130x130_sq_1327104009293-professionalmakeupartistryv2

Professional Makeup Artistry

San Francisco , CA

LOCATION

San Francisco, CA US (map)

PHONE

925-240-3360

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Professional Makeup Artistry is often hailed as one of the premier Hair & Makeup Agencies in Northern California. A commitment to excellence has earned us a reputation of exceptional... Read more
Professional Makeup Artistry is often hailed as one of the premier Hair & Makeup Agencies in Northern California. A commitment to excellence has earned us a reputation of exceptional customer service. PMA is the recipient of many accolades including the coveted Grace Ormonde Platinum Vendor List, Project Wedding Bride's Choice Awards, and stellar reviews in Wedding Wire, giving us a five star vendor ranking.

Beyond excellence in Hair & Makeup design, the PMA experience is about tending to the pampered bride. Years of experience working closely with brides, their mothers, and their bridal parties has prepared us to work with you. We know how to anticipate and tackle every imaginable beauty "crisis": from developing a meticulous hair and makeup schedule, to helping you get out the door on time, to dealing with emergency dress repairs, to making sure your photo sessions look good and go off smoothly.

These are just a few of the "little things" past brides have said really made a big difference. Even the most dedicated bridal party members often do not have the time or the expertise to assist or tend to the bride. It is our pleasure to help you in any way on the most important day of your life.
"PMA exclusive services are designed to make your experience an unforgettable one.." Read less
Beauty & Health

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1348195501099-artjackiewoo2122
130x130_sq_1348195524809-artjjadams06714
130x130_sq_1348195546522-02
130x130_sq_1348195570286-03
130x130_sq_1348195577757-10
130x130_sq_1348195617195-gjw0356
130x130_sq_1348195639498-56918942725733a3db19o
130x130_sq_1348195669375-th0019
130x130_sq_1348195697168-04
130x130_sq_1348195750080-01
130x130_sq_1348195753900-02
130x130_sq_1348195757404-03
130x130_sq_1348195765668-04
130x130_sq_1348195769307-05
130x130_sq_1348195772761-06
130x130_sq_1348195779281-08
130x130_sq_1348195782358-09
130x130_sq_1348195786264-10
130x130_sq_1348195796880-11
130x130_sq_1348195801133-12
130x130_sq_1348195805816-13
130x130_sq_1348195808836-14
130x130_sq_1348195812590-15
130x130_sq_1348195817781-16
130x130_sq_1348195824720-17
130x130_sq_1348195830287-18
130x130_sq_1348195833024-19
130x130_sq_1348195834906-20
130x130_sq_1348195837452-21
130x130_sq_1348195841890-22
130x130_sq_1348195850340-24
130x130_sq_1348195854927-25
130x130_sq_1348195859094-26
130x130_sq_1348195988269-photoshoot1
130x130_sq_1348195991591-photoshoot2
130x130_sq_1348195994583-photoshoot3
130x130_sq_1348195997477-photoshoot4
130x130_sq_1348196053636-photoshoot5
130x130_sq_1348196056991-photoshoot6
130x130_sq_1348196059809-photoshoot7
130x130_sq_1348196062350-photoshoot8
130x130_sq_1348196065339-photoshoot9
130x130_sq_1348196071262-photoshoot11
130x130_sq_1348196077468-photoshoot12
130x130_sq_1348196084082-photoshoot13
130x130_sq_1348196091135-photoshoot14
130x130_sq_1348196100420-photoshoot15
130x130_sq_1348196106309-photoshoot16
130x130_sq_1348196108680-photoshoot17
130x130_sq_1348196115423-photoshoot18
130x130_sq_1348196120655-photoshoot19
130x130_sq_1348196126617-photoshoot20
130x130_sq_1348196132713-photoshoot21
130x130_sq_1348196138207-photoshoot22
130x130_sq_1348196144657-photoshoot23
130x130_sq_1348196153673-photoshoot24
130x130_sq_1348196162061-photoshoot25
130x130_sq_1348196169689-photoshoot26
130x130_sq_1348196176152-photoshoot27
130x130_sq_1348196183560-photoshoot28
130x130_sq_1348196190656-photoshoot29
130x130_sq_1348196198164-photoshoot30
130x130_sq_1348196205482-photoshoot31
130x130_sq_1348196213725-photoshoot32
130x130_sq_1348196218084-photoshoot33
130x130_sq_1348196221275-photoshoot34
130x130_sq_1348196223703-photoshoot35
130x130_sq_1348196228871-photoshoot36
130x130_sq_1348196234218-photoshoot37
130x130_sq_1348196237266-photoshoot38
130x130_sq_1348196239667-photoshoot39
130x130_sq_1348196244084-photoshoot40
130x130_sq_1348196248930-photoshoot41
130x130_sq_1348196254126-photoshoot42
130x130_sq_1348196259122-photoshoot43
130x130_sq_1348196265565-photoshoot44
130x130_sq_1348196272468-photoshoot45
130x130_sq_1348196280727-photoshoot46
130x130_sq_1348196288573-photoshoot48
130x130_sq_1348196297202-photoshoot49
130x130_sq_1348196303852-photoshoot50
130x130_sq_1348196310549-photoshoot51
130x130_sq_1348196317824-photoshoot52
130x130_sq_1348196326094-photoshoot53
130x130_sq_1348196333988-photoshoot54
130x130_sq_1348196343130-photoshoot55
130x130_sq_1348196352433-photoshoot56
130x130_sq_1348196360593-photoshoot57
130x130_sq_1348196368862-photoshoot58
130x130_sq_1348196382437-photoshoot59
130x130_sq_1348196393019-photoshoot60
130x130_sq_1348196400497-photoshoot61
130x130_sq_1348196411247-photoshoot62
130x130_sq_1348196419479-photoshoot63
130x130_sq_1348196428532-photoshoot64
130x130_sq_1348196437783-photoshoot65
130x130_sq_1348196448968-photoshoot66
130x130_sq_1348196458241-photoshoot67
130x130_sq_1348196470082-photoshoot68
130x130_sq_1348196476792-photoshoot69
130x130_sq_1348196483442-photoshoot70
130x130_sq_1348196492596-photoshoot71
130x130_sq_1348196499862-photoshoot72
130x130_sq_1348196506394-photoshoot73
130x130_sq_1348196513035-photoshoot74
130x130_sq_1348196519523-photoshoot75
130x130_sq_1348196526604-photoshoot76
130x130_sq_1348196533281-photoshoot77
130x130_sq_1348196540080-photoshoot78
130x130_sq_1348196547278-photoshoot79
130x130_sq_1348196553379-photoshoot80
130x130_sq_1348196561247-photoshoot81
130x130_sq_1348196571618-photoshoot82
130x130_sq_1348196580681-photoshoot83
130x130_sq_1348196588887-photoshoot84
130x130_sq_1348196597721-photoshoot85
130x130_sq_1348196604440-photoshoot86
130x130_sq_1348196610845-photoshoot87
130x130_sq_1348196617803-photoshoot88
130x130_sq_1348196624970-photoshoot90
130x130_sq_1348196632517-photoshoot91
130x130_sq_1348196642927-photoshoot92
130x130_sq_1348196649506-photoshoot93
130x130_sq_1348196657733-photoshoot94
130x130_sq_1348196664552-photoshoot95
130x130_sq_1348196673145-photoshoot96
130x130_sq_1348196679575-photoshoot97
130x130_sq_1348196686343-photoshoot98
130x130_sq_1348196693082-photoshoot99
130x130_sq_1348196698522-photoshoot100

