130x130_sq_1376952595239-watters-editorial-image-2013

Pure English Couture Bridal

Virginia Beach , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1860 Laskin Rd. Suite 110
Virginia Beach, VA US 23454 (map)

PHONE

757-631-9810

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

For over thirteen years, pure english has been offering brides a true boutique experience unique to Hampton Roads. Our studio, located in the La Promenade Shoppes, features oversized... Read more
For over thirteen years, pure english has been offering brides a true boutique experience unique to Hampton Roads. Our studio, located in the La Promenade Shoppes, features oversized private appointment suites and a calm and tranquil atmosphere and a culture of caring.

Relax and allow yourself to be pampered with a selection of breathtaking gowns from the best of British and American Bridal designers, in fine silks and sumptuous satins that will leave you spoilt for choice.

See why pure english is the place to go for the modern, fashion-savvy bride who demands the best selection and deserves the ultimate in service and honest, down to earth, customer care. No Pushy commissioned sales peole here :)

We operate by appointment so we can offer undivided attention to each and every bride to be.

Call for your private appointment today and see why nothing else compares to the award-winning pure english experience. Read less
Dress & Attire

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1376952077980-tara-keely-image-for-designer-page
130x130_sq_1376953417948-inside-of-shop
130x130_sq_1377719780235-shop-image-3
130x130_sq_1377719781808-shop-image-4
130x130_sq_1377719779122-shop-image-2
130x130_sq_1337805976688-websiteimage2010
130x130_sq_1376952262867-hayley-1
130x130_sq_1376952265943-hayley-2
130x130_sq_1376952054517-martina-liana-image-for-designer-page
130x130_sq_1376952057699-martina-liana-new-image-for-the-events-page-martina-trunk-show
130x130_sq_1357771768959-enzoanieverett
130x130_sq_1357771827024-4256
130x130_sq_1376952051601-main-maids-image-for-the-website-update-2013
130x130_sq_1357771723591-occassions
130x130_sq_1376952046950-jim-hjelm-bridesmaids-image
130x130_sq_1376952080984-tara-keely-new-image-for-events-page-tk-trunk-show
130x130_sq_1376952040296-final-post-for-haute
130x130_sq_1337805885037-hauteimageforsite2012
130x130_sq_1376952062937-paloma-blanca-fall-2013
130x130_sq_1357771844244-1655
130x130_sq_1376952269747-hayley-3
130x130_sq_1402328545262-donna-two
130x130_sq_1402328581024-h-1
130x130_sq_1402328624092-convertible-hayley-paige-dresses
130x130_sq_1402328639612-hhh
130x130_sq_1402328654205-pe-timeline-1
130x130_sq_1402328669531-stop-gap

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Bridesmaids, Flower Girls
What accessories do you provide?
Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Shoes, Veils

