130x130_sq_1302112708053-ralphie20111

Ralph Alswang Photography

Washington , DC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Washington, DC US (map)

PHONE

202-487-5025

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

One of Nations premiere photographers and a veteran of photography for nearly 20 years, Ralph Alswang worked for Newsweek, Reuters, and, for eight years, at the White House under Bill... Read more
One of Nations premiere photographers and a veteran of photography for nearly 20 years, Ralph Alswang worked for Newsweek, Reuters, and, for eight years, at the White House under Bill Clinton as the President and First Lady’s official documentary photographer. This job took him to every state in the Union and to more than 60 countries, where he captured history as it was unfolding. He has photographed hundreds of celebrated people and events. Along with this extraordinary background, Ralph brings his passion and energy to every wedding he photographs. “I cover it as a story,” he says. “Every couple is unique and so is their wedding. It is an incredible honor and privilege to witness the official start of their lives together.” It is this connection to his work and to the people he photographs that gives Ralph’s work its emotional impact. “My pictures are about the moments that you want to experience for the rest of your life,” he says. The result is a generational document that will become even more meaningful over time. As one bride said about Ralph’s work, “He has an exceptional eye for the perfect moment and you never even knew that he was there to capture it.” Read less
Photography

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, High Resolution Images, Proof CD of All Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Ralph was awesome! Very easy to work with and the pictures look incredible!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emmy
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
Ralph was incredible! He kept us laughing the entire day, which made the smiles in our pictures look so natural. After agonizing over every detail of planning our wedding, I was so busy that day I barely noticed any of it, but the pictures are forever. Ralph captured all of those little details for us and now we have absolutely gorgeous photos to treasure and look at over and over again. He's a genius!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Ralph is the best. From the moment we met him 2 years before our wedding, through engagement pictures, and finally at our wedding, he made every step of the process fun, easy, and beautiful. He is beyond gifted with a camera - the pictures are proof of that. His genuine kindness, great attitude, and easy-goingness make him stand out from "just another great photographer". I can't thank him and his team enough for the beautiful memories of our special day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Guy
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Not only did Ralph produce some terrific photographs for our wedding, he was incredibly easy to work with. He was constantly present, great with all of our guests, and got the shots we most wanted. I would definitely recommend him.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Peter
Wedding:
9/21/2013
4.4/5.0
Ralph didn't just take photos - he brought value beyond his camera to the event. He followed the action, got photos of everyone at the party, and integrated himself into the groups nicely. He would make people feel comfortable with him, get them to laugh and smile, and get the shot he wanted without inconveniencing anyone involved. Before we knew it, Ralph was teaching us how to eat lobster, capture the golden hour of sun on our faces, and make our event look as special as it felt. It was certainly great to have him there for the additional rehearsal dinner as we got even more photos of the guests we loved and he got to know everyone even better, having spent another night with the group. We were very comfortable with Ralph and appreciated the candid/photojournalism style that he captured throughout our wedding weekend. andreapluspeter.com
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The photos Ralph took at the wedding were fantastic. He was wonderful to work with. And we received the photos very quickly. He did a wonderful job in capturing the feeling of the wedding and capturing special moments. We highly recommend him.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Ralph is amazing. He has a warm and genuine manner and the images he captures are magic. I would recommend Ralph to anyone.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Can we give more than 5 stars? We would recommend Ralph in a heartbeat, and would absolutely use him again if we had an occasion! Ralph was so easy to work with, and he made the day so much fun! My husband did not love the idea of a photographer, so I was a little bit anxious. I did not want a photographer who was going to be tweaking tiny details and posing us to make our photos look like a wedding fairytale. Within 10 seconds of meeting Ralph, I knew he was perfect. Not only is he extremely talented and has all sorts of credentials and experience, but he is someone you want to be around. And he makes you laugh! The photographs during and after the ceremony were one of the most fun parts of the day! Seriously. I would do it all over again. Ralph had everybody in such high spirits. He even charmed our dog into posing and looking happy for the camera, to say nothing of everyone else! And we got both a DVD and access to a website very quickly after our wedding. He captured the evening so perfectly-- the portraits and the family photos are beautiful and happy. The ceremony is so emotional and full of joy. And photos of the reception and the dancing make me smile every time I look at them-- they ooze fun! Ralph was so flexible and worked with our schedule and budget. And we cannot thank him enough. Even my husband would agree!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
9/29/2012
4.8/5.0
My husband and I absolutely love Ralph Alswang. He is so easy to work with, totally knows what he is doing, and really puts everyone at ease. Our pictures are FANTASTIC and we had all of the edited pictures (like 1700 of them!) before we even got back from our honeymoon. Ralph was really fun on the day of the wedding and made everyone feel comfortable, which gave us a ton of great pictures where everyone clearly looked at ease. We also did an engagement shoot with him, where he went around with us to our favorite spots in our neighborhood - and took pictures with our new puppy too! He can be a bit slow at responding to emails, but it's definitely worth it. Ralph is awesome! I can't wait to force him to take pictures of us in the future. :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SCOTT