INFO FOR BEAUTY & HEALTH

What beauty services do you offer?
Hair, Makeup
Do you offer trials and consultations?
Yes
Can you service a large group or bridal party?
Yes
Do you charge for trials?
$250 In-Studio Only -- The trial session is of outmost importance to us. We will begin with a 15 minute consultation; we request that you collect sample photos of the style of makeup, hair, dress and wedding day colors to bring to the trial session. Having your veil and hair accessories is recommended but no required. We will then re-create the look you desire for your wedding day. Lastly, a photo-shoot of the final look for our file and reference (copies of the photos will be emailed to you by the next business day). Approximately 3 hours per trial session. A friend or a family member is welcomed to come with you.
Do you provide any specialty services? (airbrushing, hair extensions, etc.)
Airbrush, Extensions, Faux Lash Application.
Do you travel to the client on the day of the event? If yes, is there a fee?
Our convenient mobile service brings the salon to you, allowing you to save time, money and help you relax on your wedding day. We bring all the equipment, setup, and materials. The fee also covers mileage, parking, and toll fees for the PMA team. 
 Special arrangements can be made for travel outside the bay area, nationally and internationally.
How many customers can you serve at one time if the bride were to book her entire bridal party? Are there discounts for doing so?
We have 6 members in our staff so we can acommodate large parties.
How far in advance should clients book your services?
At least six months prior to the wedding date. In order to maintain the high standards that have become our trademark, we limit the amount of weddings to 40 per year; we receive 200+ requests every year and we can not accommodate every request. We do not have a wait list, dates are not guaranteed or held without a contract.
What is your cancellation policy?
You may cancel at any time for any reason. Cancellations must be made in writing by certified mail. There will be no refund of the $250 deposit. PMA appreciates at least a 30 day cancellation notice.
 PMA Cancellation: In the very unlikely event that PMA may need to cancel due to extraordinary circumstances, PMA will notify the client by certified mail and refund the deposit and all monies received.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalie
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Maria is exceptional! She made my day better than I could have imagined! She's worth every penny and more!

I booked with Maria and she was catering to me from the beginning. It was first hard to schedule a time with her to do a trial because I'm from out of town but she definitely worked with my schedule and met up with me during her off hours.

On the day of the wedding, she was very prompt and of course, finished me right on time! She was such a sweetheart that for my other girls, she fixed the disaster that happened with the other MUA that wasn't with her. I should have just booked with Maria's team for the BMS. That was definitely my mistake.

She definitely goes above and beyond your expectations for her. She stayed with me throughout the ceremony and helped me with not just looking good but also helping me on how to pose for my photos! I don't know what else to say except she's completely awesome, wonderful and a must have for your wedding!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
10/27/2012
4.4/5.0
Melissa Hoffman at Professional Makeup Artistry more than exceeded my expectations. She had such a calm, professional demeanor the day of my wedding and it kept me perfectly calm on my big day. She also made me look my best and I can't recommend her enough!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lea
Wedding:
10/20/2012
4.5/5.0
Melissa H did a wonderful job. She's good at what she does and comes off very sincere and personable. Someone you want on your wedding day. She not only made me looked beautiful, she also made me feel good and relaxed on the big day. She's constantly looking out for me.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Words can not express how grateful we are to Maria Chang for EVERYTHING!!! I just heard the reviews of how amazing she was but she completely delivered beyond on all my expectations. She made every effort to make my husband and I look beautiful in our pictures but she was also an amazing calming presence on our wedding day which is a joyous time but can also be a bit nerve racking. The best part of her services is she stays with you all day! Our wedding day was jam packed with two ceremonies (Catholic mass and Chinese tea ceremony), venue changes, several dress changes, and hair and makeup changes. Maria was with us every step of the way - from helping hang Chinese signs of good luck on our hotel door in the morning to scouting out locales for photo shoots at all our venues. She was by far our most favorite vendor to work with!

To be honest, when I told my husband how much the makeup artist I wanted was he thought it was way too expensive BUT on our wedding night we walked into our suite and all he could do was praise her work. He kept saying how helpful she was and how our wedding day wouldn't be the same without her. Though grooms don't often praise the work of make up artists he is Maria's number one fan!

We just received our professional photos from our photographer a few weeks ago and I almost cried to see how stunning we both looked. Maria helps enhance your looks without you looking too made up where you don't even recognize your own face. Maria is the BEST at what she does! She is worth every single penny! Even after the wedding, my friends and family kept asking me who our make up artist was because she was so involved in making each detail of our day amazing!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Seema
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Maria and her team were absolutely amazing. They worked efficiently and were very patient and understanding with all of my bridesmaids, mother, and mother-in-law. Maria went above and beyond just hair/make-up - she stayed with me throughout the day - including the photo sessions, helped me with my dress, and made sure I looked my best at all times. She even did some touch ups on my husband as the day went on. All the ladies loved her and her team. They were so professional, but still fun and kept the day light and enjoyable. I would recommend Maria to anyone!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jillian
Wedding:
7/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Maria and the PMA team are simply the best! As soon as I met Maria, I knew I wanted her to do my make-up and hair. Maria is warm. funny, caring, and extremely professional. Also, of course she does excellent make-up and hair! She made me feel very beautiful on my special day. Every person at my wedding was very impressed with Maria and PMA. Thank you so much Maria!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sandra
Wedding:
7/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Maria is AMAZING!!! She went above and beyond with everything! I would definitely recommend Maria in a heartbeat!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
6/15/2012
5.0/5.0
I couldn’t have been happier with PMA on my wedding day and leading up to it. Maria and the other stylist were absolutely amazing and everyone was truly in awe of their setup, their energy and of course their work. They worked extremely well with everyone and did whatever was necessary to make each person happy. They were also such an added joy to have there the day of. We all spent the afternoon talking and laughing! Maria then stayed with me throughout the photos and the ceremony doing touch ups and whatever else was necessary to make the day go by smoothly. She even helped bustle my dress! My only regret is that I didn’t have her stay with me the entire night. Working with Maria and PMA was one of the best decisions that I made for my wedding and I would recommend them to anyone and everyone. Maria, thank you so much for creating the wedding look that I always dreamed of for all of your extra help that day.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maka
Wedding:
1/14/2012
5.0/5.0
PMA is the best!!! I have been a loyal fan of Maria since years ago and knew she would be THE ONE when my big day comes (and I just got married last month)!! Her service went way beyond my expectations!! She and her team were very professional and easy to work with. In addition to making you look beautiful, they also offer personal assistance throughout your wedding day. I gave Maria a piece of veil fabric and she only took a few minutes and created a beautiful & classy veil for me!! I love them and would highly highly recommend PMA!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Wow, I don't even know where to start. Maria Chang is the absolute best, best, best -- I would recommend her services to anyone, not just a bride. But, brides, she is the secret weapon on your wedding day!