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
[Private]
5.0/5.0
their dresses are beautiful - I highly suggest looking at dresses during a trunk show!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Whitney
Wedding:
10/18/2014
5.0/5.0
Pure English is without a doubt the most lovely bridal boutique in the area. The selection and quality of their wedding gowns is top notch, they have such beautiful dresses. I had an incredible experience trying on dresses and I ended up finding "the" dress here! Ariel and her assistant were so incredibly helpful, fun, and professional. They had helpful suggestions about style and accessories, they made the experience completely stress-free. And when I found my dress, they gave my mother, sister, and me glasses of champagne to celebrate! It was a truly moving and wonderful experience. I can't wait til I can go back for my fitting! I wholeheartedly recommend Pure English to any bride-to-be, whether it's finding your wedding gown or bridesmaid dresses.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
[Private]
5.0/5.0
I had a GREAT experience dress shopping with Helen. She was amazing! The customer service and overall experience was the best part about shopping at Pure English. Getting a cup of tea when mom my and I arrived just put us at ease. I had looked at bridal salons all over Richmond but could not find a dress I liked. She really listened to what my style and the first dress she pulled was the dress I bought. I am so happy with my experience and would recommend it to anyone in the future! THANK YOU Pure English!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
[Private]
5.0/5.0
I had my appointment with Ariel and she's super awesome! After a string of bad appointments (mainly Betsy Robinson Bridal in MD) it was relieving to be treated with kindness, professionalism, and by knowledgeable staff. I haven't quite found my dress yet (needed mom there) but when I'm ready to start looking again I'm definitely coming back here to get my dress :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1376494891735-n1328190056301952955096222
Diandra
Wedding:
9/6/2014
5.0/5.0
Pure English was the first place I tried on dresses and I could not be happier with my experience. My consultant, Mia, was so attentive and really grasped what style I was looking for. She pulled a great variety of beautiful dresses and actually pulled the dress I ended up purchasing. The whole staff is so kind and I'm looking forward to coming back for my bridesmaid dresses and fittings. I would definitely recommend Pure English!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashlee
Wedding:
7/12/2014
5.0/5.0
Pure English was an overall fantastic experience, and I would highly recommend their store to any future bride shopping for a wedding dress. Their store offers a nice selection of wedding dress styles, and I felt that the quality of their dresses far exceeded other stores within the area. The customer service was amazing and note-worthy as well. During my experience, I worked with Ariel who was incredibly patient and extremely knowledgeable about wedding dresses. She really took the time to listen to what I wanted, and went to great lengths to make sure that I found the perfect dress for me. She was great! Be sure to check out their store if you or someone you know is in the market for a wedding dress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
7/12/2014
5.0/5.0
I LOVED the dress I purchased from here. Absolutely stunning and unique, and I received so many compliments.

