130x130_sq_1344261051939-libertyballroom

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Philadelphia , PA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1201 Market Street
Philadelphia, PA US 19107 (map)

PHONE

215-625-6700

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Philadelphia Marriott Downtown is the perfect place for making memories that last. Our premier location in the historic Reading Terminal, at the heart of Center City, boasts a rich... Read more
The Philadelphia Marriott Downtown is the perfect place for making memories that last. Our premier location in the historic Reading Terminal, at the heart of Center City, boasts a rich cultural heritage that will add sophistication to any wedding. For wow factor, nothing beats the view from our balcony, overlooking historic Market Street. It’s where the past and the present come together. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1344273071280-jillkevinwed0970
130x130_sq_1270502842840-phldtphototour47
130x130_sq_1270502841168-phldtphototour20
130x130_sq_1270502842308-phldtphototour40
130x130_sq_1270502842261-phldtphototour42
130x130_sq_1270502842793-phldtphototour50
130x130_sq_1270502843449-phldtphototour51
130x130_sq_1270502843934-phldtphototour68
130x130_sq_1344261514345-independencefullview
130x130_sq_1344261525410-libertyballroombalconey
130x130_sq_1344261534973-libertyballroom
130x130_sq_1344261543826-libertyweddingset
130x130_sq_1344261558247-libertyfoyer
130x130_sq_1344261599554-phillyballroomairwalllrrv
130x130_sq_1344272980073-cakeboss2
130x130_sq_1344273000029-cakeboss
130x130_sq_1344273022927-indianballroom
130x130_sq_1344273049890-jillkevinwed0969
130x130_sq_1344273087326-jillkevinwed1030

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1995
When was your venue last renovated?
2011
Describe your venue:
Hotel
Describe the style of your venue
City
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
1000
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
3
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
1332
Number of suites
76
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
0
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
60
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.3
out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.3/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kayli
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
The Marriott made the wedding of my dreams come true, and more. From the start, the staff was creative, flexible, and devoted. Our banquet manager, Gerard, in particular went above and beyond. From the tasting, to the amenities he provided my family and I, to the personalized attention he gave my wedding, I truly could not have asked for more. Beautiful venue, phenomenal food, and service that truly sets the standard.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown responded with the following comments:

Thank you SO very much for your wonderful review, We appreciate that so MUCH!!!Congratulations again
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
We held our reception and overnight accomodations for the wedding weekend at the Marriott Downtown. Service aside - which was phenomenal and I'll get to later. Logistically - this hotel was perfect to host a wedding weekend. Many of our guests complimented the centralized location, which offered ease and many options for our out-of-town guests. Between nearby bars and restuarants and several transportation options - this hotel was the best decision we made for our friends and family. Also - as a bride, with last minute needs, the on-site FedEx and Starbucks (of course) was a lifesaver for last minute details!

The service staff was exceptional. The hotel, restaurant, and valet staff were very helpful, courteous, and professional to our guests. And the biggest value and help was our Event Manager, Gerard Mendoza. For the past 12 months, Gerard has been my right hand man. He was responsive, helpful, thoughtful and very professional. The food was delicious, the guest rooms were clean and spacious, and the staff was friendly and very helpful every step of the way.

The Liberty and Independence ballrooms - they're worth every penny. Grand and warm and intimate at the same time. Our guests felt comfortable and well taken care of the entire weekend.

Hands down - the Marriott Downtown was the best decision we made to host our wedding celebration.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Before I got married I lived on these review boards. I know how important feedback from other Brides can be. I spent a lot of time reviewing and planning, after all, after 33 years, I wanted this day to be PERFECT! I am thrilled to say it was! I also can say, you don't need to spend any more time reviewing. If you are getting married in Philadelphia you have to do it at The Marriott Downtown. There isn't one thing I would change about my experience from start to finish it was wonderful.