To start at the beginning, you'll have a trial session with Maria where you will discuss your vision for your look on your wedding day. I didn't know how to describe what I wanted to look like, but after chatting for about 5 to 10 minutes Maria helped me figure out what I wanted but couldn't put into words. And the best part of all of this, she is so incredibly nice. Maria has a very calm nature and she just immediately puts you at ease. So, the trial session is so much fun and I left so excited about my hair and makeup. For those of you who are really into makeup, she only uses really high quality products: Creme de la Mer, Bobbi Brown, and the like. And, oh, the eyelashes, serious swoon. I wish I could have them every day of my life!

And then, the wedding day. Maria and her team arrived right on schedule and proceeded to make my bridesmaids, my mom, and my grandmother look and feel their prettiest for the wedding. We had so much fun that morning and it was so relaxing to be together and just sit around and chat and have fun with each other and Maria. The people she works with are just as professional and lovely and friendly as she is so the whole process is very comfortable. But then Maria is also there to help out with things like strapless bras that need extra tape (for a few of my bridesmaids) and to touch up your hair and makeup before AND after you walk down the aisle. And she was there for the post-ceremony photos putting lip gloss on me, giving me water to drink, and wrangling the crazy groomsmen. She went above and beyond her duties on my wedding day. Every time we went to go snap photos she was there with a smile on her face ready to help out in any way she could. At the end of the night I stood in the bathroom forever trying to avoid washing my face because I didn't want to wash all of the beautiful makeup off. It was just as pretty at the very end of the night as it was when she put it on (and I'd been through sweat, tears, hot sun, and cold wind at that point). The day after the wedding my matron of honor commented that Maria "is worth her weight in gold." My grandmother even told me that she didn't wash around her eyes for two days after the wedding because she wanted her eyes to stay made up. I would hire Maria Chang again in a heartbeat!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jeanna
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Maria is AMAZING!!! I never wear makeup so finding the best makeup artist was extremely difficult for me. I had trial sessions with three other makeup artists and was either disappointed or just thought they were ok. A friend recommended Maria Chang but warned me about the hefty price tag. But because I wanted to look and feel amazing on my wedding day, I went for it and booked the renowned Maria Chang. When the trial session came, I was completely blown away! Maria uses a professional camera to take pictures of you so you are able to view your makeup in photos. I was so impressed I booked her to do my hair and makeup for my engagement photos. Oh and for all you ladies who have big frizzy hair….Maria works wonders. She managed to control my hair to last the entire 5 hour engagement session…and it was sprinkling for the last hour. On the wedding day, she was not only fantastic with hair and makeup but also a life-saver. The morning of my wedding day I found a pimple, right in the middle of my forehead (can you believe it?!!!). She covered it up with makeup and adjusted my hair so it wouldn’t be noticeable. My husband was hugged by our photographer and his boutonniere broke off. Maria took one of the flowers from my bouquet and made a new one, right then and there. I stained my wedding dress with something yellow (right in the middle and front of the dress) and she very quickly removed it. My sister’s fake lashes were falling off (btw: she did not have her makeup done by Maria) and Maria fixed it. One of the buttons from the groomsman’s jacket fell off and Maria was there to fix it. The night before the wedding day, I wanted to sew on a blue “M” (the initial of my husband’s last name) on the under skirt of my wedding dress. I mentioned to Maria that I didn’t get a chance to do this and her assistant very quickly sewed one on. I had my first look with my future hubby, I was balling so hard she basically had to redo my makeup. Maria stays to retouch your makeup for 8hours…a must for the criers out there. So…ladies, if you are looking for just any old person to do your makeup and hair, I think there are plenty out there to choose from. If you want a professional, prompt, TOP-NOTCH makeup artist who is EXCEPTIONAL at hair and makeup and EXTRAORDINARY in solving the unforeseen hiccups that all weddings may encounter…then book Maria now! Plus…I did the math, the price for Maria’s services is only a little more than others out there when you factor cost of hair, makeup up and the 8 hours or retouch services. Finally, Maria has a great personality who genuinely cares to make you look gorgeous and feel incredible on your wedding day.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessie
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
Maria is beyond just a make up artist. She goes above and beyond and actually stays with you for most of the day. She is there to lend a hand to the photographer, she is there to do touchups, she is there to give you words of encouragement, she is simply amazing. She carries an arsenal of emergency supplies and is there to fix last minute stains, tears, rips, anything! As a makeup artist, she is beyond phenomenal. She can take her time and use the fake lash strips, but instead, she takes her time to put on individual lashes so her brides look more natural. She also airbrushes the makeup on so it lasts and looks natural and not caked on. She really knows her craft and does it exceptionally well. A bride who has Maria will feel incredibly lucky to have her there.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ghaz
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough great things about Maria and her staff. She is absolutely wonderful to work with; she and her staff made me and my family look absolutely perfect on my wedding day. Having her there the whole day made such a difference! I didn't have to worry a second about my appearance because Maria was right there for touch ups and kind words of encouragement. If she is available the day you are getting married, please don't even think twice about booking her. It will be one of the best decisions you will make for that day!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Bg2
ehing
Wedding:
12/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Maria Chang, the master behind PMA, made my wedding day AMAZING! She has been recommended to me by many of my friends and I could see her consistent and exceptional work in all of their weddings. So, I had no doubt in my mind that I HAD TO book her. That was among the first things I did when I started planning my wedding!! And as luck would have it, she was free on my wedding day!

I was super looking forward to the trial to see Maria work her magic on me (since I'm only average-looking at best). Maria had already sent me clear guidelines ahead of time so that I can be prepared for the trial session. When I got to her studio, she took the time to chat with me and get to know my preference and comfortable level regarding the degree of makeup that would go on my face. I showed her pictures of the hairstyles I like, and she gave me great feedback and suggestions. Then, she started her work on me. She was very patient and took her time to perfect my makeup and hair. I could not believe my eyes when I next looked in the mirror. I simply looked ENHANCED (and pretty!), which was exactly what I wanted!

On my wedding day, Maria arrived early in the morning. I looked even better than at the trial session when she was done! I especially liked how she put all the fresh red roses into my hair for the morning's events. At the wedding, everyone complimented on how good I looked too!! I was like floating on a cloud the entire day.

Maria had a calming effect on me. She knows what to do and she is definitely very professional. And I know that, so I trust her very much. I was glad to have her around throughout that hectic day, up until the wedding reception. She made sure that I was looking the best I could for our photographer and she even helped out my bridesmaids. If it weren't for her, my wedding gown's bustle will not have been done.