They were also very accommodating to my bridesmaid who needed an extra rush order for her dress and it came in the perfect time! Heather was THE best and extremely helpful. Thank you!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Everyone at this store was so helpful, warm, and inviting. They even ordered a dress for me they didn't have, and I was able to buy it through them. They make every effort to work with you to ensure everything is exactly how you want it. They also have a huge selection of gorgeous dresses. I had numerous bad experiences at other bridal stores in the area with staff being rude, snobby, or disinterested, but not here! They were all wonderful!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cora
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
All of my experiences at Pure English have been wonderful. I jokingly have said that I would love to live in the store because it's just so gorgeous. The staff is friendly and fun. I loved shopping for my bridal gown so much, that we went back for the bridesmaids, mother of the bride, and mother of the groom's dresses. I have been shopping at many of the other bridal stores in Virginia Beach for other friends, and no one compares to Pure English!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
4/12/2014
5.0/5.0
Pure English is the best of the best. The selection of bridal gowns are unmatched. They also carry beautiful accessories and bridesmaids dresses. My experience with Pure English has been amazing. The staff is helpful, honest, and excited for you and your day! They treat each bride as if she is the only one in the shop during your appointment. I highly recommend Pure English Couture Bridal.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kinsey
Wedding:
3/8/2014
5.0/5.0
After visiting a handful of bridal stores, this one stand out above the rest. Every employee was so warm, kind, helpful, and stylish. They made it a wonderful, stress free experience. The store itself is beautiful and the large dressing rooms make you feel as if you are the only one there. The dress selection is vast and has a variety of looks. I would recommend this lovely store to any bride.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
1/11/2014
5.0/5.0
Simply a joy to work with all staff at Pure English Couture Bridal. Service was professional and prompt. The wedding gowns are gorgeous. I was blown away with the attention and service given each and every time I stepped through the doors. Friendly and knowledgeable. I purchased my wedding and bridesmaid dresses here and didn't need to look anywhere else. Pure English made the wedding dress shopping experience a breeze! I highly recommend!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
skylar
Wedding:
11/30/2013
5.0/5.0
I adore Helen. I came to her 2 weeks before my wedding in a frantic panic because 3 hours earlier the dry cleaners had ruined my gown. It was amazing that the same exact dress was in her shop (I purchased my first one at a consignment place). Of course the gown was double the price which made me sick to my stomach. Helen worked with me so that it would stay in my budget and I could never repay her. She basically saved my big day. Not to mention pure English is a beautiful store and it is so exciting to have your own fitting room that your family can join you in while you experience your dress fitting for the first time with complimentary champagne.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
10/20/2013
5.0/5.0
I went to two bridal salons before going to Pure English. My experience at the two other salons was less than desirable, poor quality and poor service. What a breath of fresh air Pure English Couture was. The staff were all helpful and wonderful. Helen, the owner, was the one assisting me with selecting my gown. Not only did this salon actually HAVE the dresses listed on their website (you would be surprised how often this is NOT the case) but Helen also pulled several other gorgeous dresses that all looked amazing. She really focused her attention on me and helping me find the perfect dress! My biggest problem at this salon was finding a dress I didn't like...I loved them all! Awsome experience, don't go anywhere else!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
I absolutely loved my dress from Pure English! They have a great selection of truly amazing gowns. They are a little on the more expensive side as they sell only top designers, which I don't find is a bad thing. On my initial appointment I worked with Helen who happens to be the store owner. She was very helpful. On my follow-up appointments (when the dress came in and for bridemaids) I worked with Sarah and Mia. Both girls are so sweet and very nice to work with. The salon allows you to store your dress there for as long as you need. They also provide very nice breathable/opaque bags for the gowns, instead of those clear plastic ones. Overall I would recommend Pure English to anyone looking for their dream wedding gown!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Pure English was great to work with. They were accomodating, friendly and knowledgable. Helen, Sara, Ariel, and Theresa were unbelievably helpful with everything. My dress was absolutely gorgeous and just what I was looking for! Thank you ladies, for being so sweet and genuine while helping me look and feel beautiful!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Helen, Dani and Mia were my saviors when I was shopping for my bridal gown and bridesmaids dresses. I loved Pure English's selection so much that I bought two dresses from the boutique. Everything you try on (no matter the budget) is QUALITY and STUNNING. I would drive two hours to visit Pure English (from Richmond, VA) to buy the dresses, jewelry (trunk show of Paris jewelry which was featured on the cover of Martha Stewart Wedding magazine!) and bridesmaids dresses. The service is above expectations and I couldn't say better things about Pure English boutique.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachael
Wedding:
9/13/2013
5.0/5.0
I loved Pure English. I thought I had already chosen my dress at the store before but decided to go and look anyway. I also knew most of their dresses were more than I wanted to spend. But I fell in love with my dress there and they worked with me on pricing and were so great. The experience was so wonderful and I had gone to another place earlier and the experience was not good. Pure English was just wonderful. The only thing I didn't have a great experience was with the seamstress, I liked her but my bustle was all messed up and my bridesmaids had to finally just fasten my dress to a button on my back so it would stay (which ended up tearing the cloth off the button) but other than that I was just beyond thrilled. There's 3 places in this area I would recommend someone look for a dress and Pure English is one of them. I am beyond thrilled with my choice and it will forever be a major part of a day that was the best day of our lives!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitlin
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Pure English was the first salon I went to try on wedding dresses at, and I walked out that day with my dream dress. Mia and Dani were so attentive, listened to what I liked and didn't like, and were able to provide me with options that were exactly what I was looking for. The customer service provided by Pure English is unmatched and I was so pleased, that I went back to get my bridesmaids dresses. Once again, we received great service. Pure English really takes the time to get to know their clients and make you feel comfortable!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Pure English is a beautiful shop with gorgeous dresses. I did not have the best experience with the seamstress so would consider finding my own if I had it all to do over again.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1371694217108-1
Rebeccah
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
I had a wonderful experience at Pure English. I had a pretty limited budget but consultants welcomed me and went out of their way to help me select dresses that were beautiful and affordable. I have to give special recognition to Mia, who actually pulled my wedding gown! It was a dress I initially overlooked but it was amazing on! I give Mia total credit for understanding my aesthetic and selecting a dress I would otherwise not have seen. Pure English also worked with me on cost. I was actually able to buy the floor sample of my gown.