We had met with many venues in center city and after a lot of review decided on The Marriott downtown. We had the pleasure of meeting our event planner, Gerard Mendoza. I cannot say enough about him except if you are lucky enough to work with him you will see why. We had a fun food tasting and got to bring our close family. It was such a fun experience and helped us figue out what we wanted our entrees to be and all of the appetizers as well!The food was AMAZING! I never knew The Marriott had professional chefs there! Throughout the planning Gerard helped and there wasn't one thing he said no to or made difficult. He is passionate about this and a true professional. I had a HUGE Suite to get ready in with the bridesmaids and they let us have it a couple of additional days before we took off on our honeymoon.

Everything went smoothly with the help of our wedding planner, Gerard. We even had a hiccup with the limo driver. They didn't show up but The Marriott helped with that and got us all to the church. It is a BEAUTIFUL ballroom and I have the most BEAUTIFUL pictures now. Our guests have been telling us how impressed they were from check in to check out at The Marriott.

I know that if I had to go back in time, I would still chose The Marriott hands down. There is so much to think about and possibly stress about on your big day but they have it covered here! They will take care of you and make your big day special and run exactly how you want it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I can’t even begin to say what a pleasure it was to work with the Marriott. My bridesmaids and I were completely spoiled by the Marriott during our stay-- I really felt like a queen in their care. The day of our wedding was flawless—every staff member was so kind and professional, particularly our event manager, Jessica. Jessica was a superhero—incredibly sweet and friendly, professional, and willing to bend over backwards to ensure the day was perfect.
Our wedding was a 200-guest Indian fusion wedding that was going to be very complicated—and about half our guests stayed at the Marriott. Jessica ensured perfection throughout the entire process and completely put me at ease. I was particularly impressed with how thoughtful and organized Jessica was—I had a lot of little details (tablecloth color, lots of diy decorations, a special memorial table, etc) and she fulfilled everything I asked, exactly to my vision. My centerpieces had to be partially put together at the Marriott and Jessica and her staff executed them perfectly. We brought so many boxes of decorations and supplies the day before it looked like we were moving in, but Jessica remembered to set everything out—beautifully--and when my husband picked up our stuff the next day, every last thing had been packed up neatly and in perfect condition by the Marriott staff.
Every staff member we encountered was so kind (and I mean everyone—we even had an amazing bellhop who packed up our entire hurricane of a room the next day because I was literally too exhausted to move). I’d also like to give a special shout-out to our bartender, Sharnette, who concocted the most impressive specialty drinks I’ve ever had the pleasure of tasting (strawberry-lavender vodka, anyone?). The Liberty Ballroom was a stunning backdrop to our festivities with its gorgeous crystal chandeliers and portico overlooking Market Street. Overall, I can’t say enough good things about the Marriott.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gabrielle
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Dion Sanchez at the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown is fantastic! We were assigned to Dion after our original coordinator was promoted. At first I was disappointed - then we talked to Dion and felt so at ease.

I am a planner. Like obsessive compulsive, spreadsheets for my vacation packing lists planner. I had an itinerary of the entire weekend prepared months in advance, had designed a guestbook/placecard table with crazy bridezilla intricacies and one night got extremely sad that I couldn't work my own wedding. Like wished there was a body double that could attend the wedding and I could work it. Well ya can't. So Dion did and he did an AMAZING job and did not at all disappoint. My crazy designs were set up flawlessly, he worked amazingly well with all of my vendors preventing those back-and-forth headaches from being pulled in all directions. He was spectacular along with his team.

Alicia and Katie both were amazing - running my shoe changes back and forth to the table, handing me my lipstick before our entrance, lint rolling my dress when it was collecting lint from the carpets, etc. etc. I could go on all day.

Dion feeding us crab cakes and ravioli's before we did our entrance and then magically having a mint for me afterwards so I didn't have crab breath for our first dance. They really catered to us.

