You will no longer have access to your Project Wedding account on or after March 30, 2017. Save any photos or information you'd like to keep and join WeddingWire for your all of your wedding planning needs today. Learn more »
130x130 sq 1342718238141 caucasianwedding

Progressive Catholic & Interfaith Weddings

Arlington , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

4326 N. 18th Street
Arlington, VA 22207 US (map)

PHONE

703-475-2050

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Why just have a wedding – have an amazing wedding experience -- and a memory that will last a lifetime. My ceremonies are highly-personalized, unique and wonderful.

... Read more
Why just have a wedding – have an amazing wedding experience -- and a memory that will last a lifetime. My ceremonies are highly-personalized, unique and wonderful.

Ceremonies that are personalized -- progressive -- passionate

I offer an all-inclusive, highly-personalized Catholic and interfaith wedding ministry. Whether a first of second marriage, an interfaith celebration, a same-sex wedding, or a uniquely spiritual ceremony, let me help you craft the perfect day and create a memory that will last a lifetime!

Today, many current and former Catholics -- and others -- are searching for an inviting wedding experience with the richness of the Catholic tradition yet different from that provided by the Roman Catholic Church. In fact, 40% of Roman Catholics are marrying outside of the institutional Church.

Maybe you're looking for a personalized interfaith or spiritual ceremony uniquely designed to express your current values and beliefs. And you're looking for a ceremony that captures the joy and excitement of this wonderful time in life.

Togethr let's create the wedding ceremony you've been dreaming of and a memory that will last a lifetime.

The location for your wedding is entirely your choice. Ceremonies can be held out-of-doors. The beach, the mountains, hotels, museums and private homes are all wonderful options. The Greater Washington DC area provides many exciting venues.

I am Rev. William (Bill) Freeman, a validly-ordained Catholic priest and wedding officiate, living and working in Northern Virginia. It would be my privilege to help you create the wedding ceremony of your dreams.

I work with couples of all faith traditions including those with a spirituality of their own. Together, we'll create a unique and wonderful ceremony -- a wedding that's yours, and yours alone.

Available for weddings in Northern Virginia, Washington, DC, and Southern Maryland

I look forward to hearing from you. Please contact me at 703-951-7090 (work); 703-475-2050 (cell) or by email at WFreeman@ProgressiveCatholics.org Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1342539245969 bannerpicnovaweddings
130x130 sq 1348615825060 aprilandroger
130x130 sq 1342539229285 asiancouple
130x130 sq 1342539267801 bridealonewithcandle
130x130 sq 1342539319749 lesbiancoupleflowers
130x130 sq 1342539262652 blackcouple
130x130 sq 1348615942310 erikandelena
130x130 sq 1342539412335 coupleleavingchurch
130x130 sq 1342539417831 happycoupleleavingchurch17765734
130x130 sq 1342539255789 biraciallesbians
130x130 sq 1342539407199 coupleincar
130x130 sq 1342539279232 couplekissing
130x130 sq 1348615928613 christinaanddave269
130x130 sq 1342539285949 gaybeachcouple
130x130 sq 1342539291848 gaymenbiking
130x130 sq 1342539300145 happyyoungbride
130x130 sq 1348615985123 t6961
130x130 sq 1342539325646 malecouplehomepage
130x130 sq 1342539353783 threeblackgirls
130x130 sq 1348616001449 southidaandedmer
130x130 sq 1342539360005 tworings
130x130 sq 1342539367862 veilkiss
130x130 sq 1342539377343 weddingcrosskiss
130x130 sq 1342539387827 womencouple
130x130 sq 1342539401464 asian
130x130 sq 1342539239009 autmnwedding
130x130 sq 1342539426290 smilingblackbride
130x130 sq 1342539433732 smilingface
130x130 sq 1342539443359 youngmalecouple
130x130 sq 1352063266237 aprilandroger
130x130 sq 1352063280711 carmenandmichael
130x130 sq 1352063289673 christinaanddave074
130x130 sq 1352063349302 terriandcurt
130x130 sq 1352063290404 christinaanddave269copy
130x130 sq 1352063291184 chrityanderic
130x130 sq 1352063293670 danandnabeel
130x130 sq 1352063303618 danaandnabeel
130x130 sq 1352063313825 edmerandsue
130x130 sq 1352063323206 erikandelena
130x130 sq 1352063328117 jenandvin
130x130 sq 1352063341656 maureenandangus
130x130 sq 1352063347230 michellevantinephotographytc3

