130x130_sq_1374171472892-bg-dance-terr

Pier Sixty & The Lighthouse at Chelsea Piers

New York , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Chelsea Piers, 23rd Street on the Hudson River
New York, NY US 10011 (map)

PHONE

212-336-6144

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1374078528060-jesse-issac-0278
130x130_sq_1374076720316-bg-dance-terr
130x130_sq_1374076770332-bg-kiss-red-rail
130x130_sq_1374076820294-bg-kiss-terr
130x130_sq_1374076872252-bg-p60-terrace
130x130_sq_1374076970681-bride-p60-terr
130x130_sq_1374077056443-dsc8985
130x130_sq_1374077661076-slm0790
130x130_sq_1374077243557-p60-entrance
130x130_sq_1374077300711-p60-from-terrace
130x130_sq_1374077464161-p60-wedd
130x130_sq_1374077595098-slm0264
130x130_sq_1374078047451-kristen-john-407
130x130_sq_1374078295281-kristen-john-504
130x130_sq_1374078550680-jesse-issac-0321
130x130_sq_1374078563016-jesse-issac-0323
130x130_sq_1374078597752-jesse-issac-0424
130x130_sq_1374078796425-jesse-issac-0630
130x130_sq_1374078825141-jesse-issac-0633
130x130_sq_1374078848734-jesse-issac-0634
130x130_sq_1374078903330-jesse-issac-0637

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1998
When was your venue last renovated?
2012
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall
Describe the style of your venue
City, Waterfront, Other
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
700
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
0
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
175
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
No

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria
Wedding:
2/8/2014
5.0/5.0
We were married on the 8th of February and had our reception at the Lighthouse. I must say: the event was truly fairytale-like. We initially worked with Ashley for dates and contracts and the like; she was a total pleasure. We were then assigned Bob as our event coordinator; he was so personable, professional, and made sure that the event went off smoothly. What the space itself will look like is totally up to you. We worked with one of their preferred floral designers, Botanical Design, and Brian and Vince brought my vision to life. We opted for the pin lights above each table to showcase our incredible arrangements and had tea lights hung from the ceilings throughout the venue; the whole effect was magical. The food was delicious- EVERYONE has raved about it since the wedding. (We thought the raw bar was a "must" and our guests agreed!) Honestly, the team as a whole went above and beyond; we were assigned Gabrielle to help us with small details throughout the day, and she assisted us with everything from the bustle on my dress to making sure we had a stocked bridal suite- and she did it all with a sweet smile. The only thing I'd change about the whole experience and the whole night would be being able to do it all over again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Felt like a guest at our own wedding! Absolutely outstanding service. I love that they encouraged us to take 2 minutes to be alone together, appreciate the moment. Our wedding day went by so quickly and that time together was so important. It also gave us a chance to eat the delicious food! We had some special touches we wanted to include and the team at The Lighthouse incorporated them into the flow of the evening seamlessly. It was just beyond our expectations! One of our guests said he's going to encourage his daughter to have her reception there!
Abigail Kirsch manages the catering for this venue. Our guests LOVED the food, including the wedding cake. Everything was managed impeccably. We couldn't have asked for more.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
We recently had our August 2013 wedding at Pier 60. We had a very large wedding of nearly 600 guests. Pier 60 and its staff were simply amazing. If you going to have a large party or wedding with a clean, modern feel, this is definitely a place to consider.
We worked with Greg while signing the contract and up until the two months before the wedding. He was responsive, professional, and eager to help.
In the last two months before the wedding, we worked with Bob as our dedicated event coordinator. Bob was professional, knowledgeable, responsive, and efficient. He was also always aware of our budget constraints. He also played an active role in coordinating details with our florist, including table cloths, floor plan setup, etc.
Given the size of the wedding, we were nervous about how hectic everything would get on the big day. On the day of the wedding, however, Bob made sure that my wife and I felt like guests at the wedding. I barely had to make a single decision. The transition from ceremony, to cocktail hour, and to dinner was seamless. Our guests all complimented us on how smoothly everything went.
THE SPACE:
For some time, my wife and I had some hesitation about choosing Pier 60. At first glance, the venue appears to be very plain and business-like. But after working with our florist, and without going outside our budget, we were able to turn the venue into something modern, classy, and wedding-like. Although pricey, I highly recommend using the pinspots on all the tables.
THE FOOD:
We were disappointed to find out that Abigail Kirsch does not offer food tastings. We chose our menu by looking at photos and with our event coordinator’s help. While this may dissuade some couples from this venue, we recommend that you trust the venue’s chef. The cocktail stations and hors' d'oeuvres were delicious. The main course (filet mignon and fish) was also very good. Even with 600 guests, the steak was served warm and cooked to perfection.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristina
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
My event planner was Paul and he was always available to me, diligent, flexible and prompt. My whole wedding went very smoothly because he was so on top of things. He used my DIY pieces beautifully and set it all up on his own. He was very kind and helpful to all my guests and we received rave reviews about our party. He, as well as all the helpful staff, truly added to the joyful spirit of our wedding day.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, , Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2/22/2013
5.0/5.0
We had a friday night winter wedding and were looking for a location that had a gorgeous view and a unique NYC vibe. We did our reception at The Lighthouse in February and couldn't be happier!