I also used Pure English's tailoring services. They services were carried out in a timely manner and the dress fit perfectly! I really feel like the Pure English staffed worked with me to meet my needs and make my experience great.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jayne
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Pure English is the perfect place to select the dress for you. The setting is comfortable and warm with chairs and couches surrounded by dresses, jewelry, crowns, veils, and more. The staff are incredible! I am working primarily with Dani, but all of them work together as a team. When I first arrived, Dani sat down with me and my family to get a sense of what I was looking for. She never left my side and pulled the most beautiful dresses for me to try on. Pure English also has wifi, and Dani suggested we Skype my mom and aunt in so that they could be part of my experience from California. Dani not only managed selecting dresses and getting me in and out of them, but she also handled my computer so my mom and aunt could see up close dress details and farther away full views. I felt like a queen at Pure English. Since I ordered the dress, they have continued to check in and be available to answer questions. They are incredibly professional and attentive to brides, and know their dresses and designers. My experience was better than I ever could have imagined! It was and continues to be magical. I highly recommend Pure English for all future brides.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deborah
Wedding:
4/19/2013
5.0/5.0
This was the only dress store I visited because it was perfect. Their dress selection is great and they knew what I wanted better than I did. They stayed well within my budget and didn't push me to spend extra. Their dresses are very high quality and they took wonderful care of making everything perfect. Also June was an amazing seamstress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Desiree
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
excellent from the moment I walked in! Very professional and a provide a personal dress buying experience!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
1/19/2013
5.0/5.0
I made an appointment at Pure English after shopping for a wedding dress all over North Carolina and Virginia. This boutique was such a pleasant surprise, and a truly a breath of fresh air! The staff was so incredibly polite, helpful, and overall pleasant. Even the taylor was so incredibly patient and kind! The ambiance of the overall store was amazing. I felt like the queen every bride deserves to be on her wedding day. A positive experience always makes me feel that much better about buying a big ticket item, and I couldn't have asked for a better experience when shopping for a wedding dress. Thank you, Pure English, for such an amazing experience!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
The best dress shop in Hampton Roads! After trying on 3 gowns, I found my dream dress. I love this shop because the gowns are unique and are of great quality. The customer service is outstanding! The staff works with your figure to recommend dresses that will work for you. I do believe that their expertise helped me find my gown on the 4th try.

The setting is very intimate and allows you to celebrate the special day. Would recommend this shop to anyone looking for the perfect wedding dress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
I couldn't thank them enough for all of their help during my wedding planning process this past year! Living in California and trying to plan everything in Virginia was incredibly stressful, but I must say...finding my dream dress as well as my bridesmaid dresses at Pure English was one of the least of my worries! Their whole team, especially Mia, did a great job keeping me in the loop with everything. My bridesmaids had such a seamless transaction with them it was ridiculous, and I really appreciated how they kept me updated with everything.

I felt absolutely beautiful on my wedding day and I have Pure English to thank :) Thank you Thank you! You are the best :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
9/14/2012
5.0/5.0
I can't recommend this place enough. I was so frustrated with wedding dress shopping I was just about to call off the wedding completely and just go to the justice of the peace. I wanted more of a vintage, rustic lace type dress and everywhere I went I wasn't pleased with the modern, over priced, fluffy dresses. I looked everywhere in Richmond, VA and even drove up to Alexandria, VA. When I tried to describe what I was looking for no one really saw my vision. I should of saved all the hassle and gone to Pure English first. I couldn't have been more welcomed as soon as I came through the doors and Mia was an angel. She took the time to sit down and listened to all my likes and dislikes. She must have pulled eleven dresses and to my surprise I loved them all. It was so hard just to narrow down to three and then to the final one. Every where else I had been I was lucky to even see a part of a dress I liked, let a lone a full dress. Everyone here was so warm and patient. Then as fate would have it I had to move out of state. It would of taken me a little over nine and a half hours to make it to my first fitting and I couldn't find any where close to me that was willing to do the alterations on my dress if I hadn't purchased my dress with them. Upon my explanation to Helen she made a few phone calls and found someone to help. I couldn't have asked for more. These people go above and beyond to make sure their brides are taken care of. They will always have a customer with me. I couldn't have asked for more and I can't recommend them enough to those brides seeking their perfect dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1353957560859-wj351
Wendy
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about this place! The service they provided was extraordinary. They helped me through the process of finding my dress, choosing my veil, and did all of the alterations in house as well. The ladies who work in the store were always willing to help, and were so supportive throughout the entire process. They also have a beautiful selection of dresses, you are guaranteed to find your dream dress here!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
AMAZING!! I can't even put into words how wonderful this place was. I went to two other stores prior to Pure English, I was very discouraged and not feeling the whole "trying on dresses" day. When we got to Pure English my mood immediately changed. They were welcoming and friendly. She got me out of my funk. The dresses were top quality and reasonably priced. The customer service was OUTSTANDING! She knew exactly what dresses to pick for me. I didn't even give her much to go on and "the one" was the first dress she showed me. She stayed within my budget. She was very reasonable and extremely personable. I felt like she genuinely cared about me. Great place! I would highly recommend it to everyone.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Catherine
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Pure English has awesome staff and amazing dresses. Everyone is very helpful and friendly. You get complimentary water and mimosas while shopping! They have great trunk shows also!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1318447981763-angelaengaged119
Angela
Wedding:
5/4/2012
5.0/5.0
I am so happy I bought my dress at Pure English! The same ladies, Mia Sarah and Helen, were always working so I really had great continued customer service. I also had some "dress regret" and they were great at helping me decide to stick to my original dress or buy a second. I stuck with my first dress and I am so happy I did. The alterations lady, Theresa, was also fantastic and made a jacket for my dress from scratch. I would recommend Pure English to any bride. Buying a wedding dress is a big deal so you should make sure you are buying it from the best.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jadipiaz
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
They were great to me! My dress was amazing and fit perfectly. They took a lot of time with me to pick it out and even talked me out of a more expensive dress because it just "wasn't the one" so I knew they weren't just trying to get my money. I never felt rushed or pressured and truly enjoyed the special touch they give there as opposed to the big bridal warehouses that rush you in and out throwing you into gowns until your head is spinning. The tailor is awesome and my dress fit me like a glove. I couldn't have asked for better service. Thank You!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kara
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
I found the perfect dress almost immediately. They are very professional and are spot on with picking out something that you really like. THey also celebrated finding my perfect dress with a glass of champagne.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine and Dimitrios
Wedding:
12/3/2011
5.0/5.0
I had so much fun shopping for my dress at Pure English. I showed Helen pictures of dresses I liked and she took it from there. The dress I ended up loving I wouldn't have necessarily picked off the rack myself. She also stayed within my budget, to include accessories and tailoring. Definitely the place to go in VB to buy your dress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephalva
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Found the dress I've been looking for almost instantly! Hard to do so when they have such amazing dresses!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1290523956391-wedweb1
Maya
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
Helen and her staff did an excellent job with helping me choose a wedding dress. They went above and beyond my request and worked with my schedule as I was an out of town bride. The ladies working there made me feel as though I was a princess and their one and only customer. They were very professional, very accommodating and overall I would recommend for anyone to purchase their dress here. Teresa was the lady who performed my alterations and did an excellent job. She truly made it look as though the dress had been made to fit me perfectly. Thank you to all the ladies of Pure English!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Claudia
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Wonderful group of ladies! Lovely selection. The best in Hampton Roads in my opinion.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
The girls at Pure English were absolutely amazing and I LOVED their selection. My dress was absolutely gorgeous and they use the best alteration companies. I would reccomend them to any bride!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ASHLEY
Wedding:
6/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Pure English is the best bridal store hands down. My wedding was June 10, 2011 and I went dress shopping in December. Helen helped us and she was so helpful and informative. I definitely did not feel pressure to buy the dress from her. However the service you get there is A+!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kgordon
Wedding:
4/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Helen, Sara and Vivian are the most wonderful people you will ever meet. They are genuinely kind, patient and so excited to help you find the perfect wedding gown. I had the pleasure of meeting them back in September 2010 for my April 9th 2011 wedding. My future mother in law and I walked in and were immediately greeted with a smile. I was a little nervous looking for dresses. The 4th dress I tried on was the ONE! I loved it and wanted to think about the purchase just to make sure. The ladies told me to take my time and just come back or call if I wanted to move forawrd. About 30 minutes later I called back to purchase the gown and veil!!! I returned at a later date to purchase my bridesmaid and flower girl dresses from Pure English too. The whole process at Pure English was completely stress free. I couldn't be happier with my wedding gown, bridesmaid and flower girl dresses. Everything was perfect!! If you are looking for a one of a kind gown for a reasonable price don't go anywhere but Pure English. I'm so happy I bought my gown here!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Sara
Wedding:
1/22/2011
5.0/5.0
Pure English is a bride's dream come true! The store is elegant and beautiful and the staff is incredible. With their knowledge and expertise, I was able to find my perfect gown in my very first appointment! They were so friendly, asked questions about what I envisioned for my big day and brought in so many gorgeous gowns for me to try. They helped me narrow down what I was liking about each dress until we found one that had everything I wanted! My dress was amazing on my wedding day and I could not imagine a better experience. I look forward to going back to Pure English with all of my friends when it's their time to choose their gowns! Thank you Pure English!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachael
Wedding:
1/16/2011
5.0/5.0
So helpful!!!! They knew me by name when I went in there and were so encouraging and friendly! They have the most beautiful dresses too!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dcdukette
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Pure English is BY FAR the best wedding dress shop in Hampton Roads!!! I highly recommend this shop to everyone. Don't even bother going anywhere else. I am 6'1" and scoured all of DC and Northern VA trying to find a classy, elegant dress. No other store compares to the selection Pure English has AND they could all be made to the length I needed. Helen and her staff are professional and friendly. Pure English is a MUST on your wedding vendor list!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bride2Be
Wedding:
5/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Pure English was awesome! The entire shop was extremely nice and helpful! We had a great experience there from start to finish. I ordered my dress and the bridesmaid dresses there and they all turned out amazing! Well worth it!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1234800296363-dsc_0218
Jam
Wedding:
9/12/2008
5.0/5.0
We were extremely satisfied with the service we received from the owner and staff at Pure English. The dress was stunning and unique. We were pampered and treated like we were their only clients. We felt special. The dress was perfect.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nrsang1
Wedding:
4/28/2007
5.0/5.0
I had the most incredible dress ever!! It was a couture gown from England which is what this shop only sells and the fabrics are out of this world. I came across the shop out of the blue while shopping for a dress for my Mom and fell in love with this bridal shop. The service was absolutely incredible. They were honest, did not charge me for extra costs that came up, very flexible, and SOOO friendly. I would recommend this store to anyone looking for a wedding gown or attire for the wedding party!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jsbg
Wedding:
10/15/2005
5.0/5.0
Every bride in Hampton Roads should go to Pure English. Customer service was exceptional...truly made me feel like a beautiful bride. We also purchased bridesmaid dresses and rehearsal dinner dresses from them...very helpful!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
latkins
Wedding:
9/8/2001
5.0/5.0
I have tried out many dresses at a lot of bridal shops and the service, professionalism and of course the dresses were outstanding. The dress I bought at Pure English was exactly what I had been looking for. I highly recommend Pure English and their amazing staff!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
10/4/2013
4.9/5.0
fabulous, fabulous fabulous! I loved working with the women in this shop. Other shops made me feel like I needed to spend more or look a certain way, these ladies made me feel like a million bucks, even though I could only spend 1800 bucks! :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danit
Wedding:
5/15/2010
4.9/5.0
I absolutely loved my dress and I felt like a princess!! I got so many compliments on my gown, even our pastor who has married hundreds of people complimented me on how much she loved my dress. Most of all my husband was blown away. The gowns at Pure English are exquisite and the quality is amazing. I planned my wedding rathar quickly and the staff ensured that my gown arrived in plenty of time for their in house tailor to complete the alterations. While I was trying on dresses the staff provided mimosas and selected gowns for me to try on that matched my style and my budget.
