130x130_sq_1366052038699-figlewiczphotography-blog-0116

Redondo Beach Historic Library

Redondo Beach , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

309 Esplanade
Redondo Beach, CA US 90277 (map)

PHONE

310-937-6844

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Redondo Beach Historic Library is a beautiful beach front wedding venue located in Veteran's Park Redondo Beach. Built in the 1930s this building is a unique combination of Spanish... Read more
The Redondo Beach Historic Library is a beautiful beach front wedding venue located in Veteran's Park Redondo Beach. Built in the 1930s this building is a unique combination of Spanish and Dutch architecture. Expansive windows on all four sides of the building allow for breathtaking views of the ocean, a giant Moreton Bay Fig (also a landmark) and the sprawling lawn of Veteran’s Park. The Library retains many of its original amenities such as vintage bookshelves and hanging brass light fixtures creating a unique and enchanting place for your special event. Combined with Spectrum Catering’s professional event services this location is the perfect location for your wedding.

Please feel free to give us a call to learn more at 310-937-6844 or email weddingwire@rbhistoriclibrary.com. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1352403330848-003
130x130_sq_1352403319885-kiss
130x130_sq_1352403667488-resized
130x130_sq_1352403871056-resized
130x130_sq_1352404045789-cakepeachcolorresized
130x130_sq_1352404252610-redondobeachhistoriclibraryamberjason54
130x130_sq_1352742131168-bookshelves
130x130_sq_1352742166475-nightshot
130x130_sq_1352742931369-kristinejosh0217
130x130_sq_1352743182552-kristinejosh0019
130x130_sq_1365786405227-1242
130x130_sq_1373570214050-exit-ceremony
130x130_sq_1373570289561-lanterns
130x130_sq_1373570314346-wide-tree-shot
130x130_sq_1373570338475-lewis
130x130_sq_1367790816005-1052
130x130_sq_1367790854654-1063
130x130_sq_1367790902874-1147
130x130_sq_1367790956633-1151
130x130_sq_1367791006726-1158
130x130_sq_1367791042355-1164
130x130_sq_1367791086538-1215
130x130_sq_1367791127664-1222
130x130_sq_1367791169964-1227
130x130_sq_1367791227978-1232
130x130_sq_1367791272579-1236
130x130_sq_1367791331923-1243
130x130_sq_1367791389176-1251
130x130_sq_1367791427369-1263
130x130_sq_1367791461790-1274
130x130_sq_1367791502047-1286
130x130_sq_1367791532550-1293
130x130_sq_1367791557516-1297
130x130_sq_1367791604455-1308
130x130_sq_1367791654627-1314
130x130_sq_1367791701732-1335
130x130_sq_1367791741214-1355
130x130_sq_1367791775597-1367
130x130_sq_1367791806166-1457
130x130_sq_1367791838994-1465
130x130_sq_1367791872977-1516
130x130_sq_1367791913158-1542
130x130_sq_1367791952867-1551
130x130_sq_1367795971094-redondo-beach-historic-library-amber-jason-31
130x130_sq_1367796024707-redondo-beach-historic-library-amber-jason-41
130x130_sq_1367796071278-redondo-beach-historic-library-amber-jason-55
130x130_sq_1367796136395-redondo-beach-historic-library-amber-jason-58
130x130_sq_1367796195092-redondo-beach-historic-library-amber-jason-67
130x130_sq_1386883453333-sunset-12-2-13-

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
[Private]
5.0/5.0
I love that I can pick any time I wanted and that everything is here. With the package is the drinks, caterer, cake, DJ, Valet, and decorations unless you want something else. All you need is invitations, dress, photography, and flowers if you want them.
The staff is very helpful and the facilities are great for the handicapped.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
D
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
My wife and I just got married at the Historic Library a couple of months ago in September 2013 and all we can say is that we were extremely happy with our choice.

We picked the library after passing by it many times because we live in the South Bay and the amenities they provided. This was a perfect venue for us because it had everything we wanted and needed. Kathy, the general manager of Spectrum Catering, was very helpful and accommodating with our wedding planning. The main selling point for the library was the "one-stop-shop" plan they offered to us. The venue not only offered the venue, they had the caterer, linen, valet service, contracted bakery, and a DJ/MC. I know this isn't only our preference, but one less item for the groom and bride to think of on the wedding day is godsend.

Our guests enjoyed the great food of good portions (Kathy will work with you to make a great menu), beautiful wedding cake from the local South Bay bakery, King's Hawaiian Bakery (yes, the makers of the King's Hawaiian Sweet bread) and DJ/MC Lance. DJ Lance has years of experience, works with the couple, and MCs the entire wedding night.

