130x130 sq 1320515964387 picture101

Recreation Park Golf Course

Long Beach , CA

LOCATION

5001 Deukmejian Drive
Long Beach, CA 90804 US (map)

PHONE

888-657-9963

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Situated just minutes from the major freeways and beautiful, downtown Long Beach, the Recreation Park Country Club is set amidst the classic Billy Bell designed golf course. An historic... Read more
Situated just minutes from the major freeways and beautiful, downtown Long Beach, the Recreation Park Country Club is set amidst the classic Billy Bell designed golf course. An historic landmark, the white Spanish-colonial clubhouse was built in 1926 and its pillared portico and red pan tiled roof lend an air of distinction to the property. A combination of gorgeous grounds and gracious interiors make this an exceptional choice for a wedding ceremony and reception.

The experienced staff is adept at expertly handling the full range of details that make an event memorable. And by hosting only one event at time, the events team is able to ensure that you and your guests will enjoy every aspect of the day.

Wedding Ceremony and Reception Options at Recreation Park Country Club

The Rose Garden presents an idyllic setting for your outdoor wedding ceremony. A 75 foot garden pathway allows the bride to make a stunning entrance. The lovely white gazebo, surrounded by bursts of color and fragrant rosebushes, lends a charming touch to the backdrop for exceptional photo possibilities.

An outdoor patio offers a space for cocktails and hors d’oeuvres after the wedding ceremony. Accommodating guest lists of up to 200, the historic ballroom features soaring cathedral ceilings with original dark wood crossbeams and period chandeliers. Three sets of French doors open just off the patio to the Main Ballroom to provide splashes of natural light and exquisite views of the surrounding golf course fairways, landscaped grounds and park setting.

A bridal suite is available for the bridal party.

The Cuisine at Recreation Park Country Club

The professional catering and events team will walk you through each detail of your day, and ensure that you and your guests are tended to with the utmost care. With full service packages that include an array of menu options, set up, linens in a choice of colors, staff and clean up - the wedding of your dreams is more affordable than you might imagine.

Check out this fantastic tool!

You are able to create your dream wedding while being price conscience and the Dream Wedding Calculator helps you do just that. The Dream Wedding Calculator is a step-by-step approach that will guide you through decisions, help you plan your cocktail hour, reception dinner and instantly see the budget estimates. The program even allows you to edit your choices on the fly to compare price estimates.

Have questions? Liszette, the virtual advisor will give you clarification and hints along the way. Once you are complete with your planning, you may save your summary by a free log in, or email and print your choices to share.

Click here to see how www.dreamweddingcalculator.com will be an invaluable asset to planning your special day.





Host your holiday event with us & choose from the gifts below! Book between August 1 - September 30 & choose 3 Free items* Book between October 1 - October 31 & choose 2 Free items* Book between November 1 - November 30 & choose 1 Free item* Select from • Free Additional Hour • Free Room Rental • Free Dessert Buffet • Free Coffee, Tea & Soda • Free Appetizer (1) *Minimums & restrictions apply. Offer Cannot be combined or on previously booked events. Must occur between November 1 & December 31, 2014 www.holidaypartycalculator.com Read less

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1320520297184 rec10
130x130 sq 1320525611985 dscn2840
130x130 sq 1320520153715 ceremony
130x130 sq 1320525927883 0501downing
130x130 sq 1320526068774 0324schmitz
130x130 sq 1320525692450 dscn2829
130x130 sq 1320520347199 rec2
130x130 sq 1320520724793 dsc00132
130x130 sq 1320523765535 picture084
130x130 sq 1320524258324 0025downing
130x130 sq 1320523999676 0181schmitz
130x130 sq 1320522950652 0200schmitz
130x130 sq 1320521196137 rec7
130x130 sq 1320523535840 banquetroom
130x130 sq 1320523153824 0316downing
130x130 sq 1367879785962 rec park 18 bride and girls bouquet na
130x130 sq 1367879823894 rec park 18 bride groom garden gazebo sunset
130x130 sq 1367879885186 rec park 18 bride groom strolling na
130x130 sq 1367879927210 rec park 18 dessert table 2 na
130x130 sq 1338489479580 ambrosiaimages12071
130x130 sq 1338489517294 ambrosiaimages11
130x130 sq 1338489428971 ambrosiaimages12082
130x130 sq 1338489459285 ambrosiaimages120102
130x130 sq 1338489400978 ambrosiaimages12051
130x130 sq 1338489546838 ambrosiaimages12011
130x130 sq 1338490996462 picture150
130x130 sq 1338490141178 picture152
130x130 sq 1338490275185 picture141
130x130 sq 1338493081411 picture101
130x130 sq 1338491169848 0857downing
130x130 sq 1320527125993 0366downing
130x130 sq 1320522732746 0014downing
130x130 sq 1344537476497 rosegardengazebo
130x130 sq 1338492813649 0501downing
130x130 sq 1338492424287 66570524180666968138700438308336546948299n
130x130 sq 1338490758387 1736schmitzt
130x130 sq 1338491812624 0181schmitz
130x130 sq 1338491945842 0200schmitz
130x130 sq 1338491731035 1233schmitz
130x130 sq 1338489766804 picture001
130x130 sq 1338492571966 0905schmitz
130x130 sq 1320526919868 0116schmitzt
130x130 sq 1338489839616 picture008
130x130 sq 1338492398625 rec1
130x130 sq 1338493017118 banquetroom
130x130 sq 1354817396389 picture028
130x130 sq 1354817601138 picture049
130x130 sq 1354817713259 picture061
130x130 sq 1354817802783 picture060
130x130 sq 1320523289871 12
130x130 sq 1320523472255 picture086
130x130 sq 1320523637381 8
130x130 sq 1320524101294 picture003
130x130 sq 1320524973180 0233schmitz
130x130 sq 1320526276321 9