Danit Kent
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1365826822235-avatar
JPhoenix
Wedding:
4/6/2013
4.8/5.0
Mia did a great job in helping me find my wedding dress. She knew to keep me in my budget and encouraged me to try on different things I normally wouldn't go for - and it worked! I found my dress (complete opposite of what I thought I wanted) and It didn't need any alterations except one bustle! They rushed my dress for me and the tailor had my dress ready way in advance. Highly recommended...but please bring your mother with you....that was the only mistake I made.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
The shop is amazing. Helen and her staff are incredibly knowledgeable, and helped me find the perfect dress! They were always professional and responsive to questions via phone and in person. The only complaint I had is that they contract out to freelance seamstresses, and I paid a fortune for a bustle that fell out halfway through the reception. All in all, though, I would HIGHLY recommend Pure English to anyone in the VA Beach or Hampton Roads area.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
8/22/2010
4.8/5.0
They were amazing! I picked out my bridesmaids dresses from there, they were perfect! Loved every minute of working with them!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
6/2/2007
4.8/5.0
Highly recommend working with Helen and Karen at Pure English Bridal. The personalized service at Pure English is to die for! The professionalism and catering to my needs was beyond what I could have asked for. Don't come here if you are looking for a cheap wedding dress.. the dresses are very high quality and are not "discount." I absolutely loved the way my dress and veil turned out and the dress fitting was exact to my size. I also got my shoes and bridesmaid's dresses here. I had a fabulous experience at Pure English!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
3/30/2012
4.7/5.0
Thank you Pure English for helping me to feel like a Beautiful Bride! I was able to get my dress, bridesmaids dresses, custom necklace, and veil from them. Everything turned out beautifully. I was very happy with my experience and would definitely recommend them.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/15/2012
4.6/5.0
I'll be honest, I liek the finer things in life and this little boutique makes you feel very special. You have to make an appointment but when you do, they have someone dedicated to you. They ask you what your style is and what you'd liek to try. Then, they pick out a couple dresses for you to try on. They offer mimosas for sipping, coffe or water as well. I had my dress fitted a week before our wedding and they were nice to accomodate my need for an extra appt due to change in shoes. The alterations were pricey but I knew that I could trust them. My dress fit like a dream!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie Harrison
Wedding:
12/18/2010
4.6/5.0
The first dress I put on was my wedding dress. I then went to other stores but nothing compared to pure english! It is by far the best bridal salon in the area! I ended up purchasing all of my accessories, bridesmaid dresses, and earrings for the maids. I felt the accessories were overpriced, but they ended up looking amazing. My biggest complaint was with the alterations. June performed my alterations initially and she told me how my dress should be altered. I did not agree with it at all, so then she was just rude and completely unprofessional. The hem in my dress was uneven. I contacted the owner about my problem and she handled the situation very professionally. She set me up with the other alterations lady- Teresa. She fixed everything and my dress was perfect. Overall, It turned out great, but I suggest others to use Teresa for alterations. I cant believe June, someone so unprofessional, works at such a high end bridal salon.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DMc
Wedding:
9/21/2013
4.5/5.0
Pure English was the second bridal boutique I went to, and it was also the last! My consultant took the Jim Hjelm designs I loved and found a dress in my price range that mimicked his style (thank you Tara Keely!) but cost much less. The consultant was careful to not share her opinions with me until I asked, and let me make my own decision independent of her and my mom. Pure English also provides alterations through an outside seamstress. I had a few snaffoos that could have been handled a bit better, but it all turned out well in the end.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alanna
Wedding:
9/21/2013
4.4/5.0
The bridal attendants at Pure English Bridal were more than attentive to my needs during my wedding dress shopping period. Ellen was courteous and selected gowns that were in line with my style and overall theme I was going for. She worked with me well after closing time and was not pushy in my indecisiveness. The shop is small but inviting and has a plethora of beautiful dresses to select from. Keep in mind the dresses in this shop are very much couture and if you are looking for a bargain dress this is probably not the shop you should select for your big day. But if you are looking for that special one of kind dress that can be tailored and made custom for your wedding this is the shop to choose!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
9/23/2011
4.4/5.0
Helen met with me outside of regular business hours to find the dress that I love! The entire staff is very friendly and catered to my every need!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
4/20/2014
4.3/5.0
Love my dress!! it was expensive but i know it will be worth it
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.3/5.0
I found a beautiful dress at Pure English. They treated my wedding party wonderfully and I felt very taken care of. A wonderful experience!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.6/5.0
I found the team to be very helpful when it came to buying my dress there, but they werent equiped to handle issues with the bridesmaids dresses.

