130x130_sq_1215792304802-tabbahdance

Petroleum Club of Houston

Houston , TX
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

800 Bell St
Houston, TX US 77002 (map)

PHONE

713-659-1431

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1403370354876-img2192
Amanda
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I chose the Discovery Room at the Club for our reception. We absolutely loved how beautiful the space is, not to mention the staff is friendly, helpful, and attentive. Working with Jeremie was so easy, she is so sweet and great to work with. Everyone raved about the venue, view, food, and drinks and I am so thankful to have chosen such a wonderful venue to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
The Petroleum Club is THE PLACE to get married in Houston. No other venue will even compare the club's incredible views. They're simply breathtaking and made our wedding reception truly memorable.

On top of all of this, the food is fantastic. We went with the dual seated plates consisting of their chicken topped with lump crab meat and a 6oz (maybe 8?) filet. Delish! The dressing on their salad maison is probably the best dressing I've ever had. Too bad the recipe is a secret. We also decided to go with the sorbet "intermezzo", and that was definitely the show stopper. It had this awesome lighting and dry ice presentation coming from underneath. It's been two weeks, and everyone is still raving about it!

I will say that the girls working there are a little slow to respond via email. Evidently, ExxonMobil sold their building, and the club is moving to a new location. The girls have been busy with that, so it leaves little time for them to respond to emails.

While I'm sure the new club will look fabulous, I can't help but feel sorrow for the people who will miss out on this special location. Even the restrooms were fun, being camouflaged into the wooden walls and whatnot. At least the food will still be amazing!

I highly recommend the Petroleum Club. The pricing is very reasonable, and you'll definitely have the wedding/reception of your dreams here!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holly
Wedding:
2/22/2014
5.0/5.0
Everything was perfect at my Wedding Reception! Cherie Fontenot was an amazing help from the very beginning of the planning process. She was always very professional and friendly! She helped set up everything on my Wedding Day! The food at the Club was awesome, too! I was not disappointed with anything!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ann
Wedding:
11/2/2013
4.8/5.0
My daughter's evening wedding reception was everything we dreamed. The views of downtown Houston were breathtaking. Our guests continue to compliment the food and service. My only complaint was the club was slow to respond to an incident of broken glass on the dance floor but this was minor considering how smoothly everything else flowed. We also had the Petroleum Club provide the wedding and groom's cakes and both were decorated exactly as requested and delicious. Jeremie was delightful to work with albeit slow to respond to emails and phone calls. Nevertheless, the reception was gorgeous and was in my daughter's own word "perfect."
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
I could have not picked a better venue! The food and staff were amazing. Cherie was so helpful and willing to do anything to make your day perfect. All of our guests were amazed with how beautiful our wedding was!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.7/5.0
This venue is beautiful, and we were extremely happy with how our wedding went. Everything on the day of the wedding went exactly as planned and the service was great. We also felt that it was a very good value for the money. However, planning an event with the Petroleum Club is a nightmare. It took weeks (literally) to get a response on any emails we sent. It was impossible to get ahold of our contact by email or phone, and the estimated BEO was wrong in about 15 ways from what we originally agreed (they corrected it, but still). If we had to do it all over again we would still have our wedding at the Petroleum Club, but it was definitely a frustrating experience at times.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracey
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Glamorous, beautiful views, excellent food and exceptional service - all describe the Petroleum Club and staff on our wedding day!! Our event coordinator, Cherie Fontenot was simply the BEST!!! She oversaw every detail, was prompt, professional, and so flexible with all our last minute changes. Every question we had was immediately addressed and I cannot imagine a better place to have had our reception. I have received compliment after compliment on how great the food was and how perfectly everthing looked. She helped us throughout the evening, making sure we were on track for it all - first dance, dinner, cake cutting, etc. For those of you on a budget like us - they were priced well under what we had thought of such a prestigious venue. The neutral decor palette works with every color scheme as well - and the views are BREATHTAKING!!! Who doesn't want to celebrate their wedding on the 43rd story with views overlooking the entire city?? For those of you who want a one stop shop as well - they have another room that is reserved for ceremonies!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nalita
Wedding:
3/30/2013
4.9/5.0
The moment after I was proposed to, I immediately contacted PCOH! I was working with Cherie and she is very nice and helpful. Her response sometimes took a couple of days but it's understandable since the Club can get very busy at times. Their open bar pricing is very reasonable! We also received a lot of compliments about the food and the view of downtown Houston. I could not have asked for a better team to be part of our wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.2/5.0
Overall, everything was great! The only thing that could have been improved was the responsiveness of the Petroleum Club staff, especially close to the wedding date. They were a bit slow at getting back to me to answer questions, etc.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1337466617351-photo
Annie
Wedding:
12/29/2012
4.8/5.0
Amazing venue! Beautiful floor to ceiling windows and great view of downtown Houston. Jeremie was amazing to work with and the food was absolutely delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1327079615843-300
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
2.7/5.0
I love the Petroleum Club, but unfortunately they messed up A LOT on the details of my wedding. Even telling me that I could fit 12 people on tables that only fit 10... the coordinator told me she didn't know how many people the table could fit originally, but she realized the 12 she originally told me wouldn't work on our FINAL meeting that was set-up only to make our final payment. I had to redo my entire seating chart 2 days before the wedding... reprint the name cards, and reframe all of them because I had them displayed in individual frames. Needless to say, it was a nightmare. Other than that huge screw up, the rest of my experience wasn't too bad. I will say, it took the coordinator an average of 7 to 10 days to return any of my calls or emails, which created a lot of anxiety for me. The only reason I would recommend PCOH is because its a one of a kind, beautiful venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alejandra
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
From the moment I saw their ad on a magazine, I knew this was the perfect venue for us. We wanted to give our guests a different experience for our wedding day, so we decided to have it at the PCOH on the 43rd floor where the views are simply amazing.