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1910
Describe your venue:
Country / Golf Club, Historic Site
Describe the style of your venue
Garden / Romantic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
400
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
3
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
750
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
40
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Offered in-house
Is transportation included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes

INFO FOR REHEARSAL DINNER

When was your venue built?
1910
Describe your venue:
Country / Golf Club, Historic Site
Describe the style of your venue
Garden / Romantic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
3
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
750
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
40

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
janet and george
Wedding:
8/23/2014
5.0/5.0
We would definitely recommend this venue, and especially the services of Dori Stroll. She is thorough and professional and a pleasure to work with.
We would definitely recommend this venue, and especially the services of Dori Stroll. She is thorough and professional and Read more...
We would definitely recommend this venue, and especially the services of Dori Stroll. She is thorough and professional and a pleasure to work with. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Ginalynn
Wedding:
8/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding reception was beautiful!!!!! Everything we had thought it to be and much more..Cathy and staff did an outstanding job..The food and service was excellent. Even though there was a small tree fire outside in parking lot right as my husband and I arrived in our limo, It did not take away from our reception at all!! We even took photos next to the fire truck/firefighters!!!! Cathy was very professional and extremely helpful through our planning process..We highly recommend Recreation Park Golf Course 18 for your next event...Thank you Cathy for making our reception a wonderful night to remember, for us as well as all our friends and family!!!!
Our wedding reception was beautiful!!!!! Everything we had thought it to be and much more..Cathy and staff did an Read more...
Our wedding reception was beautiful!!!!! Everything we had thought it to be and much more..Cathy and staff did an outstanding job..The food and service was excellent. Even though there was a small tree fire outside in parking lot right as my husband and I arrived in our limo, It did not take away from our reception at all!! We even took photos next to the fire truck/firefighters!!!! Cathy was very professional and extremely helpful through our planning process..We highly recommend Recreation Park Golf Course 18 for your next event...Thank you Cathy for making our reception a wonderful night to remember, for us as well as all our friends and family!!!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We walked into the clubhouse at Rec Park and knew it was the place for us. Not only was the venue gorgeous but Cathy was very helpful at making sure our day was everything we expected. My husband even got to bring in a soda he wanted specifically for himself and it was chilled and kept only for him. Everything seemed to flow and our guests were very impressed with the service and food. It couldn't have been a better day!
We walked into the clubhouse at Rec Park and knew it was the place for us. Not only was the venue gorgeous but Cathy was Read more...
We walked into the clubhouse at Rec Park and knew it was the place for us. Not only was the venue gorgeous but Cathy was very helpful at making sure our day was everything we expected. My husband even got to bring in a soda he wanted specifically for himself and it was chilled and kept only for him. Everything seemed to flow and our guests were very impressed with the service and food. It couldn't have been a better day! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
We looked at a lot of venues and chose rec park for its value. Cathy is a pleasure to work with, she is on top of every detail. She spent as much time as we needed to feel comfortable about all of our decisions. our guests raved about the food and the cake. No doubt we would choose this venue again.
We looked at a lot of venues and chose rec park for its value. Cathy is a pleasure to work with, she is on top of every Read more...
We looked at a lot of venues and chose rec park for its value. Cathy is a pleasure to work with, she is on top of every detail. She spent as much time as we needed to feel comfortable about all of our decisions. our guests raved about the food and the cake. No doubt we would choose this venue again. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Kendra
Wedding:
6/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Cathy Kraus was absolutely amazing. So knowledgable and helpful. She really put our minds at ease. We were considering another golf course but once we met with Cathy, she sealed the deal for us. For a bride, she's the best asset. She's been doing this for years and truly knows her stuff. Everything went so wonderfully. The food was really good & the staff was very nice & professional.
Cathy Kraus was absolutely amazing. So knowledgable and helpful. She really put our minds at ease. We were considering Read more...
Cathy Kraus was absolutely amazing. So knowledgable and helpful. She really put our minds at ease. We were considering another golf course but once we met with Cathy, she sealed the deal for us. For a bride, she's the best asset. She's been doing this for years and truly knows her stuff. Everything went so wonderfully. The food was really good & the staff was very nice & professional. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Rachel
