Nophoto-130

Ral's Fine Catering

Houston , TX

LOCATION

Houston, TX US 77055 (map)

PHONE

713-688-7257

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Catering

REVIEWS

4.1
out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
4.0/5.0
3.9/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.2/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/12/2014
0.7/5.0
I would NOT recommend Ral's for a wedding reception at all! I booked 11 months before my wedding at an open house. The night we tasted the food it was delicious, and we got a discount for booking early. Once he has your money he could care less. He will not answer emails or return calls. He showed up for maybe 10 minutes to watch his staff set up and then left. He did not follow through with everything on the contract that we paid for, and the food was just alright. Spend more money and get better food and service with someone else!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Rals is definitely worth the price. I chose a fajita buffet and everyone was complimenting the food. Ral was very responsive to emails and set up a tasting at my request. Super friendly staff as well.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lavonne
Wedding:
11/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Ral's fine catering did an amazing job for my wedding at Chateau Cocomar. It was able to work with Ral directly and he even prepared a tasting for me and my husband. He was very responsive to my calls and emails and very patient and accomodating, even when I changed the menu a few days before the wedding. My guests raved about how great it the food was and many even asked for recommendations. I wanted a fabulous menu but did not want to pay an arm and a leg for food. Becuase of Ral's great prices we were able to afford pre-reception appetizers and butler passed hors d'oeuvers, in addition to a two-entree chicken and steak meal for all of guest. I don't even eat meat but I tried the chicken to make sure the guest would like it and it was delicious. Ral even made a special delicious vegetarian option for me and the other vegetarian guests. Ral helped make our wedding special and made sure that we didnt have to worry about food on the wedding day. We will definitely use him again for our next catered event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
2.8/5.0
Ral's catered our event and for the most part, things went off without an issue. We had BBQ brisket and chicken with the trimmings. The meat was good but the beans tasted like 'Ranch Style' beans straight out of the can. Service was good, but slow, as only one line was set up.

Prior to the event, we discussed handling of leftovers with Ral. After the meal when I questioned the head server about leftovers, he told me that no brisket was left, only a pan of chicken. The staff seemed surprised when we asked about the leftovers. There were also some rolls left which were being thrown away as we spoke with Ral's staff. We contracted for 170, served approximately 135, and no brisket left? Concerned about our guests getting food, we checked with our guests who were served last and they told us that there was plenty of everything left. In good faith, I requested a refund on 20 plates and Ral never replied.