The service throughout the process was great. We had the opportunity to work with Cherie who was very professional and attentive to all details. She made sure everything went well during the planning process and the day of our wedding. During the reception, the servers and bartenders were wonderful. Our guests provided great feedback about everyone at PCOH. The food was also great. It exceeded our expectations and it tasted just as good as during the tasting.

We couldn’t have booked a better venue for our special day and highly recommend it to other couples looking for something different than just a ballroom.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sandra
Wedding:
7/12/2012
5.0/5.0
As I settle down after an amazing wedding day - I would like to thank the Petroleum Club and especially Jeremie Millwee ..
Our wedding reception was outstanding and thankfully well done by the PCOH team .. Chef Manuel and the culinary team did an awesome job with the food and all the set up requests have been welcomed by Jeremie and very well done/.
The Petroleum Club is by far the most chic, elegant and perfect location for any bride that is looking for the "once in a lifetime" wedding or any event.
Thank you PCOH for making our special day a spectacular one!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1302681949099-odsgraduationnov2010084
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/26/2012
4.0/5.0
Their catering representatives were sometimes hard to contact, but overall we are very happy with the Petroleum Club. Reasonably priced compared to other venues in town. Our wedding was just beautiful and our guests love the panoramic view of downtown Houston.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Natasha
Wedding:
5/19/2012
4.4/5.0
The view here is so beautiful. If your looking for a place that shows all of Houston, this is it. The place is only available for Friday and Saturday. You can choose from 2 rooms based on the minimum of people. The coordnator only answers via email, phone calls she rarely does. On our wedding day we could only use certain rooms, if you were in other rooms possible charges may occur. Overall the wedding day was beautiful, I also took my bridal shots there for no additional charge.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
janetrust08
Wedding:
3/3/2012
4.8/5.0
Our wedding reception was held in the Wildcatter Grill Room, the smaller of the two ballrooms at the PCOH. The views of the downtown skyline at night were absolutely breathtaking and set the perfect backdrop for a Saturday night wedding. We did minimal decorating in the space because it was already so beautiful and elegant.

We opted for the Club Buffet and our guests absolutely loved the options and variety that we chose. Chef and his staff are fantastic and everything we had at the PCOH was delicious.

Cherie was our catering coordinator and was very pleasant to work with during the entire wedding planning process. From contract negotiations and food tastings to vendor coordination and post-wedding wrap-ups, she helped make all the planning very easy.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Betty
Wedding:
8/26/2011
4.9/5.0
My retirement of 31 years as an educator was held at PCH. A special thanks to the staff for making the evening a success of dining and dancing.

What a RETIREMENT!

