130x130_sq_1366128001801-civic-center-interior

Rachel D. Murrah Civic Center of Winter Park

Winter Park , FL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1050 West Morse Boulevard
Winter Park, FL US 32789 (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Rachel D. Murrah Civic Center is one of Central Florida's most popular wedding and reception venues. A gorgeous lakefront location is perfect for wedding ceremonies with the... Read more
The Rachel D. Murrah Civic Center is one of Central Florida's most popular wedding and reception venues. A gorgeous lakefront location is perfect for wedding ceremonies with the reception hall right inside that features a beautiful 35' teak cathedral ceiling. Bring in your favorite caterer. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1366127579644-civic-center-interior
130x130_sq_1366127651724-outdoorwedding1
130x130_sq_1366127919970-civic-center-1

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1329775650718-boo
Jennifer
Wedding:
11/9/2013
4.0/5.0
I was completely sold on this venue the second I saw the patio and arch. The arch is beautiful and the greenery that's behind it is lush (at least during November). On the day of, the staff had the tables set up and ready for the planners to work on. Anytime we had questions or needed advice, we could always get in touch with someone. They actually returned our calls if we left a voicemail! For the most part, they were professional with us (the booking/office staff was wonderful). If you're on a budget, this place is a score. It's in the heart of Winter Park and a great value to rent. There are extra rooms that you can also rent out that they let us use for free (just for getting ready and storage) which was very nice of them. Where they lack the most was in flexibility. You cannot pay extra to get in earlier on the day of and you have A LOT of strict rules that you have to follow. If you do book this venue, I recommend you look at their rules & regulations before you start deciding on decor. It could use a good updating, but if you have enough up lighting and fun decor, it hides the aged interior. For the most part, this was a great venue!
**I would suggest that the Rachel D. Murrah Civic Center provide renters with a guide that provides us with more information on what we can and can't do (almost like Q&A for renters). We had to constantly ask questions about what we could and could not do.**
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
We had our ceremony and reception at the Winter Park Civic Center and I was very pleased with this venue! I heard about it from a friend and I just loved the lake and park outside for a ceremony back drop. When you go and visit the venue, the reception room may not look as stunning as some - but trust me, once you get your linens and lighting and decor in there it looks just as amazing as venues with twice it's pricetag. Janet, my POC, was always SO quick to reply to my emails and questions - she was very helpful.

The other thing that we loved about the Civic Center is that you can bring your own alcohol in which cuts down drastically on your costs... you can always choose any vendors you want instead of being forced to choose from a preferred list. When you rent the Civic Center for your wedding - it is your venue from 11am to midnight with no other events going on there that day.