Lastly, who wouldn't want a gorgeous location to finish off the epic night? As the sun sets over the Pacific Ocean the library overlooks the pier and the water. A sense of tranquility and wonder overwhelms you as you enjoy the evening with friends and family.

We're not going to say that the night went without a hitch, but the staff at Spectrum Catering helped out as much as possible. All in all we had a memorable night that my wife and I would cherish forever. Thanks Spectrum.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
The Redondo Beach Historic Library is hands down the best wedding venue in the South Bay. Everything from the food, to the service, to the ocean view were phenomenal. Kathy and Lance were incredibly accommodating and helpful through our entire experience. They were very dedicated and brought ideas to the table that made the venue even more beautiful. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone looking to get married in the South Bay.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
We used this venue only for our Reception, which was 5pm to 10pm. This venue only books one event per day, so there was no constraints with working around another group. The owner Kathy is a pleasure to work with, asking us about everything we wanted. Luckily, we often went with her suggestions which were exactly right. The historic building is lovely inside, and laid out in a roomy and easy to utilize floor plan. Every guest could see the dance floor and the head table. They provide a myriad of choices for linens and even bustled the top layer on the tables. There are hundreds of candles on the old wooden bookshelves and twinkling lights on the posts. The view through the windows on all floors is either of the Veterans Park, The Redondo Beach Pier, or the Pacific Ocean. A perfect place for outdoor photographs! The menu choices were diverse and every one was delicious. Our guests raved about the food. The cake was included and it was both delicious and beautiful. The waiters and bartenders were friendly, efficient and accomodating. They went out of their way to fulfill any requests. The bride's grandmother requested an end cut of prime rib and the waiter graciously sought her out and delivered it to her with a smile. One guest couldn't finish her huge portion of prime rib and asked if they by chance had a doggie bag. The waiter said that he could do that for her, asked for her name, and said that he would refrigerate it for her until she let him know that she was ready to leave for the night. The appetizers were passed so that guests never had to 'track down' a waiter to serve them. The valet parking is included and the gracious valets even helped guests carry unwieldy packages into the reception. The DJ is also included, and he was very experienced, easy to work with, and knowledgeable. It was a wonderful experience and as our guests put it - a GREAT party!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Taylor
Wedding:
10/5/2012
5.0/5.0
We imagined that planning our wedding from London would be a nightmare but thanks to Kathy and the Library team it was so easy. She basically did everything for us! We met with Kathy twice before the wedding - once to book and once for a tasting, and she was so efficient and thorough, making sure we wouldn't forget any important detail without making us feel like there was tons to do (she did it all - we just picked the fun stuff!) The food and wine were delicious, the music from Lance the DJ was spot on and we wouldn't have chosen a different venue in a million years if we did it all over again- the views were stunning for the wedding ceremony, and the room was just the right size for our 120 guests to feel close but not crammed in. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melanie
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough great things about the Redondo Beach Historic Library and their manager, Kathy Villa. We had a wonderful wedding there. I love that they offer an all-inclusive package - it really takes a lot of the stress out of the planning process. I believe the cost to be very reasonable considering it covers the venue rental, staff, equipment, food, drinks, cake, AND the DJ.

It is a gorgeous venue - a beautiful old building with so much class and character, overlooking the beach. They have a lovely, big bridal suite where the bridal party can get ready. The reception space is cozy but airy at the same time because of the high windows and ceilings. They still have the old bookshelves lining the walls - it's a bibliophile's dream!