Betty Rosette Simmons
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
2/26/2011
5.0/5.0
The Petroleum Club is the most beautiful place I have ever been to. It is breathtaking and I feel so blessed to have had my reception in the Petroleum Room. The food, the service, the view - everything was perfection.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mother of a winter bride
Wedding:
1/8/2011
5.0/5.0
I am the mother of the bride who knew from the start that she wanted her reception at the Petroleum Club; a winter night reception, of sparkling city lights, candles and elegance. That is exactly what she got! Cherie was our event coordinator and we couldn't be more pleased with the results. The planning and communication was easy and excellent. The club's flexibility was comforting, when things got down to the wire. The service was supurb...we were treated like family, not clients. The set up was exactly how we wanted it and the reception was perfect! The staff is the best in Houston! If you are looking for an elegant venue, you can't do better. The downtown views at night are spectacular...it becomes part of your decor! The food was delicious....so many compliments from our guests about the food....and plenty of it! Everybody loved the dessert bar too. The bartenders and all of the waitstaff were wonderful! Excellent food, excellent service, beautiful venue...what more could you want?
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1287127845735-670471656770742304132818052216968876777879n
Julbert
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
Upon first glance at the outside of the Exxon-Mobil building, we were a little uncertain because it was a bit dated...but after taking the elevator ride to the top and stepping out into the beautiful and cozy lobby, we knew we had found our place. Jeremie was the sweetest venue coordinator and was so easy to work with. The room for both the ceremony and reception had amazing floor to ceiling window views of the city and gorgeous lighting for great photos. The food, ohmygoodness the food, was so freaking delicious that I thought my corset would rip because I couldn't stop myself from stuffing my face despite the busy schedule. All of the staff from the servers to the captain to the valet drivers were so courteous and so friendly. The captain even personally introduced himself to us at the beginning of the evening to let us know that if we needed anything from our favorite drink to extending any hours, that he'd be happy to do so without any inconvenience. The facility was pristine and fabulous and breathtakingly beautiful. Compared to other Houston venues of this same caliber and ambiance, I also think Petroleum Club offers the best value. I highly recommend the Petroleum Club!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nakeesha
Wedding:
9/4/2010
5.0/5.0
The Petroluem Club in downtown Houston, TX has such an amazing view from the 43rd floor! The entire staff was very friendly and professional and the food was amazing!!! If your looking for an upscale venue with a magnificent view, then Petroleum Club of Houston is definitely the right location.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Bg20
DJ
Wedding:
4/17/2010
4.6/5.0
For the downtown area, we found that the PCOH best suited our style, wedding party, and budget. The large ballroom is extremely gorgeous, but as we were having a smaller wedding party, the Grill Room was more ideal. Initially (from my visit and from the photos I've seen of previous weddings), I was extremely concerned the room would be too dark. Nevertheless, with the right linens and candles, the room took my breath away when I first saw it on the eve of the reception. Even though there was some minor hiccups, overall it was an impressive evening.

CONS:
> it wasn't easy communicating from abroad (yes, even via e-mail) as they were short-staffed during the duration of my planning
> we served surf and turf as our main; the snapper in my mine as well as a few of my guests had gone off? - it tasted and had the same consistency of foie gras (I mentioned to staff and was brought out a better one)

PROS:
> even if it's not as grand as the larger ballroom, the Grill Room is quite spectacular
> aside from some bad fish, all of the food was delicious
> all of the staff are very genuine and accommodating; we were *extremely* well looked after by the banquet captain
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CT
Wedding:
1/16/2010
5.0/5.0
The food was great!
The venue was beautiful!
The view was out of this world!
The staff went above and beyond expectations!
Best venue ever!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Donna
Wedding:
10/9/2009
5.0/5.0
Our guests are still talking about our wedding at the Petroleum Club!! While the views from the 43rd floor are gorgeous, nothing beats the quality of food and service you will receive. We worked with Jeremie, who is more than lovely. With a high level of confidence and professionalism Jeremie walked us through the process and details for the evening so we would know exactly what to expect. We found her to be delightful and we came away knowing our every need would be met. We held our wedding ceremony in the Discovery Room and reception in the Petroleum room. Both rooms were set up exactly as expected with close attention to details. The food was served fresh and hot and when we had a couple of last minute food allergy notices from guests, the staff handled it with professionalism and care. We compared many venues for our wedding and found the Petroleum Club to be very fairly priced, with the food and service above all others.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg1
cmkalambo
Wedding:
5/9/2009
5.0/5.0
My husband and I has our reception here in the beginning of May. We came across the venue in mid 2008 while we were doing our diligent houston reception venue search. After laying eyes on the Petroleum Club I knew it was it. I honestly couldn't even imagine having our reception anywhere else. PCOH is beautiful, classy dining club with unparallaled view of downtown Houston. The view in and of itself is breathtaking perched on the 42nd floor of the Exxon Mobil building with floor to ceiling windows in the main ballroom. We worked closely with the executive chef to create our delicious 6 course meal. They were incredibly flexible as we requested courses that were not offered on the main menu. Everything went flawlessly, our guests raved about the food, and even more so about the service and care the staff took in making our day a memorable one. We worked with our wedding planner (Soireebliss!) and PCOH event coordinator Jeremie Milwee to create a beautiful day. Jeremie was committed to making our day exactly what we wanted it to be and offered insightful suggestions to fine tune all the little details. If we were to do it again, we wouldn't change a thing! It is no surprise that they book roughly 18 months out.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
The Petroleum Club is a great venue. They have wonderful food and the prices are worth it. The Director of Catering is super helpful and walked us through the entire process. The food tasting was so helpful in planning our menu and signature drink. The reason we chose the venue was for the gorgeous view of Downtown Houston from the 43rd floor where our reception was held. The lights and the view made the room that much more memorable.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
800 Bell St, Houston, TX 77002 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Petroleum Club of Houston
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1215792304802-tabbahdance