Maria absolutely exceeded my expectations, and was one of the best thing that happened on my wedding day!! I am already recommending her to ALL of my friends for their weddings or any other events they may need professional makeup and hair. Her prices are not cheap, but the service is worth every single penny!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1295639550550-fbavatar644930630
Denelle
Wedding:
11/6/2010
5.0/5.0
I loved working with Maria Chang of Professional Makeup Artistry! She is a true artiste and also very approachable. I originally knew her work through my wedding designer and was so happy to learn she was available for our wedding date. She was one of the wedding vendors that I was 100% certain that I wanted to work with for my wedding day and she still totally exceeded my expectations. She is also a self-proclaimed perfectionist. She even takes photos of the trial so she can study them to see where she would to improve so your perfect for your wedding day.. I was so thrilled with how my makeup trial turned out during my trial that I knew I was in good hands with Maria. It's not just her amazing talent that makes her so great but her personality as well. She goes above and beyond for her brides and was a godsend for our wedding.. I had hired other makeup artist/hair designer for my bridesmaids and flower girls but they were running behind schedule so she stepped in and also did their hair as well. My mother, who has not changed her hairstyle in nearly two decades, also loved the look Maria helped create for her. Lastly, after our photoshoot, we realized one of my small hairpieces fell off. Maria and her assistant thoroughly searched the property for it and found it! Although, PMA may be slightly higher than other makeup artists, my husband and I believe hiring PMA was one of the best investments we made for our wedding. We have no regrets at all and was excited to work with her again for our day after shoot. I think Maria and her team was definitely one of the reasons why I think our wedding day ran so smoothly. Although, make sure you contact PMA early, she books up very quickly!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathy
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
Booking PMA for my wedding was one of the best decisions we made! We had a destination wedding in Maui, HI, so it was tough to decide on which vendors to use. I really wanted Maria to do my hair and makeup because I had a few friends who used PMA for their weddings and had nothing but great things to say about Maria and her team. But, I was trying to stay within my budget and knew that having PMA at my wedding would mean additional costs for travel accommodations. After some serious thinking, I decided to go with PMA and my gut told me it was the right decision! I booked PMA 17 months before my wedding and they were the first vendor I committed to, even before my venue and my photographer!
Throughout the pre-wedding months, Maria was very professional, sending me invoices on a timely basis and also information on my hair/makeup trial. I had my trial with Maria in August and it was such a fun experience. She spent 3 full hours with me. During the trial, she talked me through ideas for hair and makeup and created a gorgeous look for my wedding day. My maid of honor accompanied me to the trial and she was amazed at what Maria did. We left feeling so excited about the wedding and even more about getting beautified by Maria and her team!
Fast-forward to September, the wedding day comes. Maria and her assistant Sue showed up promptly at 6:30am. She even called ahead of time asking if I needed any coffee (so sweet). Maria and Sue were serious business. They knew exactly what to do and where to set up and went through the day's timeline with us. The getting ready session was so relaxing and fun. Maria had her iPhone music going and we laughed and joked the whole time. But most importantly, the results were unbelievable. Maria and Sue did makeup/hair for me, my 2 maid of honor/bridesmaid, and my 2 moms. Everyone was beyond happy with their looks and loved Maria's positive attitude and friendliness. Sue even did my little flower girl's hair, giving her these adorable ringlets. Throughout the wedding day, Maria was on top of everything. She assisted my photographer, set up the room for the tea ceremony, helped me into my different outfits, touched me up to make sure I looked perfect, blotted my hubby's face, pinned the boutonnieres on our dads' suits...the list goes on and on! When I changed into my reception dress, I realized I had forgotten my strapless bra and Maria saved the day. She decided to take the bra pads from my wedding gown and sew them to my reception dress. All that in under 15 minutes. What does this woman not know how to do?? She stayed with us throughout the reception and even had some fun with us on the dance floor :)
Sorry for the long review but bottom line is, Maria and Sue were awesome. They went above and beyond what makeup artists normally do and ensured everything was perfect. They made my wedding day perfect and I will forever be grateful that Maria was a part of my wedding. Thank you Maria and PMA!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
joysalonga
Wedding:
8/14/2010
5.0/5.0
Maria Chang is AMAZING!!!!!!!! I Love love love her!!!! She was wonderful from the moment we booked her. During my trial, she took the time to understand my style and work with me to create an amazing look for my wedding. She is amazingly talented, and can can make you look stunning without making you look like you're wearing tons of make-up. She is also super sweet and understanding and will make sure you are 150% satisfied with your wedding look. On the day of the wedding, Maria was like my own mini personal assistant, going beyond just hair and make-up duties, and helping me with anything and everything I could possibly need. There aren't enough words to express how amazing Maria Chang is, and you will absolutely not regret booking her!!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Wwnetwork-128
Felicia
Wedding:
8/8/2010
5.0/5.0
Maria Chang is Superwoman. She is AMAZING. 5 stars don't do her justice.

First of all, she is a wonderful person. She's witty, sassy, kind, smart, focused, and just a joy to be around. Secondly, she is one talented beautician. She did my bridal makeup and hair, as well as hair for all my bridesmaids. Everything turned out gorgeous, and I was able to take away some tips on how to do my own everyday makeup.

Maria was at my wedding from the very early morning, to after the grand entrance at the evening reception. Not only did she work her beauty magic, she also cleaned an oil stain out of my MIL's dress, sewed up my mama's broken shoe strap, showed my bridesmaids how to walk, hold their bouquets, and cry discretely. And, of course, all the usual makeup and hair touch-up throughout the day.

Basically, she's the Chuck Norris of weddings. Highly recommended.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margo
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Beautiful and kind, Maria, or "Saint Maria" as I like to call her, is as professional and talented as they come. I've never had a good experience having my make-up professionally done but Maria made me look and feel pretty without making me look overdone. I can't say enough about her willingness to help out when needed or her amazing ability to take away the worry about how I looked on my big day.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Wwnetwork-128
Jenny
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
Not that Maria needs another rave review, but she certainly deserves one! She is simply amazing! If there is one thing that you splurge on for your wedding, let it be Maria! I promise you won't regret it!

The other girls have pretty much said it all, and I wholeheartedly agree with every glowing review of her. I literally would not have survived my wedding day without her. Before the ceremony even started, she sewed two of my bridesmaids into their dresses with broken zippers, and did the same with my dress 10 minutes before we had to walk into the reception! She was there for 12 hours with me, doing touch ups, changing my hair and makeup, helping set up shots for Jen Skog, fixing dresses and hair, taping me into my dress, giving me water with a straw, and so much more that probably even I don't know about, all without missing a beat.

She was my fairy godmother on my wedding day, and everyone could see what a huge role she played. Without her, we would have all been lost! I love love love her!

If you haven't booked her yet, HURRY!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria Aliventi
Wedding:
12/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Maria~

I got a sneak peak at some of the wedding photos Jennifer (Skog) took and also so many from our guests. You made me look so beautiful that day. I can't thank you enough.

I've gotten so much feedback about the two different hairstyles. Everyone thought that was so fun and festive; from the glamour and sophistication of my up-do at the ceremony to the fun, flirty curls at the reception. It was such a great idea that you had.

You made my bride's maids look so beautiful too. I haven't seen too many professional pictures of them, but the others I've seen are gorgeous. You nailed each of their styles and made them look like models.

Thank you so much, Maria, for your personality, your professionalism and your tremendous talent. I am so glad you were a part of the most important day of my life. You made me look my best, and I couldn't be happier.

You and Jennifer are so much fun to work with and to have you be so good at your craft is so appreciated.

Have a Happy New Year!! :)

~Maria Lertora Aliventi
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jackiek
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Yes it is all true - Run, don't walk, to book Maria!!! Maria was recommended to us by our wedding coordinator, Crystal Lequang of Amazae Special Events (http://www.amazaespecialevents.com). She is a super sweet person, and does jaw-dropping work. I used her for our engagement photo shoot, wedding trial, wedding day, and couture bridal shoot with Jennifer Skog.