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What types of weddings and events do you provide services for?
Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious, Single Religion
What services do you provide?
Allow Couples' Own Vows, Licensed
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Agnostic, Anglican, Buddhist, Catholic, Episcopalian, Evangelical, Lutheran, Methodist, No Denomination, Presbyterian, Quaker
On average, how long are wedding ceremonies you officiate?
Less than 30 Mins.
In which states are you licensed?
DC, MD, VA

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Catherine
Wedding:
11/19/2016
5.0/5.0
Rev. Bill made us feel so comfortable and excited about our wedding day right from the start. He was very flexible in helping us create multiple drafts of our ceremony until it was absolutely perfect! Even through the wind storm that passed through the ceremony, Rev. Bill made it run smoothly and quickly adapted so that we could still have a beautiful outdoor ceremony. I highly recommend Bill to any couple and it was truly an honor having him officiate our wedding!
Rev. Bill made us feel so comfortable and excited about our wedding day right from the start. He was very flexible in Read more...
Rev. Bill made us feel so comfortable and excited about our wedding day right from the start. He was very flexible in helping us create multiple drafts of our ceremony until it was absolutely perfect! Even through the wind storm that passed through the ceremony, Rev. Bill made it run smoothly and quickly adapted so that we could still have a beautiful outdoor ceremony. I highly recommend Bill to any couple and it was truly an honor having him officiate our wedding! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Progressive Catholic & Interfaith Weddings responded with the following comments:

Catherine and Max - Thank you for your kind review. It was wonderful working with you. Even the winds of November couldn't match the force of your love for each other. I am so honored that you invited me to officiate at your wedding. Warmly - Rev. Bill
Default vendor profile pic
Erin
Wedding:
10/22/2016
5.0/5.0
Both my husband and I are so happy that we chose Rev. Bill Freeman to officiate our wedding! From the moment we did our consultation I knew we were in good hands - he led us through the process while also offering so many options to customize our ceremony. In addition, he added personal touches about our relationship that really made it special!
Both my husband and I are so happy that we chose Rev. Bill Freeman to officiate our wedding! From the moment we did our Read more...
Both my husband and I are so happy that we chose Rev. Bill Freeman to officiate our wedding! From the moment we did our consultation I knew we were in good hands - he led us through the process while also offering so many options to customize our ceremony. In addition, he added personal touches about our relationship that really made it special! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Progressive Catholic & Interfaith Weddings responded with the following comments:

Erin and Chris - Thank you for your very kind review. From the moment I met you both, I knew that together we could create the ceremony of your dreams and a memory for a lifetime. Great ceremonies are a celebration of great people - people who are open, accepting, loving, and giving. You both are all of these attributes and more. I wish you a lifetime of happiness. Warm regards - Rev. Bill
Default vendor profile pic
Brian
Wedding:
10/15/2016
5.0/5.0
Wow. We had maybe a dozen people come up to us after our ceremony to say how beautiful everything was. Thank God we found Reverend Bill.

Our engagement was a difficult period with both of us losing a family member and spending a lot of time in hospitals as a result. Reverend Bill was understanding throughout the entire process. He was helpful and attentive to everything going on in our lives, wedding or not. And when the big day came, he crafted a beautiful ceremony that not only honored us but honored the people we loved who couldn't be there. We know our wedding was a tall order for an officiant, but Reverend Bill put us at ease the very first minute we met him.

The ceremony could not have been any better. It was absolutely perfect, and we are eternally grateful to have met a man as wonderful as Reverend Bill.
Wow. We had maybe a dozen people come up to us after our ceremony to say how beautiful everything was. Thank God we found Read more...
Wow. We had maybe a dozen people come up to us after our ceremony to say how beautiful everything was. Thank God we found Reverend Bill.

Our engagement was a difficult period with both of us losing a family member and spending a lot of time in hospitals as a result. Reverend Bill was understanding throughout the entire process. He was helpful and attentive to everything going on in our lives, wedding or not. And when the big day came, he crafted a beautiful ceremony that not only honored us but honored the people we loved who couldn't be there. We know our wedding was a tall order for an officiant, but Reverend Bill put us at ease the very first minute we met him.