I saw in another review that another customer had a similar experience. If you plan on using Ral’s, be sure you have everything in writing including the handling of possible leftovers. I am rating Ral’s low on professionalism due to the handling of the leftovers and Ral’s non-responsiveness. Actual service at the event was acceptable.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Taryn
Wedding:
7/27/2013
4.8/5.0
Ral's has excellent food and his employees are very professional and hard workers. I will most definitely work with this company in the future.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Victoria
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Omg, I don't know what words to say about this particular executive chef. His quality of food was marvelous. I will definitely recommend him to others. His staff was very professional and fast. Thanks for great tasting food.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jacob
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Absolutely the best food for the least amount of money. Ral runs his business so well that he can afford to reduce his food costs without sacrificing quality. We were absolutely pleased with every aspect of his service, especially his flexibility and level-headedness. The best deal, hands down.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tramelle
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
This food was absolutely amazing! Mouth watering! I will be contacting them for all of my catering needs in the future.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Yeny
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
I had the pleasure of having Ral Cater our wedding and it was absolutely perfect! The food was delicious and he was very easy to work with!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Large menu selection & price was PERFECT! Our package even included an ice sculpture. He was so helpful helping us to create a multicultural menu & stay with our price range! Huge weight lifted off of my shoulders. He was referred by several venues & friends. Great choice we made
Services Used: Catering
Wwnetwork-128
elsie
Wedding:
4/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Rals fine catering did a wonderful job. I am so grateful to Ral because my guests praised the food and enjoyed themselves thoroughly. i would highly recommend them to my friends and colleagues for any event. i was hesistant at first but now i have no regrets after they exceeded my expectations.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melinda
Wedding:
3/25/2012
3.2/5.0
We just had our wedding on March 25th, 2012 and hired Ral for his catering services. Ral's food is delicious and price is unbeatable, especially for the selection of food offered. I shopped around for a couple of months and everyone else's rates were over the top. We decided on having a cocktail hour, which also included light snacks (fresh fruit & veggies, a cute/unique pineapple tree display, and an assortment of cheese & crackers.) For our dinner reception we decided on having a buffet dinner, which included a garden salad, assortment of rolls, a saute station (grilled chicken, beef, shrimp and veggies), a carving station (pork loin stuffed with spinach & pine nuts) plus rice w/ black beans & plantains. All of our guest raved about the presentation of the food, how delicious it was and it's unique flavors. The only two downfalls was the lack of responsiveness sometimes to my emails, especially the days right before leading up to our wedding day and post wedding issue. Reason being we had rented 2 Urns from Ral for the Sangria we were planning on serving at our reception and we purchased on our own the wine and other ingredients needed for the Sangria, but since we didnt have the Urns we had no Sangria to serve our guest. It was a disappointment for me, especially since we had already bought all the ingredients needed, so now we're stuck with a case of red wine. Thankfully though we also had for those who wanted an adult beverage white wine & beer to serve our guest since . I've tried to be understanding about it and just brushed it off. However, I'm still waiting on a response from Ral in regards to refunding the rental fee & depoist for the 2 Urns, which we never got to use at our wedding. Ral's catering food & rates are great, however, I think he may be in need of some assistance in his office to help follow up with calls, emails, concerns, etc if he's too busy trying to run his actually catering dept.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kira
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
My experience with Ral's was absolutely amazing! He was one of the first caterers I met with and after his tasting he had set the bar extremely high for any other caterers we met with, and no one could compare. He was extremely nice and assured me multiple times that he just wanted me to be happy and have everything exactly the way I wanted. We went with his pasta station setup and a carving station and our guests loved it all! We received so many compliments about the food, that it was flavorful and enjoyable and not your typical wedding food! I will definitely keep Ral in mind for any future catering needs!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shira Granderson
Wedding:
12/31/2011
3.2/5.0
Ral was very patient and worked diligent to fulfill our needs in the beginning. However, the burger we tasted at our tasting was not the burger that was served at our wedding! The burger that was served did not meet our expectations!!! In spite of the unseasoned, pre-packaged, double meat patties, the display and setup was very modern and well put together. His staff was polite and professional.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
12/3/2011
5.0/5.0
We loved the food at our wedding reception! Ral went out of his way to set up a private tasting for my husband and I since we live out of town. We appreciated that so much. Everything that we tasted was so good. His staff was wonderful and so helpful. Thank you so much Ral for a wonderful experience that we will never forget.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shelly M.
Wedding:
5/7/2011
4.5/5.0
My only complaints would be that there should have been 2 lines set up for serving the buffet instead of one. With a reception of over 200 people, it would have gone much faster with 2 lines. Also, we had about 20+ people who RSVP'd that did not show....so I'm wondering why we were not offered food to take home! The food was great and the presentation was beautiful. I actually had a friend say that this was the best "wedding food" she'd ever had.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BeachWedding
Wedding:
3/26/2011
4.9/5.0
My wedding was 3/26/2011...I can't believe I am just now writing a review. Ral's was awesome. I had a beach wedding in Surfside Beach, Texas. Our budget was semi modest and Ral's was sooooooo flexible and amazing with their accomadations and food. Everyone lovedddddddd the setup and they are still bragging about the wedding...hence my late review. I was literally just reminded of them over the weekend. I wouldd ef reccomend them to anyone.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
WhootyPatooty
Wedding:
1/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Ral's was the perfect caterer for our wedding! Ral is a great guy and fun to get to know; he has been all over the world to learn about different cuisines and it's reflected in the execution of his dishes. His menu is quite expansive and all of it is excellent! We were so pleased with the presentation at our wedding and many of our guests raved that it was the best "wedding food" they had ever had. You simply cannot get a better deal for any event!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DJOANNA
Wedding:
10/30/2010
0.0/5.0
THIS CATERING SUCKS! BEWARE PLS.!!!ON OUR WEDDING RECEPTION, THEY WERE SUPPOSE TO PROVIDE CATERING SERVICES FOR 4 HOURS, FROM 4PM-8PM, BUT THEY STARTED BREAKING DOWN THE SET UP AT 6PM, DID NOT EVEN CUT AND DISTRIBUTE THE CAKE.. TOOK ALL THE LEFT OVER FOOD TO THEIR TRUCK...VERY POOR SERVICE.. THE FOOD ARE NOT SPECTACULAR AS IT SOUNDS ON THE MENU...THE OWNER DID NOT EVEN ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THEIR CUSTOMER IS NOT AT ALL HAPPY...PLS. DO NOT HIRE THIS COMPANY!!!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1248410645706-website
jillga
Wedding:
5/1/2010
3.6/5.0
We had attended an open house that Ral's sponsored and we loved the quality of the food and the price so much, that we booked on that day.
There were quite a few hang ups prior to our wedding day. For instance, he was inflexible in me using my credit card to pay for the rest of the event. I am a very busy person, I work in a hospital and cannot get to calls and emails right away. It was close to our deadline to pay and since we missed the deadline to pay by credit card, he only allowed us to pay the rest of the amount in cashier's check. This was even after my fiance had all the credit card information, but since the credit card was in my name, I needed to send him an email authorization (even though I authorized it at the time of signing and he already had the information on file).

