units, Stands, Remote Transcievers, Bounces, Filters etc.)
 30 GB storage
 Lots of spare battery back-up.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Yes, your wedding will be covered even in the event some equipment fails
Do you charge hourly or full day?
$2600 for the first 8 hours. $250 p/h thereafter
Do you charge for travel?
Travel charges apply beyond a 100 mile day (round-trip from Oak Park Il)
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
DVD is usually delivered within 2 weeks
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
After the pictures have been edited & corrected the couple receive the digital negatives which they then own
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
Yes, the couple is assigned 'Personal Use' copyright.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes with the permission of the couple if they are featured in the picture
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes
Will images be available for viewing online?
Images are made available online for viewing for a 6 month period after the wedding.
What kind of albums do you offer?
I offer Graphi-Studio hand made & printed albums. Other manufacturers can also be worked with. Please contact me for details
When will the client get the final album?
3 - 4 months is normal

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
12/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Peter is the absolute best! His technique and style are unique, beautiful and awe inspiring. He not only captures the people but the moment as well. Peter is great to work with. He keeps you laughing, smiling and loving the moment. He is very flexiable and comes up with great places for photo shoots. His quick and doesn't miss anything! His work is stunning - don't believe me just check out his webpage. Not only for bridal he has an eye for it all - babies, nature, family life and of course WEDDINGS! If you are looking for a well rounded exprianced photographer Peter is the way to go. The quality of his work is remarkable. It seems today everyone has a camera and is trying to capture the moment - Peter doesn't have to try he just does! I would recomend him to anyone and I know he will give his very best to everyone.
Peter is the absolute best! His technique and style are unique, beautiful and awe inspiring. He not only captures the Read more...
Peter is the absolute best! His technique and style are unique, beautiful and awe inspiring. He not only captures the people but the moment as well. Peter is great to work with. He keeps you laughing, smiling and loving the moment. He is very flexiable and comes up with great places for photo shoots. His quick and doesn't miss anything! His work is stunning - don't believe me just check out his webpage. Not only for bridal he has an eye for it all - babies, nature, family life and of course WEDDINGS! If you are looking for a well rounded exprianced photographer Peter is the way to go. The quality of his work is remarkable. It seems today everyone has a camera and is trying to capture the moment - Peter doesn't have to try he just does! I would recomend him to anyone and I know he will give his very best to everyone. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Gidget
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Creative, professional, fun and a good value! He made us feel very comfortable and he was not intrusive.
Creative, professional, fun and a good value! He made us feel very comfortable and he was not intrusive.
Creative, professional, fun and a good value! He made us feel very comfortable and he was not intrusive. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
nrbp
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Peter and his wife were amazing from the day we first met to the quick processing of our photos after the wedding! Peter made sure that we had a variety of photos in all of our planned locations and even had other ideas in mind when we needed to travel indoors because of weather. He captured some fabulous photos and we had them within two weeks! Personality of the photographer is important because you're with them all day and Peter is so great - you won't be disappointed!! He was even able to photoshop a photo that we had forgotten to take! He's been the photographer for a few of our friends' weddings as well and everyone had the same great experience. Book him early!
Peter and his wife were amazing from the day we first met to the quick processing of our photos after the wedding! Peter Read more...
Peter and his wife were amazing from the day we first met to the quick processing of our photos after the wedding! Peter made sure that we had a variety of photos in all of our planned locations and even had other ideas in mind when we needed to travel indoors because of weather. He captured some fabulous photos and we had them within two weeks! Personality of the photographer is important because you're with them all day and Peter is so great - you won't be disappointed!! He was even able to photoshop a photo that we had forgotten to take! He's been the photographer for a few of our friends' weddings as well and everyone had the same great experience. Book him early! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Kristen
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
Fantastic!
Fantastic!
Fantastic! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Tank and Truffle
Wedding:
2/5/2010
5.0/5.0
The BEST decision we made for our wedding!

Choosing a photographer for our wedding was not the easiest task on our to do list. However, Peter made it easy, realistic, and fun!! I am very much a photo person and wherever I go my camera is with me. With this in mind I wanted to choose the perfect photographer for one of the most important days in my life...I did...Peter was the best choice for my wedding!!!! I will continue to use him in the future for special events!

Peter is very flexible, easy going, and his prices are fair. He will work with you to prepare a package for your needs. Peter is fun to work with and his eye for that perfect shot will amaze you! He also has a great sense of humor!

We had a winter wedding and wanted pictures in the snow. Even though it was cold outside and the snow kept coming down Peter went outside several times for us to capture our outdoor shots. The pictures turned out amazing. We didn't have bubbles or rose petals as we walked out of the church...but the snowflakes were perfect!!!! It was our winter wonderland!

If you choose Peter you will have one less thing to worry about on your special day! Peter Coombs is an excellent choice for any of your photography needs!!