I'm always disappointed with wedding food, so at our tasting (which they allowed us to bring 4 people to - how awesome?) when the food was OUT OF THIS WORLD, I was nervous that it wouldn't be AS good on the wedding day. Night of the wedding we were SHOCKED the food was spectacular, just like we had at the tasting. In fact, since we were up and around with our families and friends, our food came out when we sat down (a little later than everyone elses) and it was still hot and delicious. Everyone raved about it.

The points system with Marriott is great. Get the Marriott Credit card for 50K points + 50K points for getting married there! Wahoo!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
4/6/2013
5.0/5.0
We are so happy that we decided to have our wedding at the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown. Everyone we worked with throughout the planning process was helpful, patient, available, and knowledgeable about the process.

Our initial interactions prior to booking were with Nicole Trotter. She was extremely helpful in working with us to define the terms of the contract and she made sure that we were getting a fantastic deal that included all of the features that we wanted our wedding to have.

After booking, we worked (for months) with Gerard Mendoza to plan our wedding. Gerard was amazing to work with and it’s primarily because of him that our wedding turned out to be spectacular. Gerard assisted us in making all the major decisions and was always available to answer my many, many questions about the different elements of the wedding. Gerard was very flexible in letting us do what we wanted and he made sure that all of the details were taken care of. We did not have to worry at all on the day of the wedding because he ran the show and worked with all of the vendors. All we had to do was get ready and get caught up in the moment.

We held both the ceremony and reception in Marriott’s Liberty Ballroom. The room was decorated exactly as we discussed, all of the details we had worked on were set up to our specifications, and the day progressed on schedule. All of the staff, including the waiters, bellmen, and bartenders were friendly and professional throughout the day.

One of the elements of the day that particularly stands out is the food. We LOVED everything we had at the tasting and it was very hard to choose what we wanted for dinner. We must have chosen correctly because we still get compliments on how good the food was. We had different options for appetizers and dinner and based on feedback from our guests everyone loved everything that they tasted.

I highly recommend having a wedding at the Marriott.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The Downtown Marriott (Independence Ballroom) provided exceptional service and catered to my families every request during the 18 months we planned my wedding. A wedding coordinator is paired with you from the moment your contract is signed and answers every question and request you could possibly have in addition to liaising with your outside vendors leading up wedding day. Every detail was perfect and our coordinator went above and beyond to ensure my family and 180 guests were well taken care of.

