130x130_sq_1216268566613-istock_000005197224largeoriginal

Pro DJ KC

Kansas City , MO
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

8720 N Ditzler Ave #1801
Kansas City, MO US 64157 (map)

PHONE

913-963-7758

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

"Your wedding is a monumental celebration!"

We love helping couples celebrate and we want to share that passion with you! Your friends, your family, the music you love, the... Read more
"Your wedding is a monumental celebration!"

We love helping couples celebrate and we want to share that passion with you! Your friends, your family, the music you love, the fun, the excitement, the romance, the sentiment...that's what the night should be entirely about. The details...that's where we come in.

Pro DJ KC has been in existence since 1994. Our performers are all professional mobile entertainers/emcees with years of experience in the event industry.

Our entertainers not only play the music that will keep your guests dancing; they specialize in working with vendors and party participants to make sure your event runs smoothly by providing coordination and emcee services throughout the event.No "cheesy dj's" here trying to steal the show. Our talent is in being able to work with yo to match your personality, musical preferences and the atmosphere you are trying to create for your event...with the dj that is perfect for you. Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1216268270879-istock_000005197224largeoriginal
130x130_sq_1288060577061-grandentrance
130x130_sq_1288060567420-constantcontactdanceshot01
130x130_sq_1288060561701-gartertoss
130x130_sq_1288060552108-firstdance
130x130_sq_1288060559170-girlsnight
130x130_sq_1288060568451-constantcontactimagebrideandgroom
130x130_sq_1288060575748-prodjkc2010thanks

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1392088441-9a1f34645eae7480-kiss_goodnight
Misty
Wedding:
7/12/2014
5.0/5.0
Rusty was amazing, he traveled 3 hours for my wedding. He played all the right music, everyone was dancing the whole time.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elle M
Wedding:
6/15/2013
4.8/5.0
Jennifer was everything we could have wanted in a DJ. She is highly professional, easy to work with, very organized, inexpensive and a great DJ! She had a good feel for what would keep people on the dancefloor and made sure to mix in our must-plays in a way that felt completely natural. We were dancing our butts off for hours! She also has experience in wedding coordination and was great at making sure things stayed on time and that we had everything we needed for each segment (e.g. making sure our champagne was there for our toasts, etc.). We had to change things around quite a bit due to a sudden downpour and she knew exactly how to rearrange the schedule to keep things flowing. I don't think the guests even realized the new order wasn't planned. I would highly recommend Jennifer to anyone getting married in KC!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
samantha
Wedding:
11/10/2012
5.0/5.0
Jennifer Sinnet was perfect and the ultimate professional. She performed for our ceremony and reception and it was flawless. Plus, she worked with our budget. Awesome DJ!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
11/10/2012
1.6/5.0
Unfortunately we had a very unpleasant experience with this DJ company. We had follow up questions to our DJ who was assigned to our wedding and after our initial conversation we tried to reach out to her again and she never responded. The night of our reception we had a number of 5-7 minute gaps where no music was being played at all because there was a malfunction with the equipment and we had to use the venue's speakers and music for a portion of the night. Our speeches were interrupted twice with sound from the DJ stand as she was trying to troubleshoot the equipment issues. The music did not transition smoothly during the first dances with long pauses in between the songs and overall it really was disappointing.

My last straw occurred this weekend when a bridesmaid told me that the DJ admitted she doesn't normally do this work and this was one of her first jobs.

The process leading up to being assigned our DJ was wonderful and went smoothly. Their questionnaire they provide you up front was extremely helpful to my husband and I when picking out what type of music and songs we wanted to play, and when laying out the timeline of events during the reception. I honestly expected a follow up call or email from Jennifer after the night went so poorly given the professionalism displayed leading up to the event.

So many things about this company were very promising until the night of.. my caution would be to speak to and be comfortable with the DJ specifically assigned to your event. Otherwise you run the risk of being extremely disappointed like we were.
Services Used: DJ
Pro DJ KC responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your feedback as your happiness is of the utmost importance to us. Despite much training it was obvious to us that our standards were not being met and this DJ is no longer with our company.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
10/13/2012
3.2/5.0
I chose Pro DJ upon a great review from my brother, but I their service did not meet my expectations.

First, I was very pleased with the responsiveness of Jen, the owner/manager (?) during our meeting to find out what we needed for our reception. She seemed to understand us and was very professional and gave us good feedback.

Our DJ, Heather, who was chosen for our event, was very dissappointing though.

First, we had been talked into adding a second speaker and music during our cocktail hour so that our guests could hear the announcement to be seated for dinner. This was never done. Our coordinator had to go around and usher people into the dining room.

We were told to directly communicate things to Heather at her personal email, and I was upset to learn, upon getting to the reception, that she had never even seen my email. This led to some problems like:

-each of our "special" dances were WAY too long because she didn't "abbreviate" the songs in any way (even with our coordinator signalling "CUT!") from across the room
-skipping some of our "must play" songs
-I asked for an announcement to take a photo with my college friends. Instead of "everyone please gather for a photo", all I heard was "let's have a shout out". A lot of people ended up missing the shot, no surprise.

Additionally, I felt like she was unprofessional and was not paying attention to our guests at all. Rap song after rap song blasted with no one dancing, with the exception of her, the DJ, who was out on the dance floor in her stocking-feet!!!. Meanwhile, I waited (ignored by her) at her booth to request a song

I wouldn't say our night was ruined, but I felt like we were not given the individual attention we were promised for our event, and that our chosen DJ was both inexperienced and unprofressional. I imagine that there are other DJs with this company who provide a very different experience, just not ours.
Services Used: DJ
Pro DJ KC responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your feedback as your happiness is of the utmost importance to us. Despite much training it was obvious to us that our standards were not being met and this DJ is no longer with our company.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
9/10/2011
3.7/5.0
My DJ was the first vendor I chose for my wedding. Pro DJ was very professional and you could tell they knew their stuff. The music for the ceremony, reception, and all down time was spot in. We did have a slight slip up on the entrance song which about gave my husband a heart attack and then our last name was pronounced incorrectly. But other than that the DJ made up for it when the reception started playing a great variety of music we talked about with him. I would recommend Pro DJ just make sure to stay in contact consistently and that they know the right songs and names.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1275430900428-57201110403762491129876009130491304495301n
Chyleina
Wedding:
8/26/2011
5.0/5.0
I wish I could give Jenn with ProDj a BILLION stars. She was literally the most amazing DJ I could ever ask for. She kept the party going and always made sure I was ok with what was going on. She wasn't overpowering like some DJ's can be, but she was involved. She even helped with the formalities and kept the wedding flowing at a good pace.
I can't say enough good things about this service. It was more than I ever expected.
Thank you, Jenn. You rock!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.7/5.0
The DJ service for the ceremony is really good; but for the reception part, the microphone did not work well when my husband was toasting. Everything else is just right. Jennifer is very flexible and helpful during the whole process, and I will recommend this vendor to other people.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mackenzie
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Jennifer was awesome! She kept the reception flowing and the tunes playing all night. She took our requests and stayed away from the corny reception songs. She had our guests dancing all night long!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachelle
Wedding:
1/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Jennifer was awesome to work with. She was able to accomodate all my wants for music and made sure my "must plays" were played at just at the right times. Definitely would use them again and will and have already recommended to friends in need of a great DJ at a wonderful price. Thanks again so much Jennifer :-)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
marriedrunners
Wedding:
6/25/2010
5.0/5.0
Our experience with PRO DJ was fabulous. We initially didn't even want to hire a DJ but are so glad that we did. The website is very user friendly and easy to use and the feedback and communication was very responsive- and initiated by the company. When a bride is busy getting so many things ready, it is nice to know that the DJ is looking out for her! I had e-mails reminding me to complete my music choices and spoke directly with our DJ more than once prior to the reception. The music was exactly what we wanted and the DJ kept the night flowing with energy.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs. Coleman
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were so happy with our experience with Pro DJ from beginning to end. We were able to plan our entire event as we thought of particular songs by using the website. The site is very user friendly and I really liked the way we could come back several times to make adjustments up until the day of our wedding. Also we were able to pay online which was nice as it was one less thing my parents had to deal with the wedding night. The songs were exactly what we had requested and the guests loved the music. Nick was our DJ on site and he was very professional and he maintained my schedule exactly which we really appreciated because we wanted to get the dancing started asap! I would recommend Pro DJ to anyone. They were truly amazing. I am an event coordinator and I have planned many weddings and I have seen many receptions flop because of their DJ. The DJ is a crucial piece of the event and I feel confident recommending Pro DJ for any occasion.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
phildormeyer
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
My wife and I got married on June 12, 2010 and couldn't have asked for a better DJ service. Pro DJ KC met our needs and exceeded our expectations! Thanks Jennifer!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
metbn8421
Wedding:
5/9/2009
5.0/5.0
She is a wonderful DJ!!!!!! She did a wonderful job. Our ceremony sounded great and she kept the reception fun and lively. She really knew what kind of music we like. She even helped my MOH put my bustle together on my extra long train. She's really sweet and was very flexible when we kept changing our music choices. I really recommend her!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ

MAP

 
8720 N Ditzler Ave #1801, Kansas City, MO 64157 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Pro DJ KC
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1216268566613-istock_000005197224largeoriginal