Both Greg (sales) and Bob (our in house planner) made the selection and planning process stress free, and went out of their way to simplify our lives in those last days when the planning process turned into a whirlwind.

The location is gorgeous, our guests have said many times that this is the most beautiful wedding they have ever attended, and the food was delicious. Even our cake, which came with the venue, was both yummy and beautiful.

I would definitely recommend the lighthouse, it is totally worth the spend. I wish I had an excuse to have an event here again.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
R
Wedding:
8/30/2012
5.0/5.0
AMAZING!!!!!! Our wedding was all we had hoped for and more! The Lighthouse is the most amazing venue. The views are spectacular, the food is incredible and the staff is awesome!
We got rave reviews from all of our guests! And Jeff was the BEST!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
There aren't enough amazing things to say about The Lighthouse at Chelsea Piers. From the service to the food to the ambiance, you can NOT go wrong booking this venue for your wedding day. We looked at several venues in the city and found flaws with each (from awkward layouts to TERRIBLE service). My husband and I were sold once we met Greg and did a walk through of the space. Greg was extremely attentive and made our decision to book the Lighthouse a no brainer. Greg always responded quickly via email or phone even after we set the date. We were then placed in the hands of Bob, our event manager. My family still talks about how incredible Bob is. He was a pleasure to work with! He always responded very promptly to all of my questions and concerns, which is comforting when you are getting closer to the big day and have so much on your plate. He guided us through selecting our menu and helped us with any food requests we had (from Kosher to special meals needed due to allergies). The day of we felt even more blessed to have him. He helped to accommodate us when we arrived late to our cocktail hour. We noticed that the lighting wasn't placed in a hallway like we requested and fixed it immediately. He made sure that we always had our drinks refilled and something to eat. Bob was the reason our wedding day was picture perfect. Just a quick note, our guests all said that this was the best wedding food they've ever tasted and were amazed by the views. I would HIGHLY recommend to all of my friends and family. BEST decision we've ever made!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
6/10/2012
5.0/5.0
I would give this venue 10 stars if I was able to! I can't say enough praise! I originally had a concern as to how all three events were to take place in the same room (ceremony, cocktail hour & reception). No matter how many times me event planner, Paul, explained it, I still couldn't quite grasp it. I was worried my guests were going to be bumped into while the staff changed everything over, but no one even NOTICED the staff moving anything around! They were quick, quite and very effective. The layout was fantastic, and Paul made everything very simple. I trusted him to do his job and he did it wonderfully!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Ruth
Wedding:
3/10/2012
5.0/5.0
I got married on a Saturday night at the Lighthouse at Chelsea Piers. The service there was amazing and they took care of everything. Our event manager Bob was our angel without him we would have been clueless but he kept everything running smoothly and made sure we even ate. The food was delicious and everyone keeps raving to me about the venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenn
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Initally, we were not sure whether to choose The Lighthouse (primarily because Abigail Kirsch venues do not do tastings) but we are very glad we did. The venue is such a professionally run operation. From our planning meetings to the day of the wedding, they think of and attend to every detail so you can really enjoy your day. Also, the food was amazing (even our finicky guests were impressed). I would recommend The Lighthouse to anyone planning a wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/8/2013
4.9/5.0
My husband and i just had my wedding at The lighthouse, Pier 61. All the guests loved the venue, delicious & abundant food, and said the wedding flowed very well, thanks to our wedding coordinator, Richard Martin. He was provided to us a month before our wedding. He was very professional, detailed-oriented, responsive, sweet & knew what he was doing. He also worked well w/ our vendors & really delivered on our wedding day. Richard was so good, he was on schedule, almost to the tee, according to the schedule that we created. My husband & i got to eat & enjoy ourselves. i got a bridal assistant, so she tended to my needs. All the guests said they had a great time. We both love the way our wedding turned out. I highly recommend them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
5/14/2011
4.9/5.0
We had a wonderful experience with the Lighthouse at Chelsea Piers. Having your wedding there is not cheap, but it was honestly worth every penny. All of our friends and family said it was the best wedding -- or indeed, any event -- they had ever been to (and I think they were being serious).

The venue is beautiful -- on the Hudson River, with a view to the Jersey skyline (which is prettier than I might have thought) and even down to the Statue of Liberty. The big draw for us was that the space is indoors but there are large garage type doors that can open up for an outdoor feel. It was too windy and rainy on my wedding day for them to open the doors, but to be honest the venue was so gorgeous that I did not even mind (people can still get out onto the deck via regular doors). The space itself has an unfinished/industrial yet elegant look that we really liked.

The food is great. There are no tastings, but there are so many choices that had us drooling just reading the descriptions. They show you pictures of all the food so you can see exactly what it will look like before making up your mind. The sheer amount of food bordered on ridiculous (in a good way). The beef entree was the best beef I have had in years. Just some of the many many delicious things we ate were: lobster and corn salad with a corn souffle, bbq chicken macaroni bites, mojito granita intermezzos, chocolate covered bacon...I need to stop now because I am getting too hungry.

The best part though was our banquet manager, Bob. He was fantastic. He kept the night running smoothly. He also made sure that my husband and I had time to eat and were well looked after (someone else mentioned the private plate of cocktail munchies for the bride and groom and this is indeed awesome). It basically felt like we didn't have to worry about anything, as if we had hired a wedding planner (which we hadn't).

They do have a relatively small list of required florists, but I think actually that is a smart move because they then ensure that people are working there who are very familiar with the space. Also, it makes your planning easier. Aside from that they were very flexible and bent over backwards to meet our every request.

You won't regret going with them! They do a great job.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tati
Wedding:
9/25/2009
4.8/5.0
They are the place to go if you want to be taken care of on the day of your wedding and not worry about the small details; they have a wedding organizer who takes care of everything on the day of and even makes sure that a plate of appetizers is ready for the bride and groom write after the ceremony. I actually ate at my own wedding! And hands down, most of the guests said it was the best food they'd ever eaten at a wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lizzie
Wedding:
7/20/2013
4.7/5.0
We had originally booked our reception at another venue, but when they were unable to reopen after Sandy, we were scrambling to find another option. We were so relieved to find that Pier Sixty still had availability on our date. It was like falling up--our reception was even better than we could have imagined!

Pier Sixty's location on the Hudson River wowed our guests! The food from Abigail Kirsch was delicious and beautifully presented (we only wish we could have done a tasting). Above all, the service was fantastic. Our banquet manager Paul answered all our questions during planning and took great care of us on the big day. We could enjoy ourselves and spend time with our guests during the reception, confident that we were in good hands and the event would run smoothly. I don't know if I'll ever be planning an event for 200 guests again, but if I do, Pier Sixty would be on the top of my list!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
7/3/2012
4.7/5.0
We had an absolutely gorgeous wedding at The Lighthouse. All of the food and service is exactly what we had hoped it would be --- amazing! The quality of the food and presentation is absolutely amazing, Abigail Kirsch is awesome!

We had some different requests for decor that we worked with our florist (Superior) to execute, and they did an amazing job. The Lighthouse also accommodated a couple of our different requests, which we were so happy about since we weren't sure about how flexible they could be at first!

People still tell us how amazing our wedding was, and it is definitely due to the quality of everything at The Lighthouse.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1309012325844-whites2
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
My wedding was my second event at The lighthouse. My birthday party being the first. Everything was wonderful from beginning to end. The guests are still raving about the food. I had my cake done by an outside vendor. My family is from the South and are very picky about red velvet . My event planer was perfect, professional , knowledgeable and flexible. He worked well with my wedding planner and my mother. My only complaint is that the day went too fast. I'll definitely will hold future events at this venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JaneDoe
Wedding:
5/29/2010
4.0/5.0
Wonderful venue in many ways. We are foodies and catering by Abigail Kirsch went above and beyond our expectations. The food was shockingly good for a wedding and they were even able to arrange for a gluten free tier of cake.

We LOVED our in house event planner, Jeffrey Stillwell. He was on top of things, accessible, wonderful in every way. He is the reason why our big day went so smoothly. He really did a wonderful job of taking care of us so we didn't have to worry about a thing on our wedding night.

The reason why the venue does not get full five star marks is because (1) it is, despite everything, a bit of a wedding factory, with pros and cons (very experienced, but slightly impersonal) and (2) the sales rep we met with initially, Greg, was pretty unresponsive and even rude at times. It may have been an isolated case (given that I see some positive mentions of him by name in other reviews), but we just didn't have a good experience with him at all. Still, it didn't in the end affect our experience at the wedding.

Overall, though.... Thank you, Jeffrey, for making our day wonderful. I hope you get your day, too.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ladycaterina
Wedding:
10/4/2008
3.8/5.0
The Lighthouse is an AMAZING venue, and we are so happy we had our wedding there! It is gorgeous, and they plus Abigail Kirsch really know how to run the show. Unfortunately, we ran into some trouble with our banquet manager. He was impossible to reach and quite unprofessional. It's too bad, because we really loved everyone else we met there. He pulled through on the day of the wedding, though. We still definitely recommend the Lighthouse, because the majority of the people are great. The food by Abagail Kirsch is sooo good, and the service is impeccable. They really think of all the little details here and allow you to enjoy your day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
Chelsea Piers, 23rd Street on the Hudson River, New York, NY 10011 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Pier Sixty & The Lighthouse at Chelsea Piers
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo