130x130_sq_1378846331142-purpleonion

Purple Onion Catering Company

Vienna , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

416 Maple Ave., West
Vienna, VA US 22180 (map)

PHONE

703-631-0050

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Purple Onion Catering Company has been in business since 1990 creating memorable parties in Virginia, Maryland and Washington D.C. We specialize in making your party elegant and... Read more
The Purple Onion Catering Company has been in business since 1990 creating memorable parties in Virginia, Maryland and Washington D.C. We specialize in making your party elegant and delicious from start to finish. We use the freshest ingredients with innovative recipes. In 2002 we moved to a new facility in Fairfax, Virginia in order to expand our capabilities to make your party even more successful. Please contact us by phone or email so that we can begin to create a menu just for your event. Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1362071940431-0kz310dkrs1qrl7cypcdujlrgiuxgfqgqow03dcivl0
130x130_sq_1362072095861-55889033892034613161324626542n
130x130_sq_1362071942606-i61xpusv9b2djuphbjeyahyad8gap4yn4rmitdara
130x130_sq_1362071945119-po3biitm5zt2fdpgdthrukrndyt1vkrctoiodsmcyk
130x130_sq_1362071943155-kep5xfeyg0vbzggapoww1gsnn9nfwrmu2bjocutice
130x130_sq_1362088479425-esppurpleonion35
130x130_sq_1362072096982-fhpsg1eecqvlpkqbgjbbroxeznzio8i9gqdvfejjvoy
130x130_sq_1362071873303-2013020912.22.38
130x130_sq_1362072098200-rjfudzzwc7i6piiktd0rv6ry3ypybrbh0to7thty
130x130_sq_1359576376052-01040
130x130_sq_1359576427621-01041
130x130_sq_1362071822157-520lftsefqdy0bjljaik2msq8og1nssnufublc8lqimqdkw4ti4nuof5fzzuitwjrshhxsql8j81vb95kk
130x130_sq_1362071833922-2013020813.43.04
130x130_sq_1362071897924-tflcaxo7r4drbanjiv41ed8yd4a59ek4fgg7lwg4vky8o5gjtd6bwq89kurxa9xxfx4wektnumuz6yi
130x130_sq_1362071904632-mbk18
130x130_sq_1362071941520-hspg9wthkbhbzm7ltx4sudzjnlreualfkzekhut5wy
130x130_sq_1362071944148-lw1gsgoxbfymvn4tisdysojavbvjkyhufni0wacedu4
130x130_sq_1362072094420-53013433583242493551120641449n
130x130_sq_1375121265806-sarah4739
130x130_sq_1375121282205-sarah4914
130x130_sq_1375121300356-sarah4919
130x130_sq_1375121318206-sarah4927
130x130_sq_1375121328573-971743573818782662727864502321n
130x130_sq_1375121330565-999983101517753727661331038534595n
130x130_sq_1375121332989-10114005738188126627241781286289n
130x130_sq_1375121334906-1069350101515402420765271367176342n
130x130_sq_1375121337357-106989010151540240501527690483516n
130x130_sq_1375121339523-10008211015154024208652712212879n

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Italian, Mediterranean, Southern, Spanish
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
We offer bridal tastings to potential clients.
Are you also able to provide the wedding cake?
Yes. We have an in house pastry department
If a bride decides to bring her own wedding cake, do you have a cake cutting fee? If yes, how much is the fee?
No Fee
Are you licensed to sell alcohol? If yes, where are you licensed?
Yes, Virginia and Maryland
Do you allow outside alcohol? If yes, what is the corkage fee?
None
Do you provide rentals for items such as linens and flatware?
Yes, we work closely with rental companies to supply
Are you able to provide your own wait staff?
Yes
What is your maximum catering capacity?
2000