I am grateful that I have the best wedding pictures I could have ever wanted...and better yet I have them on disc!! Thank you Peter for capturing our special day, the pictures are beautiful!!
The BEST decision we made for our wedding!

Choosing a photographer for our wedding was not the easiest task on Read more...
The BEST decision we made for our wedding!

Choosing a photographer for our wedding was not the easiest task on our to do list. However, Peter made it easy, realistic, and fun!! I am very much a photo person and wherever I go my camera is with me. With this in mind I wanted to choose the perfect photographer for one of the most important days in my life...I did...Peter was the best choice for my wedding!!!! I will continue to use him in the future for special events!

Peter is very flexible, easy going, and his prices are fair. He will work with you to prepare a package for your needs. Peter is fun to work with and his eye for that perfect shot will amaze you! He also has a great sense of humor!

We had a winter wedding and wanted pictures in the snow. Even though it was cold outside and the snow kept coming down Peter went outside several times for us to capture our outdoor shots. The pictures turned out amazing. We didn't have bubbles or rose petals as we walked out of the church...but the snowflakes were perfect!!!! It was our winter wonderland!

If you choose Peter you will have one less thing to worry about on your special day! Peter Coombs is an excellent choice for any of your photography needs!!

I am grateful that I have the best wedding pictures I could have ever wanted...and better yet I have them on disc!! Thank you Peter for capturing our special day, the pictures are beautiful!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
hydrogeek
Wedding:
1/16/2010
5.0/5.0
Working with Peter was an awesome experience. Very professional, yet fun. He rolled with our crazy ideas and improved upon them, and then made them better with some great photo effects after the day.

He posted our photos on a web site so that relatives could choose their favorites and then even gave us the "negatives" which is practically unheard of in the wedding photo business.

I would highly recommend Peter to anyone looking for any kind of quality photography, wedding or otherwise.
Working with Peter was an awesome experience. Very professional, yet fun. He rolled with our crazy ideas and improved upon Read more...
Working with Peter was an awesome experience. Very professional, yet fun. He rolled with our crazy ideas and improved upon them, and then made them better with some great photo effects after the day.

He posted our photos on a web site so that relatives could choose their favorites and then even gave us the "negatives" which is practically unheard of in the wedding photo business.

I would highly recommend Peter to anyone looking for any kind of quality photography, wedding or otherwise. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Chris
Wedding:
10/31/2009
5.0/5.0
We considered two very different types of photographers for our wedding. We started by talking to Bella and getting the corporate kool-aid. Its sort of like ordering at cheeseburger at McDonalds. You know what you will get, but that doesn't make it taste good.

We then went to Peter. Peter lives right down the street from us which was a plus. We met for coffee and we knew immediately he was the one. He put us at ease right away which was important, and we knew the man who would be taking our wedding pictures and his style.

Peter did a wonderful job at our wedding. He was everything we hoped he could be and more. He took beautiful shots of my wife and I (no small feat considering I'm not exactly photogenic). Our family and friends are still raving about it! And he was fast - we got a slideshow in a couple days, and our dvd with all the photos (almost 1000!) in a few more. Our friends who got married weeks before hadn't even seen a hint of their photos yet.

To go back to the earlier metaphor - why order McDonalds when you can have a good steak? Book him while you can!
We considered two very different types of photographers for our wedding. We started by talking to Bella and getting the Read more...
We considered two very different types of photographers for our wedding. We started by talking to Bella and getting the corporate kool-aid. Its sort of like ordering at cheeseburger at McDonalds. You know what you will get, but that doesn't make it taste good.

We then went to Peter. Peter lives right down the street from us which was a plus. We met for coffee and we knew immediately he was the one. He put us at ease right away which was important, and we knew the man who would be taking our wedding pictures and his style.

Peter did a wonderful job at our wedding. He was everything we hoped he could be and more. He took beautiful shots of my wife and I (no small feat considering I'm not exactly photogenic). Our family and friends are still raving about it! And he was fast - we got a slideshow in a couple days, and our dvd with all the photos (almost 1000!) in a few more. Our friends who got married weeks before hadn't even seen a hint of their photos yet.

To go back to the earlier metaphor - why order McDonalds when you can have a good steak? Book him while you can! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
kitana
Wedding:
8/30/2009
5.0/5.0
Peter did our wedding a little over a month ago and we still just can't get enough of the pictures! He captured every moment spectacularly -- looking at our albums really brings the entire day back to life. Our venue was pretty large and we had a few costume changes -- Peter was running around back and forth making sure he really got everything. It was clear that he was working hard the entire day. I don't know if he even took a moment to sit down!

I can't say I know much about photography, but I will say that Peter does a great job paying attention to the little nuances of each photo, like lighting and space. He'll even set up shots that I never would have thought of, which all turned out great. These are all things you really don't appreciate until you finally see all of your pictures in full form.