For the engagement shoot I had my hair curled with simple, classic, clean make-up. I have very thick Asian hair, but Maria was able to make the curls last all day. I loved the way she made me look!

For the wedding trial, Maria took her time and really tried to perfect the look I wanted. She took many pictures of me after the trial for her own notes, and so that she would be even more prepared on the big day. My mom and sister went with me to the trial, and loved what she did as well and were surprised she actually took pictures of me to study for the big day!

So for the actual wedding day, Maria not only replicated what was done during the trial, she improved it! I am still getting compliments on my hair. Also, this is why Maria is worth penny - she stays with you until after the ceremony!!! She was by my side until the reception - removing my veil and fixing my hair, touching me up, getting me water with a straw so I wouldn't smudge my lipstick, blotting the boys, and making sure if I ever needed anything that I got it - gum, double sided tape, food, bobby pins, etc. And if there was ever down time, like during the ceremony, she helped Crystal!

And finally, I love her work so much that I booked her for a couture photo shoot that she does exclusively with photographer Jennifer Skog (http://www.jenniferskog.com/boudoir). She made me feel like a super model! I had at least three different hair styles and looks. And the pictures are absolutely breath taking! Maria is truly talented at what she does! Thank you Maria!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Thomas
Wedding:
8/23/2009
5.0/5.0
I was at my best. She stayed beyond her hours retouching my makeup and helping organize my massive family with the group pictures. The process of booking her was easy. The trial was so much fun. We spent 3 hours getting the makeup just right. She took notes, listened to me, and on the day of the wedding I had exactly the look we agreed on. Marie used great products and I never felt I was wearing a lot or felt my makeup got cakey (even after 8 hours!) on a warm sunny day. Any bride will be so lucky to have someone who cares so much about having them look and feel their best on their wedding day.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Wwnetwork-128
Jessica
Wedding:
8/22/2009
5.0/5.0
Maria Chang is a fairy godmother!

Nevermind the 5 stars, I give her 100! All of her rave reviews are true and so much more! Maria is experienced in makeup, hair, fashion styling and weddings. She knows exactly what goes on at weddings and what needs to be done. Trust her experience!

I absolutely love Maria's makeup style. Skin looks so fresh and glowing, and she will do makeup appropriate for the time of day and setting. I became so inspired by her and learned a lot about makeup and hair. Now I'm interested in becoming an apprentice makeup artist myself.

My hair is the most stubborn ever, pin straight and won't hold a curl to save my life. She made it curl and it stayed! I learned some tricks that I now apply and now I can finally curl my hair using the right tools!

You won't be sitting there with a half done job with promises that it will be better the day of the wedding. Maria does it right the first time! She dedicates herself to being the best, and you'll get the best results!

At the end of the trial session in her studio, she does a photoshoot with you. All the lighting is natural daylight, and photos untouched by Photoshop. She sent me the photos that night and even blogged about them!

The day of the wedding, Maria was so valuable. She and her assistant Sue were right on time! The getting ready part of the wedding is my favorite part of every wedding because of the anticipation and they made it so much more enjoyable. They worked on 2 mothers, 4 bridesmaids and me and they kept us on time.

Maria stays with the bride all day to do touchups, and it's completely worth it to hire someone who provides this service. Not only does she do touchups, but she will assist you and your photographer and videographer. She can help you pose in a more flattering position, hold the reflector for the photographer or just hold props!
Though she is there for the bride, she's glad to help a bridesmaid with her hair.

Because she is so experienced in weddings, she is aware of etiquette and what needs to be done. She stayed at the end of the aisle, just before I made my entrance and was there to stop late guests from rushing to empty seats while I was walking down. Yes, people actually tried to do this! But she was so tactful, I didn't find out until way later when she told me.

Maria also knows how to bustle your gown, so if your assigned bustler goes MIA, Maria is there to help!

Before the photo shoot, I asked in a panic if the mothers had their corsages. Maria let me know that she had pinned them on them. She is ON it! She doesn't forget a thing!

She also carries a backpack full of essentials the bride may need, such as a snack, a straw for drinking water (so you don't mess up your lip color.) My MOH was very impressed by this!

I hired her again for my Trash the Dress session. She amped up my wedding day look into something more dramatic. It was my favorite look! I hadn't thought to ask her what products she used. But I tried to recreate it several times.

I paid more for on-location services for the TTD shoot and it was worthy every penny! The wind at Ocean Beach was particularly crazy. She pinned my hair so my fascinators wouldn't blow away, carried and helped me change my shoes, changed my makeup look and helped me with less glamourous tasks like blowing my nose! I don't know what we would have done without her! And Maria is super sweet and thoughtful. After the freezing TTD session at Ocean Beach, she went to Starbucks and bought me something warm to drink and a muffin.

Because she is so popular, her rates may increase. Book her early! She once had a time restriction of when you could book, but I don't think that's the case anymore.

You also have to admire that she created this business. Inspiring for any woman who wants to go into business for herself.

And no, you can't keep Maria all to yourself, she has a family to get back to.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ahhmee
Wedding:
8/8/2009
5.0/5.0
Maria is absolutely unbelievable. She was a dream to work with from the start. I had heard about her from my other wedding vendors and knew that she would be a gem to work with. Maria was very flexible and listened to my ideas from the very start. My mom fell in love with her work too...and you know how mothers are hard to please! The day of the wedding she showed up with her wonderful assistants and helped me and 5 bridesmaids and both moms get ready. She stayed with me well into the evening making sure that my day went smoothly. I received a great number of compliments on the hairstyle and makeup on my day. Several of my friends even asked for Maria's number because they wanted to book her for their weddings! Overall, I had a great experience with Maria. She was more than that I had expected. She helped make my day!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SBohnert
Wedding:
8/1/2009
5.0/5.0
I love, love, love Maria Chang. Her services will make you and your bridesmaids, mom, feel gorgeous and wonderful. Maria will be prepared for anything on your wedding day and you will not have to worry about a hair being out of place for photo, the ceremony, the reception, or the after party.

Maria Chang of PMA is really, really good - which means she is also kind of expensive. But if you can afford it, go with it. You will never regret it. :)
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jae29
Wedding:
7/26/2009
5.0/5.0
Although, I checked only the "Beauty and Health" box, I could have also checked a number of other boxes, because Maria was the most valuable person on my wedding day!!! Not only did she make me look gorgeous and flawless (at the end of the night, I didn't want to wash off my make-up!), but she helped with bustling my dress, did a little touch-up on the groom, did the fastest hair change for me, made sure I looked perfect in every shot, helped with crowd control, kept me calm throughout the day, and much much more.

Our wedding day ran so smoothly and perfectly, and this would not have happened without Maria. She was on top of everything and kept me from stressing out at all. I have received many, many compliments on make-up and hair, and I have also received inquiries from guests wondering who Maria was. She was doing so much for me, people thought maybe she was one of my best friends or family!

Maria also did my hair and make-up for my engagement photos and was extreeemeellyyy flexible during my 3-hour trial for the wedding. Right before the wedding date, I decided to change my hair style completely. Maria was able to accommodate, and as a result, I rocked a hairstyle I never thought I could and LOVED IT!!