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We couldn't be more pleased with selecting Purple Onion for the Wedding Reception at Oatlands. We were challenged with a destination wedding and Joanie adjusted with changes to the schedule, meetings, and conference calls with ease and made thoughtful suggestions that were truly valuable. The food was delicious, the presentation was enticing, the professional staff was eager to please. We highly recommend them!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitlin
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
Katy was an absolute rock star! We had our wedding/vow renewal about two weeks ago, and the food and desserts were absolutely amazing. Any request (food allergy) or my 'creative' insanity was given 150% thought and care to execute. Since I am not a huge cake fan, and husband and I are cheesecake lovers I came up with this wild idea that I wanted cheese cake push-pops served at our wedding instead of traditional cake. I pitched my zany request to Katy and she thought it was awesome, and actually said she'd been waiting for a bride to request something like this. Not only was the food, drink and service amazing the set up/ display was spot on. As a lot of other reviews have mentioned- our friends and family told us over and over again how amazing the food was. Katy helped create my picture perfect wedding and I'm so thankful for the amazing work her and the Purple Onion team delivered! No only did they cater my wedding, but we had them cater our rehearsal dinner at my parents house as well. We love Katy and the Purple Onion team!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
4/19/2014
5.0/5.0
We used Purple Onion for our April rehearsal dinner and wedding and were really please with the service and quality of the food. Many, many guests came up to us during and after the wedding to tell us how much they enjoyed the food. I worked directly with Alison throughout the process and would highly recommend her!

I thought the food tasted even better on our wedding day than at the tasting (it was great then too!), which I didn't think was possible! While I didn't see the buffet itself, a few guests noted that they were especially impressed that the staff never let a dish get low! We were also thrilled by the amount of extras included in our service. We had a DIY wedding - bought our own alcohol and had a friend make the cake - so there were a lot of elements I had not expected caterers to help with. Alison and her crew went above and beyond, such as setting up our centerpieces/flowers, cake service (no charge!) and moving the alcohol around during the rehearsal so it was out of the way.

During negotiations and planning, Alison spent a lot of time listening to our preferences and working on her end to make sure we could stay within our budget. She even allowed us to supplement the catering menu with outside items so our guests could have more food (veggies/dip/cheeses/cookies) while we stayed in budget. The food was wonderful, the bartenders kept our guests happy, and as bride and groom we got extra special service during the rehearsal and wedding that I appreciated.

From the tasting to clean-up, Purple Onion was impressive and I'd highly recommend them as a caterer!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kate
Wedding:
1/17/2014
5.0/5.0
I am so thrilled that I used Purple Onion to cater my wedding. The service and food were fantastic. Joanie and Paige made the entire process easy and stress free. My guest are still talking about how fabulous all the food was. 3 days before the wedding I still didn't have a cake - I sent Joanie a picture of a a cake I liked , and there it was at the wedding! Thank you Purple Onion for your delicious food and wonderful wait staff.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
11/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Joanie and Paige from Purple Onion put on a fabulous reception for my wedding! From the moment my husband and I met Joanie we knew we wanted her to cater our wedding. She has a fantastic personality and is extremely creative. They even helped us bring a little something of "home" to the table at our reception by serving real Skyline chili (Cincinnati-style) as our "late night" food. It was a hit with all the guests. Purple Onion also provided our cake and using my Pinterest pictures I sent them, they designed it perfectly. Did I mention the food was delicious, because it was AWESOME.

I would recommend Purple Onion to anyone!! They should probably open a restaurant too. A girl can dream...
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/13/2013
5.0/5.0
This place is just amazing. Our original caterer was already contracted by our venue. Celebrations Catering. It was mediocre in regards to taste but we had no option. 3 wks before our wedding the owner of Celebrations CANCELLED our contract in a hot headed email because we questioned the inconsistency of the contract and increasing prices when we had not changed anything ourselves. We lucked out that Purple Onion had availability and were kind enough to match our pricing so we were not out more money due to this last minute craziness! Joanie was the head coordinator for our event and she was truly amazing to us. She listened to what we wanted and was very quick to get things in line. I believe she went out of her way to coordinate our event with our venue when it was only 3 weeks away.
We had our wedding at a winery and all the food was prepared and named with wines ( Chicken in chardonnay beurre blanc- to die for!; filet with cabernet sauce.. awesome!
Honestly you won't go wrong with this company.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Wow. all I can say is wow. Alison made all my dreams come true.

Let's start at the beginning. River Farm, our venue, gave us a list of wedding caterers to choose from. I contacted 5 or 6 before contacting Purple Onion. The other caterers either blew us off or didn't respond because of budget was too low for them (and believe me, it was pretty high compared to national averages...DC is expensive!)

Alison made us a custom proposal of 3 price ranges so we could choose what we wanted. My family insisted on the cream of the crop so we went with full service everything. We had passed and plated appetizers, plated salad, and family style dinner (which was a HUGE HIT). So many people came up and said it was the best food they've ever had a at a wedding. Here was our menu: hummus bar, lots of little goodies for appetizers (fried mushrooms, goat cheese balls). Salad: watermelon and feta cheese, entrees: goat cheese stuffed salmon and short ribs, pasta, veggies etc.

Purple onion also made our wedding cake - carrot cake and chocolate with raspberry filling.

I can't stress enough how happy we were with the food, but thats just 50% of it. The other 50% was ALISON who made all of my vision come through. From the table settings, to the details like vintage utensils, a shimmery peach table cloth, and the organization of the whole tented dining room. She remembered everything i wanted and just GOT ME. We clicked from the moment we met. She was honestly the only person at the wedding who I didn't have to give strong direction to. She knew what I wanted!!

I'm just so happy and blessed I went with Purple Onion. The servers were professional and FRIENDLY. They brought me snacks and drinks while my husband and I were whisked away to take a thousand pictures (sometimes begrudgingly haha). Seriously, get in touch with Alison, you won't regret it!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
purple onion did the food for my engagement party here in the states. The food and the service was pretty great!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brent
Wedding:
4/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Catering was by far the biggest expense for the wedding, and so we wanted to be sure to go with the right vendor. We were thoroughly pleased to have selected Purple Onion as our caterer. Alison was wonderful to work with, incredibly responsive and accommodating of our requests, and highly organized so we were confident she was on top of it all. She was also great about coming up with creative ideas on presentation for the food. We truly felt that she was willing to work with us to ensure the food at our wedding was reflective of our style and tastes. Their customer service was excellent, which we did not experience with other caterers we reviewed bids from. Although we had coordinated much of the menu and details prior to the wedding, the day of our wedding, we were still pleasantly surprised by the final touches and presentation of it all. Most importantly, their food was delicious, but they also provided top-notch service throughout the evening, making sure we had everything we wanted to take home with us packed up. Highly recommended overall.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
2/2/2013
5.0/5.0
We chose Purple Onion to cater our wedding and everything was so great! We worked with Joanie who helped us every step of the way with planning and coordinating. The Purple Onion staff really went above and beyond our expectations! We were able to deliver a lot of our reception items and decorations ahead of time to their building and they took care of the rest! (Talk about convenient!) The food was fantastic and all of our guests loved it! Joanie planned our menu and came up with some really awesome things that were all a huge hit with our guests. I would highly recommend using Purple Onion for any event! I hope to have a need for catering in the future so I can use them again!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alison
Wedding:
10/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Purple Onion was wonderful and made our day so special. Katy was so pleasant to work with and she really went above and beyond to make our day just perfect!! I work in the industry and come into contact with vendors of all walks of life, Katy and Purple Onion from start to finish were some of the best from my experience!

Katy was organized and has a great eye for decor. That is not my strong point and I explained what I was looking for and it was like Katy read my mind! She even went the extra mile and during our ceremony it began to drizzle, so she helped move our gifts and guest book into the tent, along with help move our Ketubah (jewish wedding contract) so that it wouldn't get ruined!

I cannot say enough nice things about Katy and Purple Onion. Thank you so much!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Johanna
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
I had the pleasure of working with Alison on Melaney and Jon's wedding. Alison was professional working with the client and with me and responded to all of our requests promptly and with a positive attitude. She worked and reworked the menu to stay within the client's budget without batting an eye.

The day of the wedding, both Alison and her staff were on time, professional and accommodating. The food was excellent and service top-notch.
Johanna Goossens
Simplicity Events by Johanna