The decor was gorgeous, the food delicious, the staff professional and gracious, and in general we were made to feel extra special the entire weekend we spent at the hotel. This venue should be at the top of every Philly bride's venue list!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ania
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
The Marriott Downtown was absolutely beautiful. The event planners did an amazing job getting every detail exactly right! They worked with me during the whole planning process and helped me so much. The decor was beautiful, the food was FABULOUS, and the staff were the best. All our guests were extremely impressed with every aspect of our reception. I couldn't imagine a more beautiful place for a wedding! Everything was truly perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
There is one word to describe this hotel and that is AMAZING. From the venue itself, to the food, and the service it was just an awesome experience. My husband and I as well as our guest had a wonderful time. I would definitely recommend this venue to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shari, NJ
Wedding:
5/16/2009
5.0/5.0
Every detail of my wedding at the Marriott was amazing. The employees we worked with responded very quickly to all questions I had and were flexilble when I had special requests. The food was amazing and the bakery the Marriott uses made a gorgeous and delicious cake! The ballroom was gorgeous without anything set up, but with the beautiful job my florist did, it was even more spectacular! We also had a brunch the next morning for guests who stayed overnight. This too was extremely well done! My only complaint is there were a few minor details I requested (which no one else would ever recognize) that were not followed through on. Despite this, the Marriott created a truly beautiful wedding for us!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
anmphilly
Wedding:
4/1/2000
4.4/5.0
We were one of the first weddings to use the Liberty Ballroom venue in the reading terminal annex (above the hard rock cafe) and it was beautiful. It was nice to be separated from the main hotel, yet have all the resources of the main hotel.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
4/10/2010
4.2/5.0
Since the review below is so harsh, I will start with the positive. 1) I am long time Philly resident and I had no idea the Liberty Ballroom was here. When we walked in for the first time, my jaw hit the floor. High ceilings, huge chandeliers, a big open balcony. During the reception, all of our guests kept told us how impressed they were with the space and it came out beautifully in pictures. If you want a traditional ballroom but can't afford the Bellevue, look here! 2) The food! Even before we had our tasting, every vendor I interviewed told me how fantastic the food was, and they were right. We had the short rib, the chicken and vegetable strudel and they were all good, not dry at all, with really well paired sides. They also have a dessert course as well, whether you choose to have a cake or not (they don't supply the cake). 3) The service. Although I'll talk a little bit about this below, all in all I was very sastisfied with the service. The week of our wedding, everyone from the valets to the waiters to the event staff was kind, attentive and flexiable.
To be realistic, however, there are few elements you should know ahead of time. Mainly, that this is a very, very busy hotel event staff. With the convention center next door, there seemed to be a new huge group there every time I stopped by. Because of this, in the beginning (I booked a year in advance) until about 3 months before the wedding, it was very hard to get answers. We started with one of the banquet managers, who booked the inital event, and it would take her two or three messages (voice and e-mail) before you got an answer of any kind. Then, she passed us onto our event manager Lisa who, once we hit 3-4 months out, was very attentive and good at responding to me and my mom quickly. Before that, however, I was pretty much left to my own devices. I was ok with this because I was extremly organized and on top of my to do list. If you're not like that however, and you don't have a wedding planner to do all that for you, this might not be the best place for you. Also, there was another event (a soroity formal no less) next door to mine and about 4 different large groups in the hotel. It took our guests a good 30-45 minutes just to check in and out because they were so busy. If you want a place were you are the only big attraction, this also might not be your place.
All in all, I loved the Marriott, Lisa and everyone invovled. It is a big hotel, but if you're ok with that, then I would defiantly call them!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LM
Wedding:
11/5/2011
1.8/5.0
Our wedding will be a few months at the Marriott Downtown, Liberty Ballroom. The Liberty Ballroom is beautiful and the location is very good. However, so far I regret booking with them because they have not returned my emails or given me answers to simple questions. The wedding website they said would be included has been impossible to set up and use. The 'carlos bakery cake' is a joke...because you dont actually meet with Buddy and you have to choose from a few boring wedding cakes per their contract. I really regret choosing the Marriott for my wedding. Brides beware. I will give an updated review after the wedding (July 14,2012), but so far I am very dissatisfied with the service.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
J
Wedding:
8/12/2008
0.0/5.0
This hotel has lost all credibility.

My fiance and I were finalizing our contract with the Marriott for our Nov 15th wedding of this year and were about to sign on the dotted line, when we were suddenly told that date was given to another couple via EMAIL!!! The events manager has the audacity to tell me she had my wrong phone number when she has called it many times over the past month and just last week. Also, she gave me an option of using the portion of the ballroom on the date we were planning for but clearly the other couple would have use!

After many specific discussions that we were working together to sign a contract and after numerous calls to the Marriott about setting up the final meeting, they had the audacity to tell us that we were to blame for the loss due to price per person and my tardiness to get back to her (hence, her lie of having my wrong phone number). You can read between the lines that this hotel is only looking out for their business while disregarding the customer. Now we are out of a wedding venue and no longer loyal patrons of Marriott worldwide. I will never step foot in another Marriott ever!
I strongly warn you if you are planning any event or wedding here that you should be prepared to work with dishonest staff members. I would not recommend this hotel for your ceremony or reception unless you want to pay $50k for dishonest catering and events staff. They were inflexible from the start, the manager we worked with was incompetent and had to always rely on her boss who was unwilling to meet with my finance and I to discuss the details in person. We were strung along in this process while they were signing the other couple. BE WARNED!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo