130x130_sq_1354545992872-carlyglazier.09022012.prewedding235

Professional DJ Services by Brad McCormick

Washington , DC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Washington, DC US 20008 (map)

PHONE

202-230-3907

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

I’ve been Djing for 15 years. For the past 11 years I have focused on mostly weddings, company parties and some college/grad school events. I work full time in the music industry for... Read more
I’ve been Djing for 15 years. For the past 11 years I have focused on mostly weddings, company parties and some college/grad school events. I work full time in the music industry for Warner Music Group and have built an extensive music collection over the years. My style is more low key and I try to let the music run the party and not be overbearing. I do pay very close attention to detail and work with every customer one on one on building their music plan and timeline for their reception.

For the most part I try to avoid the wedding cliche music you might expect to hear at a lot of weddings, although if you and your guests want to hear a song like YMCA, I would be happy to play it. Everyone has their own tastes and you never know what will get a party going. I incorporate guest requests when appropriate and consult with the bride and groom in advance of their wedding day on any requests they may have. I play a mix of new and old styles throughout the night to keep everyone dancing. For the most part I tend to play songs that everyone will enjoy in the beginning whether it’s a slow song by Elvis or Frank Sinatra or more upbeat selections like Motown songs of Stevie Wonder, Jackson 5 or The Temptations, something that everyone can enjoy or maybe if more appropriate everything kicks off with a brand new current hit dance song. Later in the night I may play more of the newer current hits for the younger crowd while still throwing in something for everyone else here and there. This is just an example, I work with every couple one on one to help implement their vision for what they want on their day.

I never know what is going to work until I get to know what the couple getting married is interested in and after discussing what their family and friends might be interested in and take into consideration the age ranges of the guest list, whether it's hip-hop or country, latin or ballroom dancing, it's your wedding and I work with you to make it perfect. I will work with your wedding coordinator, on site caterers and other vendors, photographers etc to make sure everything is running on time and as planned. I can provide ceremony music as well as cocktail hour and dinner music. I believe the music during these portions are just as important as the dancing. I have DJed hundreds of events all over the District, Northern VA and surrounding Maryland area. I encourage anyone looking for a DJ to call them, ask questions and take note of what questions the DJ asks you about your wedding. Read less
DJ

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
My style is laid back, but very detail oriented when it comes to your wedding. I act as a wedding coordinator and emcee events as neccessary, I don't get on the mic and do unneccessary talking or speak in a radio DJ voice. My ability to read a crowd and years of experience in DJing for all ages is what keeps the dance floor at all my events packed.
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
Yes, it has to be within a reasonable amount based on the length and event segments contained within the timeline of the event. I always go over the timeline with a couple before their wedding and with over 11 years experience I can give a good estimate as to how much dance time they will have and how many songs can reasonably played within the time frame. I try not to limit a couple's request list, but it's reccommended to allow some room for requests, transitional songs, reading of the crowd, you really can not predetermine everything that is going to be played in advance. One style of music might work better than another and certain age groups may be more active than others and you won't know until the party starts, it's always good to have suggestions.
What is your usual attire?
This is at the request of the customer can be either a suit or a tuxedo.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
Only if it is very obscure, a special live version, acoustic or remix version that was not publicly/commercially made available or is out of print.
How many other DJs do you work with?
I work by myself, but also can be contracted through Black Tie DJs at their rates.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
3 Hours
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Yes, I would encourage anyone booking a DJ to either talk to their DJ over the phone or meet with them in person.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
I have DJ'ed many weddings with mixed crowds of varying ethnic backgrounds and have played all styles of Latin music, Indian, Arabic, African and European music, but do not specialize in any one.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Yes of course, I will not play something they don't want to hear.
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes, I bring back up equipment as well. I also have back up power that can be used anywhere, recently there have been very powerful storms knocking out power in the DC area, so in the event of a power outage at your wedding I can keep the party going.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
Wireless hand held microphones, a lapel mic. Multiple speakers, a subwoofer if needed.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
On average 1 hour is needed, approx. 6 foot table should always be provided by the site/rental company and power outlets should be located within 100 feet of my set up. I am flexible and have worked in odd sized spaces. Even though I don't need it, I target to arrive at most venues 90 mins in advance of my contracted start time, you can never be too early on someone's wedding day.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
No, I don't put up a sign or a banner.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
If asked to or only when neccessary to make announcements and transitions, I act as a coordinator when one is not present and keep everything moving on time.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
I use different styles of music to bring people to the floor and rarely have to encourage people to get up out of their seats. I always meet with the couple in advance and discuss the music and make up of their guest list to help tailor the music selections for maximum crowd participation. I will never play any silly games to get guests to interact. I will suggest to a couple they could have a couple dances planned throughout the night to get peoples attention focused on the dance floor such as parent dances, an anniversary dance or a bridal party dance with everyone joining in, but only if this is what they want.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
I don't take breaks and I don't require a meal, although its always appreciated.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
The music never stops, I don't take breaks.
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Your option is to book me through Black Tie DJs for full back up. I have never been late or missed an event in my entire career and have worked through illness, hurricanes, blizzards, you name it. I do make up a contract and take financial responsibility of booking a replacement DJ at whatever cost if it were to come down to it.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
No
What is your overtime rate?
Sometimes I'll give a little extra bonus time at no charge and only if it's ok with the venue, but if needed to stay longer than a few extra songs I charge in 30 minute increments and can be paid on the spot that night to extend past the contracted time.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
I never charge for travel within the DC metro area that includes places like Leesburg, VA or even Baltimore, MD is acceptable. If I have to travel a significant distance outside the DC metro area I would charge a minimal travel fee and would be dependent upon on the distance.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
A $100 deposit is required to hold the date, final payment is due the week of wedding date.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Livia
Wedding:
1/18/2014
5.0/5.0
For our wedding, Brad compiled an amazing playlist from the welcome and ceremony to the cocktail hour and reception portion of our celebration. We initially met with Brad to go over which genres of music we liked and disliked and how we envisioned different types of music to set various moods throughout the evening. Closer to the wedding, we provided a short list of songs that we wanted to include and we trusted Brad to do the rest. The playlist he compiled for our wedding was perfect. The dance floor was packed all night and our friends continue to rave about the music. We highly recommend Brad McCormick to curate music for all types of events.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Seetha
Wedding:
10/11/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I chose Brad because he came highly recommended to us. Moreover, after interviewing a couple of djs, we really clicked with him and liked his laid back, non pushy, but knowledgeable and helpful vibe. His passion and love for music come shining through and you know instantaneously that you want to work with someone like that. He gave us free rein to pick the songs we wanted, but also made himself available at any time to discuss music choices when we had questions. He is responsive, thoughtful and organized and will give you his opinion if you seek it.

My husband and I had such a great time working with him. We really appreciated him listening to us and incorporating us so deeply in the process. You can tell that he sincerely wants his clients to be happy and that picking wedding music from the ceremony to the end of the reception is a collaborative process.

In addition to being so easy and flexible to work with, Brad is supremely talented. I had guests tell us later that he never played a bad song and they just couldn't stop dancing. I had one friend tell me that she kept waiting for something to play that she wouldn't want to dance to so she could rest her feet. Fortunately for us and unfortunately for her, that never happened and she stayed on the dance floor throughout the night. Brad is a music advisor/guide, mentor, and dj all wrapped in one. I can't recommend him strongly enough.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bob
Wedding:
10/4/2013
5.0/5.0
From beginning to end, Brad was a great person to work with. My husband and I got married at the Whittemore House in DC on October 4th, 2013. We really liked Brad's low-key demeanor and his wanting to meet beforehand to discuss our ideas on music. We were fairly specific on the music we wanted during dinner and he was completely open to our ideas. We let him take the reins for post-dinner dancing and he had the whole place dancing the entire night. Not a simple task given we had a crowd that went from their 20's and into their 60's...and everyone was dancing. We got a LOT of compliments on the music and the DJ. Would not hesitate to hire Brad again or recommend him to anyone looking for a fun party DJ. Really great!

Bob & Michael
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
We cannot rave enough about Brad! During the entire planning process he was absolutely wonderful - professional, organized, flexible, easy-going. He is just such a nice person and also provided wonderful guidance. He always made us feel like he totally understood what we wanted and was truly a pleasure to deal with. He put us entirely at ease and that was a great feeling leading up to the wedding!

As for the wedding, when I walked into my cocktail hour, I was seriously giddy! The sound was perfect and the entire cocktail was exactly how I had dreamt it. I had given him a few song suggestions and he built an entire cocktail hour based on the feel that I wanted. As we proceeded into dinner, Brad was great at keeping things moving along according to our timeline. He has such a great presence about him and is such a nice person. But the best part of our wedding was BY FAR the dancing. Literally everybody said they couldn't tear themselves away from the dance floor because it was hit after hit. I never intended to dance so much at my own wedding but...I couldn't resist! It was so wonderful - the sound, the music, the tempo of the night - how he mixed oldies and new hits! It was just great. My parents never dance and they closed down the dancefloor! Everyone of all ages was just having the time of their lives!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We hired Brad for our wedding on September 7th. He played the music for our cocktail hour which was inside and then are reception was outside. He was super helpful from the beginning, trying to get a sense of what we wanted and then offering helpful suggestions. We didn't want a DJ with a schtick. We just wanted someone who play good music that kept the party going, which is what Brad did fabulously.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tina
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Brad was awesome to work with for our wedding day. He was always attentive in the planning process and knows how stressful the weeks leading up to a wedding are and because of that he was very organized and tried to get all the details taken care of as early as possible. We decided to extend our wedding reception about 1 week prior to the event and he was very flexible in being willing to stay and continue to play. During our wedding reception he had everyone on the dance floor having a good time and knew what to play to keep people up and dancing. He was a great value and is highly recommended!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jan
Wedding:
8/23/2013
5.0/5.0
We were happy that we hired Brad as our wedding DJ. During the run up to the wedding he was very helpful with suggestions and advice for fine-tuning the flow of our evening. We gave him a list of of must-play and might-play songs, and he did a great job of keeping the dance floor humming, we had so much fun, everyone was going crazy! We can highly recommend Brad.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
The reception music was the most important thing to my husband, and so we wanted to make sure the DJ we used understood us and did not use the typical, cheesy DJ "schtick." Brad could not have been more perfect. He went out of his way to meet with us and talk through every aspect of the day, which made us feel comfortable that he would "get" the feel we were going for. A DJ is often much more than just someone playing music; he's the emcee for a lot of the big events (special dances, cake cutting, etc.) Brad worked with our planner to seemlessly transition into all of these events, making the evening feel relaxed and fun. And Brad also did a good job of adjusting to the mood of crowd; when a particular song we had suggested fell flat, he transitioned into another one that got everyone out on the dance floor. We highly recommend Brad for your wedding!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
2/21/2013
4.8/5.0
My husband and I were reluctant to get a Deejay at first. Brad McCormick came highly recommended by my friend who is a Washington Post journalist for the wedding section. He made our decision to have a Deejay really easy. He met with us on weeknight, which is often hard to do in the DC metro area. Prior to even meeting with him, he sent us a site where we could see the kinds of music he could play, including top wedding recommendations. He also sent over an itinerary which helped guide us through what music to consider, dad/daughter, cocktail hour, dinner music, etc. When we met, we talked about what he has done in the past, and he came fully prepared to show us demo material. He is very detailed and wanted to make sure all the music flowed appropriately. We were very flexible with our music selection and wanted him to help us out, but had some requirements specific to our taste, which he was open to. He is very knowledgeable about popular and traditional wedding music, but also knew some of my favorites including some more underground, indie rock. We were impressed by his wide selection, which is why we went with him. Our taste in music ranged from jazz, indie rock, 70s rock, hip hop, 80s romantic classics, and foreign hits (French swing and Latin salsa). His attention to detail proved well as we ended up dancing half the night and accidentally ignoring some of our late-arriving guests. While we have a great group of dancing friends, we have to give a shout out to this Deejay who kept the party going....there wasn't a moment that people were not on the dance floor, including our parents and older guests. We would recommend Brad for his taste in music, amazing mixes, ability to keep the party going, his likeability, flexibility, and attention to detail.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dan
Wedding:
1/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Brad was fantastic - he really helped us understand what music would work at our wedding reception, dinner, and dancing. He played everything we hoped he would, took requests from guests, and made sure that everyone had a fantastic time. Music made the event, and Brad made everything easy and fun. Thanks Brad!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mark
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Brad provided the ceremony and reception music for our wedding this October and we could not have been happier with his work. Brad’s organization, suggestions and experience resulted in a reception plan that flowed seamlessly from one event to the next.

In our planning meetings with Brad, we provided him with handful of songs and song types that we wanted played. The resulting dance party he created could not have been better if we handpicked every song the entire night. He has a great ability to read the mood of the crowd and the dance floor was never empty.

We would not hesitate to recommend Brad as your wedding DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Six weeks after our wedding, our guests continue to sing Brad's praises. We could not have been happier with our choice of DJ. From the initial meeting to the last song, Brad was incredibly professional, thoughtful and creative. He always kept meetings, responded to emails, and called us with reminders and questions.

In comparing DJs, we were looking for someone who is familiar with a wide range of genres, is personable and open to some collaboration. Brad met all criteria - unlike some DJs from the big companies with whom we spoke - and was so easy-going. We were particularly thankful for his attention to detail. Brad worked with our venue's wedding timeline to ensure that each moment was covered, whether with music or announcements. Even with a last-minute change to the outline, he was completely flexible and helpful. His suggestions for planning music were also invaluable; we would have missed important details without it.

Cocktail hour was the perfect blend of music for the outdoor space. During the reception, Brad got everyone (EVERYONE!) on the dance floor before the main course was served, and kept them there. He played soul, r&b, reggae, soca, top 40, etc., and all our guests - regardless of age or musical tastes - danced. He also handled requests very well, ensuring that our must-plays were played, but also that the guests got what they wanted. Even our most discerning guests had nothing but praise for Brad. His demeanor was completely professional throughout the day, and he knew when to fade music, introduce/end speeches, and make the necessary announcements. No cheesy wedding DJ here!

We would hire him again in a heartbeat!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Brad was an amazing DJ and went the extra mile to make sure that he delivered exactly what we were looking for. He worked closely with us in the weeks/months leading up to the wedding to make sure he understood what kind of music we wanted and the vibe we were going for (in our case, a non-stop dance party!) He made sure that everything was set up ahead of time, error free, and the music was just right. He wasn't one of those over-powering DJs that talks throughout, and his vast music library ensured that both we and our guests heard the songs we really wanted to. He was very responsive-- before, during, and after the wedding-- and I'd recommend him to friends without hesitation. He's great!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
Brad was absolutely amazing to work with. He was very flexible, patient, and honored every music request that we made for our wedding day. He made our special day so memorable and helped to make the flow of the evening perfect. We highly recommend Brads services!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Brad was spectacular - before and during the wedding. He was really good at asking all of the necessary questions before the wedding to ensure that he was fully prepared. On the day of we had a last minute huge thunderstorm roll in as our (outdoor!) wedding was supposed to start. Brad was instrumental in making sure the wedding flowed despite the weather delays by coordinating with the other vendors, adjusting the timeline as needed, and executing last minute changes flawlessly. And very importantly, he played music that kept everyone dancing all night long. One of the things we heard from all of our guests was how great our DJ was and we could not agree more. We will highly recommend him to any of our friends that need a wedding DJ in the future - he was great!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KathleenLJ
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Brad was extremely diligent and attentive to our needs and requests. Our wedding music was incredibly important to us so we looked to hire someone who would work well with us, and actually listen to us. Through our research and interviewing lots of DJs or agents we came across mostly people who liked to talk about the good job that they do, but not listen. Brad really listened to us.

He was on time (which was important to me) and made sure to play songs that we had on our must play list and to not play songs that were on our do not play list.

We couldn't have asked for a better DJ to make our elegant affair a really fun time.

My husband is from West Africa and Brad made sure to work with my husband to put together a song list that had songs he and his family and friends would dance to as well as my American family.

I can honestly say that Brad helped to make our wedding the best night of my entire life. Thanks Brad!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
DJ Brad took care of our entire wedding day! He arrived at the Kent Manor Inn early in the morning to set up outside on the lawn for our ceremony, as well as our cocktail hour and inside for the reception area, too. He provided all the equipment needed and we didn't have to worry about a thing. We met with him a couple times before the wedding to go over details. He helped us with providing a timeline for the entire occasion and understood our taste in music. He was absolutely perfect for what we asked of him and he was very affordable. We did not want a DJ that took over the spot light and played only the music he wanted. Our guests had a fantastic time and everybody danced as late as we could. We highly recommend DJ Brad and ensure you he is professional, will take care of your music & sound system needs for your special wedding day without you having to worry about a thing.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chris
Wedding:
4/28/2007
5.0/5.0
Brad is a top-notch DJ. He played great music that everyone thoroughly enjoyed. He also had the right mix of MC-ing when it was needed and appropriate, but not being overly talkative. I would highly recommend him to anyone who needs a good DJ.
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
Washington, DC 20008 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Professional DJ Services by Brad McCormick
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1354545992872-carlyglazier.09022012.prewedding235