If you are able to even book a date with Maria, consider yourself lucky, because her jam-packed schedule speaks for itself. I would hire Maria to do my make-up every single day if I could!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janice
Wedding:
7/19/2009
5.0/5.0
I first had a chance to experience Maria's awesomeness when my sister was getting married in 2008. When I got engaged later that year, I knew there was no one else I wanted to hire for my wedding than Maria & her PMA team. We booked her immediately, and I knew I was in great hands for my 2009 wedding.

As expected, she was phenomenal! Not only is she the top of her game with hair & make-up, but she is so much fun to work with. She also comes extra prepared with anything you might need the day-of. I kept calling her a "magician", because she would pull out all these different things from her secret kit that would save the day. Hollywood tape for my strapless dress? Maria's got it. A nail clipper for my hang nail? Maria's got it. Shoe inserts so my mom's shoes don't fall off? Maria's got it.

We also greatly appreciated that her package came with touch-ups after the ceremony. Maria followed us around during our photoshoot to not only touch-up my hair/make-up (which, by the way, did not need much touching up because it was so well done!) but she also helped our photographer by fixing my train, veil, etc. during the photoshoot. She was like a rock of support during the entire time.

She is a little expensive, but she is definitely worth every penny. Highly recommend Maria & her team of assistants!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Layla
Wedding:
9/21/2008
5.0/5.0
Okay. If I wrote for pages I couldn't explain how amazing and absolutely vital Maria was. She went BEYOND above and beyond. Made me look so incredibly beautiful, helped keep me sane, and had just a wonderful JOY about her that I knew she was doing what she loved and that she truly was invested in how I looked (and my mom looked, and my groom looked, and that my grandfather felt okay, and that the boutineers were right)... yes, she's expensive, but SO INCREDIBLY worth it. Cut out everything else... but GET Maria if you can. You will NOT EVER regret it.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mauiluv
Wedding:
8/9/2008
4.5/5.0
Professional Makeup Artistry

Categories: makeup + hairOakley, CA
925-308-4916 08/13/2008I cannot say enough good things about Maria Chang and her assistant Tonya (sp?). They provided me with five-star service on my wedding day!

I had had 2 trials with Maria, and at the last minute decided to change my hairstyle again from my last trial. The third time was the charm, and I absolutely loved my hair! My makeup was beautiful. I felt beautiful and confident, which I think is the first step to having a beautiful and perfect wedding – the bride has to feel that way first. And Maria helped me feel that way.

My Mom, who had originally told me she thought I was spending too much on my hair and makeup, and didn’t understand what Maria would be doing with me all day, later said she thought Maria was well worth the money, alleviated a lot of stress for me and for her, and that she was really glad I had hired her. She said she was "pleasantly surprised" by how helpful Maria and Tonya were and now couldn't imagine my day without them!

Maria was a lifesaver and I looked to her for everything in regards to my dress, jewelry, shoes, hair, etc. Maria and Tonya helped me transport my dress to the venue, helped me in to my dress, adjusted bridesmaids and mother’s dresses, and even tried to steam my dress for me. Maria and Tonya stayed after their contracted time to help me through my cocktail hour photo shoot and I was so grateful. Again I cannot say enough good things about them and will recommend them to everyone! Grade: A++!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
simmorzi
Wedding:
7/5/2008
5.0/5.0
Maria and her team are fantastic. They had a calming effect on me during my wedding day. The best part is that they're with you throughout the day, freshening up your hair and makeup. PMA is very flexible - Maria and her team did the hair and make up for me, my mom, and my six bridesmaids, and whenever one of them was not completley happy with how things turned out, PMA would make it right. I don't think I've ever felt as pretty as I did on my wedding day, and PMA was a huge part of that. She knows which hair styles and makeup looks turn up best in photos. Seriously, PMA is worth every penny. By far, PMA was one my favorite vendors.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathy
Wedding:
6/21/2008
5.0/5.0
Maria was amazing and worth every penny. She made the day go by so easily. She made me look beautiful and was a great help during pictures. I am sooooo happy she was there for me on my special day.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
njh
Wedding:
6/14/2008
5.0/5.0
Where to begin singing the praises of Maria Chang and her lovely ladies? PMA is such a class act that, after your first hair trial, you’ll be looking for excuses to book more appointments, and will be ready to hire Maria for every important event in your life.

I had been excited about Maria ever since reading the glowing reviews posted all over the internet. But I knew as soon as I met her that hiring PMA would be one of the best decisions of the wedding-planning process. Unsurprisingly, our wedding day only confirmed my initial intuition. Not only were Maria and her ladies professional, sleekly-attired, and a pleasure to work with, they were absolutely integral to ensuring the success of our pre- and post-ceremony photos. Maria was always there to make sure we looked our best!

If you find yourself debating whether to hire a hair and makeup artist, deliberate no longer: trim your flower budget, the catering, or even your dress if you must, but PMA is the one vendor whose services you don’t want to miss! When your wedding day has vanished in the blink of an eye, leaving you only with pictures and video, you’ll be delighted to revisit those happy moments when PMA helped you and your loved ones to shine. Who can pass up the opportunity to become their best self on one of the happiest days of their life?

In fact, you may find that PMA will change your personal style: thanks to the possibilities Maria has shown me, I’ve never gone back. Like a beloved fairy godmother, PMA will certainly transform your wedding. But Maria may also transform your life!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsPistachio
Wedding:
5/25/2008
5.0/5.0
Maria and her crew were truly amazing. For my day of makeup she went above and beyond. I didn't think it was possible to improve on my trial, but she truly made my vision come to a reality. I can easily say that I have never felt more beautiful in my life. Aside from Maria and her team's amazing makeup skills she is a true professional. They all had such an happy attitude making the entire day positive and entertaining. Maria stayed with my through my entire portrait session to ensure that the entire bridal party looked their best for our memories. She made sure that every hair was in place, every thread was snipped, all lips were glossed.

Aside from Maria's skills and day of service, she was a true professional from the first day of contact. All emails were answered quickly. All documents and reminders were sent in a timely manor. She was a true joy to work with. I feel any bride is lucky to book her.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
perisilver
Wedding:
4/26/2008
5.0/5.0
I know I would have regretted it if I didn't hire Maria for my wedding. She's AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME! I am truly amazed with this woman. She knows what I want and what will look good on me, even before I realize it. It's unbelievable! During the trial, I showed Maria pictures from magazines that I like, but I wasn't sure if the "look" suited my features. She listened to me and suggested ideas on what she thought would look great. She was really committed to creating the perfect wedding look for me. I felt that she truly cared. Maria's suggestions turned out better than what I had in mind (or what I initially wanted).

On the day of the wedding, I completely trusted Maria to do her magic and I never looked and felt my best! My family and friends were all complimenting my hair and makeup that day. I was soo happy with how they turned out, both in person and in ALL my wedding photos.