From my point of view, I was able to talk to Alison during the wedding and she adjusted to any changes easily. It is so important to have a great caterer with a strong leader and Alison definitely rose to the occasion. I so appreciate the job she did to make Melaney and Jon's wedding spectacular.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Purple Onion was a great choice. We had over 5 tastings around the DC metro area and contacted 20 plus caterers for pricing and menu's. In the end it was Joanie w/Purple Onion who proved to be the tie breaker. She brings passion, energy, creativity and knowledge not to mention she stayed w/in budget. A week before the wedding we decided our late night snack of grilled cheese and tomato soup was to warm for August. She quickly switched up to grilled cheese and milk shakes w/a cute straw.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DonnaScott
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Purple Onion was awesome! The food was great, they brought appetizers to us as we took pictures and they were really responsive.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
debbie
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Purple Onion had great food. We had many comments from our guests that it was the best food they had at a wedding.
Services Used: Catering
Bg20
Benedetta
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
I can't recommend Purple Onion highly enough! I used them for my mid-November 2011 wedding and was thrilled with everything. From our first meeting with Bernadette, we knew they were the right choice! She took care of everything, from suggesting an appropriate salad based on our entree choices to taking care of our glassware rental, Bernadette was wonderful. And...the food! Oh, it was absolutely delicious and people are still talking about it. The service was also great and extremely professional.
We also used the Purple Onion for our wedding cake. Many many people stated to me that it was the most delicious wedding cake they had ever tasted...instead of the usual, dry wedding cake, this was moist and just wonderful. Highly recommend!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
130x130_sq_1301174966590-whitehall2
Leigha
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
We worked with Joanie for our wedding reception, and we're so happy we decided to go with Purple Onion. They fit our budget and the food was high quality with great presentation. They were very accommodating, ordering linens from other companies just to see if they'd match our color scheme and letting us do a wine tasting in the week before the wedding. All of our guests enjoyed the meal very much.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lacey
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough about this caterer. The food was absolutely amazing and I felt like our tastes were well represented. Bernadette was more than just a caterer, she was a coordinator and friend. She made sure we were well taken care of and everyone was in the right place at the right time. I had no stress because I knew they would take care of anything and everything. The entire staff was absolutely awesome and attentive to us and our guests. I would 100% recommend Purple Onion for any event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dslominski
Wedding:
11/6/2010
5.0/5.0
We were delighted to have Purple Onion Catering Company provide food for our wedding receptoin. We worked specifically with Joanie Rylander, who was amazing. From our first meeting with her, she is a true professional with great attention to detail. We had a fall theme to our wedding, and Joanie made wonderful suggestions on table linens and china to match our colors as well as designed beautiful fall themed menu cards and table cards with framed leaf cutouts. Whenever I had a question, Joanie was easily reachable via email or telephone. She catered events at the Carnegie Institution before so she was very familiar with the venue and had helpful suggestions for where to place the bar, food, etc. The food was incredible and all of our guests raved about how delicious it was. The staff at Purple Onion was amazing as well. Beacause my husband and I walked around during dinner visiting tables, Purple Onion made sure there were warm plates ready to eat later in the night for us. They packed up all leftovers and made sure each guest had everything he or she needed as far as beverages and food went. We are so thankful to Joanie and Purple Onion for helping make our wedding reception so wonderful.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lukaposh
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
I recently got married and my parents selected the Purple Onion for our wedding. The Purple Onion was fantastic from the beginning, both my husband and I attended a taste testing and the food was amazing. Bernadette Mimna was wonderful in working with both my husband and I, as well as my parents to ensure everyone was happy. The wedding itself was fantastic from the cocktail hour to the reception. The food was amazing and everything was served on time. All my guests told me after how wondeful the food was. I would highly recommend the Purple Onion to other couples, or to anyone needing a catered event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
G & Laura
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
We don't know where to begin with the good things to say about this company. From the frequent comments from our guests: "This is the best food that I've ever had at a wedding." to Bernadette's professionalism, flexibility, and caring. We will recommonded Purple Onion without hesitation (and without even being asked) to any of our friends in the future.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
4/3/2010
5.0/5.0
We used Purple Onion Catering for our Wedding April 3, 2010 at The Atrium at Meadowlark Gardens... They are AMAZING! Bernadette is awesome she made the entire process a breeze! The food is delicious, the staff is on point and if I had to do it again I would not change a thing!

While getting our pictures taken one of our guests (my husband's grandmother) fell and hit her head. The staff of the Purple Onion where quick to react and had the situation under control in no time ..certainly not the responsibility of a caterer but it made the night run smoothly. A few stitches later Grammy is doing just fine and our wedding was everything we dreamed of.