The actual day of our wedding, the buffet line was EXTREMELY slow. We had a timeline to follow and we were put an hour behind schedule. Perhaps this could have been due to the set up and that there was only one line instead of two, but in the future folks, if you are having a buffet for more than 150 people and you want your guests to be served faster, make two lines instead of one. I would have assumed that this caterer would have known this from past experience, but unfortunately that was not the case. The food was very good and for the price, you can't beat the spread and presentation.

The other hang up I had was that the after clean up, the crew took away my Tiffany Crystal toasting flutes that were given to me as a gift from my MOH! I will never see those again. I called the next day and they couldn't find them. Very disappointed. Also, you have to get on the ball with them. They didn't serve the champagne toast, so basically all the guests (including us) just had to toast with water.
Overall, if you want to good quality food and an very good spread at a very low price this is the right caterer. They are not stellar in terms of service, but you get what you pay for.
Services Used: Catering
Bg1
Tison
Wedding:
8/1/2009
4.6/5.0
The food was great. All my guest commented on how good the food was.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1216396779291-100_2258
Mrs. Davies
Wedding:
5/23/2009
4.0/5.0
Rals, food was great I would recommend them! They are always having tasting at certain venues for Open House, so I would try them out of you are considering them. There food was really good! Service on the other hand was not as good, that's why I didn't give 5 stars.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
V
Wedding:
4/18/2009
4.1/5.0
My guest and I enjoyed Ral's it was superb! He and his staff did a fabulous job. I was calling and communicating with them constantly, the contact person Stacy was always cordial and accomodating. Ral always called me back, and the day of my wedding everything was simply perfect. I would recommend, and intend to use this caterer many times again.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shaunda
Wedding:
3/7/2009
4.4/5.0
The food was excellent and the presentation was great. All of the staff was professional and curteous. I would recommend Ral's to cater anyone's event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
littlelady
Wedding:
10/25/2008
0.2/5.0
The owner is completely unprofessional. He served cold food at my wedding and forgot the martini glasses which he had to rush over. He was unresponsive and extremely slow in providing the necessary documents to my venue. When I complained about the food served at my wedding he yelled at me, called me a liar and hung up in my face. I have never dealt with such poor service. Avoid this company at all costs. Check out the Houston Better Business Bureau website that shows other complaints against this vendor. The company has an unsatisfactory rating with the BBB. The website also shows that the company filed for bankruptcy.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1177115867843-jsanddj00000
JANAYLE
Wedding:
9/1/2007
5.0/5.0
The food was excellent and the presentation was excellent. We had one problem which was a miscommunication on a food item, but Ral compensated us for it. Ral's company is friendly and very flexible with you.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karistx
Wedding:
10/9/2004
5.0/5.0
A+++++++++++++++++++

Great food - great service - great professional servers at wedding - great choice of ice sculptures. My one tiny complaint was I asked for left over food to be boxed up and sent to a church or shelter nearby and it was boxed up and sent home with my poor mom. But to just have one little mess up was ok by me. Everything else was just as asked. YUMMY FOOD and nice presentation. Great job!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
stella
Wedding:
8/17/2002
4.9/5.0
Ralsfine catering food was so very delicious. my wedding was a blast and went so smoothly. my guests had a fun time and were impressed with the array of food and all. i feel really lucky that i made the best choice for a caterer especially after one of my friends had a not so lucky experience with some other caterer at her own event. Ral even offers a pre-tasting for the couple before you booked. that was another wonderful experience. in fact it was like dining out at her a fancy high end restaurant. i will definitely reccomend them to anybody. Rals is a very established and professional catering company that has been around for a very long time and hugely popular to this day.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
Houston, TX 77055 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Ral's Fine Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220