The ceremony could not have been any better. It was absolutely perfect, and we are eternally grateful to have met a man as wonderful as Reverend Bill. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Progressive Catholic & Interfaith Weddings responded with the following comments:

Brian and Erin - What can I say but thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to know that together we developed a ceremony that was distinctly yours and a reflection of your love for each other. Also, I can't thank you both enough for your kindnesses to my partner after his bike accident. I wish you both lots of joy and happiness. Enjoy Thailand. Warm regards - Rev. Bill
Default vendor profile pic
Ning
Wedding:
10/8/2016
5.0/5.0
Reverend Bill was wonderful to work with. From the moment we met him, we knew he understood our values and what we wanted to capture on our wedding day. He made our wedding ceremony so special and we could not thank him enough. My husband and I heard from so many of our family and friends that the ceremony was absolutely beautiful and we couldn't agree more. Reverend Bill put so much care and thought into crafting a wedding sermon so personal to us. It truly captured who we are as a couple and our love for each other. To any future couples who are looking for the perfect officiant, we would highly recommend working with Reverend Bill!
Reverend Bill was wonderful to work with. From the moment we met him, we knew he understood our values and what we wanted Read more...
Reverend Bill was wonderful to work with. From the moment we met him, we knew he understood our values and what we wanted to capture on our wedding day. He made our wedding ceremony so special and we could not thank him enough. My husband and I heard from so many of our family and friends that the ceremony was absolutely beautiful and we couldn't agree more. Reverend Bill put so much care and thought into crafting a wedding sermon so personal to us. It truly captured who we are as a couple and our love for each other. To any future couples who are looking for the perfect officiant, we would highly recommend working with Reverend Bill! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Progressive Catholic & Interfaith Weddings responded with the following comments:

Ning and Andrew - What a wonderful review! Nothing makes me happier than to know that the wedding that we developed together met everyones expectations and more. I loved working with you and so appreciate that you invited me into your lives to share this wonderful celebration. I wish you both every happiness. Warmly - Rev. Bill
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My wife and I feel very lucky to have found Reverend Bill. Coming from two different cultures and faiths, we were unsure we could find someone who could develop a ceremony that reflected both our backgrounds, Muslim and Catholic. As a divorced Catholic, I also had a lot of apprehension about finding an officiant who would preside over my second wedding while still reflecting my family's traditions.

We knew from our very first meeting with Reverend Bill that we'd found the right person. Reverend Bill took the time to get to know us and learn our story and crafted a ceremony that honored both of our upbringings. On the day of our wedding we had a few technical difficulties, but Reverend Bill adapted quickly and managed to carry off the ceremony without anyone knowing. After the ceremony, my wife's uncle told her father that it had been the best interfaith wedding he'd been to, including his own son's, and that was in no small part due to Reverend Bill. We can't recommend him highly enough.
My wife and I feel very lucky to have found Reverend Bill. Coming from two different cultures and faiths, we were unsure Read more...
My wife and I feel very lucky to have found Reverend Bill. Coming from two different cultures and faiths, we were unsure we could find someone who could develop a ceremony that reflected both our backgrounds, Muslim and Catholic. As a divorced Catholic, I also had a lot of apprehension about finding an officiant who would preside over my second wedding while still reflecting my family's traditions.

We knew from our very first meeting with Reverend Bill that we'd found the right person. Reverend Bill took the time to get to know us and learn our story and crafted a ceremony that honored both of our upbringings. On the day of our wedding we had a few technical difficulties, but Reverend Bill adapted quickly and managed to carry off the ceremony without anyone knowing. After the ceremony, my wife's uncle told her father that it had been the best interfaith wedding he'd been to, including his own son's, and that was in no small part due to Reverend Bill. We can't recommend him highly enough. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Progressive Catholic & Interfaith Weddings responded with the following comments:

Sabrina and Sean - Thank you for your kindness and wonderful review. It was my honor to be invited to officiate at your wedding. I am so happy to hear that it was all that you wanted and more. I am so happy that you have found each other. I wish you a lifetime of happiness - Warmly, Rev. Bill
Default vendor profile pic
Jeremiah
Wedding:
9/10/2016
5.0/5.0
Reverend Bill was exactly the right person for our wedding. He listened carefully to our needs and plans and worked with us both to make our special day extraordinarily special.l
Reverend Bill was exactly the right person for our wedding. He listened carefully to our needs and plans and worked with Read more...
Reverend Bill was exactly the right person for our wedding. He listened carefully to our needs and plans and worked with us both to make our special day extraordinarily special.l Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Progressive Catholic & Interfaith Weddings responded with the following comments:

Michele and Jerry - Thanks for your review. I am so glad that you both found each other. Best wishes - Rev. Bill
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
September 3rd was the date of our wedding and it couldn't have been more perfect. Weather, venue, family, and friends all combined to create one of the most memorable days of our life. Reverend Bill made the process of organizing the ceremony very easy and provided lots of materials for consideration. This simplified many of the complex decisions we had to make and allowed us time to put together a memorable ceremony despite working within a compressed timeline. On the date of our wedding, Bill performed a beautiful ceremony despite dealing with a personal hardship (which we truly appreciate but would've understood had he been unavailable). All of our family and friends loved his personal reflections and it truly added a light and personal touch to an otherwise formal occasion. We will always fondly remember this day and thank Bill for being a part of it.

Matt and Mila
September 3rd was the date of our wedding and it couldn't have been more perfect. Weather, venue, family, and friends all Read more...
September 3rd was the date of our wedding and it couldn't have been more perfect. Weather, venue, family, and friends all combined to create one of the most memorable days of our life. Reverend Bill made the process of organizing the ceremony very easy and provided lots of materials for consideration. This simplified many of the complex decisions we had to make and allowed us time to put together a memorable ceremony despite working within a compressed timeline. On the date of our wedding, Bill performed a beautiful ceremony despite dealing with a personal hardship (which we truly appreciate but would've understood had he been unavailable). All of our family and friends loved his personal reflections and it truly added a light and personal touch to an otherwise formal occasion. We will always fondly remember this day and thank Bill for being a part of it.

Matt and Mila Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Progressive Catholic & Interfaith Weddings responded with the following comments:

Matt and Mila - Thank you for your very kind review. It truly was a wonderful day. It was intimate and loving -- truly reflecting you as a couple. I was so very honored to have been invited to officiate at your wedding. I wish you both a lifetime of happiness. Warmly - Rev. Bill
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Reverend Bill was great to work with. My wife and I are both Catholic, but always wanted an outdoor wedding. We contacted Rev. Bill and sat down with him to discuss our ideas. He was wonderful to work with and very accommodating of our ideas for our wedding ceremony.

Rev. Bill was very professional in the way that he walked us though the flow of the ceremony and helped us pick readings, the overall feel of the ceremony and the timeline. As a result, our wedding turned out wonderful and was just what we always wanted!

I would highly recommend Rev. Bill!

Scott M.
Reverend Bill was great to work with. My wife and I are both Catholic, but always wanted an outdoor wedding. We contacted Read more...
Reverend Bill was great to work with. My wife and I are both Catholic, but always wanted an outdoor wedding. We contacted Rev. Bill and sat down with him to discuss our ideas. He was wonderful to work with and very accommodating of our ideas for our wedding ceremony.

Rev. Bill was very professional in the way that he walked us though the flow of the ceremony and helped us pick readings, the overall feel of the ceremony and the timeline. As a result, our wedding turned out wonderful and was just what we always wanted!

I would highly recommend Rev. Bill!

Scott M. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Progressive Catholic & Interfaith Weddings responded with the following comments:

Scott and Christine - Thank you for our kind review. I love outdoor weddings and I'm so pleased that what we developed together was all that you wanted and more. It was truly a reflection of your love for each other. Warm wishes always - Bill
Default vendor profile pic
Melissa
Wedding:
7/9/2016
5.0/5.0
Reverend Bill made our wedding magic. He was so attentive to us. He was always eager and excited: he wanted to know us, he wanted to witness our love and hear all the details of our adoration. Together, we created a ceremony that was unique and maintained a sense of ritual, a ceremony about loving each other, about celebrating the love of our families. Our ceremony was beautiful, flawless, full of awe and wonder. He made our wedding unlike anything else. And it felt as though we were being married by a friend who cared for us. On our wedding day Reverend Bill was family.