Kathy is wonderful to work with, helpful, friendly, and responsive. Lance, the DJ, is a great guy who played a mix of music that kept the party going all night. The event went off without a hitch, the food and service were excellent. I would recommend this venue to anybody.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mandy
Wedding:
8/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Beautiful! Kathy and Mina worked with us and our short time frame to ensure we had the wedding of our dreams! The food was delicious, the venue was set-up beautifully, and everyone was very professional and organized. Lance, the DJ, was so much fun to work with and really listened to all of our requests. It was such a time saver (and stress saver!) to have our venue, valet parking, catering, cake, tables & linens, and DJ taken care of in one fell swoop!
Services Used: Catering, DJ, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ann
Wedding:
2/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was last weekend at the Redondo Beach Historic Library and it was amazing! The catering coordinator, Kathy, was open to all of our unique ideas (6 foot sub sandwiches, all apps reception, fewer seats than guests to encourage mingling, hot cocoa for guests before ceremony, etc) and made it happen flawlessly! She was available for all my questions and very responsive to our requests. The location is GORGEOUS! We had the ceremony outside overlooking the ocean with waves crashing as the sun was setting...beautiful. And the reception hall was perfect for a 200 person party. I got so many compliments on the venue and am thrilled we picked RBHL.
Services Used: Catering, DJ, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
youneedkaren
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
So glad we chose RBHL for our wedding ceremony and reception. They take care of everything except photography, videography and floral arrangements, so it made planning easy! All our guests talked about how delicious the food was and how friendly the staff was! They even accommodated our vegan guests, who all raved about the tofu stir fry they were served. And of course everyone loved the gorgeous ocean view. Such a great deal!
Services Used: Catering, DJ, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
I loved this venue for my wedding. I planned a wedding from out of town and it was really nice that everything was included like the catering, wedding planner, DJ, chairs and tables, bar, and cake. Kathy did a fabulous job and was very responsive. Lance was the best DJ. Not only did he stick to our recommended music list but he also learned an Israeli dance to teach to our guests. Could not have asked for a better venue. Price was right and the views were beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1259781230898-france20091710
Chris d
Wedding:
6/19/2010
4.7/5.0
The Redondo Beach Historic Library is an amazing location. It is completely different from your typical hotel site. It is set right on the beach and your reception is the only one that takes place that day. They take care of the cake, the DJ, the catering and provide a coordinator on the day of your wedding. They are always available to answer any questions leading up to your wedding. Kathy was so helpful and she really knows her stuff!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, DJ, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittney
Wedding:
4/5/2014
4.6/5.0
We just had a wedding here recently and had a fabulous time! I wanted a beach wedding without the sand. This venue allowed us to have our ceremony on the grassy lawn overlooking the ocean. It was gorgeous! It was pricey, but worth it all. They have packages that included most vendors without service charges which was really helpful and relieved a lot of stress.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meagan
Wedding:
7/9/2011
4.4/5.0
The Redondo Beach Historic Library is a beautiful venue right next to the beach. They will take care of everything except the photographer, the flowers, and the officiant. If you're like me, and you hate planning, this is the perfect venue. I literally only had to have 3 1-hour meeting with Kathy, and a handful of emails, in order for them to make my wedding perfect (but they were definitely available for more meetings, if I'd needed them). Kathy has done this so many times that she gives excellent advice on everything.

On top of that, it's a GREAT value. We priced a lot of venues in the area, and they were easily twice the cost for not as much stuff. The Redondo Beach Historic helped make my wedding amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1279313008980-fbavatar711406983
Jennifer
Wedding:
7/1/2012
4.2/5.0
The Redondo Beach Historic Library, which is exclusively run by Spectrum Catering, is a lovely venue with plenty of charm & a great location in a big grassy park overlooking the beach & pier. The 1930 building itself has been restored beautifully and includes all the banquet rentals such as tables, linens, dishes & glassware, LED candles, and lights strung around the interior columns. For design buffs, it has a mix of Spanish style architecture with art deco touches -- gorgeous, original brass chandeliers! It's simple yet elegant.

It's a very good package overall, and they only do one event per day. However, the basic time frame (4 hrs) is short for both an outdoor wedding and indoor reception, so we added an additional hour for the ceremony, which increased the cost. There is also not much set-up time included for the florist or any DIY set up. The venue is open just 2 hrs prior to the event, even though there is only one event per day. We paid extra to have someone let us in 1 hr early. I should have paid for 2 extra hours so the florist & my team of decorating friends were less rushed.

There is great convenience b/c the venue, catering, cake, rentals, DJ, and valet are all handled via Spectrum. Kathy, the coordinator, is really warm and pleasant, and is very responsive to emails & phone calls. She handles everything, so you only need to deal with one person, which makes things a lot easier, especially if you are planning the wedding yourself. She has lots of experience, so she was able to answer my questions & make helpful suggestions throughout the planning stage.

On the flip side, to make any changes to their pre-set packages will incur additional costs, so you need to be prepared for that. For example, we knew we wanted steak for the menu, but they didn't serve any beef at the first tasting, so we had to pay for a 2nd tasting. They do have some flexibility with the dishes -- they did a specific salad that we requested -- but our strategy was to find out what their kitchen did well & work within those parameters -- both to ensure the food tasted great & to not go over budget. It worked out well.

I got several compliments on the food (by Spectrum in the kitchen in the basement of the library) and the cake (by King's Hawaiian Bakery - subcontracted by Spectrum), as well as the venue itself. The DJ, Lance, also served as emcee, and he did an excellent job of keeping the evening flowing along nicely -- even suggesting ways to shift the schedule to make up for our late start & photos taking a long time.