Wedding:
11/1/2008
5.0/5.0
Amazing- we loved it here! MY husband and I looked at several locations before finally deciding to book our ceremony and reception here and boy, were we pleased! We really wanted Mexican food, but it wasn't on their menu... no problem, they custom designed a menu for us! We brought in ideas and gave them our budget and she came back with amazing options, from Chili Verde Enchiladas to Chipotle Salmon! YUM :) All the guests raved about our food and we were thrilled. It was also important to us to have Mexican beers and Margaritas on the rocks, so they stocked the bar accordingly! This place was so accomodating I almost felt bad!
The room is the perfect size for about 150, and has great lighting and ambiance. The staff was curteous, professional and awesome! The day-of the manager introduced himself to me, and when the ceremony was over he brought me and my hubby a drink since he knew we would be stuck taking a few more photos- what a sweet heart :)
All in all this place is great, they have menus and "packages" but don't be afraid to ask for exactly what you want- they will do thier best to make it happen and give you the most for your money!
Amazing- we loved it here! MY husband and I looked at several locations before finally deciding to book our ceremony and Read more...
Amazing- we loved it here! MY husband and I looked at several locations before finally deciding to book our ceremony and reception here and boy, were we pleased! We really wanted Mexican food, but it wasn't on their menu... no problem, they custom designed a menu for us! We brought in ideas and gave them our budget and she came back with amazing options, from Chili Verde Enchiladas to Chipotle Salmon! YUM :) All the guests raved about our food and we were thrilled. It was also important to us to have Mexican beers and Margaritas on the rocks, so they stocked the bar accordingly! This place was so accomodating I almost felt bad!
The room is the perfect size for about 150, and has great lighting and ambiance. The staff was curteous, professional and awesome! The day-of the manager introduced himself to me, and when the ceremony was over he brought me and my hubby a drink since he knew we would be stuck taking a few more photos- what a sweet heart :)
All in all this place is great, they have menus and "packages" but don't be afraid to ask for exactly what you want- they will do thier best to make it happen and give you the most for your money! Read less
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
130x130 sq 1313448419533 p1000517
Ellen
Wedding:
6/11/2012
5.0/5.0
I could not be happier with my experience with Cathy and Rec Park. Our wedding was absolutely beautiful and everything went really smoothly. Cathy treats you like you're her only client and is really good about responding to emails. You really get a lot for your money here.
I could not be happier with my experience with Cathy and Rec Park. Our wedding was absolutely beautiful and everything Read more...
I could not be happier with my experience with Cathy and Rec Park. Our wedding was absolutely beautiful and everything went really smoothly. Cathy treats you like you're her only client and is really good about responding to emails. You really get a lot for your money here. Read less
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
LBCgirl
Wedding:
5/12/2012
4.9/5.0
Recreation Park was a true delight to deal with, from the ceremony to the reception and everything in between. The best part about the venue was Cathy Kraus, she was amazing! She knows her stuff and is extremely reliable and efficient. The staff was great, followed direction, and floor plans exactly the way it was presented to us. The food was great too, delicious and we were extremely pleased with our choices.
Recreation Park was a true delight to deal with, from the ceremony to the reception and everything in between. The best Read more...
Recreation Park was a true delight to deal with, from the ceremony to the reception and everything in between. The best part about the venue was Cathy Kraus, she was amazing! She knows her stuff and is extremely reliable and efficient. The staff was great, followed direction, and floor plans exactly the way it was presented to us. The food was great too, delicious and we were extremely pleased with our choices. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
FallBride1
Wedding:
10/11/2009
4.8/5.0
I had very mixed feelings when I selected my venue. I really liked the facilities- the outdoor ceremony site, the cute patio for cocktails, and the ballroom with the exposed wood beam ceiling. We didn't want anything pretentious (like some hotel ballrooms feel). Instead we wanted more of a rustic and quaint feel, and this fit our style. I was nervous though because I hadn't known anyone who had held an event there and I couldn't find many reviews.
As it turned out, I really didn't need to be nervous at all. Everything went off without a hitch and was just the way we asked. The food was good, the service was good, and everything was smooth and professional. They were also very accommodating about changing things or trading package items. Also, they do only one wedding per day, so you have flexibility with time and don't feel like you're being rushed through a wedding factory.