We had 6 bridesmaids, and 3 of them took their own measurments and the dresses fit like a glove.
The 3 that went directly into the shop and had them take the measurments had to have the most alterations performed.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg10
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
2.8/5.0
My initial visitation was amazing! I had found my dream gown with one exception. There were some beading that the backing looked gray so I asked of the large ones be removed. After 7 months waiting, one lost gown in the mail, when I went back the second time I saw that all the sparkly beads were removed and only the clear ones were left. There was a miscommunication between myself and Mia. Pure English was willing to pay their alterations person to have beads placed, I just needed to find the ones I wanted which I had found the PERFECT ones!! That same day their alterations lady (theresa) made final measurements for hemming.
With the wedding being less than 30 days away, I went on my third visit, the dress was too long, Theresa didnt want to do the beading so I offered to do them myself gladly. After final hemming, she hemmed the front of the dress but not the sides :(... frustrated, I just took the dress home (because each way was a 5 hour drive) and my mom will hem the dress for me.
I strongly wouldnt recommend using their alterations service
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Pure English Couture Bridal responded with the following comments:

Hello there, thank you very much for your feedback. We're sorry your experience with us was not completely positive as we place great value on our customer service and brides' satisfaction. However, we do feel the need to express that all changes made to the gown were made at your request and the gown came in 100% correct according to the contract signed by you before the order was placed. Per your request, the gown was to be sent 'without rhinestones with the metal silver backing and colored iridescent beads.' This bead work was to be 'replaced with the clear bead work currently scattered throughout the bodice.' We took very specific photos to submit with the order to ensure that nothing was lost in translation. Upon the gown's arrival, you expressed concern that it wasn't as sparkly as you wanted without the silver backed rhinestones so we discussed options, with the best option being for you to purchase exactly what beading you wanted and for that beading to be put on the gown during fittings. Due to the distance you traveled, the tailor worked to get the gown finished so you could take it after your second fitting instead of having to drive down again for the 3rd fitting. At this time, because of the specific placement of the bead work that was desired, you requested to take the gown to do the bead work with your mother. We were under the impression that this was what you wanted, as requested. We were unaware that you were unhappy with your fitting and would have worked with the tailor to ensure perfection had we known at the time. Again, we're sorry that your overall experience wasn't what you'd hoped for and we wish you the best.

MAP

 
1860 Laskin Rd. Suite 110, Virginia Beach, VA 23454 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Pure English Couture Bridal
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1376952595239-watters-editorial-image-2013