Overall, we had a great experience. Kathy and her team are really nice and great to work with. The wedding ceremony and reception went well, and everyone had a good time. My parents were very happy. A very good value.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, DJ, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
10/22/2011
4.1/5.0
We had our October 22nd wedding here at the Redondo Beach Library. We were amazed by the beauty of this location. We had our ceremony outdoors on the lawn and it looked so beautiful. Our reception indoors was just as beautiful. Kathy is very easy to work with and on top of things. The food was amazing, we had tons of compliments on it. The DJ Lance was very good as well. We were a little unsure going in because you can’t see any of their work but he did a very good job, playing specific music, taking requests, playing games with the guests. Everyone loved the venue and everything ran very smoothly the day of. Overall we were very happy with how everything turned out, in our eyes the day was perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
coralcozad
Wedding:
3/19/2011
4.0/5.0
The choice to have our wedding at the Redondo Beach Historic Library was easy. It's beautiful, oceanside, and it was an all inclusive package, making my life easier. The venue is gorgeous, the service staff during the wedding was fantastic. Ultimately, we had a fabulous wedding. That being said, we did have a few issues...

At our meeting two weeks before the wedding, I told Kathy that we would hold our rehearsal at the venue the day before the wedding at 4pm. Our contract clearly stated that we could use the venue as long as we were gone by 5, in case there was a wedding that day. She told me at that meeting (long after the invitations for the rehearsal had gone out) that she would need to change our rehearsal to Thursday (rather than Friday). This was unacceptable, as I already had people coming in from out of town, and taking the day off of work, and it couldn't be changed. I told her we'd rehearse without her in the park. She told me that I couldn't do that because she wouldn't be there. I told her that it was a public park, and yes, of course we could rehearse in the park on the other side of the venue. She argued with me about it for several minutes, finally leaving the room. We did hold the rehearsal on the day that we had planned, without Kathy, which was fine. Turned out that the wedding that was being held that day didn't start until 6, and we were gone by 4:45, so we never even saw a guest arrive. It was a silly thing for Kathy to argue with me about, and I wasn't thrilled with her unprofessionalism.

The DJ was very easygoing, he did a good job of picking music for us when we were too lazy to pick specifics ourselves. He played the right songs, but he didn't get to everything. Also, he made a mistake and didn't have things ready for my dad to make his speech. Overall, it was fine, but definitely not perfect.

The day before my wedding it was raining, and Kathy called me and demanded to know whether or not we would do cocktail hour outside. I ultimately decided (under her pressure) to cancel our outdoor cocktail hour that we really wanted. It turned out that our wedding day was beautiful, and we really did want to do the cocktail hour outside (oceanside venue!). We begged and pleaded with Kathy (wedding day drama I didn't not want) to hold our cocktail hour outside, and she ultimately did allow us to hold it outside. Again, it all worked out in the end, but it really could have been handled better on her end.

My last complaint is that there were cigarette butts all over the ground outside the entrance to the library. My dad (who paid for the whole wedding) asked Kathy specifically to have someone sweep it all up so the guests wouldn't have to walk over dirty cigarette butts (not an unreasonable request - this was an expensive event). She didn't do it, and he had to ask her AGAIN as we were getting ready to walk down the aisle. It did get cleaned up, but not until the last minute.

Overall, we had an absolutely amazing and fantastic wedding. I have lots of wonderful memories. The venue is gorgeous, and the service staff was fabulous. They were fast and attentive and were hardly noticeable. Also, our initial meeting with Mina was great - she's sweet and wonderful. I just felt like Kathy wasn't very flexible, and she didn't try to make it an easy day for me.
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
10/2/2009
3.9/5.0
Beautiful setting, great coordinator who really works hard to be flexible. The food was amazing - we are still getting compliments months later. King's Hawaiian was a great choice for our cake...beautiful and so tasty!

The only down was the DJ. At our initial meeting, he seemed so together and "got" what we wanted. Unfortunately, at the reception, he got our parties names in the wrong order, dismissed tables to the buffet when we were having a sit down dinner, played songs from our "do not play" list, didn't cut out first song as we had asked so we were on the floor for almost 5 minutes (the longest 5 minutes of our life!), forgot to announce our cake cutting so most people missed it - including our parents.... While having a one-stop shop seems like a good idea for a busy bride, save yourself some irritation and ask Kathy to eliminate the standard DJ and find you own that you can count on.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, DJ, Rentals & Photobooths

MAP

 
309 Esplanade, Redondo Beach, CA 90277 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Redondo Beach Historic Library
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1366052038699-figlewiczphotography-blog-0116