I definitely recommend The Purple Onion Catering Company!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1234287574390-p8100033
Rachary
Wedding:
3/20/2010
5.0/5.0
LOVE. I am so happy we found the Purple Onion (thank you WeddingWire!). We found them way back in the early planning, before we had found our venue - when Bernadette heard what type of wedding we wanted to have, she suggested Old Town Hall, in Fairfax. I had not discovered it in any of my venue searches - and it was perfect!! That was the first of many pieces of great advice she gave us along the way. One of the many great things about this company: they tell you right up front how much they're going to charge for everything! I was so tired of getting quotes from caterers with a per-person cost and then an asterisk saying "does not include service, equipment, etc etc" and it was like pulling teeth getting them to elaborate. I asked Bernadette for a quote and she showed me everything, including service, rentals and taxes. <3 <3 Such a relief for those of us on a tight budget, planning these things on our own! She also answered all my million questions over the course of the year, and kept me at ease the whole time. Jennifer was the lead staff person on site and she was fabulous also. Set-up and break-down were a breeze, and they helped my sister set up her homemade wedding cake. Everyone raved about the food. We even went for one of their simpler buffet menus to save money, but they did not skimp on quality! Everything was delicious. All of their staff was absolutely wonderful and friendly and helpful. From the limited exposure I've had to other catering companies, I think the Purple Onion has got to be the best value in the region. The customer service alone is worth it, and then on top of that, the food (you know, the important part) is excellent. Thank you Bernadette & Jennifer for making our wedding so amazing. <3
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrsdeaton
Wedding:
9/25/2009
5.0/5.0
We worked with Bernadette at Purple Onion, and the experience was fantastic. I never felt stress during my wedding planning because Bernadette had answers to all of my questions, and was fabulous to work with! My wedding day was FLAWLESS because of Bernadette and her crew. She even went so far as to help my family members during the wedding reception. One of the children at the wedding did not like sauce, and she noticed a face he made, rushed over, and quickly had a plate made for him without sauce.

Bernadette was the reason my wedding was perfect. She worked with my venue, my difficult mother, my husband and myself so well and knew exactly what to do at every turn. The food was AMAZING! Everyone commented on the chicken Roullade being delicious. We also did a few tables- a bruschetta buffet and a chocolate fondue, and when her team switched out from one thing to another, I didn't even notice. Her team was so professional, and polite. They actually seemed happy to be at the wedding! The little things mattered to Bernadette as much as they did to me. She brought me drinks in the bridal room when I was getting ready, made sure my groom and I got our own plate of passed appetizers we had missed, kept us on schedule, and made my wedding perfect

Without a doubt, I would use and recommend Bernadette Mimna and Purple Onion Catering.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
selmie26
Wedding:
9/5/2009
5.0/5.0
We worked with Bernadette Mimna at the Purple Onion Catering Company to cater September our wedding at Collingwood. Bernadette was an absolute pleasure to work with and was very helpful and responsive through the whole process. We have had so many people tell us this was the best food they had ever had at a wedding! Most of our guests are from NC and we wanted to offer a southern menu and she worked with us to achieve the perfect menu. We served Shrimp and Grits, NC Style BBQ (which is pretty hard to achieve when you aren't in NC) and a vegetarian dish. They also served 4 passed appetizers as well as a crab dip and an assortment of fancy cheese.

We talked with several other caterers before finding Purple Onion and some caterers told me they could not work within our budget. Bernadette easily worked within our budget and was able to go above and beyond what we ever expected.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melmel
Wedding:
4/18/2009
5.0/5.0
Purple Onion is friendly and fun. They also donate all leftover food to local shelters.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shelberry
Wedding:
10/11/2008
5.0/5.0
Loved working with Margot. She has been in the business a long time and it is obvious. She has a very outgoing personality and has a great sense of what you do and don't like. Never did I feel like she was pushing me towards one thing or another. She helps to construct exactly what you want and she does it seamlessly. She is so professional and the food was delicious. I highly recommend Purple Onion without reservation!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
11/17/2007
5.0/5.0
We were very happy with Margot's work and we received many compliments about the food. She was easy to work with and helped us to plan the meal and schedule of the whole reception. She worked within our budget and was friendly and flexible. I would highly recommend the Purple Onion.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jane
Wedding:
6/28/2014
4.9/5.0
I absolutely LOVED the food/service/decor that Purple Onion provided us! The linens/china selections were everything I was looking for and exactly how I imagined it!! Food was amazing from appetizers to the entrees! On the day of, they put that extra touch on everything to make sure it all came together. The staff on the day of was AMAZING, they made sure we were fed during our hectic schedule! I could not have asked for a better caterer!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Antonia
Wedding:
8/28/2011
4.9/5.0
Purple Onion catered our wedding and we couldn't have been happier with them. Everything was lovely. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. We got tons of complements on it. We were able to choose a seasonal menu which was our goal and really felt that it reflected us.

They were very flexible! I changed menu options and linens several times without the slightest complaint. Bernadette Peters who was our contact was very generous with her time, answering tons of emails and last minute therapist as we got married the day after Hurricane Irene hit the area. I would recommend them highly.
Services Used: Catering
Bg21
Alex
Wedding:
10/9/2010
4.9/5.0
I have to say, I didn't care too much about the food for my wedding until my parents chose Purple Onion as our caterer. Their food is *amazing*. Bernadette was so accommodating with tastings - since my husband and I were trying to help plan from out of town, we were in town for two days once and she pulled together some of the most spectacular food I've ever had in just a few hours. She's the definition of a pro. She had everything under control from the get-go, and she did a seamless job meeting everyone's - mine and my parents' - needs and requests. She made it so that once she got any necessary information from us, we didn't have to worry about a thing and could just let her take care of business. (Of course, it's hard not to worry about nit-picky things last-minute, but Bernadette was totally flexible and accommodating of our last-minute changes.) Purple Onion is the best you can get for quality of food and service. We were between Purple Onion and a good but less expensive caterer, but it was worth every penny knowing that everything would be top-notch and we could (and should) completely trust Bernadette with everything.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1287277063399-thomasbirkbyhouse7
bashfulle
Wedding:
10/8/2010
4.9/5.0
I can't say enough about how great Bernadette and Purple Onion were. Their staff and service is amazing. The food was amazing, the table settings were perfect, and their support and advice through the planning process were great.

Purple Onion came recommended by my venue, and I never once regretted signing them. I did tastings with 2 other caterers and selected Purple Onion because their food by far was above and beyond the others (one "highly recommended" caterers food I would not have fed to my dog) in their price category.

Bernadette promised me during our tasting that no bride of hers had ever not eaten... and she was right! She made sure we had plenty of food throughout the evening.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rita
Wedding:
5/29/2010
4.9/5.0
We used Purple Onion catering for our rehearsal dinner, and were so pleased with the results! Joanie was great to work with, ensuring that the invoice was accurate, and that we were all on the same page. She even came that night to introduce herself and get us all set up.
The food was delicious and elegantly set up. We used them for the plates, flatware and glasses, and it was so simple! Everyone had seconds and thirds, and the wine and beer went perfect with the meal.
The bartender and server were helpful and unobtrusive. They cleaned everything up at the end of the night, and even bagged any leftover food for us to eat.
They made everything so easy, and we plan to use them again for future events.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nathaniel
Wedding:
10/5/2013
4.8/5.0
I have to be honest communication with our point of contact was at times a little slow but besides that they were wonderful. We are both foodies. We met in a restaurant where I am now a senior manager. Over half of our guest were restaurant folk including an executive chef and a food and beverage director for a major university and every single one of them RAVED about the food. The menu they put together for us was perfect and reflected our different backgrounds and embraced our new lives together. My only true regret is that I didn't get to eat more of the food.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
The Purple Onion prepared delicious, up-scale southern food for our wedding. Several of our guests commented that it was the best "wedding food" they had ever eaten! This was particularly impressive since the food was prepared in a horse barn with no real kitchen. The service was also flawless. I would definitely recommend this caterer to others.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
11/10/2012
4.8/5.0
Purple Onion was amazing! We worked with Katy and she was extremely helpful, had great ideas, and worked with our budget!

On our wedding day, the Purple Onion staff was awesome! They were always right there to make sure we had a drink or to see if we needed anything. They were on top of everything on our wedding day and it made me relax and enjoy the night.

