130x130_sq_1375811164274-wwire

Plan A

Chicago , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1806 W. School St.
Chicago, IL US 60657 (map)

PHONE

773-717-2199

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Plan A is an independent film studio based in Chicago that focuses primarily on wedding films. To us, filming weddings is about making a connection with fun couples who appreciate what... Read more
Plan A is an independent film studio based in Chicago that focuses primarily on wedding films. To us, filming weddings is about making a connection with fun couples who appreciate what we do and want to walk away from their wedding days with something they'll enjoy watching over and over again. It is our goal to make every wedding film unique and personal, telling the story of the couple on one of the most important days of their lives. Whether you're across town, or across the country, we'll travel just about anywhere to capture your wedding day in a truly unforgettable way. Read less
Videography

INFO FOR VIDEOGRAPHY

What primary style do you identify with?
Cinematic, Documentary, Short Form, Storytelling, Traditional
What do your packages include?
Ceremony, DVD of Raw Footage, Edited Video, High Definition Video, Montage - Childhood / Dating, Montage - Music Dubbed Over, Montage - Wedding Highlights, Multiple Cameras, Multiple Videographers, Online Highlight Films, Pre-Ceremony, Reception
What formats can the final video be in?
Blu-Ray, DVD
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jonathan
Wedding:
12/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Jon did an amazing job and we highly recommend him to anyone that is looking for a videographer. He's extremely professional and worked well with everyone that was involved.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Noemi
Wedding:
11/30/2013
5.0/5.0
I came across Plan A on the knot website and was so drawn in on his beautiful videos. I couldn't stop watching them. I contacted him got a response right away, met at a coffee shop, discussed all things related. We felt comfortable with him and well his work speaks for itself. We have the most memorable moment in our lives captured in such a unique way. We received MANY complements. And I couldn't be any happier!! Job well done!
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Floriana
Wedding:
11/9/2013
5.0/5.0
I am extremely happy and thankful I came across Plan A Productions while doing my wedding research and planning! Thanks to Jon we have a beautiful wedding video to cherish for a lifetime!!! He was very easy to work with and answered any questions I had in a professional and timely fashion. He's very chill and will customize your video to your liking without going over your ideal budget. In my opinion he was very affordable compared to most packages out there. I have referred him to many future brides already! Beautiful job.
-Floriana
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Out of all the vendors we payed for during our wedding, Plan A productions was by far the best money we had spent!! Jon has a real passion for what he does and it shows through every single video. We have only seen our trailer and we are in love!!! We cannot wait to see the full video! Pictures are worth a thousand words but a video captures all the little things you may have missed.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Jon was an absolute pleasure to work with! Very responsive throughout the entire process and very accommodating. He even helped us with our montage video that we played at our rehearsal dinner - which everyone loved! The day of the wedding he was so easy to work with and made sure to capture every detail without you knowing he was even there. The finished product was a beautiful customized case with photos from the day that included two DVDs broken out into chapters - "getting ready", "first look", "ceremony", "reception", "pictures", "introductions", "dances", "speeches", and the "highlights". Even the "uncut" footage was done very well and fun to watch!
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeanette
Wedding:
9/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Jon was amazing! From the initial meeting, both my husband and I felt like he was not only reliable but a down-to-earth person that would be a perfect match for us. He was the first vendor we booked and I'm so glad we did! Throughout the process, he proved us to be right. He was responsive and adapted to our needs. On the wedding day, he let us be in our natural state and captured the essence of our love and excitement on the day. The final result was wonderful! He was able to not only time everything perfectly with the music, but we felt like he really was able to show how wonderful our wedding day was. Now, we will be able to relive this wonder whenever we want! This is the best investment we could have made to remember our special day!
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were completely blown away by our trailer! We highly suggest Jon to anyone getting married. Our family and friends all said it was the best and most unique montage they had ever seen. People that didn't attend our wedding got a sense as if they did. I am so incredibly thankful I was referred to Plan A. We will cherish his brilliant work forever. A million thanks to Jon!!!
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
Jon at Plan A did an amazing job on our wedding video (trailer, highlights, etc). First, he was great to have around on the wedding day - a great personality, but almost unnoticed at times, which I think is what you want in a videographer to get natural footage. Then, after seeing the trailer, we couldn't have been happier. We were able to re-live our wedding day in such a beautiful way thanks to his wonderful and impressive work! We received the highlights film not too much later and Jon was even willing to work with us to adjust a few things that we changed our mind about song/footage-wise. We received SO many comments on the video and had several family members and friends that told us they watched it multiple times they just loved it so much. I would highly recommend anyone in the Chicago or Central IL area (he even travelled to Central IL for our wedding!) to hire Plan A - you won't be disappointed.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Wow! I was so impressed with every aspect of working with Jon and Plan A! I am a video editor so I was very picky when it came to finding the right fit for our wedding video. I contacted many different companies, and watched a lot of videos, but Jon is the first person I found who not only has great quality footage, but is a very talented editor as well. After meeting with him, we were both convinced that he was who we wanted to work with. Everything went very smoothly leading up to the big day. And on our wedding day Jon was incredibly professional, you didn't even know he was there half the time. He made us both feel very comfortable with being filmed, and worked well with our photographers to ensure that both the photos and video would turn out great. The final product is incredible. The trailer was so much fun to watch and share with family and friends. And the final video is more than I could have hoped for. He even delivered the DVD's in a great case that looks perfect on display in our house. And he was willing to transfer all of the footage to a hard drive for me so that I can play around with it in my spare time. I would definitely recommend working with Jon and Plan A for any event you may have!
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ross
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was August 10th so you can go to Plan A productions' website and figure out who's writing this review. We've watched every wedding video Plan A has created in the last year or so because the evolution of his work, all of which is better than any videographer we could have imagined booking, is extremely impressive. Jon is AMAZING and since we're post-wedding will have to say, he should be charging a lot more when comparing to all other costs and what you get for the big day. This was, hands-down, the best decision we could have ever made and so we hope this puts you over the top to book Jon today. You may think you will remember everything or undervalue having a video since it's not considered "required" amongst all other traditional "must-haves", but check out his work and think again. It's unlike anything available elsewhere and so that's why it's hard to compare or hear other married couples' opinions who did not work with Jon. Anything else is incomparable and he's truly an artist. This will be with us forever and we're forever grateful for the masterpiece he has put together for us. It's insanely perfect and he requires zero direction. You literally won't notice him there, and yet he captures everything (including dancing, which most photographers don't capture much of or other professionals check-out by then). We could keep going with this rave review, but will finish with adding this: whether you or he chooses the music he edits each movement to, you can trust you'll end up with tears of joy in the after-math. Just incredible.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kaitlyn
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
There are no words to describe what I felt when I first watched our wedding trailer, but I will try. I have watched the video times than I can count...Not to mention I cried within the first 5 seconds of watching it for the first time. I can say without hesitation that our video from Jon is one of the best things I have ever seen. It's amazing to watch so many moments that flew by us during the day or even better, that we never even witnessed. I have officially sent it to everyone in my family and have a constant flow of emails coming in from all the ladies who call it a "dream" and a trailer for a feature film.

In addition to his talent, Jon was a pleasure to work with and never felt intrusive with his camera - it's amazing how much he captures that you aren't even aware of and that's what makes the video so exciting to see. It's clear that he enjoys his job and it shows in his work.

Jon's work is something that we will treasure forever and we truly couldn't have chosen a more talented videographer to work with. I would absolutely recommend working with Plan A!
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
G & L
Wedding:
7/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Jon is an amazing videographer. You can see how much he passion he has in what he does. He is personable, professional, and absolutely amazing at catching great footage. We are so happy we went with Plan-A for our wedding, and will be recommending him to everyone. He is truly talented and also timely in getting back to questions. We wouldn't have done it any other way! Thanks again Jon!
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ignus
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Sylwia and myself could not be more happy with the result! Really, really well done!
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tess
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
AHHHHHH!!!! AMAZING. Absolutely love the video. It was so well done, moving, funny, and just simply perfect. I will be passing along you to all of my fellow engaged friends in the Chicagoland area. You blew us away.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carly
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
I was iffy on getting a videographer since we already had an awesome photographer but after seeing Jon's work I couldn't help but book him! We never met with Jon in person and only communicated via email for the most part but he captured everything! We cannot stop watching it! We can't thank Jon enough for doing such a fantastic job!!
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
5/24/2013
5.0/5.0
Thank u for everything Jon! U did an awesome job! I can't tell u how many people have commented on the video! Thanks to u, i have these wonderful memories that i get to watch over and over again! :)
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
WOW! I can't even begin to say how happy we are that we chose to go with Plan-A for our videography! I have known Jon for years, through his sister, so it helped knowing that this is someone that I have been around before. His work blew us out of the water. I have to say, he was never in the way, I mean I didn't even know he was there. Which is how it should be to me. We just recently received our video in the mail, and the way it is put together is AH-MAZING!!! We received everything on time as well. I have had many people write me and say that they didn't cry the day of, but this made them cry and that this is the BEST wedding video that they have ever seen (I agree of course, but am sure that I am a little biased). I would & have recommended Jon to all of my friends for their videos on their special day! Jon - Thank you sooooo much for putting together this awesome video! And we now have something that we can watch over and over to remind us how very special that day was for us. Keep doing what you are doing because this is what you were made to do! You rock!!!
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Jon captured our big day in the most amazing way. He was able to get all the special moments while almost being invisible. We have friends who have told us it is one of the best wedding videos they've seen (I obviously think that, but I'm a little bias). He was very friendly and easy to work with. I would definitely recommend Plan A to any bride looking for really high quality video of their wedding day.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
12/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Without a doubt, booking Plan-A-wedding films was the best investment we made for our wedding day. Jon captured our memories and told the story in a beautiful film we can watch over and over again to relive the magic of our day. I have recommended him to every bride-to-be I know and will continue to do so for as long as he is making wedding films. There are not enough stars in the wedding wire ranking system to express how thrilled we are with his talent and the quality of the product he provided us.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lara
Wedding:
11/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Words cannot describe how happy we are with Jon and Plan A Productions! Our happiest, greatest day was caught on video in a way we never imagined. We have watched the video over and over and catch something new each time. It brings tears of joy to my eyes and I am so glad that Jon captured our most precious moments for us to have our entire life! Having our photographers and videographer work together the way they did was amazing in that no one even knew they were there. We have gotten so many compliments on our videos and photos that I cannot even begin to say "thank you" enough!! Best money spent on our wedding. Hands down!
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
I am speechless! Okay, not really, here I go.

The video that Plan A created for our wedding day is so beautiful. I could not have imagined it capturing so many different, raw, and real emotions. From the very first scene we were taken on a journey through the best day of our lives all over again. Jon truly captured what was such a special day not only for my husband and I, but for our family and friends as well. We experienced such an abundance of love and happiness that day and it shines through in all the little moments that appear in the video.

The video was completed quicker than the promised turnaround time, and we simply could not be happier with the overall quality of work, attention to detail, and our experience with Plan A. I highly, highly, HIGHLY, recommend using their services. In fact, one of my bridesmaids recently got engaged and had Plan A booked within days. Yes, THAT good!

You will not regret booking with Plan-A.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Plan-A Wedding Films was more than we could ever ask for! Jon, our videographer, was extremely professional, on-time, and captured all of the wonderful moments from our wedding. He fit our needs by even specializing our services to go along with a special performance that night. Most importantly, unlike other vendors, Jon listened to exactly what we wanted and exceeded our expectations. When we received our DVD, everything was perfect.

We definitely made the right choice with Plan-A Wedding Films, and will continue to recommend them to everyone we know who would like an amazing moment captured for a lifetime.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Amazing work we could not be happier! !!! Everything was perfect and the end result was amazing! Jon was totally easy to work with and did a beautiful job.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Jon was amazing. He customized a package for us that would fit within our budget. He is very good at what he does. We love our video and have received many compliments on it. He is also really nice and chill, which is great to have someone like that around on your wedding day. He's also very professional. I would recommend him to anybody without hesitation. He does excellent work.
Services Used: Videography
130x130_sq_1339362855045-ginny43
Katy
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Like many other brides, I was not planning on hiring a videographer for my wedding. But as the time drew closer to our wedding date, I began thinking through and envisioning the day, and I kept thinking how much I wanted this day, the most special and important day of my life, to be captured on film. I looked at many websites and portfolios. Most of them were super “cheesy” – the look and feel of the video was not at all what I wanted. The companies that did produce “film” as opposed to “video” were several thousand dollars and out of my price range. Just as I was feeling frustrated and out of luck, I discovered Plan-A Productions.

Immediately, I liked Jon’s style. The trailers and highlight films on his website were exactly what I wanted. He had an artistic way of putting video to film, and I liked his package options. I knew that even my husband and I would never watch a two hour video of our wedding. However, we would watch a fifteen minute highlight film. I met with Jon and hired him on the spot.

The day of the wedding, Jon showed up at 2pm to capture both my husband and I getting ready. He filmed our “first look” photos before the ceremony, the ceremony, and the first few hours of the reception. I honestly do not even remember seeing him at all during most of the day. He kept out of sight. What struck me is how well he interacted and worked with our photographers. You’d think three people would get into each other’s way, but they never did. They clicked immediately and made such a good team throughout the day and night.

Exactly two months after our wedding, Jon sent us the link to our “trailer”. It was about 3 minutes long and set to our first dance song. Of course I cried, and I think my husband may have teared up as well. ;) It was PERFECT. We sent it to family and friends, and they all loved it. Less than two weeks later, we received the highlight film. It’s hard to put into words how I feel about this film. In the past two days, I think we’ve watched it ten times. It is absolutely amazing to me that someone could take 9 hours of film and edit it so beautifully into just 13 minutes that capture the day so perfectly. It is set to some of our favorite songs (Jon had asked for a list before the wedding), but what I really love is that it includes parts of our ceremony readings, vows (which we wrote ourselves) and reception speeches. I don’t remember much of those vows or speeches, so seeing them on film is wonderful. It is truly artistic film – NOT a cheesy wedding video. It is something we will cherish the rest of our lives and show to our children someday. It perfectly captures the beauty of the day, the true joy that we experienced, the raw emotion that we felt, and the crazy fun that we had on the dance floor. I’ve already had several past and future brides tell me that they wish they had a wedding films like ours.

Hiring Jon and Plan-A Productions was one of the best decisions I made. I urge all future brides to hire a videographer, and hire Plan-A! Thank you, Jon!!
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nancy
Wedding:
4/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Jon did a great job using my old wedding video to make us a shortened "Highlight" DVD. Awesome anniversary gift from our children.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aaron
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
We were not planning on having a videographer. We thought wedding videos could never be anything more than:

Videographer: “Hey there, would you like to say something to the happy couple?”
Drunk wedding guest: (slurred speech, apology, repeat)

THEN, my sister and brother-in-law had Plan-A do their wedding video. We didn’t even realize they had a videographer at their wedding! So after we saw their wedding video trailer (the ‘Andrea & David’ video on the website), we were both speechless. I’m not exaggerating. It was so creative and unlike anything we could have imagined a wedding video to be. We looked at each other and knew what the other was thinking...“We need to have this.”

We booked Plan-A, and they were a pleasure to work with. It seems weird to say, but on the day, we hardly even noticed them.

We just got our trailer, and it’s incredible. We went with a package that also included a longer length video (which is going to be even harder to wait for now). It’s going to be really nice having both videos. Obviously, you will be willing to watch your own longer video over and over again, but the trailers are just a few minutes long, which is the perfect length to play for others. I’ve watched my sister’s video tons of times, and I’ve shown it off to people that don’t even know her. I really can’t say enough about how fun and unique these videos are.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DavidG
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about Jon Romashko at Plan-A Wedding Films. He is AWESOME! Once I found some of the previous weddings on his site, it was the easiest decision to book him for ours. Being interested in video and editing myself, I was able to relate to and appreciate the work he did and the effort and artistic style involved, and Jon was clearly gifted from the start. I never second guessed it, I was just crazy excited. He’s got an extremely good eye for detail and composing great shots, and you can really see how much time he puts into the editing process. He uses the music choices to the fullest, paying attention to selecting the right scene to perfectly match each part of the song and building to a climax. I bet some of the songs we chose for our highlights video were probably pretty challenging to work with, but he pulled it off without a hitch. Lots of our friends said it was like an amazing music video, which is totally true! He does awesome at crafting the full story of the day in a concise, beautiful package. Our videos turned out AMAZING. We're ridiculously happy with them.

He was also extremely accommodating and professional in all of our email conversations as well as on our actual big day. He's very easy to work with and flexible too. At one point when we were running short on time before the reception, Jon offered up an alternative new location idea on the fly that was on the way to our hall in order to save time.. and it turned out just perfect. The location he thought of totally matched our taste and style, which he clearly picked up on. I can’t think of anything that he missed. He got all the important shots and great little moments throughout the whole day, and made us two amazing videos that we will no doubt cherish forever. He even worked parts of the speeches into our video along with the music, which worked sooo good. I also want to mention that Jon stayed on top of things after the wedding, too... He got our video out to us right on time and even took extra care in tweaking things just the way we wanted it. The whole process was awesome from beginning to end. You can really just let him do his thing and not worry about it, and he’ll deliver an amazing and creative result.

These videos are without a doubt our favorite memento from our wedding. The day goes by too fast. Film captures it all so well, especially with Jon behind the lens.

Highly, highly, highly recommended!!!
Services Used: Videography
130x130_sq_1329506095954-fbavatar2237935
Katy
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
A.MAZE.ING. Seriously, best decision I made.

I've tried to write this 5 times already and I am finding it difficult to put into words just how much this video means to me. Jon captured EVERYTHING and then some throughout the day. His style is so non-intrusive, while catching all of the details. Little things - like a look at my best friend, a laugh/whisper to my sister in a passing moment, the details on my shoes and dress, the emotions of my family, the moment I saw my cake for the first time, the crazy dancers, the ceremony music (I never saw them that day!) you name it. The timing with the music is incredible, too.

If you are debating if you should do a video or not I beg you to please DO IT! I have zero regrets from my wedding, but I can honestly say after seeing Jon's work, if I hadn't gotten this video it would have been my only regret. I think the video shows how happy everyone was that day. It's a different level of emotion that comes out in video than in a photograph...

This is not your typical "pass the mic around the table and give the couple well wishes" video - this is like your very own documentary of the day timed to music that you pick out and love. When I have children they will love to see the personalities of their parents on their wedding day - PRICELESS!

From the bottom of my heart THANK YOU, JON for such an amazing, amazing way to remember my day.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ljfloyd
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
I admit that a wedding video wasn't at the top of our "must have" list when we started planning our wedding. I wasn't impressed with many of the other vendors we had seen... some were cheesy, a little 1980's-looking, we didn't want a big production with filming in terms of lights, etc...and personally, I HATE the "Give the bride and groom your wishes!" type video.

I've known Jon for a while through previous video work of his (in the music industry), so after seeing a few other wedding videos he's done, we knew his style was more unique and something more in line with what my husband and I would like to have as a memento from our big day.

I can honestly say, hands down, this is my favorite keepsake from the entire wedding. Jon was discrete and yet captured every one of the most special moments for us. (Most of our guests didn't even realize we had someone filming!) I personally tend to be awkward on camera, which did not come through on our video, at all. The video was edited beautifully to a soundtrack that we were able to choose - hard to believe just one person was able to capture the day from so many different angles. He went way above and beyond - once he started editing, he was in touch several times to talk about his approach and get our input along the way. We got our DVD and raw footage in a beautiful case...something we'll be able to put aside and have for years to come.

I couldn't be more pleased and recommend Jon to pretty much everyone I know. :)
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MattT
Wedding:
3/19/2010
5.0/5.0
Plan-A Wedding Films has a great vision for composition and style. The production value is nothing short of amazing.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
I searched for a very long time for a videographer that I liked. Jon was very professional and unobtrusive. His work is great, and he was very easy to work with. We're so glad that we chose him, and we'd recommend him to anyone.
Services Used: Videography

MAP

 
1806 W. School St., Chicago, IL 60657 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Plan A
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1375811164274-wwire