130x130_sq_1401224748292-ballroom-centerpiec

Phoenix Park Hotel

Washington , DC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

520 North Capitol Street, NW
Washington, DC US 20001 (map)

PHONE

202-737-9552

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Unique Wedding Receptions with utmost attention to detail are our specialty. From the start of the planning process through the completion of your special day, you will receive... Read more
Unique Wedding Receptions with utmost attention to detail are our specialty. From the start of the planning process through the completion of your special day, you will receive personalized assistance from our staff on everything related to planning your perfect wedding reception.

Whether it be an intimate served dinner or a large gala affair, either can be accommodated in our four elegantly appointed rooms, which are anything but typical “hotel banquet rooms.” The Powerscourt, with its rich woodwork, beveled glass and beautiful bar, provides a wonderful start to your reception. From there, your guests will led down the winding marble staircase to The Phoenix Park Ballroom, featuring Celtic inspired carpeting, floor to ceiling windows and several unique appointments, for a sumptuous served dinner or dancing the night away.

Another popular style is our floating wedding reception. Your guests will enjoy all of our second floor reception space for the first two and a half hours. They will have the opportunity to float and mingle while enjoying exquisite Hors D’oeurves and experience a variety of innovative Culinary Stations. Guests are then guided downstairs to our Ballroom for cake cutting and dancing.

The charm of the Phoenix Park makes it the perfect place for weddings with several out of town guests. You can truly make the hotel “your own” for your wedding weekend. Out-of-town guests can enjoy a “mini vacation” while here and can see the sites – our proximity to Union station, the Capitol and museums makes it very convenient. Our pub, The Dubliner – a landmark in DC - is a great gathering place in between the festivities.

We would be delighted to work with you to plan a truly memorable wedding day! Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1401313028145-bride--groom-capito
130x130_sq_1402001083220-img1947-copy
130x130_sq_1401313139144-chandelie
130x130_sq_1401313528048-dance-floor-b
130x130_sq_1402001028285-87a
130x130_sq_1401312959861-bride--groom-b
130x130_sq_1401313093953-dress-in-suit
130x130_sq_1401312881297-table-settin
130x130_sq_1401313178452-dance-floor-colo
130x130_sq_1402000215163-lobby-view2
130x130_sq_1402000312377-lobby-staircase21
130x130_sq_1402000401374-exterior-8323-1

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1922
When was your venue last renovated?
2008
Describe your venue:
Hotel
Describe the style of your venue
City, Classic / Traditional, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
140
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
149
Number of suites
6
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
0
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
125
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Tracy, who managed our wedding block, was extremely helpful. We were considering having multiple hotels hold complementary room blocks for us, but because of her helpfulness, we only went with the Phoenix Park Hotel. Tracy went above and beyond for our VIPs and people who had alternate travel plans.

We would recommend the Phoenix Park Hotel to anyone considering a room block in the DC area (and we already have!).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
John
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend the Phoenix Park hotel for your wedding or other event. We had our wedding ceremony & reception at the Phoenix Park and were very pleased. The hotel and staff were very accommodating and the location (in the heart of D.C.) was perfect.
Tracy Zahn is a great event coordinator and it is evident that she has a lot of experience in planning events. Tracy provided wonderful suggestions while also being very flexible with meeting all of our requests.
We held the “cocktail party” style wedding in the distinguished Powerscourt room and used additional space outside of the rooms for setting up food stations. We especially enjoyed the substantial pub style bar which provided a great atmosphere for mingling.
The food was excellent, as was the service. The hotel provided a small stage riser that was the perfect size to hold myself, my husband, and our minister during the ceremony. The hotel also provided microphones for our use, as well as a large flat screen that we used to display photos.
We received many compliments from our guests concerning both the reception and the hotel rooms. Arranging for a block of rooms was very easy and the hotel was very flexible with any changes that guest made prior to their stays. We really appreciated the complimentary penthouse suite that was included with the hotel block. The price of the event, as well as the hotel block room rates, was very reasonable, especially when located in D.C.
Again, we could not be happier and highly recommend the Phoenix Park for your wedding or other event.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandie
Wedding:
11/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Working with Tracy and her team at the Phoenix Park was a wonderful experience. We had our wedding reception at the venue, and it was an amazing time due in large part to the support, responsiveness, and professionalism of Tracy and team. They really made us feel special on our big day! And, we heard nothing but positive reviews from our guests on the accommodations (many were out-of-towners) and delicious food. I'm so thankful I found this venue, and I'd highly recommend (and have recommended) the Phoenix Park to friends! Great staff, great venue, and a great value in the heart of DC.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meagan
Wedding:
7/26/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had the most amazing night of our lives at the Phoenix Park Hotel. The entire staff went above and beyond to make our wedding a truly memorable experience.