On top of all this love and care two incredible aspects of Reverend Bill shined above an already glimmering ceremony. First: Reverend Bill always thanked us for including him in our special day, for blessing him with our love. Our lives as husband and wife could not have begun more romantically and sincerely. Second: Reverend Bill crafted a completely personalized speech for the ceremony that celebrated our love for each other. He interviewed us, listened so carefully and laughed with us. It felt like we were just talking with a friend, telling him how we met, how we inspired one another, the small nuances of our relationship that make our love uniquely ours. It was a beautiful moment of reflection. Reverend Bill captured all that intimacy and wrote the most beautiful speech. He read it at the ceremony with such conviction and emotion: he knew us, he understood our stories and loved them.

One response from our guests was constant: “Reverend Bill was remarkable.” No one had ever witnessed a ceremony with such care and intimacy. He truly blessed us with magic and love. He gave our wedding wonder and joy. It has taken me a long time to write this because I truly felt there was no way to put into words the way Reverend Bill has touched our lives. All I can say is thank you. Thank you for helping my husband and I begin our lives through celebrating the greatest truth: love.
Reverend Bill made our wedding magic. He was so attentive to us. He was always eager and excited: he wanted to know us, he Read more...
Reverend Bill made our wedding magic. He was so attentive to us. He was always eager and excited: he wanted to know us, he wanted to witness our love and hear all the details of our adoration. Together, we created a ceremony that was unique and maintained a sense of ritual, a ceremony about loving each other, about celebrating the love of our families. Our ceremony was beautiful, flawless, full of awe and wonder. He made our wedding unlike anything else. And it felt as though we were being married by a friend who cared for us. On our wedding day Reverend Bill was family.

On top of all this love and care two incredible aspects of Reverend Bill shined above an already glimmering ceremony. First: Reverend Bill always thanked us for including him in our special day, for blessing him with our love. Our lives as husband and wife could not have begun more romantically and sincerely. Second: Reverend Bill crafted a completely personalized speech for the ceremony that celebrated our love for each other. He interviewed us, listened so carefully and laughed with us. It felt like we were just talking with a friend, telling him how we met, how we inspired one another, the small nuances of our relationship that make our love uniquely ours. It was a beautiful moment of reflection. Reverend Bill captured all that intimacy and wrote the most beautiful speech. He read it at the ceremony with such conviction and emotion: he knew us, he understood our stories and loved them.

One response from our guests was constant: “Reverend Bill was remarkable.” No one had ever witnessed a ceremony with such care and intimacy. He truly blessed us with magic and love. He gave our wedding wonder and joy. It has taken me a long time to write this because I truly felt there was no way to put into words the way Reverend Bill has touched our lives. All I can say is thank you. Thank you for helping my husband and I begin our lives through celebrating the greatest truth: love. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Progressive Catholic & Interfaith Weddings responded with the following comments:

Hi Melissa and Michael,

I am humbled by your very gracious review. It was my honor to be invited into your lives at this wonderful time of new beginnings and to journey with you are we, together, designed a ceremony that uniquely reflected who you are and the message that you wanted to convey. It greatly pleases me that we achieve those goals. I do my job when I "disappear." That is, when the wedding ceremony become all about the couple -- their story, their love, their future. Even if we never see each other for the rest of our lives, we will have a connection that will last forever.
Default vendor profile pic
H
Wedding:
6/11/2016
5.0/5.0
Rev. Bill was an amazing officiant for our wedding and truly made it unique to our needs. My family and friends even commented to us afterwards and the weeks following the wedding on how wonderful the ceremony was and how it fit our personalities perfectly. I would highly recommend Rev. Bill.
Rev. Bill was an amazing officiant for our wedding and truly made it unique to our needs. My family and friends even Read more...
Rev. Bill was an amazing officiant for our wedding and truly made it unique to our needs. My family and friends even commented to us afterwards and the weeks following the wedding on how wonderful the ceremony was and how it fit our personalities perfectly. I would highly recommend Rev. Bill. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Progressive Catholic & Interfaith Weddings responded with the following comments:

Helena and Steve - Thank you for your kind review. Nothing delights me more than helping a couple create the perfect wedding ceremony that reflects and honors who they are. I am glad that you wedding was all that you wanted and more! I wish you many wonderful tomorrows - Rev. Bill

MAP

 
4326 N. 18th Street, Arlington, VA 22207 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Progressive Catholic & Interfaith Weddings
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1342718238141 caucasianwedding