I am thrilled we decided to go with the Civic Center as our venue - it looked absolutely beautiful and was a great choice for brides who like flexibility.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AnnMarie
Wedding:
6/23/2013
5.0/5.0
This venue is such a good price and so beautiful. We chose to have both our ceremony and reception here and I absolutely loved how it turned out. The space is so pretty that there is hardly any need to do a ton of decorating. The park is great for kids to play outside and the patio is a great place to take photos of the family. Cindy Giles, the chief of Recreation Facilities, was extremely communicative and very prompt with questions. We were planning the wedding from Minnesota so it was such a blessing to have her answer so quickly to all my emails. She sent me photos of what the patio looked like when there were changes and made sure that I had everything I needed. I felt so taken care of! If you're looking for a beautiful reception or ceremony for a great price, please consider the Winter Park Civic Center!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
6/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Out of all of the venues we considered for our wedding, we chose the Winter Park Civic Center (WPCC). We loved the look of both the inside and outside spaces; we ended up using the outside terrace area for our ceremony and the main ballroom plus rooms D & E for our reception (we fit about 150 people plus a dance floor, the buffet tables, and a bar in the space). The ballroom has gorgeous vaulted ceilings and seemed very roomy because of it. Our contacts at the WPCC were Cindy and Janet, who were accommodating and pleasant to work with. We also chose the WPCC because of the flexibility they allowed us in choosing our own caterer, DJ, and other vendors.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joe
Wedding:
3/30/2013
5.0/5.0
We loved our wedding here. We had the ceremony at the bridge, and the reception inside. Luckily it was a great day out, but if it did rain, they would have done the ceremony inside as a back up plan. Everyone had a great time, the place looked beutiful and it was great having the ceremony and reception at the same place. You should at least go look at it if you're still hunting.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.0/5.0
Cindy was very helpful. This is a great all in one venue, especially if you are looking for a blank slate to make your own.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1325894270195-meandtip
tiffanie
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
If you live in the central fl area...HAVE YOUR WEDDING HERE!! I had previously reserved Mead Gardens...but after seeing th WPCC i was sold it had everything you need for your ceremony and reception. they provided and set up the white ceremony chairs outside in the back either on the patio, under tree or in front of bridge. we had our ceremony in front of the bridge the lake is a beautiful back drop for the pictures. Cindy and JR are fantastic i think i emailed Cindy everyday lol but she responded to every single question i had. even if it had nothing to do with the place itself. she helped with my floorplan and she reassured me everything will be fine!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ellen
Wedding:
7/21/2012
4.8/5.0
Love love love this place! The staff was great, the venue was beautiful. I got married in July outside under that beautiful tree and it was amazing my friends thought it was a bad idea because it would've been hot, but the wind and rain gods were with me that day. It was a picture prefect day. The tree made for nice picture and because it was so beautiful it really didn't need much decorations.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aryana
Wedding:
6/9/2012
4.9/5.0
Cindy, the coordinator here is very helpful and responsive. Everyone was very helpful, and very attentive! The only problem I had was, there were a few items accidentally left at the venue after my wedding was over, and I felt as though someone could have called to let me know they found my/my family's belongings that were left behind. I mean, as much as we paid for the venue, that's the least they could do, right?
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
What a great venue! I can't begin to express how wonderful it was for the wedding I wanted. When my now-husband and I first started wedding planning, we saw many lovely venues in Orlando but they all had different restrictions, for example, some venues were only open till 10 and some venues only let you use their preferred caterers. The Winter Park Civic Center was like a blank canvas. They let us reserve the date we wanted, let us have the building on our date from 11 am till midnight, and let us have any caterer or service we wanted! They had all the furniture for the room and had it set the night before the wedding so it was ready on the day of. They had little to no restrictions. Another plus about them is that the space can accommodate up to 250 people and it is gorgeous! We got married at the foot of the bridge, had our cocktail hour under the lovely terrace, and then moved inside for the reception! The space was amazing! If I had to go back and do my wedding over, I would still choose the Winter Park Civic Center in a heartbeat! :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kenny/Darbie
Wedding:
5/19/2012
4.0/5.0
I absolutely loved the Civic Center, I only wished for the price we paid that we could have used the entire building. At the Lake Mary Events Center I could have used the entire space for the same amount of money but I truly loved the W.P. Civic Center, it has such an elegant yet calming atmosphere to it and it has a goreous spanish style patio with a great view of the lake. I was extremely happy with the Civic Center.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lily_chaste
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