Maria's extra services make her stand out even more from the rest. Here are some of the things she did for me:
- stayed with me until after our post-ceremony photos for touch-ups and to make sure that my hair was not being messed up with my veils (i had two - one drop veil and one long veil at the back)
- carried and took care of my super long 10ft train and my even longer veil
- hairsprayed my dad's messy hair
- made sure my groom is oil-free during the post-ceremony photos
- taught me how to hold my bouquet while walking down the aisle
- taught my parents how to lift my veil before handing me to groom
- helped gather people during the formal post-ceremony pictures
- assisted my photographer in getting great photos
- gave medication to my maid of honor since Maria noticed that her skin is turning red with the dress beads scraping against her skin
- took care of me the whole time and was there if I needed anything like water, etc.

She has done so much and I can't stop raving about her. She's amazing and exceptional in what she does, yet is very down-to-earth, accomodating and a true professional. She definitely played a huge role in making my day special. I'll always be thankful. As my husband would say, "What will we do without Maria?"
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ines
Wedding:
3/27/2008
5.0/5.0
When my daughter, Helena, told me she wanted to employ the services of one who could not only do her hair for her special day, but also her makeup, my initial reaction was, yes--I understand the hair, but no, I think the makeup is really excessive. Fortunately, her will prevailed.

My daughter never looked so beautiful. I was stunned when I saw her walking toward her groom, Andy. I had left Helena to Maria for all the preparations that morning, so I really didn't know what to expect. What I saw was a young woman whose natural beauty was enhanced--not artificially, but subtly. Her hair was softly curled and flowing, with part of it swept up; Helena looked somehow regal yet radiantly accessible, like a girl yet like a woman. I started smiling and just couldn't stop--this gorgeous creature was my daughter! Maria had used her makeup artistry most expertly to highlight two of Helena 's best features, her fair skin and her large blue eyes.

Maria, however, did much more. She was quite simply a part of the wedding party with her quiet charm. She saw even the smallest of details. For example, during the photograph sessions, she darted in and straightened my pendant, which has a habit of sitting sideways. She unobtrusively assisted Helena with her train, her veil, her flowers--and she even dabbed her eyes for her when Helena had no hands to spare.

Maria, furthermore, behaves like one who really LOVES what she does. Throughout the day, I felt that we were the only people on her mind. She was quietly professional yet personable, helpful yet not intrusive. This on top of absolutely amazing work.

Moms, if you are debating on whether you should pay the money for Maria's expertise, I tell you with great conviction that you will come away feeling as I did--it was worth every penny and then some. I am looking at a photo of my daughter as I write this. Yes, it was worth it. Cut back on the flowers, select more modest food offerings, but get this young woman to do your daughter's hair and makeup. Every time you look at the wedding photos, you will be grateful.

Ines Eishen, a Texas mom
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
11/17/2007
5.0/5.0
Going with PMA for my bridal hair and makeup was honestly one the best decisions I made for the wedding. I cannot express enough how incredibly awesome Maria and her staff are.

First of all, Maria is an incredibly talented hair and makeup artist. Maria herself is Latina (despite her Chinese last name), but she does Asian makeup incredibly well. She listened to all my concerns and ideas and came up with a look that I loved and was truly me. I didn't want to look overdone but wanted a look that was dressed up enough to show up in pictures, and she accomplished just that. The day of the wedding, I felt like I really looked like myself, but perhaps a version of me from 1920's Shanghai :) Maria and Sue did a fabulous job with my bridesmaids' hair as well, capturing exactly the look that I wanted that went incredibly well with their dresses.

But Maria goes way above and beyond this. Most makeup artists would leave right after getting all the girls ready. But Maria and her wonderful assistant Tanya stayed with us until after the ceremony. She touched up my makeup all throughout our pre-wedding pictures, touched me up after the ceremony, helped me change my hair piece for the reception. Not only that, but she helped my bridesmaid with their dresses, provided double sided tape to make the dresses secure, helped one of my bridesmaids cover up her tatoos, pinned the boutonnieres onto the guys' suits, applied lipstick on the girls (even though I didn't pay for makeup for the girls). She made sure that we stuck to the timeline and got us to the church in time. And this is all part of her service.

As far as price goes, PMA is definitely on the upper end of the range. But honestly, PMA is worth every penny.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SMORES
Wedding:
11/3/2007
5.0/5.0
Professional Makeup Artistry ended up being one of our favorite vendors. From the trial session to pre wedding to the big day, Maria and her team was there for me every step of the way. Professional Makeup Artistry is by far well worth every penny. Maria helped keep me cool, calm and collected. Trust me for those who think your bridesmaids will have everything covered, not so, and I had 8 of them. I could have easily gone into bridezilla mode that day but Maria allowed me to enjoy my special day as she took care of all unexpected mishaps. Maria went above and beyond my expectations. In fact, I felt like she was a part of the family before the night was over. Maria is very unobtrusive, genuine and will make you feel like the most beautiful bride ever! She was the only vendor my guest raved about because she was on top of every single detail from a single hair on my lips, to a touch of wine spilt on dress, to helping in the rest room. Because of Maria, I absolutely love my wedding pictures(so does everyone else).....they are priceless! The day I picked up the proofs from the photographer, I sat in my car, laughed and cried. My husband raves about Maria even now 6 months later! I could really go on and on about Professional Makeup Artistry and can't wait for the opportunity to use them again.
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Esther
Wedding:
9/8/2007
4.8/5.0
By far, this was my absolute life safer of a vendor. Yes, Maria does awesome hair and makeup, but she's also extremely punctual, organized, and her hours of assistance throughout my wedding day were priceless. Yes, she's expensive, worth every penny, 100%! Even my mom commented on how great her and her assistant were the day of the wedding. Even the little things, like having bottled water and a straw so I don't mess up my lipstick if I was thirty before my wedding, she had ready. She helped pin the boutonnieres on all the groomsmen and made sure to touch up my makeup and hair throughout the evening. She's a perfectionist. She even told us how to hold our flowers walking down the aisle and that if I was going to cry, how to pat my eyes to not mess up my makeup and tips to keep me from crying which worked. :)
She called my photographer ahead of time when we were leaving the hotel so that she would be expecting us at the venue site. Maria is amazing and I love her, my best friend who was in my wedding party was so impressed she booked her as well for her wedding this year!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ksquared
Wedding:
7/29/2007
5.0/5.0
Maria is absolutely wonderful. She was with me every step of the way and made feel like the most beautiful woman in the world. I will always be indebted to Maria for her outstanding work and for her just being there for me on my special day.
She is truly worth every penny.
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
busylilbee
Wedding:
6/16/2007
5.0/5.0
Maria is absolutely amazing, as a person and a professional. She did such a wonderful job on my hair and make up people still talk about it today. I would reccommend her over and over. Her team did a great job as well on my wedding party, everyone was beautiful thanks to them!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tigerseye
Wedding:
7/1/2006
4.8/5.0
Looking back, hiring Professional Makeup Artistry for my wedding was the single best choice my husband and I made when planning our wedding! Maria is consummately professional and puts you at ease. I can't speak enough of her skills as an artist and stylist...she's simply magical. But in addition, she really helped coordinate the wedding day and helped everything run very smoothly. It helped us keep everything relaxed and we were really able to enjoy our special day. I would recommend Professional Makeup Artistry to every new bride!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
5/28/2006
5.0/5.0
I've had the privilege to work with Maria Chang for my engagement, wedding, and maternity photos. Maria is the only one I trust to take care of my hair and makeup because she knows how to bring out the natural beauty in me. She uses the best products, she has tons of experience and she's super detailed. She made me feel and look my best for each photo session we did together. As long as Maria is still in the beauty business she will always be a part of my life.