Cathy was my contact there and was very straightforward and no nonsense. That might throw some people off, but I appreciated getting direct answers to my questions. I also could tell that she was very organized. If I told her something once, it was in our file the next time I saw her, and everything was exactly how we wanted without me having to repeat myself. While it may not be the perfect venue for everyone, it was for what I wanted and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.
I had very mixed feelings when I selected my venue. I really liked the facilities- the outdoor ceremony site, the cute Read more...
I had very mixed feelings when I selected my venue. I really liked the facilities- the outdoor ceremony site, the cute patio for cocktails, and the ballroom with the exposed wood beam ceiling. We didn't want anything pretentious (like some hotel ballrooms feel). Instead we wanted more of a rustic and quaint feel, and this fit our style. I was nervous though because I hadn't known anyone who had held an event there and I couldn't find many reviews.
As it turned out, I really didn't need to be nervous at all. Everything went off without a hitch and was just the way we asked. The food was good, the service was good, and everything was smooth and professional. They were also very accommodating about changing things or trading package items. Also, they do only one wedding per day, so you have flexibility with time and don't feel like you're being rushed through a wedding factory.
Cathy was my contact there and was very straightforward and no nonsense. That might throw some people off, but I appreciated getting direct answers to my questions. I also could tell that she was very organized. If I told her something once, it was in our file the next time I saw her, and everything was exactly how we wanted without me having to repeat myself. While it may not be the perfect venue for everyone, it was for what I wanted and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Maegan
Wedding:
6/28/2014
4.7/5.0
We got married at Recreation Park in the gazebo and held our reception inside of the beautiful hall. The venue is gorgeous and completely went with our aesthetic. We loved the hall and the staff's attention to detail in setting up everything. They also worked well with our other vendors. The only reason some of the rating isn't perfect is because they switched coordinators on us with no notice, which I felt wasn't handled well. Despite this, we got along with Dori well and she did a great job in communicating with us and helping us in setting up our big day. She honored the package that we had signed up with prior to working with her. The only thing that wasn't quite smooth in the transition was that the first coordinator had promised us golfers would be on the other side of the course by the time of our wedding and that there would be less of them there, opening up more parking for our guests. Neither of these things happened and didn't come up until the Thursday before our wedding, which at that point we couldn't do much about. During the rehearsal a golf ball actually came over to the gazebo- luckily on the day of the wedding, that didn't happen. Despite those hiccups, Recreation Park was the perfect setting for us to have our wedding and our friends and family were impressed with the meal, location and service.
We got married at Recreation Park in the gazebo and held our reception inside of the beautiful hall. The venue is gorgeous Read more...
We got married at Recreation Park in the gazebo and held our reception inside of the beautiful hall. The venue is gorgeous and completely went with our aesthetic. We loved the hall and the staff's attention to detail in setting up everything. They also worked well with our other vendors. The only reason some of the rating isn't perfect is because they switched coordinators on us with no notice, which I felt wasn't handled well. Despite this, we got along with Dori well and she did a great job in communicating with us and helping us in setting up our big day. She honored the package that we had signed up with prior to working with her. The only thing that wasn't quite smooth in the transition was that the first coordinator had promised us golfers would be on the other side of the course by the time of our wedding and that there would be less of them there, opening up more parking for our guests. Neither of these things happened and didn't come up until the Thursday before our wedding, which at that point we couldn't do much about. During the rehearsal a golf ball actually came over to the gazebo- luckily on the day of the wedding, that didn't happen. Despite those hiccups, Recreation Park was the perfect setting for us to have our wedding and our friends and family were impressed with the meal, location and service. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue

DEALS

Our Gift to You
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $800 Value
Host your holiday event with us & choose a gift! Book between August 1 - September 30 & choose 3 Free items* Book between October 1 - October 31 & choose 2 Free items* Book between November 1 - November 30 & choose 1 Free item* Select from • Free Additional Hour • Free Room Rental • Free Dessert Buffet • Free Coffee, Tea & Soda • Free Appetizer (1) *Minimums & restrictions apply. Cannot be combined or on previously booked events. Must occur between November 1 & December 31, 2014

Offer Expires: 12/31/2014
Deal #WW3cc5a723c7ddb8ae
220x220 1320515964387 picture101

MAP

 
5001 Deukmejian Drive, Long Beach, CA 90804 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Recreation Park Golf Course
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1320515964387 picture101