What I also appreciated about Peter's work is that he is able to make everyone smile and look genuinely happy in every picture, even the posed ones. I'd like to say that everyone was glowing just because they were at our wedding, but I think Peter had a hand in that too. =) He really took the effort to get to know us and our families, which not only allowed him to accurately capture our personalities, but also made everyone feel much more natural around him as he was snapping their photo.

The last thing I'll say is about Peter's service as a photographer. Every email and phone call was answered almost immediately, if not within 12-14 hours. He made it seem like we were his only client and would always give us full attention. You can't ask for better service at any of the larger photography firms.

Thank you Peter for such a fantastic and successful day!! These are pictures that we will share and keep with us forever -- they are exactly the way we want to remember this day for the rest of our lives.
Peter did our wedding a little over a month ago and we still just can't get enough of the pictures! He captured every Read more...
Peter did our wedding a little over a month ago and we still just can't get enough of the pictures! He captured every moment spectacularly -- looking at our albums really brings the entire day back to life. Our venue was pretty large and we had a few costume changes -- Peter was running around back and forth making sure he really got everything. It was clear that he was working hard the entire day. I don't know if he even took a moment to sit down!

I can't say I know much about photography, but I will say that Peter does a great job paying attention to the little nuances of each photo, like lighting and space. He'll even set up shots that I never would have thought of, which all turned out great. These are all things you really don't appreciate until you finally see all of your pictures in full form.

What I also appreciated about Peter's work is that he is able to make everyone smile and look genuinely happy in every picture, even the posed ones. I'd like to say that everyone was glowing just because they were at our wedding, but I think Peter had a hand in that too. =) He really took the effort to get to know us and our families, which not only allowed him to accurately capture our personalities, but also made everyone feel much more natural around him as he was snapping their photo.

The last thing I'll say is about Peter's service as a photographer. Every email and phone call was answered almost immediately, if not within 12-14 hours. He made it seem like we were his only client and would always give us full attention. You can't ask for better service at any of the larger photography firms.

Thank you Peter for such a fantastic and successful day!! These are pictures that we will share and keep with us forever -- they are exactly the way we want to remember this day for the rest of our lives. Read less
Services Used: Photography
130x130 sq 1227624964500 bwpart2
fedex02
Wedding:
8/29/2009
5.0/5.0
I haven't seen all the photos yet, but Peter was just an awesome photographer to work with. He is attentive and approachable, plus he worries about the timing/schedule so he can jam pack all the must have pictures in! I loved working with him and while on my honeymoon, he sent me a preview slideshow and it was spectacular. I'm picking up the rest of the photos later this week, but I'm sure they turned out great!
I haven't seen all the photos yet, but Peter was just an awesome photographer to work with. He is attentive and Read more...
I haven't seen all the photos yet, but Peter was just an awesome photographer to work with. He is attentive and approachable, plus he worries about the timing/schedule so he can jam pack all the must have pictures in! I loved working with him and while on my honeymoon, he sent me a preview slideshow and it was spectacular. I'm picking up the rest of the photos later this week, but I'm sure they turned out great! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
KathyM
Wedding:
8/15/2009
5.0/5.0
I can't recommend Peter Coombs enough. He was our photographer for our wedding 3 weeks ago, and my friends and relatives are still talking about how fantastic he was. My husband and I agree - he became part of the party - keeping people at ease and capturing some beautiful, heartwarming, or just plain hilarious moments. He was so thoughtful and anticipated shots we didn't know to ask for, but after seeing them, are so happy that he got. WIthin 3 or 4 days, he had emailed us a short slideshow of some shots for the day that we were able to share with family and friends, and he delivered all of our photos within a week.

To sum it up : Peter is fantastic - You've spent so much time planning how you want your wedding to be - Peter helps make sure that you remember how you and your betrothed FELT, not just how you looked. Priceless.
I can't recommend Peter Coombs enough. He was our photographer for our wedding 3 weeks ago, and my friends and relatives Read more...
I can't recommend Peter Coombs enough. He was our photographer for our wedding 3 weeks ago, and my friends and relatives are still talking about how fantastic he was. My husband and I agree - he became part of the party - keeping people at ease and capturing some beautiful, heartwarming, or just plain hilarious moments. He was so thoughtful and anticipated shots we didn't know to ask for, but after seeing them, are so happy that he got. WIthin 3 or 4 days, he had emailed us a short slideshow of some shots for the day that we were able to share with family and friends, and he delivered all of our photos within a week.

To sum it up : Peter is fantastic - You've spent so much time planning how you want your wedding to be - Peter helps make sure that you remember how you and your betrothed FELT, not just how you looked. Priceless. Read less
Services Used: Photography

DEALS

!!!!!~Special Discounts~!!!!! (MUST be mentioned at time of BOOKING)
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
$200 discount on Weddings booked within 6 Weeks of the Wedding Day Regular Price is $2400 for the 'essential' package
Deal #WW2731a56cc64cb70a
220x220 1263938699326 webicon

MAP

 
Kihei, HI 96753 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Peter Coombs
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1263938699326 webicon