They also packed up all of extra decor and details, which was really helpful at the end of the night. Everything was set up wonderfully and I would definitely recommend this company! Their food is awesome and I think they have a lot to offer compared to some of the larger companies in the area.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marian
Wedding:
9/24/2011
4.7/5.0
servers were pleasant and helpful. food was excellent for both the rehearsal dinner and the wedding reception. I would recommend them to anyone planning an event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
I had nothing but a great experience with Purple Onion. They were the best quality, at the most reasonable price. The coordinator we worked with , Allison, was wonderfully flexible, super professional, and I could not have been happier with the service received!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alicia
Wedding:
9/7/2013
4.5/5.0
We hired Purple Onion on recommendation from our wedding planner and they were the best choice. The food was so good and we heard by many of our guests that they loved the food too. Joanie was so helpful and had such great ideas. She pulled our wedding together and made it look amazing. The food not only tasted really good but looked amazing. And our wedding turned out to be exactly what we wanted and a good part of that was because of Joanie and Purple Onion. Also, a shout out to Paige who was also very helpful and was so nice and professional. I put my trust in Purple Onion and they delivered.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allthebest
Wedding:
5/26/2012
4.5/5.0
Purple Onion did a great job for our wedding. Their prices are on the high side (but not extraordinarily so), but the food is really, really good - so for me, it was worth it. Our guests were very happy as well. They were quite responsive throughout the planning process and flexible to our needs (eg, my fiance has a dairy allergy). A few details were missed which impacts the professionalism score (eg, they did not mix one of our drinks correctly, and then when I said something insisted they never received the recipe although I sent it twice including once that same week), but overall I am happy I went with them.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/5/2013
4.4/5.0
The food Purple Onion provided for our wedding was fantastic. Our friends and family have told us many times how great the food was. They were great at coming up with a concept for us and setting up the flow of things at our venue where we couldn't get everyone seated in one room.

The only issues we had with them was that our point of contact was slow to respond to our emails. After we did our final walk through a month before the wedding we did not receive our bill until the week of the wedding.
Services Used: Catering
Purple Onion Catering Company responded with the following comments:

You have spoken and we have listened! Because of the unprecedented growth this past wedding season we were not able to keep up with all of the requests coming our way. We have added assistants for our talented event designers in the hopes of keeping up with this fast paced business. We will, of course, continue to provide the excellent food and innovative presentations at all of our events.
130x130_sq_1349468608971-fbavatar2696305
Emily
Wedding:
8/4/2012
4.4/5.0
The food was absolutely amazing! We got so many wonderful compliments from our guests. It was a little frustrating because I had to work with so many different people after my original contact left the company. Joanie seemed a little overbooked with 3 weddings on the same day, but things turned out okay. There were a couple things that went awry, like not passing out champagne for a toast and telling guests we were out of a wine when we weren't. All in all, I was satisfied but not ecstatic with the catering.

The cake was amazing and they were very good about working with me and my ever-changing cake ideas. The only problem was that not all of my guests got either cake or a cake pop. Sadly, the only cake-related thing I got at my wedding was the cake that went up my nose after we cut it. Perhaps the cake was just too delicious because we ran out before I even got back from washing the cake out of my nose.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Victoria
Wedding:
7/14/2007
4.3/5.0
Purple Onion was a very good caterer. The food was excellent. The only drawback was that it was sometimes difficult to get in touch with them to work out details. The staff was very professional.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/19/2013
4.2/5.0
Purple Onion had EXCELLENT food - our guests could not say enough great things about the food and decor. Our event coordinator was very nice and creative - she was flexible to meet with and had great ideas to share. Sometimes it was difficult to get a response back during the busy wedding season, but ultimately, we had everything we needed and the event was a huge success. The cost of service was very high (but on par with other similar vendors). Overall, a great experience; we just wish the cost had been a bit less.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.2/5.0
Purple Onion was solid for our wedding. The food was great, and everything from the tent to the silverware looked awesome. At times it was difficult to get an answer to questions or updated price quotes, which could be frustrating at times, but in the end everything turned out beautifully. It was also very convenient to have a one stop shop for everything you could ever need to put a wedding together, which also means you have one point of contact for all the various moving parts. It is almost like getting a pseudo-wedding planner as well as a caterer.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary Kate
Wedding:
2/23/2013
4.0/5.0
Food was delicious and they made special arrangements for allergenic needs. Communication was thorough and the end result was well with-in my original vision. A little bit pricey for the budget-mindful bride, but worth it in the end.
Services Used: Catering
Default
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.7/5.0
The food was perfect, hot, timely, plenty. They will let you bring your own alcohol and work with you on any outside the box ideas (e.g. we traded the wedding cake for an ice cream bar). Communication though needs to be improved. Sometimes it took weeks for my contact person to get back to me after multiple phone calls and emails. For the modern bride definitely not workable, was getting really nervous toward the end when our contact would not return any calls or emails.
Services Used: Catering
Purple Onion Catering Company responded with the following comments:

You have spoken and we have listened! Because of the unprecedented growth this past wedding season we were not able to keep up with all of the requests coming our way. We have added assistants for our talented event designers in the hopes of keeping up with this fast paced business. We will, of course, continue to provide the excellent food and innovative presentations at all of our events.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natasha
Wedding:
6/7/2014
3.5/5.0
The food is fantastic, but the management seems to over promise and under deliver. We asked that an hors d'oeuvre try be left for the bridal party and they assured us it would happen...then comes wedding day and our entire bridal party arrives famished and there's nothing left for us to snack on. During dinner, one of the waiters said there were no champagne flutes...and then after the bride pulled out the contract on her phone they suddenly magically discovered that there were in fact flutes. Another disappointment was that they lost the grooms parents champagne glasses that they used for their wedding. I would recommend them for their food- but be very, very, very specific about logistics because they do not excel at this.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
C
Wedding:
4/8/2011
3.4/5.0
Let me be clear-the FOOD created by the Purple Onion Catering Company is incredible. That cannot be disputed. We looked at about 4 caterers and Purple Onion's food was miles beyond the rest. That being said, we found Joanie a challenge to work with. We did not feel like valued clients. We felt like an afterthought. Having incredible food was important to us, and we feel like we sacrificed customer service for good food. Joanie was verbally abusive to the catering staff in front of our guests, which was uncalled for and inappropriate, considering the catering staff did an AMAZING job. Joanie even put our coordinator to work setting up the recpetion area, so she was unable to do her job as a coordinator. There were also last minute cost additions that should have been flagged and discussed earlier. All in all I would still highly recommend the Purple Onion for their food and service quality, but would recommend a different catering coordinator/manager.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maurice
Wedding:
4/27/2013
1.8/5.0
Pros:
-Professional wait staff - treated everyone wonderfully

Cons:
-Bill continued to change after signing contract
-Poor communication - Prior to signing contract, responses were prompt
-Unprofessional management - owner became upset after being notified, in a professional email, that we were not happy with the service

We were pleased with the wait staff, the food and presentation on our big day. Due to our overall experience; however, we are unable to provide a favorable review for the full service received.
After meeting our contact, Alison, we worked on the proposal and she seemed to understand our desires. Once we signed the contract, communication became sporadic. Then there was an attempt to add 2 more staff and a rental increase on the 'final bill' (adding over $1K), 2 weeks before the event. It took several conversations to adjust the bill. In the end, the attendees on the invoice decreased, but the bill increased! Monday after our wedding we were told that we would be charged over $100 more because the staff stayed over 15 mins (which we were unaware of, and did not agree to).
We spoke to one of the owners, Margot Jones. She found that we were charged twice for a delivery. We were refunded the overcharged portion, but were never provided an itemized list of equipment charges, nor offered any form of apology.
At the end of the conversation, Margot changed. She said that we threatened her (by sending an email stating that we wanted to discuss our issues before posting a review). She made no concessions on the bill and condescendingly added that we were a 'young couple' and should have more compliments for our contact.
We certainly are not the only couple that feels, after spending over $10K for services, you should be afforded a modicum of respect if you have any issues. Margot Jones and Purple Onion appear to disagree. We encourage you to look elsewhere if you want your catering experience to be better than what was just described.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Didier
Wedding:
6/1/2013
1.2/5.0
By far the most unprofessional, and worst vendor I have ever had the horror of dealing with. No notes were taken during our tasting, so none of the requests we made were taken into consideration. The food was cold for the head two table and ours. The staff was RUDE! 10% of my guests told me they were treated poorly (without me asking) the list goes on and on. I wouldn't recommend this company to my worst enemy!!
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
416 Maple Ave., West, Vienna, VA 22180 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Purple Onion Catering Company
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1378846331142-purpleonion