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Just awesome. Ralph is that rare combo of style and substance. He shot our wedding and I could not have hoped for better pictures or a better experience. He's a true artist and I can't recommend him highly enough.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Ralph is the best! he did an amazing job encapsulating every moment and truly capturing the fun spirit of the day. we had the best time working with him and LOVE the photographs he took!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1332432579316-fbavatar2345116
Morgan
Wedding:
3/3/2012
5.0/5.0
If a picture is worth a thousand words, Ralph's photos are worth double that. He is simply the best. Ralph photographed our engagement and our wedding, and not only did he capture the most beautiful pictures, he did it with a sense of humor that instantly put me (and the guests at my wedding) at ease. He is a consummate professional who can both roll with the punches but also take charge when you need him to. In short, there is nobody I'd trust more to photograph my special day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jane
Wedding:
12/31/2011
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about Ralph. EVERYONE who met him loved him and he made the wedding process so seemless. I was so thankful to have him a part of my wedding weekend. I would give him ten stars if I could!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HeatherandRob
Wedding:
12/27/2011
5.0/5.0
We had a fabulous experience using Ralph for our wedding photos! His professional excellence is really at the highest levels, I felt totally confident going into it that someone who was a longtime White House photographer would be able to handle any event. The photos that came out of it were even better than I imagined, Ralph is able to capture moments that you don't even realize are happening at the time!
Equally as important though is that with Ralph you are getting someone fun, patient, and personable, so you have the added bonus of having someone at your wedding who is just great to be around. He knows how to put everyone at ease and get the smiles & laughter going from the most nervous of guests.
This is the photographer you want for any occasion! Thank you Ralph for documenting one of the most special days of our life!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sma43
Wedding:
12/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Ralph was a wonderful photographer for our wedding, a sentiment shared by our friends and families as well. He was very quick while also being comprehensive, which we valued amongst all the frenzy of the wedding day. Ralph is also very funny, a necessary trait to keep us really smiling through so many photos. He captured stunning shots during our ceremony despite the low light, and he was very present to get dozens of fun dancing photos. We received our disc and online link days after the wedding, along with a slideshow to share immediately with family and friends.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NatsBride
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
Ralph just gets 5s, just because there is no option to give him 10s!!!! Ralph's resume is outstanding, and his portfolio is gorgeous, but best of all, he is a dream to work with - he's professional, hilarious, relaxed, calm, and completely serious about his work, all at the same time. He was able to adapt on the fly to the weird things that happened to us (don't sweat that stuff, by the way), and produce amazing pictures of our ceremony and reception that were beautiful and honest, all at once. And by the way, his rates were completely reasonable, especially considering his amazing skills and experience. As we told him, after looking at his dazzling work on our wedding, choosing to hire him was the easiest decision we made - after deciding to get married, of course!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
9/24/2011
0.4/5.0
I would not recommend Ralph Alswang for a wedding photographer. We had such a terrible experience with him--we were almost reduced to taking legal action. After the wedding, he continued to put off his promised deadline for delivery of our photos, until finally he simply ceased communication. After several weeks of ignored emails, voicemails, and other methods of communication, we got a sketchy excuse for why the photos were late and why a significant portion of them were completely missing. My memory of our wedding will be forever tainted.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Linda
Wedding:
9/24/2011
0.5/5.0
We cannot recommend Ralph Alswang as a wedding photographer. While he did a great job on the engagement photos, it took a while to actually get copies. But the real story is the wedding photos. The wedding was on Sept. 24. Ralph made repeated promises that the photos would be ready by a certain date (from Oct.25 to Nov. 11). He indicated the photos were being worked on by an assistant. These dates came and went with no photos and no message as to why. Then on Nov. 11 he stopped communicating with us altogether for the next month, in spite of e-mails, phone messages and other attempts from various family members and our wedding coordinator. We finally sent a letter by FedEx threatening legal action. After that, on Dec. 11 he sent an e-mail, indicating that his computer had been stolen and our photos were gone. He said he was able to salvage about 85% of them on a thumb drive but they were not the originals, and it seemed key photos (of bride & groom) were missing.
I am giving Ralph a poor rating and not recommending him primarily because his lack of communication with us over this issue we thought was extremely unprofessional. We were shocked and disappointed by his behavior of not responding to our expressed concerns about the status of the photos.
We are of course devastated by the loss of the photos, (and he has given us a refund) but if he had immediately contacted us in person, it might have helped somewhat. We still do not know when exactly the burglary occurred.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarahschooler
Wedding:
6/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Incrediblely gorgeous pictures, very professional! Top notch!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
Ralph truly is as good as it gets. He has an eye unlike any other photographer I have ever known. It's like he captures memories in the making! His approachability and demeanor are exceptional and I can honestly say he was an essential part in making our wedding day so much fun. He produced our pictures promptly and on schedule and was very reasonably priced. He took care of our every photography wish. You should absolutely not hesitate to hire him. He truly is an incredible talent and my only disappointment is that I can't think of any reason to hire him again soon. THANK YOU, RALPH!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
r
Wedding:
4/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Ralph did a great job of capturing the emotions of our day! Every time i look through the pictures, i feel like i am re-living the moment. He got fabulous shots of our guests partying and generally having a good time. My now-husband and I are not the most photogenic - we always close our eyes in pictures! - but Ralph captured some real moments with natural pictures.