First of all, Tracy Zahn (the catering manager/on-site coordinator) was wonderful to work with right from the start. She is organized, responsive and has great ideas from her abundant experience. Her demeanor is so calm and capable. She immediately puts any bride at ease. On the day of the wedding, my bridesmaids kept commenting on how relaxed I seemed. I was able to relax because I was in great hands. Everything was all set. I didn't have to worry about anything!

We worked with Tracy and the head chef to create our menu. Our tasting was so much fun--everything we tried was fantastic. Our wedding guests raved about the food--- it was delicious and the service was great.

The Phoenix Park Hotel is located in the heart of Capitol Hill. We were able to get some awesome pictures with our photographer of the bridal party at Union Station and right in front of the Capitol. It was the perfect location for our many out-of-town guests. A lot of our guests stayed an extra few days to sightsee. Our guests were so happy with the quality of their rooms and the great wedding block rate.

We had our ceremony and reception in the hotel's ballroom. It was so lovely and had so much character that we really didn't need much in the way of decorations. Tracy and her staff set up a truly beautiful room for the ceremony and reception.

The hotel has an authentic Irish feel. It's attached to the Dubliner, where a lot of our guests headed to continue the party when our reception ended around 11pm. So many people have told us that our wedding was the most fun they've ever had.

I can't say enough great things about the Phoenix Park Hotel. I am so happy that we found it. I would highly recommend it to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
rachel
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
The Phoenix Park Hotel is a perfect choice if you want to plan a beautiful wedding in an all inclusive venue. Originally, we did not want a hotel wedding because we wanted to reflect DC in our theme and most hotels look the same whether they are in DC or in Harrisburg. BUT the Phoenix Park Hotel is a historic hotel with tons of character. We were so lucky to find this place after our first two venues fell through. I can\'t say enough good things about this hotel! We just got married here and this venue exceeded our expectations. Tracy, the hotels wedding planner/everything else made planing this wedding ridiculously easy. The space is great, we did not need tons of decorations and the food was amazing. The rooms were really nice as well, we received many compliments from our guests about the hotel. They gave our guests an amazing rate for the location (right down the street from the Capitol-made for some good pictures.) To summarize- historic hotel, super cute, Tracy is amazing, catering chef is talented, great wedding venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We only have great things to say about the Phoenix Park Hotel. We used this hotel for our ceremony, reception and hotel for guests. They provided an amazing rate for our guests. The hotel is right down the street from the Capitol, it has tons of charm, and we were amazed what we could afford. Tracy, the wedding planner, was amazing, she thought of EVERYTHING. I highly recommend this hotel because of the great value and service we received.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steven
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
In the whirlwind of planning a wedding, the Phoenix Park Hotel's Tracy Zahn was a consistent delight and an utter professional to work with in our journey to marriage. Everything was beyond our wildest imaginations, and every detail was attended to perfectly and accentuated by the beautiful and historic Phoenix Park Hotel. The food was absolutely delicious, and all our guests were raving about the amenities that the Phoenix Park Hotel provided us with, including a great guest room rate. We chose to use the Ballroom for both the ceremony and the reception area, while having a charming and elegant cocktail hour upstairs in the Powerscourt. I'll admit I was a bit nervous about flipping the room in such a short time, but when we walked in it was beyond perfect in every way! Tracy was extremely flexible and easy to work with even remotely. We live in Georgia, where our state hasn't yet recognized our right to marry, but could not have been more thrilled to find such a great gem in at an amazing location in our nation's Capitol. The hotel provided us amazing Penthouse accommodations free of charge for our stay with sweeping views of Union Station and Capitol Hill area, that left more than a few guests with their jaws on the floor. The Phoenix Park Hotel was the perfect venue and I cannot praise them enough for what they have done to make the wedding of our dreams come true. We will definitely be back to visit soon!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michaele Anne
Wedding:
6/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Tracy Zahn was extremely responsive, knowledgeable, caring and helpful in every aspect of our rehearsal dinner. We would be very happy to recommend the Phoenix Park to anyone for a similar event. Please feel free to contact us on this at any time.

Michaele Anne Belford
301 942 5707
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Beautiful! Beautiful day! Our wedding reception was everything we imagined. The Phoenix Park Hotel was the perfect place for our reception. The hotel is just blocks from the Capitol and is across from Union Station. Our photographer took many pictures of us with the Capitol in the background and they were just breathtaking. The hotel is quaint and historic with beautiful rooms and our guests were treated with love and care. Tracy Zahn the event coordinator was just fabulous! She really cared that our special day would be perfect and memorable for us, and it was! She probably has done hundreds of weddings, but still made us feel like we were the only wedding or event she was planning. As a same sex couple who have been together for many years, we were very careful to choose a hotel/event planner who would treat us with dignity and respect. No worries there! We were treated with the utmost dignity, respect and everyone was truly interested in our happiness!! We would highly recommend the Phoenix Park Hotel and Tracy Zahn for any event!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default
Heather
Wedding:
11/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Tracy and the team at the Phoenix Park Hotel are incredible! I cannot believe how easy planning our wedding was with Phoenix Park Hotel. We had our reception in the ball room and stayed there that night, along with family staying there for the weekend. Everything was taken care of, more than I could have ever asked for! They went ABOVE AND BEYOND and I'm so thankful we found this hotel. Thank you for everything!!! Food, decor, service, EVERYTHING was perfect... we 100% recommend!!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tapgr
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I highly recommend the Phoenix Park Hotel, where we held our wedding ceremony and reception. We chose it based on the location, charm, and great wedding package options at a variety of price points. The Director of Catering Sales, Tracy Zahn, was fantastic. She helped us to design a somewhat non-traditional reception that really fit our needs and our budget. She made the planning process fun and manageable. We felt completely confident thanks to her enthusiasm and professionalism. Tracy and the rest of the staff were dedicated to taking care of the details and making sure things went smoothly. Because of that, we were able to relax and enjoy our wedding day. The hotel offered a great rate for the room block and we appreciated the treat of staying in one of the beautiful suites for our wedding weekend. Our guests enjoyed the Phoenix Park – the historic and unique feel of the reception rooms, the delicious food, and the friendly, wonderful service. It was a joy to celebrate there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
beckymikel
Wedding:
2/4/2012
5.0/5.0
We had our reception and rehearsal dinner at the Phoenix Park (not ceremony), and it was amazing! The hotel is beautiful and unique- traditional, classy Irish look. The food was amazing and reasonably priced for what you are getting. Tracy, the wedding coordinator there, was super helpful and always responded right away to emails. They were totally flexible and made everything just the way I wanted it! Also, the block rate for our guests to stay was really great- the best anywhere near our church. I never thought we'd be able to afford such a nice wedding on our relatively low budget, but we did the whole reception for about $10,000 for 92 people. There are less expensive options available also. And the whole thing went very smoothly- I didn't have to worry about a thing! Also, my husband and I got to stay in the penthouse suite for free! The suite was beautiful- perfect for our first night together!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AdeleK
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
My bridesmaids, family, friends, and I stayed at the Phoenix Park for our wedding, and my in-laws hosted our rehearsal dinner here. We can't say enough about how much we loved this hotel. Tracy Zahn worked extensively with my mother-in-law (who lives in another state) and the rehearsal dinner was fabulous - great food, beautiful setting in their elegant ballroom. My family raved about the rooms, which were beautiful. We recieved an absolutely amazing per-night rate for the block of rooms that we reserved, which the hotel honored even though we went over the number of rooms we originally requested. My cousins loved the Dubliner Pub, which is actually a local favorite with live music and a great vibe. I think the icing on the cake was when I checked in on Friday before the wedding and found out that the flowers in the lobby had been chosen (without my knowledge or request) to match my wedding colors. Tracy personally visited the rehearsal dinner to make sure that everything was going smoothly and made sure that my family and wedding party had exactly what they needed in terms of rooms - including free upgrades for bridesmaids and parents. We could have paid thousands more for characterless rooms in Northern Virginia far from the location of our wedding on Capitol Hill - instead we were able to give guests a true DC experience in lovely, European boutique hotel style. This hotel is a great value and I highly recommend it if you're looking for an authentic DC vibe without the usually exorbitant DC/NOVA price tag.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Glynnis
Wedding:
2/14/2011
5.0/5.0
My partner and I live in Ohio and were legally married in our Nation's capital Washington, D.C.. Unfamiliar with the area, we relied heavily on Tracy Zahn with the Phoenix Park Hotel regarding venue. As my partner and I were having an intimate ceremony, Tracy recommended the Congressional Suite which provided a very formal and romantic atmosphere for our special day. Like Tracy, the staff were very professional and eager to please. They made every aspect of our stay enjoyable. The suite had a superb view and was in close proximity to local transportation and a lot of the historical sites we wanted to visit during our tip. Thank you Tracy and staff for the superb customer service and well wishes. Looking forward to seeing you on our 1 year anniversary.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marissa
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
So I'm quickly realizing that brides may tend to "over-rate" because 1) they're just so happy it's all over and 2) the vendor can see the person reviewing. This rating is a sincere 5 stars- Ariel and I could not be happier with the Phoenix Park- we live close by but didn't think we could afford a reception in a gorgeous boutique hotel like this. Tracy Zahn and crew made it happen for us. From the chef to the banquet and catering people (Patrice) to the bellman, everyone was accomodating and warm. Our server even spent several minutes speaking to us at the reception. Our family and friends adored the rooms and location- it was super easy for them to tour the Mall, Capitol, or hop on the metro. The food was fantastic and the chef was happy to accommodate food allergies (including mine). I was actually a little sad when I checked out- they made it feel like my home for the week of my wedding. Bottom line- the Phoenix Park will exceed your expectations. Thank you thank you thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1275776249156-img0987
Heather
Wedding:
11/5/2010
5.0/5.0
We hosted both our rehearsal dinner and reception at the Phoenix Park Hotel - the staff is fabulous, the facility is incredible, the food is of the highest quality and tasted excellent, and the location is perfect. Tracy Zahn and Tracy Fox were both very accommodating throughout the entire process and they both bent over backwards to help me with the planning, and Tracy Zahn was right there overseeing the process throughout our wedding day. No detail was overlooked by anyone. During both the rehearsal dinner and wedding reception, all of the banquet staff accommodated every request that was made (including ice cream instead of cake for my 7 year old nephew) and our every need was attended to. We would absolutely recommend the Phoenix Park Hotel to anyone.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Oceanhayden
Wedding:
2/13/2010
5.0/5.0
I cannot rave enough about the Phoenix Park Hotel. They hosted us for our Feb 2010 dream wedding reception, and the 2-floor reception venue, the food, the hotel rooms, the service, our personal reception coordinator--everything was magical and seamless.

Tracy Zahn is a magician and really invested her heart and mind in making this the most amazing wedding memory for everyone. She and the chef sat down with us to personally craft our custom menu for our reception. They took care of all the tedious organizational details upon our arrival following the ceremony. We had a blast--and everything was gorgeous! They even gave us the honeymoon suite where famous notables have stayed -- free of charge on our wedding night.

Not only that, but the Phoenix recently hosted my husband and I for a retreat away, celebrating our first wedding anniversary. Tracy upgraded us to a 2-floor suite, complete with chocolate delectables, a personalized card, and a Phoenix scented candle in honor of our special occasion.

I only wish we could tell more people how exquisite this venue is--a rare and charming gem in a Washington sea of mundane decor and impersonal service. Thank you for standing out, Tracy and the Mgmt at Phoenix Park Hotel. We'll be back!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mgosier
Wedding:
10/12/2008
5.0/5.0
Completely awesome and professional staff. We received so many compliments on the food. Several people told me it was the best food they ever had at a wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Teresa
Wedding:
6/29/2013
4.9/5.0
Without a doubt the best venue for our weekend wedding. From the staff at the hotel to the resturant to the location it was perfect.
We were all treated so well, we are talking about staying again just to have a great place to spend with our family. Tracy Zahn kept in contact with us thoughout our planning and was always availalbe to answer any questions. Abdula was wonderful in helping out in the front entrance of hotel and kept things running smoothly and Doris was ready with any request from tooth paste to tissues. Patrick at the Dubliner was always there to greet us and remembered our drink preferences.
We felt like we were the only guest in hotel and will never forget the treatment we received.
Services Used: Catering, Transportation, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitlin
Wedding:
11/21/2009
4.9/5.0
We chose to go with the Phoenix Park because we didn't want to have to do all the coordinating you would have to do if you separately did catering, hotels, and venue. They were surprisingly flexible - we had an iPod wedding and they let us bring our own wine to save some $$$. They gave us a modest discount on food/beverages, which was something, and threw in a few perks (champagne toast, free bridal suite - which was amazing!). The food was absolutely delicious and they were very good with requests for specialized meals (kids, allergies, etc.) Our guests thought it was a great setting for our 80 person wedding, and often commented that the hotel staff was very courteous.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily and Ray
Wedding:
12/31/2012
4.6/5.0
Our New Year's Eve wedding was everything we hoped for!
Tracy Zahn, event planner, was the BEST. She was always available and I had every confidence that she and the staff at the hotel would deliver the wedding I wanted. From our first meeting, she gave us very good advice. Most important, the food at the reception was EXCELLENT.

The hotel is unique and the location was perfect for a destination wedding (next to the Metro, near the sights). The Bride and Groom's suite was wonderful and romantic. All of guests were pleased with their stay at the hotel. The regular guest rooms are small but very comfortable.

We plan to stay at this hotel whenever we visit DC.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
redvalaria
Wedding:
7/31/2010
4.5/5.0
Teh event coordinator, Tracy is a dream. The catering manager seemed to think his role was to be as difficult as possible, but fortunately other team members went to bat for us and we got almost every thing a bride could want. Great place, amazing food. I totally reccomend it! the Staff is top notch!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
520 North Capitol Street, NW, Washington, DC 20001 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Phoenix Park Hotel
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1401224748292-ballroom-centerpiec