There is a lot to say about one's venue. We spent a very long time deciding on where to go for our special day. At the end of the day, we did have a budget to follow and the Winter Park Civic Center offered everything we needed and then some. Not to mention, only allows ONE wedding to go at a time, leaving your wedding to be THE top priority for the day. We were beyond accomodated when it came to picking who we wanted to cater our food, take our photos, and DJ our wedding. The flexibility of who we could use is what really sold us. The center is a blank slate. Room to decorate ANY way you like with very little restrictions. The grounds had places for photo op moments and defnitely gave the outdoor feeling we desperately needed. It was just perfect to get married outside underneath the big Oak tree. All while keeping the indoor reception cool and inviting. The staff were very pleasant. They were available on the wedding day to assist in set up & break down of tables & chairs. The place fit 150 comfortably, with plenty of room for more. It was a great place to host a wedding. Close proximity for most guests with plenty of parking and spacious grounds. Lovely choice.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Winter Park Civic Center was the perfect place to get married. We searched and met with several venues and no one could compare in price, flexibility or visually. This venue allows you to pick whatever vendors you choose to work with. The best thing was they have a ceremony location so it made it easy for guests to not have to travel between venues. Also, they gave us ample time to set up and take down. Our pictures are gorgeous. I couldn't have asked for more!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TheNewMrsDobson
Wedding:
7/17/2011
5.0/5.0
If you're a bride that wants her wedding ceremony and reception in the same place, you're smart ;). I always hate traveling between sites, and so being able to keep my guests in one place was a MUST for me. The WPCC is on a beautiful park, but since we had a JULY wedding (muy caliente!) we needed a large, cool space for guests. We loved the look and the accessibility of the WPCC. It has ample parking and space to hang out. The main room was plenty of space for 100 seated guests, three buffet tables, the DJ, and a photo booth. They had a piano in the lobby, so we had a pianist playing as guests arrived. I see that some reviews mention responsiveness was a problem. It wasn't for me, but I would always call during business hours, or leave a message. Cindy even called me the week of the ceremony to go over our information. They have a nice site map that you fill out so that the tables and chairs (inside and outside) are in place by the time your vendors arrive. GREAT VENUE!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
GatorGirl22
Wedding:
3/5/2011
5.0/5.0
The venue was perfect! The outdoor area provided great scenery for pictures! We had approximately 250 people and the venue worked perfectly! The staff was super friendly and helpful throughout the entire process!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1274884746742-engaged2
ickie_gnats03
Wedding:
7/24/2010
4.9/5.0
This venue is wonderful. Cindy and her staff are absolutely the sweetest people you will ever meet! They were so accomidateing to all the questions I had throughout the planning process not to mention they helped set up and clean up at the end of the night so that my family could get home. They even sprayed for ants the night before to make sure the guests attending the wedding would not have any problems, you just cant beat the views of the building either!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ASAARI
Wedding:
5/8/2010
5.0/5.0
We loved having our reception at the Winter Park Civic Center! Our guests were able to go from the beautiful outdoors to the inside. We were able to use whoever we wanted as vendors! I highly recommend using them for your venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jennsjj
Wedding:
3/7/2010
5.0/5.0
We chose the WPCC because we wanted to have an outdoor ceremony with an indoor reception-at the same location. We were also working with a wedding planner and catering company, so we had to find a place that let YOU choose the caterer. Pictures were also very important to me and I wanted to have a nice back drop. The wooden bridge (which was being closed for repair the day after our wedding), lake, and park definitely provided that. The patio where we got married was open but was shaded so it wasn't too hot. We added candles on the surrounding ledges and twinkle lights in the trees, it was just beautiful. The reception hall was also very pretty with large windows opening up to the lake. If you do choose to have a ceremony outside just be aware that it is a public park so there will be other people around (although they generally kept their distance when they saw there was a wedding taking place). They are also a little picky about your exit, you are not allowed to use sparklers or bird seed and you are pretty much limited to bubbles. They have a nice hotel literally next door, which is great for your first night. Overall, our experience with the civic center was great.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jennifer
Wedding:
10/10/2009
3.8/5.0
The venue was so beautiful and had a great outdoor area. It's a little difficult to get questions answered but when all was said and done, they did a good job making our reception site look great.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amberahrens
Wedding:
7/19/2009
5.0/5.0
The Farmers Market was beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
5/9/2009
5.0/5.0
I wish I could give more stars for flexibility! We chose WPCC not only because it's in a lovely location on the sinkhole lakes, but also because we could do just about ANYTHING there!! :) We wanted candles on the tables...OK! We wanted hookah pipes outside...OK! Any caterer, any band, any florist...love it. We draped the walls with white fabric, changed the lighting...but it's such a great space, it's like a blank palette. You can do anything with it! I loved working with everyone there, too. So friendly, and so nice. Such a wonderful experience. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg11
Brigitte
Wedding:
3/29/2009
5.0/5.0
The Civic Center staff were so very helpful and accommodating right from the very beginning. They offered suggestions on ceremony and reception set up, provided chairs and tables for the reception as well as for the outside ceremony. On the wedding day, we had rain in the morning but everything cleared and we were able to have the 3:00 ceremony outside as we intended. The staff responded to our every request promptly and quickly. We received many comments on the beautiful interior and exterior. We highly recommend this venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The staff at the Winter Park Civic Center were extremely helpful. They allowed us to see the venue with different vendors several times throughout at the year as we were planning our wedding. They provided tables and chairs for both the outside ceremony and indoor reception, set up for the event, and provided dressing rooms for the bridal party. There was also a large kitchen for the caterer to use. I was very pleased with their service.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
1050 West Morse Boulevard, Winter Park, FL 32789 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Rachel D. Murrah Civic Center of Winter Park
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1366128001801-civic-center-interior