In addition, Ralph is a great addition to any party. He has a great, affable personality, and my family loved him. He's great at making people feel comfortable and shooting pictures on the go. Very pleasant and easy to work with. Ralph was recommended to me by a family friend, and I would also highly recommend him.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
4/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Ralph was great to work with...he took the time before our wedding to visit with us and offer great suggestions. At the wedding, he captured so many great moments. And - after, he has been working with us to assemble the pictures. A talented photographer and good person!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jdodson3
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
My wife and I could not have been more pleased with the service, responsiveness, and pictures that were provided by Ralph Alswang Photography. Everything about the experience was perfect. I would highly recommend Ralph and his staff to anyone.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Ralph is a fantastic photographer, truly the best. My husband and I are both camera shy, and Ralph was able to make us feel so at ease. We were amazed at how he was able to capture every moment, from engagement til our wedding reception departure, and both those stolen moments and posed portraits were amazing. He was so much fun to have around, and his laughter and jovial personality kept everyone at ease throughout the entire day/evening.

He was one of the first vendor decisions we made, and was so helpful in providing suggestions for other vendors - we had a perfect wedding thanks to him!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly Smith-Brown
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
Ralph is an amazing photographer, with such an outstanding eye for detail. I absolutely detest taking photos, and have been known to run away screaming from the camera. Ralph used that fantastic sense of humor he has to make me loosen up and make me feel at ease. I was truly shocked at how relaxed I looked in my photos and the excitement and ease of the day translated into my pictures. I have never, ever taken such fantastic photos ever, and I have Ralph to thank for that. My husband and I were amazed at how he was able to capture every moment of the day starting with the wedding prep, all the way to the end of the night, and how he was able to capture those quiet moments we shared and how fantastic my wedding party and both sets of parents looked in our posed portraits. The guests were amazed of the photos he got of them without their knowledge. They were amazing! He was such a delight to have around, and his personality kept everyone smiling.

They say that the day of your wedding will fly by in an instant…that is true. However, I know that when I look at my photos, I can recall each and every moment of that special day. I have Ralph Alswang to thank for that.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
csach
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Ralph was excellent! He made everything so easy. It was the one thing on our wedding day that I DIDN'T have to worry about.

Ralph has a great way about him. He took the time to connect with our guests so that they would feel comfortable while he was taking their picture. An added bonus which we appreciated and resulted in great pictures.

The photos came out great and he perfectly captured every moment of our special day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mnorden
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
Ralph was extremely responsive to all of our requests/questions. He answered all of our questions immediately and was patient with us when deciding what package we wanted (unlike many vendors we dealt with).

Ralph was also incredibly personable and we felt 100% comfortable during our entire engagement shoot.

The photos came out perfectly, and we would not change a thing about our experience with Ralph or the work product we received.

Overall, Ralph was the best wedding vendor we dealt with and we highly recommend him to other brides/couples!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Winnie0582
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
Ralph is an incredible wedding photographer, truly the best. Me, my husband, both our families, and all of our guests were blown away by how well he captured the beauty and the emotion of the day. He has an excellent photojournalistic style AND he also takes beautiful posed portraits. (In my search, I found it somewhat difficult to find a photographer who excels at both.)

Secondly, but equally important, Ralph is a blast to have around on your wedding day. He kept us laughing and relaxed at some stressful moments! And that only added to the beauty of the photos.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
smchao
Wedding:
10/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Can't recommend Ralph highly enough. He made us all feel at ease in front of the camera and went along with all of the crazy pictures we wanted to take. Very high energy and definitely knows how to make people smile, getting great shots. If you're looking for a more photojournalistic style, Ralph's amazing.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tish Boone
Wedding:
7/3/2009
5.0/5.0
Ralph is the BEST photographer! He photographed our wedding at the Chatham Bars Inn in July 2009. The photos were amazing. They captured all those special moments and smiles during our wedding day. The photos came out very natural looking and captured the feel of our wedding on the water.
Working with Ralph could not have been easier. Ralph was efficient, professional, and really fun to be around! He made it so easy for all of us and we had a great time with the pics.
I highly recommend Ralph Alswang Photography!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
10/27/2007
5.0/5.0
Ralph is the absolute best! He took beautiful photos and was an absolute joy to be around. He helped make our wedding day a total blast and captured wonderful memories. I can not recommend him highly enough.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
edk
Wedding:
9/16/2006
5.0/5.0
Simply put, Ralph Alswang's photography is nothing short of extraordinary. We were lucky enough to have Ralph photograph our September 2006 wedding and were so impressed with his work that we have had Ralph shoot our family portraits ever since. Ralph has this amazing gift of capturing the story behind the event---those candid, intimate moments that vividly bring the day to life on the album page, even years down the line. Ralph is the best of the best.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Washington, DC See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Ralph Alswang Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1302112708053-ralphie20111