Wedding:
Every bride should have PMA because it will make your wedding day unforgettable! With Maria's magic touch of hair/makeup to personal assistance she makes your wedding day less stressful and more enjoyable!!!

Engagement:
I wanted to remember my engagement pictures looking so in love with my fiance (husband now) and of course looking my best! The camera will capture everything and Maria made me look flawless that my photographer keep complimenting her work during the whole photo session.

Maternity:
I was so excited to work with Maria again, especially for my maternity photos. She made me feel and look like a radiant mommy to be!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lucy Zhu
Wedding:
10/22/2005
5.0/5.0
Maria Chang completely exceeded my expectations from the first day that I met her at my hair and makeup trial! Not only is she extremely talented and professional, but she is also very friendly and easy to work with. I loved the look that she created for me, and the pictures that she provides are very helpful.

On my wedding day, she blended in as one of the girls with the rest of my wedding party and we all just a great time! She provided me with exactly what I wanted and also impressed me with her ability and willingness to help with other things that came up that day (fixing a groomsman's pants, cleaning a stain off my dress, etc.). Maria was amazing and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend her to anyone; you have experience her for yourself, and I guarantee that you won't be sorry!
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kewl
Wedding:
7/9/2005
4.8/5.0
Marie was so invaluable during my wedding. Not only did she make me look beautiful but she helped so much with my pictures and making sure I was at my best. She stayed beyond her hours retouching my makeup and helping organize my massive family with the group pictures. The process of booking her was easy. The trial was so much fun. We spent 3 hours getting the makeup just right. She took notes, listened to me, and on the day of the wedding I had exactly the look we agreed on. Marie used great products and I never felt I was wearing a lot or felt my makeup got cakey (even after 8 hours!) on a warm sunny day. Any bride will be so lucky to have someone who cares so much about having them look and feel their best on their wedding day.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mars177
Wedding:
5/14/2005
5.0/5.0
Ladies please stop looking Maria Chang is all you need in your makeup person! She has a great personality, and does exceptionally beautiful work!

What's best is she keeps in touch with you after the wedding and you have a great friend for life!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Maria was my favorite vendor to work with. I felt absolutely beautiful on my wedding day. She's a little pricey but definitely worth the money. My makeup looked very natural and photographed very well.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I could not have been more delighted with my hair and makeup artist, Maria Chang. As soon as I hired Maria and her company, Professional Makeup Artistry (PMA), for my wedding, I knew I would be in good hands...and I was. Maria is definitely so much more than a phenomenal hair & makeup artist, her additional PMA services set her miles apart from everyone else. This is a ridiculously long review, but I almost can’t express enough how helpful and wonderful she was to me...and I was not the only one who noticed.

My bridesmaids were asking me where I found her. My dad mentioned she was "well worth it" - he simply said that he could just tell that she really cared. My mom already loved her at our first meeting at my trial. She not only loved her own hair & makeup on my wedding day, but was very relieved that Maria was the one to help me in my dress, because she knew Maria would get it right. Mostly, my mom was just appreciative of how well Maria and her assistant, Tanya, took care of me. Finally, my husband went from not understanding the cost of hair & makeup at all pre-wedding, to saying post-wedding, how great Maria was and what a great deal she was!

Maria really makes you look and feel as beautiful as you can be on your wedding day. Our day started at 9am (earlier for her, since she came from Oakley), and she was with me all through the photo session, through the ceremony, until right before the cocktail hour at 6pm. Among the many things she did for me that day, she touched me up constantly, she carried my train everywhere, she made sure I stayed hydrated, she showed me how to hold my bouquet in pictures, she taught my dad how to lift my veil, and she put blister medication on my feet (if that’s not dedication – I don’t know what is!).

I loved her whole team – they were just fun to have around, which made things more relaxed for me. Maria brought the lovely Sue with her to do hair & makeup too, due to the number of my ladies getting services done. Tanya, her tiny assistant, was so helpful as well - I could not believe such a small women could carry such a huge backpack with her everywhere! My husband said that backpack was like magic, it seemed to hold anything we could possible need.

Finally, not only did Maria deliver her services with perfection, she was one of the most professional wedding vendors I worked with pre-wedding. She returned phone calls/emails promptly, her contract was solid, she confirmed when she received payment, and she told me exactly what she needed me to do to get ready for the trial and the wedding. She did all this with a sweet demeanor and a smile. To me, this is what a true professional is.

I can honestly say Maria was my absolute favorite wedding vendor. I miss her already!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Maria was fabulous!! She was great to work with and very professional. I was very specific in regards to my hair and makeup and she did a wonderful job making me perfect for my wedding day!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Amazing! Awesome! Fabulous! These are just a few of the descriptive words that come to mind when thinking about and talking about Maria Chang and the team at Professional Makeup Artistry. My daughter was married in the most magical and glorious setting in gorgeous Napa Valley last month. As an east coast family having a destination wedding across the country is so very exciting and stressful. Maria and the women of PMA took away any stress right from the start. Not only are they true professional artists in their field they were so very warm and friendly and all the while transforming all of the bridesmaids and me into picture ready perfection. But of course the real test came when my daughter the bride sat down for her session and the results were A++++++. She looked beyond magnificent and was so very happy. PMA get 5 stars plus and I would highly recommend this team for any of your makeup needs. Thank you so much PMA for everything!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
PMA is freaking amazing!!! If you are a bride in the Bay area and beyond run not walk to booking Maria of PMA!! She and her team are absolutely awesome!
Where do I begin?.. First, when I had my trial with Maria she was prompt and dedicated. She was welcoming and just a charming personality. After the trial she studied my pictures and made adjustments where she felt it was needed.

On the wedding day, Maria and her team got there on time. I was actually at brunch with my Husband (LOL first time I called him my HUSBAND) and they started working on the Bridesmaids. By the time I got there things were in full swing and popping!!!
When it was my turn to get it the chair I was so relaxed because I was sitting there talking with Maria and having a great time. She was mazing with my hair and makeup! And oh very patient when I get phone calls. She worked seamlessly with the videographer and photographer to make sure they had the best shot. She was like my Aunt making sure everything was perfect for me on my special day. After my hair and makeup was done (which was on time and on schedule), she was there to fix up the girls and cue the video and photographers on when shoots with will be at its best.
She followed me to make sure that my hair and make up was perfect. She made sure the girls were looking their best and helped my groom out. My mother and mother in law loves her and her team. She carries around this gear with any and everything to help should something go wrong! What an amazing woman!

Maria stayed well over the time she should have been there and I am forever grateful to her for making me look beautiful on the most special day of my life.
I have gained a friend forever in Maria and for that I am ecstatic!

Thank you thank you thank you!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ivanaK
Wedding:
1/1/2002
4.9/5.0
This would be my fav part, gettting ready for the wedding.. It was easy to get an appointment a month earlier and they are great, truly professionals to do my hair and make up !
Services Used: Beauty & Health

MAP

 
San Francisco, CA See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Professional Makeup Artistry
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1327104009293-professionalmakeupartistryv2